# Amicus Brief — Lewis v. BT Investment Managers, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0532%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 447 U.S. 27

## Text

~

‘f

IN THE Tie :

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroper Tera. 1979

No. 79-45

GERALD A. LEWIS, COMPTROLLEK OF THE Stark vr
FLORIDA, AND COMMISSIONER OF BANKING OF THE
STATE OF Fioripa, Appellant,

V.

BT INvestMENT Manacers, Inc., Ev AL. Appellees.

On Appeal From the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Florida

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANT OF
FLORIDA BANKERS ASSOCIATION
AS AMICUS CURIAE

J. THOMAS CARDWELL, ESQUIRE AND
MicHaeu P. McManon, Esquire or
AKERMAN, SENTERFITT & E1pson
Post Office Box 231

Orlando, Florida 32802

(305) 843-7860

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
The Florida Bankers Association

Pausss or Byron S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D. C.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

So us a veges ndaebebebesbbten.e ii

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AmiICcUS CURIAE ........... 1
ARGUMENT

Intropuction: THe Historicat Perspective ..... 2

I. The Negative Implications Of The Commerce
Clause Do Not Invalidate State Regulation Of
The Ownership Of Financial Institutions Con-
sistent With Congressional Policy And Limited
To Intrastate Economic Activity ............ 7

II. The Negative Implications Of The Commerce
Clause Do Not Invalidate State Laws Requiring
State Chartering Of Trust Companies Doing
ED WHEE Oa TUEOD occ ceseccnrscscccece 16

rere kas te eneenavadbecow cee 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CasEs:

Alabama Ass’n of Ins. Agents v. Board of Governors,
St en Wee Se CUD GO. BCU) ccc cccccescceseuss 4

American Trust Co. v. South Carolina State Board of
Bank Control, 381 F. Supp. 313 (D. S.C. 1974) . .12, 14,
17

Asbury Hospital v. Cass County, 326 U.S. 207 (1945) .18, 19
Atlantic Refining Co. v. Virginia, 302 U.S, 22 (1937) .. 18

Baldwin v. Montana Fish and Game Comm’n, 436 U.S.
CD cccuceesosdcaceveetcenveccces 19

Bank of Augusta v. Earle, 38 U.S. (13 Pet.) 519 (1839) 18

Braeburn Securities Corp. v. Smith, 15 Tll. 2d 55, 153
A 960)" 806 (1958), appeal dismissed 359 U.S. 311
DUP Ua ENED VE Obs CAbAHeKb eee eneeieees 5

il Table of Authorities Continued
Page

Commercial National Bank v. Board of Governors, 451
F. 2d 86 (8th Cir. 1971) ........ eee cece eee eees 14

Dahnke-Walker Mill. Co. v. Bondurant, 257 U.S. 282
ERED sccccvcdededevcccdessncestunccensivasss 10

Delaware & Hudson Co. v. Boston Railroad Holding
Co., 81 N.E. 5 2d 553 (Mass. 1948) ...........55:

Diamond Glue Co. v. United States Glue Co., 187 U.S.
GEE CIBER) cc ccccccccvivccesecvcccsoccseceness 18, 20

Eli Lilly & Co. v. Sav-On-Drugs, Inc., 366 U.S. 276
CREED wnbeccerdcccensvevaecenesuswesesosncens

Exxon Corp. v. Governor of Maryland, 437 U.S. 117
CRUE. viccccncccscccccdvcccvecsensscses 8, 10, 15, 18

First National Bank of Logan v. Walker Bank & Trust
Co., 385 U.S. 252 (1966) ..... cc ccccccccccccees

Hemphill v. Orloff, 277 U.S. 537 (1928) .........-++ 18

Investment Company Institute v. Board of Governors,
—_— F.2d ——, Case No. 77-1862 (D.C. Cir. Opin-
ion of March 30, 1979) ......ccsccccccccccscees 6, 13

lowa Independent Bankers v. Board of Governors, 511
F. 2d 1288 (D.C. Cir. 1975), cert. denied 423 U.S.

GIB (IDI) ccc ccescccccvccccncecccccccuscccces 12, 14
Lincoln National Life Ins. Co. v. Read, 325 U.S. 673
CRONE vevciccvenccccvcccvcdcccteccceseccsveus 20
Louis K. Liggett Co. v. Lee, 288 U.S. 517 (1933) (Bran-
Gola, J. Giswemting) ...ccccccccccccccccccsecvecs 14
Louisville € Nashville R.R. v. Kentucky, 161 U.S. 677
(BODE) nce vccccvocccccccvccccesccvcccevececces 15
. — .
Marketlinés, Inc. v. Chamberlain, 63 Ill. App. 2d 274,
911 N.E. 9d 300, 403 (1966) ....ccccccsccccccces 15

McCullough v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316 (1819) 3

National Courier Ass’n v. Board of Governors, 516 F.
94 1239 (D.C. Cir. 1978) ...ccccccccccscccccecs 6

Noble State Bank v. Haskell, 219 U.S. 104 (1911) .... 15
Opinion of the Justices, 151 A. 2d 236 (H.H. 1959) ... 5

Table of Authorities Continued ili

Page

Paul vy. Virginia, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 168 (1869) ....... 18
Pembina Consolidated Silver Mining € Milling Co. v.

