# Opposition — Schafer v. Penn Central Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0245%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 444 U.S. 835

## Text

INTHE

J

SUPREME COURT of the UNITED STATES :

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-1775
No. 78-1776

JOSEPH A. SCHAFER, et al...
DR. ROBIN S. KEY,
Petitioners
vr
THE PENN CENTRAL CORPORATION,
PENN CENTRAL COMPANY, et al.,

Respondents

On Petitions for Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR
THE PENN CENTRAL CORPORATION
AND PENN CENTRAL COMPANY

CHARLES A. HORSKY

of Counsel: SX 16th St, NW
WASHINGTON DC Yoon

COVINGTON & BURLING

R&S ith St.. NW JAMES E. HOWARD
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006 JOHN J. EHLINGER, JR.
3100 IVB BUILDING
CARL HELMETAG, JR. 1700 MARKET ST
1700 MARKET ST PHILADELPHIA. PA. 1010

PHILADELPHIA, PA. 19108
JAMES D. CRAWFORD
SCHNADER, HARRISON, SEGAL & 1719 PACKARD BUILDING
LEWIS PHILADELPHIA, PA, 19102
1719 PACKARD BUILDING
PHILADELPHIA, PA. 19102 Attorneys for Respondents

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CE RONNE acaca gee ER iN carat aus ]
SDUSOEE TF PIII 65 3 oa eh a eee es ws 2
Counterstatement of the Case .................. 3
Reasons for Denying the Writ .................. i)
CIE fe caw ace eerie et Sue gees oan 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Bank of Commerce v. Board of Governors of

Federal Reserve System, 513 F.2d 164 (10t
CO SBOE cas wad cs hiss cee ee are!
Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247 (1978) ............
Ecker v. Western Pac. R.R., 318 U.S. 448 (1948) ..
In re Penn Central Transportation Co., 454 F.2d
710 (8d Cir.), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 944 (1972)
In re Penn Central Transportation Co., 455 F.2d
811 (8d Cir.), cert. denied, 407 U.S. 915 (1972)
In re Penn Central Transportation Co., 328 F.
Supp. 1278 (E.D. Pa. 1971), aff'd per curiam,
465 F 20 S76 (Ga CAP. TOTES vce chicdns wise
In re Penn Central Transportation Co. (Approv-
Pana 458 F. Supp. 12384 (eb. Pa.
€

In re Penn Central che gp taaalagey Co. (Confir-

— Opinion), 458 F. Supp. 1364 (E.D. Pa.
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,
BO 02 NO LEOE i. bok sea eaes ck kde ews
New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392 (1970) .
Peckham v. Casalduc, 261 F.2d 120 (1st Cir.
1958), cert. dented, 359 U.S. 958 (1959) ......

Protective Committee for Independent Stock-
holders of TMT Trailer Ferry, Inc. v. Ander-

Oa, BOO UB. SiG CIO bs bs 8 ilaedie site
United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974) ......

14
15, 16

1]
10, 11

1]
4 et passim
4,7,8

11, 12, 18, 14
2

11

il
Table of Contents Continued

STATUTES:
Bankruptey Act

Section 77, 11 U.S.C. SR... ee

Sections 301-399, 11. U.S.C. §8709-799 ........
Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 19738, 45

U.S.C. $8701-784 . ... cia ee

Pennsylvania Business Corporation Act, 15 P.S.
$31320(1), 1401... .caccseanuewe eee

MISCELLANEOUS:
Rule 19(b) of the Supreme Court of the
United States .......: 20s unt eee
Rule 20 of the Supreme Court of the United
States .

