# Opposition — McNulty v. Hawaii

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2735%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 441 U.S. 961

## Text

~—
| Supreme Court, U,

EILED
APR
Iu the Supreme Co — 7
OF THE |_MICHABL RODAK, JR,,
Anited States
OCTOBER TERM 1978
NO. 78-1489

DONALD ANGUS McNULTY, Petitioner
v.
STATE OF HAWAII, Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF HAWAII

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

TOGO NAKAGAWA

Prosecuting Attorney

RICHARD D. WURDEMAN

First Deputy Prosecuting Attorney
City and County of Honolulu
1164 Bishop Street

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Attomeys for Respondent

SUBJECT INDEX

EE Oe EE. oi et ae Ee Pe
Eo iia & so bh ee Se ewe RA os oe ere

Argument
The trial court’s failure to give a specific burden of proof
instruction is constitutionally harmless and therefore, defense
counsel’s failure to object to that omission does not amount to
rr eee

Ce Cs ecw che ee Vek Ss «a Rib eet Se ate te Cade ei6 ole

i ~~

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Pages

Corsa v. Anderson

443 F.Supp. 176 (E.D. Mich. 1977) .............. 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Esposito v. United States

SOO Fe Oe Cr Ge BOT ccc cece ce eves eecenss 5
Government of Virgin Islands v. Cruz

SO ae TE BOE, «5-6 de 6k oe bbb wows caine 5
McMann v. Richardson

397 U.S. 759, 90 S.Ct. 1441, 25 L.Ed.2d 763 (1970) ....... 6
Mullaney v. Wilbur

421 U.S. 684, 95 S.Ct. 1881, 44 L.Ed.2d 508 (1975) ....... 3,4
Nordeste v. United States

393 F.2d 335 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 878 (1968) ... 5
Powell v. Alabama

287 U.S. 45, 53 S.Ct. 55, 77 L.Ed. 158 (1936) ........... 6
Sheriff v. Wyrick

524 F.2d 186 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 923 (1976) ... 6
State v. Kahalewai ;

54 Haw. 28, 501 P.2d 977 (1972) .. ccc ccc cw cer eee 7
State v. Love

285 Minn. 444, 173 N.W.2d 423 (1970) ................ 5

State v. McNulty

60 Haw. — , 588 P.2d 438 (No. 5978, December 28, 1978) . 1,3,4,5
United States v. Conversano

412 F.2d 1143 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 905 (1969) ... 5
United States v. Jackson

569 F.2d 1003 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, _. U.S. — , 98 S.Ct.

Sg ee BAe BEET CET 6 cee ew ba ecw seanecsde's 4,5
United States v. Levin
443 F.2d 1101 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S.944 (1971) .. 4

United States v. Rodriguez
446 F.2d 859 (9th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 404°U.S. 1021 (1972) 5

CONSTITUTIONS
United States Constitution
a re ee a a we we wed ea 2
I So Nod a a ee ge eee Va bee eae eter 2

Iu the Supreme Court

OF THE

Anited States

OCTOBER TERM 1978

NO. 78-1489

DONALD ANGUS McNULTY, Petitioner
v.
STATE OF HAWAII, Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF HAWAII

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Hawaii, for which
review is sought, is State v. McNulty, 60 Haw. , 088 P.2d
438 (No. 5978, December 28, 1978), and is reprinted in
Appendix A of the Petition.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdictional requisites are set forth adequately in the
Petition. .

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV, Section
1: All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and
subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United
States and of the state wherein they reside. No state shall make
or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or
immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any state
deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the laws.

United States Constitution, Amendment VI: In all criminal
prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and
public trial, by an impartial jury of the State and district
wherein the crime shall have been committed which district
shall have been previously ascertained by law, and to be
informed of the nature and the cause of the accusation; to be
confronted with the witnesses against him; to have compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the
Assistance of Counsel for his defense.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether this Court should review the decision of a State
Court that has given full consideration to the issues and
decided them accurately?

2. Whether this Court should review the decision of a State
Court that has given full consideration to the issues anc
decided them fairly?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The statement of the case has been set forth adequately in
the Petition.

