# Opposition — Mercurio v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0680%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 444 U.S. 927

## Text

No. 79-189

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

ANGELO JOSEPH MERCURIO, RICHARD FLORAMO,
PHILIP Vv. CORSO AND BURTON RHODES, PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. McCRreE®r, JR.
Solicitor General

PHitiep B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

WADE LIVINGSTON
Altorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

INDEX “s
| Page
LION THROM svsiiisiscnrtlsiendama aan |
PO sisiisiinintiedsitaniilek slike ini Soa ae ee l
CRISES SOURIS viccssctnnrsinvdanicesnmedenaaiae cee 2
OIE. cicadas ee ee 2
PIG oo cosisrcssiasasiiiiiiateciditaadintea naeckeeaperaidgatine aan 6
I LOI oO RAL ADE SOD nS PN 10
CITATIONS
Cases:
Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752. ciccccccccccccceceeee 9
Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128 coccccceccccccccccccceccceee 8
United States v. Bell, 573 F. 2d 1040 ............000.. 8
United States v. James, 590 F. 2d 575,
cert. denied, Nos. 78-1412, 78-6369,
78-6431 (June 4, 1979) wooo ee Seca 8
United States v. Lovasco, 431 U.S. -
WT Schelisbcnecnciuiidcidbath le A eR i or tae) 8
United States v. Petrozziello, 548
tg Ree ee a ee MO ns. 8
United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S.
TUM anh aiitninttidgnicealicieitabiecdaide ania Cea Ni ie a ce Ee es )
United States v. Stanchich, 550 F. 2d
LF eae LO STI IN NS EN ERLE Eat Neg MANES ca 8
United States v. Trowery, 542 F. 2d
623, cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1104 oo... cece 8
United States v. Watson, 423 U.S.
| NOWEU ncidesicdokcouuigeisceedbebecne tin iiianeni alii dacs cake au ain 9
i i

*

Statutes and rule:

FP AEs ORE dcswsenacenbiinbens
BO Rs FREED ccssnsvcoancakt
PS UB. FBR: cccscsiassisiss

I8 U.S.C. App. 1202(a)(1)

BD SP BOON: sisinssalnnaistas
BO Shean RROD dnscisteecsicoics

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-189

ANGELO JOSEPH MERCURIO, RICHARD FLORAMO,
PHILIP V. CORSO AND BURTON RHODES, PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The court of appeals affirmed petitioners’ convictions
by unreported judgment orders (Pet. App. 33-40).

JURISDICTION

The judgment orders of the court of appeals were
entered on June II, 1979. The petition was filed on
August 4, 1979! and is therefore substantially out of time
under Rule 22(2) of the Rules of this Court. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

'Petitioners attempted to file an application for an extension of
time within which to file a petition for a writ of certiorari. The
application was returned to petitioners on July 20, 1979, because it
was filed out of time under Rule 34(2) of the Rules of this Court.

(1)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether there was sufficient evidence of petitioners’
participation in the conspiracy so that a co-conspirator’s
Statements were properly admitted into evidence.

2. Whether probable cause supported the arrests of
petitioners Corso and Floramo, thereby authorizing the
searches incident to their arrests.

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania,
petitioners were convicted of transporting counterfeit
securities in interstate commerce in violation of 18 U.S.C.
2314, of selling counterfeit securities in violation of 18
U.S.C. 2315, and of conspiracy to commit those offenses
in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371. Additionally, petitioner
Corso was convicted of possessing a firearm after
conviction of a felony, in violation of 18 U.S.C. App.
1202(aX(i), and of carrying a firearm while committing a
felony, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 924(c); petitioner
Floramo was also convicted of transporting a firearm
with an altered serial number, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
922(k), and of carrying a firearm while committing a
felony, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 924(c). Each petitioner
was sentenced to five years’ imprisonment on the
conspiracy count and to a consecutive ten-year term of
imprisonment on the counterfeit security count.2 The
court of appeals affirmed by judgment erders (Pet. App.
33-40).

|. The evidence is not in dispute. It shows that an
undercover FBI agent met with co-defendant Robert
Winston on July 26, 1977, near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania,

?Petitioners Mercurio and Rhodes also received two concurrent
ten-year prison terms each. Petitioner Floramo received an additional
five-year concurrent term of imprisonment, and petitioner Corso
received an additional two-year concurrent term of imprisonment.

and discussed with him the possibility of purchasing
counterfeit securities (Tr. 33-34, 59-60).3 Winston told the
agent that he could deliver counterfeit securities and that
he would sell them for 30% of their face value (Tr. 104,
112, 136-147).