®*ee eee ecteeeoeete ses 6 6 6 O22. 2 6.8. 8 2 ee eee ee

3et passim
13

IN THE

SUPREME COURT of the UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-1775
No. 78-1776

JOSEPH A. SCHAFER, et al.,
DR. ROBIN S. KEY,

Petitioners
v,

THE PENN CENTRAL CORPORATION,
PENN CENTRAL COMPANY, et al.,

Respondents

On Petitions for Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR
THE PENN CENTRAL CORPORATION
AND PENN CENTRAL COMPANY

OPINIONS BELOW

The judgments and opinion of the Court of Ap-
peals are found in Petitioners’ Appendix at pages A.1-
36. The opinion of the Court of Appeals is not yet
reported. The opinion of the Reorganization Court ap-
proving the Plan of Reorganization for Penn Central

2
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

Transportation Company (PCTC Plan) is reported at
458 F. Supp. 1284 and is found, in part, in the Appendix
at pages A. 134-216. The Reorganization Court’s opin-
ion accompanying its order confirming the PCTC Plan
is reported at 458 F.Supp. 1864 and is found, in part, in
the Appendix at pages A. 107-130.

The order of the PCC Chapter XI Court confirming
the PCC Plan of Arrangement is found in the Appendix
at pages A. 46-48. The District Court’s order affirming
the confirmation of the PCC Plan of Arrangement is
reproduced in the Appendix at page A. 44. The Court of
Appeals has before it, but has not yet decided, Petitioner
Key's appeal (C-A. No. 79-1573) from an order of the
Chapter XI Court dismissing Key’s complaint. !

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Do Petitioners, who were stockholders of Penn
Central Company, the sole stockholder of Penn Central
Transportation Company, and whose appeals from or-
ders relating to the PCTC Plan were dismissed for lack
of standing, have standing to seek a review of the deci-
sions below?

2. Assuming arguendo that Petitioners have
standing, is there any basis for reviewing the decision

1. Dr. Key’s Petition, insofar as it asks this Court to consider
an appeal prior to judgment in the Court of Appeals, can be dis-
missed summarily. His case, which simply renews and embellishes
the arguments made by Schafer, et al. in the PCC proceedings,
clearly is not a case of imperative public importance that requires
immediate resolution in this Court pursuant to Rule 20. C£ New
Haven Inclusion Cases, 899 U.S. 392 (1970); United States v. Nix-
on, 418 U.S. 6838 (1974).

3
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

of the Court of Appeals that the PCTC Plan, which was
approved and confirmed and which has been success-
fully consummated, made adequate provisions for
Penn Central Company?

3. Did the court below properly determine that
nothing in the United States Constitution, the Bank-
ruptey Act, or the Pennsylvania Business Corporation
Law prohibited the duly elected directors of Penn Cen-
tral Company from consenting to the PCTC Plan or
from negotiating Penn Central Company’s own plan of
arrangement without vote of or individual written no-
tice to its shareholders?

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners, Joseph A. Schafer, et al. and Dr. Robin
Key, are nine of approximately 150,000 former stock-
holders of Respondent, Penn Central Company (PCC),
which, prior to the consummation on October 24, 1978
of the PCTC Plan under section 77 of the Bankruptcy
Act, was the sole stockholder of Penn Central Trans-
portation Company (PCTC or Debtor). PCC has itself
been in reorganization under Chapter XI of the Bank-
ruptey Act. Respondent, The Penn Central Corporation
(Penn Central), is the reorganized PCTC and succes-
sor to the Trustees of the property of PCTC (Trust-
ees).

The PCC stockholders’ petitions for writs of certio-
rari ask this Court to review the decisions of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit (A. 8-10,
13-36") which: (1) dismissed for lack of standing the

2. References made herein to “A. are to the Appendix
to the stockholders’ Petitions.

4
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

stockholders’ appeals from orders of the United States
District.€ourt for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania
(Reorganization Court) approving (Approval Order) ,*
confirming’ and directing the consummation of the
PCTC Plan; and (2) affirmed decisions of the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Penn-
sylvania supervising PCC’s reorganization proceedings
under Chapter XI which confirmed PCC’s Plan of Ar-
rangement and dismissed an adversary complaint filed
by Petitioners against PCC,

The Court of Appeals dismissed each of Petition-
ers’ appeals relating to the PCTC Plan on the grounds
that, as stockholders of PCC, the sole stockholder of
PCTC, they lacked standing (a) to be heard in the Re-
organization Court under Section 77(c)(13) of the
Bankruptey Act and (b) to appeal orders of the Reor-
ganization Court. (A. 9-10, 13-36) Notwithstanding the
dismissal of Petitioners’ appeals for lack of standing,
the Court of Appeals considered and rejected the mer-
its of Petitioners’ objection that the provisions of the
PCTC Plan for the participation of PCC, as stockhold-
er, were not fair and equitable. (A. 23-30) The Court
also concluded that the PCC Plan of Arrangement did
not require stockholder approval and did not overcom-
pensate PCC’s creditors. (A. 31-36)

