# Petition — Shear v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2560%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 442 U.S. 909

## Text

> Supreme Court, U.
FILE >” |

f

MAR 2 1979

In Tus “MigHAR RODAK, JR., CLERK
Supreme Court of the Bnited me -
October Term, 1978

“78-1 348

CAROLE SHEAR,
Petitioner,
-against-
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

MICHAEL S. WASHOR
A Member of the Bar of the
United States Supreme Court
299 Broadway
New York, N.Y. 10007
Tel. (212) 732-2077

WASHOR & WASHOR, ESQS.
Attorneys for Petitioner

Dick BAILEY PRINTERS, 290 RICHMOND AVE., S.1., N.Y. 10302
VOL: (202) 007-5998

TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX

eeeeeveveeeveeveev eevee eee

*eeeeeeveeeeeereeerpeeeee

eevee evvwee eee eeeeneee

Appendix A—Constitutional Amendments...........

CITATIONS

Barker v. Wingo 407 U.S. 514..

Brewer v. Williams 430 U.S. 387

a I oo cd vn cc rocccuccccececs

eevee ee ee eeeeeeeeeeee

14

21

16

17

Brookhart v. Janis 384 U.S.1..... 6.0... c cece cecees

Carniey v. Cochran 369 U.S. 506

Elkins v. U.S. 364 U.S. 206

eevee eeeeeee eee eeeeeeeee

Fuentes v. Shevin 407 U.S. 67

Glaser v, U.S. 315 U.S. 60

*eeee eee eee ee eee eeeeeeeenee
eee ee ereeee eee eeeeeeeeeeee

Mapp v. Ohio 367 U.S. 643

Miranda v. Arizona 384 U.S. 471

Sample v. Eyman 469 F.2nd 819 (9th Cir. 1972)

Santobello v. New York 404 U.S. 357. ..........0005.

eee eee eeeee

U.S. v. Hayes, 385 F.2d 375 (4th Cir. 1967)

U.S. v. Marchildon, 519 F.2nd 337 (8th Cir. 1975)

“eee eeeee

U.S. v. Nielson 392 F.2nd 849 (7th Cir. 1968)

U.S. v. Wade 388 U.S. 218

eee eee eee eee eeenee

1

IN THE SUPREME COURT |:
OF THE UNITED STATES

CAROLE SHEAR,
Petitioner,

-against-

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment and order of the

d Circuit,
Court of Appeals for the Secon
oo paginas February 8, 1979, affirming a judgment of the

crime of Possession with intent to distribute and i

Cocaine, in violation of Title 2

841(a)(1) and Section 952(a).
As a consequence of these con

Metropolitan Correctional Facility for evaluation and study,

pursuant to Title 1

thereafter, on December 13, 1978, in

receive psychiatric care in the comm
of the United States Probation Department

OPINION BELOW

The United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

- ; =>
firmed the judgment of conviction without written opinion.

JURISDICTION

The Order of the i
con United States Court of Appeals for the

men from the bench on February 8,
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked, made and confer-

red under 28 U.S.C. |
sae oa and under Rule 19(1) of the Rules

QUESTION INVOLVED

ia Was the repent Constitutional rights under the
on to the United States Constitution violated
when government used the petitioner’s

RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT

ys he Considerations Governing Review on Certiorari.
: ¢w on writ of certiorari is not a matter of right, but

accordance with the find-

unity under the supervision

of sound judicial discretion, and will be granted only where
there are special and important reasons therefor. The following,
while neither controlling nor fully measuring the Court’s discre-
tion, indicate the character of reasons which will be considered:

(a) Where a state court has decided a federal question of
substance not theretofore determined by this court, or has
decided it in a way probably not in accord with applicable deci-
sions of this court.