Winston ma the agent met again on August 26, 1977 in
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, to check sample securities (Tr.
166, 545). At this meeting, Winston recommended that
the agent purchase duplicate, rather than stolen, securities
because they were more difficult for authorities to trace
(Tr. 170-173).

Winston next met with the agent on August 30, 1977, in
Pittsburgh, where he told the agent that he had 28 million
dollars worth of duplicate securities (Tr. 174, 179, 181-
184). Winston showed the agent a blank income certificate
and a photocopy of an original income certificate of the
Putnam Income Fund (Tr. 213-216, 239-248). The agent
agreed to purchase the certificates (Tr. 254). Winston
stated that when he brought the securities to Pittsburgh,
he was going to bring an “army” with him (Tr. 183), and
he later stated that he would have four of his “buddies”
with him because he had to watch out for his “hoodlum
friends” (Tr. 185).

On September 6, 1977, Winston returned to Pittsburgh
and met with the agent to set up the sale of the securities
(Tr. 267-271, 546). On September 7, 1977, the agent took
Winston to a bank and showed him one million dollars in
cash in a safety deposit box (Tr. 279-281). On the
morning of September 8, Winston and petitioner Rhodes
rented safety deposit boxes at different banks (Tr. 663-
664, 985-998, 1359-1364). Winston had rented two rooms

“Tr.” refers to the transcript pages. The original record was not
available for the preparation of this opposition. Record references are
based on those supplied in the briefs filed in the court of appeals.

at the Hilton Hotel, Rooms 1205 and 1209 (Ir. 663-664).
After Winston and Rhodes returned to those rooms.
Winston contacted the agent and told him to come to the
hotel at 11:30 a.m. (Tr. 284).

When the undercover agent went to the hotel to meet
with Winston, several other agents began to look around
the hotel lobby to see if they could identify Winston's
bodyguards (Tr. 287, 295-296, 549). The agents first
noticed petitioner Mercurio because, as soon as he saw
them, he turned abruptly and looked into a display
window (Tr. 296, 550). The agents also noticed petitioner
Corso when he too turned abruptly as they passed (Tr.
297-298, 552). The agents also noticed a third individual
in a green jacket who turned suddenly to study a blank
wall as the agents approached (Tr. 300-301, 553-554). At
this point, the agents entered a restroom and broadcast
descriptions of the men they had noticed. When they left
the restroom they again saw the individual in the green
jacket who again avoided eye contact with the agents by
picking up a pamphlet from a display stand (Tr. 302-303,
555-556). The agents proceeded toward the hotel
restaurant and again observed petitioners Mercurio and
Corso, who turned suddenly to face away from them (Tr.
302-306, 556-558).

When the agents returned to the hotel lobby, they saw
petitioners Corso, Mercurio, and Floramo sitting together
(Tr. 312-313, 562). The agents crossed the lobby and sat
down; and when one of them next looked back, he saw
that Floramo and Mercurio had stationed themselves at
the top of a stairwell (315-317, 563-564). When the agent
looked directly at them, they jumped out of his line of
sight (Tr. 316-317). Winston then entered the lobby with a
briefcase and was arrested (Tr. 327, 567-568, 659). The
briefcase seized from Winston contained 94 counterfeit
securities of the Putnam Income Fund with a face value

of nearly 23 million dollars (Tr. 1082-1088). As Winston
was arrested, an agent looked to the top of a flight of
stairs and saw petitioner Floramo push petitioner
Mercurio quickly out of the agent’s line of sight (Tr. 568-
569). The agent left the hotel lobby to search for other
agents to assist him, and when he returned to the lobby,
he saw the individual in the green jacket and petitioners
Corso, Mercurio and Floramo talking together near the
hotel registration desk (Tr. 570-571). The agent left the
hotel by a back entrance and went to the side of the
building where he saw petitioners Floramo and Corso at
the taxi stand (Tr. 571-573). He heard Corso ask
Floramo, “What’s going on?”, and Floramo answer, “lI
don't know.” (Tr. 573). Meanwhile, petitioner Mercurio
stood in the middle of the street craning his neck to watch
the agents take Winston to a car (Tr. 573-574). At this
point, the other agents arrived and arrested petitioners
Corso and Floramo in a taxi and petitioner Mercurio on
the street (Tr. 574-575, 706, 728, 764). The agents
discovered a .32 caliber revolver on petitioner Corso’s
person and .38 caliber and .357 caliber handguns on
petitioner Floramo (Tr. 712-714, 733-737, 749-750).
Petitioner Floramo also carried a flight bag that
contained surgical gloves and three boxes of ammunition,
one .32 caliber, one .357 caliber, and one .38 caliber (Tr.
731-732). All of the weapons were loaded, and there were
six rounds missing from each box of ammunition taken
from Floramo (Tr. 713-714, 732).