The Reorganization Court’s comprehensive opin-
ions approving and confirming the PCTC Plan (A. 137-
216, 99-130) and the opinion of the Court of Appeals

3. In re Penn Central Transportation Co., 458 F. ‘Supp. 1234
(B.D. Pa. 1978).

4. The opinion of the Reorganization Court accompanying the
confirmation and consummation orders is reported in: In re Penn
Central Transportation Co., 458 F. Supp. 1364 (E.D. Pa. 1978).

—

5
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

(A. 13-36) thoroughly considered the basis of PCC’s
participation under the PCTC Plan in the context of the
massive administration, secured and unsecured claims
against PCTC and the overriding uncertainties con-
cerning the value and availability of the Debtor’s as-
sets to satisfy such claims. Rather than to attempt to
repeat all of those facts here, Penn Central and PCC
respectfully refer the Court to the opinions below and
will review only the salient features of the PCTC Plan
and the PCC Plan of Arrangement affecting the treat-
ment of PCC and its stockholders.

Under the PCTC Plan, PCC, as stockholder of
PCTC, received 10% of the common stock of the reor-
ganized PCTC. Pursuant to PCC’s Plan of Arrange-
ment, its stockhoiders received 40% of the stock of
Penn Central distributed to PCC, or 4% of the common
stock of Penn Central. The remaining 60% of the Penn
Central stock received by PCC, or 6% of the total
amount of common stock, was distributed to holders of
Swiss france notes issued by PCC who asserted a claim
against PCC in excess of $150 million. That claim was
secured by a pledge of 35% of PCC’s stock holdings in
PCTC.

As the Court of Appeals noted, PCC C’s participation
in the PCTC Plan resulted from a basic assumption
that the PCTC estate was solvent. (A. 17) This as-
sumption, in turn, was necessarily based on the proba-
bility that the eventual outcome of the proceedings in
the Special Court established under the Regional Rail
Reorganization Act of 1973, 45 U.S.C. 88701-794 (Rail
Act), to determine the value of the PCTC rail assets
conveyed under the Rail Act (Valuation Case) would

6
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

yield a recovery sufficient to satisfy the claims of all
the creditors and claimants of PCTC whose interests
were superior to that of the stockholder. The Court of
Appeals recognized, however, as the Reorganization
Court stated in its Approval Opinion, that “if the Valu-
ation Case should produce a very small recovery, the
assumption of solvency would be incorrect.” 458 F.
Supp. at 1255. (A. 165)

The PCTC Plan resolved, through a series of com-
promises, the pervasive uncertainties concerning the
value of PCTC’s principal asset—its properties con-
veyed under the Rail Act—by according, to all but the
very senior administration claimants, securities and
stock whose value will ultimately be determined in
whole or in part by the Valuation Case recovery. Thus,
nearly all claimants, including PCC and its stockhold-
ers, stand to recover more or less than they might have
otherwise if all of the assets of the Debtor could have
been easily valued and made readily available fer dis-
tribution. On the other hand, by offering an opportuni-
ty to participate in the reorganized PCTC prior to the
expected conclusion of the Valuation Case in 1987, the
PCTC Plan assured for all classes of participants, in-
cluding PCC and its stockholders, some recovery realiz-
able before the conclusion of the Valuation Case.