(b) Where a court of appeals has rendered a decision in
conflict with the decision of another court of appeals on the
same matter; or has decided an important state of territorial
question in a way in conflict with applicable state or territorial
law; or has decided an important question of federal law which
has not been but should be, settled by this court; or has decided
a federal question in a way in conflict with applicable decisions
of this court; or has so far departed from the accepted and usual
course of judicial proceedings, or so far sanctioned such a
departure by a lower court, as to call for an exercise of this

court "5 power of supervision.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioners, LaMorte and Shear, were returning from
Beirut, Lebanon .(39)* by way of London; they arrived at JFK
on TW Flight No. 701 at approximately 7:50 p.m. on February
2, 1978. Acter retrieving approximately five pieces of luggage,
they went ditectly. to customs; the custom agent on duty was
Agent Resnick. After giving their passports and completing
custom declarations (27) they then identified which pieces of
luggage belonged to each one (the black-LaMorte; the blue-
Shear) (35). Agent Resnick then examined the bags and asked if
the two large pieces were new (39-40). LaMorte then stated that

*Numerals in parentheses refer to the pagination of the transcript of the trial
and pre-trial hearing to suppress evidence.

my

Air France had lost their luggage going overseas and the two
pieces of luggage under question were replacements (41). This
fact was apparently verified by DEA Agent Giaimo (154-155).
Agent Resnick then felt a heaviness in the bottom of one of the
pieces of luggage after he had apparently emptied its contents
on the counter. Then he inserted a knife in the bottom of said
bag and found a white powder (41-42). He then summoned the
senior Inspector Ruoff. Agent Resnick then took- the white
powder and conducted a field test (O.D.V.) in the staff office.
A positive cocaine reaction resulted (43). Immediately
thereafter, LaMorte and Shear, were then escorted to the staff
office; at approximately 8:50 p.m. (56). Agent Resnick read the
Miranda rights to both individuals and advised them that they
were under arrest (44-45); Shear then became very nervous
(73-74) and quite upset (75). The DEA agents arrived at approx-
imately 9:15 p.m. (151) and they then spoke to both petitioners
at the DEA office at the International Arrivals Building (156). A
full search of the luggage revealed that a cardboard, the size of
the case itself, was glued in place and sealed with masking tape.
Several packages of gauze wrapped plastic bags containing co-
caine were removed from each suitcase (49 and $5).

DEA Agent Giaimo readvised both of the petitioners of
their rights (124). Again, later on, AGent Giaimo reiterated the
Miranda rights approximately an hour later at the DEA office
and for the first time LaMorte related that he was promised
$50,000 to smuggle the cocaine into the United States and
deliver it to a Hussein Jaffari Massaholto (128-129) on February
6, 1978. He added that he had told Shear that the suitcases con-
tained hashish (130). There was no testimony in any manner or
form as to when LaMorte told Shear that the suitcases contain-
ed hashish. Shear eventually stated that she had been told there
was hashish in the suitcases. The statements were allegedly made
at approximately 12:00 a.m. (131).

Both petitioners testified and denied knowledge, intent,
and participation in the cocaine smuggling operation.

The petitioner Shear testified that she reported her luggage

lost in January of 1978 while en route to Beirut, Lebanon (239)
and after approximately two weeks subsequcat to, the. report,
Air France remunerated the sum of $350 (242-243) to both of
the petitioners; on or about January 31, 1978, Air France sug-
gested a particular luggage store to replace lost; luggage and
damaged luggage; the two bags (luggage) which were paid for by
Air France were subsequently delivered to their hotel in Beirut,
Lebanon (247). Carole Shear further testified that she packed all
of the clothing in their dry cleaning wrappers (248-249) and in-
dividually packed her clothing separately from those of Mr.
LaMorte. |
While at Kennedy Airport at or about the time that the lug-
gage was opened and being inspected, Shear immediately told
Agent Resnick that the clothing she had packed in the black bag
was now in the blue bag and in complete disarray (249). She
stated that the bags were obviously not hers (253-255).

