# Opposition — Grissom v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0781%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 444 U.S. 963

## Text

No. 79-29]

NOV § 1979

;
;
a SCAT i

--w—

x eee
Jn the Supreme Court of the “Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

JAMES THOMAS GRISSOM, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

WaAbDE H. McCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

Puitir B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-291]
JAMES THOMAS GRISSOM, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT |

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The judgment order of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
21-22) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
June 20, 1979. A petition for rehearing was denied on
July 23, 1979 (Pet. App. 23-24). The petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on August 22, 1979. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
|. Whether the district court committed plain error by
permitting a narcotics agent to testify as to his opinion
about the meaning of certain figures written on the back
of petitioner’s business card.

(1)

2. Whether an error in the citation of a statute in the
indictment requires that petitioner's conviction be re-
versed.

3. Whether the court should have ordered the govern-
ment to provide petitioner with a list of its witnesses and
should have ordered the government's chiet witness to
submit to an interview by defense counsel.

4. Whether the court committed reversible error in
denying a motion to sever the two counts of the
indictment.

5. Whether the court abused its discretion in sentencing
petitioner.

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Count for the Eastern District of Tennessee, petitioner
was convicted of distributing cocaine and aiding and
abetting its distribution, in violation of 2] U.S.C.
841(ay(l) and 18 U.S.C. 2.' He was sentenced to seven
years’ imprisonment, to be followed by a three-year
- special parole term.

|. The evidence at trial showed that on December 2,
1977, Jerry Owensby, an undercover DEA agent, met
with petitioner at petitioner's place of business in
Knoxville, Tennessee (Tr. 8-11). Owensby told petitioner
that he was interested in purchasing an ounce of cocaine
that day and that, if the quality of the cocaine were good,
he would return within a week or 10 days for a larger
amount. Petitioner replied that there would be no

'The indictment charged three others as defendants along with
petitioner (C.A. App. 5A), but Only one of those charged was tried
with petitioner. The charges against that co-defendant were dismissed
at trial on the government's motion (Tr. |12-I 13).

Lg

problem in supplying large amounts of cocaine. since he
received up to three shipments of cocaine per week (Tr.
II). Petitioner then told Agent Owensby to go to
petitioner's apartment and to wait there (Tr. 12). Later
that day, after a telephone conversation with petitioner,
Agent Owensby went to James Hutchinson's: apartment
in the same building, where five grams of cocaine were
delivered to him by Hutchinson in exchange for $400 (Tr.
13-15).

On December 14, 1977, Agent Owensby met with
petitioner at the latter's apartment. Petitioner asked
Owensby, “[h]ow many do you want,” which Owensby
interpreted to refer to ounces of cocaine. Owensby
replied, “[w]ell, if the price is right | will have one.”
Petitioner said that the price was $2100, and Owensby
agreed to buy one ounce (Tr. 17-18). The two then drove
to another apartment. complex, where they met Hutchin-
son who gave Owensby a bag containing approximately
29 grams of cocaine (Tr. 19-21). Owensby then told
petitioner and Hutchinson that, if the cocaine were of
good quality, he would like to purchase larger amounts
in the future and asked what the prices would be (Tr. 21).
Petitioner then removed a business card from his wallet
and wrote some figures on the card. Similarly, Hutchin-
son wrote some figures on a different card (Tr. 21).
Owensby testified that the figures referred to the prices for
various quantities of cocaine (Tr. 22-23). Owensby then
paid petitioner $2100 for the cccaine (Tr. 24).

The jury found petitioner not guilty on count | (the
December 2 sale) and guilty on count 2 (the December 14
sale).

"Hutchinson was charged in the same indictment as petitioner but
pled guilty before trial and testified for the government (Tr. 78).

The court of appeals affirmed by judgment order (Pet.
App. 21-22). It held that the district court had not abused
its discretion in refusing to order the government to turn
Over a list of its witnesses in advance of trial and in
declining to grant a severance of the two counts. The
court also held that the sentence imposed on petitioner
Was Well within the Statutory maximum and could not be
deemed an abuse of discretion.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 5-7) that the district court
committed plain error by allowing Agent Owensby to
testify about the meaning of the figures petitioner wrote
on the back of a business card in response to Owensby’s
question about the price of larger quantities of cocaine.