Following discussions and negotiations with vari-
ous claimants in the PCTC proceedings concerning the
interest, if any, to be accorded PCC under the PCTC
Plan, PCC concluded that the PCTC Plan was fair and
sought and obtained authorization from its Chapter XI

7
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

Court to support and vote to accept the PCTC Plan.°
Notwithstanding PCC’s vote in favor of the PCTC
Plan, Petitioner Schafer and a few other individual
stockholders of PCC objected to the approval of the
PCTC Plan on the grounds that it was not fair and
equitable to PCC. After a thorough analysis of the
PCTC Plan and of the very extensive record before it,
the Reerganization Court concluded that

“(tjhe Trustees’ proposal to permit equity interests
to participate is reasonable and should be ap-
proved. Conversely, however, I am also persuaded
that no greater participation than the Plan pro-
vides can be justified on the present record.” 458 F.
Supp. at 13438. (A. 213)

Petitioners later objected to the confirmation and
consummation of the PCTC Plan, again on the grounds
that it was not fair and equitable to PCC, and asserted
that the vote of PCC in favor of the PCTC Plan was
invalid. The Reorganization Court held that the objec-
tion must be denied for the reasons that “he [was] not
a shareholder of the Debtor as required by
877(c) (18).”” (A. 116) The Reorganization Court con-
cluded that “the Plan’s treatment of the Debtor’s stock
interest is fair and equitable.” 458 F. Supp. 1871. (A.
121) In confirming the PCTC Plan, the Reorganization

5. PCC’s motion for summary judgment on the stockholders’
adversary complaint (which Petitioners omitted from their Appen-
dix) showed by uncontested affidavits that the trustee for PCC’s
principa! creditors—the holders of notes payable in Swiss francs
in amounts in excess of $150 million—would have withheld the
essential consent of those noteholders to PCC’s Plan of Arrange-
ment if PCC had risked the loss of the distribution of 10% of the

new stock of the reorganized PCTC by failing to approve the
PCTC Plan.

8
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

Court accepted as valid PCC’s vote, but stated that,
even if the vote could not have been considered valid, it
would have exercised its ‘““cramdown” power under sec-
tion 77(e) of the Bankruptcy Act to confirm the PCTC
Plan notwithstanding the absence of a valid acceptance
by the stockholder. 458 F. Supp. at 1873. (A. 122)

Petitioners requested the Reorganization Court to
stay the consummation of the PCTC Plan pending their
appeal from the Approval Order and the conclusion of
the Valuation Case. The Reorganization Court denied
the request, stating:

“Their standing in these proceedings is so dubious,
and the merits of their arguments so tenuous, that
the pendency of their appeal plainly does not justi-
fy delaying consummation.” 458 F. Supp. at 1376.
(A. 127)

Petitioners then sought a stay of the consumma-
tion in the Court of Appeals, which denied the request
on October 17, 1978. (A. 42-48) On October 23, 1978,
on the eve of the scheduled consummation of the PCTC
Plan, Petitioners sought a stay from Mr. Justice Bren-
nan, who denied the request the same day. (A. 41) Peti-
tioners’ second request for a stay, addressed to the
Chief Justice and referred to the Court, was denied on
November 138, 1978. (A. 40)

In its opinion of January 11, 1979, the Court
of Appeals, after concluding that Petitioners lacked
standing to appeal, rejected their assertions that the
PCTC Plan did not provide fair and equitable consider-
ation for the interest of PCC. The court below held that
“the reorganization court exercised sound judgment in

i)
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

concluding that the Plan provides fair treatment and
compensation to the PCC.” (A. 30) In addition, the
Court of Appeals rejected Petitioners’ argument that
the combination of the PCTC Plan and the PCC Plan of
Arrangement resulted in a deprivation of the
stockholders’ property rights under the Fifth
Amendment. It held that ‘“if...both — the
reorganization plan and the arrangement meet the
requirements of Section 77 and Chapter XI
respectively, no constitutional violation would exist.”
(A. 30-31)

Finally, the Court of Appeals analyzed the impact
of the PCC arrangement proceedings on PCC share-
holders and concluded that the satisfaction of the
Swiss france debt of over $150 million for 60% of PCC’s
shares in the reorganized PCTC did not over-compen-
sate the noteholders. (A. 35) Accordingly, it affirmed
the order confirming PCC’s Plan of Arrangement.

Petitioners filed a motion for rehearing en bane.
By order dated February 28, 1979, the Court of Appeals
denied the motion. (A. 3-4) The stockholders then filed
their Petitions for writs of certiorari on May 29, 1979.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. Petitioners Lack Standing To Seek a Review of The Deci-
sions Below as They Apply to the PCTC Reorganization.