Both of the petitioners acknowledged receiving Miranda
warnings but stated that each over and again had requested an
attorney (258, 259, 260-261, 263, 268-269, 270-271, 274, 278,
374, 381, 403).

Shear also denied making any incriminating admissions
(292-293, 296). !

There were no statements that were recorded, written, or
preserved in any manner or form. There was no written waiver
of any constitutional rights executed by either of the petitioners
although such written waivers were available to both DEA

agents and custom agents.

PERTINENT FACTS AND TESTIMONY RELATED
TO THE PETITIONER’S CLAIM THAT THE
‘GOVERNMENT FAILED TO MEET THE BURDEN OF
ESTABLISHING THAT THE PETITIONER WAIVED
HER CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS. UNDER THE
FIFTH AMENDMENT TO THE U.S. CONSTITUTION,

Agent Resnick testified at a pre-trial hearing to suppress

evidence that he read the Miranda warnings to Shear and that
said ‘“‘warnings’’ were given to Shear several times; the agent
communicated to other agents the fact that Shear was advised
accordingly; Resnick alsc advised the other agents as well that
Shear had made no statement at that point in time. °

At the trial, when Agent Resnick testified on behalf of the
Government, he further stated that Shear refused to waive her
rights.

Agent Giaimo testified on behalf of the Government and
indicated that he personally advised the petitioner of her
constitutional rights; he testified that he advised Shear of her
rights several times; he further testified that he advised Shear
that she could receive fifteen years in jail for the crime for which
she was being charged. He acknowledged that he was himself
told by Agent Resnick that Shear was previously admonished of
the ‘*‘Miranda’’ warnings.

Agent giaimo acknowledged prior use of the waiver forms
that are utilized by the government, wherein an accused
acknowledges in writing, a waiver of constitutional rights; he
further testified that he did not know whether or not such forms
were available at his office at the time of the interrogation; in
finality, he testified that he did not have Shear sign any waiver
forms whatsoever.

Agent Castillo testified at the hearing on behalf of the
Government and stated that he was present when Shear received
the ‘‘Miranda’’ warnings; he further stated that at the inception
Shear denied any impropriety or violation of the law. He also
acknowledged that Shear was continually readvised of her cons-
titutional rights.

Agent Castillo also acknowledged the accepted use of
waiver forms; however, he testified that no forms were provided
for Shear and in fact Shear did not sign any waiver form what-
soever.

Agent Resnick, on cross examination, testified as follows:

At Page 70:
‘A, I read her her righ

id, ‘Yes.’ ;
per you present when her rights were read to her
again? ¥

A. I was in the room.
At Page 71:
“Q, And the rights were read

am I correct? ‘
A. I would believe so, by DEA, yes.

72:
no. Dida you tell one of the other officers that you

already read her her rights?
, 1 did.
=m joo you make it to other Customs agents, that

statement?
A. To Senior Inspector Ruoff.

** *

Q. Didn’t you tell him ‘I already gave her her rights?’
A. I said, ‘I read her her rights.’
73: ;
‘nap, nd she say a single word from the time you saw her
to the time you placed her under arrest?
A. Yes.

_ What did she say?
“§ i said at the belt that they lost their luggage and

Air France sent them to some store in Beirut, and Mr.

LaMorte said, ‘Don’t say nothing.’
Q. Mr. LaMorte told her to keep q

effect?

A, Yes.
q. Did she comply?

A. Yes.
Page 74:
= And then you went into the rear of the office where
you did read her her rights?
A. Yes.”

ts and I asked if she understood.

several times thereafter;

viet, in words to that

At Page 76:
*“*Q. Ruoff was still there, am I correct?
A. That I don’t know.
**¢¢s
Q. And he was there at the time you read the rights to
Shear, the Miranda warning; wasn’t it?
A. Yes, I believe so.’’

At Page 78:

“‘Q, How long after you read the rights to Shear did the
DEA arrive?