Pennsylvania, 125 U.S. 181 (1888) .......... 18, 19, 20

Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617 (1978) ...... 7

Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137 (1970) ...... 15, 18
Prudential Insurance Co. v. Benjamin, 328 U.S. 408

CROGE) Novccccecscaewatncresereecuaeue tee 15

United States v. Fox, 94 U.S. 315 (1876) ............ 17
United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters Ass’n,

Se We GOS TIPO ov ck Wives cence cuieiinee 18

Wheeling Steel Corp. v. Glander, 337 U.S. 562 (1949) .18, 19
York Manufacturing Co. v. Colley, 247 U.S. 21 (1918) .. 10
Statutes AND REGuLarTIONs:

BS UIA OOO 86 d66i nc scsseundakeveienl eee 3
Be TAD OD 6-500 000c bide vedecti ene 4
BR GG, Fe os aso ddvvcedevbcckveccs aa 11
BO WAL, 9 Oe si xn ciccs chives aeenieeeeeeeee 4,7
12 U.S.C. $§ 3102(a), 3102(h), 3103, 3107 ............ 14
§ 659.141, Florida Statutes ..............ccccceuee passim
§ 660.10, Florida Statutes .................ccceuce passim
Ch. 736, Piewida, Bieleee 4... 00 kcaleccca eee 16

OTHER:

Bank Holding Company Act Amendments: Hearings on
H.R. 6778 Before the House Comm. on San. ve
and Currency, 91st Cong., Ist Sess. (1969) ...... 12, 13

Control of Bank Holding Companies: Hearings on S.
880, S. 2350, and H.R. 6227 Before the Sabcomn,
on Banking of the Senate Comm. on Banking and
Currency, 84th Cong., Ist Sess. 64-66 (1955) ..... 12

iv Table of Authorities Continued
Page

Eligibility of Foreign Corporation to Appointment as
gp ee Pad form actrees or Testamentary Trus-

tee, 26 A.L.R. 3d 1019 (1969) ......-.-. ee eeeees 17
FDIC, OCC € Bd. of Gov., Fed. Res., 1977 Trust Assets

of Insured Commercial Banks (1978) .......----- 11
4 L. Loss, Securities Regulation 2219 (1969) ........ 15

Nosker, A Supervisor Looks At Recent Banking Devel-
opments, Problems, And Prospects, 94 Banking L.
J. 1B CUBE) ovcddcvucvcccosvessossvovenveucuses 12

One Bank Holding Company Legislation of 1970: Hear-

™ ings on S. 1082, S. 1211, S. 1664, S. 3823, and H.R.

6778 Before the Senate Comm. on Banking and
Currency, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. at 9, 21 (1970) .... 18

Savage, A History Of The Bank Holding Company
ovement: 1900-1978, in Staff of Board of Gov-
ernors, Federal Reserve System, The Bank Hold-
ing Company Movement to 1978: A Compendium
63 (Apr. BG, BUG) ccccccccccccodscvicvesssceces 3

1 A. Scott, The Law of Trusts § 1.11 (3d ed. 1967) ...15, 17

Wallach, Section 4(c)(6) of the Bank Holding Com-
pany Act: Chink in the Armor, 94 Banking L. J.
BOB (1977) .cccccccccccccvcsovccoscccsccoceoees 4

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctoBer TeRM, 1979

No. 79-45

GERALD A. Lewis, COMPTROLLER OF THE STATE OF
FLORIDA, AND COMMISSIONER OF BANKING OF THE
STaTE oF Fioripa, Appellant,

Vv.
BT InvestMeNnT Manacers, INc., eT AL., Appellees.

On Appeal From the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Florida

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANT OF
FLORIDA BANKERS ASSOCIATION
AS AMICUS CURIAE

This brief is filed under Rule 42(2) of the Rules of
this Court, with consent of all parties to the case.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The Florida Bankers Association has appeared as
Amicus Curiae in this proceeding because its member-
ship will be both directly and indirectly affected by

2

this Court’s determinations. The Florida Bankers
Association is the one organization in the State of
Florida which represents principally all banking inter-
ests. As a part of its activities, the Association has long
maintained an interest in the status of laws and regu-
lations governing banking and financial institutions.
The Association feels that because of both its status as
representative of Florida banks and its experience and
knowledge of the regulatory scheme governing Florida
banking, it is in a position to provide assistance to the
Court in considering the issues presented.

