# Petition — Fabsteel Co. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2800%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 442 U.S. 943

## Text

\
MICHA

f= Supre Court, U.
Fs FILE >” |

MAY 17 \979

AK, JR., CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. ¢€8-17388

THE FABSTEEL COMPANY OF LOUISIANA,
Petitioner,

versus

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Andrew C. Partee

Walter W. Christy

Kullman, Lang, Inman & Bee
A Professional Corporation
Post Office Box 60118

New Orleans, LA 70160
Telephone: 504/524-4162

Counsel for the Fabsteel
Company of Louisiana

SCOFIELDS QUALITY PRINTERS, P. O. BOX 53096, N. O., LA. 70153 - 504/822-1611

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ee hea ike o 60 ponecsscsnee 1
ee 2
a 2
ERE 2
a ee ae 4
Reasons For Granting The Writ ................. 8
The Decision Below Is In Conflict With The
I ee 8
Ry 15
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Golden State Bottling Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S.
EE GU de eeheSHes eet Khdenerecceeces 9,10,12
Howard Johnson Co. v. Hotel Employees, 417
oT RS ey a er 9
Mosher Steel Co., 220 NLRB 336 ................ 5
Mosher Steel Co., 226 NLRB 1163 ............... 5
NLRB v. Burns International Security Serv-
iow, C6 T9.S:- BIE UIST E) kn cccaccccceses 8,9,10,14

Textile Workers v. Darlington Mfg. Co., 380
a Bae ess Siete aa ab ieee ioe eevee 12

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No.

THE FABSTEEL COMPANY OF LOUISIANA,
Petitioner,

versus

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, The Fabsteel Company of Louisiana,
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-
ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit entered in this case on February 1, 1979.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (Appendix 48a-
65a) is not yet officially reported. The National Labor

2

Relations Board’s decision and order is reported at 231
NLRB 372 (Appendix 46a-48a).

JURISDICTION

The judgment (Appendix 65a-66a) of the Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit was entered on February
1, 1979. An extension of time to May 17, 1979 was
granted by this Court to permit the filing of this peti-

tion. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the National Labor Relations Board abuse its
authority in denying a successor employer the right to
select its own employees by requiring it to remedy a
predecessor’s unfair labor practices by hiring, at the
time of purchase, unreinstated unfair labor practice
strikers of its predecessor?

2. May the National Labor Relations Board alter
the composition of a bargaining unit lawfully hired by a
successor employer, thereby destroy an existing good
faith doubt of a union’s majority, and require bar-
gaining by the successor in the altered unit composed
exclusively of employees of the predecessor employer?

STATUTES INVOLVED

Sections 8(a)(1) and (5) of the National Labor

3

Relations Act, as amended (61 Stat. 140, 29 U.S.C. 158),
provide:

Sec. 8.(a) It shall be an unfair labor practice for
an employer —

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce
employees in the exercise of the rights
guaranteed in Section 7;

(5S) to refuse to bargain collectively with
the representatives of his employees,
subject to the provisions of Section
9(a).

For the convenience of the Court, a portion of Sec-
tion 9(a) of the same Act (61 Stat. 143, 29 U.S.C. 159) is
also herein set forth:

Representatives designated or selected for the
purposes of collective bargaining by the ma-
jority of the employees in a-unit appropriate
for such purpose, shall be the exclusive repre-
sentatives...

Section 10(c) of the Act (61 Stat. 146, 29 U.S.C.
160) provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

If upon the preponderance of the
testimony taken the Board shall be of the
opinion that any person named in the com-

a

plaint has engaged in or is engaging in any
such unfair labor practice, then the Board
shall state its findings of fact and shall issue
and cause to be served on such person an or-
der requiring such person to cease and desist
from such unfair labor practice, and to take
such affirmative action including rein-
statement of employees with or without back-
pay, as will effectuate the policies of the Act:
Provided, That where an order directs rein-
statement of an employee, backpay may be re-
quired of the employer or labor organization,
as the case may be, responsible for the dis-
crimination suffered by him...

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises in a factual situation not atypical in
the current American industrial scene — the sale of a
plant. The issue is the extent to which any unremedied
unfair labor practices of the selling company inhibit the
ri,, \t of the purchaser t select its own employees and
the right of such employees to designate their collective
bargaining representative.

Petitioner (herein called “Fabsteel”) purchased a
plant located in Shreveport, Louisiana from Mosher
Steel Company (herein called “Mosher”) in December,
1975. The employees of Mosher were represented by
United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO (herein
called the “Union”) in a unit consisting of all seven

5

plants of the company. The employees in the seven
plants engaged ina strike commencing on July 22, 1974.
In subsequent proceedings, the National Labor
Relations Board concluded that the strike had been
caused and prolonged by unfair labor practices com-
mitted by Mosher.! The strike concluded on May 12,
1975 when the Union made an unconditional request
for reinstatement of the striking employees.

At the time the strike commenced, there were sixty-
seven (67) employees in that part of the bargaining unit
located in Shreveport. Sixty-five (65) of these
employees struck. During the strike period (July 22,
1974 to May 12, 1975) Mosher hired approximately 30
new employees and, during the same period, twenty-
one (21) or more striking employees returned to work
at the plant. Between May 12, 1975 and December 31,
1975, seven (7) additional Shreveport strikers were re-
called by Mosher. Five (5) strikers were refused
reinstatement on grounds of misconduct. The Board
held, in subsequent proceedings, that the misconduct
of two of them was insufficient to forfeit their right to
reinstatement.

By contract dated December 10, 1975, Fabsteel
agreed to purchase certain assets of Mosher in Shreve-
port. These included real property, improvements,
production and vehicular equipment, raw materials

1 Mosher Steel Company, 220 NLRB 336.
2 Mosher Steel Company, 226 NLRB 1163.

6

and inventory. There was no purchase of accounts
receivable, trade assets or good will.

Fabsteel purchased with knowledge of the out-
standing order of the Board against Mosher. Said deci-
sion and order were then pending review in the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. The deci-
sion of the Fifth Circuit issued in May, 1976.3 The
agreement between Fabsteel and Mosher provided that
Mosher would indemnify Fabsteel against any and all
costs or damages resulting from any claims asserted
before a governmental agency alleging unfair labor
practices of Mosher, including backpay, fines and/or
costs relating to the reinstatement of Mosher
employees. The agreement further provided that
Mosher would offer reinstatement to such individuals
at one of its facilities, paying reasonable expenses of

transportation of an employee, his family and house-
hold goods.

Informed of the pending sale, the Union requested
Fabsteel to recognize the Union and to reinstate
strikers not yet recalled by Mosher. On January 5,
1976, Fabsteel declined asserting that it was not operat-
ing as a successor to Mosher, that it was not responsi-
ble for remedying its unfair labor practices, and ex-
pressed doubt of the Union’s majority status.

On December 31, 1975, Fabsteel hired all of t'«
Shreveport employees then on the payroll of Mosher

3 Mosher Steel Company v. NLRB, 532 F.2d 1374 (Sth Cir., 1976).

7

and commenced operations on January 5, 1976. There
were fifty-six (56) employees in production and
maintenance classifications. Seven (7) had been
strikers for its full term; twenty-one (21) had aban-
doned the strike and returned to work; and twenty-
eight (28) were either non-strikers or replacements
hired during the strike.

The decision below concluded that Fabsteel must
remedy the unfair labor practices of Mosher as of the
time of purchase and directed the “reinstatement” of
twenty-two (22) Mosher strikers, requiring backpay
from January 1, 1976. Notwithstanding that ap-
proximately 40% of the employees hired by Fabsteel
were thereby displaced, the Court below concluded
that a proper balance between conflicting legitimate in-
terests of the bona fide successor, the public, and the
affected employees had been achieved. The Court fur-
ther concluded that, considering the unit as amended
by the reinstatement order, Fabsteel no longer had a
good faith basis to doubt the Union’s majority status.
Thus, whether the unit be viewed as excluding strike
replacements actually hired by Fabsteel, or whether it
be viewed as augmented by the strikers, the com-
pulsory inclusion of twenty-two (22) Union adherents
obviated any good faith doubt warranting a refusal of
recognition.

8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Decision Below is in Conflict with the
Decisions of this Court.

The Act does not inhibit an employer’s right to select
its own employees provided that it not discriminate on
the basis of Union membership or activity. The decision
below subordinates the right to hire of a successor
employer to the obligation of its predecessor to remedy
unfair labor practices. It thereby converts this obligu-
tion into a charge upon the enterprise — in the nature
of a lien — to which any purchase is subject. The Board
thus intrudes into the substantive terms of the trans-
fer and requires, as a condition of purchase, a
simultaneous remedy of unfair labor practices.

This Court has considered a variety of duties sought
to be imposed upon an employer which purchases sub-
stantial assets of a predecessor and continues, without
interruption or substantial change, the former busi-
ness. In all of its decisions, this Court has maintained
the right of a successor to set the initial terms under
which it will operate, including the selection of its in-
itial employee complement. In NLRB v. Burns Inter-
national Security Services, 406 U.S. 272 (1972), the Court
refused to bind a new employer to a pre-existing collec-
tive bargaining agreement but required recognition of
the Union of the predecessor’s employees in the
absence of a good faith doubt of its majority status. The
Court, in Burns, Ibid., at 280,n. 5, held that there was no

9

obligation by the purchaser to hire any of the
predecessor’s employees. Indeed, interference with the
right to hire its own work force was a factor militating
against compulsory observance of the contract because
otherwise Burns “would not have been free to replace
Wackenhut’s guards with its own except as the con-
tract permitted.” Ibid., at 288. The Court made clear
that the bargaining duty of the successor matured only
after it had selected its work force. Ibid., at 295.

This Court again protected the right of a successor
employer to select its own employees in Howard Johnson
Co. >. Hotel Employees, 417 U.S. 49 (1974). A union repre-
senting the predecessor’s employees sought to ~nforce
the duty to arbitrate upon a successor employer which
had hired a minority of such employees. The issue
which the union sought to arbitrate was the obligation
to hire predecessor employees. The Court considered
the action to be an attempt to avoid the Burns decision
which established the right of a successor not to hire
any employees of the predecessor and held that the
“Union's effort to circumvent this holding by assert-
ing its claims in a Section 301 suit to compel arbitration
rather than in an unfair labor practice context cannot
be permitted.” Ibid., at 262.

Although the Court upheld the authority of the
Board, in appropriate circumstances, to remedy a
predecessor's unfair labor practices through a
successor, it specifically stated that “we in no way
qualify the Burns holdings.” Golden State Bottling Co. v.

10

NLRB, 414 U.S. 168, 183. The Court observed that, ina
situation similar to the case at bar, a succeeding
employer would not be held responsible for all un-
remedied unfair iabor practices:

A purchasing company cannot be obligated to
carry out under § 10(c), every outstanding
and unsatisfied order of the Board. For exam-
ple, because the purchaser is not obligated by
the Act to hire any of the predecessor's
employees, see NLRB v. Burns International
Security Services, Inc., supra, at 280, n. 5, the
purchaser, if it does not hire any or a majority
of those employees, will not be bound by an
outstanding order to bargain issued by the
Board against the predecessor nor by any
order tied to the continuance of the bar-
gaining agent in the unit it involves. Id., at
280-281.

The decision below ignores the teaching of Burns that
the obligations of a successor mature only at that point
when it has selected its work force. Supra at 295. It re-
quired Fabsteel to decline strike replacements in the ac-
tual work force and to substitute unreinstated strikers as
part of its initial enployee complement.

Although the Court below (Appendix 55a)
specifically abjured a mechanical two-step approach to
impose obligations upon a successor, it enforced a
Board order based upon such simplistic and artificial

11

reasoning. The Board made an initial determination
that Fabsteel was a successor because, among other
factors, it hired all of Mosher’s employee complement.
The Board accordingly imposed all of Mosher’s
obligations upon Fabsteel, including the requirement
that it displace some of the employees whose hiring
underpinned the conclusion of successorship. This
Court considers such an “artificial division between
these questions” to be neither helpful nor appropriate.
Whether or not a company is a successor is “not
meaningful in the abstract.” 417 U.S. at 262, n. 9. The
proper standard was articulated by the Court:

... but the real question in each of these
‘successorship’ cases is, on the particular facts,
what are the legal obligations of the new
employer to the employees of the former
owner or their representative. The answer to
this inquiry requires analysis of the interests
of the new employer and the employees and of
the policies of the labor laws in light of the
facts of each case and the particular legal
obligation which is at issue, whether it be the
duty to recognize and bargain with the union,
the duty to remedy unfair labor practices, the
duty to arbitrate, etc. There is, and can be, no
single definition of ‘successor’ which is
applicable in every legal context. A new
employer, in other words, may be a successor
for some purposes and not for others.
(Citations omitted.) Id.