A. About approximately 20 minutes.”

At Page 81:

**Q. 20 minutes later DEA arrived?
A. Yes.

Q. Who arrived?

A. Agent Giaimo, and another agent with Agent.

Giaimo.”’
At Page 82:

“*Q. Did you also tell them you read the rights? \
A. Yes.

**e*s
Q. Did you tell them she made no statement at that
point?
Fes FOG eins -
Q. Didn’t you tell the DEA that you had already advised
her of her rights?
A. Yes.”

Agent Resnick testified at the trial at pages 44-45:

“THE COURT: Yes. You read the entire thing that you
read him. Read it to them.

THE WITNESS: Okay. I made myself known. I said,
“‘My name is Resnick, U.S. Customs Inspector, Badge
Number 1071, advised the person that he was being detain-
ed, was under arrest, and I said, ‘Before we ask you any
questions, it is mu duty to advise you of your rights. You
have the right to remain silent. Anything you say can be
used against you in Court, or in other proceedings. You

9

have the right to consult an attorney before making any
statement or answering any question, and you may have
him present with you during questioning. You may have an
attorney appointed by the United States Magistrate or the
Court to represent you if you cannot afford or otherwise
obtain one. If you decide to answer any questions now
with or without a lawyer, you still have the right to stop the
questioning at any time, or to stop the questioning for the
purpose of consulting a lawyer. However, you may waive
the right to advice of counsel or your right to remain silent
and answer questions to make a statement without con-
sulting a lawyer, if you so desire. Do you understand your
rights?’ He said, ‘No.’ I then went to Miss Shear, I iden-
tified myself. I read her the same rights from the card and
she answered, ‘yes.’ ‘Do you understand your rights?’ and
she said—‘Do you waive your rights?’ She said ‘No.’ ”’

Agent Giaimo testified as follows:

At Page 100:
““Q. Now, at that time did you interview the De-

fendants?

A. Yes. Myself and Agent Castillo asked each De-
fendant separately to accompany us to a separate room
which is part of the Customs staff office, but separated by
a glass wall, and it’s fairly soundproof, and it’s got a glass
door.

Q. Can you describe what you said to them and what
they said to you?

A. Again I advised them that—each of them
separately—that they were under arrest.”

At Page /01:

‘“‘THE WITNESS: That they were each under arrest,
and advised them of their Constitutional rights.

Q. How did you do that?

A. By a card that I have. It’s a DEA form.”’

At Pages 103-104:
**Q, Did you, subsequent to your interview with Mr.

—_—

10

LaMorte, did you have an interview with Miss Shear?
A. Yes, I did.

Q. And can you tell us what you said to her and what she
said to you?

A. I again advised her of her rights and the fact that she
was under arrest.

I asked her if she knew anything about the cocaine in the
suitcases, and she said she didn’t.

I asked them both a series of standard questions relative
to the suitcases, each of them separately, and they denied
any knowledge of the suitcases, the contents.’’

At Page 112:

**Q. Mr. Giaimo, how many times did you advise Miss
Shear of her rights?
A. At least once, formally.

THE WITNESS: At least twice, probably more like
three or four times.’’

At Page 113:
**Q. Did you ever tell her she could get 15 years in this?
A. Approximately 15 years I believe was the maximum.

Q. Did you tell her that she was in lots of trouble?
A. Yes.

A. I told her if convicted she stood to spend 15 years in
jail.’
At Page 121-122:

**Q. Did anybody tell you that they had already given
the rights to the Defendant Shear?

A. Generally speaking, one of the first questions I asked
the inspector is ‘Have you advised the Defendants of their
rights?’

Q. Which inspector?

A. Seizing inspector, which would be Mr. Resnick.

Q. What did he say?

A. I don’t recall.

Q. Didn’t you ask him whether he gave any rights?

11

A. Yes, I did.
Q. What did he say?
A. He said he did.”’

At Pages 124-125:
Q. You're a DEA agent for how many years?