ARGUMENT
Introduction: The Historical Perspective

This is a case of first impression dealing with the
most fundamental controls placed on the accumulation
of economic power by bank holding companies under
the banking laws of this country. The simply stated
issue is whether the Commerce Clause of the United
States Constitution prohibits the Florida Legislature
from restricting bank holding companies from expand-
ing across state lines into Florida by means of subsid-
iary investment advisory companies and trust compa-
nies. At stake in this case is the geographic extent to
which bank holding companies are allowed to spin a
web of financial subsidiaries capable of concentrating
and exercising vast economic power within every com-
munity.

A brief historical review shows why such a funda-
mental issue is now being litigated. Since the founding
of the nation, a great debate has existed between those
favoring a centralized banking system in the nature of
european models, and those favoring a decentralized
system regulated principally by the several states. Not

3

infrequently, this great debate has made its way to the
halls of the Court. For example, in McCullough v.
Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316 (1819), the efforts
of states to tax the nationally chartered banks out of
existence was rebuffed.

After a century of experimentation, the Congress in
1927 reached one of the great compromises of Ameri-
can history. In order to preserve the major benefits of
centralization without sacrificing the benefits of local
controls over financial institutions, the Congress en-
acted the M»Fadden Act, 12 U.S.C. § 36. The purpose
of the McFadden Act was to broaden the generally in-
ferior powers of national banks as compared to state
banks, while guaranteeing competitive equality within
the uniquely American dual system of banking. It did
so in major part by permitting national banks to
branch, but only to the extent state law permitted state
banks to do so. Moreover, interstate branching was
prohibited, as the grant of the power to branch con-
tained in 12 U.S.C. § 36(c) was limited to the states
wherein the national bank was “‘situated’’. The legisla-
tive history of the McFadden Act is recounted in the
opinion of the Court in First National Bank of Logan
v. Walker Bank & Trust Co., 385 U.S. 252 (1966). The
limitations on branching contained in the laws of most
states, and made applicable to national banks through
the MeFadden Act, led to a phenomenal growth in bank
holding companies. By creating a corporation to own
multiple banks, it was possible to avoid branching lim-
itations. See generally, Savage, A History of the Bank
Holding Company Movement: 1900-1978, in Staff of
the Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, The
Bank Holding Company Movement to 1978: A Com-
pendium § 2, at 6 (Apr.12,1978). Congressional fears

4

regarding the ability of holding companies to evade
regulation and to accumulate vast economic power
through combining control of banks with control of
non-bank commercial enterprises resulted in the enact-
ment of the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956, 12
U.S.C. § 1841 et seq. See Alabama Ass’n of Ins. Agents
v. Board of Governors, 533 F. 2d 224, 231 (Sth Cir.
1976) ; Wallach, Section 4(c)(6) of the Bank Holding
Company Act: Chink in the Armor, 94 Banking L. J.
525 (1977). To achieve its purpose, Congress required
holding companies to obtain approval of the Board of
Governors for acquisitions, and prohibited holding
companies from engaging in non-banking business di-
rectly or through subsidiaries. The only relevant ex-
ception was that a holding company could own a com-
pany whose business was of a ‘‘financial fiduciary or
insurance nature’’ and ‘‘so closely related to the busi-
ness of banking as to be a proper incident thereto.’’
The Act further prohibited expansion of a bank holding
company beyond the boundaries of the state in which
it maintained its principal place of business or con-
ducted its principal operations.

These organic and geographic restraints on the ac-
cumulation of power by bank holding companies were
recognized, moreover, to be only minimum restraints.
The important interest of the individual states in re-
taining their control over financial institutions operat-
ing within their borders persuaded Congress that it was
essential to preserve state powers within the dual sys-
tem of regulation. Thus, 12 U.S.C. § 1846 provides:

‘‘The enactment by the Congress of this chapter
shall not be construed as preventing any State
from exercising such powers and jurisdiction
which it now has or may hereafter have with re-

0) 2a ates

5

spect to banks, bank holding companies, and sub-
sidiaries thereof.’’

Pursuant to this reservation of sovereign powers, states
have acted to regulate bank holding companies more
stringently than federal law, including prohibition of
bank holding companies from doing business. Opinion
of the Justices, 151 A. 2d 236 (N.H. 1959); Braeburn
Securities Corp. v. Smith, 15 Tll. 2d 55, 153 N.E. 2d
806 (1958), appeal dismissed 359 U.S. 311 (1959);
Delaware & Hudson Co. v. Boston Railroad Holding
Co., 81 N.E. 2d 553 (Mass. 1948).

In 1966, Congress further limited the opportunities
for geographic exparsion of bank holding companies
by amending § 1842 to eliminate the option of expand-
ing either within the state in which the principal office
was maintained, or the state in which principal opera-
tions were conducted. Act of July 1, 1966, § 7(d), 80
Stat. 236, 238. With passage of the 1966 Amendments,
a bank holding company was limited to expanding
within the boundaries of the state wherein the greater
share of its deposits was sited as of July 1, 1966, or
upon becoming a holding company. Moreover, the
power of the states was strengthened. Without the
optional choice existing previously, there could be no
interstate expansion unless the state into which the
holding company desired entry expressly authorized
such entry by statute ‘‘and not merely by implieation’’.