12

Applying the principle of balancing conflicting in-
terests, the Court declined to impose a duty to arbitrate
upon the new employer concluding that “[T]|his hold-
ing is compelled, in our view, if the protection afforded
employee interests in achange of ownership by Wiley is
to be reconciled with the new employer's right to operate
the enterprise with his own independent labor force.”
(Emphasis supplied.) Ibid., at p. 264.

The controlling doctrine is the same when applied to
the duty of a new employer to remedy unfair labor
practices. It involves “striking a balance between the
conflicting legitimate interests of the bona fide
successor, the public, and the affected employee.”
Golden State Bottling Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. at 181. The
decision below balanced no interests; it assumed as
paramount the right of reinstatement of the strikers. It
did not even discuss the right of apurchasing employer
to select its own employees. It subordinated the rights
of employees subject to displacement by the decision,
rendering their vulnerability to displacement a part of
the sales transaction. It bypassed an existing remedy
available against the predecessor employer and the
continuing existence of the bargaining unit of which
the strikers had been a part. Available at all times was
the remedy which this Court has suggested in a plant
closing situation, utilized in runaway shops: or tem-
porary closings; that is, to “order reinstatement of the
discharged employees in the other parts of the busi-
ness.” Textile Workers v. Darlington Mfg. Co., 380 U.S. 263,
275. The decision below thereby exculpates the

13

perpetrator of unfair labor practices from a continuing
obligation to remedy them and imposes the total
obligation upon an employer innocent of violation.

The decision below destroyed the right of Fabsteel
employees to select their own bargaining repre-
sentative. The remedy imposed altered the composi-
tion of the unit, albeit fictitiously, for the purpose of
determining an objective basis for a good faith doubt of
union majority. Assuming the twenty-one (21) strikers
returning to work during the strike to be pro-union,
there were no more than twenty-eight (28) of the fifty-
six (56) who had ever been strikers. Twenty-eight (28)
had never participated in the strike, and most had been
hired across the picket line. Accordingly, a good faith
basis existed for doubting the union’s majority status,
and Fabsteel properly declined to recognize the union.

The decision below, in enforcing the Board’s order to
bargain, observed that its enforcement of the Board’s
order requiring the “reinstatement” of the unfair labor
practice strikers “makes it quite apparent that the ma-
jority of Fabsteel’s employees after such rein-
statement will be represented by the certified union.”
(Appendix 62a) Its mathematical computation was
by alternative methods. Firstly, one should disregard
twenty-two (22) strike replacements hired and treat
the unit as composed of only thirty-four (34)
employees, of whom twenty-eight (28) were union
employees. Or, the Court authorized the addition of
the twenty-two (22) employees whose “reinstatement”

14
was ordered to the unit of fifty-six (56); that is, a unit of
seventy-eight (78), of whom only fifty-six (56) were ac-
tually employed. The alternative fictitious unit would
contain fifty (50) union employees, a majority ina unit
of seventy-eight (78). (Appendix 64a-65a)

Thus, the decision below ignores the rights of the
employees actually hired by Fabsteel to participate in
the designation of their own collective bargaining
representative. Computation of majority status upona
fictitious unit artificially construed to contain either
twenty-two (22) more or twenty-two (22) less
employees than its actual composition distorts the
Burns holding that a recently certified union in an un-
changed unit is entitled to a presumption of continued
majority status. NLRB v. Burns International Security Serv-
ices, Inc., 406 U.S. at 278-279.

The need for protection to employees from a sudden
transformation of their employer’s business to a new
legal entity cannot be gainsaid. Its extent varies with
each case depending upon the circumstances and a
proper balance of conflicting interests. The decision
below demonstrates a fundamental failure by the
Board to follow the teachings of this Court that due
regard be given to rights traditionally enjoyed by an
employer. Inherent in this decision to accord transcen-
dency to employee claims against the predecessor
employer are a variety of inchoate rights of such
employees which become potential charges upon the
employing enterprise. Such risks of exposure would
make a prudent buyer avoid the purchase.

15

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for writ of
certiorari should be granted.

th
Respectfully submitted this Le’ day of May, 1979.

< fe
nog W. CHRISTY

ANDREW C. “eree JR.

Kullman, Lang, Inman & Bee
A Professional Corporation
Post Office Box 60118

New Orleans, Louisiana 70160
Telephone: 504/524-4162

COUNSEL FOR THE
FABSTEEL COMPANY
OF LOUISIANA

16

CERTIFICATE

I hereby certify that I have caused a copy of the above
and foregoing to be served this Lory of May, 1979
by placing same in the United States Mail, postage
prepaid, certified mail, return receipt requested upon:

Mr. Elliott Moore

Deputy Assoc. General Counsel
National Labor Relations Board
1717 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20570

Mr. Wade H. McCree, Jr.
Solicitor General

U.S. Department of Justice
Tenth & Constitution Streets
Washington, D.C. 20530

Of Counsel

la

APPENDIX

JD-236-77
Shreveport, LA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
BEFORE THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
DIVISION OF JUDGES

FABSTEEL COMPANY OF LOUISIANA

and Case 23-CA-6008
(Formerly 15-CA-6059)

UNITED STEELWORKERS OF AMERICA, AFL-CIO
DECISION
Statement of the Case

JERRY B. STONE, Administrative Law Judge: This
proceeding, under Section 10(b) of the National Labor
Relations Act, as amended, was tried pursuant to due
notice on October 19 and 20, 1976, at Shreveport,
Louisiana.

The charge was filed on April 1, 1976, in Region 15 of
the NLKB (New Orleans, La.), and was docketed as
Case 15-CA-6059. Thereafter, on April 13, 1976, said
charge and case was transferred to Region 23 of the

2a

NLRB (Houston, Texas) and renumbered and docketed
as Case 23-CA-6008. The complaint in this matter was
issued on August 18, 1976.

The issues presented by the pleadings and
statements of counsel concern whether the Respon-
dent (1) is a successor to Mosher Steel Company, (2)
has, since on or about January 5, 1976, violated Section
8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act by refusing to recognize and
bargain with the Union with respect to an appropriate
bargaining unit limited to certain described clas-
sifications of Respondent’s employees, and (3) has
violated Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of the Act by refusing,
since on or about January 5, 1976, to“ reinstate” certain
named employees who had participated in an unfair
labor practice strike against Mosher Steel Company.

All parties were afforded full opportunity to par-
ticipate in the proceeding. Briefs have been filed by the
General Counsel and the Respondent and have been

considered.

Upon the entire record in the case and from my
observation of witnesses, I hereby make the following:

Findings of Fact
I. The Business of the Employer

The facts herein are based upon the pleadings and ad-
missions therein.

3a

Fabsteel Company of Louisiana, the Respondent, is
and has been at all times material herein, a corporation
duly organized under and existing by virtue of the laws
of the State of Louisiana, having its principal office and
place of business in Shreveport, Louisiana, where it is
engaged in the business of fabrication of structural
steel products.

Mosher Steel Company is, and has been at all times
material herein, a corporation duly organized under
and existing by virtue of the laws of the State of Texas,
having its principal office and place of business in
Houston, Texas, where it is engaged in the business of
fabricating structural steel products. Prior to January
1, 1976, Mosher Steel Company also owned and
operated a facility in Shreveport, Louisiana, where
steel products were manufactured.

During the calendar year of 1976, which period is
representative of all times material herein, Respon-
dent, in the performance of its business as described
above, purchased goods and materials valued in excess
of $50,000, which goods and materials were shipped
directly to Respondent’s Shreveport, Louisiana, plant
from points and places located outside the State of
Louisiana. During the same period of time, Respondent
sold materials valued in excess of $50,000 to cus-
tomers located at points and places outside the State of
Louisiana, which materials were shipped directly from
Respondent’s Shreveport, Louisiana, plant to said
customers.

4a

During the past calendar year, which period is repre-
sentative of all times material herein, Mosher Steel
Company, in its performance of its business as describ-
ed above, purchased goods and materials valued in ex-
cess of $50,000 which were shipped directly to
Respondent’s Houston, Texas, facility from points and
places located outside the State of Texas.

As conceded by the Respondent and based upon the
foregoing, it is concluded and found that

(1) Fabsteel Company of Louisiana, the Respon-
dent, is, and has been at all times material herein, an
employer engaged in commerce within the meaning of
Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

(2) Mosher Steel Company is, and has been at all
times material herein, an employer engaged in com-

merce within the meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the
Act.

Il. The Labor Organization Involved!

United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO, is, and -

has been at all times material herein, a labor organiza-
tion within the meaning of Section 2(5) of the Act.

1 The facts are based upon the pleadings and admissions therein.

BrarE te

5a

III. The Unfair Labor Practice Issue
A. Background and Setting?

Pursuant to a Stipulation for Certification Upon
Consent Election, a secret ballot election was conduct-
ed on August 30, 1973, among the employees in the
stipulated unit described below. The tally of ballots fur-
nished the parties showed that of approximately 980
eligible voters, 912 cast valid ballots, of which 511 were
for and 378 against the Petitioner. There were 23
challenged ballots, which were insufficient to affect the
results of the election.

On January 18, 1974, the Board found the stipulated
unit to be an appropriate bargaining unit for the pur-
poses of collective bargaining within the meaning of
Section 9(b) of the Act.

The stipulated and found appropriate collective
bargaining unit was as follows:

“Included: A companywide unit of the
employees at all of the Employer’s seven
plants, at 3910 Washington and 6422 Esper-

2 The facts are based upon the pleadings and admissions therein,
upon stipulations, and upon official notice of the facts, concluding
findings, and decision and order of the Board in Mosher Steel Com-
pany,-220 NLRB 336, and in the Board’s Decision and Certification
of Representatives in Case 23-RC-3989 in the Mosher Steel Company
case reported at 208 NLRB 522.

3 The Employer was Mosher Steel Company. The Petitioner
was the United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO.

6a

son Street, Houston, Texas; San Antonio,
Texas; Dallas, Texas; Lubbock, Texas; Tyler,
Texas; and Shreveport, Louisiana; described
as follows: All production and maintenance
employees, including leadmen, truckdrivers,
janitors, and all plant clericals. Excluded: All
office clerical employees, draftsmen, inside
and outside salesmen, watchmen, guards,
professional employees, and supervisors as
defined in the Act.”

On January 18, 1974, the Board found, as indicated
above, that the Petitioner had received a majority of the
valid ballots cast in said election and that the Petitioner
should be certified as the exclusive collective bargain-

ing representative of the employees in the unit found
appropriate.

On January 18, 1974, the Board certified the
Petitioner, United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO,
as the exclusive representative of the employees of the
Employer, Mosher Steel Company, in the appropriate
bargaining unit for the purposes of collective bar-
gaining with respect to rates of pay, wages, hours of
employment, or other conditions of employment.

Thereafter, the Union, United Steelworkers of
America, AFL-CIO, made a bargaining request or
February 7, 1974. Following this, the Union and
Mosher Steel Company had some bargaining sessions
between March 6, 1974, and December 10, 1974.

7a

A strike by a substantial number of employees at the
seven plants involved in the appropriate unit com-
menced on July 22, 1974, and concluded, at least for the
Mosher Steel Company Shreveport employees, on or
about May 12, 1975. Said strike was an unfair labor
practice strike, caused and prolonged by unfair labor
practices committed by Mosher Steel Company.

Just prior to July 22, 1974, Mosher Steel Company
had approximately 67 employees in bargaining unit
positions at its Shreveport plant. On July 22, 1974,
approximately 65 of the 67 Shreveport employees, part
of the 7 plant bargaining unit, went out on strike. Dur-
ing the strike period (July 22, 1974 to May 12, 1975)
Mosher Steel Company hired approximately 30 new
employees. During the strike period, 21 or more
employees who had gone out on strike from the
Shreveport plant quit the strike and returned to work
at the plant.