At this time, Corso said he did not know Floramo and
had only hitched a ride in his taxi (Tr. 752, 789-791). He
claimed he was in Pittsburgh to see a hockey game (789-
791). Floramo also denied knowing Corso, and stated that
he found the guns in the cab and placed them in his waist
band to avoid discharging them accidentally (Tr. 789-
790). Mercurio also said he did not know Floramo or

Corso (Tr. 771). Petitioner Rhodes was arrested ap-
proximately one week later, and at the time of his arrest
denied knowing Floramo, Corso, or Mercurio (Tr. 1056-
1057).

Additional evidence at trial established a close rela-
tionship between petitioners. It revealed that Rhodes
and Corso had shared an apartment in 1974 (Tr. 1068-
1069). Telephone records showed numerous calls between
telephones connected with Winston and_ petitioners
Rhodes, Corso, and Mercurio during August and
September 1977 (Tr. 1774-1790) Shortly after his arrival
in Pittsburgh, on September 8, petitioner Mercurio was
observed entering Room 1205 at the Hilton Hotel in the
company of Winston (Tr. 803-806). When petitioner
Mercurio was searched incident to his arrest, the agents
discovered two pieces of paper. The first had petitioner
Corso’s name on it, the name of a hotel in the Pittsburgh
area, and telephone numbers (Tr. 773-774, 803-806).
Corso was shown to have rented a room at that hotel for
three individuals (Tr. 1110-1114). The second piece of
paper found on Mercurio had the name “Burt” on it and
petitioner Rhodes’ telephone number (Tr. 775, 1057).
When petitioner Corso was arrested, the agents found an
address book containing the name “Sonny”, an alias for
petitioner Mercurio (Tr. 775). Agents searched that hotel
room as well as the adjoining room, and discovered a
prescription bottle with petitioner Rhodes’ name on it and
an address book containing Rhodes’ name and the name
of an employee of Winston's (Tr. 876-877, 925).

Petitioners Rhodes and Mercurio testified on their own
behalf at trial (Tr. 2153-2281, 2289-2389). Both testified
that Rhodes had arranged for them and Corso to act as
Winston’s bodyguards in Pittsburgh on the day of the
arrest, but both denied any knowledge of the illegal
transaction in which Winston was involved.

— maa i i i i a

7

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioners contend that Winston’s statement that he
was going to bring an “army” of four of his “buddies” to
Pittsburgh with him was hearsay and not admissible
against them because there was not sufficient independent
evidence of their participation in a conspiracy. The
evidence outlined above, independent of the alleged
hearsay, is sufficient, however, to demonstrate petitioners’
involvement in a conspiracy.*

The independent evidence showed that Winston agreed
to sell duplicate securities for a large sum of money. On
the day and place of the sale, FBI agents noticed four
individuals who obviously tried to avoid being seen while
watching the agents. When petitioners were arrested, two
of them were armed, and they all falsely denied knowing
each other and gave false explanations for their presence
in Pittsburgh. One of the weapons had an obliterated
serial number (Tr. 712-714, 733-737, 749-750) that would
make it difficult to trace. Two of the petitioners had
gloves (Tr. 731-732, 767-768) that would help them avoid
leaving fingerprints. Petitioner Rhodes helped Winston to
rent safety deposit boxes on the day of the sale (Tr. 663-
664, 985-998, 1354-1364). Petitioner Mercurio had been
seen entering Winston’s room at the Hilton (Tr. 803-806),
and petitioner Corso had rented a room at another
Pittsburgh hotel for three individuals (Tr. 1110-1114).
There were numerous telephone calls between the
conspirators during the month prior to the sale (Tr. 1774-
1790). Thus, there was sufficient independent evidence of
petitioners’ participation in the conspiracy to justify the

