# Amicus Brief — Industrial Union Dept., AFL-CIO v. American Petroleum Institute

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0035%3A20

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 448 U.S. 607

## Text

Supreme Court, U. &*

FILED
JUL 30 is7g
EROTIK, JR, CLERN
IN THE gist
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1979
No. 78-911
INDUSTRIAL UNION DEPARTMENT, AFL-CIO,
Petitioner

v.
AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE, ET AL.

No. 78-1036

RAY MARSHALL, SECRETARY OF LABOR,
Petitioner

v.
AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE, ET AL.

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE AMICUS CURIAE
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED STATES

Of Counsel ROBERT V. ZENER

STEPHEN A. BOKAT Pepper, Hamilton & Scheetz

WILLIAM L. KOVACS 1776 F Street, N.W.

National Chamber Litigation Washington, D.C. 20006
Center

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Chamber of Commerce of the
United States

1615 H Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20062

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE .. ees
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........000.0 «65

SUPPLEMENTAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE 5
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .................. Eline 7
ARGUMENT ..... AMEE RAPS ton | Cmetar

J. OSHA HAS NO VALID BASIS FOR ITS
REFUSAL TO ASSESS THE EFFECTIVENESS
OF THE BENEZENE STANDARD | eat

1) The existence of uncertainty is not a sufficient
basis for refusal to assess the health benefits
of a regulation . | Mee raatirn 9

2) The conceded impossibility of quantifying the
value of human life is not an adequate basis for
refusing to assess the effectiveness of a health
regulation , tae Te PRIN PERRO

3) The allegedly inequitable distribution of risk
and benefit is an inadequate basis for refusing
to estimate the extent of health benefits ae

Il. THE PRACTICE OF OTHER FEDERAL
AGENCIES DEMONSTRATES THAT THE
BENEFITS OF HEALTH AND SAFETY P.EG-
ULATION CAN BE ASSESSED WITH SUF-
FICIENT CERTAINTY FOR REGULATORY
PURPOSES, AND THAT SUCH ASSESSMENT
IS CONSISTENT WITH THE PURPOSES OF
HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS
SIMILAR TO THE OSH ACT PMI POs

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Food and Drug Administration ............................ 19
Environmental Protection Agency oo... 22
Consumer Product Safety Commission .............. oc ae
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
(BREA, once si Ac . 29
CONCLUSION i tis Loan ueaeere Codes re a
CITATIONS
Cases:
Ethyl Corp. v. EPA, 541 F.2d 1 (D.C. Cir.
197TGE}: 035.23 Res: AAS WARM PE LTS aE ree y
H & H Tire Co. v. Department of Transportation,
471 F.2d 3S CT Cat. RGIS cia ce ae 30
STATUTES & REGULATIONS
Atomic Energy Act 42U.S.C. 2011 et seq.
42 U.S.C. 2201(b) ............ sh ahisd dads Measure ADuUnSS ciaat 27

Consumer Product Safety Act 15 U.S.C. 2051 et seq.

1S, USC. BUSTA hee eee ee 28

IS USC. BOtee kala eee
Federal Hazardous Substances Act 15 U.S.C. 1261

et seq.

1S UBL. 1261 CHAP ee ee 28

ili

STATUTES & REGULATIONS

Federal Insecticide, Fungicide & Rodenticide Act iis
7 U.S.C. 121 et seq.
7 U.S.C. 136(bb) , 26
7 USC. 136a(c) (5) 26
7 U.S.C. 136(d)(b) 7 26
Federal Water Pollution Control Act 33 U.S.C. 1251
et seq. Including Amendments Made by Clean
Water Act of 1977
33 U.S.C. 1313 ... : 3 eA eyeredes lt ae
33 U.S.C. 1313(c) (2) Wh bsobte Ss ee oF ORE 24
33 U.S.C. 1314(a) .. Saehtcsacth ts: janeke echt aa
Food, Drug, & Cosmetic Act, 301 et seq.
21 U.S.C. 346 Be pets roux. gsc tue seveedes acess
pO Slats DAT ORS (\ Oe 19
21 U.S.C. 360b | x 20
21 U.S.C. 360(d)(1)(H) i ai D9 ae
yo SP ORME TCO Dt ) ARR re ee |
Motor Vehicle Safety Standards
15 U.S.C. 1381 SS ein fan Ms aad ed crt Oa
15 U.S.C. 1391(2) nant Wee paella) ae
15 U.S.C. 1392(f) os “eee 30

Occupational Safety & Health Act of 1970,
29 U.S.C. 651 et seq.

er Rt ME feces beled fece eles | 9, 16
29 U.S.C. 652(8) WP ky A ee eal Senay Y RT Ye 7, 28

iv

STATUTES & REGULATIONS

29 U.S.C. 655(b) (5)

Page

Ae © Se F

Safe Drinking Water Act, 42 U.S.C. 300f et seq.

42 U.S.C. 300f et seq.
42 U.S.C. 300g-1(a) (2)

Miscellaneous

Booz, Allen & Hamilton, Inc. Preliminary Estimates
of Direct Compliance Cost and Other Economic
Effects of OSHA’s Generic Carcinogen Proposal
Cover on Substance Producing and re: Indus-
tries (Feb. 1978)

Bazelon, Risk And ere. 65 ABAJ 1066
(July 1979)

10 C.F.R.
21 C.F.R.
21 C.F.R.
29 C.F.R.
40 C.F.R.
40 Fed.
41 Fed.
41 Fed.
42 Fed.
42 Fed.
42 Fed.
42 Fed.

Reg.
Reg.
-Reg.
Reg.
Reg.
Reg.
Reg.

20.1(c)

500.89F

500.90a

1910.1000, Table Z-2
190

23420 (May 29, 1975)

; AB,

21402 (May 25, 1976) |

31860 (July 30, 1976)
2858 (Jan. 13, 1977)
18850 (April 8, 1977)
19996 (Apr. 15, 1977)
34289 (July 5, 1977)

28

13

Vv.

STATUTES & REGULATIONS

Page
Miscellaneous
42 Fed. Reg. 54148 (Oct. 4, 1977) y
43 Fed. Reg. 5756 (Feb. 9, 1978) 24
43 Fed. Reg. 11100 (Mar. 16, 1978) 29
44 Fed. Reg. 2678 (Jan. 12, 1979) 26
44 Fed. Reg. 9548 (Feb. 13, 1979) 26, 27
44 Fed. Reg. 9992 (Feb. 15, 1979) 28
44 Fed. Reg. 15926 (Mar. 15, 1979) 25
44 Fed Reg. 17070 (Mar. 20, 1979) 19, 20, 21, 25
44 Fed. Reg. 32736 (June 7, 1979) 26
44 Fed. Reg. 38330 (June 29, 1979) 22
44 Fed. Reg. 39858 (July 6, 1979) . 11, 14
H.R. Rep. No. 93-1185, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 23
National Cancer Institute, Estimates of the Frac-
tion of Cancer in the United States Related to
Occupational Factors, Sept. 5, 1978 3
Office of Science & Technology Policy, Executive
Office of the President, Characterization, and
Control of Potential Human Carcinogens: A
Framework for Federal INeRRORILe (Feb.
1, 1979) 12
Raspberry; “Those Hamburger Warnings,” Wash-
ington Post, May 19, 1978 ee
Reorganization Plan No. 3 (1970), U.S. Code
Cong. Ad News 6322 27

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 78-911

INDUSTRIAL UNION DEPARTMENT, AFL-CIO,
Petitioner

v.
AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE, ET AL.