Although the Holding Company Act expressly re-
ferred only to interstate acquisition of banking sub-
sidiaries, the effect was to bar substantially all inter-
state acquisitions. In order for a non-bank to be
“‘closely related to the business of banking’’, and thus
subject to being acquired, its activities had to be di-

6

rectly and significantly connected to the existing bank-
ing operations of the holding company. See Nattonal
Courier Ass’n vy. Board of Governors, 516 F. 2d 1229,
1235-37 (D.C. Cir. 1975). Thus, the interstate expan-
sion prohibition, commonly known as the Douglas
Amendment, effectively prohibited interstate acquisi-
tion of both banks and non-banks.

In 1970, the Act was amended to bring bank holding
companies owning a single bank within the limitations
of the Act, and § 1843(¢)(8) was amended to specifi-
cally state criteria which a holding company’s acquisi-
tion of a company had to meet to gain approval of the
Board of Governors, in addition to being ‘‘so closely
related to banking or managing or controlling banks
as to be a proper incident thereto”’. As the District of
Columbia Circuit Court of Appeals explained in Invest-
ment Company Institute v. Board of Governors, ——
F.2d ——, Case No. 77-1862 (D.C. Cir. Opinion of
March 30, 1979), the ‘‘closely related”? language of
§ 1843(¢).(8) was amended in 1970 to substitute the
phrase ‘‘closely related to banking’’ for the phrase
‘‘closely related to the business of banking’. The
purpose of this minor language change was simply to
allow bank holding companies to acquire subsidiaries
doing types of business generally engaged in by banks
without requiring that the existing subsidiaries already
be engaged in the particular activity. Although nothing
in the legislative history suggests a congressional de-
sire to allow interstate ownership of subsidiaries, hold-
ing companies were for the first time able to seize upon
an arguable gap in the Congressional prohibition of
interstate ownership.

Bankers Trust New York Corporation attempted to
take advantage of this arguable gay by forming a sub-

Se Michie to Lael

7

sidiary, BT Investment Managers, Inc., to get approval
of the Board of Governors for expansion across state
boundaries. Acting pursuant to 12 U.S.C. § 1846, which
reserves to the several states their full sovereign powers
with respect to ‘“‘banks, bank holding companies, and
subsidiaries thereof’’, the Florida Legislature enacted
§ 659.141(1), Florida Statutes, to halt the evasion of
the historical policy of limiting the concentration of
economic power in holding companies and restricting
interstate expansion as expressed in the McFadden
Act and the Douglas Amendment to the Bank Holding
Cor any Act, and to uphold the like publie policy of
the state of Florida.

L

The Negative Implications Of The Commerce Clause Do Not
invalidate State Regulation Of The Ownership Of Financial
Institutions Consistent With Congressional Policy And Limited
To Intrastate Economic Activity.

In declaring § 659.141(1), Florida Statutes, uncon-
stitutional under the Commerce Clause, the district
court ruled that the statute was per se unconstitutional
as raising a protectionist barrier to commerce. The dis-
trict court based its decision on the decision of the
Court in Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617
(1978). It is submitted, however, that the district court
misread that decision.

The Philadelphia decision is one of a long series of
decisions holding that the states can not erect barriers
to the interstate flow of commerce. The real issue in
the case was whether garbage was an item of commerce.
Quite clearly, if it was an item of commerce, free
movement across state lines could not be wholly barred
to advance a parochial interest. The district court erred

8

by interpreting the Philadelphia decision to mean that
practically any effect on interstate commerce condemns
a state law, rather than viewing the decision as an
application of the meaning of the term ‘‘commerce’’ to
a particular article which had been wholly barred from
crossing the state boundary.

The district court’s error arises from the failure to
give proper weight to the decision in Haron Corp. V.
Governor of Maryland, 437 U.S. 117 (1978). In that
case the Court was concerned with a Maryland stat-
ute prohibiting refiners and producers of petroleum
products from owning outlets for the retail sale of
such products. Although the regulation affected only
out-of-state interstate companies, the Court upheld the
statute under the Commerce Clause because it did not
discriminate against interstate commerce, but only as
to certain interstate firms. The decision recognized that
under the Commerce Clause the relevant concern is not
the wisdom of a state’s laws, but the constitutional con-
cern for borders open to the flow of commerce.

