# Respondents Brief — Perrin v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0037%3A7

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 444 U.S. 37

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
oa

No. 78-959 SEP 28 i979

[MICHAEL RODAK, JR. cLER

Iu the Suprenw Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

VINCENT R. PERRIN, JR., PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

WADE H. McCreE®B, JR.
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

INDEX
CITATIONS

Cases: Page
Bouie v, City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347.... 9

Boyce Motor Lines, Inc. v. United States,
BS SAREE NOPE ti eee OO SCRE ee: 10

Cannon v. University of Chicago, No. 77-
P&E RR | |) RR ENSRC OCS 3

Erlenbaugh v. United States, 409 U.S.

AY SRERINEDEDS COR uae Cee es eee
Hoke v. United States, 227 U.S. 308 -....... 9
James v. United States, 366 U.S. 213...... 11
Kordel v. United States, 335 U.S. 345...... 5
Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188........ 10
Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808........ 9
United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 —......... 9
United States v. Brecht, 540 F.2d 45........ 10
United States v. Culbert, 435 U.S. 371...... 9
United States v. Dansker, 587 F.2d 40...... 3

United States v. Naftalin, No. 78-561
Ss CT ek 7

United States v. Nardello, 393 U.S. 286..... 7,8
United States v. Niedelman, 356 F. Supp.

SRE STO TE a AES A ae eT 2
United States v. Pomponio, 511 F.2d 953,

cert. denied, 423 U.S. 874 —.....0020000020... 3, 4, 10
United States v. Rutherford, No. 78-605

ge | NRE ONO Reems aN 7

Constitution and statutes:

United States Constitution, Fifth Amend-

ment (Due Process Clause) .................. 9
og USERS Sah SEA eee 2,4
FR SSIES Sn SSA a aro OY BE 4

|

II
Constitution and statutes—Continued Page Iu the Sur enw Court of the United States
RM RN Se ot ge 4 OCTOBER TERM, 1978
Be Ace eee) Cosi acted hesenghcdacncceonene 2
Be ey atic ren datficelat seca darcchies onpedhcabe 3, 4
BP IE PIII =. sicssasiginesonisnencencndebnncounidaainenoks 4
mee we 4 re ere
: VINCENT R. PERRIN, JR., PETITIONER
Miscellaneous:
J. Kwitny, Vicious Circles: The Mafia In v.
The Marketplace (1979) ................-..------ 5
Note, Control of Nongovernmental Cor- UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
ruption By Criminal Legislation, 108
U. Pa. L. Rev. 848 (1960) -.......00002..... 2
S. Rep. No. 96-605 (Pt. 1), 95th Cong., ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
I a 3 COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
Webster’s Third New International Dic-
kk GER COPECO BP desea oT ORR UE 3

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

_ Petitioner’s opening brief in this case was 15 pages
in length and cited only nine authorities. Petition-
er’s reply brief is an extensive document citing a
substantial number of new authorities and raising
contentions that the government has not had an op-
portunity to address. The government submits this
reply brief to respond to these new and belated
assertions.

1. Petitioner argues (Reply Br. 4-10) that in
1961 the word “bribery” extended no further than

(1)

2

its common law definition and that, while the other
terms appearing in 18 U.S.C. 1952(b)(2) should be
given a generic interpretation to reflect contemporary
meanings, the term “bribery” must be given a re-
strictive construction. In support of that argument,
petitioner asserts that only 13 states had general
commercial bribery laws in 1961. However, an
additional 12 states had criminal commercial bribery
statutes focused on employees in particular lines of
business. See Note, Control of Nongovernment Cor-
ruption By Criminal Legislation, 108 U. Pa. L. Rev.
848, 849, 864, 866 (1960). Thus, one half of the
states in the nation had enacted criminal commercial
bribery laws prior to 1961. See United States v.
Niedelman, 356 F. Supp. 979, 982 (S.D.N.Y. 1973).
In addition, 32 states had criminal statutes prohibit-
ing bribery in sporting events. See Note, supra, 108
U. Pa. L. Rev. at 865, 867. In all, 43 states had
criminal laws forbidding different kinds of non-
official bribery. See the appendix to our initial brief.
Nor has petitioner denied that, prior to 1961, Con-
gress had enacted a substantial number of criminal
laws prohibiting non-official bribery. See our initial
brief at 24-26.’ |

Because Congress drafted the Travel Act in such
a way that it applies to interstate schemes violating

! Although petitioner argues that these commercial bribery
laws are different from official bribery laws because they have
greater specificity (Reply Br. 5-6), official bribery laws also
define with particularity the class of regulated persons and the
kinds of activities that are forbidden. See 18 U.S.C. 201.