No. 78-1036

RAY MARSHALL, SECRETARY OF LABOR,
Petitioner

V.
AMERICAN PETROLEUM INSTITUTE, ET AL.

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE AMICUS CURIAE
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED STATES

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States is the
largest business federation in the United States, consisting
of over 3700 State and local chambers of commerce and
trade and professional associations, and a direct business
membership in excess of 81,000 business firms and indi-
viduals.

site aha

The present case is of vital concern to the Chamber’s
members, for four reasons.

First, the position taken by OSHA — that it may issue
standards without any estimate of their effectiveness in
benefiting worker health — will inevitably increase the
already substantial costs imposed on American business
by OSHA regulation. A recent study of OSHA’s policy
for regulation of carcinogens estimated that it will result
in $9 to 88 billion capital costs and $6 to 36 billion annual
costs, depending on how it is applied.'

Second, the Chamber’s members are concerned that the
approach taken by OSHA will ultimately lead to less
effective protection for their employees’ health. At the rate
of expenditure represented by the benzene standard (con-
servatively estimated to be at least $240 million per case
of cancer avoided) it would take an annual expenditure
far in excess of the Gross National Product to solve the
occupational cancer problem — with nothing left over to
address other societal purposes, including other causes of
cancer and other health and safety problems.’

' Booz, Allen & Hamilton, Inc., Preliminary Estimates of Direct
Compliance Costs and Other Economic Effects of OSHA’s Generic
Carcinogen Proposal on Substance Producing and Using Industries
(February, 1978). This study was directed to OSHA’s still pend-
ing proposal for a generic regulation on controlling occupational
carcinogens. 42 Fed. Reg. 54148 (October 4, 1977).

* As discussed in note 5 infra, the testimony that the standard
represents an expenditure of $300 million per cancer avoided,
should be revised to $240 million in light of OSHA’s final cost
estimates.

There are approximately 360,000 cancer deaths annually in this
country, or about 1,000 per day. See OSHA, Identification, Classi-
fication and Regulation of Toxic Substances Posing a Potential
Occupational Carcinogenic Risk, 42 Fed. Reg. 54148, 54150
(October 4, 1977).

Estimates of the portion of the overall cancer rate attributable
to occupational causes range from 1% to a recent HEW estimate
of 20% (attributable in large portion to asbestos). See National

seis Mie

The Chamber believes that more lives can be saved and
serious injury prevented, by OSHA standards which offer
a larger return for the resources expended. Yet unless OSHA
is required to estimate the effectiveness of its standards there
is no assurance that these regulations will ever even ap-
proach the maximum lifesaving potential of the resources
expended.

Third, OSHA’s refusal to consider the effectiveness of
its standards is at variance with the positions taken by the
Food and Drug Administration, the Environmental Pro-
tection Agency, the Consumer Product Safety Commission
and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration —
all of which regulate the Chamber’s members. If a decision
of this Court were to endorse OSHA’s position, and the
decision were applied to other agencies, there could be
disastrous effects on the level and effectiveness of regulation
across the entire field of federal health and environmental
control.

Finally, the Chamber is concerned that OSHA’s position
will Jead to public disillusionment and eventually loss of
support for any serious effort to alleviate the cancer prob-
lem in this country. OSHA’s position is basically that all
carcinogens must be regulated to the point of maximum
affordable cost, regardless of the enormous degree of varia-
tion in the risks presented, which differ by more than a
millionfold.* However, this philosophy of 1egulation runs

[Footnote 2 cont.].

Cancer Institute, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences,
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Estimates
of the Fraction of Cancer in the United States Related to Occupa-
tional Factors (September 15, 1978), at p. 1. An estimate of 10%
would involve 100 deaths a day, meaning that at an expenditure rate
of $240 million per case, the total for 12 weeks would use up the
Gross National Product ($2 trillion).

8’ The potency of different carcinogens varies by as much as a
million times; and this difference is magnified by large differences
in the levels of exposure. See respondents’ brief, Addendum C.,

coo a

the danger of depleting not only economic resources, but
also the public support needed for effective anti-cancer
measures. By refusing to distinguish between severe and
remote cancer hazards, OSHA contributes to an already
common public attitude that “everything causes cancer,
so what’s the use.” Indeed, this attitude was eloquently
expressed last year by a popular columnist:

Not just aerosol deodorants and hair sprays, but
the very air we breathe and the water we drink and
the sunshine that warms us have all been identified
as carcinogens. I even remember reading a report
that linked sex with cancer. After a while, the mind
refuses to accept such warnings * * *,

But for most of us it’s not practical to give up meat
or vegetables grown with the aid of fertilizer and
pesticides. We are not going to give up air or water
or sunshine.

What’s more likely — in fact, what is already
happening —— is that we'll give up on the scientists
who tell us these things.

It would help if scientists would tell us which
substances are more dangerous than which others,
or in what levels these dangerous substances can be
treated as benign.

But they won’t tell us these things; they say they
don’t know.

When nearly everything is demonstrated to be
dangerous, we are forced to behave as though noth-
ing is dangerous. We will make our wry little jokes
(calling cigarettes ‘cancer sticks,’ for instance) and
go on as before.

Raspberry, “Those Hamburger Warnings,” Washington
Post, May 19, 1978 (emphasis added).

As we shall demonstrate, Mr. Raspberry’s remarks are
not completely accurate with regard to other federal health
and environmental agencies, which do make an effort to as-

a ere

sess the degree of public health hazard presented by a sus-
pected carcinogen, before regulating. However, OSHA
refuses to follow the other agencies’ practice and now seeks
this Court’s endorsement for its aberrant views.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether OSHA must estimate the health benefits
expected to result from its issuance of an occupational
standard.

SUPPLEMENTAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE *

In 1971, OSHA adopted a standard of 10 ppm (parts
per million) for occupational exposure to benzene. 29
C.F.R. §1910.1000 Table Z-2. The present proceeding in-
volves OSHA’s issuance of a regulation lowering the stan-
dard tenfold, to 1 ppm.

OSHA’s proposal to lower the standard was based on
studies indicating benzene had caused an excess incidence
of leukemia among certain groups of workers. These studies
(summarized in the opinion of the Court of Appeals, Pet.
App. 8a, n. 13) involved exposures to benzene of 100 ppm
and above. ©

At the hearing on the proposed standard, the industry
argued 1) that at the levels of exposure represented by the
current standard (10 ppm), there is no demonstrated risk
of leukemia, and 2) that even if a risk exists, at the 10
ppm current level the risk is extremely low. In this con-
nection, one witness (Dr. Richard Wilson of the Harvard
Energy and Environment Policy Center) testified as to the
level of risk, if any, present by occupational exposure to
benzene at 10 ppm. He found it to be comparable to the

* The Supplemental Statement is not a complete statement but
rather sets forth those facts germane to the arguments presented by
the Amicus.

mer Were

risk that each individual in the population runs of dying
in any one year from drowning or from fires and hot sub-
stances. (A 171, 172). Another comparison made by Dr.
Wilson was that two weeks of exposure to benzene at 10
ppm presents a hazard equivalent to one day of air pol-
lution in Boston or Washington, one gallon of chlorinated
drinking water, or one-half bottle of wine. (A 174).