The present case is closely analogous to Exxon. Sec-
tion 659.141, Florida Statutes, does not discriminate
against an interstate flow of commerce. It is not at all
concerned with closing the borders of Florida to finan-
cial services provided by firms in other states. Banks,
bank holding companies and trust companies are free
under the statute to engage in any activity they may
desire on an interstate basis, including the provision of
investment advisory services. The use of telephone
and other electronic communication is unaffected. The
use of the mail is untouched. Travel into Florida is of
no statutory concern. The prohibition of the statute is
aimed solely at particular types of business entities

ok ete a la

9

owning or controlling banks, trust companies and in-
vestment advisory companies having offices in Florida
and doing an intrastate business.

The legislative intent to regulate only intrastate ac-
tivity permeates the statute. The statutory prohibition
is of ownership or control of

‘‘Any bank or trust company having a place of
business in this state where the business of banking
or trust business or functions are conducted, or

. . any business organization having a place of
business in this state where or from which it fur-
nishes investment advisory services in this state.’’

The acquisition of stock in banks, trust companies or
investment advisory businesses is not entirely prohib-
ited. Only controlling interests are prohibited. More-
over, the statute expressly exempts situations which
might arise in the course of doing business interstate.
Stock in the regulated types of enterprises can be gen-
erally acquired in a fiduciary capacity, or in connection
with the underwriting of an issuance of securities, or
in connection with the collection of a debt. Interstate
transactions are not the concern of the statute.

By limiting the application of § 659.141 to ownership
or control of companies with intrastate offices, exempt-
ing ownership of stock arising out of normally oceur-
ring business transactions, and exempting activities of
an interstate nature, the Florida Legislature has acted
in a manner fully consistent with the Commerce Clause
of the United States Constitution. See Eli Lilly & Co.
V. Sav-On-Drugs, Inc., 366 U.S. 276 (1961). The prin-
ciple that a corporation of one state may enter into all
other states of the union for purposes of interstate
commerce is in no manner abridged. Section 659.141

10

is aimed solely at the ownership of an intrastate office
from which intrastate activities are undertaken. Com-
pare Ex.con Corp. v. Governor of Maryland, 437 U.S.
117 (1978), with Dahnke-Walker Mill Co. v. Bondu-
rant, 257 U.S. 282 (1921), and York Manufacturing
Co. v. Colley, 247 U.S. 21 (1918).

In regard to § 659.141, only one factor exists in the
present case different from the circumstances on which
Exxon was decided. The Florida statute prohibits the
acquisition of control over the regulated enterprises by
banks, trust companies and bank holding companies
whose operations are principally conducted outside of
Florida. In Exzon, there were no intrastate producers
or refiners of petroleum products. This difference is not
of significance in the application of Commerce Clause
principles, however.

The statute does not prohibit control of the regu-
lated enterprises from outside of Florida. Any person,
natural or corporate, can own or control the regulated
enterprises without regard to state of residence, except
the three types of corporate entities to which the stat-
ute is directed. Moreover, Florida banks, trust com-
panies and bank holding companies are not exempt
from the statute. All such Florida institutions whose
operations are conducted principally outside of Flor-
ida are barred from controlling or acquiring any of the
regulated enterprises. The ‘‘grandfather’’ provisions
of the statute, § 659.141(3) (d)-(h), also apply equally
to Florida and non-Florida institutions. The statute
is evenhanded in its sanctions.

As in Exzon, no market is cordoned off and no one
is insulated from competition. The goal of the statute
is not an impermissible one. To the contrary, the stat-

aw

Sew

11

ute seeks to supplement the congressionally declared
national policy against interstate bank branching and
concentration of economic power. The distinction
drawn by § 659.141 is the same as that which Congress
has drawn in 12 U.S.C. § 1842(d), and promotes the
very policies motivating the McFadden Act and the
Douglas Amendment to the Bank Holding Company
Act. Expression by Florida of a limitation on the entry
of out-of-state bank holding companies is not a matter
of regional insularity or the protection of local vested
economic interests. A transcending concern of regula-
tion of financial institutions has been to avoid concen-
tration of economic influence and its anti-competitive
effects by any limited group.

The risk of undue concentration is perhaps best
exemplified by what has occurred as a result of the
district court declaring § 659.141 unconstitutional. A
number of institutions from the money centers have
made application to open trust companies in Florida.
The list includes Continental Illinois Corporation,
Bankers Trust New York Corporation, Manufacturers
Hanover Corporation, U.S. Trust Corporation, De-
troitbank Corporation, Morgan Holdings Corporation,
a subsidiary of J. P. Morgan & Company, and Harris
Bankcorp, Inc. As of 1977 these institutions had trust
assets under management of approximately $100 bil-
lion. FDIC, OCC and Bd. of Gov. Fed. Res., 1977 Trust
Assets of Insured Commercial Banks, Table 7 (1978).
In comparison, the total trust assets under manage-
ment in Florida is approximately $9 billion. Nearly
every applicant has trust assets under administration
exceeding the total for all of Florida. The strong in-
terest of the states in the healthy development of finan-
cial institutions is unquestionably challenged by such

12

a vast influx of economic power. It is for this reason
that Congress has time and time again given recogni-
tion to the importance of geographical restraints on
expansion to prevent concentration of power nationally
and in the states.