On April 23, 1975, Administrative Law Judge Samuel
M. Singer issued his decision in Mosher Steel Company and
United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO — Cases 23-CA-
5165, 23-CA-5258 (formerly 16-CA-5699) and 23-CA-
5282 (formerly 15-CA-5357). Judge Singer found that
Mosher Steel Company had violated Section 8(a)(1) of
the Act by certain conduct, had violated Section 8(a)(5)
and (1) of the Act by refusing to bargain collectively,
and’ that the strike by Mosher Steel Company
employees commencing on July 22, 1974, was an unfair
labor practice strike, caused and prolonged by Mosher

8a

Steel Company’s unfair labor practices. Judge Singer’s
recommended order included appropriate remedial ac-
tion relating in part to requirement to bargain with the
Union and to reinstatement of unfair labor practice
strikers upon unconditional application for reinstate-
ment.

As has been indicated, the unfair labor practice strike
which commenced on July 22, 1974, concluded (at least
for the Mosher Steel Company, Shreveport
employees) on or about May 12, 1975. Onor about May
12, 1975, unconditional offers were made to Mosher
Steel Company for the Mosher Steel Company
Shreveport unfair labor practice strikers to return to
work. The record reveals that between May 12, 1975,
and December 31, 1975, seven of Mosher Steel Com-
pany Shreveport unfair labor practice strikers were
returned to work. Five of the Mosher Steel Company
Shreveport unfair labor practice strikers were refused
reinstatement on the alleged ground of misconduct.‘

4 officially note that the question of such misconduct’s bearing
on the five individual unfair labor practice strikers’ right to
reinstatement was litigated in a proceeding before Adminis-
trative Law Judge Jalette. The Board in Mosher Steel Company, 226
NLRB No. 180, found that Mosher Steel Shreveport unfair labor
practice strikers Robert Wilkerson, Charles Stiles, and Benny
Harris engaged in striker misconduct justifying a refusal to
reinstate such employees. The conduct of Mosher Steel Company
Shreveport unfair labor practice strikers Roosevelt Washington
and Lee Taylor was tall re effect to be of sucha nature as not to
impair their rights to reinstatement as unfair labor practice
strikers, and it was found that the refusal to reinstate Tadkinieon
and Taylor violated Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of the Act. Appropriate
remedial order of reinstatement and backpay was issued in said
decision on November 24, 1976.

9a

The litigation of such issues in Mosher Steel Company, 226
NLRB No. 180, requires a finding that Roosevelt
Washington and Lee Taylor, two of such five unfair
labor practice strikers, were entitled to reinstatement
after the offers to return to work on May 12, 1975.

On September 16, 1975, the Board issued its decision
in Mosher Steel Company, 220 NLRB 336, adopting in ma-
jor part Judge Singer’s decision issued on April 23,
1975. The Board found that Mosher Steel Company
had engaged in conduct violative of Section 8(a)(5) and
(1) of the Act. The Board also found that the strike by
Mosher Steel Company employees commencing on
July 22, 1974, was an unfair labor practice strike, caus-
ed and prolonged by unfair labor practices of Mosher
Steel Company. The Board issued appropriate remedial
order requiring Mosher Steel Company to bargain
with the Union and to reinstate the unfair labor prac-
tice strikers upon unconditional application for
reinstatement. The Board’s decision and order re-
ferred to above was enforced by Judgment of the Fifth
Circuit — United States Court of Appeals on June 7,
1976.

Agreement

Sale - Purchase
December 10, 1975

B.. On December 10, 1975, Mosher Steel Company
of Louisiana, Inc. (a Louisiana corporation), Mosher
Steel Company, Inc. (a Texas corporation), The Fab-
steel Company of Louisiana (a Louisiana corporation),

10a

and The Fabsteel Company (a Delaware corporation)
entered into an agreement relating to the sale by
Mosher Steel Company of Louisiana to The Fabsteel
Company of Louisiana of certain assets, real estate,
buildings, structures, machinery and equipment, tangi-
ble personal property, raw material and inventory,
located in Shreveport, Louisiana.

Said agreement was written in terms of “certain
assets,” certain real property, excluded certain trailers,
and indicated certain limitations on inventory or raw
materials purchased. Said agreement contained clauses
relating to purchaser’s agreement to furnish labor to
complete work in progress. Said agreement also
provided for “closing” and transfer of documents and
payments on December 31, 1976. Said agreement con-
tained provisions relating to obligations as to pending
labor related disputes and litigation. On the same day
The Fabsteel Company of Louisiana and The Fabsteel
Company, Inc. transmitted a letter to Mosher Steel
Company and Mosher Steel Company of Louisiana,
Inc. reflecting further understanding and agreement in
respect to the possible reinstatement of certain former
employees of Mosher Steel Company of Louisiana, Inc.

Events
December 16-31, 1975

C. On December 16, 1975, Chris Dixie, attorney
for the Union, met with Larry M. Lesh, attorney for
Mosher Steel Company. It is clear that Dixie and Lesh

lla

discussed the pending sale of the Mosher Steei Com-
pany Shreveport plant and that Dixie requested infor-
mation as to the agreement of sale.

On December 17, 1975, James P. Wolfe, a law part-
ner of Dixie, transmitted a letter to President Fletcher
Thorne-Thomsen of Fabsteel, Inc. Wolfe indicated that
the United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO, had
been advised that Fabsteel or a new corporation was in
the process of purchasing Mosher Steel Company’s
Shreveport facility, that the expected termination of
Mosher’s operations was to be on December 31, 1975,
and the anticipated commencement of operation by
Fabsteel’s affiliated company was to be on January 1,
1976. Wolfe’s letter referred to understanding that
Mosher Steel Company had advised the purchasers of
the pending unfair labor practice proceedings and find-
ings by the National Labor Relations Board. Wolfe’s
letter summarized the Board’s findings relating to
refusal to bargain, to an unfair labor strike, and to un-
fair labor practice strikers’ rights to reinstatement.
Wolfe requested that the purchaser recognize the Un-
ion for the production and maintenance employees at
the Shreveport plant operation, and that the pur-
chaser promptly reinstate all of the striking employees
entitled to reinstatement under the current Board
order whom Mosher had failed to reinstate as of the
date of the letter. Wolfe’s letter referred to an attach-
ment setting forth the names of such employees.
Wolfe’s letter also set forth a description of the ap-
propriate bargaining unit for which recognition as

12a

bargaining agent was being made. Wolfe’s letter in-
dicated that the strikers would make application in the
manner requested.

On December 23, 1975, Larry Lesh, attorney for
Mosher Steel Coinpany, by letter, advised Chris Dixie,
attorney for the Union, of certain provisions in the
December 10, 1975, agreement of sale-purchase
between Mosher Steel Company and The Fabsteel
Company previously referred to. Enclosed with Lesh’s
letter was an Exhibit P containing description of pend-
ing labor related disputes and litigation. Said exhibit re-
ferred to Case 23-CA-5360. Said case is the one dispos-
ed in the National Labor Relations Board decision
reported at 226 NLRB No. 180. Said exhibit also re-
ferred to Cases 23-CA-5165, 23-CA-5258, and 23-CA-
5282 as being on appeal to the United States Fifth Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals. Said Board decision is reported
at 220 NLRB 336 and was enforced by Judgment of the
United States Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals on June 7,
1976.

The Successorship

D. The facts areclear that the Fabsteel Company of
Louisiana, on December 31, 1975, purchased, pursuant
to prior agreement of December 10, 1975, in substan-
tial effect the real property, physical assets, machinery,
equipment, and inventory of Mosher Steel's
Shreveport plant. The wording of the agreement to
purchase refers in parts to certain real property and
certain assets. The facts relating to the agreement and

nr erent

13a

to the commencement of work with the same work
force persuade that insubstantial effect Mosher Steel’s
Shreveport plant was sold to and acquired by the
Fabsteel Company of Louisiana on December 31, 1975.

The General Counsel alleges and contends and the
Respondent denies that accounts receivable, trade
assets, and goodwill of Mosher Steel Company were
purchased by the Fabsteel Company of Louisiana. In
my opinion, the evidence does not support the General
Counsel's contentions. First, as to accounts receivable,
there is no evidence that the Fabsteel Company of
Louisiana purchased accounts receivable from Mosher
Steel Company. Rather, the parties entered into a busi-
ness agreement wherein the Fabsteel Company was to
furnish labor to finish work in progress for Mosher
Steel Company. Perhaps the details as to compensation
might reveal an arrangement warranting a conclusion
that such arrangement in effect was a sale and
purchase of accounts receivable disguised as another
relationship. Such details have not been presented.
Thus, the evidence is insufficient to reveal that ac-
counts receivable were sold and purchased. Regardless
of whether accounts receivable were sold and pur-
chased, continued work by employees on work in
progress tends to support a finding of successorship
status.

There is no evidence to reveal that the Fabsteel Com-
pany of Louisiana purchased “trade assets” and
“goodwill” from Mosher Steel Company. Statements

14a

by the General Counsel at trial revealed that in effect
his contentions are that “trade assets” and “goodwill”
are the same. The agreement to purchase did not refer
to “goodwill” or “trade assets,” does not refer to agree-
ment by Mosher Steel not to compete, and the name of
the Fabsteel Company of Louisiana does not indicate a
reliance or free ride upon the reputation of Mosher
Steel Company.

On December 31, 1975, Mosher Steel’s Shreveport
plant employee complement consisted of 56 non-

supervisory employees. On December 31, 1975,

Mosher Steel Company ceased operation of the
Shreveport plant and terminated all employees and
supervisors. The Fabsteel Company of Louisiana took
applications from all the employees and supervisors
working for Mosher Steel Company at Shreveport,
Louisiana, on December 31, 1975, hired all such
employees and supervisors, paid such employees for 2
days of holidays (apparently January 1 and 2, 1976) and
commenced operation with the same employee comple-
ment on January 5, 1976. All such employees, includ-
ing management, were given credit for prior service
with Mosher Steel Company, and the employees were
assigned the same employee employment number as
used at Mosher Steel Company in Shreveport, Loui-
siana. Employees hired by Mosher Steel Company after

5 The exhibit setting forth the names of such employees listed’
60 employees. Testimonial evidence revealed, however, that such
list included four persons who appear to be supervisors. (B.
Johnston, L. Johnson, Pugh, and Settle), Whether several of these
were leadmen and perhaps non-supervisory is not clear.

15a

January 5, 1976, whether previously employed by
Mosher Steel Company or not, were treated as new
hires and given new assigned numbers.°®

The facts relating to the operations of Mosher Steel
Company at Shreveport prior to December 31, 1975,
and to the operations of the Fabsteel Company of Loui-
siana at Shreveport on January 5, 1976, and thereafter
reveal that the employee complement continued sub-
stantially doing the same work with the same equip-
ment. Some testimony was presented that some newer
equipment was purchased, installed, and used after
January 5, 1976, and that such equipment was more ef-
ficient. Such type of change, however, is not of a sub-
stantial mature as regards the question of
successorship.

In December, 1975, Mosher Steel Company had a
bargaining obligation as regards its production and
maintenance employees because of the certification of
the 7 plant Mosher Steel unit in 1974 and because of
the Board’s order inthe case reported at 220 NLRB 336.
As noted before, Mosher Steel Company of Louisiana
and the Fabsteel Company of Louisiana entered into an
agreement of purchase-sale of the Shreveport plant.
Such agreement also contained clauses relating to con-

6 I note however that clock no. 8993 was assigned to James M.
Jordan as of 12/31/75, that an employee named R.S. Varnell first
appears on the records in this case in records for August, 1976,
with a clock no. 8991. Perhaps Varnell was not in the bargaining
unit and therefore not included in the earlier records.

16a

tinuation of the current pay scales for management and
employees.

The Fabsteel Company of Louisiana Shreveport
plant employees after January 5, 1976, were continued
to be paid the wage scales utilized at the Mosher Steel
Company of Louisiana prior to December 31, 1975.

_ A comparison of other fringe benefits enjoyed by
Mosher Steel’s Shreveport employees as compared to
the Fabsteel Shreveport employees reveals the follow-
ing. The Fabsteel Company instituted a health in-
surance program with greater benefits than the
program used by Mosher. Mosher paid the employees’
share of such insurance but the employees paid for
coverage for dependents. Both the Fabsteel Company and
the employees paid a percentage of both employee and family
coverage after January 1, 1976. Thus, The Fabsteel
employees had to pay a percentage of their own in-
surance coverage wherein before (at Mosher) they had
paid nothing for such coverage at Mosher. Further, the
Fabsteel employees paid a percentage of the family
coverage wherein before (at Mosher) they had had to
pay the total costs for such coverage.