3

state or federal bribery laws, without limitation on
the type of bribery, the widespread existence of state
and federal laws designating private corruption as a
form of criminal bribery is a strong indication that
the Travel Act should have a comparable reach. It
should not be assumed that Congress was ignorant
of its own non-official bribery laws or those of the
43 states that had enacted such legislation.? Nor
should it be assumed that Congress harbored an un-
expressed intention to limit the Act to a particular
sub-category of bribery when the literal meaning of
the word that it selected is generic. See Webster’s
Third New International Dictionary 275 (1961).*

2 See Cannon V. University of Chicago, No. 77-926 (May 14,
1979), slip op. 17-18: “It is always appropriate to assume that
our elected representatives, like other citizens, know the law.”

’ The authorities cited by petitioner do not lend support to
the contention that “bribery” is limited to “official corrup-
tion.” The court of appeals in United States v. Dansker, 537
F.2d 40, 47 (3d Cir. 1976), expressly rejected the argument
that the Travel Act should be so limited, noting that a generic
interpretation of the Act “has enabled it to encompass state
statutory expansions of the crimes of extortion, bribery and
arson over the years, and thus more effectively carry out its
purpose of aiding local law enforcement efforts to combat
‘pernicious undertakings which cross state lines.’” S. Rep.
No. 96-605 (Pt. 1), 95th Cong., lst Sess. (1977), also relied
on by petitioner (Reply Br. 8), shows clearly that Congress
views commercial corruption as a form of “bribery.” The
Senate Report calls for enhanced federal penalties in light of
the seriousness of commercial bribery, and refers to United
States v. Pomponio, 511 F.2d 953 (4th Cir.), cert. denied,
423 U.S. 874 (1975), with approval. See id. at 738. Petitioner
also cites 18 U.S.C. 1961, which defines the expression “racke-
teering acivity” to include various state law offenses (includ-

4

Petitioner also argues that commercial bribery is a
less serious offense than official bribery under many
state laws and should not be treated with comparable
severity under the Travel Act (Reply Br. 17-18).
That contention, however, ignores the nature of the
offense prohibited by the Travel Act. The Act is
concerned with the use of interstate facilities to carry
on bribery, arson, or extortion in violation of federal
laws or the laws of 50 different states. Those laws
frequently provide differing penalties. But Congress
prescribed a uniform federal sanction for persons
who use the facilities of interstate commerce to vio-
late such laws.*

ing bribery). It also extends to a number of federal statutory
offenses (including those proscribed in 18 U.S.C. 201 and 224
and 29 U.S.C. 186). This statute, enacted in 1970, sheds no
light on the congressional purpose underlying the Travel Act,
which is drafted in different terms and prohibits different
activities. Unlike 18 U.S.C. 1961, the Travel Act contains a
single generic reference to “bribery” in violation of state or
federal laws and does not list particular statutes. To the extent
that it has any relevance here, 18 U.S.C. 1961 is supportive of
the government’s position because it demonstrates Congress’
understanding that racketeers frequently make use of forms of
bribery other than official bribery in carrying on their illegal
activities.

4

4 It is, of course, not unusual for Congress to prescribe sub-
stantial penalties for conduct that may be treated with greater
lenience under state law, where the conduct involves the use
of interstate facilities. See, e.g., 18 U.S.C. 2421 (transporta-
tion of women for immoral purposes) ; 18 U.S.C. 1341 (prac-
ticing deceptive schemes through the mails). See also United
States v. Pomponio, 511 F.2d 953, 957 (4th Cir.), cert. denied,
423 U.S. 874 (1975).

5

Nor is there merit to the argument that commer-
cial bribery is inherently less serious than official
bribery. Official bribery can involve small pay-offs
to building inspectors or procurement personnel just
as commercial bribery can involve small payments
to private employees. As the facts in this case dem-
onstrate, however, commercial bribery can also in-
volve well-organized criminal ventures with sophisti-
cated participants playing for large stakes. Com-
mercial bribery—rendered more dangerous through
the use of interstate commerce—has the demonstrated
potential to cause serious injury to honest business
firms as well as as to enrich the syndicate. See our
initial brief at 38-41. See also J. Kwitny, Vicious
Circles: The Mafia In The Marketplace 5-46, 94-99,
202-210, 241-246 (1979).