This point was not raised in the court of appeals, and it
should not be considered here for the first time. See
United States v. Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783, 788 n.7 (1977). In
any event, the contention is without merit. Because
petitioner wrote the figures in Owensby’s presence and in
response to Owensby’s question about the prices that
petitioner would charge for different amounts of cocaine
(see Tr. 21), it was entirely proper for Owensby to testify
that he understood the figures to be a price list for varying
quantities of cocaine. This was not an expert opinion: it
was simply an opinion or inference that Was “rationally
based on the perception of the witness.” Fed. R. Evid.
701. It was therefore within the discretion of the court to
admit Owensby’s testimony. See United States V.
Mandujano, 499 F. 2d 370 (Sth Cir. 1974), cert. denied,
419 U.S. 1114 (1975),

Moreover, as petitioner concedes (Pet. 6), no objection
was made to the question at trial. Even assuming that the
testimony should not have been admitted, its admission is

clearly not a “plain error” that seriously affects “substan-
tial rights” of the accused. See Fed. R. Crim. P. 52(b). In
light of Owensby’s first-hand account of the cocaine
transaction, the testimony as to the figures could have had
little effect on the verdict. Admission of that testimony is
certainly not a ground for reversal in the absence of an
objection at trial.

2. Petitioner next argues (Pet. 7-10) that the indictment
must be dismissed because it miscited the narcotics
distribution statute. The indictment charged that
petitioner violated “18 U.S.C. 841(a)(1),” while it should
have been charged that he violated “21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1).”
This point also was not raised in the district court or in
the court of appeals and therefore should not be
considered here. In any event, it is frivolous.

Petitioner makes no claim that he was misled by the
technical citation error, nor could he. He was properly
advised as to the nature of the charges against him. Ihe
indictment alleged each of the elements of the offense of
unlawful distribution of a controlled substance that is
prohibited by 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1). In addition, the
indictment identified the substance, the amount dis-
tributed on both occasions, the names of the persons
involved in the distributions, and the precise dates that
the two distributions occurred (C.A. App. SA). Rule
7(c3) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
specifically provides that an error in the citation of a
Statute “shall not be ground for dismissal of the
indictment or information or for reversal of a conviction
if the error or omission did not mislead the defendant to

‘Petitioner's reliance (Pet. 6-7) on Kotteakos v. United States, 328
U.S. 750 (1946), is misplaced. Kotteakos discusses the standard for
harmless error (see Fed. R. Crim. P. 52(a)), not the standard for plain
error that is applicable when no objection has been made at trial.

his prejudice.” See Steinert v. U.S. District Court, 543
F.2d 69 (9th Cir. 1976): United States v. Garner, 529 F.2d
962, 966 (6th Cir.), cert. denied. 426 U.S. 922 (1976).

3. Petitioner next contends (Pet. 10-13) that the district
court erred when it declined to provide him with a list of
Witnesses prior to trial, and when it refused to order
Agent Owensby to submit to an interview by defense
counsel.

It is firmly established that a defendant is not entitled
to a list of the government's witnesses except in a capital
case. Cf. 18 U.S.C. 3432. See United States v. Little.
562 F.2d 578, 581 (8th Cir. 1977); United States vy.
Mitchell, 540 F.2d 1163 (3d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429
U.S. 1099 (1977); United States v. Jordan, 399 F.2d 610.
615 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 1005 (1968).

Nor is there any authority for petitioner's proposition
that the court erred by refusing to order Agent Owensby
to submit to an interview with defense counsel. In
Gregory v. United States, 369 F.2d 185 (D.C. Cir. 1966).
relied upon by petitioner, the court disapproved the
_ prosecutor's instructions to government witnesses that
they should not talk with defense counsel unless the
prosecutor was present. But the courts have uniformly
held that if a witness does not wish to submit to an
interview with one side or another. his wishes must be
respected. See United States v. Matlock, 491 F.2d 504,
506 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 864 (1974); United
States v. White, 454 F.2d 435. 438-439 (7th Cir. 1971),
cert. denied, 406 U.S. 962 (1972): United States v.
Dryden, 423 F.2d 1175, 1177 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 398
U.S. 950 (1970); Byrnes v. United States, 327 F.2d 825,
832-833 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 377 U.S. 970 (1964). And
it has been expressly held that it is not error for the court

to decline to order a witness to talk to defense counsel.
See United States v. Rice, 550 +.2d 1364. 1374 (Sth Cir.
1977); United States v. Mirenda, 443 F.2d 1351. 1356 (9th
Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 966 (1971). :

4. Petitioner further contends (Pet. 13-17) that the two
counts should have been severed for trial. This claim is
without merit. The two charges were Closely related, as
was demonstrated by the government's evidence at trial.4
Both counts were “of the same or similar character” and
also were based on two “transactions connected together.”
Fed. R. Crim. P. 8(a). Accordingly, joinder of the two
offenses was indisputably proper. See, e.g., United States
v. Sanders, 463 F.2d 1086 (8th Cir. 1972): United States v.
Kellerman, 432 F.2d 371, 374 (10th Cir. 1970).

