# Opposition — Western Communications, Inc. v. Federal Communications Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2445%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 441 U.S. 931

## Text

IN THE

i “Wt RODAK, IR. CLERK

| SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

. _ OCTOBER TERM, 1OnR:

No. 78-1 229

WESTERN COMMUNICATIONS, INC.,
“Petitioner,

v,

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
LAS VEGAS VALLEY. BROADCASTING Co.,

Respondents.

ON’PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO |
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT
LAS VEGAS VALLEY BROADCASTING CO.

IN “ahinaae tes
de bag dame _’ “EDWARD *P. MORGAN
oy? WELCH'& MORGAN’ + Joseti M; Mornussey
“0, $00. Farragut Building: Roneat T. MURPHY
| 900 Seventeerith Street, N.W. | Attorneys for Respondent
Washington, D.C. 20006 Las Vegas Valley
: i: Broadcasting Co.
March 8, 1979 rae
: 3 * Washington, 0.C: » THIEL PRESS + (202) 638-4521
ont,
hi
0

ae

(:)

TABLE OF CONTENTS sme.
CPE OEE CN ce KKK eee ee WEe HK ee HOS Dec e es 1
I ons ac be Vikas Koasencecs was 2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED... 1... cece eee eee ee eens 2
STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED................ 3
PUT Sok hah ee Rew ee SOD EAR CCH Se RDO COR 3
REE 65k Oe 6 oA KOA OSS KORO EMER Ce OO ORO 10
SET 34 0st biais oS wh ee CRON Re eee we dee 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
American Power and Light Co. v. SEC, 329 U.S. 90

SOUP so + einie ih ae ko 0lee Re ard.s ae eee eh an ele 23
Atlantic Refining Co. v. FTC, 381 U.S. 357 (1965) ...... 26
Beth Israel Hospital v. N.L.R.B., 437 U.S. ——, 98

S.Ct. 3463 (1978) ...... eee Ree eee ewes nw on ee 28
Butz v. Glover Livestock Commission, 411 U.S. 182

(RE as renee ee aes ere 23
Nick J. Chaconis, 28 F.C.C.2d 231 (1970) ..........4.. 20
Collins Securities Corp. v. SEC, 183 U.S.App.D.C. 301,

we Re oy re ee ee ree 14
Continental Broadcasting, Inc. v. FCC, 439 F.2d 58

(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 403 U.S. 905 (1971) ........ 22
Crowder v. FCC, 399 F.2d 569 (D.C. Cir.), cert.

denied, 393 U.S. 962 (1968). ....... ccc eee eceeess 21
Erlichman v. U.S., (No. 76-993), 45 Law Week 3718,

pe ae en eee ee ee 25
FCC v. National Citizens Committee for Broadcasting,

Se SO CU COED AK GAR Aw hiee CO6.0ON ec wee howe 27

FCC v. WOKO, Inc., 329 U.S. 223 (1946)..... 15, 20, 21, 22

(it)

Cases, continued: Page

Greater Boston Television Corp. v. FCC, 444 F.2d
841 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied sub nom., WHDH, Inc.

ey oe OS |g) Sere re 22
Independent Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 193 F.2d 900,

cert. denied, 344 U.S. 837 (1952) ...... ce cccccecs 21
Lorain Journal Co. v. FCC, 381 F.2d 824 (D.C. Cir.

PRG Cn cp besGebe ste e basa eee b en bee eases 22
Mitchell v. U.S. (No. 76-1081), 45 Law Week 3718,

PE Wy ROTE See cweeeedccernveneerceveccoede 25
Mobil Oil Corp. v. FPC, 417 U.S. 283 (1974) ........ 27, 28
Nassar and Co. v. SEC, 185 U.S.App.D.C. 125, 566

Tee FOU MUST UD we apes ee wscioenesseeeeesoesse 14
Neighborly Broadcasting Co., Inc., 24 P&F Radio Reg.

SE Ar ae ee a er ee ee 20
Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367

Cb ccre bs 6b 066 CONE ORR DAD eRe ee be sauces 15
Donald W. Reynolds, 65 FCC2d 451 (1977) ........... 16
Sea Island Broadcasting Corp., 44 P&F Radio Reg. 2d

RPE Ga bb uo 's's 6:0 0 6 6.40404 Oh 60:56 6 008 008 15

United States v. Haldeman, et al., 431 U.S. 933 (1977). ... 25

Universal Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 340 U.S. 474
SOOM case das 6 4:66.08 hehe Chee aw abree 11, 13, 28

Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. National
Resources Defense Council, Inc., 435 U.S. 519

Se Kall Oat & © Pied a 6x 86 oe ei wk KE 608 6.668 27
In re Western Communications, Inc., 61 FCC2d 974

Os ha oA Abed ae we OR SKE UES Oh ae a 84 24
Statutes:

Administrative Procedure Act:
ey Sn WOES 6's go we Be ood eik S Osa Oe 28

(iit)

Statutes, continued: Page
Communications Act of 1934:

OF TE POR. TE cies ce ce recta reetideeees ne 15

47 U.S.C. Sec. 307(d) 2... eee cere cern eee evene 15
28 U.S.C. Sec. 1254(1).... cece reer cree rere vvccees 2
Miscellaneous:
4 K. Davis, Treatise on Administrative Law (1958)....... 23

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-1222

WESTERN COMMUNICATIONS, INC.,

Petitioner,
v.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
LAS VEGAS VALLEY BROADCASTING Co.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT
LAS VEGAS VALLEY BROADCASTING CoO.
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the Court of Appeals, not yet
reported, is reprinted in Petitioner’s Appendix, pp.
la-16a. The opinion of the Federal Communications
Commission is reported at 59 FCC2d 1441 (1976), and
appears in Petitioner’s Appendix, pp. 17a-54a; recon.