Petitioners do not challenge the decision of the
court below that they lacked standing to appeal under
Section 77(c)(13) and Bankruptcy Rule 8-210. In the
absence of any challenge to the decision on standing,

10
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

their Petitions may be denied without further consider-
ation.

The Court of Appeals’ concluded that, since Peti-
tioners were stockholders of PCC, not of PCTC, they
lacked standing to appeal orders of the Reorganization
Court. This decision reaffirmed its earlier holding in Jn
re Penn Central Transportation Co., 455 F.2d 811 (3d
Cir.), cert. denied, 407 U.S. 915 (1972). There, it was
held that “the standing of a participant to a railroad
reorganization to appeal from an order of the reorgani-
zation court turns on whether section 77(c) (13) of the
Bankruptey Act, 11 U.S.C. §205(¢) (13) (1964), grants
him a right to be heard.” 455 F.2d at 815. The stock-
holders of PCC clearly did not fall within the class of
persons having the right to be heard under section
77(c) (13), which provides that

“the debtor, any creditor or stockholder, or the duly
authorized committee, attorney or agent of either
or the trustees or trustees of any mortgage, deed
of trust or indenture pursuant to which securities
of the debtor are outstanding shall have the right
to be heard on all questions in the proceedings.” 11
U.S.C. §205(¢) (13).

Bankruptcy Rule 8-210 contains similar provisions:

(a) Standing to be Heard.

(1) The debtor, the indenture trustees, and
any creditor or stockholder of the debtor shall
have the right to be heard on all matters aris-
ing in a Chapter VIII case.

1]
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

Petitioners’ interests in the PCTC reorganization
proceedings were merely derivative of the interest of
PCC, as stockholder of the Debtor, and were fully and
adequately protected by PCC. For this reason, the
courts below had earlier denied attempts by stockhold-
ers of PCC to intervene in the PCTC proceedings. /n re
Penn Central Transportation Co., 454 F.2d 710 (38d
Cir.), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 944 (1972); In re Penn
Central Transportation Co., 328 F. Supp. 1278 (B.D.
Pa. 1971), aff'd per curiam, 455 F.2d 976 (3d Cir.
1972).

The fact that some of the Petitioners and other
individual stockholders of PCC were permitted by the
Reorganization Court to appear and fiic objections to
the PCTC Plan did not confer upon them the status of
parties or accord the stockholders of PCC the right to
be heard in the PCTC proceedings. /n re Penn Central
Transportation Co., 455 F.2d at 815, n.11; Peckham v.
Casalduc, 261 F.2d 120 (1st Cir. 1958), cert. denied,
359 U.S. 958 (1959).

Although Petitioners blithely ignore their lack of
standing below, they suggest that the decision in Mul-
lane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S.
306 (1970), mandates that, under the peculiar circum-
stances of this case, they should be accorded appellate
rights. The argument reveals that the issue is unique
to this proceeding, but in any event Mullane has no
relevance to the question of standing. That case dealt
with the adequacy of notice to parties to a judicial set-
tlement of a common trust fund and held that notice by
publication in a local paper was inadequate for benefi-
ciaries of the fund whose addresses were known and
for whom notice by mail was not impracticable. It in no

12
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

way suggests that appellate rights must be given to
the stockholders of the stockholder of the Debtor,
where the stockholder itself, PCC, was a party which
could have appealed and has adequately represented
their interests. (A. 19-20)

Il. Petitioners Had No Right to Individual Notice of Hearings
In the Reorganization Court or Chapter XI Court.

Petitioners argue that Mullane suggests that the
failure to give notice by mail of the hearings in the
PCTC reorganization proceedings and hearings relat-
ing to the PCC Plan of Arrangement to each of the
150,000 stockholders of PCC was a violation of due
process.