‘Winston was tried with petitioners, and the challenged statements
were clearly admissible against him. Fed. R. Evid. 801(d)(2)A).
Petitioners apparently do not contest that the statements were
admissible at trial but claim (Pet. 21) that the court erred by not
instructing the jury that they were admissible only against Winston.

trial court's admission of co-conspirator Winston's
Statement made in furtherance of the conspiracy. This
determination was for the trial court alone, and there is
no requirement that the jury be given limiting instructions
on co-conspirator statements. United States v. James, 590
F. 2d 575, 579-590 (Sth Cir. 1979) (en banc), cert. denied.
Nos. 78-1412, 78-6369, 78-6431 (June 4, 1979); United
States v. Bell, 573 F. 2d 1040, 1043 (8th Cir. 1978); United
States v. Stanchich, 550 F. 2d 1294, 1297-1298 (2d Cir.
1977); United States v. Petrozziello, 548 F. 2d 20, 23 (Ist
Cir. 1977); United States v. Trowery, 542 F. 2d 623, 627
(3d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1104 (1977).5

2. Petitioners Floramo and Corso® contend that the
trial court erred when it did not suppress the weapons

‘There is a semantic difference among the circuits as to the amount
of proof of participation in a conspiracy that is required before co-
conspirator statements can be admitted. The First, Second, Third and
Eighth Circuits have stated that the conspiracy must be proven by a
preponderance of the evidence. United States v. Bell, supra, 573 F. 2d
at 1044; United States v. Petrozziello, supra, 548 F. 2d at 23; United
States v. Stanchich, supra, 550 F. 2d at 1298; United States v.
Trowery, supra, 542 F. 2d at 627. The Fifth Circuit, on the other
hand, has stated that a conspiracy must be proven by “substantial”
evidence. United States v. James, supra, 590 F. 2d at 581. We do not
view this difference in language as creating a conflict in the circuits of
sufficient importance to merit review by this Court. In any event, this
case is not appropriate to resolve this arguable conflict because the
court of appeals below uses the preponderance test and thus gave
petitioners the benefit of the test arguably more favorable to them.
See United States v. Trowery, supra.

‘The petition raises this claim (Pet. 21) on behalf of all petitioners.
However, petitioners Mercurio and Rhodes clearly have no standing
to object to the search. See Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128 (1978). We
further note that petitioners Mercurio and Rhodes did not raise this
claim in the court of appeals and there are no unusual circumstances
that would lead this Court to depart from its normal practice of
refusing to consider questions not raised below. See United States v.
Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783, 788 n.7 (1977). ‘ -

found during a search incident to their arrest because the
arrest was not based on probable cause. The facts
outlined above are, however, sufficient to justify a
prudent officer's belief that an offense had _ been
committed, so the arrests were clearly valid.

At the time of the arrests, the agents knew that Winston
intended to sell a large amount of duplicate securities in
the hotel that day and that he had promised to bring an
“army” of “buddies” with him for protection. Armed with
that knowledge, the agents observed four individuals who
were obviously trying to watch them without being seen.
These four individuals engaged in erratic behavior such as
studying blank walls, jumping “like jackrabbits” (Supp.
Tr. 74-75, 131)’ to avoid being seen, and pushing one
another out of the agents’ line of sight. The four were seen
talking together, and they attempted to leave the hotel
shortly after Winston was arrested. Petitioner Mercurio
stood in the middle of the street and craned his neck to
watch Winston as he was led to an FBI car. These
circumstances more than suffice to establish probable
cause to believe that the four men were the four armed
bodyguards that Winston promised to bring. The
Constitution does not require the agents to have warrants
to arrest individuals they have probable cause to believe
have committed a felony in their presence. United States
v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411 (1976). A search incident to a
lawful arrest is constitutional. See, e.g., United States v.
Robinson, 414 U.S. 218 (1973); Chimel v. California, 395
U.S. 752, 762-763 (1969). In this case, the search of
petitioners Floramo and Corso for weapons was incident
to a lawful arrest based on probable cause.

™Supp. Tr.” refers to the transcript of the hearing on the motion to
suppress.

10

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WapeE H. MCCREE, JR. ,
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

WADE LIVINGSTON
Altorney

OcTOBER 1979

DOJ-1979-10

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0680%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