1

2

denied, 61 FCC2d 974 (1976), reprinted in Petitioner’s
Appendix, pp. 55a-6la. The Initial Decision of the
Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) is reported at 59
FCC2d 1463 and is found in Petitioner’s Appendix, pp.
62a-142a. Other relevant orders are found in Petition-
er’s Appendix, pp. 143a-156a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
on October 26, 1978. Western’s petition for rehearing
and suggestion for rehearing en banc was denied
December 29, 1978, Petitioner’s Appendix (‘‘Pet.
App.’’) pp. 157a-158a. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether there is sufficient evidence of record to
support the Court of Appeals’ affirmance of the
decision of the Federal Communications Commission
denying Western’s renewal application because of exten-
sive and flagrant fraudulent billing practices and deliber-
ate misrepresentations to the Commission which were
designed to conceal its fraudulent operating practices
from the Commission.

2. Whether the Court of Appeals properly exercised
its function of judicial review of an administrative
action in (1) determining that there was insufficient
evidence in the record to support the Commission’s
finding as to the adequacy of Valley’s bank letter under
applicable law and policy and (2) by remanding the
case to the Commission for review of Valley’s overall
financial qualifications.

3

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

Relevant provisions of the Communications Act of
1934, the Administrative Procedure Act, as amended,
and pertinent Rules and Regulations of the Federal
Communications Commission are found in Petitioner’s
Appendix, pp. 159a-165a.

STATEMENT

In 1971, Western Communications, Inc. (“‘Western’’),
an incumbent licensee of KORK-TV, applied for re-
newal of its television broadcast license for Channel 3,
Las Vegas, Nevada. The station is affiliated with the
NBC network. Las Vegas Valley Broadcasting Co. filed
a competing application for a construction permit for a
new television broadcast station to operate on the same
channel. The mutually-exclusive applications were set
for hearing in 1972.

In 1976, following lengthy proceedings, the Commis-
sion found that Western’s extensive and protracted
fraud in station operations plus its deliberate misrepre-
sentations to the Commission designed to cover-up its
dishonest practices compelled the denial of its renewal
application. The Commission, on the other hand, found
that Valley had “established its qualifications to be a
Commission licensee in all respects except its financial
qualifications.”” (Pet. App. 45a) On consolidated ap-
peals, the Court of Appeals affirmed the Commission’s
order as to Western but remanded Valley’s application
to the Commission for review of its overall financial
qualifications.

Western is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Donrey,
Inc., of which Donald W. Reynolds, Sr., is the sole
stockholder as well as President and a Director. Channel

4

3, Las Vegas, is only one of numerous media outlets
owned and controlled by Reynolds Sr. Reynolds’
extensive media holdings, including a number of other
television and radio stations, the largest newspaper in
Las Vegas, many other daily and weekly papers,
outdoor advertising companies, and CATV interests,
etc., were detailed by the Administrative Law Judge
and appear in Petitioner’s Appendix, pp. 100a-103a. His
son, Donald W. Reynolds, Jr., was supervisor over all
his broadcast properties during pertinent times involved
in the proceedings at the Commission.

Fraudulent Billing

Western’s contract with NBC required it to carry all
network commercials and specifically forbade any dele-
tions of network programs without prior consent.
Weekly reports to NBC were required which certified
that each network program including commercial mes-
sages and credits was telecast in its entirety except for
those specifically listed on the report form. Western’s
compensation by NBC was based on its broadcast of
network commercials.

Edward R. Tabor and Robert N. Ordonez, general
managers of KORK-TV during the license period perti-
nent herein, as officers and directors of Western,
undertook a course of action in direct violation of the
network contract and the Rule of the Commission
applicable to misrepresentation of the quantity of
advertising actually broadcast.

In substance, Western, as a matter of policy and
general practice, deleted (clipped) portions of network
transmissions including network commercials in order to
telecast more local commercials than it could otherwise
sell and carry. It did not report the deletion of the

5

network commercials to NBC on its certified reporting
forms.! Thus, it collected from the network for the
omitted advertising as well as from the local advertiser.

Western conceded the “clipping” practices but con-
tended that it only clipped what it termed “clutter.” It
was found, however, that the “clipping of network
commercials was a common occurence.” (Pet. App.
133a) This fraudulent practice was properly character-
ized by the Commission as “protracted and flagrant’’ as
well as “extensive and egregious.” (Pet. App. 25a-26a)

Western’s deletion of network commercials was con-
firmed not only by evidence submitted by the Broad-
cast Bureau of the FCC and by Valley’s more extensive
analysis but also by Western’s own study which indi-
cated the clipping of approximately 800 commercials
for which Western made restitution to NBC after the
close of the record. (Pet. App. 21la-22a; Court of
Appeals Joint App. 1310-1339)

Joining network programs late, leaving them early
and extending mid-program breaks in order to run all
pre-scheduled local commercials was shown to be a
regular KORK-TV practice. A special study submitted
by Valley limited to only 28 weeks of the pertinent
license renewal period established over 500 occasions
when KORK left network programs early, 200 other
late joinings of network programs and over 500 mid-
break extensions. (Pet. App. 70a-7la) A more confined
analysis by the Broadcast Bureau revealed 41 occasions
of late joining of network programs ranging from 7 to
30 seconds and 14 occasions of mid-program break
extensions from 20 to 50 seconds. (Pet. App. 70a-7 1a)

leNone of the station reports indicated any deletions from
the network feed.” (Pet. App. 22a)

6

None of these omissions were reported by KORK to
NBC on its regular weekly reporting forms on which its
compensation by the network was based.”