. Four years.
mn You roa what a consent form is; don’t you?

. Yes. .
m And you know what a waiver form is?

o. haa you know what a rights form is; am I correct?

o aaa you have these forms available at your office; do

you now?
imes.
a yo testimony they weren’t available at that
ight?
~~ I don’t know if they were or not.
Q. You didn’t even look?
A. No.

**

Q. Did you have her sign the rights form?

A. No. ;
Q. Did you have her sign the waiver form?

A. No.”
Agent Castillo testified at the trial as follows:

Page 201-202:
ron Were you pre;sent when Miranda warnings were

given, if they were given, at the Customs area?

A. Yes, sir. ae

Q. Do you remember when Agent Giaimo gave the
Miranda warnings to the Defendant Shear?

A. Yes, sir. :
i ly time?
. Can you give us an approximate
Ps shortly after arriving at the TWA terminal at JFK

Airport.

12

Q. And what questions were asked by Agent Giaimo of
the Defendant Shear at that time?

A. Normal q: -stions; her name, her age, where she was
coming from.

Q. Pedigree questions?

A. Pedigree questions, as well as asking her what the cir-
cumstances were behind her bringing in the suitcases to
JRK terminal.

Q. What did she say?

A. She stated that she knew nothing about it, concerning
how the contraband had been placed in the suitcases.

Q. She was told that there was contraband in the suit-
cases; am I correct?

A. Yes, sir.”’

At Page 203:

“*Q. Other than the part of the Miranda warnings, was
she ever—did she ever ask whether she wanted a lawyer?

A. Sie was again advised of her rights at the DEA of-
fice.

Q. This is the second time?

A. Second time, yes.” ~

At Page 206:

“*Q. When you get back to the Customs area, she is
again advised of her rights?

A. At the DEA office, yes, she is.

Q. And of course you had forms back there, did you
not; waiver forms?

A. I really don’t know if there’s forms available in the
office.

Q. You know what the forms are?

A. Yes, I do.

Q. Those are the forms that act to waive any rights.

A. Yes. I know the forms.

Q. And there’s a place where the defendant given the
rights can sign their name; am I correct?’’

At Pages 209-210:
**Q. All right. Now, did you tell her at any time what she

13

was going to be charged with?

A. Yes. That she was being c

ederal Narcotics Law.
; Q. Did you tell her specifically w

A. Yes. Cocaine.”

harged with violation of the

hat narcotics?

=

14
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE GOVERNMENT FAILED TO ESTABLISH THAT
CAROLE SHEAR HAD MADE A FREE, KNOWING,
AND INTELLIGENT WAIVER OF HER CONSTITU-
TIONAL RIGHTS UNDER THE FIFTH AMENDMENT
TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

It is now axiomatic, that ‘‘Miranda’’ warnings must be
given by law enforcement, to an accused who is in custody

before any questioning commences; this is not the end of the
law enforcement obligation, but the beginning. Merely reading
or advising of the ‘‘Miranda’’ warnings is not enough. It is en-
cumbent on law enforcement to obtain a free, knowing and
voluntary waiver of the rights from the very person being or
about to be questioned.

Courts have gone so far as to hold:

**Once it has been determined that a person taken into
custody is too upset to assert or waive his (her) rights
knowingly and intelligently under Miranda, all questioning
should cease until such time as that person is clearly
capable of so responding.’’ (Sample vs. Eyman, 469 F.2nd
819 (9th Cir. 1972).)

The Sample, supra, Court reasoned that when the Police
became aware that the accused was extremely high, emotional,
and detached from reality, all questioning should have ceased.
The rationale is that police insensitivity flaws any Miranda
**waiver’’ (see also, U.S. v. Marchildon, 519 F2nd 337, (8th Cir.
1975).)

This Supreme Court has provided specific guide lines under
Miranda, to render the proper and legal admonishments of
rights; however, this is not so with regard to the ‘‘waiver’’
aspect. There are no guide lines for the waiver of an individual’s
rights.