Petitioner has not established that he was prejudiced by
the failure to grant a severance. He contends that the
joinder made his defense more difficult because it forced
him to take the stand and to adopt somewhat inconsistent
delenses with respect to the two charges.> However, the
fact that the joinder may have made petitioner's defense
more difficult does not mean that it did so unfairly.
Putting a defendant in a position that makes it awkward

*Agent Owensby purchased the first portion of cocaine as a sample;
he and the defendants understood that that sale would lead to further
sales in the future. In fact, Owensby specifically indicated that, if the
sample were satisfactory, he would return for a larger amount within
approximately a week to 10 days (Tr. 11). Twelve days after the first
sale, Owensby returned and made the second purchase. That
purchase was a direct result of the first purchase.

‘Petitioner also notes (Pet. 17) that the joinder permitted the jury
to hear evidence of two crimes. This factor, of course, is present in
any case where two offenses are joined, and it cannot require a
severance.

for him to adopt inconsistent defenses is hardly unfair.°
Similarly, just because the joinder of charges may have
reduced the tactical advantage to petitioner of remaining
silent at trial does not mean that the joinder violated his
Fifth Amendment right against compulsory - self-
incrimination.’? A decision whether to grant a severance is
committed to the discretion of the trial court, and the
denial here was a proper exercise olf that discretion. See
Opper v. United States, 348 U.S. 84, 95 (1954).

“In any event, petitioner's defenses to the two charges were not
necessarily inconsistent. His defense to the first count was that he was
not present at and did not participate in the sale; his defense to the
second count was that he was present during, but did not participate
in, the sale (Pet. 16). With respect to both sales, he suggested that it
was Hutchinson who was the guilty party.

Petitioner relies on Cross v. United States, 335 F.2d 987 (D.C. Cir.
1964), in support of his claim that he should have been granted a
severance because he wished to testify as to count one but not as to
count two. Cross, however, was expressly limited in Baker v. United
States, 401 F.2d 958, 976-977 (D.C. Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 400 U.S.
965 (1970). There, the court held that “no need for a severance exists
until the defendant makes a convincing showing that he has both
important testimony to give concerning one count and strong need to
refrain from testifying on the other.” /d. at 977 (footnote omitted).
Only if the defendant makes such a showing can the court properly
' “weigh the considerations of ‘economy and expedition in judicial
administration’ against the defendant's interest in having a free choice
with respect to testifying.” /bid. (footnote omitted). Other courts of

appeals have similarly rejected the broad implications of Cross. See

United States v. Jamar, 561 F. 2d 1103, 1108 n.9 (4th Cir. 1977);
United States v. Jardan, 552 F. 2d 216, 220 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,
433 U.S. 912 (1977); United States v. Weber, 437 F.2d 327, 334-335
(3d Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 402 U.S. 932 (1971). In this case,
petitioner failed to make any such showing. In his motion for a
severance (see C.A. App. 17A), he alleged only that there appeared to
be “a very real possibility” that he would want to testify as to count
one but not as to count two. He failed to indicate what “important
testimony” he could give with respect to count one cr why he had a
“strong need” to refrain from testifying as to count two. Accordingly,
the district court properly denied petitioner’s motion for a severance.

5. Finally, petitioner argues (Pet. 17-19) that he was
given an unduly harsh sentence compared to Hutchinson,
who pleaded guilty and received only a_ three-year
sentence, all but six months of which was suspended.

The terms of Hutchinson’s sentence were set under a
plea agreement that was approved by the court. Because
of Hutchinson’s psychiatric problems, he was placed on
probation following service of a six-month jail term, on
the condition that he commit himself to a_ psychiatric
hospital or make arrangements for continued psychiatric
care (see Tr. 102-105). By accepting the terms of the plea
bargain, including the agreed-upon sentence for Hutchin-
son, the court did not in any way bind itself with respect
to the sentence that it could properly give petitioner.

As petitioner’s counsel conceded at the sentencing
hearing (Tr. 148), petitioner had two prior federal
convictions for which he had served a term of imprison-
ment, and he had been prosecuted and fined on criminal
charges in Canada. In light of petitioner's prior record
and the evidence that he was involved in a major drug
distribution operation, his sentence, which was less than
half the statutory maximum, was clearly within the
district court’s discretion to impose. See Dorszynski v.
United States, 418 U.S. 424, 431 (1974). |

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

WaDE H. McCRrEE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

NOVEMBER 1979

DOJ-1979-11

AEE OT a RTT TE TES Or eT oS ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0781%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
