# Memorandum — Lewis v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0124%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Memorandum
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 445 U.S. 55

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

No. 78-1595 MAY 30 1979

A ERREEOON, JR., CLERK

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

GEORGE CALVIN LEWIS, JR., PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

WADE H. McCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JOEL M. GERSHOWITZ
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

oso *

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-1595
GEORGE CALVIN LEWIS, JR., PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-
15) is reported at 591 F.2d 978.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on January 24, 1979. A petition for rehearing was
denied on March 19, 1979. The petition for a writ
of certiorari was filed on April 18, 1979. The juris-

(1)

diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254

(1).
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a defendant who is a previously convicted
felon may challenge the constitutionality of his prior
conviction as a defense to a prosecution for unlaw-
fully possessing a firearm.

STATEMENT

Following a bench trial in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, pe-
titioner, who had previously been convicted of a
felony, was convicted of unlawfully possessing a fire-

arm, in violation of 18 U.S.C. App. 1202(a) (1). Peti- .

tioner received a sentence of 18 months’ imprison-
ment. A divided panel of the court of appeals af-
firmed (Pet. App. 1-15)...

The undisputed evidence at trial showed that on
January 28, 1977, petitioner possessed a .32 caliber
revolver that had previously been shipped in inter-
state commerce. In addition, petitioner acknowledged
that in 1961 he had been convicted in Florida state
court of the felony of breaking and entering with in-
tent to commit a misdemeanor.

Shortly before trial, petitioner’s counsel advised the
court that he had information that petitioner had not
been represented by counsel at his 1961 Florida trial.
He contended that a conviction for violation of Sec-
tion 1202(a)(1) could not be predicated on a prior
conviction obtained in violation of petitioner’s Sixth

3

4

Amendment rights. The district court, however,
ruled that the constitutionality of the Florida convic-
tion was immaterial with regard to petitioner’s status
as a previously convicted felon for purposes of Section
1202(a)(1). Accordingly, petitioner did not present
any evidence on whether in fact he had been convicted
in 1961 without the aid of counsel.

DISCUSSION

This case presents an important and recurring
question under the federal gun laws. The courts of
appeals have divided over whether an allegedly un-
constitutional prior felony conviction may serve as
the predicate for prosecuting a previously convicted
felon who has received, possessed, or transported a
firearm in violation of 18 U.S.C. 922(g) (1), 922(h)
(1), or App. 1202(a)(1). See, eg., United States
v. Edwards, 568 F.2d 68, 72 n.3 (8th Cir. 1977)
(noting conflict without deciding the issue). Al-
though we believe that this issue was correctly de-
cided against petitioner, we do not oppose his petition
for a writ of certiorari in light of the conflict among
the courts of appeals.

1. As the court of appeals recognized (Pet. App.
8), there is a conflict among the circuit courts as to
whether and in what circumstances a defendant may
raise the invalidity of his prior conviction as a de-
fense to a prosecution for unlawfully possessing, re-
ceiving or transporting a firearm in violation of 18
U.S.C. 922(g)(1), 922(h)(1), or App. 1202(a)

1

(1).*. In addition to the instant holding both the
Third and the Tenth Circuits have held that at least
some categories of unconstitutional convictions may
be the basis for a valid conviction under either Sec-
tion 1202 or Section 922. See United States v.
Graves, 554 F.2d 65, 68-70, 73-75, 76-82 (3d Cir.
1977) (en banc) (Section 1202(a)(1)); and Barker
v. United States, 579 F.2d 1219, 1226 (10th Cir.
1978) (Section 922(h)(1)).? Conversely, the Fifth,

1 Petitioner was convicted of violating Section 1202 (a) (1).
Although that statute differs substantially in scope from
Sections 922(g) and 922(h), see United States v. Batchelder,
No. 78-776 (argued Apr. 18, 1979), the three statutes are
seemingly identical with regard to the issue presented by this
case. Thus the various statutes were simultaneously enacted
by Congress as separate provisions of the Omnibus Crime
Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968, Pub. L. No. 90-351,
82 Stat. 225-235, 236-237. And the pertinent language of the
provisions is virtually the same insofar as all three sections
prohibit any person who has been convicted of a crime punish-
able by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year from
obtaining firearms. See 18 U.S.C. 921(a) (20)), 922(g) (1),
922(h) (1), App. 1202(a)(1), and App. 1202(c) (2). Ac-
cordingly, we do not believe that decisions involving Section
1202 may be distinguished from those involving Section 922
with regard to the issue presented here. In any event, we
further note that the decision below is in square conflict with
United States v. Pricepaul, 540 F.2d 417 (9th Cir. 1976), and
United States v. Lufman, 457 F.2d 165 (7th Cir. 1972).

2? Both Graves and Barker involved a prior conviction that
was allegedly unconstitutional as a matter of due process of
law rather than a denial of the Sixth Amendment right to
counsel that was alleged here. See Gideon v. Wainwright, 372
U.S. 335 (1963). The Graves court specifically indicated that
it might reach a different result if a Sixth Amendment viola-
tion were involved. See 554 F.2d a’ 82 & n.68. See also United

—— eee

5

Sixth, and Seventh Circuits have stated that a prose-
cution under either Section 1202 or Section 922 may
not be predicated on a prior conviction that was
obtained without counsel. See Dameron v. United
States, 488 F.2d 724 (5th Cir. 1974) (Section 922
(g)); United States v. Maggard, 573 F.2d 926 (6th
Cir. 1978) (Section 1202 (a) ; dictum) ; United States
v. Lufman, 457 F.2d 165 (7th Cir. 1972) (Section
1202(a)). See also United States v. DuShane, 435
F.2d 187, 189-190 (2d Cir. 1970) (Second Circuit
reached same result under predecessor statute to Sec-
tion 1202). Moreover, the Ninth Circuit has con-
cluded that a defendant may not be convicted under
Section 1202(a)(1) if his prior conviction was ob-
tained in violation of any federal constitutional right
that implicates “the judicial guilt-determination proc-
ess.” United States v. Pricepaul, 540 F.2d 417, 421
(9th Cir. 1976). Cf. United States v. Liles, 432 F.2d
18 (9th Cir. 1970).’ |