Misrepresentation to the Commission

The practice of clipping network transmissions in
order to squeeze in or “overload’’ local advertising
material was particularly egregious in the 1970 World
Series broadcasts, prompting an irate fan to bitterly
complain to the F.C.C. concerning the interference of
the network telecasts of the ball games by local
commercials. The Commission called upon KORK-TV
(Western) for a complete and honest explanation of all
the circumstances surrounding the allegations of the
complaint. This inquiry and three subsequent ones in
ensuing months were met by responses from Western
which were analyzed at length by the Administrative
Law Judge (Pet. App. 73a-83a) and by the Commission
(Pet. App. 26a-32a) and found to be patently false and
misleading and clearly designed to conceal its operating
practices from the Commission. (Pet. App. 31a)

Valley’s Bank Loan Commitment

Valley’s application turned principally upon its abil-
ity to secure a bank loan with “reasonable assurance.”
In conjunction with its original application for a
construction permit, filed September 1, 1971, Valley
submitted a bank commitment letter, dated August 23,
1971, from Nevada State Bank, Las Vegas, Nevada.

2Two extended periods of time when the station was
completely off the air for 17 minutes and 45 seconds and for 50
minutes were even omitted from the network reports (Pet. App.
23a).

7

(Pet. App. 88a-91la) This letter was amended by a letter
from the Bank’s counsel dated February 22, 1973,
changing certain conditions relative to the loan because
of Valley’s subsequent intention to lease both its land
and buildings and to purchase its broadcast equipment
from RCA on credit. (Ibid.) In his letter, Bank counsel
explicitly stated: “On behalf of the Bank I am
authorized to confirm that at no time has the Bank
withdrawn its letter of August 23, 1971 to Valley and
that the Bank remains willing to make the loan
pursuant to the terms stated in said letter.”’ The certain
changes in the terms of the agreement included (1)
approval of the personal financial statements of Valley’s
stockholders, each of whom would guarantee payment
of the loan; (2) Bank to have right of first refusal on
future borrowings by Valley during the 5-year term of
the loan; (3) Valley to maintain all its bank accounts
exclusively at the Bank; (4) explanation of what was.
intended by the expression ‘“‘unimproved capital;” (5)
agreement extended to January 1, 1975. Valley ex-
pressly agreed to these terms and its shareholders
indicated that at all times they stood ready, willing and
able to comply with the Bank’s requirements.

Inasmuch as the question of collateral under the
revised terms of the Bank commitment became a matter
of special concern to the ALJ, certain interrogatories
were authorized to be propounded to the Bank’s
president.® In substance, the Bank’s president stated
that the Bank was fully aware that Valley would be
unable to pledge as collateral either the RCA technical

3The full text of the eleven interrogatories together with
answers are set forth in the Initial Decision at paragraph 64. (Pet.
App. 9la-94a) The more relevant ones, i.e., Nos. 9, 10 and 11
are found in the lower Court’s opinion. (Pet. App. 13a)

8

\
equipment or any land or buildings but, nevertheless,

the Bank was prepared to make its proposed loan of $1
million as set forth in the 1971 letter subject to a
normal routine bank reservation. The final interroga-
tory, No. 11, and its answer read as follows:
“11. In addition to the personal guarantee by
Valley’s stockholders, what is the minimum value
of collateral that the bank will require in order to
loan Valley up to $1,000,000 as proposed?

“Answer: It will depend upon the conditions at
the time the loan is required.”

This answer became the basis on which the ALJ and
the Commission rested the adverse finding that Valley
had failed to demonstrate that it had “reasonable
assurance’ that the bank loan would eventually be
forthcoming. The Court below thoroughly canvassed the
record evidence on the bank letter issue and found
insufficient support for the Commission’s adverse con-
clusion stating that: “We find insufficient support for
the Commission’s finding that its [Valley’s] bank letter
did not meet the reasonable assurance standard, and
remand for review of its general financial qualifica-
tions.” (Pet. App. 10a-11a)

Site Access

Valley proposed to locate its transmitter on a
federally-owned mountain site near Las Vegas which is
controlled by the Interior Department’s Bureau of Land
Management (BLM). Access to the site is via two
private roads, the first and longer one owned by Bell
Telephone which agreed to allow Valley to use the road
at an annual charge of $2,000. The second road is
owned by Alta Development Co., a company in which
Western holds equal shares with Summa Corporation.

9

Western refused a right-of-way to Valley over this road
except on the basis of compensating in full Western’s
alleged share of the cost of the road’s construction and
maintenance costs which Western kept raising until the
last figure (destined to rise) was $190,000. The Bureau
of Land Management indicated that in the event Valley
were awarded a construction permit by the F.C.C. it
would issue a permit to Valley to use the transmitter
site and the Alta access road. However, the policy of
the BLM is not to intervene in disputes between
original and later permittees as to terms for use of
facilities constructed by the original permittee. In early
1973 when Western’s estimated demand was $45,000
Valley budgeted $100,000 to purchase the right-of-way.
However, the impossibility of firm negotiations with an
obdurate Western left the matter in an unresolved state.