Mullane differs from the present case in two ecru-
cial aspects. First, it involved a judicial proceeding to
settle the accounts of a trust fund which would have
the effect of absolving the trustee of any liability for
negligent or illegal impairments of the trust. Second,
the property interest involved was the vested interest
of the beneficiaries in the specific identifiable property
which constituted the trust corpus. By contrast, in the
present case the directors of PCC and the PCTC Trust-
ees both were subject to court supervision and court
orders and no question of impairment of any asset is
present. More importantly, the dispute in this case does
not concern specific identifiable property in which the
stockholders of PCC had a vested interest; rather, Peti-
tioners allege an interest in the unpredictable recovery
from the Valuation Case. Indeed, as the record shows
and the courts below found, there is a serious question
whether the stockholders of PCC would recover any-

13
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

thing after the payment of creditors if they awaited the
outcome of the Valuation Case.

Equally important, the board of directors of PCC,
unlike the guardian in Mullane, was elected by the
stockholders themselves (except for one elected ac-
cording to law as a replacement by the remaining direc-
tors). In fact, the stockholders could have called a
meeting and removed the directors had they felt that
the directors did not adequately represent the stock-
holders interests. Thus, the stockholders had not only
picked their representatives in this case, but had a
working control] over them.

The provisions of Chapter XI of the Bankruptcy
Act, 11 U.S.C. 88701-799, confirm the lack of merit in
Petitioners’ arguments. Chapter XI provides for a ne-
gotiation between a debtor (which may be a corpora-
tion) and its creditors of a plan for division of its assets
in a way that will achieve the consent of a majority in
number and amount of its classes of creditors to the
modification or cancellation of their original claims. A
plan may be filed only by the debtor, and a vote of its
stockholders is accordingly not required by Chapter
XI.

For appropriate action to formulate such a plan,
one must look to the law governing the debtor corpora-
tion, here the Pennsylvania Bu.iness Corporation Law
(BCL). Section 401 of the BCL, 15 Pa. Stat. Ann. 81401,
provides that “the business and affairs of every busi-
ness corporation shall be managed by a board of direc-
tors ...” There is no provision in the BCL for submis-
sion of a proposed plan or plans to the stockholders.
Moreover, once a plan is negotiated by the board with

14
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

creditors, filed by the board, properly accepted by the
creditors and confirmed by the court, Section 320 of the
BCL, 15 Pa. Stat. Ann. §1820(1) (A. 33), expressly per-
mits a reorganization or arrangement under the Bank-
ruptey Act so confirmed by a court of competent juris-
diction to be put into effect without further action by
the corporation's directors or stockholders.

Petitioners carefully omit to claim that they lacked
actual notice of the proceedings. In fact, any claim by
Petitioners that they lacked actual notice would be in-
credible. The highly publicized PCTC reorganization
proceedings have been ongoing since 1970. Rather,
they make the abstract assertion that they had a due
process right to individual mailed notice, regardless of
actual notice. A similar argument, based on Mu/lane,
was rejected in Bank of Commerce v. Board of Gover-
nors of Federal Reserve System, 5i8 F.2d 164, 167
(10th Cir. 1975).

Moreover, each of the courts below, despite deter-
mining that the stockholders of PCC lacked standing,
heard such stockholders as chose to participate and
ruled on their contentions on the merits, finding in each
case that the actions of the PCC directors were proper.
Where the charge of an erroneous deprivation of Peti-
tioners’ property interest was actually heard and deter-
mined not to exist, no due process violation can be es-
tablished. See Carey v. Piphus, 485 U.S. 247, 259
(1978). It was only after considering the stockholders’
arguments that the Reorganization Court found that
the PCTC Plan was fair and equitable to PCC under
Section 77(e) of the Bankruptcy Act and that the Court
of Appeals found that the PCC stockholders were not

15
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

prejudiced by the PCC Plan of Arrangement. (A. 30-
31)

Ill. Petitioners’ Challenge to the PCTC Plan Is, in Any Event,
Without Substance.

Although the PCTC and PCC reorganization pro-
ceedings were large and complex, the case presented
by Petitioners is simply not one that falls within the
scope of this Court’s Rule 19(b). There is no conflict
between the decision of the court below and decisions
of this Court or other courts of appeals. The statutes
involved and the principles applied by the courts below
are clear and unambiguous. Moreover, the provisions
of the Bankruptcy Act in question have been repealed.