Based on OSHA’s data that about 30,000 workers now
have benzene exposures between 10 ppm and 1 ppm, Dr.
Wilson concluded that the new standard would save at
most one case of leukemia and one other cancer every six
years. (A 176). Based on OSHA’s preliminary cost esti-
mates, Dr. Wilson concluded that the standard would
cost at least $300 million for every life saved (a figure
which should be revised to approximately $240 million
in light of OSHA’s final cost estimates) and might even
cost more lives than it saved (since some construction work
would be required, and generally one life is lost for every
$20 million spent in construction). (A 81).°

In issuing its final standard, OSHA rejected the industry’s
contention that benzene had not been demonstrated to pre-
sent any risk at the level of the current standard. The court
of appeals accepted OSHA’s conclusion on this point, which
is not contested in this Court. (Pet. App. 18a).

OSHA also rejected the industry contention that it should
attempt to estimate the degree of risk presented by exposure
at the currently-required 10 ppm, and in that context assess
whether the standard was “reasonably necessary” or “feas-

5 OSHA’s final cost estimates were $187-205 million first-year
operating costs, $266 million engineering control costs, and $34
million recurring annual costs (Pet. App. 17a). At an interest rate
of 10%, the annual charge for the total first-year costs plus capital
costs ($471 million) would be $47 million. Adding the $34 million
recurring costs produces a total annual cost of $81 million. At the
rate of two lives every six years or one life every three years, this
produces a total of $243 million per life.

a ae

ible” within the meaning of sections 3(8) and 6(b)(5) of
the Occupational Safety and Health Act. 29 U.S.C.
§§652(8), 655(b) (5).

The court of appeals reversed OSHA on this point,
holding that OSHA must “estimate the extent of expected
benefits in order to determine whether those benefits bear
a reasonable relationship to the standard’s demonstrably
high costs.” (Pet. App. 19a).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

We endorse and adopt the discussion in respondents’
brief, demonstrating that OSHA’s summary rejection of
any serious attempt to estimate the health benefits of the
benzene standard violates the requirements of the Occupa-
tional Safety and Health Act. |

OSHA’s position is at odds with the position taken by
the other key federal agencies with responsibility for health,
safety and environmental regulation —- Food and Drug
Administration, Environmental Protection Agency, Con-
sumer Product Safety Commission and National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration. All these agencies have
performed estimations of health benefits in connection with
their regulations, thus demonstrating disagreement with
OSHA’s position that such estimates are too uncertain to
be used for regulatory purposes. Moreover, these other
agencies have frequently performed health risk estimations
under laws that are either similar to the Occupational
Safety and Health Act, or are stricter (in the sense of
requiring regulations that assure “safety” without explicit
statutory authority to consider cost). In light of the other
agencies’ practice, OSHA cannot summarily dismiss the
view that health benefit estimates can and should be
performed.

It is argued that health risk estimations are too uncertain
to “precisely quantify” the benefits of regulation.

ao pee

However, no one has ever claimed that “precise quanti-
fication” could be provided by health risk estimation, or
is necessary for regulatory purposes. The other federal
agencies, when they perform risk estimations, treat them
as approximations, and yet have found such approximations
to be useful tur regulatory purposes. Nothing in the Occupa-
tionai Safety and Health Act requires precise quantification.

Moreover, there are at least two techniques for dealing
with uncertainty. The witnesses in this case, as well as the
other federal agencies, have compensated for the lack of
precision in health risk estimates by utilizing “conservative”
or “pessimistic” assumptions at key points of uncertainty —
i.e., taking high estimates at uncertain points in the analy-
sis — so as to avoid the danger of underestimating risk.
Another technique (which the Chamber believes to be
preferable) is to obtain from the scientists a “most prob-
able” estimate of the level of risk together with a statement
of the range of uncertainty, and then to have the decision
makers apply whatever safety factors appear to be appro-
priate in light of that uncertainty and other relevant factors.
However, OSHA does not even discuss why it rejects these
techniques as ways of dealing with the problem of un-
certainty in health risk estimation. Instead, OSHA simply
says that health risk estimation is uncertain and therefore
cannot be used. This is simply not adequate.

OSHA also contends that “cost benefit criteria” are
inconsistent with the OSH Act. However, this misses the
point. No one in this case has suggested that one must
place a price tag on human life, and then decide whether
an OSHA regulation is “worth it” in terms of that price
tag. Instead, the point is that because the resources avail-
able for occupational safety and health are limited, they
should be spent where they will have the maximum effec-
tiveness in terms of lives saved. In order to determine
whether its standards approximate their maximum life-
saving potential, OSHA must have some rough idea as to

—_ pom

what the health benefit of each standard is. Only in this
manner can OSHA achieve its statutory goal “to assure so
far as possible every working man and woman in the Nation
safe and healthful working conditions.” 29 U.S.C. §651.
Standards which save lives at the rate of only one per
several hundred million dollars spent will clearly not achieve
anything close to the maximum life-saving potential of the
available resources.

ARGUMENT

I. OSHA HAS NO VALID BASIS FOR ITS REFUSAL
TO ASSESS THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE BENZENE
STANDARD

As respondents’ brief demonstrates, OSHA’s preamble
to the benzene standard, as well as its statements and
actions on other occasions, are so confusing that it is
impossible to determine what the basis is for its rejection
of any serious effort to estimate the health benefits of
the benzene standard.

What is clear is that OSHA misunderstands the nature
and utility of risk estimation when it claims: 1) that
the data are not sufficiently certain to “precisely quantify”
the health benefits of the regulation (Pet. App. 162a); 2)
that “cost-benefit criteria” are inconsistent with the Act
and would involve the impossible task of quantifying the
value of life (Pet. App. 162a, OSHA Br. p. 62, n.52);
and 3) that cost-benefit analysis is inappropriate as a matter
of equity, because the worker bears the risk while the con-
sumer obtains the benefit (OSHA Br. p. 47).

None of these reasons is an adequate basis for OSHA’s
position.

1) The existence of uncertainty is not a sufficient basis for refusal
to assess the health benefits of a regulation.

OSHA’s summary dismissal of the evidence concerning
the miniscule degree of health benefits to be expected from
the benzene regulation as “uncertain” and lacking “preci-

——

sion,” overlooks the fact that there are at least two ways
of dealing with the conceded uncertainties in risk estima-
tions.

In both Dr. Wilson’s testimony, as well as in the numerous
risk assessments performed by EPA and other agencies
(including EPA’s assessment of benzene), the question of
uncertainty is handled by making “pessimistic” or “con-
servative” assumptions — i.e., at points of uncertainty, the
high assessment of risk is made." In particular, EPA’s esti-
mation of benzene risk used a so-called linear model for
extrapolating risk at low exposures from historical high-
exposure data, on the ground that this model “is expected
to give an upper limit to the estimated risk.” (A 15).’