Although petitioner makes the bare assertion that
commercial bribery is not a “feature of organized
crime” (Reply Br. 18 n.13), he fails to come to grips
with the clear evidence to the contrary that is cited in
our initial brief at 38-41. If organized crime is free
to use the facilities of interstate commerce to carry
on commercial bribery schemes of the kind disclosed
by this record, the congressional purpose to cut off
the flow of illegal revenues to organized crime would
be seriously undermined. As this Court observed in
Kordel v. United States, 335 U.S. 345, 349 (1948),
“there is no canon against using common sense in
reading a criminal law, so that strained and technical
constructions do not defeat its purpose by creating
exceptions from or loopholes in it.”

6

While it is true that one can envision relatively
insignificant bribery offenses—involving both official
and non-official bribery—Congress has made the judg-
ment that use of interstate facilities to promote
bribery is a serious threat to the national welfare. It
is not appropriate to create exceptions from or loop-
holes in the statute simply because de minimis vio-
lations can be visualized, particularly in a case such
as this involving an extensive criminal enterprise.

2. Petitioner also argues (Reply Br. 13-15) that
the legislative history is equally supportive of the
common law and generic definitions of the term
“bribery.” He notes that the congressional hearings
contain references to both official and non-official cor-
ruption. In fact, however, all of the legislative his-
tory supports the generic view; none of it supports a
restrictive common law interpretation. As we have
noted in our initial brief (pages 28-32), the legislative
history contains repeated references to non-official
bribery, such as bribery of labor union officials and
athletes. The existence of other references to official
bribery suggests only that Congress recognized that
the term bribery properly applies to both official and
non-official corruption—that is, that Congress under-
stood the contemporary generic meaning of the word
bribery. There is not a hint in the legislative history
that any Congressman or representative from the De-
partment of Justice believed that the Act should ap-

7

ply only to official bribery. See United States v.
Naftalin, No. 78-561 (May 21, 1979), slip op. 6-7.°

3. Petitioner further contends (Reply Br. 10-12)
that this Court’s decision in United States v. Nardello,
393 U.S. 286 (1969), provides no support for a
generic interpretation of the word bribery. He argues
that the Court embraced “blackmail” within the statu-
tory term “extortion” because blackmail had been
treated as a kind of extortion under various state
statutes. But the same is true of bribery. Numerous
federal and state statutes treat commercial corrup-
tion as a kind of criminal bribery. Nor is it relevant

6 The letter from Deputy Attorney General White, referred
to by petitioner (Reply Br. 14), shows that the Department
of Justice believed that the Act should apply to official bribery.
It does not suggest that anyone believed that privave bribery
should not also be encompassed. It is clear that Deputy At-
torney General White did not entertain any such view, as
shown by his subsequent report to Congress on behalf
of the Department of Justice sta.ing that the Travel Act
applies, in appropriate circumstances, to bribery in sporting
events. See our initial brief at 30-31. Although these views
were expressed shortly after enactment of the Travel Act,
they are identical with those of Senator Keating, who stated
during hearings on the bill that became the Travel Act that
it would apply to bribery of athletes “if you could prove item
of travel with intent.” Id. at 30. The interpretation of the
Deputy Attorney General, who participated in the process
of drafting the Travel Act, is entitled to substantial defer-
ence. See, e.g., United States v. Rutherford, No. 78-605
(June 18, 1979), slip op. 8. The views of the Deputy At-
torney General, the Assistant Attorney General (see our
initial brief at 32 n.27), and Senator Keating militate strongly
against the argument that the Travel Act applies only to
“official” bribery.

that commercial and official bribery are often pro-
hibited in different statutes.’ That was the situation
in Nardello (393 U.S. at 288-289), but the Court none-
theless adopted a generic interpretation under the
Travel Act. See id. at 293-296.