Mosher Steel’s employees had been covered by a
retirement plan. When The Fabsteel Company ac-
quired the Shreveport plant, such plan was terminated
and a new different plan in effect at another Fabsteel
plant was implemented.

17a

Mosher Steel’s employees had received 7 paid
holidays per year whereas The Fabsteel Company
Shreveport employees were employed on the basis of
10 paid holidays per year. Mosher employees’ vacation
plan involved 1 week vacation after 1 year, 2 weeks
after 5 years, and 3 weeks after 15 years. The Fabsteel
Company Shreveport vacation policy instituted in-
volved 1 week vacation after 1 year, 2 weeks after 2
years, 3 weeks after 8 years, and 4 weeks after 18 years.

After the sale of the Shreveport plant, Mosher
ceased participating in the market in the area. Some of
Mosher’s customers became customers of the Fabsteel
Company after January 1, 1976. The Fabsteel Com-
pany has participated in a wider marketing area for the
Shreveport plant than had been used by Mosher before
the December 31, 1975, sale of the Shreveport plant.

There are alsosome differences in the handling of in-
voicing and related matters between the Mosher Steel
Shreveport operation and The Fabsteel Shreveport
operation. Thus, Mosher handled invoicing and collec-
tion and personnel records from its office in Houston,
Texas. Fabsteel handles invoicing and collections, and
personnel records on a local basis at the Shreveport of-
fice. Mosher had an organizational set up of separate
departments at the Shreveport operation. Fabsteel,
since the acquisition of the Shreveport plant from
Mosher, has combined all departments into one depart-
ment.

18a

Fabsteel Company utilizes a broader based method of
estimating, casting, and pricing products as compared
to a more broken down method utilized by Mosher in
its operations.

Mosher Steel Company’s Shreveport plant was one
of a number of plants operated by Mosher. Mosher’s
smaller plants, such as its Shreveport plant, were in-
volved in production for commercial work. After the
sale of Mosher’s Shreveport plant, Mosher continued
work in other plants mainly of an industrial work
nature. The Fabsteel Company of Louisiana is similarly
one of several plants of The Fabsteel Company set up as
different corporations apparently. The Fabsteel Com-
pany of Louisiana has continued doing the commercial
work as did Mosher. The Fabsteel Company also com-
menced doing industrial work (Petro chemical and
chemical customers) mainly for The Fabsteel Company
at Waskom. The volume of such work was at first 90%
of such work for the Waskom plant, and later such
percentage decreased to 50% for Waskom, apparently
as local customers were picked up.

Both Mosher’s Shreveport plant and The Fabsteel’s
Shreveport plant have had temporary exchanges of
employees with other plants in related or affiliated cor-
porations of their parent corporations. Some work
produced at the Fabsteel Company of Louisiana is

processed at Shreveport and at the Fabsteel’s Waskom
plant.

19a

The Fabsteel Company of Louisiana has operated
with basically the same employee complement and the
same supervision after January 1, 1976, as had Mosher
before December 31, 1975. Thurman occupied the
same position as General Manager at the plant for both
corporations. Thurman credibly testified to the effect
that he had not engaged in labor negotiations for
Mosher with the Union and that at Fabsteel he had not
been given labor relations responsibilities. Thurman
also credibly testified to the effect that the line of
authority from him to top management for Fabsteel
was from him to President Thorne-Thomsen, that
Thorne-Thomsen came over to Shreveport frequently
from Waskom, and that Vice-President Burnley
(engineering) was over daily from Waskom to render
staff assistance. Whether this is different or not in
effect from the line of command or assistance ren-
dered when he was Mosher’s General Manager is not
revealed.

Thurman’s testimony as to job openings reveals in
effect that the same job classifications, duties of
employees, and work in Fabsteel’s operation essentially
continued as had been in Mosher’s operation.

As has been previously noted, the production and
maintenance employees at Mosher’s Steel Shreveport
plant were part of an overall 7 plant Mosher Steel
bargaining unit. Such bargaining unit as described in
specifics for the 7 plant unit has been found to be an ap-
propriate bargaining unit. The number of employees at

20a

the Shreveport location on December 31, 1975, and on
January 1 and 5, 1976, numbered 56 or 58.” A unit of
employees of 56 or 58 in number paralleling the
description of the larger 7 plant unit is also an ap-
propriate bargaining unit. The same reasoning relating
tocommunity of interest would apply, and the evidence

of the appropriateness of the larger unit would con-

stitute a preponderance of evidence requiring a find-
ing that the smaller unit with similar classification
description be appropriate for bargaining.

In the background of significant geographical disper-
sion of the 7 plant Mosher unit, the facts reveal a suf-
ficient identity of the Shreveport employees as a
separate group to warrant from astructure viewpoint a
separate employee complement. aa

Considering all of the foregoing, I am persuaded and
conclude that The Fabsteel Company of Louisiana on
January 1, 1976, constituted a successor to the Mosher
Steel Company of Louisiana as the enterprise operat-
ing the Shreveport plant involved herein. Thus, the
facts reveal that substantially the same employees and
supervisors continued after the change in ownership
on December 31, 1975. Such employees have con-
tinued doing substantially the same work on the same
equipment at the same location. Essentially, what has

7 The facts indicate that B. Johnson, and George Pugh, Jr. were
supervisors at the time of the sale of the plant on Decetnber 31,
1975, and when Fabsteel commenced operation. This being so, the
number of employees in the complement was 56. If, however,
Johnson and Pugh were merely leadmen and nonsupervisory, the
number of employees would be 58.

21a

happened is that The Fabsteel Company has continued
the same work of acommercial nature but added work
of an industrial nature. Although the products for the
industrial nature work involves some differences, such
work is basically the same. I do not find that the
changes in fringe benefits basically affects the question
of the continuation of the employing enterprise. Such
benefits do not appear to have been substantially
changed. Further, bookkeeping and other changes have
little bearing ona realistic evaluation of continuation or
lack of continuation of an enterprise. The overall struc-
tures of Mosher and of Fabsteel appear substantially
similar.

The employee unit complement continued the same
at Fabsteel as at Mosher. The fact that the certified bar-
gaining unit at Mosher involved a 7 plant unit is not
significant in evaluating structural change or lack
thereof when it is clear that a single plant unit is also
appropriate. Rather the 7 plant unit is essentially
similar in nature to a situation of multi-plant or multi-
employer bargaining in an agreed merger of single
units into one bargaining unit or as part of multi-unit
bargaining.

In sum, the facts reveal that The Fabsteel Company
of Louisiana is a successor employer to the Mosher
Steel Company as employer of the Shreveport plant in-
volved herein.

22a
E. The Refusal to Bargain

1. The General Counsel alleges that all production
and maintenance employees, including leadmen, truck-
drivers, janitors and plant clericals employed at
Respondent’s Shreveport, Louisiana plant, excluding
guards, watchmen and supervisors as defined in the
Act, constitute a unit appropriate for collective bar-
gaining within the meaning of Section 9(b) of the Act.
The Respondent admits in effect that a unit of all
production and maintenance employees at the
Shreveport plant is appropriate but denied, because
there might be issues relating to specific inclusion of
various classifications, the remainder of the
_ allegations.

The matter of appropriateness of the alleged ap-
propriate bargaining unit has been discussed in the
“successorship” section herein. No specific evidence as
to specific inclusion or exclusion of classifications has
been presented. In effect, the facts reveal that a
described appropriate bargaining unit, of the described
classifications included in this alleged appropriate bar-
gaining unit but relating to a7 plant Mosher Steel unit,
was stipulated to be appropriate and was so found by
the Board on January 18, 1974. Further, such unit was
certified as the appropriate unit on January 18, 1974.
As indicated beforehand, the community of interest of
the employees as to inclusions and exclusions from
such 7 plant unit similarly persuade that the same in-
clusions and exclusions would prevail for a single plant

‘23a

unit. Accordingly, I conclude and find that the alleged
appropriate bargaining unit constitutes a unit ap-
propriate for collective bargaining within the meaning
of Section 9(b) of the Act.8

2. The pleadings establish and I so find that the Un-
ion (United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO) on or
about December 17, 1975, requested and continued to
request Respondent to bargain collectively with
respect to rates of pay, wages, hours of employment,
and other terms and conditions of employment as the
exclusive collective bargaining representative of all the
employees of Respondent in the single plant unit
described above.

The pleadings also establish and I so find that —
commencing on or about January 5, 1976, and at all
times thereafter, Respondent did refuse, and continues
to refuse to recognize the Union and to bargain collec-
tively with the Union as the exclusive collective bar-
gaining representative of all the employees in the single
plant unit described above with respect to wages,
hours, and working conditions and other terms and
conditions of employment for the employees in said
unit.

3. As indicated above, it is clear that the Respon-
dent has refused to bargain with the Union as to wages,

8 | note that office clericals were specifically excluded from the
stipulated 7 plant unit, that “office clericals” are not included in the
alleged single plant unit as being included and that “office
clericals” are not specifically excluded from such single plant unit.

24a

terms, and conditions of employment covering the
employees in the appropriate bargaining unit. I note
that Attorney Ramsey, for the Respondent, replied to
Wolfe’s December 17, 1975, request for recognition
and bargaining on January 5, 1976. Ramsey’s letter in-
dicated an awareness of the unfair labor practice
claims, set forth Respondent’s contention that it was
not a “successor”, set forth Respondent’s contention
that it did not believe the Union to represent a majority
in any unit appropriate for bargaining, and suggested
that the Union file a representation petition.

On March 22, 1976, Attorney Dixie, for the Union,
spoke to Attorney Ramsey, for the Respondent, and of-
fered to prove the Union’s majority statutes [sic] by a
card check. Dixie offered such proof related to a majori-
ty of the employees working, as well as related to a
count of those working and of unreinstated strikers.
Ramsey stated that he would check with his client, the
Respondent, and call back if the Respondent were will-
ing to agree to a card check for majority status deter-

mination. Dixie received no further communication on
this point.

4. The facts reveal the following with respect to the
employees in the appropriate bargaining unit as of
January 5, 1976. There were 56 non-supervisory
employees in the Mosher Steel Company unit at the
Shreveport plant on December 31, 1975. Respondent's
unit on January 1 and 5, 1976, had 56 non-supervisory
employees, the same employees who had been working
for Mosher Steel at Shreveport on December 31, 1975.

25a

Of these 56 employees, the following may be noted.
Twenty-one of Respondent’s non-supervisory
employees were. employees who had been striking
employees at Mosher Steel Company’s Shreveport
plant and had returned to work before the cessation of
the strike on May 12, 1975. Seven (7) of Respondent's
non-supervisory employees were employees who has
been striking employers at Mosher Steel’s Shreveport
plant and who were reinstated to their jobs between
May 12, 1975, and December 31, 1975. Twenty-eight
(28) of Respondent’s employees on January 1 and 5,
1976, were employees who were either hired after the
strike commenced on July 22, 1974, or had not gone out
on strike. The record indicates that the number of
employees who had not gone out on strike was around
2. As of December 31, 1975, there were 22 unfair labor
practice strikers entitled to reinstatement by Mosher
Steel Company at the Shreveport plant. As of January
1, and 5, 1976, there were 22 unfair labor practice
strikers entitled to reinstatement by the Respondent.°

9 The records relating to employees, their clock numbers, and
status on Mosher Steel’s payrolls, and the facts in Mosher Steel Com-
pany, 220 NLRB 336, in composite effect form the basis for the
above numerical findings as to employees working on December
31, 1975, and on January 1 and 5, 1976. The facts, findings, and
order in Mosher Steel Company, 220 NLRB 336, the evidence in this
case as to certain terminations and quits, and the findings, facts,
and order in Mosher Steel Company, 226 NLRB no. 180, in composite
effect with the records in this case, form the basis for the findings
as to-the 22 unreinstated strikers.

26a

Contentions
Conclusions

The General Counsel contends that the Respondent
was obligated to bargain with the Union because (1) un-
der the theory of Golden State Bottling!° the Respondent
was obligated as a successor to remedy Mosher’s unfair
labor practices relating to refusal to bargain and to the
reinstatement of unfair labor practice strikers and (2)
under the Burns doctrine!! the Respondent was
obligated to bargain as a successor because such obliga-
tion had devolved upon the “successor.”