By restricting ownership ties of the regulated enter-
prises, the Florida statute responds to the impact on
Florida’s citizens posed by control of financial institu-
tions by entities headquartered beyond the reach of
Florida’s enforcement and regulatory powers. The un-
desirability of control of local financial institutions by
far-flung conglomerate entities is a proper and legiti-
mate subject of state concern, historically recognized
by Congress and the judiciary. See, e.g., Lowa Inde-
pendent Bankers v. Board of Governors, 511 F. 2d
1288 (D.C. Cir. 1975), cert. denied 423 U.S. 875 (1975) ;
American Trust Company, Inc. v. South Carolina
State Board of Bank Control, 381 F. Supp. 313 (D.
S.C. 1974). The basis for this concern is substantial.
Financial holding companies are fertile ground for
facilitating monopolization through anti-competitive
activities. The opportunities for tying arrangements,
reciprocal dealings, biased inter-company transactions
and self-dealing are manifest. See Bank Holding Com-
pany Act Amendments: Hearings on H.R. 6778 Before
the House Comm. on Banking and Currency, pts. 1-2,
91st Cong., Ist Sess. (1969) ; Control of Bank Holding
Companies: Hearings on S. 880, S. 2350, and H.R. 6227
Before the Subcomm. on Banking of the Senate Comm.
on Banking and Currency, 84th Cong., 1st Sess. 64-66
(1955) ; Nosker, A Supervisor Looks At Recent Bank-
ing Developments, Problems, And Prospects, 94 Bank-
ing L.J. 18 (1977). These risks to the public welfare
aggravated when geographic dispersal beyond juris-

13

dictional powers renders effective regulation virtually
impossible. The same risks are far more amenable to
regulation, and abuses far more likely to be discovered,
when the bank, trust company or investment advisory
business is an independent entity or owned by institu-
tions whose operations are principally conducted with-
in the jurisdiction of a single state regulatory authority.

The district court did not fully grasp the importance
of these considerations, as it misconceived the congres-
sional intent behind the 1970 Amendments to the Bank
Holding Company Act. As the District of Columbia
Circuit Court of Appeals has noted in Investment Com-
pany Institute v. Board of Governors, —— F.2d ——,
Case No. 77-1862. (D.C. Cir. March 30, 1979), a deep
congressional concern in the enactment of the 1970
Amendments to the Bank Holding Company Act was
to prevent the structuring of the American economy
in a manner similar to the Zaibatsu system of Japan,
where multiple types of economic activity are concen-
trated in a few conglomerates wielding vast power. See
Bank Holding Company Act Amendments—Hearings
on H.R. 6778 Before the House Comm. on Banking and
Currency, 91st Cong., Ist Sess. at 13 (1969) ; One Bank
Holding Company Legislation of 1970: Hearings on S.
1052, S. 1211, S. 1664, S. 3823, and H.R. 6778 Before
the Senate Comm. on Banking and Currency, 91st
Cong., 2d Sess. at 9, 21 (1970).

Congress by no means intended to encourage the
creation of financial conglomerates. Instead, Congress
curtailed the ability of one-bank holding companies
to control non-bank subsidiaries by bringing them with-
in the Act, and made a minor alteration in the extent

14

to which bank holding companies could enter into tra-
ditional areas of banking activity new to the particular
institution, but not to the industry. The lack of any
indication of a congressional intent to establish a policy
in favor of branching across state lines by financial in-
stitutions is significant. The long history of Congress’
policy of allowing the several states to control the ex-
tent to which interstate branching could occur is hardly
likely to have been altered without considerable debate.
Indeed, as recently as 1978, Congress reaffirmed the
principles of the McFadden Act and the Douglas
Amendment when it incorporated the substance of
those laws into the International Banking Act of 1978.
See 12 U.S.C. §§ 3102(a), 3102(h), 3103, 3107.

On the other hand, there was no need for Congress
to specifically address in 1970 the extent of the power
of the states to prohibit holding company control of
subsidiaries across state lines. It had done so previously
in 1956 by bowing to state regulation of control of
banks across state lines, and by reserving to the states
full power and jurisdiction ‘‘with respect to banks,
bank holding companies, and subsidiaries thereof.”’
(Emphasis Supplied.) See Jessee & Selig, Bank Hold-
ing Companies And The Public Interest, at 140 (1977) ;
Iowa Independent Bankers v. Board of Governors, 511
F. 2d 1288, 1297 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied 423 U.S. 875
(1975) ; Commercial National Bank v. Board of Gov-
ernors, 451 F. 2d 86, 89 (8th Cir. 1971); American
Trust Co. vy. South Carolina State Board of Bank
Control, 381 F. Supp. 313, 320 (D. S.C. 1974).