3

ARGUMENT

THE TRIAL COURT’S FAILURE TO GIVE A SPE-
CIFIC BURDEN OF PROOF INSTRUCTION IS CON-
STITUTIONALLY HARMLESS AND THEREFORE,
DEFENSE COUNSEL’S FAILURE TO OBJECT TO
THAT OMISSION DOES NOT AMOUNT TO INEF-
FECTIVE REPRESENTATION.

The jury instruction which is the subject of this appeal is
one which omitted a specific burden of proof instruction on
the presecution’s burden of disproving self-defense. The in-
struction, as a whole, did charge the prosecution with the
burden of proving every element of the crime charged beyond a
reasonable doubt. State v. McNulty, 60 Haw. , 588 P.2d
438, 442, n.5 (1978). As such, this instruction is of a
fundamentally different and distinct constitutional category
than the instructions in Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684, 95
S.Ct. 1881, 44 L.Ed.2d 508 (1975) and Corsa v. Anderson, 443
F.Supp. 176 (E.D. Mich. 1977), cases on which the Petitioner
relies.

In Mullaney v. Wilbur, a Maine statute required a defendant
charged with murder to prove that he acted ‘‘in the heat of
passion on sudden provocation.” 421 U.S. 684. In its instruc-
tions to the jury, the trial court in Mullaney v. Wilbur stated
that if the prosecution established that the homicide in
question was both intentional and unlawful, malice afore-
thought was to be conclusively implied unless the defendant
proved by a fair preponderance of the evidence that he acted in
the heat of passion on sudden provocation. Id. at 686.
(Emphasis supplied.) In Corsa v. Anderson, the jury instruction
charged that if a man assaults another person with a deadly
weapon, “the law presumes that such person so assaulting
intended to take life....’”’ 443 F.Supp. at 177. Like the
instruction in Mullaney v. Wilbur, the instruction in Corsa v.
Anderson had the effect of proving one of the elements of the
crime charged, to wit, the intent to kill. In both cases, the

4

defendant had to disprove a presumption of guilt as to an
element of the crime charged — malice aforethought and the
intent to kill, respectively.

No such constitutional infirmity as requiring the defendant
to prove his innocence appears in the jury instructions in the
present case. The general instruction charged: ‘‘The burden is
upon the prosecution to prove the accused guilty beyond a
reasonable doubt of every material element of the crime
charged ....’’ State v. McNulty, 60 Haw. , 588 P.2d at
442, n.5. The general instruction did not create a presumption
of guilt as to any element of the crime charged and
consequently did not place Petitioner in a position of having to
prove his innocence. United States v. Levin, 443 F.2d 1101,
1107 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 944 (1971). Neither did
the instruction expressly put the burden of proving self-defense
on the Petitioner. Jd. In comparison to the constitutional
proportions of the jury instructions in Mullaney v. Wilbur and
Corsa v. Anderson, the jury instruction in the present case is of
a much lesser magnitude. Insofar as the present jury instruction
is of a fundamentally different and distinct constitutional
category, the Petitioner has mistaken this case to be of equal
constitutional proportions as that of Mullaney v. Wilbur.

1. THE TRIAL COURT’S FAILURE TO GIVE A SPE-
CIFIC BURDEN OF PROOF INSTRUCTION IS CON-
STITUTIONALLY HARMLESS.

In United States v. Jackson, 569 F.2d 1003 (7th Cir.), cert.
denied, US. , 98 S.Ct. 3096, 57 L.Ed.2d 1137
(1978), the Court considered whether the failure of a United
States District Court to give the exact jury instruction
challenged on appeal here amounted to plain error. In deciding
that it did not constitute plain error, the Seventh Circuit
looked to the following factors: (1) the trial court did read a
self-defense instruction to the jury, thereby presenting the
defendant’s theory of the case to the factfinder; (2) defense
counsel in closing argument stated that the prosecution had the

5

burden of proving the absence of self-defense beyond a
reasonable doubt; (3) and the evidence of guilt was overwhelm-
ing. 569 F.2d at 1010.