Both Federal and State Law Enforcement officials have
adopted a written waiver form, to aid in meeting the onus of

roving @
at: have held that the mere absence of a written waiver form

id not preclude, as a matter of law,
ptors on (U.S. v. Hayes, 385 F.2nd 375, 4th Cir. 1967), it

was reasoned and held that the prosecution’s heavy burden of

eke

eee ee

fusal to sign a waiver fo ll )
iti lack of understanding of the original Miranda rights as well

as the accu
Nielson, 392 F. 2nd 849, 7th Cir. 1968).

of the luggage being sear
ed; the petitioner Carole

16
valid waiver by an accused. While the Appellate

an effective waiver of

showing a valid waiver, was thereby increased where the waiver
form was not signed; it becomes apparent that the failure or

rm may well be indicative of the accus-
sed’s intent not to waive the Miranda rights. (U.S. v.

Almost contemporaneously with the search herein, on

February 2, 1978, by Customs Agents, the petitioner Carole
Shear expressed serious and alarming s

urprise that the contents
ched was in fact disturbed and switch-
Shear also immediately acknowledged

that the original luggage used in the trip abroad from the —
States had been lost and that the Airlines had paid for the “ne

bject of the instant search. At this point in

luggage,’ now the su
‘ak the petitioner was formally arrested and advised of her

“Miranda” rights; Custom Agent Resnick ne
testified (at the trial) that Carole Shear refused to waive he

rights. At page 82, he stated:

“Q.... Do you waive your rights?”’

“A, ,.. She said No.” gee iath

Thereafter, the petitioner was readvised of her rights bes
excess of four or five occasions and eventually asian “7
to the effect, many hours thereafter, that she had : a
the co-defeendant, Thomas LaMorte, that the contents
luggage contained ‘*hashish.”’

held that it
_ Zerbst (304 U.S. 458), the Court
wren i ‘ver demonstrating an intentional

f a known right or privilege.
These standards were enunciated in Johnson, supra, in « vss
text of demonstrating that the safeguards of a fair crimin

16

be adhered to. There is presently a basic requirement that a
**knowing’’ and ‘‘intelligent’’ waiver be articulated in a case in-
volving the validity of a defendant’s decision to forego a right
constitutionally guaranteed to protect a fair trial and the
reliability of the truth-determining process. (Schneckloth vy.
Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218). This Court has established an ap-
propriately heavy burden on the Government before ‘‘waiver’’
could be found to be an intentional relinquishment or abandon-
ment of a known right or privilege and the basis for same is
found in the preservation of the fairness of the trial process.
(Schneckloth, supra).

The requirement of a knowing and intelligent waiver has
been applied to those rights which the Constitution guarantees
to a criminal defendant in order to preserve a fair trial; the stan-
dard of a knowing and intelligent waiver has most often been
applied to test the validity of a waiver of counsel either at trial
or upon a guilty plea. (Glaser v. U.S., 315 U.S. 60; Van Moltke
v. Gillies, 232 U.S. 708). e

The criteria to assess the effectiveness of a waiver has been
applied to other trial rights such as the right to confrontation, to
a jury trial, to a speedy trial, and the right to be free from twice
being placed in jeopardy. (Brookhart v. Janis, 384 U.S. 1;
Adams vy. U.S., 317 U.S. 269; Barker v. Wingo, 407 U.S. 514;
Green v. U.S., 355 U.S. 184).

The trial guarantees that have been alluded to above also
apply to the pre-trial stage of the criminal process and are
similarly designed to protect the fairness of the trial itself.
(Schneckloth, supra).

In U.S. v. Wade (388 U.S. 218) the Court indicated that the
standard of a knowing and intelligent waiver must be applied to
test the ‘‘waiver’’ of counsel at a particular lineup.

It is urged that in order for a waiver of constitutional rights
to be effective in any context it must at the very least be clear
and unequivocal. (Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67.)