The Court of Appeals noting that the Commission
had not advised whether “the site access problem, by
itself, would warrant a finding of financial disqualifica-
tion” indicated that this issue could be considered and
resolved as part of the Commission’s examination of
“Valley’s complete financial qualifications.” (Pet. app.
15a)

“Leak” to the Trade Press

In a multiple series of filings following oral argument
before the Commission, Western charged procedural
irregularities based on an alleged “leak” to the trade
press by Commission personnel as to what the Commis-
sion had tentatively decided. Importantly, not a single
party of interest in the case was implicated in the
allegations nor did the charges touch upon or involve in
any way the merits of the case. After careful considera-
tion and appropriate investigation the Commission was

10

unable to find any legitimate basis for re-opening the
record or enlarging the issues as Western requested and
specifically found that Western suffered no prejudice
whatever by reason of events deemed by the Commis-
sion to be “most unfortunate” but harmless to the
parties. (Pet. App. 44a)*

Similarly, the Court of Appeals considered these
allegations and properly concluded that it was unable to
discern a genuine ex parte question stating further “nor
can we identify, on this record, any infringement of

due process resulting from such disclosure.” (Pet. App.
6a)

Upon careful review of the record, the Court of
Appeals affirmed the denial of Western’s renewal appli-
cation, holding that there was substantial evidence to
support the Commission’s adverse findings, and re-
manded Valley’s application for further review of its
overall financial qualifications.

ARGUMENT

There are no important federal questions presented
by the petitioner which would justify the grant of a
writ of certiorari. The multiple reasons for granting the
writ advanced by Western are, essentially, a re-cycle of

*The Commission pointedly noted that Western had flooded
the Commission with a barrage of pleadings and unauthorized
briefs in such a manner as to “have delayed the ultimate
resolution of this proceeding and raise a question concerning
counsel’s compliance with Section 1.52 of our Rules which
provides in pertinent part that their signature on each Western
pleading certifies their ‘belief there is good ground to support it;
and that it is not interposed for delay... .’ Counsel are advised
that further pleadings directed to the alleged ex parte violations
will be summarily dismissed.” (Pet. App. 44a, fn. 21)

%

1]

those presented to the Commission and again in the
Court of Appeals where, in both instances, they were
found to be completely without merit.°

Despite a sophisticated effort to distill from them a
suitable and persuasive reason for the grant of the writ,
the absence of any genuine and compelling ground for
so doing is apparent on the face of this proceeding.
Recourse to the decision of the Court of Appeals, the
several Decisions of the Commission and the Initial
Decision of the ALJ, all appearing in Petitioner’s
Appendix, pp. la-156a, quickly and affirmatively dis-
pells any notion that Western has been denied due
process (procedural or substantive) or has been unjustly
denied renewal of a privileged license to utilize the
public’s airways for its private gain. Rather, Western has
enjoyed an abundance of process, has received full and
fair consideration of its multiple defenses and argu-
ments, and has successfully prolonged its profitable
hold on Channel 3 for almost 8 years beyond its last
authorized license period.

Similarly, the remand of Valley’s application to the
Commission for further proceedings involving ‘‘con-
sideration of Valley’s complete financial qualifications”

5The Court of Appeals summarized the claims as follows:
“Western claim[ed] that the Commission’s denial of its renewal
application (A) was not based on substantial evidence, (B)
neglected valid defenses presented on Western’s behalf and (C)
constituted an unjustifiably harsh sanction of conduct not clearly
prohibited under prior commission policy.” (Pet. App. 4a) As to
Valley’s appeal, Western, in substance, challenges the verity of
the applicable standard of review as pronounced by this Court in
Universal Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 340 U.S. 474 (1951),
repeated in others and which was faithfully followed by the
Court of Appeals in this case.

12

(Pet. App. 15a) in no way constitutes a legitimate and
persuasive reason for the grant of the extracrdinary writ
of certiorari.

Western’s specious contentions that serious and im-
portant federal questions having wide and _ general
application are presented by the decision of the Court
of Appeals in respect to (1) Standard Of Proof; (2)
Sanction and Defense; (3) Leak to Trade Press; and (4)
Remand of Valley’s Application For Further Proceed-
ings, are, hereinafter, addressed seriatim.

Preliminarily, however, by way of background it is
important to observe that Western proceeds here, as
below, on a sordid and sullied record—a record of the
elevation of private corporate greed over the basic
notions of public trust accompanying the temporary
possession of one of the government’s most valuable
privileges and “scarce resource’’—the use of the public
airways for private profit. Western’s dishonest conduct
was so patently revealed upon this record as to
constrain a case-hardened, veteran Administrative Law
Judge to denounce it as “dishonesty deserving of the
utmost censure” pointing out, inter alia, that Western’s
practice of “selling twice what it could only deliver
once, and of collecting for its own benefit the proceeds
of both sales” was a more aggravated form of fraud
than the classic “double billing” offenses normally
encountered. (Pet. App. 133a). The Commission was
moved unanimously to refer to petitioner’s fraudulent
billing not only as “protracted and flagrant” but also
“extensive and egregious” (Pet. App. 25a-26a); to
denominate Western’s responses to Commission inquiries
as to just what was going on in their station operations
as “false, misleading and evasive representations”; and
to properly state that these carefully concocted com-

13

munications “were clearly designed to conceal its
operating practices from the Commission.” (Pet. App.
31a) These outright blatant misrepresentations designed
to mislead the Commission and to conceal the invidious
fraudulent practices of Western had previously been
found by the ALJ to be “rife with inaccurate and
misleading statements” and ‘‘contained deliberate mis-
representations” (Pet. App. 133a), thus compelling the
conclusion that these assertions were “false and the
station’s executives knew it when the letters were
written.” (Ibid.)

In short, it is difficult to postulate a more explicit
tapestery of deceit and dishonesty against which the
attack upon the judgment of the Court of Appeals by
Western must be viewed.