The Respondent contends in effect that it is not a
successor, that for there to be a successor, there has to
be a termination of the predecessor, that the 1 plant
unit was not the certified unit, that there is a question
of majority status, that an employer is free as a
successor to hire employees it wishes to hire, that
Respondent had an objective basis for doubt of the Un-
ion’s majority status, and that Respondent and Mosher
could decide upon Mosher's remedying the unfair labor
practices,

Considering all of the evidence and the contentions
of the parties, I am persuaded, conclude, and find that
the Respondent was a successor having the obligation
to remedy Mosher Steel’s bargaining obligation and

10 Golden State Bottling Company v. N.L.R.B., 414 U.S. 168 (1913)
11 Burns International Security Service, 406 U.S. 272 (1972)

—

27a

other unfair labor practices as they affected the
Shreveport plant unit, and under the circumstances, as
a successor, to bargain with the Union as to the
Shreveport plant complement.

Under the Burns doctrine, one of the factors for con-
sideration as to a Respondent’s obligation to bargain as
a “successor” is whether there is a question as to ma-
jority status regard the Union. In this case, the certi-
fied bargaining unit covered 7 plants geographically
separated. Normally slight increases or decreases of
employees in a bargaining unit are persumed [sic] not
to affect the majority status of the representative. It
would appear that the presumption of majority accord-
ed a representative as to an overall unit of plants would
be a presumption of equal distribution throughout the
whole unit and that the presumption would apply
equally as to the individual plants involved. Absent
some evidence of employee dissatisfaction or change,
such presumption would continue to constitute
evidence of a majority status throughout the unit was
[sic] well as in the separate parts of the overall unit.

In the instant case, the facts reveal that 65 of 67
employees in the Shreveport plant part of the overall 7
plant unit went out on strike on July 22, 1974. Twenty-
one (21) of such employees returned to work for
Mosher prior to May 12, 1975, and 7 other of such
employees returned to work before December 31,
1975. Twenty-two (22) of such employees who were
unreinstated unfair labor practice strikers and entitled

28a

to reinstatement had not been reinstated as of the time
Respondent commenced operations on January 1 and 5,
1976. As to the unfair labor practices and obligations
regarding refusal to bargain and to reinstatement of
unfair labor practice strikers, the Respondent was
clearly on notice. In addition to the above, the Respon-
dent had employed some 28 employees who had not
been strikers or who had been hired during the strike
against Mosher Steel.

Thus, the bargaining unit of employees consisted of
78 employees. Fifty-six of such employees were actual-
ly employed, and 22 of such employees had a status of
entitlement to reinstatement as unfair labor practice
strikers. It is clear, considering the question of
presumption flowing from the January 18, 1974,
certification, and from the evidence of employee sup-
port for the union by virtue of 65 out of 67 employees
going on strike on July 22, 1974, the evidence that 28 of
such employees were actually employed on January 1
and 5, 1976, and that 22 of such employees were un-
reinstated unfair labor practice strikers entitled to
reinstatement, that the Union enjoyed majority status
on December 17, and 31, 1975, and on January 1, 1976,
and thereafter.

The Respondent contends that there can not be a
successor unless the predecessor has been terminated. |
reject such contention. The question as to
successorship relates to a continuation of the employ-
ing enterprise and whether there are or are not sub-

29a

stantial changes affecting the employee relationship. !2
The Respondent contends that as a successor it is free
to hire the employees it wishes. In a sense this is true.
However, a Respondent obligated to remedy unfair
labor practices of a predecessor in the process of litiga-
tion, including the reinstatement of unfair labor prac-
tice strikers, acts at its peril if it does not reinstate such
unfair labor practice strikers.13 Conceivably, the
Respondent might have hired a complement of
employees including former Mosher Steel Company
employees at Shreveport and including new
employees, and the composition of such employees
might not have comported to the requirements of Burns
as to the tests requiring successorship findings. Ido not
find it necessary in this case to determine the question
of the effect of the unreinstated unfair labor practice
strikers upon the Burns test as to comparison of
employees in the predecessor and the successor except-
ing as to the question as to majority representation
status. The Respondent in this case hired all of the
working employees at the predecessor. Having done so,
the only question remaining is the question of the

12 The essence of Respondent's argument as to termination of
the predecessor is contrary to the Board’s and Court's Decision in
Parkwood IGA, 201 NLRB 905, and Zinn’s Foodliner, Inc., 85 LRRM
3019, enforcement of the Board’s Parkwood IGA Decision.

13 Itis noted that the Board's decision in Mosher Steel Company, 220
NLRB 336, issued on September 16, 1975, prior to Respondent's
taking over and operating the Shreveport plant.

30a

effect of changes upon “majority” status as to repre-
sentation.!4

As indicated above, it is clear that the Union enjoyed
majority status as the collective bargaining repre-
sentative of the employees in the appropriate bar-
gaining unit.15

The Respondent contends in effect that it had an ob-
jective basis for doubting the Union’s majority status in
the appropriate bargaining unit. Essentially, it appears
that the Respondent contends that the fragmentation
of the 7 plant Mosher Steel unit and its purchase and
operation of only 1 of such 7 plants plus the unit’s com-
position of 28 of the employees who were employed as
of the beginning of the strike and of 28 new or non-
striking employees afforded it an objective good faith
doubt as to the majority status of the Union.

Considering the fact that the Shreveport plant com-
plement for the Respondent was determined as of

14 Reinstatement of unfair labor practice strikers involves
reinstatement of such unfair labor practice strikers, discharging if
necessary such replacements as have been hired. Thus, Respon-
dent could have retained the replacement employees and
reinstated the unfair labor practice strikers for a total work com-
plement of 78, or the Respondent could have terminated such
replacements as hired in order to reinstate the unfair labor prac-
tice strikers in accordance with economic needs.

15 The Union would have enjoyed majority status even if some
of the replacement employees had been discharged to make room
for the reinstatement of unfair labor practice strikers.

3la

January 1, and 5, 1976, when attorney Ramsey reject-
ed the Union’s request for bargaining, I am persuaded
that the Respondent did not have a good faith doubt as
to the Union’s majority status. Thus, it is clear that
Respondent was aware of its obligation to reinstate un-
fair labor practice strikers, that 28 of the 56 non-
supervisory employees working had been strikers and
that it was obligated to reinstate 22 unfair labor prac-
tice strikers. Considering this along with the clear
knowledge that there had been determination of unfair
labor practices by its predecessor, I find that the
evidence preponderates for a finding that the Respon-
dent did not have an objective good faith doubt as to the
Union’s majority status.1¢

Considering all of the above, I conclude and find that
under the Burns doctrine, the Respondent had an
obligation on January 1 and 5, 1976, to bargain with the
Union regarding wages, terms, and conditions of
employment of employees in the appropriate bargain-
ing unit. I conclude and find, therefore, that
Respondent’s refusal to bargain with the Union as to
wages, terms, and conditions of employment of
employees in such appropriate collective bargaining
unit constituted a refusal to bargain within the mean-
ing of Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act.17

16 The Respondent's failure to respond to the Union’s offer fora

card-check re majority status is supportive of such finding under
the cireumstances of this case.

17 CF Parkwood IGA, 201 NLRB 905, enforced Zinn’ |
85 LRRM 3019. enforced Zinn’s Foodlines, Inc.

32a

Considering all of the foregoing, I am also persuad-
ed that the Respondent’s obligation to remedy the
refusal to bargain obligations of the predecessor as
such affected the Shreveport plant employees
warrants a finding of refusal to bargain as regards such
employees. | am persuaded that essentially the same
consideration of the refusal to bargain under the Burns
doctrine would apply under the Golden State theory.
Thus, in considering the problem of remedial obliga-
tion, the question is one of practicability in measuring
the interests of the employees and of the employer and
determining an appropriate remedy. Thus, the Respon-
dent was faced with an obligation to remedy a refusal to
bargain by a predecessor as to a 7 plant unit when
Respondent’s had only acquired a 1 plant unit. Such
employees in Respondent’s 1 plant unit were entitled to
remedy of the effects of the predecessor's refusal to
bargain. It isclear that the Respondent was obligated to
tailor its remedy of such action as regards the 1 plant
unit. The facts areclear that the changes involved in ac-
quisition of the 1 plant unit did not destroy the Union’s
majority status. Considering Respondent’s remedial
obligations as to the unfair labor practices and in con-
nection therewith the lack of a good faith doubt as to
majority status, it is clear that the Respondent was
obligated to bargain with the Unionon January 1 and 5,
1976, because its obligation to bargain was fixed by its
obligation to remedy unfair labor practices. In essence,
the same considerations for a bargaining obligation un-
der the Burns theory and under the Golden State theory
are required in the factual context of this case. Insum, |

33a

conclude and find that the Respondent violated Section
8(a)(S) and (1) of the Act because of its admitted refusal
to bargain with the Union as to the appropriate bar-
gaining unit because of its obligation to remedy a
refusal to bargain by the predecessor.

F. The Refusal To Reinstate Unfair
Labor Practice Strikers

The General Counsel alleges and contends and the
Respondent denies that the Respondent dis-
criminatorily refused to reinstate 30 unreinstated un-
fair labor practice strikers after it commenc
operations on or about January 5, 1976.

The General Counsel has several theories of
violative conduct. One contention is that the Respon-
dent had an obligation to reinstate unfair labor practice
strikers and did not do so. Another is that the Respon-
dent engaged in actual discriminatory consideration of
employees for hire and did not hire such alleged 30
employees because they had engaged in an unfair labor
practice strike. Another contention is that the Respon-
dent adversely considered such employees for hire on
an individual basis and on a discriminatory basis
because of their striking activity.

As to the 30 alleged employees contended to have
been discriminated against, the facts reveal that there
were only 22 unreinstated unfair labor practice strikers
entitled to reinstatement by the Respondent when

,

34a

Respondent commenced operations on January 1and 5,
1976. Such 22 unfair labor practice strikers entitled to
reinstatement by the Respondent pursuant to its
obligation to remedy the predecessor’s unfair labor
practices and to reinstate unfair labor practice strikers
were as follows; George W. Brown, James Cheatham,
L. D. Coleman, Herman Gilliam, Mertin Horton, Jr.,
Claudia V. Johnson, Larry D. McDonald, Edward C.
McLean, Latham Montgomery, Herman L. Patterson,
John M. Patterson, Clyde Pennywell, Joe N. Peyton,
John A. Pouncy, Jr., Cleo Pratt, Robert C. Procell, Lee
G. Taylor, Rickey C. Taylor, Charles H. Thomas, Rufus
Walls, Roosevelt Washington, and Donald G.
Woodward.

The General Counsel had alleged that the Respon-
dent had discriminatorily refused to hire eight other
employees who had been unfair labor practice strikers.
The facts reveal that these eight employees had (with
respect to the predecessor) quit, been reinstated, refus-
ed reinstatement, or were disqualified ,for rein-
statement by conduct on the picket line during the un-
fair labor practice strike against the predecessor —
Mosher Steel Company. Thus in 1974 or 1975, David
O. Anderson, Jerry L. Stallings, and Joseph Tuminello
had all quit employment at Mosher Steel Company.
Johnny L. Roberson had refused reinstatement in 1975.
Employees Benny L. Harris, Charles E. Stiles and
Robert Wilkerson had engaged in misconduct during
the unfair labor practice strike against Mosher Steel
Company and were not entitled to reinstatement as

35a

unfair labor practice strikers.!* Employee Robert W.
Jones had been reinstated and was working on January
1 and 5, 1976.

Two (2) of the 22 unfair labor practice strikers enti-
tled to reinstatement by the predecessor before
December 31, 1975, and by the Respondent pursuant
to its remedial obligations were Lee G. Taylor and
Roosevelt Washington. The Respondent’s contended
reason for refusal to reinstate or hire these two, Taylor
and Washington, was alleged misconduct on the picket
line during the unfair labor practice strike against the
predecessor. In Mosher Steel Company, 226 NLRB No. 180,
it was found that such employees had not engaged in
disqualifying misconduct and were entitled to
reinstatement and back pay. The Respondent was on
notice of such unfair labor practice proceedings at the
time of purchase of the Shreveport plant. The
Respondent's failure of reinstatement of such em-
ployees was one of acting at its peril, and the deter-
mination has been contrary to its contentions.

The facts are clear that unconditional offers to
return‘to work were made to Mosher Steel Company
on May 12, 1975, by the unfair labor practice strikers.
The facts are also clear that the Board’s decision in
Mosher Steel Company, 220 NLRB 336, included (a) find-
ings that the strike from July 22, 1974, to May 12, 1975,
was an unfair labor practice strike, and (b) an order
relating to reinstatement and backpay for unfair labor

18 Mosher Steel Company, 226 NLRB No. 180

36a

practice strikers, including the 22 unreinstated unfair
labor practice strikers referred to herein. Said Board
decision issued on September 16, 1975. The facts are
clear that the Respondent was aware of the pending
unfair labor practice cases.