Petitioners’ complaint on the merits is that the pro-
vision of the PCTC Plan which accorded to PCC, as the
stockholder of the Debtor, 10% of the common stock of
the reorganized company is unfair and inequitable. The
issue was carefully canvassed by the Reorganization
Court, 458 F. Supp. at 1843 (A. 212-13), and was accept-
ed by the court below. The participation by PCC in the
PCTC Plan was based on the assumption that the es-
tate was solvent. The possibility of an enormous recov-
ery in the Valuation Case, to which Petitioners allude,
is tempered by the possibility that the recovery would
not be large enough to render the estate solvent, in
which case PCC would have been entitled to nothing.
Ecker v. Western Pac. R.R., 318 U.S. 448 (1943). The
compromise of the issue by according PCC 10% of the
common stock was agreeable to PCC and was accepted
by the court below. Similarly, as the Court of Appeals

16
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

noted, the distribution to the PCC stockholders of the
stock received by PCC was, by any reasonable mea-
sure, eminently reasonable. The suggestion (Schafer
Pet. at pp. 17-18) that this Court should again review
this issue in order to satisfy the PCC stockholders that
justice had been done misconceives the function of this
Court and plainly ignores the fact that the nine Peti-
tioners appear to be the only PCC stockholders who
reject the PCTC Plan and the PCC Plan of Arrange-
ment,

Petitioners’ further assertion that the court below
should have provided the PCC stockholders with a con-
tingent interest in the Valuation Case (Schafer Pet. at
p. 19) also fails to establish a basis for granting their
Petitions. The question before the Court of Appeals
was whether the PCTC Plan was fair and equitable, not
whether some vaguely defined alternative, which
would have repercussions with respect to the treat-
ment of all classes of creditors, should have been incor-
porated. Ecker v. Western Pac. R.R., supra, at 475-76.

A greater or different participation by the stock-
holder would have involved the compromise of the in-
terest of the secured and unsecured creditors whose
claims could not be satisfied by PCTC’s retained assets
alone. The Reorganization Court properly approved the
Trustees’ judgment, which was concurred in by PCC,
that PCC’s 10% equity participation in the reorganized
PCTC was not only a reasonable compromise of the
issue, but also fair and equitable. Those judgments
were correctly endorsed by the Court of Appeals be-
low. Protective Committee for Independent Stock-

17
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

holders of TMT Trailer Ferry, Inc. v. Anderson, 390
U.S. 414 (1968).

Finally, it may be appropriate to respond to Peti-
tioners’ contentior (Schafer Pet. at p. 19) that the
PCTC Plan puts the creditors in control of a possible
settlement of the Valuation Case, with the possibility
that there will be no proceeds in excess of the credi-
tors’ claims. The creditors, of course, hold 90% of the
common stock of Penn Central, and it is obviously in
their interest to obtain the greatest possible Valuation
Case recovery, which will equally benefit the 10% of
the common stock allocated to PCC. The interests of
the creditors and of the former stockholders are com-
mon, not conflicting.

CONCLUSION

With respect to the PCTC reorganization, Petition-
ers lack standing to ask the Court to review these mat-
ters. Even if Petitioners had the requisite standing,
however, they raise no issue of general importance and
no basis is shown for this Court to re-examine the
PCTC Plan, which has been approved by the courts be-
lew and successfully consummated.

Similarly, the challenge to the PCC Plan of Ar-
rangement raises no issue of general importance and
shows no reason to disturb the completed arrangement
approved by the courts below.

18
Brief of Respondents in Opposition

The Petitions should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES A. HORSKY
Washington, D.C. 20006

COVINGTON & BURLING

SAS 16th St.. NW JAMES EF. HOWARD
Washington, D.C. 20006 JOUN J. EHLINGER, JR.
SLOOTVB Building
CARL HELMETAG, JR. straps isc :
1700 Market St Philadelphia, PA. 19103

Philadelphia, PA. 19108
JAMES D. CRAWFORD
SCHNADER, HARRISON, SEGAL & Tt) Feckere Danni
LEWIS Philadelphia, PA. 19102

1719 Packard Building :
Philadelphia, PA. 19102 Attorneys for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0245%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