This approach to dealing with uncertainty has been
described and endorsed in the recent report of the Inter-
agency Regulatory Liaison Group (IRLG), a group con-
sisting of the CPSC, EPA, FDA and OSHA. In this report,

® An industry consultant who estimated the health benefits of
the regulation at one case every 15 to 38 years, listed three “con-
servative assumptions” in Wilson’s testimony that accounted for
Wilson’s higher estimation of risk:

a. All leukemias (not just ANLL [acute nonlymphocytic
leukemia, a form specifically associated with high benzene
exposures] ) are benezene related.

b. For every benzene leukemia there would be another can-
cer at another site in the body due to benzene exposure.

c. Benzene exposure of those currently exposed to 1 to 10
ppm benezene would be far less than 1 ppm if a new
standard were introduced.

(Lamm affidavit, A 34).

* The linear model assumes that cancer incidence varies in direct
proportion to exposure. Dr. Wilson also used this model. (A 89).
By contrast, other models assume that at low exposures the cancer
incidence is much less than a linear model would predict. OSHA it-
self appears to have endorsed the linear model in its proposal for
a generic policy for regulation of suspected occupational carcinogens.
42 Fed. Reg. 54148, 54167 (October 4, 1977).

ee yess

the IRLG specifically addresses the question of estimating
the risk of exposure to carcinogens:

Despite the uncertainties, risk estimates can be
and are being made, not only by some regulatory
agencies but by other scientific bodies. Because of
the uncertainties, however, and because of the serious
public health consequences that could ensue if the
estimated risk were understated, it has become com-
mon practice to make cautious and prudent assump-
tions wherever they are needed to conduct a risk
assessment. This approach has a precedent in other
areas of public health protection where similar prob-
lems arise because of gaps in knowledge. [Citation
omitted] Thus current methodologies, which permit
only crude estimates of human risk, are designed to
avoid understatement of the risk.

Scientific Bases for Identifying Potential Carcinogens and
Estimating Their Risks, Report of the Interagency Regula-
tory Liaison Group (IRLG) Work Group on Risk Assess-
ment, Part III, “The Quantitative Estimation of Risk,”
44 Fed. Reg. 39858, 39871 (July 6, 1979) (emphasis
added).

The Office of Science and Technology Policy, in the
Executive Office of the President, has described an alterna-
tive approach to dealing with uncertainty, which the Cham-
ber favors. Under this approach, there would be generated
a scientific estimate of the “most probable” level of risk,
together with a statement of the range of uncertainty in
the estimate. It would then be the function of the decision-
makers to apply whatever safety factors were deemed
appropriate, in light of the uncertainties in the scientific
estimate, the type of health risk involved, the social costs
of regulation, and any other relevant factors." This ap-

* The OSTP Report describes these two techniques for dealing
with the problem of uncertainty:

For each term in the equation, one could then generate a
range of potential values based upon existing data. Which

pean ee

proach is preferable to the “conservative assumption” tech-
nique, because it encourages the scientists to improve their
techniques of estimation rather than freezing the evolving
science of risk estimation into a particular format, and it
brings out into the open policy forum the choices that must
be made regarding the size of the margin of safety to be
built into regulatory decisions — rather than hiding these
choices in an often high technical scientific analysis.°

| [Footnote 8 cont. ]

of these values, however, should be entered into the equation
for an accurate asessment of overall risk? One approach is
to use the high risk estimate for each term in the equation.
This results in the most extreme estimate possible for risk
to humans. Another approach is to use the most likely value
for each term, including confidence intervals which express
the precision of each estimate, This latter approach generates
the risk estimate which has the greatest probability of being
accurate and which also makes clear the uncertainty in-
— volved.

Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the
President, Identification, Characterization, and Control of Poten-
tial Human Carcinogens: A Framework for Federal Decision-
Making (February 1, 1979), ati p. 18.

® A recent article by Judge Bazelon, discussing the question of
tisk estimation, stresses the importance of keeping value judgments
out of the scientific component of the decision, so that they may
be explicitly acknowledged and discussed by the policy-makers. This,
we believe, is the most important reason why the “most probable”
risk approach is preferable to the “conservation assumption” tech-
nique:

The growing use of analytic tools such as cost-benefit
analysis magnifies the chance that unrecognized value judg-
ments will creep into apparently objective assessments. Even
the most conscientious effort by experts not to exceed their
sphere of competence may be inadequate to safeguard the
validity of the decision-making process. * * * *

Courts, standing outside both scientific and political de-
bate, can help to make sure that decision-makers articulate
the basis for their decisions. In the scientists’ realm — the
sphere of fact — courts can ask that the data be described,
hypotheses articulated, and, above all, in those areas where
we lack knowledge, that ignorance be confessed. In the politi-
cal realm — the sphere of values —- courts can ask that de-

ion os

Of course, it is not for this Court to choose between
various forms of risk analysis. Rather, the choices must
be made by the various regulatory agencies that deal with
health and safety issues. However, here OSHA has not
even addressed the issues, but instead has summarily stated
that it cannot accept “uncertainty.” This is simply not an
adequate basis for what OSHA has done.

In the area of health and environmental regulation, the
courts have stressed that the government must act at the
“frontiers of knowledge”; that substantial uncertainties are
necessarily involved; but that uncertain data may never-
theless be the basis for action. Ethyl Corp. v. EPA, 541
F.2d 1, 24-29 (D.C. Cir 1976) (en banc), cert. denied
426 U.S. 941 (1976). See also, OSHA’s proposal for a
generic carcinogen policy, 42 Fed. Reg. 54148, 54153
(October 4, 1977), discussing its obligation to regulate
on the basis of uncertain evidence. The OSH Act itself
emphasizes this point, by directing OSHA to set standards
on the basis of the “best available evidence.” 29 U.S.C.
§$655(b) (5). With specific reference to carcinogen risk
assessment, the IRLG report makes the same point by
stating that with present knowledge, assessment of cancer
risk provides “a rough estimate of the magnitude of the
cancer risks which may be useful in setting priorities among
carcinogens and in obtaining a very rough idea of the

[Footnote 9 cont.]

cision-makers explain why they believe that a risk is too
great to run or why a particular trade-off is acceptable.
Perhaps most important, in the nether realm, at the interface
of fact and value, courts can help assure that the value com-

' ponent of decisions is explicitly acknowledged, not hidden
in quasi-scientific jargon.

Bazelon, Risk and Responsibility, 65 A.B.A.J. 1066, 1068 (July,
1979) (emphasis added). The degree of conservativism in a regula-
tory decision is a question in the “political realm” or the “sphere
of values”, as Judge Bazelon puts it. Thus it should be kept out of
the scientific analysis, which should be confined to an estimation
of the most probable risk and the range of uncertainty.

a | ee

magnitude of the public health problem posed by a given
carcinogen.” IRLG Report, 44 Fed. Reg. at 39872.

When a “rough estimate” is that the regulation would
cost $240 million per life saved, the regulation would be
unreasonable even if the estimate were overstated by a
large multiple (and it may be understated '*). OSHA can-
not avoid the problem by summary and irrelevant references
to “uncertainty” and the impossibility of “precise quantifi-
cation.”