The Respondent contends in effect that agreements
were made by it with Mosher Steel Company whereby
question of remedy concerning reinstatement of unfair
labor practice strikers would be taken care of by actions
by Mosher Steel. Further evidence was offered and re-
ceived to the effect that, in 1976, Mosher Steel offered
certain of the unreinstated unfair labor practice
strikers jobs at other Mosher Steel plants, with moving
expenses. Certain of such employees accepted such
reinstatement but advised Respondent, Fabsteel, that
they desired reinstatement at the Shreveport plant.
First, parties cannot by private agreements undermine
the responsibilities to comply with the National Labor
Relations Act or remedial orders of the Board. Sec-
ondly, offer of jobs away from the employing enter-
prise which is continuing does not constitute an offer
of reinstatement which effectuates the purposes of the
Act.!9 °

The facts are clear that attorney Wolf, for the Union,
on December 17, 1975, reiterated a request to the

19 See, M. J. McCarthy Motor Sales Co., 147 NLRB 605, and cases
cited therein.

ft on mie

37a
Respondent for reinstatement of such unreinstated
unfair labor practice strikers.2°

The right of reinstatement pursuant to an ad-
judicatory order is a continuing one. It is clear that
Respondent was on notice of such obligation of
reinstatement. As soon as the Respondent became a
successor, which it did on January 1, 1976, such knowl-
edge and obligation blended, and the failure to reinstate
such unreinstated unfair labor practice strikers con-
stituted conduct violative of Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of
the Act.

The General Counsel, as indicated, argued a num-
ber of theories in support of his contention of violative
conduct in refusal to reinstate the unreinstated unfair
labor practice strikers. One theory is that the Respon-
dent actually considered on a discriminatory basis the
selection of the employees for hire. Thus, the General
Counsel contends that the Respondent discrimina-
torily considered and refused to reinstate the unfair
labor practice strikers because of their striking activity.
I am not persuaded that the facts support this conten-
tion excepting with respect to employees Taylor and
Washington. The violative conduct found herein is bas-
ed simply upon the inherent effect of discrimination
flowing from the refusal to reinstate unfair labor prac-

20 Evidence of conversation between Wimberly and Thurman
was introduced relating to offer to return to work in late
December, 1975, and early January, 1976. I found Thurman to

appear the more credible witness and credit his version of facts
over Wimberly’s.

38a
tice strikers who are entitled to reinstatement and who
have made offers to return to work.

As to Taylor and Washington, the facts reveal that
the Respondent refused to consider them for some job
openings because of alleged misconduct as strikers. In
Mosher Steel Company, 226 NLRB No. 180, it was found
that Taylor and Washington had not engaged in dis-
qualifying misconduct during the strike. Under such
circumstances, Respondent’s conduct in refusing to
consider Taylor and Washington for employment con-
stituted conduct violative of Section 8(a)(3)(1) of the
Act.?!

The General Counsel also contended that Respon-
dent discriminatorily considered the unreinstated
strikers for job openings after it commenced operation
on January 1 and 5, 1976. Excepting for the fact that the
unreinstated unfair labor practice strikers were en-
titled to reinstatement, I do not find that the evidence
presented reveals discrimination as to the selection of
employees for job openings. The reasons given for the
individual selection of new employees appeared plausi-

ble.

In sum, I conclude and find that the Respondent's
failure and refusal to reinstate on January 1, 1976, the
22 unreinstated unfair labor practice strikers con-
stituted conduct violative of Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of
the Act.

21 Mosher Steel Company, 226 NLRB 180; Burnup and Sims, 379 US
21.

oe tila

39a

IV. The Effect of the Unfair Labor
Practices Upon Commerce

The activities of the Respondent set forth in Section
III, -above, occurring in connection with the
Respondent’s operations described in section I, above,
have a close, intimate, and substantial relationship to
trade, traffic, and commerce among the several States
and tend to lead to labor disputes burdening and
obstructing commerce and the free flow of commerce.

V. The Remedy

Having found that the Respondent has engaged in
unfair labor practices, it will be recommended that
Respondent cease and desist therefrom and take cer-

tain affirmative action to effectuate the policies of the
Act.

Respondent’s refusal to recognize and bargain with
the Union in violation of Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the
Act shall be remedied by an order requiring it to
bargain, upon request, with the Union, as regards
wages, hours, terms, and working conditions of
employment of the employees inthe appropriate single
plant unit found herein, and to embody any under-
standing reached into a signed agreement.

Respondent’s failure and refusal to reinstate certain
22 unreinstated unfair labor practice strikers in viola-
tion of Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of the Act, shall be reme-

40a

died by an order requiring reinstatement and backpay
to the 22 referred to unreinstated unfair labor practice
strikers, excepting for Patterson and Walls who have
now been reinstated, and as to Patterson and Walls, re-
quiring that they receive backpay from January 1, 1976,
to date of reinstatement.22

Backpay due to the discriminatees in this proceeding
shall be computed on a quarterly basis as prescribed in
F. W. Woolworth Co., 90 NLRB 289, with 6 per cent in-
terest thereon in accordance with Isis Plumbing & Heating
Co., 138 NLRB 716.

Because of the character of the unfair labor practices
herein found, the recommended Order will provide
that the Respondent cease and desist from in any other
manner interfering with, restraining, and coercing
employees in the exercise of their rights guaranteed by
Section 7 of the Act.

Upon the basis of the above findings of fact and upon
the entire record in the case, I make the following:

Conclusions of Law
1. The Fabsteel Company of Louisiana, the

Respondent, is an employer engaged in commerce
within the meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act,

22 The question of Respondent's backpay liability for the time
prior to January 1, 1976, is not presented and apparently left for

resolution in the compliance stage of Mosher Steel Company, 220
NLRB 336.

4la »

and is a successor employer to the Mosher Steel Com-
pany as regards the Shreveport plant employees who
formerly worked for Mosher Steel Company at
Shreveport, Louisiana.

2. United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO, is,
and has been at all times material herein, a labor

organization within the meaning of Section 2(5) of the
Act.

3. All production and maintenance employees,
including leadmen, truckdrivers, janitors, and all plant
clericals employed at Respondent’s Shreveport, Loui-
siana plant, excluding guards, watchmen and super-
visors as defined in the Act, constitute a unit ap-
propriate for collective bargaining within the meaning
of Section 9(b) of the Act.

4. At all times since January 1, 1976, and con-
tinuing to date, the Union has been the representative
for the purposes of collective bargaining of the
employees of the unit described above, and, by virtue of
Section 9(a) of the Act, has been, and is now, the ex-:
clusive representative of all the employees in said unit
for the purpose of collective bargaining with respect to
rates of pay, wages, hours of employment and other
terms and conditions of employment.

5. The Respondent, since on or about January 1,
1976, and at all times thereafter, has refused and con-
tinues to refuse to recognize and bargain with the Un-

42a

ion as the exclusive collective bargaining repre-
sentative of all the employees in the Unit described
above with respect to wages, hours, and working con-
ditions and other terms and conditions of employment
for the employees in said unit in violation of Section
8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act.

6. The Respondent, on or about January 1, 1976,
discriminated against unreinstated unfair labor prac-
tice strikers by refusing to reinstate such unfair labor

practice strikers in violation of Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of
the Act.

7. The aforesaid unfair labor practices affect com-
merce within the meaning of the Act.

Upon the foregoing findings of fact, conclusions of
law, and the entire record, and pursuant to Section
10(c) of the Act, I hereby issue the following
recommended:

ORDER?23

Respondent, The Fabsteel Company of Louisiana, its
officers, agents, successors, and assigns, shall:

23 In the event no exceptions are filed as provided by Section
102.46 of the Rules and Regulations of the National Labor
Relations Board, the findings, conclusions, and recommended
Order herein shall, as provided in Section 102.48 of the Rules and
Regulations, be adopted by the Board and become its findings,
conclusions, and Cede: and all objections thereto shall be deemed
waived for all purposes.

< ws

43a

1. Cease and desist from:

(a) Refusing to reinstate or otherwise dis-
criminating against employees in regard to hire or
tenure of employment, or any term or condition of
employment because of their union or protected con-
certed activities, including their engaging in an unfair
labor practice strike, except to the extent permitted by
the proviso to Section 8(a)(3) of the Act.

(b) Refusing to recognize or bargain with the Un-
ion as exclusive collective bargaining representative of
all the employees in the appropriate collective bargain-
ing unit set out below as to wages, hours, terms, and
conditions of employment of such employees.

(c) In any other manner interfering with,
restraining, or coercing employees in the exercise of
their rights guaranteed in Section 7 of the Act, except
to the extent permitted by the proviso to Section 8(a)(3)
of the Act.

2. Take the following affirmative action which it is
found will effectuate the policies of the Act.

(a) Offer to the employees named below, excep-
ting for Walls and John M. Patterson, immediate and
full reinstatement to the former position held by each
or, if such position is no longer existing, to a substan-
tially equivalent position, without prejudice to each’s
seniority, or other rights previously enjoyed, and make

44a

whole each of the employees named below, including
Walls and John M. Patterson, for any loss of pay or
other benefits suffered as a result of the failure to
reinstate such unfair labor practice strikers on January
1, 1976, in the manner described above in the section
entitled “The Remedy.”

+

George W. Brown
James Cheatham

L. D. Coleman
Herman Gilliam
Mertin Horton, Jr.
Claudia V. Johnson
Larry D. McDonald
Edward C. McLean
Latham Montgomery
Herman L. Patterson
John M. Patterson

Clyde Pennywell

Joe N. Peyton

John A. Pouncy, Jr.
Cleo Pratt

Robert C. Procell

Lee G. Taylor

Rickey C. Taylor
Charles H. Thomas
Rufus Walls
Roosevelt Washington
Donald G. Woodward

(b) Preserve and, upon request, make available to
the Board or its agents, for examination and copying,
all payroll records, social security payment records,
timecards, personnel records and reports, and all other
records necessary to analyze the amount of backpay
due under the terms and this recommended Order.

(c) Upon request, bargain collectively with Unit-
ed Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO, as the exclusive
bargaining representative of the employees in the ap-
propriate collective bargaining unit and, if an un-
derstanding is reached, embody such understanding in
a signed agreement.

ee ee

a

45a

The appropriate collective bargaining unit is:
All production and maintenance employees,
including leadmen, truckdrivers, janitors and
plant clericals employed at Respondent's
Shreveport, Louisiana plant, excluding
guards, watchmen and supervisors as defined
in the Act.

(d) Post at Respondent’s plant at Shreveport,
Louisiana copies of the attached notice marked
“Appendix.”24 Copies of said notice, on forms provided
by the Regional Director for Region 23, after being
duly signed by Respondent's representatives, shall be
posted by it immediately upon receipt thereof, and be
maintained by Respondent for 60 consecutive days
thereafter, in conspicuous places, including all places
where notices to employees are customarily posted.
Reasonable steps shall be taken by Respondent to in-
sure that said notices are not altered, defaced, or
covered by any other material.

(e) Notify the Regional Director for Region 23, in
writing, within 20 days from the date of receipt of this
Order, what steps the Respondent has taken tocomply
herewith.

24 Inthe event that the Board’s Order is enforced by a Judgment
of a United States Court of Appeals. the words in the notice read-
ing “POSTED BY ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR
RELATIONS BOARD” shall be changed to read “POSTED
PURSUANT TO A JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS ENFORCING AN ORDER OF THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD.”

46a

Dated at Washington, D.C. April 8, 1977

ls) JERRY B. STONE
Jerry B. Stone
Administrative Law
Judge

231 NLRB No. 50 FJP
D-2782

Shreveport, La.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
BEFORE THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

FABSTEEL COMPANY OF LOUISIANA

and Case 23-CA-6008
(formerly 15-CA-6059)

UNITED STEELWORKERS OF AMERICA, AFL-CIO
DECISION AND ORDER

On April 8, 1977, Administrative Law Judge Jerry B.
Stone issued the attached Decision in this proceeding.
Thereafter, Respondent filed exceptions and a support-
ing, brief, and the General Counsel filed a brief support-
ing the Administrative Law Judge’s Decision.

———

ee as

47a

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 3(b) of the
National Labor Relations Act, as amended, the
National Labor Relations Board has delegated its
authority in this proceeding to athree-member panel.