Standard of Proof

In respect to the standard of proof, there is no
important federal question presented on the sullied
record of Western’s unfaithful trust of a public license
in this case.

At the outset, it must be observed that Western
implicitly acknowledges that the Court of Appeals
correctly reviewed the record in conformity with the
requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act and
the norm declared by this Court in Universal Camera
Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 340 U.S. 474 (1951). The appro-
priate standard of review, as explicated by the Court of
Appeals “requires that the Commission’s findings be
supported by substantial evidence.” (Pet. App. 5a) And,
pointedly and properly the Court of Appeals found
substantial support in the evidence for the Commis-
sion’s findings adverse to Western’s renewal application.

14

Western’s principal attack on the case against its
license renewal, both before the Commission and in the
Court of Appeals, charged that it was not supported by
“reliable and probative” evidence of a “substantial”
character. It now suggests that a different standard of
proof should be required in FCC license renewal cases,
namely, the “clear and convincing” standard presum-
ably required b. the Court of Appeals in SEC license
revocation cases where the charge is completely based
on circumstantial evidence and results in a practical
deprivation of livelihood. Collins Securities Corp. v.
SEC, 183 U.S. App. D.C. 301, 562 F.2d 820 (1977);
Nassar and Co. v. SEC, 185 U.S. App. D.C. 125, 566
F.2d 790 (1977). The inference to be drawn is,
presumptively, that the record in this case could not
measure up to such a different standard. Western’s
contention in this regard, however, has no real applica-
tion to the record in this case and constitutes, largely,
an exercise in semantics.

Important distinctions between this case and the SEC
cases and other authorities advanced by Western are
obvious. First, the instant case involved a license renewal

proceeding not a license revocation as in Collins and
Nassar.

Unlike those cases, here there was substantial direct

as well as circumstantial evidence establishing Western’s
dereliction of duty.

Further a radically different type of license is
involved here than in the SEC cases—an FCC license is a
temporary, contingent license to use a limited and
scarce public resource for private gain thereby con-
ferring a special privilege upon the recipient in the
nature of a public trust. The broadcast licensee acquires

15

no property right in the channel, as made plain by
statute (47 U.S.C. Sec. 301).®

This Court has unequivocally stated that “licenses to
broadcast do not confer ownership of designated fre-
quencies, but only the temporary privilege of using
them.” Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. F.C.C., 395 US.
367, 394 (1969).

The critical differences in license type and classifica-
tion are cogently explicated in the Report of the
Commission in Sea Island Broadcasting Corp., 44 P&F
Radio Reg.2d 1265 (1978). There the Commission
noted at p. 1267 that: “Broadcasters have a special
status as public trustees of a scarce source, namely, the
broadcast frequencies. The Supreme Court has noted
that because broadcast frequencies are limited, ‘they
have been necessarily considered a public trust.’ ” Citing
Red Lion, supra.

Moreover, refusal to renew a broadcast license is not
a penalty as definitively laid down by this Court in
F.C.C. v. WOKO, Inc., 329 U.S. 223, 228 (1946). Thus,

6The Communications Act of 1934 provides in pertinent part:
“It is the purpose of this Act, among other things, to maintain
the control of the United States over all the channels of
interstate and foreign radio transmission; and to provide for the
use of such channels, but not the ownership thereof, by persons
for limited periods of time, under licenses granted by Federal
authority, and no such license shall be construed to create any
right, beyond the terms, conditions and periods of the li-
cense....” 47 U.S.C. Sec. 301. It further provides that: “No
license granted for the operation of a broadcasting station shall
be for a longer term than three years ... Upon the expiration of
any license, upon application therefor, a renewal of such license
may be granted from time to time for a term of not to exceed
three years in the case of broadcasting licenses...if the
Commission finds that public interest, convenience and necessity
would be served thereby... .”” 47 U.S.C. Section 307(d).

16

unlike the SEC cases relied upon by Western, a penalty
approaching a deprivation of livelihood is not here
involved.’

The other and additional cases advanced by Western
on standard of proof deal with (a) deportation, (b)
denaturalization, (c) involuntary confinement and the
like and are completely inapposite.

In any event, however, unlike the shaky and ambigu-
ous record and dubious circumstantial evidence involved
in Collins and Nassar, supra, the weight and quality of
the record proof here left neither the hearing officer
nor the reviewers with any substantial doubt as to the
justification of the non-renewal decision. Indeed, if
morality in broadcasting is to have any meaning, no
other conclusion could be reached.

Summary reference to only a few parts of the
Commission’s Decision and the ALJ’s Initial Decision
demonstrates the clarity and conviction with which the
case for non-renewal was established.

Thus, the Commission clearly stated that “... the
logs establish with reasonable certainty that KORK-TV
was off network for significantly longer periods than
authorized and that as a general practice it clipped all
or parts of network commercials in order to telecast
local advertising....” (Pet. App. 2la) (Emphasis

7 Western emphasizes the renewal by the Commission of all of
Reynold’s other broadcast licenses. Donald W. Reynolds, 65
FCC2d 451 (1977). Unlike the securities dealers in Collins and
Nassar, Reynolds has suffered no bar to continuing in the
broadcast business—no loss of livelihood. This is an important
distinguishing fact and one which is wholly inconsistent with the
cry of “stigma plus impairment of future employment” resulting
to Reynolds as claimed by Western in a fanciful flight from
reality. (Pet. 14)

17

added.) Again, the Commission in unequivocal language
found: “‘Jt is clear, that the alleged failure by Mr. Tabor
and Mr. Ordonez to be aware of the fraudulent nature
of the network reports establishes a lack of competence
and diligence in their supervision over KORK-TV’s
affairs which contributed to the fraudulent billing and a
gross disregard of the Commission’s fraudulent billing
rules, which reflects adversely on Western’s qualifica-
tions to be a Commission licensee.” (Pet. App. 23a-24a)

Additionally, obvious and clear misrepresentations
advanced in Western’s own communications to the
Commission are meticulously noted in the Commission’s
Decision as set forth in Petitioner’s Appendix, pp.
26a-32a. The referenced evidence is neither obscure nor
circumstantial. Rather, it is “clear and convincing” and
while this descriptive language was not employed by the
Commission in precise talismanic tandem, the quality
and quantity of proof of Western’s deceptive practices
was obviously of a kind to satisfy any such standard.