2) The conceded impossibility of quantifying the value of human
life is not an‘ adequate basis for refusing to assess the effec-
tiveness of a health regulation.

OSHA’s decision hints that one of its reasons for refusing
to assess the effectiveness of the benzene standard is the
impossibility of quantifying the value of human life. (Pet.
App. 163a). The same suggestions lurks in OSHA’s state-
ment that “cost benefit criteria” are impermissible under
the Act. (Pet App. 162a). The Government’s brief makes
this point more explicitly (at pp. 62-63 n. 52).

In fact, this argument totally misses the point. No one
in this proceeding has suggested that it is possible or even
desirable to place a value on human life. Instead the point
made was that, since resources are limited, the expenditure
of several hundred million on this regulation would in-
evitably mean that several hundred million would not be
available to spend on other health and safety regulations;
and that if several hundred million spent elsewhere would
save more lives, then its expenditure here would mean that
the overall health and safety effort would be less effective
and save fewer lives."

'’ Other estimates are that the regulation will save one life every
15 to 38 years, or one life every 83 years. (A 34, A 35).

'' Dr. Zeckhauser, an economist, testified that much of the cost
of the standard represents resources that would otherwise be avail-

ian EI ci

In other words, it is just because the value of life is
infinite, that it is vitally important to spend our limited
health and safety dollars in those areas where they will
save the most lives. In order to do this, we must have some
rough idea of the life-saving potential of any health or
safety regulation that is proposed.

The point was summarized in the testimony of Dr.
Zeckhauser:

(Wlhen attempting to accomplish some end such
as protecting human health, we should direct eco-
nomic resources where they accomplish the most.
If the expenditure of an additional $1,000,000 would
save five lives on the highway, but the same expen-
diture on plant safety would only save one life, then
if we chose the plant safety expenditure over the

[Footnote 11 cont.]

able for other societal purposes, including protection of health and
safety in other areas:

If a private corporation is in a 50 percent marginal tax
bracket, for example, one half of any reduction in profits
due to expenditures entailed by regulations will be borne
directly by the taxpaying public as a whole. A further frac-
tion would be borne, of course, given reduced taxes on earn-
ings eventually going to shareholders in the form of dividends
or capital gains. Of course, much if not most, of the expen-
diture will not come out of profits. Some will come out of
the wages of workers. More will be passed on in the form
of higher prices, in general the less elastic is the demand for
the product. For example, since the price elasticity for gas-
oline is low, additional costs in gasoline production will be
mostly absorbed through higher prices.

The economic costs we are talking about represent real
resources that could be devoted to other purposes in society.
For example, in computing the economic costs of the benzene
standard, we should recognize that doctors administering
tests for benzene exposure to workers will not be available
to deliver other medical services. The workers and machines
producing monitoring equipment will be taken away from
the production of other equipment that might have been
used either to save lives, or to serve any other purpose of
society.

(A 142).

Btens Ree

highway expenditure, we would in effect be sacri-
ficing lives.

(A 140).

OSHA’s suggestion that it is impossible to quantify the
value of human life is correct, but totally irrelevant. In
fact, OSHA has given no reason why it cannot and should
not attempt to maximize the effectiveness of the occupa-
tional safety and health dollar, and thus best serve the
purpose of the OSH Act “to assure so far as possible every
working man and woman in the Nation safe and healthful
working conditions.” 29 U.S.C. $651."

‘2 Dr. Zeckhauser made it plain that estimating the effectiveness
of a health regulation does not require putting a value on human
life:

I should be explicit. | am not arguing that a cost-benefit
approach be employed in formulating policy on occupational
safety and health. Such an approach would require that a
dollar price tag be attached to a life saved. The value of the
lives saved would then be weighed against the resources
invested to find the program that had the highest net value.
The major objection to this approach is that there is simply
no widely accepted precedure for determining the value of
lives in contexts such as these.

Fortunately, there is an alternative approach, called cost-
effectiveness analysis, that enables us to establish priorities
in programs for saving lives. The guiding principle of cost-
effectiveness analysis is that for whatever level of resource
expenditure we are undertaking, we should attempt to gain
the maximum possible level of effectiveness. * * * * The
criterion for effectiveness in the occupational health area
would be health or lives preserved.

(A 137).

'8 Dr. Zeckhauser conceded in his testimony that OSHA might
disclaim responsibility for consistency with other government health
and safety agencies, in terms of the level at which standards are
considered to be cost-effective. (A 140). However, Dr. Zeck-
hauser pointed out, OSHA should “make every attempt to be con-
sistent across the broad sweep of problems encompassed by occupa-
tional health and safety.” /bid. But without knowing the cost-effec-
tiveness of the benzene standard, OSHA has no way of knowing
whether the resources spent there might be more effectively spent
and save more lives in some other occupational area.

enstell cused

3) The allegedly inequitable distribution of risk and benefit is
an inadequate basis for refusing to estimate the extent of
health benefits.

The Government’s brief (at p. 47, n.38), although not
the OSHA decision, argues that cost-benefit analysis is
inappropriate because in the occupational context the
worker bears all the risk, while the consumer obtains the
benefit (in the form of a lower price). This, the Govern-
ment argues, is unlike the consumer area, where a risky
product (such as a sharp kitchen knife) at least gives the
consumer some benefit along with the risk.

However, this argument is also irrelevant. The purpose
of estimating the extent of health benefits for occupational
regulations is to maximize the number of lives saved by
occupational regulations. It is not a question of balancing
worker risk against consumer benefit. Rather, it is a question
of maximizing worker benefit. Thus the argument of an
inequitable distribution of cost and benefit is simply
irrelevant.

Il. THE PRACTICE OF OTHER FEDERAL AGENCIES
DEMONSTRATES THAT THE BENEFITS OF HEALTH AND
SAFETY REGULATION CAN BE ASSESSED WITH
SUFFICIENT CERTAINTY FOR REGULATORY PURPOSES,
AND THAT SUCH ASSESSMENT IS CONSISTENT WITH THE
PURPOSES OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS
SIMILAR TO THE OSH ACT.

Among the federal health and environmental! regulatory
agencies, OSHA stands alone in refusing to assess the cost-
effectiveness of its regulations. The Food and Drug Admin-
istration, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Con-
sumer Product Safety Commission, and the National
Highway Safety Administration, have all found it useful
to estimate, generally in quantitative terms, the effective-
ness of their regulations. Recognizing the uncertainties in-
volved in these estimates, these agencies have nevertheless

vii! SR Naot

found them to be useful for regulatory purposes. In par-
ticular, these agencies have attacked the problem of un-
certainty by utilizing the “conservative assumption” tech-
nique — that is, resolving uncertainties in the direction
of the higher health risk, so as to avoid understatement of
risk.

The OSH Act requires OSHA to take into consideration
“experience gained under this and other health and safety
laws.” 29 U.S.C. §655(b)(5). There is no evidence that
OSHA has done so. The experience of other federal agencies
shows that health benefit estimations are sufficiently reliable
to be used for regulatory purposes; OSHA cannot dismiss
this experience with the conclusory statement that estimates
of health benefits are “extremely uncertain” and cannot
provide “precise calculations.” (Pet. App. 162a, 163a).