The direct relevance of Nardelio in the present case
lies in its conclusion that the word extortion should
not be restricted, as it was at common law, to mis-
conduct involving public officials (393 U.S. at 290,
292-293), but rather should extend to those actions
“generally known” as extortion. Instead of giving the
term extortion “an unnaturally narrow reading,” the
Court decided that a “generic” definition was most
consistent with the purposes of the Act. See id. ut
295-296. These considerations are directly relevant
here: in both popular and legal usage in 1961, the
term “bribery” had a generic meaning; and, as noted
above, the generic definition is essential to vindicate
Congress’ purpose—.e., to deprive organized crime of
the use of interstate facilities to carry on bribery
schemes that increase illegal revenues.*®

7 Some states prohibit commercial and official bribery in the
same statute. See our initial brief at 27 n.23.

8 While it is true that Nardello states in a footnote that
“(b]ribery has traditionally focused upon corrupt activities
by public officials” (393 U.S. at 293 n.11), the Court did not
purport to undertake a full examination of the evolution of
the crime of bribery. Even at common law, as petitioner con-
cedes (Reply Br. 4), the term bribery extended beyond
the corrupt actions of public officials, reaching corruption of
private persons such as voters and witnesses. In England,
commercial bribery has been a crime since 1906. See our
initial brief at 26-27 n. 22.

9

Although petitioner protests that a generic inter-
pretation will extend federal jurisdiction over state
crimes (Reply Br. 16-17), there can be no doubt
that Congress intended to aid local law enforcement
officials by condemning use of interstate facilities to
carry on activities illegal under local law. This is not
a case such as Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808
(1971), or United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336
(1971), in which local criminal activities had no sig-
nificant nexus with interstate commerce. Where, as
here, the government proves that the defendant used
the facilities of interstate commerce for a purpose for-
bidden by Congress, there is no question of intruding
impermissibly into the sphere of state regulation.
See Erlenbaugh v. United States, 409 U.S. 239, 245-
247 (1972); United States v. Culbert, 435 U.S. 371,
379-380 (1978); Hoke v. United States, 227 U.S. 308,
321-322 (1913).

4. Petitioner finally contends (Reply Br. 19-25)
that the statute is unconstitutionally vague in viola-
tion of the Due Process Clause, citing Bouie v. City
of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964). However, the
statute presents no vagueness problem. The literal dic-
tionary meaning of the term bribery is generic. Both
Congress and the states applied the term generically
in a wide variety of criminal laws prior to passage
of the Travel Act. The legislative history shows that
Congress understood the word bribery in its generic
sense, with no Congressman or governmental repre-
sentative ever suggesting that the term should be
limited to its “common law” meaning. Moreover, the
dominant statutory purpose strongly supports the

10

generic construction. Under these circumstances,
there is no uncertainty that requires a limiting in-
terpretation.

Petitioner also argues that the decision of the court
of appeals operated retroactively and unforeseeably,
citing Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188 (1977).
However, petitioner received fair warning from the
text of the Travel Act, which extends to bribery pro-
hibited by state statute without limitation on its kind.
He also received notice that his actions were illegal
from the Louisiana commercial bribery statute that
triggered application of the Travel Act. This Court’s
1969 Nardello decision placed petitioner on notice that
the Act would not be confined to common law mean-
ings or be given an unnaturally narrow reading.
Moreover, prior to petitioner’s actions, the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit (the
only court of appeals to have decided the question)
had held unanimously that commercial bribery was
covered by the Travel Act. United States v. Pompo-
nio, 511 F.2d 953 (1975).°

The decision of the Second Circuit in United States
v. Brecht, 540 F.2d 45 (2d Cir. 1976), on which peti-
tioner relies, was not handed down until one year
after he engaged in the illegal bribery scheme. There
was thus no “conflict” in the circuits that could have

® Petitioner was well aware that his conduct was wrongful,
as the evidence at trial established. See our initial brief at
8-9. There is thus no question of convicting a defendant who
believed that his actions were proper. See, e.g., Boyce Motor
Lines, Inc. v. United States, 342 U.S. 337, 340, 342 (1952).

11

misled petitioner or caused him to believe that his
conduct was lawful.”

For the foregoing reasons and the reasons stated
in our initial brief, the judgment of the court of
appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

SEPTEMBER 1979

1° The present case thus has no similarity to James V.
United States, 366 U.S. 213, 221-222 (1961), where a prior
decision of this Court had held that the conduct challenged
in the indictment was lawful.

WX oo. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1979 301949 os

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0037%3A7. Public record. Not legal advice.
