# Opposition — Otterbein v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2449%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 441 U.S. 943

## Text

Supreme Court, U.§&

”*
FILED
APR 90 1079}
No. 78-1226
MICH AP Bones I2. CLERK

oe em wee. a eee

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

FREDERICK J. OTTERBEIN, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

WapDE H. McCreE, Jr.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN T. BANNON, JR.
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

INDEX

Page
IE CMMI. Nerds slansusnttins davstaaciossuamrtecnceeabiouickhdesmnoees l
SUI ac cdinusdncdinivscsncausbnsericdbecsesaconessonsedubcoavanasones !
I i l
ITE > SutssnncnonesvevesosensssaiepadesnsacussBsessTeapecssetcansees veces 2
FE cn ciensonieinenintsxthatteciescinsurntnieyiansnenersesebibiibinsios 5
REA IEDR ESE TD AN i a 1]
CITATIONS
Cases:

Booton v. Hanauer, 541 F. 2d 296 .............. 10

Colautti v. Franklin, No. 77-891 (Jan.
Ok I pineal to ionclipsscmnibsunenenecse 8
Rogers v. United States, 422 U.S. 35)... 10

United States v. Armocida, 515 F. 2d 29 ... 10
United States v. Dono, 428 F. 2d 204,

CBRE. GOOG, SED UG, GED covccsccccescccecccccceecs 10
United States v. Harriss, 347 U.S. 612 .......... 8
United States v. Jones, 542 F. 2d 186 ......... 10
United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544 ........ 7
United States v. Natioral Dairy Products

I a a duauhanconsace 8
United States v. Powell, 423 U.S. 87 oo... 7
United States v. Taylor, 569 F., 2d 448,

SNUG, em, GIS UB. GS ccccccccscccccncsccesee 9-10

Page
Constitution, statutes and rule:
United States Constitution, First
Sh Hl EEO EN RO NERO SE 7
BP a CIP Uiiniaionntniclidcicstcts a teamenaie y
a a cae 6, 7
Pe ee WOU IID centsetncstrcepdaniacaetea cel 5
_ Miscellaneous:

1 E. Devitt & C. Blackmar, Federal Jury

Practice and Instructions (1977) .......cccce000. 10

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-1226
FREDERICK J. OTTERBEIN, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals is not reported.
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on December 8, 1978. A petition for rehearing was
denied on January 9, 1979. The petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on February 7, 1979. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioner was prejudiced by the testimony
of an expert witness.

2. Whether there was sufficient evidence to support
petitioner’s conviction.

(1)

3. Whether 18 U.S.C. 664, which forbids conversion
or embezzlement of funds of an employee pension
benefit plan, is unconstitutionally vague.

4. Whether the trial court was required to poll the
jury to determine whether any member had read a
newspaper report of the trial.

5. Whether it was improper for the trial court to
offer to answer questions about its instructions after
the jury had deliberated for five hours without
reaching a verdict.

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the District of South Carolina, petitioner
was convicted on eight counts of converting funds of
an employee pension benefit plan, in violation of 18
U.S.C. 664. He was sentenced to one year’s imprison-
ment and two years’ probation. The court of appeals
affirmed (Pet. App. 3-5).

The evidence at trial showed that petitioner, the
controlling stockholder of Universal Enterprises,
directed John Bevon, the company’s general manager,
to negotiate a collective bargaining agreement with
Local 1422A of the International Longshoremen’s
Association (ILA) (Tr. 99, 188). After several meetings
that petitioner attended, the company signed a
collective bargaining agreement with Local 1422A (Tr.
101, 191-192, 203-205). By the express terms of that
contract, the company agreed to participate in a
comprehensive employee benefit plan that provided
both pension and welfare benefits for its employees.
The company also agreed to make quarterly con-
tributions to the National ILA Pension Trust to fund
those pension and welfare benefits.