In addition, as we shall demonstrate, the various statutory
authorities under which other federal agencies have esti-
mated the health benefit of their regulations are frequently
similar to the OSH Act (in the sense of requiring regula-
tions to be “feasible” or “practicable”), and in some cases
are even stricter than the OSH Act (such as the Delaney
Clause).

While OSHA argues that its statute is different, because
of Congress’ overriding concern for worker safety and
health, the statutory authorities of the FDA, EPA, CPSC
and NHTSA also exhibit overriding concern for the safety
of the food supply and consumer products, for environ-
mental protection and for traffic safety. Nevertheless, these
other agencies have found that estimating the effectiveness
of their regulations is consistent with Congressional intent.
The experience of other agencies, at the very least, destroys
any claim made by OSHA that its unique view is entitled
to special deference from the courts.

We shall now summarize the practice of the FDA, EPA,

jel OO Li.

CPSC and NHTSA in estimating the health benefits of
their regulations, in each case also summarizing the per-
tinent statutory authorities under which these estimations

have been made and comparing these authorities to the
OSH Act."*

Food and Drug Administration

Despite statutory authority which, unlike the OSH Act,
on its face would appear to contain no room for risk
estimation, the FDA has estimated the magnitude of risk
in connection with its regulatory actions. Indeed, the FDA
has recently proposed to adopt risk estimation as part of
formal Agency policy.

The Delaney Anti-Cancer clause of the Federal Food,
Drug and Cosmetic Act, forbids the FDA from approving
food additives or animal drugs shown to cause cancer in
man or, by appropriate tests, in animals.’* Both the language
and the legislative history of the Delaney Clause demon-
strate that Congress thought that cost could not be a con-
sideration justifying carcinogenic food additives. Moreover,
the FDA regards the Delaney Clause as a “particularization
of the general safety sections of the act.” 44 Fed. Reg.
17070, 17074 (March 20, 1979). Thus the FDA inter-
prets its general obligation to disapprove a food additive if
the data fails to show that use of the additive “will be
safe,” '* as meaning that the additive must be “safe in all

'* The following discussion is not, of course, intended to imply
endorsement of any particular regulatory decision. Rather, the point
is that agencies other than OSHA are making an attempt to estimate
risk by some method or another, while OSHA claims that the at-
tempt cannot and should not be made.

© 21 U.S.C. §§348(c)(3)(a) (food additives), 376(b)(5)(B)
(color additives), and 360b(d)(1)(H) (animal drugs).

16 Federal Foods, Drug and Cosmetic Act §409(c)(3)(A), 21
U.S.C. §348(c)(3) (a).

nian ete

respects — including safe from carcinogenicity.” 44 Fed.
Reg. 17070 at 17074 (March 20, 1979). Cost is not a con-
sideration under these provisions.

Nevertheless, the FDA has found room in this stringent
statutory scheme to accommodate the quantitative estima-
tion of the magnitude of risk posed by carcinogenic chem-
icals. In its proposed regulation of saccharin (which was
aborted by special legislation), the FDA estimated “that
the lifetime ingestion of the amount of saccharin in one diet
beverage per day results in a risk to the individual of some-
where between zero and 4 in 10,000 of developing cancer
of the bladder.” 42 Fed. Reg. at 20001 (April 15, 1977).

The FDA estimated the number of resulting cancers on
the basis of the conservative assumption that “everyone in
the United States drank one [diet] beverage a day.” Ibid.
The FDA explained that it did not regard current scientific
methods as being capable of determining the “exact risk,”
but that “techniques are available for estimating the upper
limits of the risk.” bid.

Recently the FDA has proposed regulations which would
formalize its commitment to quantitative risk estimation.
This proposal arises in the context of the provision of the
Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act regarding animal
drugs. 21 U.S.C. §360b. This provision prohibits approval
of a drug which induces cancer in man or animals, unless
“no residue” of the drug is found in edible portions of the
animal by approved methods of examination. 21 U.S.C.
§$360b(d)(1)(H). FDA’s recent proposal is to approve
those methods of examination which are sensitive enough
to detect drug residues creating no more than a one in a
million lifetime risk of cancer for the consumer. 44 Fed.
Reg. at 17111 (March 20, 1979 (proposing 21 C.F.R.
§$§500.89(f), 500.90(a)). The proposed regulations em-
ploy the technique of conservative assumptions to avoid
understatement of risk in the estimation of whether the
one-in-a-million risk is present. Thus the proposed regula-

a,

tions require “linear extrapolation” on the ground that it
is “least likely to underestimate risk”; *‘ they also assume
that “the maximum concentration of residues potentially
undetected in edible tissues is consumed every day over a
lifetime”; ** and they use various other “conservative pro-
cedures and assumptions” to help compensate for possible
underestimation. 44 Fed. Reg. at 17093 (March 20, 1979).

Another example of FDA action in estimating health
risk is found in its proposal of a temporary tolerance for
polychlorinated biphenyls (PCB’s) in fish. Section 406 of
the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, 21 U.S.C. §346,
authorizes the FDA to limit the quantity of environmental
contaminants in food “to such extent as [it] finds necessary
for the protection of public health.” In establishing the level
of contamination to be tolerated, FDA must take into
account “the extent to which the use of such [contaminating]
substance is required or cannot be avoided in the production
of each such article, and the other ways in which the
consumer may be affected * * *.” Jbid. In short, the
statute is much like the OSH Act, in establishing two criteria
for action: 1) health, and 2) feasibility [i.e., the extent to
which contamination “cannot be avoided” ].

In its recent action reducing the tolerance for PCB’s
from 5 to 2 ppm, the FDA estimated “the upper limit on
the lifetime risk of cancer for heavy consumers of fish
most affected by the tolerance” for the three levels suggested
by parties to the proceeding: 5 ppm, 2 ppm and | ppm.
The FDA concluded that the lifetime risk is “9.8 incidences
of cancer per 100,000 of the population, assuming the
tolerance is 5 ppm; 7.2 per 100,000 assuming the tolerance
is 2 ppm; and 4.4 per 100,060 assuming the tolerance is
1 ppm.” 44 Fed. Reg. 38330, 38333 (June 29, 1979).

1744 Fed. Reg. at 17089 (March 20,1979).
18 44 Fed. Reg. at 17092 (March 20, 1979).

a

Because of uncertainties in the data, the FDA stated that
the utility of the risk assessment is “extremely limited” and
that it did not provide a basis for “precise quantification”
of the amount of risk reduction from the reduction in PCB
levels. Nevertheless, the FDA concluded that the risk
assessment was “illustrative of the toxicological rationale
for reducing the tolerance for PCB’s in fish.” Ibid. More-
over, the FDA was able to conclude that for average con-
sumers, the additional health protection in moving from
2 ppm to 1 ppm (as some parties to the proceeding had
urged) would be “slight” and would thus not justify the
significantly greater impact that such a tolerance would
have on food availability (estimated to be approximately
$16 million). 44 Fed Reg. 38330 at 38335, 38333 (June
29, 1979).