This approach to the omitted specific burden of proof jury
instruction involves a much more detailed analysis of the
record than as set forth by Petitioner in his Petition. A jury
instruction on self-defense was given. State v. McNulty, 60
Haw. , 588 P.2d at 442. A strong case that evidence of
guilt is overwhelming could be made. And, although not part of
the record, it is possible to ascertain whether or not defense
counsel in his closing statement at trial mentioned the State’s
burden of disproving self-defense.

In line with the ruling in United States v. Jackson above,
the following courts have consistently refused to find plain
error in cases where a specific burden of proof instruction
relating to the accused’s interposed defense was omitted
without objection: Government of Virgin Islands v. Cruz, 478
F.2d 712, 717 — 18 (3d Cir. 1973); United States v. Rodriguez,
446 F.2d 859, 860 (9th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1021
(1972); Esposito v. United States, 436 F.2d 603, 604, (9th Cir.
1970); United States v. Conversano, 412, F.2d 1143,
1148 — 49 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 905 (1969);
Nordeste v. United States, 393 F.2d 335, 33S — 40 (9th Cir.),
cert. denied, 393 U.S. 878 (1968); State v. Love, 285 Minn.
444, 449 — 52, 173 N.W.2d 423, 426 — 27 (1970 .

2. A CLAIM OF INEFFECTIVE COUNSEL PREDI-
CATED ON DEFENSE COUNSEL’S FAILURE TO
OBJECT TO A CONSTITUTIONALLY HARMLESS
BURDEN OF PROOF INSTRUCTION IS NOT WELL
TAKEN.

The approach taken by the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Michigan in Corsa v. Anderson, supra, to
the claim of ineffective counsel for failure to object to a jury
instruction, is inapposite to the present case and therefore, not
persuasive. The jury instruction in that case did in fact violate

6

the defendant’s constitutional presumption of innocence. It
was plain error for the trial court to give that instruction. In
view of the important constitutional right at stake, a claim of
ineffective counsel could logically be predicated on counsel’s
failure to object to that instruction.

Unlike Corsa v. Anderson, ihe jury instruction in the
present case, with the omitted specific burden of proof
instruction, was constitutionally harmless. It is therefore
illogical to predicate a claim of ineffective counsel on defense
counsel’s failure to object to it. Insofar as the facts in Corsa v.
Anderson are inapposite to the present case, the reasoning of
that court is likewise not applicable.

3. THE DECISION OF THE HAWAII SUPREME COURT
IS FAIR AND JUST.

The constitutional right to the assistance of counsel in a
criminal case is satisfied only when such assistance is ‘‘effec-
tive.” Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45, 53 S.Ct. 55, 77 L.Ed.
158 (1936). “Effective’’ counsel does not mean errorless
counsel but counsel whose assistance is ‘‘within the range of
competence demanded of attorneys in criminal cases.”
McMann v. Richardson, 397 U.S. 759, 771, 90 S.Ct. 1441,
1449, 25 L.Ed.2d 763 (1970). Even if it was error for trial
counsel to waive his objection to the specific burden of proof
instruction, that error was harmless.

Petitioner’s final basis for asserting ineffective assistance of
counsel is trial counsel’s failure to call the victim’s former
attorney to testify as to the victim’s violent propensities. The
decision to call a witness in a criminal trial, however, is a
matter peculiarly within the judgment of counsel and, accord-
ingly, will rarely be second-guessed on appeal. Sheriff v.
Wyrick, 524 F.2d 186, 190 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 424 U.S.
923 (1976).

Viewing the record as a whole, defense counsel’s conduct at
trial did not fall below that standard of ordinary competence
demanded of attorneys in criminal cases. State v. Kahalewai, 54

a i lll

7

Haw. 28, 501 P.2d 977 (1972). In balancing defense counsel’s
actions against the competing interests in the administration of
criminal justice, the Hawaii Supreme Court has reached a fair
and just result.

CONCLUSION

The Hawaii Supreme Court accurately and fairly decided
the issues in this case. Inasmuch as the Petitioner retains no
separate federal grounds upon which to petition this Court, the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted this 16th day
of April, 1979.

TOGO NAKAGAWA
Prosecuting Attorney

J. LEO McCORMICK, JR.
Deputy Prosecuting Attorney

Attorneys for Respondent
State of Hawaii

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2735%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