The Initial Decision of the ALJ likewise demonstrates
that the case for Western’s falsity in word and deed was
beyond cavil. Thus, the Judge found that it was
“apparent that KORK’s policy to clip network ‘clutter’
was in deliberate violation of the terms of its contract,”
[with the network] and “equally apparent that its
failure to report such clipping in its weekly Station
Reports rendered those reports into misrepresenta-
tions.” (Pet. App. 73a-83a; 132a-133a) Again, the Judge
found that “KORK’s correspondence with the Commis-
sion as to its commercial practices was mnfe with
inaccurate and misleading statements. The station was
deliberately pursuing a policy of scheduling more local
commercials during network breaks than could possibly
be accommodated.” (Pet. App. 132a-133a) (Emphasis

18

added.) If required, there can be no doubt that the
descriptive adjectives ‘“‘clear and convincing” could be
readily and truly applied to the evidence which was
“apparent” and “substantial” and “‘reasonably certain.”
To carp, as Western so manifestly does on this score, is
truly to elevate form over substance which was, of
course, clearly obvious to the Court of Appeals.

The plain fact is that the record in this case as to
Western was viewed and examined by the Court of
Appeals in accord with statutory requirements and the
mandate of this Court in Universal Camera, supra, and
its progeny and found to be fully supportive of the
findings and conclusions of the Commission. (Pet. App.
5a-6a) “On the clipping issue, the factual record
supports the Commission’s conclusion that KORK sub-
stituted local material for network broadcasts. ... There
is also substantial evidence in the record that Western’s
responses to Commission inquiries involved misrepresen-
tations and lacked candor. The F.C.C. opinion carefully
traces Western’s inaccurate characterizations of particu-
lar incidents and general practices... .” (Id. 5a)

The evidence of clipping or deletion of network
commercials leading to fraudulent billing was extensive
and convincing and was treated at length both in the
Initial Decision of the ALJ (Pet. App. 66a-73a), and in
the Decision of the Commission (Pet. App. 19a-26a).
There are few FCC cases, if any, revealing a more

explicit pattern of fraud and deceit than in the instant
one.

The accuracy of the charges of deletion of network
commercials set forth in the Bill of Particulars of the
Broadcast Bureau was conceded by Western and, during
the pendency of the cases before the Commission, it
compensated NBC for them. (Pet. App. 21a)

ee ne Oe ORM ee

Re ree

19

A more extensive study by Valley, covering only 1
week in each of 28 months of Western’s programming,
clearly established that all or part of 250 network
commercials were deleted thus conclusively indicating
that clipping of network commercials was not a random
sometime thing but ‘a common occurrence” and a
regular and frequent practice (Pet. App. 69a-70a), a
practice deliberately built into the station policy by its
managers both of whom were Western corporate of-
ficers.®

Western’s own analysis substantially confirmed the
accuracy of this clear and convincing evidence and
moved it, in a burst of belated “contrition,” to proffer
NBC more than $7 thousand for network commercials
billed to NBC but not carried by the station. (Pet. App.
71a-22a)

Moreover, as to the issue of misrepresentation and
lack of candor, the record disclosed that on four
separate occasions in 1970-1971 the Commission, acting
on complaints of the viewing public regarding intrusion
of local commercials upon network programs, specific-
ally inquired of Western just what was occurring at the
station in this respect. In light of the admitted practices
of Western in overloading network breaks with local

8 The painstaking investigation and assembly of documentary
evidence through comparison of station logs presented a burden-
some challenge not only because of time restrictions but also the
sheer enormity of the task. Thus, Valley’s indepth investigation
and subsequent evidence covered the documents for only 1 week
per month for 28 months of the 36 month license period.
Western claimed that its station records for the other 8 months
were destroyed in a fire at the station in March 1972. The daily
and weekly pattern of fraud on a large scale, however, was
obvious.

20

commercials, the responses to these inquiries were, as
found by the ALJ and the Commission, “rife with
inaccurate and misleading statements” (Pet. App. 133a)
designed to conceal the fraudulent practices of the
station. The record further discloses, as the Court of
Appeals noted, that these investigative inquiries were
carefully considered and analyzed by the Commission
(Pet. App. 5a; 26a-32a). Likewise, reference to the
Initial Decision of the ALJ indicates a concientious and
precise evaluation of them at length (Pet. App. 73a-83a;
132a-133a) leading to the inexorable conclusion that
“KORK’s subject correspondence contained deliberate
misrepresentations to the Commission and was lacking
in candor regarding its policies and practices in joining
network programs after their beginning, leaving network
programs before their end, and extending network
station or commercial breaks so as to affect the content
of the network programs.” (Id. 133a)