In short, under a statute much like the OSH Act, the
FDA concluded that although its “paramount concern” is
“protection of the public health,” it must nevertheless
“ensure that the direct economic consequences of the toler-
ance (in this case, decreased sales and employment in the
commercial fishing industry) will not be disproportionate
to the increased degree of public health protection accom-
plished by the tolerance.” 44 Fed. Reg. 38333, 38334
(June 29, 1979). Pursuant to that responsibility, the FDA
performed a quantitative estimation of the degree of public
health benefit from the various proposed levels of regula-
tion, and while recognizing the uncertainties inherent in
the estimation, nevertheless utilized it in arriving at its final
judgment as to the proper level of regulation.

Environmental Protection Agency

EPA’s practice with respect to suspected carcinogens
is set forth in “Health Risk and Economic Impact Assess-
ments of Suspected Carcinogens: Interim Procedures and
Guidelines,” 41 Fed. Reg. 21402 (May 25, 1976). This
document requires that where EPA proposes to take regula-

—

tory action against a suspected carcinogen, a “risk analysis”
shall be performed, which will estimate “excess lifetime
incidence, or average excess cancer rates * * *.” IJd., at
21405. The document provides that “[t]he uncertainty in
the data and extrapolation techniques should be clearly
indicated.” /bid. In addition, EPA points out that “the risk
estimates should be regarded only as rough indications of
effect.” Jd., at 21404. Nevertheless, EPA’s policy is to
perform these risk estimates where this is consistent with
its statutory authorities.

The EPA experience confirms 1) that risk estimation for
carcinogens, while concededly not a precise science, is
nevertheless sufficiently reliable for regulatory purposes if
used with an appreciation of its limitations, and 2) that
the statutory concepts of “safety” and “feasibility” are con-
sistent with the use of risk estimation as an element in the
regulation of suspected carcinogens.

Under the Safe Drinking Water Act, 42-U:S8.C. §300f
et seq., EPA has authority to set “national interim primary
drinking water regulations.” These regulations are required
to “protect health to the extent feasible, using technology
* * * which the Administrator determines [is] generally
available (taking costs into consideration) * * *.”
§1412(a (2), 42 U.S.C. §$300g-1(a) (2). Like the OSH Act,
the overriding purpose of the Safe Drinking Water Act is
to protect health but with some allowance for feasibility."

EPA has proposed regulations governing the concentra-
tions of trihalomethanes in drinking water, on the basis of
a suspected cancer risk. 43 Fed. Reg. 5756 (Feb. 9, 1978).
These regulations were proposed at a level which EPA de-
termined to be “as low as economically and technologically
feasible.” 43 Fed. Reg. 5763. However, because the pro-
posed regulations would require very substantial expen-
ditures (annual expenditures, including capital charges,

19 H.R. Rep. No. 93-1185, 93rd Cong. 2d Sess. at 9.

sate ee

operation and maintenance, of between $57 and $145 mil-
lion), EPA also estimated the extent of the cancer risk
presented by trihalomethanes in drinking water. EPA con-
cluded that “a statistical extrapolation of the data indicates
that a life-long exposure to those contaminants in drinking
water may account for 200 excess fatalities per year na-
tionwide. * * *. Other studies would indicate even higher
risks.” 43 Fed. Reg. at 5769.

EPA’s estimates were obtained from a report of the
National Academy of Sciences, which “suggested that the
risk could be approximated with available extrapolation
techniques and, applying such techniques, derived risk es-
timates for the identified carcinogens.” 43 Fed. Reg. at
5768. Referring to the Academy’s report, EPA stated that
although “it is not possible to project with accuracy from
risk estimates to absolute numbers of cancers in a human
population”, nevertheless the “approximate impact” of the
standard had been estimated. 43 Fed. Reg. at 5761.

Section 303 of the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. §1313,
requires the States to establish water quality standards
subject to EPA review and approval. Under section 303,
EPA has also performed risk estimates for carcinogens.

Section 303 provides that water quality standards must
“protect the public health or welfare, enhance the quality of
the water and serve the purposes of the Act.” §303(c) (2),
33 U.S.C. §1313(c)(2). EPA is required to establish
“water quality criteria”, which reflect “the kind and extent
of all identifiable effects on health” which may be expected
from the presence of pollutants in the water. Clean Water
Act, §304(a), 33 U.S.C. §1314(a). A standard is then
set for a particular body of water depending on the use
anticipated; if the anticipated use involves human use of
the water (drinking, recreation or eating fish from the
water), then the standard must be set to “protect the public
health” ($303(c (2)), taking into account the “water qual-
ity criteria.”

di OR la)

In a recent notice, EPA has proposed water quality
criteria designed to assist in the process of setting water
quality standards. 44 Fed. Reg. 15926 (March 15, 1979).
In the case of carcinogenic water pollutants, the EPA cri-
teria “estimate ambient water concentrations which * * *
represent various levels of incremental cancer risk.” 44
Fed. Reg. at 15929.

In the case of benzene, EPA stated that “the recom-
mended concentration of benzene in water for maximum
protection of human health is zero.” 44 Fed. Reg. at
15936. However, “{bjecause attaining a zero concentra-
tion level may be infeasible in some cases and in order to
assist the Agency and States in the posible future develop-
ment of water quality regulations,” EPA estimated “the
concentrations of benzene corresponding to several incre-
mental lifetime cancer risk levels.” Ibid. Specifically, EPA
estimated the concentrations of benzene which would pose
a lifetime risk to persons drinking the water and eating fish
taken from the water of one in 100,000, one in one million,
and one in ten million. bid.

The Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act
(FIFRA) provides that a pesticide may not be registered
if its use will result in “unreasonable adverse effects on the
environment”, a phrase that is defined as “any unreasonable
risk to man or the environment, taking into account the
economic, social and environmental costs and benefits of
the use of any pesticide.” 7 U.S.C. §§136(bb), 136a(c)
(5), 136d(b).

EPA’s present practice in the pesticide area is illustrated
by its recent actions in the cases of the pesticides amitraz
and chlorobenzilate.

EPA concluded that the use of amitraz on pears and
apples “might pose a very small risk of cancer to certain ex-
posed groups.” 44 Fed. Reg. 2678 (January 12, 1979). It
further concluded that there is “an indication of possible

— 26—\,

significant benefit from the use of amitraz on pears” but
“little or no benefit from its use on apples.” /bid. Accord-
ingly, EPA granted a conditional registration for pears
(on the basis of “substantial benefits and very small risks”)
and denied registration as to apples. 44 Fed. Reg. 32736
(June 7, 1979).

In reaching this decision, EPA estimated the lifetime
risks for individuals consuming amitraz-treated apples and
pears (two chances in a million) and the lifetime cancer
risks for workers applying amitraz to pears and apples
(one in ten thousand for apples, six in one hundred thous-
and to one in ten thousand for pears). 44 Fed. Reg. at
2681.

, Commenting on these risk estimations, EPA stated that

they are “neither scientific certainties nor absolute upper
limits, but are used by the Agency only as rough approxi-
mations of potential health risks.” /bid.