Because all of the necessary trust documents were
not yet available, the company agreed to deposit its
contributions to the pension and welfare plan in an
escrow account, where the funds would be kept until
the National ILA Pension Trust called for them (Tr.
126-127, 179).! The escrow account was opened at the
First Federal Savings and Loan Association in
Charleston, South Carolina, and the company regularly
deposited its contributions in the escrow account (Tr.
124, 200). Between September 1975 and July 1976, the
company made 45 deposits, totalling $24,267, (Tr. 82-
83). During each payroll period the money owed the
pension and welfare plan was set aside and deposited
in the account (Tr. 198).?

On July 29, 1976, petitioner asked the company’s
general manager, John Bevon, to make a withdrawal
from the escrow account (Tr. 202).5 Bevon refused to
do so, warning petitioner that such action would be
improper (ibid.). Petitioner then revoked Bevon’s
authority to make withdrawals from the escrow
account and transferred that authority to himself (Tr.
79). After petitioner took control of the escrow
account, he personally deposited five more checks. On
each occasion, the accompanying voucher designated

'The company’s general manager, John Bevon, informed
petitioner that it was necessary to physically segregate the funds
belonging to the pension and welfare plan from the corporation’s
general funds (Tr. 198, 208-209).

2The deposit vouchers that accompanied the checks payable to
the escrow account were clearly designated for the “welfare fund
and pension fund” (Tr. 245-249).

'Universal’s general manager was the only corporate officer
authorized to make withdrawals from the escrow account.

the deposit as a pension and welfare fund contribution.
Several of the checks were signed by petitioner (Tr.
251-262). Each such payment into the escrow account
was recorded in the corporate ledger as a contribution
to the pension and welfare fund (Gov. Ex. 357).4

Between July 30, 1976, and May 13, 1977, petitioner
made eight withdrawals from the escrow account,
totalling $31,500 (Tr. 81-82). Those withdrawals nearly
depleted the $32,181 contained in the account (Gov.
Exs. 225, 370). The money withdrawn from the escrow
account was deposited by petitioner in the company’s
general corporate account in the Bank of North
Charleston (Tr. 89-96, 251-262, 273-277).5

During an FBI interview in January 1977, petitioner
Stated that the escrow account was not a working
capital account, but was “strictly for the health,
welfare and pension funds” (Tr. 501). Petitioner stated
that he established the account for contributions to the
pension and welfare fund. When asked if all of the
company’s contributions to the pension fund were
currently in the escrow account, petitioner replied that
the pension fund money was owed to the union and
was available upon request. In fact, the escrow account
was nearly depleted and Universal did not possess
sufficient cash reserves to replace the money withdrawn
from the account (Tr. 501-505; Gov. Ex. 370). During
a subsequent interview with the FBI, petitioner
retracted parts of his earlier statement. He admitted

‘Pursuant to the collective bargaining agreement, the company
mailed weekly reports to Local 1422A, listing the amounts of
pension and welfare funds that were paid into the escrow account
(Tr. 109-110, 121-122).

‘During this period, petitioner increased his ownership of the
company from 51% to 70%. The new stock that petitioner caused
the company to issue to himself had a par value of $31,500—pre-
cisely the amount taken from the escrow account (Tr. 463-475).

that the escrow account was in fact used for “working
capital” and stated that the company’s obligation to
make contributions to the pension fund were unclear
(Tr. 519-523).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 13-15) that it was plain
error to allow an expert witness called by the
government to testify that the escrow account was an
employee pension benefit plan because the proper
designation of the account presented a question of law
for the court.

An official of the Department of Labor, called by
the government. as an expert witness, testified regarding
the administration of the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) (Tr. 291-292). Respon-
ding to a hypothetical question, he stated his opinion
that an escrow account having the characteristics of
the account here involved would be an employee
pension benefit plan within the meaning of ERISA
(Tr. 314-320). Petitioner made no objection, agreeing
that an expert witness could express an opinion as to
whether the plan was covered by the statute (Tr. 292-
294). Petitioner later called his own expert witness who
testified that the escrow account was not an employee
pension benefit. plan covered by ERISA (Tr. 549-582),
and contended that this was a question for the jury
(Tr. 824).