The regulation of control over corporations has tra-
ditionally been a matter of state concern. See Louis K,.
Liggett Co. v. Lee, 288 U.S. 517, 556-561 (1933) (Bran-

—,

a ~ te Fete 0.0 webs * tem 2

15

deis, J. dissenting). In the absence of contrary federal
law, state regulation of corporate ownership has been
upheld under the commerce clause. See Louisville &
Nashville R.R. v. Kentucky, 161 U.S. 677 ( 1896). More-
over, banks, trust companies and investment advisory
businesses are affected by the public interest to such an
extent that they constitute an area of traditional state
concern. See Noble State Bank v. Haskell, 219 U.S. 104,
113 (1911); 1 A. Seott, The Law of Trusts § 1.11, (3d
ed. 1967) ; 4 L. Loss, Securities Regulation 2219 (1969) ;
Marketlines, Inc. . Chamberlain, 63 Ill. App. 2d 274,
211 N.E. 2d 399, 402 (1965). Considering the express
language of Congress in the context of the history of
the dual system of banking and traditional concepts of
the regulatory powers of the states, it is clear that the
congressional intent in making an express reservation
of state power in the Holding Company Act of 1956
was to avoid any question that Congress intended to
pre-empt an area of traditional state concern, and to
authorize full regulatory controls by the states.

Given the negligible affect of § 659.141 on interstate
commerce, the substantial interest of Florida in the
area regulated and the express authorization of state
regulation by Congress, the district court should not
have held the statute per se invalid under the com-
merce clause, but should have upheld it under the
teachings of Exxon Corp. v. Governor of Maryland,
437 U.S. 117 (1978) ; Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397
US. 137 (1970) ; and Prudential Insurance Co. vy. Ben-
jamin, 328 U.S. 408 (1946).

16

Il.

The Negative Implications Of The Commerce Clause Do Not
Invalidate State Laws Requiring State Chartering Of Trust
Companies Doing Business Within A Siate.

In declaring § 660.10, Florida Statutes unconstitu-
tional, the district court mistook the nature of the stat-
ute. Section 660.10 does not prohibit anyone from doing
a trust business in Florida. It only requires that the
trust business be done through a trust company char-
tered in the regulatory process established by law. It
constitutes simply a regulatory technique for assuring
that the trust business is conducted in a proper manner.
It has no significant effect on interstate commerce.

Trust companies organized under the laws of other
states may enter into transactions in Florida consistent
with duties resulting from such a trust company be-
coming the executor or administrator of an estate; or
trustee under a will, charitable foundation or endow-
ment; or similar trust. The powers of such foreign
trust companies to engage in limited transactions in
Florida are detailed throughout the various provisos to
the statute. Foreign trust companies may contract with-
in Florida in regard to loans, security instruments,
and acquisition or conveyance or management of prop-
erty in relation to loans or obligations. They may ser-
vice Florida customers directly, or indirectly by con-
tract with other persons, and are allowed full access to
the courts of the state to enforce obligations. The stat-
utory prohibition is aimed solely at intrastate activity.
Foreign trust companies can not be the executor or
administrator of a decedent’s estate, except as set forth
in the Uniform Probate Code, Chapter 734, Florida
Statutes, for ancillary administration. Otherwise the
restrictions on foreign trust company activity is limited

17

to serving within Florida as a testamentary trustee, a
court appointed receiver or guardian, and holding real
property in trust. However, it is expressly permissibl:
for a foreign trust company to be bequeathed property
including real property, by a testator, with the laws of
the trust company’s principal place of business govern-
ing its duties as trustee. § 660.10(3), Florida Statutes.

The statute applies equally to all persons, creates no
competitive advantages and erects no barriers to com-
merce. The statute is concerned solely with the sensi-
tive area of protection of decedents estates, fiduciary
relationships and the devise of real property. These are
matters peculiarly of state concern and have been so
recognized by this Court. United States v. Fox, 94
U.S. 315 (1877). Indeed, like statutes exist in at least
fourteen other states and have been common place in
the law of trusts. See Appendix, Brief In Support Of
The Jurisdictional Statement For The Conference Of
State Bank Supervisors As Amicus Curiae, at 21;1 A.
Scott, The Law of Trusts § 96.6 (2d Ed. 1956) ; Anno.
Eligibility of Foreign Corporation to Appointment as
Executor, Administrator, or Testamentary Trustee, 26
A.L.R. 3d 1019 (1969).