Because of the vast scope of its oversight responsi-
bilities and the manifold number of its licensees, the
Commission must rely on the candor and good faith of
those, like Western, entrusted with the use of a
property in the public domain—indeed, it must demand
it, Neighborly Broadcasting Co., Inc., 24 RR 959, 967
(1963), and “must refuse to tolerate deliberate mis-
representations.” Nick J. Chaconas, 28 FCC2d 231
(1971). As this Court has noted, deception or lack of
candor in F.C.C. operations constitutes a serious impair-
ment of the public interest and the very fact of
concealment may be more significant than the facts
concealed or the substance of the false statement.
F.C.C. v. WOKO, Inc., supra. As the Commission noted,
these misleading deceptions, standing alone, would
constitute sufficient grounds for rejecting Western as a
qualified applicant for continued licensing on the

21

frequency. And, as the Court of Appeals pointedly
noted: “The Commission has held, and the courts
affirmed, that misrepresentation of even immaterial
facts is a valid basis for non-renewal.” (Pet. App. 8a)
Citing: F.C.C. v. WOKO, Inc., supra, at 226-227;
Independent Broadcasting Co. v. F.C.C., 193 F.2d 900,
902 (D.C. Cir., 1951), cert. denied, 344 US. 837
(1952); Crowder v. F.C.C., 399 F.2d 569 (D.C. Cir.),
cert. denied, 393 U.S. 962 (1968). (Emphasis added.)

Finally, as the record in this case to date so
eloquently demonstrates, the evidence of Western’s
illegal avarice and chicanery was clear enough to
convince (1) a veteran Administrative Law Judge, wise
in the ways of the industry (Pet. App. 62a-142a); (2) a
unanimous array of the Commissioners of the Federal
Communications Commission (Pet. App. 17a-54a); (3) a
unanimous panel of seasoned Circuit Court Justices—a
panel with a collective record of 53 years of experience
in careful screening of F.C.C. and other agency cases
(Pet. App. la-16a); and (4) the corporation, Western,
itself, which was moved to acknowledge the false
billings for network commercials covered in_ the
Bureau’s Bill of Particulars and those confirmed by its
own study (Pet. App. 2la-22a).

Defenses and Sanction

Western complains of disparate treatment by the
Commission which the Court of Appeals allegedly
condoned. Hence, Western asserts that there is an
“important federal question” of wide application requir-
ing the intervention of this Court.

To the contrary, there is neither an important
federal question presented nor any valid basis for

22

complaint other than the normal “‘post-mortem”’ railings
that not infrequently accompany lost litigation.

First, the Commission gave full, attentive, and rea-
soned consideration to Valley’s defenses, fairly com-
pared the record with those cases involving lesser
administrative sanctions and adverted to those reasons
which compelled an obvious distinction. (Pet. App.
23a-26a) Further, the Court of Appeals undertook the
rational, concise consideration which Western’s exagger-
ated claims merited in light of the sordid, sullied record
of deliberate fraud and complete lack of candor as
disclosed in the misleading and false responses to
Commission inquiries. (Pet. App. 6a-8a) There is no
ground for complaint here.

_ Moreover, as to sanctions, the considerable primary
discretion accorded the Commission “‘in fashioning
remedies to maximize compliance with Commission
policy” has, in the public interest, been the accepted,
judicial rule, as cogently noted by the Court of Appeals
in rejecting Western’s contentions in this respect. (Pet.
App. 8a) Citing: F.C.C. v. WOKO, supra, at 228;
Greater Boston Television Corp. v. F.C.C., 444 F.2d
841, 857 (D.C. Cir., 1970), cert. denied sub nom.;
WHDH, Inc. v. F.C.C., 403 US. 923 (1971); Conti-
nental Broadcasting, Inc. v. F.C.C., 439 F.2d 580, 583
(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 403 U.S. 905 (1971); Lorain

Journal Co. v. F.C.C., 381 F.2d 824, 831 (D.C. Cir.,
1965).

Indeed, the decision of this Court in FCC. v.
WOKO, Inc., supra, is a convincing answer to the
unsubstantiated charge of Western here. There a com-
plaint concerning dissimilarity in FCC sanctions was
deemed groundless by a unanimous Court with the
holding that the Commission is not bound “to deal

ee

ee ar nk rt

23

with all cases at all times as it has dealt with some that
seem comparable.” (Id. at 228) Pointing out that
“denial of an application for a license ...is not a penal
measure,” this Court emphasized the latitude of discre-
tion that must be allowed to the Commission in
determining whether “the public interest will be served
by renewing the license.” Significantly, this Court
stated: “...the fact that we might not have made the
same determination on the same facts does not warrant
4 substitution of judicial for administrative discretion
since Congress has confided the problem to the latter.”
(Id. at 229)°

In essence, Western’s arguments are a repetition of
‘hose advanced before the Commission and the Court
of Appeals and found to be without merit. The strained
effort to dress them in a fashion hopefully to satisfy
the requirements for certiorari is singularly unavailing.
As noted supra, they have been carefully and fairly
considered and properly rejected. The credibility of
witnesses advancing so-called mitigating defenses is, in
the first instance the function of the ALJ as the hearing
officer, and, ultimately, the Commission. Dissatisfaction
with their judgments with respect to crediting such
testimony and evidence constitutes no basis for the
intervention of this Court.

*The principle of agency discretion in choosing sanctions has
been reiterated by this Court more recently in Butz v. Glover
Livestock Commission, 411 U.S. 182 (1973). See also: American
Power and Light Co. v. SEC, 329 U.S. 90, 112-113 (1946); 4 K.
Davis, Treatise on Administrative Law, Sec. 30.10 at 250-251
(1958).