Under these circumstances, petitioner is precluded
from contending that the question was solely a
question of law for the court. See Fed. R. Evid.
103(a)(1). Moreover, any error in admitting evidence on
this subject inured to the benefit of petitioner. As the
court of appeals pointed out (Pet. App. A4 n.*), the
escrow account, as a matter of law, was covered by
the statute.° Thus, if the question were treated solely

- Petitioner cites no authority suggesting that the escrow account
was not an employee pension benefit plan covered by the statute.

as a question of law, as petitioner claims it should have
been, the proper course would have been to instruct
the jury that statutory coverage existed. Giving
petitioner the opportunity to persuade the jury
otherwise certainly did not prejudice him.

2. Petitioner further contends (Pet. 15-18) that
without the testimony of the government’s expert
witness, there was insufficient evidence to sustain his
conviction.

However, the evidence adduced at trial, wholly apart
from the testimony of the expert witness, established
that the funds in the escrow account were part of an
employee pension benefit plan and that petitioner was
fully aware of that fact. The statute (29 U.S.C.

1002(2)) defines an employee pension benefit plan to
include

any plan, fund, or program * * * to the extent
that by its express terms or as a result of
surrounding circumstances such plan, fund, or
program *** provides retirement income to
employees * * * reguardless of the method of cal-
culating the contributions made to the plan, the
method of calculating the benefits under the plan
or the method of distributing benefits from the
plan.

The evidence at trial established that the money in the
escrow account was part of an employee pension
benefit plan within this definition. The account was
established by the company pursuant to a collective
bargaining agreement, which called for contributions to
fund employee retirement benefits. Petitioner was well
aware of the purpose of the account and of the duty
to disburse it to the ILA pension trust. The evidence
also showed that petitioner was told by the company’s
general manager that it was necessary to segregate
pension fund contributions from general corporate

assets (Tr. 204, 213-214). Moreover, the vouchers
attached to the checks deposited in the account clearly

designated the deposits as pension and welfare con-

tributions (Tr. 251-252). In his first interview with the
FBI, petitioner stated without hesitation that the
escrow account contained funds segregated for welfare
and pension benefits (Tr. 501-505). In sum, the
evidence overwhelmingly established that the account
was an employee pension benefit plan account within
the meaning of the statute, and further showed that
petitioner was aware of that fact.

3. Petitioner also argues (Pet. 18-21) that the
statutory provisions under which he was convicted are
void for vagueness.

The statute (18 U.S.C. 664) broadly forbids any
person to embezzle or unlawfully and willfully abstract
or convert to his own use or the use of another person
any of the funds of any employee pension benefit plan,
or of any fund connected with an employee pension
benefit plan. As noted above, an employee pension
benefit plan is defined to include any plan, fund or
program “to the extent that by its express terms or as
a result of surrounding circumstances such plan, fund,
or program * * * provides retirement income to
employees” (29 U.S.C. 1002(2)).

This statute afforded petitioner fair notice that he
was not at liberty to convert funds designated as
employee pension funds for private use. Vagueness
challenges not implicating First Amendment or related
rights must “be examined in the light of the facts of
the case at hand.” United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S.
544, 550 (1975); United States v. Powell, 423 U.S. 87,
92-94 (1975). It is irrelevant that there may be
difficulty in determining: whether certain marginal cases
are subject to the statute if the general coverage of the
statute is clear and the defendant’s conduct falls within

that coverage. See, e.g., United States v. Harriss, 347
U.S. 612, 617 (1954); United States v. National Dairy
Products Corp., 372 U.S. 29, 32-33 (1963). Since the
funds here involved were held in escrow for the sole
purpose of providing retirement and welfare benefits
for employees and since petitioner was clearly aware of
that fact, he may not contend that the statute provided
inadequate warning.’

4. Petitioner also argues (Pet. 21-24) that the district
court erred in failing to poll the jury to determine
whether any member had read a newspaper article that
appeared during the course of the trial.

During the second day of trial, a former employee
of the company testified that he had made inquiries
about his pension rights. He also testified that he had
been fired for leaving work early. At the conclusion of
his testimony, the district court asked the witness
whether he was fired before or after inquiring about the
pension fund. The witness replied that he was fired
after making the inquiry (Tr. 357). Petitioner did not
object to the question or the answer.