States v. Maggard, 573 F.2d 926 (6th Cir. 1978) (only con-
stitutional violations appearing on the face of the prior con-
viction may be raised as a defense to prosecution under Sec-
tion 1202; ineffective assistance of counsel distinguished from
complete absence of counsel). In Barker, the Tenth Circuit
broadly held that “an underlying prior conviction will apply
in a federal firearm prosecution if it has not been challenged
on appeal or by collateral attack.” 579 F.2d at 1226.

3’ There appears to be a related conflict among the courts
of appeals regarding whether a defendant may raise the
invalidity of a prior conviction as a defense to a prosecution
for making a false statement in connection with the acquisi-
tion of a firearm. See 18 U.S.C. 922(a) (6). All of the circuit
courts that have considered this question except the Ninth
Circuit have held that the constitutionality of the prior con-

6

2. The courts below correctly concluded that pe-
titioner may not raise the alleged unconstitutionality
of his prior conviction as a defense to a prosecution
under Section 1202(a)(1). That statute broadly de-
clares that no “person who * * * has been convicted
by a court * * * of a felony” shall receive, possess or
transport firearms. No exception is made for persons
whose convictions are for any reason invalid (pro-
vided, of course, that they have not been set aside
prior to the alleged offense). To the contrary, the
language of Section 1202 strongly suggests that it is
the fact of conviction that imposes a disability on an
individual. See United States v. Graves, supra, 554
F.2d at 69.*

The conclusion of the court of appeals is further
buttressed by the express enumeration of the limited
exceptions to Section 1202(a)(1) found in Section

viction is immaterial to a prosecution under Section 922
(a) (6). Compare United States v. Graves, supra; United
States v. Allen, 556 F.2d 720 (4th Cir. 1977) ; United States
v. Ransom, 545 F.2d 481 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S.
908 (1977) ; Cassity v. United States, 521 F.2d 1820 (6th Cir.
1975) ; United States v. Edwards, supra, with United States

v. Pricepaul, supra.

Congress could reasonably assume that the fact of con-
viction was a strong indicator of potential irresponsibility
and dangerousness, even if that conviction was subject to col-
lateral attack. See Scarborough v. United States, 431 U.S. 563,
571-572 (1977); United States v. Liles, supra. See also 18
U.S.C. App. 1201. Indeed, Section 922(h) (1) prohibits any
one under indictment for a felony from receiving a firearm,
regardless of whether that person is later acquitted. See, e.g.,
United States v. Pricepaul, supra, 540 F.2d at 421; DePugh v.
United States, 393 F.2d 367 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 393 U.S.
832 (1968).

7

1203. Section 1203 provides that the only felons who
are exempt from the prohibitions of Section 1202 (a)
(1) are those who have been entrusted with a weapon
by a prison authority and those who have obtained
a specific pardon meeting the requirements of Section
1203(2). The existence of these two specific exemp-
tions belies petitioner’s contention that felons who
have never challenged their convictions are exempted
from the purview of Section 1202(a)(1).° And the
legislative history clearly reflects Congress’ under-
standing that the fact of conviction terminated a per-
son’s right to possess a firearm, subject only to the
exceptions of Section 1203. See 114 Cong. Rec.
13868-13869, 14773-14774 (1968) (remarks of Sen.
Long, sponsor of Section 1202).

Finally, we do not believe that Burgett v. Texas,
389 U.S. 109 (1967), and its progeny*® mandate a
different result here. The Burgett line of cases stand
for the proposition that convictions obtained without

5 We further note that the contrary conclusion could seri-
ously hamper the comprehensive regulation of firearms estab-
lished in Title IV of the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe
Streets Act of 1968, Pub. L. No. 90-351, 82 Stat. 225-235, as
modified by the Gun Control Act of 1968, Pub. L. No. 90-618,
82 Stat. 1213-1226 (codified at 18 U.S.C. 921-928). Section
922(d)(1) prohibits a firearm dealer from transfering a
firearm to anyone he has reasonable cause to believe has been
convicted of a felony. This simple and effective prohibition
would be rendered nugatory if a convicted felon could relieve
the dealer of responsibility by stating that he believed his
prior conviction to be unconstitutional.

6 See United States v. Tucker, 404 U.S. 448 (1972) ; Loper v.
Beto, 405 U.S. 473 (1972).

8

counsel cannot reliably be used for certain purposes.
This Court has never suggested, however, that the
Constitution precludes mere recognition of an un-
counseled conviction as historical fact or that Con-
gress could not constitutionally prohibit a person who
has been convicted of a felony from possessing fire-
arms until such time as he successfully challenges his
conviction or obtains a pardon in accordance with
Section 1203(2). Thus, just as Congress reasonably
concluded that the fact of indictment warrants im-
position of a disability, see note 4, swpra, so too Con-
gress could constitutionally bar a convicted felon
from receiving or possessing a firearm, regardless of
whether that conviction was obtained in violation of
the Sixth Amendment. See, Note, Prior Convictions
and the Gun Control Act of 1968, 76 Colum. L. Rev.
326, 336-339 (1976) (concluding that any collaterally
unchallenged conviction is a valid predicate felony for
purposes of the Act).

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JOEL M. GERSHOWITZ
Attorney
May 1979

W ov. S. Government printing orrice; 1979 294208 399

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0124%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