EPA recently decided to cancel the registration of chlo-
robenzilate for uses other than citrus uses in certain states;
as to these citrus uses, registration was allowed subject to
restrictions on handling of the pesticide. 44 Fed. Reg. 9548
(Feb. 13, 1979). In balancing the risks and benefits, EPA
estimated the magnitude of the lifetime cancer risk through
dietary exposure in Florida and in the rest of the United
States (the estimated risk ranges from 0.5 to 7.0 in a mil-
lion). 44 Fed. Reg. at 9556, 9557.

During the proceedings leading to EPA’s decision, an
environmenta! organization had criticized the cancer risk
assessment on the ground that it did not take into account
the heterogeneity of the human population, and possible
synergistic effects of chlorobenzilate with other chemicals
in the environment. EPA’s response was that it would use
the “conservative assumption” technique to avoid under-
estimation resulting from these uncertainties:

Because uncertainties such as synergism and heter-

pee Mam

ogeneity exist, the Agency used the most conservative
model and test results from the most sensitive group
of test animals to extrapolate to humans the cancer
risk associated with chlorobenzilate.

44 Fed. Reg. at 9553.

EPA also has the authority to establish limits on radia-
tion exposures outside the boundaries of nuclear facilities.
Reorganization Plan No. 3, 1970, §2(5). These standards
are authorized by the Atomic Energy Act, which requires
these standards to “protect health or to minimize danger
to life or property.” 42 U.S.C. §2201(b). This language
has been interpreted by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission
and by EPA to require risk-benefit balancing in the estab-
lishment of radiation protection standards. See 10 C.F.R.
§20.1(c) (NRC interpretation); 40 Fed. Reg. 23420,
23421 (May 29, 1975) (EPA interpretation).

In proposing its environmental radiation standards, EPA
calculated the expected health benefits and the costs, esti-
mating “the cost of implementing the proposed standards
for these long-lived radioactive materials to be less than
$100,000 per potential case of cancer, leukemia, or serious
genetic effect averted.” 40 Fed. Reg. at 23422. In the
final regulation, which adopted the protection levels pro-
posed, EPA rejected criticisms that its risk estimates were
either too low or too high. In particular, EPA stated that
“the weight of currently available scientific evidence sup-
ports the continued use of a linear, nonthreshold model for
deriving standards to protect public health.” 42 Fed. Reg.
2858, 2859 (Jan. 13, 1977) (promulgating 40 C.F.R.
Part 190).

Consumer Product Safety Commission

The CPSC operates under a statutory mandate to protect
the consumer from “unreasonable risks of injury” asso-
ciated with consumer products. 15 U.S.C. §2051(b) (1).
Each standard must be “reasonably necessary” to prevent

ee eae

or reduce such risk. 15 U.S.C. §2056(a). This compares
to the OSH Act, which is aimed at “material” impairment
of health and requires that standards be “feasible” and
“reasonably necessary.” 29 U.S.C. §§652(8), 655(b) (5).

The CPSC’s recent standard for walk-behind power lawn
mowers illustrates its use of risk estimation in complying
with its statutory mandate. In this standard, the CPSC
estimates that about 150,000 injuries associated with power
lawn mowers occur each year, about 60,000 of which are
treated in emergency rooms. 44 Fed. Reg. at 9992 (Fed. 15,
1979). The CPSC further breaks down the number of in-
juries expected to be saved by each of the major require-
ments of the standard; estimates the dollar savings exclu-
sive of pain and suffering; estimates the total retail price
increase resulting from the standard ($189 million); and
concludes that the standard is reasonably necessary to re-
duce an unreasonable risk of injury. 44 Fed. Reg. at 9996-7
(Feb. 15, 1979).

The CPSC also has authority under the Federal Hazard-
ous Substances Act to ban “hazardous substances”, defined
as substances which “may cause substantial persona] in-
jury or substantial illness during or as a proximate result
of any customary or reasonably foreseeable handling or use,
including reasonably foreseeable ingestion by children.”
15 U.S.C. §1261(f) (1) (A). In its notice declaring tris —
a chemical used as a flame retardant in children’s sleep-
wear — to be a banned hazardous substance, the CPSC
relied on three risk assessments concerning the potential
of tris to cause cancer. 42 Fed. Reg. 18850, 18851 (April
8, 1977). These estimates were prepared by the Com-
mission’s Bureau of Biomedical Science, by the Environ-
mental Defense Fund, and by researchers at the Depart-
ment of Biochemistry at Berkeley. The Bureau’s high
estimate was 5100 cases per million male children exposed.
The highest estimate (from Berkeley) was 17,000 cases per

lei Ss

million children exposed. /bid. In view of the very high range
of risk estimates, the Commission took emergency action.

National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration (NHTSA)

In its “Five Year Plan for Motor Vehicle Safety and
Fuel Economy Rulemaking”, NHTSA has stated that among
the factors it considers in establishing motor vehicle safety
standards are “anticipated costs to consumers and indus-
try” and “lifesaving potential of a safety standard.” 43 Fed.
Reg. 11100, 11101 (March 16, 1978). An excellent ex-
ample of NHTSA’s practice in this regard is found in its
air bag standard, which sets forth the “Fatalities Prevented
Per Year” and the “Injuries Prevented Per Year” under
each of the various occupant restraint systems under con-
sideration, with cost estimates for the full front air bag
system (one of the options chosen in the final regulation).
42 Fed. Reg. 34289, 34298-99 (July 5, 1977).”°

NHTSA’s statutory mandate is similar to OSHA’s. Like
OSHA, NHTSA’s overriding mission is to protect health
and safety: to “reduce traffic accidents and deaths and in-
juries to persons resulting from traffic accidents.” 15
U.S.C. $1381. However, the standards must be “reasonable,
practicable and appropriate.” 15 U.S.C. §§1392(f),
1391(2). Judge Stevens’ description of NHTSA’s authority
fits almost exactly to OSHA:

Although I recognize that safety is the ‘overriding
consideration in the issuance of standards’ under
this Act, the statute requires respondent to consider

20 A more detailed breakdown of NHTSA’s cost-benefit analysis
of the air bag standard is set forth at 41 Fed. Reg. 31860 (July 30,
197%. Using the highest NHTSA cost estimate, the full front air
cushion system, adopted in the final regulation, is estimated to save
lives at a cost just under $300,000 per life (leaving out of the estimate
any allocation of cost to the substantial number of injuries prevented
by the regulation).

chs elie

whether a proposed standard is ‘reasonable, practic-
able and appropriate’ before it is prescribed.

H & H Tire Company v. Department of Transportation,
471 F.2d 350, 357 (7th Cir. 1972) (Stevens, J., concurr-
ing). But unlike OSHA, NHTSA interprets this mandate
to require it to estimate the health and safety benefits of
its regulations.

CONCLUSION

Because OSHA has refused to estimate the expected
health benefits for the benzene standard, the judgment of the
Court of Appeals setting the standard aside should be af-
firmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: ROBERT V. ZENER
STEPHEN A. BOKAT Pepper, Hamilton & Scheetz
WILLIAM L. KOVACS 1776 F Street, N.W.
National Chamber Litigation Washington, D.C. 20006

_ Center

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

Chamber of Commerce of the
United States

1615 H Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20062

DATED: July 30, 1979

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0035%3A20. Public record. Not legal advice.