The next day, defense counsel brought to the court's
attention a newspaper article in the morning edition

’Colautti v. Franklin, No. 77-891 (Jan. 9, 1979), relied on by
petitioner, has no relevance here. In that case, the Court
determined that a statutory provision regulating abortions was
unconstitutionally vague. The court pointed out that the statute
permitted conviction of physicians “without regard to fault” and
had the effect of chilling the constitutional right to receive
abortions. Slip op. 14-17. In this case, in contrast, the statute
does not chill the exercise of a constitutional right, and the
district court specifically charged the jury that petitioner could not
be convicted unless the government proved beyond a reasonable
doubt that petitioner acted with fraudulent intent in taking
the money (Tr. 806-807).

of The State, a Columbia, South Carolina newspaper.*
The article reported that the witness had testified that
he was fired as a result of his inquiries about the pension
fund.’

Petitioner’s counsel pointed out that the article was

inaccurate because it stated that the witness had been

fired shortly after inquiring about the pension fund
when in fact he had been fired several months later
(Tr. 363). The court asked defense counsel on four
separate occasions what it should do to avoid any
possible prejudice. Defense counsel offered no
suggestions (Tr. 365, 369, 371, 372). The court also
asked whether defense counsel sought an instruction to
the jury to disregard the answer of the _ witness
regarding his dismissal. In addition, the court asked
counsel if he was seeking a mistrial (Tr. 371-372).
Counsel did not seek either type of relief.

In these circumstances, the court below properly
rejected petitioner's claim that the publication of the
article required a reversal of his conviction. The article
appeared only once, on the third day of a five-day
trial and after the jury had been warned several times
not to discuss, listen to, or read anything concerning
the trial outside of the courtroom (Tr. 135, 136, 229,
446-448). There was nothing inflammatory about the
article, and petitioner suggested no additional steps to
avoid the possibility of prejudice. The failure of the
trial court to poll the jury sua sponte was not
reversible error. See, e.g., United States v. Taylor, 569
F, 2d 448, 454 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 952 (1978);

*The article appears on pages 177a-178a of the appendix filed in
the court of appeals. It was printed in “Section C” of the
newspaper.

’The article also contained a background discussion of the trial,
summarized the testimony of prior witnesses, and discussed certain
theories of the prosecution and the defense.

10

United States v. Jones, 542 F. 2d 186, 194 (4th Cir. 1976);
Booton v. Hanauer, 541 F. 2d 296, 298 (Ist Cir. 1976);
United States v. Armocida, 515 F. 2d 29, 48-49 (3d Cir.
1975).

5. Finally, petitioner contends (Pet. 24-27) that the
district court erred by communicating with the
members of the jury after they had deliberated without
reaching a verdict.

After the jury had deliberated for five hours, the
district court, in the presence of petitioner and his
counsel, inquired if it could be of assistance with
respect to any of the legal issues before them (Tr.
843). In response to the question of one juror, the
court restated portions of the instructions that it
previously had given without objection (Tr. 843-848).
At that time, defense counsel did not object either to
the question or the court's response. When the jury
retired once again, the court asked petitioner's
attorneys if they wished to take exception to anything
the court had said. Both indicated that they had no
objection (Tr. 851). While it may be preferable for the
trial court to receive written rather than oral questions
from the jury (1 E. Devitt & C. Blackmar, Federal Jury
Practice and Instructions § 18.13, at 603 (1977)), the dis-
trict court’s receipt of an oral question does not constitute
reversible error, particularly where the defendant offers
no objection to that procedure. United States v. Dono,

428 F. 2d 204, 209 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 829
(1970). '°

Petitioner's reliance on Rogers v. United States, 422 U.S. 35
(1975), is also misplaced. In Rogers, the Court disapproved a com-
munication, between the trial judge and the jury that took place
without the knowledge of the defendant or his attorney. In the
present case, petitioner and his lawyer were present and had the
opportunity to object to the district court's procedure.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

Wave H. McCrer, JR.
Solicitor General

Puitie B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN T. BANNON JR.
Attorney

AprRIL 1979

DOJ-1979-04

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2449%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