The Board has considered the record and the at-
tached Decision in light of the exceptions and briefs and
has decided to affirm the rulings, findings, and con-
clusions of the Administrative Law Judge and to adopt
his recommended Order,! as modified herein.

ORDER

Pursuant to Section 10(c) of the National Labor
Relations Act, as amended, the National Labor
Relations Board adopts as its Order the recommended
Order of the Administrative Law Judge, as modified
below, and hereby orders that the Respondent,
Fabsteel Company of Louisiana, Shreveport,
Louisiana, its officers, agents, successors, and assigns,
shall take the action set forth in the said recommended

Order, as modified herein:

1. Delete the following from paragraphs 1(a) and
(c):

“Except to the extent permitted by the proviso to
Section 8(a)(3) of the Act.”

1 Since Louisiana is a right-to-work State, we shall delete
references to the proviso to Sec. 8(a)(3) from the recommended
Order and notice.

48a

2. Substitute the attached notice for that of the Ad-
ministrative Law Judge.

Dated, Washington, D.C. August 15, 1977

John H. Fanning, Chairman

Howard Jenkins, Jr... Member

John A. Penello, Member

NATIONAL LABOR
RELATIONS BOARD
(SEAL)

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Petitioner,

Vv.

FABSTEEL COMPANY OF LOUISIANA,

Respondent.
No. 77-3079.
United States Court of Appeals
Fifth Circuit
Jan. 10, 1979.

Oe ee

49a

On Application for Enforcement of an Order of The
National Labor Relations Board.

Before RONEY, RUBIN and VANCE, Circuit Judges.
VANCE, Circuit Judge:

This case comes to us on the National Labor Rela-
tions Board’s petition to enforce its order issued against
Fabsteel Company of Louisiana (Fabsteel) on
September 12, 1977.1

The Board found that by virtue of its purchase of the
Shreveport plant of Mosher Steel Company (Mosher),
Fabsteel was a successor to Mosher with certain
obligations under the National Labor Relations Act.
The Board found that Fabsteel had violated Section
8(a)(3) and (1) of the Act by refusing to fulfill its obliga-
tion to remedy Mosher’s unfair labor practices. The
Board further found that Fabsteel had violated Section
8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act by refusing to bargain with the
United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO (the Un-
ion). It ordered Fabsteel to cease and desist from refus-
ing to bargain with the Union, ordered reinstatement
of named employees with back pay and granted other
relief.

Fabsteel presents two issues. (1) Whether a
successor, within these facts, has the obligation to

1 The Board’s decision and order is reported at 231 N.L.R.B. No.
50.

50a

remedy its predecessor’s unfair labor practices by
reinstating unfair labor practice strikers. (2) Whethera
successor, within these facts, had an obligation to
bargain with the Union which was certified as bargain-
ing agent for employees of its predecessor.

The unfolding area of the law of successorship has
been before the Supreme Court on several occasions.
The first was in John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376
U.S. 543, 84 S.Ct. 909, 11 L.Ed.2d 898 (1964). That
holding was later described by the court as “properly
cautious and narrow.” Howard Johnson Company, Inc. v.
Detroit Local Joint Executive Board, Hotel and Restaurant
Employees and Bartenders International Union, 417 U.S. 249,
254, 94 S.Ct. 2236, 41 L.Ed.2d 46 (1974). The develop-
ment since Wiley has been on a case by case approach. In
its most recent opinion, the Supreme Court stated:

Particularly in light of the difficulty of the
successorship question, the myriad factual cir-
cumstances and legal contexts in which it can
arise, and the absence of congressional
guidance as to its resolution, emphasis on the
facts of each case as it arises is especially ap-
propriate. The Court was obviously well
aware of this in Wiley, as its guarded, almost
tentative statement of its holding amply
demonstrates.

Howard Johnson, supra, at 256, 94 S.Ct. at 2240. It is
necessary, therefore, that we give particular attention
to the facts in the case before us.

Sla
Factual History

On August 30, 1973, a company wide election was
held at Mosher’s seven plants.? The stipulated unit was
all production and maintenance employees at all seven
plants, including leadmen, truckdrivers, janitors, and
plant clericals.

On January 18, 1974, the NLRB found that the
stipulated unit was an appropriate one and that the Un-
ion had received a majority of the employees’ votes. On
that date the Board certified the Union as the exclusive
representative of Mosher’s employees in the bargain-
ing unit.

On July 22, 1974, a strike involving a great majority
of the employees in the unit commenced. At the
Shreveport plant Mosher had approximately 67
employees in the unit on July 22. Sixty-five of those
employees went out on strike. Mosher hired ap-
proximately 30 new employees and 21 of the strikers
returned to work. The strike concluded at the
Shreveport plant on May 12, 1975. On or about that
same day, Mosher received unconditional offers from
the strikers. None was reinstated at that time. Prior to
December 31, 1975, however, seven employees were

2 The seven plants consisted of plants located at: 3910
Washington and 6422 Esperson Street, Houston, Texas; San An-
tonio, Texas; Dallas, Texas; Lubbock, Texas; Tyler, Texas; and
Shreveport, Louisiana. The case before us concerns incidents aris-
ing out of the Shreveport plant.

52a

returned to work. Another five were refused reinstate-
ment based on grounds of alleged misconduct.

On September 16, 1975, the Board found‘ that
Mosher had engaged in conduct violative of Section
8(a)(5) and (1), and that the strike was an unfair labor
practice strike caused and prolonged by Mosher’s un-
fair labor practices. The Board ordered Mosher to
bargain with the Union and to reinstate unfair labor
practice strikers upon unconditional applications for
reinstatement. We enforced this order on May 14,
1976. Mosher Steel Co. v. NLRB, 532 F.2d 1374 (Sth Cir.
1976).

3 The Administrative Law Judge, whose opinion was adopted in
full by the Board, specifically noted and took into consideration
these five strikers as is evidenced by the following excerpt:
I officially note that the question of such misconduct’s
bearing on the five individual unfair labor practice
strikers’ right to reinstatement was litigated in a proceed-
ing before Administrative Law Judge Jalette. The Board
in Mosher Steel Company, 226 NLRB No. 180, found that
Mosher Steel Shreveport unfair labor practice strikers
Robert Wilkerson, Charles Stiles, and Benny Harris
engaged in striker misconduct justifying a refusal to
reinstate such employees. The conduct of Mosher Steel
Company Shreveport unfair labor practice strikers
Roosevelt Washington and Lee Taylor was found in
effect to be of such a nature as not to impair their rights
to reinstatement as unfair labor practice strikers, and it
was found that the refusal to reinstate Washington and
Taylor violated Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of the Act. Ap-
propriate remedial order of reinstatement and backpay
was issued in said decision on November 24, 1976.

4 The Board’s Decision and Order is reported at 220 N.L.R.B.
No. 47 (1975).

woth” ene

ee ee

53a

Enter Fabsteel

An agreement was entered on December 10, 1975,
between Mosher and Fabsteel for sale to Fabsteel of the
real estate, buildings, structures, machinery and equip-
ment, tangible personal property, raw material and in-
ventory, which constituted Mosher’s Shreveport plant.
At the time of the agreement, Fabsteel was aware of
the Board’s outstanding order against Mosher, and
Fabsteel and Mosher had made arrangements con-
cerning potential back pay and _ reinstatement
obligations. Pursuant to this agreement, Mosher ter-
minated its Shreveport operation on December 31,
1975, and Fabsteel commenced its operation on January
1, 1976. As of December 31 Mosher terminated its en-
tire employee complement which consisted of 56 non-
supervisory employees. On the same day Fabsteel took
applications from all Mosher employees and hired all
interested employees. It commenced operation with
the identical employee complement that Mosher had
prior to its termination.

By letter from its attorney on December 17, 1975,
the Union notified Fabsteel of the Board’s findings and
order relating to Mosher’s obligation to bargain and to
the unfair labor practice strikers’ rights to reinstate-
ment. At that time the Union requested Fabsteel to
bargain and to reinstate the strikers. At all times com-
mencing on or about January 5, 1976, Fabsteel has
refused to bargain with the Union or to reinstate the
strikers.

54a

Fabsteel admits that it is a successor for some pur-
poses, but contends that it is not a successor in the
sense of being obliged to remedy Mosher’s unfair labor
practices or to bargain with the Union. We disagree
with both contentions.

The Successor’s Obligation To Remedy
Unfair Labor Practices

The Board found that Fabsteel violated Section
8(a)(3) and (1) of the Act by failing to reinstate 22 unfair
labor practice strikers. The Board’s determinations
that, at least, the 22 strikers involved here, were unfair
labor practice strikers and were entitled to reinstate-
ment by Mosher is not contested by Fabsteel. Under
settled law, Mosher was obligated to rehire these
strikers. NLRB v. Safeway Steel Scaffolds Company of Georgia,
383 F.2d 273 (Sth Cir. 1967), cert. denied 390 U.S. 955, 88
S.Ct. 1052, 19 L.Ed.2d 1150 (1968). Fabsteel, however,

contends that it has no obligation to reinstate the
strikers.

The Board’s finding that Fabsteel was a successor to
Mosher with an obligation to reinstate the strikers was
based on Golden State Bottling Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168,
94 S.Ct. 414, 38 L.Ed.2d 388 (1973), which affirmed the
ninth circuit’s enforcement? of a Board order. In that
case, All American Beverages, Inc. had acquired Golden

5 Mosher Steel Company, 220 N.L.R.B. No. 47 (1975).
6 Golden State Bottling Co. v. NLRI

OO aac tsi tne tls

55a

State’s business and continued the business without in-
terruption or substantial change in operation,
employee complement, or supervisory personnel. The
Board found that since All American had acquired the
business with knowledge of an outstanding Board
order to reinstate with back pay adischarged employee,
it was a successor for purposes of the Act and liable for
the reinstatement of the discharged employee with
back pay.

Fabsteel views the present Board holding as an
overstatement of Golden State. It complains that the
Board erred in making an initial determination that
Fabsteel is a successor and then in automatically im-
posing all of Mosher’s obligations on Fabsteel following
such determination of successorship. Although we
agree that such a two step approach would be inap-
propriate” we do not agree that the result achieved by
the Board in this case is incorrect.

7 The Court of Appeals stated that “[t]he first question
we must face is whether Howard Johnson is a successor
employer,” 482 F.2d, at 492, and, finding that it was, that
the next question was whether a successor is required to
arbitrate under the collective-bargaining agreement of
its predecessor, id., at 494, which the court found was
resolved by Wiley. We do not believe that this artificial
division between these questions is a helpful or ap-
propriate way to approach these problems. The question
whether Howard Johnson is a “successor” is simply not
meaningful in the abstract. Howard Johnson is of course
a successor employe. in the sense that it succeeded to
operation of a restaurant and motor lodge formerly
operated by the Grissoms. But the real question in each
of these “successorship” cases is, on the particular facts,
what are the legal obligations of the new employer to the
employees of the former owner or their representative?

56a

Golden State addressed the correct decisional process
as follov s:

The Board’s decisional process in the Perma
Vinyl line of cases has involved striking a
balance between the conflicting legitimate in-
terests of the bona fide successor, the public,
and the affected employee. What we said of
the Board’s decisional process in another con-
text is pertinent here:

“The ultimate problem is the balancing of
the conflicting legitimate interests. The
function of striking that balance to effec-
tuate national labor policy is often a dif-
ficult and delicate responsibility, which
the Congress committed primarily to the
National Labor Relations Board, subject

The answer to this inquiry requires analysis of the in-

terests of the new employer and the employees and of the

policies of the labor laws in light of the facts of each case

and the particular legal obligation which is at issue,

whether it be the duty to recognize and bargain with the

union, the duty to remedy unfair labor practices, the duty

to arbitrate, etc. There is, and can be, no single definition

of “successor” which is applicable in every legal context.

A new employer, in other words, may be a successor for

some purposes and not for others. See Golden State Bottling

Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168, 181, 94 S.Ct. 414, 423, 38

L.Ed.2d 388 (1973). International Ass'n of Machinists v. NLRB,

134 U.S.App.D.C. 239, 244, 414 F.2d 1135, 1140 (1969)

(Leventhal, J., concurring); Goldberg, The Labor Law

Obligations of a Successor Employer, 63 Nw.U.L.Rev.