Florida’s statute serves only one purpose, and that
is to require that the trust business be conducted by
all under a specially tailored regulatory process, with
the only exception being that national banks duly au-
thorized to exercise trust powers by federal regulators
are permitted pursuant to the doctrine of competitive
equality. See American Trust Co. v. South Carolina
State Board of Bank Control, 381 F. Supp. 313 (D.S.C.
1974). It is in effect a licensing requirement for doing
business intrastate. As such, the statute is an exercise
of the sovereign power of a state to exclude a foreign

18

corporation from its boundaries solely because it is a
foreign corporation. See Wheeling Steel Corp. V.
Glander, 337 U.S. 562 (1949) ; Asbury Hospital v. Cass
County, 326 U.S. 207 (1945) ; Paul v. Virginia, 75 U.S.
(8 Wali.) 168 (1869) as modified, United States v.
South-Eastern Underwriters Ass’n, 322 US. 933
(1944). The only limitations upon this power 1s the
erection of actual barriers to the flow of commerce inter-
state and the ouster of federal instrumentalities. Pem-
bina Consolidated Silver Mining & Milling Co. v. Penn-
sylvania, 125 U.S. 181 (1888). When the effect of a
statute barring foreign corporations is limited to op-
eration of offices within the host state, and does not bar
commercial intercourse, the power of a state to exclude
is wholly discretionary. Id. See also, Atlantic Refining
Co. v. Virginia, 302 U.S. 22 (1937) ; Hemphill v. Orloff,
2717 U.S. 537 (1928); Diamond Glue Co. v. United
States Glue Co., 187 U.S. 611 (1903) ; Bank of Augusta
v. Earle, 38 U.S. (13 Pet.) 519 (1839).

The only basis for § 660.10 being qusstioned in this
proceeding is the extent to which § 609.141 interacts
with it to bar bank holding companies whose operations
are conducted principally outside of Florida from
forming a Florida trust company. As discussed in Point
I of this brief, such a bar does not violate the Com-
merce Clause. The primary error of the district court’s
reasoning was to miscomprehend the nature of the
principles set forth in Pike v. Bruce Church, Inz., 397
U.S. 137 (1970), and Exxon Corp. v. Governor of Mary-
land, 437 U.S. 117 (1978). Rather than examining the
marketplace and the flow of commerce across state lines,
it looked solely to the effects of § 660.10 upon certain
marketers. The district court viewed any effect upon
interstate commerce sufficient to allow federal regula-
tion to be sufficient to condemn state laws drawing any

19

lines between domestic and foreign corporations. It
considered legitimate state interests ‘‘irrelevant’’ be-
cause such distinctions were drawn. 461 F. Supp. at
1197.

There is nothing in the record suggesting that
§ 660.10 has been applied by state regulatory authorities
in a manner discriminating against interstate com-
merce, not even an allegation. The sole basis for the
statute being condemned is that it requires foreign
trust companies to form a Florida trust company to do
business in Florida. The district court’s reasoning
grants a constitutional right to corporations to estab-
lish offices without regard to state boundaries, placing
in question even the power of the states to require for-
eign corporations to qualify with state authorities be-
fore doing business within a state. The district court
has forced Florida to recognize a special privilege of
engaging in business in the corporate form granted
by another state, despite innumerable rulings of this
Court that the states are not constitutionally obligated
to do so. E.9., Wheeling Steel Corp. v. Glander, supra;
Asbury Hospital v. Cass County, s pra; Pembina Con-
solidated Silver Mining & Milling Co. v. Pennsylvania,
supra. Also not considered is the need to interpret the
Commerce Clause in a manner consistent with the Priv-
ileges and Immunities Clause. As this Court has noted,
these two provisions of the Constitution have a com-
mon source. Baldwin v. Montana Fish And Game
Comm’n, 436 U.S. 371, 379-381 (1978). While these two
provisions have different subject matters, the goal is
the same. There can hardly be a sovereign state right
under the Privileges and Immunities Clause to disre-
gard the special privilege granted by another state to
do business in the corporate form, and a lack of state
power under the Commerce Clause to make the distine-

20

tion. The power either exists or it does not. This Court
has consistently viewed the states as having the sov-
ereign power to distinguish between domestic and for-
eign corporations, interpreting the Commerce Clause
to limit that power only to the extent that commercial
intercourse across state lines is unduly burdened. Dia-
mond Glue Co. v. United States Glue Co., supra; Pem-
bina Consolidated Silver Mining and Milling Co. v.
Pennsylvania, supra; ef., Lincoln National Infe Ins.
Co. v. Read, 325 U.S. 673 (1945). The district court
should have done the same.

Since § 660.10 does not discriminate against inter-
state commerce, does not favor Florida citizens over
others, does not create a protected market and other-
wise has no effect on interstate commerce, but is merely
the exercise of the sovereign power to exclude foreign
corporations from doing an intrastate business without
proceeding through the regulatory process applied to
all persons, it is a valid law.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the decision of the
District Court for the Northern District of Florida
should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

J. THOMAS CARDWELL, ESQUIRE AND
MicHaEL P. McManon, EsQurmre OF
AKERMAN, SENTERFITT & EIDSON
Post Office Box 231

Orlando, Florida 32802

(305) 843-7860

Counsei for Amicus Curiae
The Florida Bankers Association

November, 1979

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0532%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