In the case at bar, the petitioner Carole Shear unequivocal-
ly refused to waive any of her rights. Thereafter, the petitioner

- I ns sromes oe See

ati

ON Oe PL EE eT eT ee

ae ee er ee es

17

epea' i ‘‘Miranda’’ rights. In Brewer v.

tedly readvised of the Miran

wees 430 U.S. 387), the Court recognized wei »

statements given by the defendant were obtained only a > i

law enforcement’s use of psychology nigpiangaes .
ized that the

defendant. The Court recogni

B supra, was done with the specific intent to illicit in-
rewer,

i ical-
criminating statements. In the instant case, one can only log

ly and legally conclude that after Shear 7 vs am
titutional rights, that the repeated Miranda war i

aa ith the long hours of interrogation and subtle referenc .

cc ae to Shear most probably going vba os we ‘

acted and constituted a psychological approac som

with the intent to illicit incriminating — nab aie
It is now basic and fundamental that the p

ida to the government version of the underlying

facts related to the custodial sc sey ee
did not specifically requ rey; t :
pos bactaly disputed when viewing i tren 0 Se
sion of the incidents in question at the trial. T 8 seni
that the right to counsel does not depend nage . — oF wi
by the defendant. (Carnley v. Cochran, ee! : : on Jat on
y. Arizona, 384 U.S. 471). As a matter 0° act te so 9
that all courts must indulge in every reasona ep SS .
against waiver. (Brookhart, supra; Brewer, ~~ vt
the government can not deny tt at pe vit
ee hed and unequivocally refused to waive her ri e
(44-45) The Government must concede petitioner exercised he
fe strict standard regarding waiver applies equally to un
alleged waiver of the right to counsel whether at trial or a

18

critical stage of a pre-trial proceeding. (Brewer, supra;
Schneckloth, supra).

In the authoritative decision regarding the admonition of
constitutional rights, Miranda y. Arizona, supra, the Court held

at page 723:

“‘Once warnings have been given, the subsequent pro-
cedure is clear. If the individual indicates in any manner, at
any time prior to or during questioning that he wishes to
remain silent, the interrogation must cease. At this point
he has shown that he intends to exercise his Fifth Amend-
ment privilege; any statement taken after the person in-
vokes his privilege cannot be other than the product of
compulsion, subtle or otherwise.”’ ,

As enunciated in Escobedo v. Illinois (378 U.S. 478), if the
interrogation should continue without the presence of an at-
torney and a statement should be taken, an exceptionally heavy
burden rests upon the Government to demonstrate that the
defendant knowingly and intelligently waived his privilege
against self incrimination and his right to retained or appointed
counsel. :

An express statement that the individual is willing to make
a Statement and does not want an attorney closely followed by a
decision to speak with law enforcement officers could constitute
a waiver; but a valid waiver will not be presumed simply from
the silence of the accused after warnings are given or simply

from the fact that a confession was eventually obtained. (Miran-
da, supra)

19

defendant answers some questions or gives some information on
her own prior to invoking her right to remain silent at the time
interrogation. 2
: “is ny instant case, there were hours and hours of in
custody procedures and questioning. Considering that at the
initial stage of receiving the Miranda warnings, the gaa
Shear in fact refused to waive her constitutional rights, coup
with the lengthy period of time involved — 8 aot
i i he petitioner, leads to the con-
to have waiver forms signed by t
clusion that the Government has failed to demonstrate a know
ing and intelligent waiver by the petitioner. In Miranda, supra,
Court held at page 724 and 725: os
™ ‘‘Whatever the testimony of the authorities as to waiver
of rights by an accused, the fact of lengthy ame ee va
i i ion before a statement is
incommunicado incarceration Asc
i sed did not validly waive
is strong evidence that the accu eae
i i the fact that the indivi
rights. In these circumstances “a
stent with the conc
eventually made a statement is cons! :
ing i the interrogation
i hat the compelling influence of
Sau forced him to do so. It is inconsistent with any no-
tion of a voluntary relinquishment of the privilege - *
The requirement of warnings a ~~ a ste st _
ental with respect to the ift me
er and not simply a preliminary ritual to existing
methods of interrogation.”’