735 (1969); Comment, Contractual Successorship: The

Impact of Burns, 40 U.Chi.L.Rev. 617, 619 n. 10(1973).
Howard Johnson Co. v. Detroit Local Joint Executive Board, Hotel and
Restaurant Employees and Bartenders International Union, supra, 417 U.S. at
263, n. 9, 94 S.Ct. at 2243 n. 9.

57a

to limited judicial review.” NLRB v. Truck
Drivers Local Union 449 International
Brotherhood of Teamsters, 353U.5S. [sic] 87, 96,
77 S.Ct. 643, 648, 1 L.Ed.2d 676 (1957).

The Board’s Perma Vinyl principles introduced into
the balancing process an emphasis upon protection for
the victimized employee:

“Especially in need of help, it seems to us, are
the employee victims of unfair labor prac-
tices who, because of their unlawful dis-
charge, are now without meaningful remedy
when title to the employing business opera-
tion changes hands.” 164 N.R.L.B., at 969.

Golden State Bottling Co., supra, 414 U.S. at 181,94S.Ct. at
423. In the case before us the Board properly balanced
the equities. Its findings are supported by the record
and are therefore due to be enforced. Universal Camera
Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 71 S.Ct. 456, 95 L.Ed. 456
(1951).

Fabsteel contends, however, that in balancing the
equities the Board failed to take into consideration the
fact that Mosher could reinstate these employees at
other plants and that it also did not adequately consider
the hardship that would be visited upon those
employees hired to replace the strikers.

58a

The first of these contentions was disposed of in the

Administrative Law Judge’s opinion, adopted in full by
the Board:

Further evidence was offered and received to
the effect that, in 1976, Mosher Steel offered
certain of the unreinstated unfair labor prac-
tice strikers jobs at other Mosher Steel plants,
with moving expenses. Certain of such
employees accepted such reinstatement but
advised Respondent, Fabsteel, that they
desired reinstatement at the Shreveport
plant. First, parties cannot by private
agreements undermine the responsibilities to
comply with the National Labor Relations Act
or remedial orders of the Board. Secondly,
offer of jobs away from the employing enter-
prise which is continuing does not constitute
an offer of reinstatement which effectuates
the purposes of the Act.19

19 See, M. J. McCarthy Motor Sales Co., 147
NLRB 605, and cases cited therein.

The Board’s position finds support in cases involving
reinstatement of strikers in other situations not in-
volving successorships. See NLRB v. Madison Courier, Inc.,
153 U.S.App.D.C. 232, 472 F.2d 1307 (1972); Florence
Printing Co. v. NLRB, 376 F.2d 216 (4th Cir.), cert. denied
389 U.S. 840, 88 S.Ct. 68, 19 L.Ed.2d 104 (1967).

59a

The second contention is equally lacking in merit. We
have recently held in a case not involving a
successorship that unreinstated unfair labor practice
strikers are entitled to reinstatement regardless of the
fact that permanent replacements have been hired.
NLRB v. Pope Maintenance Corp., 573 F.2d 898 (Sth Cir.
1978). We perceive no reason to change the law because
a successor is involved. This is especially true when the
successor has knowledge of an outstanding Board
order requiring reinstatement.

The Successor’s Obligation to Bargain

The second issue is whether substantial evidence on
the record as a whole supports the Board’s finding that
Fabsteel had an obligation to bargain with the Union as
a representative of its employees.

Fabsteel contends that it had doubt that the
employees hired by it had an allegiance to the Union
and a desire for representation by it. The employer
relies on NLRB v. Burns International Security Services, Inc..
406 U.S. 272, 92 S.Ct. 1571, 32 L.Ed.2d 61 (1972) and its
holding that a successor has a right to refuse recogni-
tion of a union when it reasonably entertains a good
faith doubt of such majority. Id. at 278-279, 92 S.Ct.
1571.

The Board found, however, that the certification was
binding on Fabsteel and that it had no reasonable basis
for a good faith doubt of the Union’s majority status. It

60a

found that Fabsteel’s refusal to recognize and bargain
with the Union was a violation of Section 8(a)(5) and (1)
of the Act. NLRB v. Leatherwood Drilling Co., 513 F.2d 270,
272 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1016, 96 S.Ct. 449, 46
L.Ed.2d 387 (1975).

We agree that substantial evidence supports the
finding of no reasonable ground for a good faith doubt
of the Union’s continuing majority status. Under Uni-
versal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, supra, this conclusion is suf-
ficient for enforcement of the Board’s order. Because of
the novelty of the issue, however, we shall examine
Fabsteel’s contentions more closely than otherwise
would be required.

Fabsteel contends that after recognizing that the
unit had changed within the meaning of Burns, the
Board relied on mathematics to find majority status
and misapplied the arithmetic. Fabsteel argues that
there necessarily has been a change in the bargaining
unit because a seven plant unit was certified and it
purchased only one of those seven plants.

The Board did not find that the unit had changed
within the meaning of Burns:

Under the Burns doctrine, one of the factors
for consideration as to a Respondent’s obliga-
tion to bargain as a “successor” is whether
there is a question as to majority status regard
the Union. In this case, the certified bargain-

ee

6la

ing unit covered 7 plants geographically
separated. Normally slight increases or
decreases of employees in a bargaining unit
are persumed [sic] not to affect the majority
status of the representative. It would appear
that the presumption of majority accorded a
representative as to an overall unit of plants
would be a presumption of equal distribution
throughout the whole unit and that the
presumption would apply equally as to the in-
dividual plants involved. Absent some
evidence of employee dissatisfaction or
change, such presumption would continue to
constitute evidence of a majority status
throughout the unit was [sic] well as in the
separate parts of the overall unit.

We do not read Burns, as Fabsteel suggests, to exclude
the present situation from control by the stated rule.
The Burns court specified two such exclusions, neither
of which encompassed our situation:

It would be a wholly different case if the
Board had determined that because Burns’
operational structure and practices differed
from those of Wackenhut, the Lockheed
bargaining unit was no longer an appropriate
one. Likewise, it would be different if Burns
had not hired employees already represented
by a union certified as a bargaining agent... .
But where the bargaining unit remains un-

62a

changed and amajority of the employees hired
by the new employer are represented by a
recently certified bargaining agent there is lit-
tle basis for faulting the Board’s implementa-
tion of the express mandates of § 8(a)(5) and §
9(a) by ordering the employer to bargain with
the incumbent union. This is the view of
several courts of appeals and we agree with
those courts. NLRB v. Zayre Corp., 424 F.2d
1159, 1162 (CAS 1970); Tom-A-Hawk Transit,
Inc. v. NLRB, 419 F.2d 1025, 1026-1027 (CA7
1969); S. S. Kresge Co. v. NLRB, 416 F.2d 1225,
1234 (CA6 1969); NLRB v. McFarland, 306 F:2d,
[219] at 220.

Burns, supra, 406 U.S. at 280, 92 S.Ct. 1571, 1579 (foot-
notes omitted).

Fabsteel concedes that the Shreveport plant was a
separate appropriate unit for bargaining. Although it
was not obligated to do so,’ it chose to hire the inden-
tical employee complement. Our enforcement of the
Board’s order requiring Fabsteel to reinstate the unfair
labor. practice strikers makes it quite apparent that a
majority of Fabsteel’s employees after such reinstate-
ment will be represented by the certified Union.

8 The Board has never held that the National Labor
Relations Act itself requires that an employer who sub-
mits the winning bid for a service contract or who
purchases the assets of a business be obligated to hire all
of the employees of the predecessor though it is possible
that such an obligation might be assumed by the
employer. But cf. Chemrock Corp., 151 N.L.R.B. 1074 (1965).

NLRB. Burns International Security Services, Inc., supra, at 406 U.S. 280

n.5, 92 S.Ct. at 1578 n.5.

ities: wet al eee iat

63a

From the holding in Burns, Fabsteel would have us ex-
trapolate a rule that if there were a change in the cer-
tified unit no obligation to bargain would survive.
Fabsteel does not attempt to state what type of change,
if any, would merit such a conclusion. The Supreme
Court has not given meaningful indication as to what
specific type of change, if any, in a unit would warrant a
refusal to bargain absent at least a good faith doubt as
to the majority status of the Union’s representation. A
few courts have opined that changes, which are at least
analogous to what Fabsteel contends is a change here,
do not relieve a successor of its obligation to bargain
with the Union. The Board has long held, with court
approval, that under proper circumstances, the obliga-
tion to bargain with an incumbent union may be found
although the work force is considerably diminished by
the transfer. See, e. g., NLRB v. Polytech, Inc., 469 F.2d
1226, 1230 (8th Cir. 1972); NLRB v. McFarland, 306 F.2d
219, 221 (10th Cir. 1962); NLRBo. Armato, 199 F.2d 800,
803 (7th Cir. 1952). The Board, with court approval,
has similarly found a bargaining obligation though the
transfer in ownership results in a division of the bar-
gaining unit into two or more separate units, where, as
here, each unit is independently appropriate. Nazareth
Regional High School v. NLRB, 549 F.2d 873, 880 (2nd Cir.
1977); Zim’s Foodliner, Inc. v. NLRB, 495 F.2d 1131, 1141
(7th Cir.), cert. denied 419 U.S. 838, 95 S.Ct. 66, 42
L.Ed.2d 65 (1974); N.L.R.B. v. Geronimo Service Co., 467
F.2d 903 (10th Cir. 1972); Ranch-Way, Inc., 445 F.2d 625
(10th Cir. 1971), vacated and remanded on other grounds, 406
U.S. 940, 92 S.Ct. 2037, 32 L.Ed.2d 328 (1972). As the
seventh circuit has stated,

64a

Once it is determined that the successor unit
is appropriate for bargaining, a change in unit
definition, from large to smaller units, would
seem not to raise any additional con-
siderations beyond those [posed by a
numerical diminution in unit size].

Zim’s Foodliner, Inc. v. NLRB, supra, at 1141.

Finally, we do not agree that the Board’s arithmetic
was misapplied. By either of two approaches, the status
of the Union’s majority is not susceptible of a good faith
doubt. Twenty-one of the 56 employees that Fabsteel
had employed were strikers who had returned to work.
No inference could be drawn that the employees who
returned to work prior to the conclusion of the strike
had abandoned the Union. Nazareth Regional High School
v. NLRB, supra at 880. Seven of the 56 had been strikers
who had been reinstated. Our arithmetic and the
Board’s adds up to 28 union employees, which is 50% of
the employee complement. Since we have already con-
cluded that Fabsteel was obligated to reinstate the 22
unfair labor practice strikers the 22 strike replacements
could not be counted. NLRB v. Frick Co., 423 F.2d 1327,
1334 (3rd Cir. 1970). The bottom line under this ap-
proach adds up to 28 out of 34, a clear majority.

The other approach similarly supports the Board’s

finding. The bargaining unit consisted of 78 employees. |

Fifty six of these emp:oyees were actually employed
and an additional 22 are entitled to reinstatement.

65a

Twenty eight of the 56 were union supporters who had
been out on strike. Together with the 22 who are en-
titled to reinstatement this makes a total of 50 out of

78, again a clear majority.

ENFORCED.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Petitioner,

versus No. 77-3079
FABSTEEL COMPANY OF LOUISIANA,
Respondent.
JUDGMENT
Filed: Feb. 1, 1979
Before: Roney, Rubin and Vance, Circuit Judges.

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard upon an applica-
tion of the National Labor Relations Board for the en-

‘forcement of a certain order issued by it against

Respondent, Fabsteel Company of Louisiana,
Shreveport, Louisiana, its officers, agents, successors

66a

and assigns on August 15, 1977. The Court heard argu-
ment of respective counsel on July 20, 1978 and has
considered the briefs and transcript of record filed in
this cause. On January 10, 1979, the Court being fully
advised in the premises, handed down its opinion
granting enforcement of the Board’s order.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is hereby
ordered and adjudged by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit that the said order of the
National Labor Relations Board in said proceeding be
enforced, and that Fabsteel Company of Louisiana,
Shreveport, Louisiana, its officers, agents, successors
and assigns abide by and perform the directions of the
Board in said order contained.

Costs are taxed against the respondent.
ENTERED: FEB. 1, 1979

ISSUED AS MANDATE: APR. 4, 1979

A true copy
Test! EDWARD W. WADSWORTH
Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit
ls) BRENDA HAUCK

Deputy
New Orleans, Louisiana
APR. 4, 1979

aif.

a ee i ee

Pu wl ilew swe

ee te

wien!

AN ote ttt LTA Pa 08 Dnt A Ait rl YN eo antncmlh Baka ities twtak wemaloe ad

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2800%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