In Carnley v. Cochran, Supra, the Court held:

“‘Presuming waiver from a silent record is imper-
missible. The record must show, or there must be an
allegation and evidence which show, that an accused was
Offered counsel but intelligently and understandingly re-
jected the offer. Anything less is not waiver.”’

Again, in Miranda, supra, the Court held that where in-
custody interrogation is involved, there is no room for the con-
tention that the privilege is in fact waived if the individual

Notwithstanding the fact that the petitioner Shear did i
admit to specific knowledge of the agg IN 2 “soem
i i tatem
ine in the instant case, but made a s BA
o allege knowledge of the contents of the luggage containing
‘hashish,’ said statements are still effected by the ra
rights. Annies in Miranda, supra, the Supreme Court held:

‘‘No distinction may be drawn between ng 8d

statements and statements alleged to “ pene

exculpatory. If a statement made biep = 4 ig id
i u

culpatory it would, of course, never t

ee In fact, statements merely intended to be ex

20

culpatory by the defendant are often used to impeach his
testimony at trial or to demonstrate untruths in the state-
ment given under interrogation and thus to prove guilt by
implication. These statements are incriminating in any
meaningful sense of the word and may not be used without
the full warnings and effective waiver requirements for any
other statement.”

It is undisputed that the original law enforcement agency advis-
ing Shear of her constitutional rights had in fact conveyed the
same to the other agents at the time of turning her over to their
custody; there is no question that the obligation of the Custom
Agent in relating these facts to the Drug Enforcement Agency
should have indicated unequivocally that Carole Shear refused
to waive her rights. If there is any argument or dispute as to
such fact, it is brought to this Court’s attention that one arm of
the law has the burden of letting the other arm of the law know
exactly what has or has not been done with regard to an accus-
ed. In Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S. 357, the Court stated
at page 433:

“The staff lawyers in a prosccutor’s office have the
burden of letting the left hand know what the right hand is
doing or has done.”’

It becomes reasonably obvious that the Drug Enforcement
Agency in its readvising of Shear of her constitutional rights on
numerous occasions after the first admonishment, coupled with
the long hours of interrogation, repeated reference to the pro-
bability of Shear receiving a 15 year jail sentence, and the failure
to sign any waiver forms, was designed to extract a statement
from Shear when she had initially refused to waive her rights.

It is respectfully urged that during the pre-trial hearing and
the trial herein, the Government has failed to meet the burden
of demonstrating a clear and unequivocal waiver of constitu-
tional rights.

Finally, the use of the petitioner Shear’s statement by the
Government, in their case in chief violated due process as well as

21

the Elkins-Mapp bar to the use of illegally obtained evidence in

a criminal proceeding. (Elkins v. U. S. 364 U.S. 206; Mapp 3
Ohio, 367 U.S. 643). The progeny of Elkins, supra, deals as
with Sth amendment vic'ations and is not restricted to mere 4t

amendment proscriptions.

CONCLUSION

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED THAT THIS PETI-

IT IS
R A WRIT OF CERTIORARI BE GRANTED.

TION FO
Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL S. WASHOR |
A Member of the Bar of the United States

Supreme Court

WASHOP. & WASHOR, ESQS.
Attorney for Petitioner
on Petition for Certiorari

la

APPENDIX

2a

APPENDIX ‘‘A”’
CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS

ART. V

No person shall be held to answer for a capital or otherwise
infamous crime, unlesls on a presentment or indictment of a
Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land or naval forces,
or in the Militia, when in actual service in time of War or public
danger; nor shall any person be subject for the same offense to
be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled
in any criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law
nor shall private property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2560%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