24

Leak to Trade Press

Western’s allegation that a premature “leak” to the
trade press of the tentative decision of the Commission
following the close or oral argument deprived it of due
process, in some vague and undefined manner, was
thoroughly considered and investigated by the Commis-

sion and found to be without merit. (Pet. App.
143a-156a)

Importantly, none of the parties to the proceeding
were involved in the allegations nor did the charged
conduct touch upon the merits of the case. After
careful and reasoned consideratior. the Commission
found that the substantive matters involved in Western’s
allegations pertained wholly to the internal procedures
of the Commission and failed to establish a “basis for
finding that the leaks involved bias or prejudice,
indicated prejudgment of the merits of this proceeding,
or that additional hearings would do anything more
than delay the proceeding, without any likelihood of
altering the outcome.” Jn re Western Communications,
Inc., et al., 61 FCC2d 974, 975 (1976).

Western’s cry of “‘ex parte,” considerably muted if
not completely abandoned in this Court,!® was com-
pletely inapposite and without foundation as noted by
the Court of Appeals (Pet. App. 6a).

The incident of a temporary lapse in the internal
functions of the Commission is closely akin to the press
leak of a confidential decision of this Court cited by
Western in the Court below. There, this Court denied
permission to petitioners to file a supplemental memo-
randum directed to the alleged impact of the news leak

10Western does not claim that any leak is reversible error.”
(Pet. Brief, p. 32)

nn en ts Petia A

25

on the rights of the petitioners. No. 76-793, Erlichman
v. U.S.; No. 76-1081, Mitchell v. U.S., 45 L.W. 3718
(April 28, 1977). Subsequently, this Court denied
certiorari without comment on the purported claim of
prejudice arising from the premature disclosure to the
press. United States v. Haldeman, et al., 431 U.S. 933,
97 S. Ct. 2641 (1977).

Western’s contention that “‘thoughtful consideration
of the evidence” was prima facie precluded because of
the short lapse of time between oral argument and
tentative decision is completely at variance with the
rubrics of normal agency proceedings. The entire record
and the briefs of the parties were before the Commis-
sion for review and study for a substantial length of
time prior to oral argument, at which, of course, there
is no presentation of evidence.'! Presumably, the
Commission—like an appellate court—is familiar with
the record and issues involved in the oral argument.
Here, the palpable indictment of Western’s fraudulent
conduct by the overwhelming evidence of record,
including its own concession of deleting network trans-
missions including commercial content, the documented
evidence of Western’s deliberate misrepresentations and
lack of candor in response to Commission inquiries, left
little, if any, room for debate or doubt as to its
complete lack of requisite qualifications for renewal of

its license.

\I Briefs in this proceeding were filed with the Commission
December 2, 1974. Oral Argument was heard by the Commission
March 9, 1976.

26

Remand of Valley’s Application

In seeking review of the decision of the court of
appeals as it relates to Valley’s appeal which centered
on the adequacy of Valley’s bank letter, Western is
patently laboring under a misapprehension. Western
incorrectly claims (Pet., p. 33) that the court below
undertook extensive de novo review of the record in
Valley’s appeal and then substituted its judgment for
that of the Commission on Valley’s financial qualifica-
tions. Western further claims incorrectly that the Court
of Appeals exceeded the bounds of judicial review
prescribed by the Administrative Procedure Act, pro-
ceeded in conflict with decisions of this Court, and
jeopardized a fundamental statutory prerequisite of
broadcast licensing.

The record clearly shows that the court of appeals
reviewed the entire record pursuant to the applicable
requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act, 5
U.S.C. Section 76 and the mandate of this Court. As to
Valley’s bank letter, it was unable to find the required
evidence necessary to support the “substantial evi-
dence” requirement of the Administrative Procedure
Act. Being thus unable to find this “substantial evi-
dence” the court of appeals had no choice but to
reverse the Commission’s decision as it relates to
Valley’s bank letter.

Western likewise misconstrues the thrust of the cases
it cites as support for its incorrect argument that the
court of appeals was obligated to uphold the Commis-
sion’s decision. In both cases cited by Western, Atlantic
Refining Co. v. F.T.C., 381 U.S. 357 (1965) and S.E.C.
v. New England Electric System, 390 U.S. 207 (1968),
this court clearly stated that decisions of regulatory
agencies should be affirmed if the decision has ‘‘warrant

27

in the record” or is “adequately supported in the
record.” In the instant case, that key factor was totally
lacking as to Valley’s bank letter. As the court of
appeals stated (Pet. App. 10a):

“We find insufficient support for the Commission’s
finding that its (Valley’s) bank letter did not meet
the reasonable assurance standard... .”

In support of its incorrect argument that the court
below exceeded the proper scope of its judicial review,
Western cites F.C.C. v. National Citizens Committee for
Broadcasting, 436 U.S. 775 (1978); Vermont Yankee
Nuclear Power Corp. v. National Resources Defense
Council, Inc., 435 U.S. 519 (1978) and Mobil Oil Corp.
v. F.T.C. 417 U.S. 283 (1974). What Western fails to
comprehend is that its so-called scope of review is not
applicable to the instant case. F.C.C. v. Nattonal
Citizens Committee for Broadcasting and Vermont
Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. National Resources
Defense Council, Inc., supra, both deal with rulemaking
procedures of Government agencies. A different stan-
dard is applied in such agency rulemaking cases as this
Court noted in F.C.C. v. National Citizens Commission
for Broadcasting, supra, wherein it stated (at p. 801):

“We agree with the Court of Appeals that regula-
tions promulgated after informal rulemaking, while
not subject to review under the ‘substantial evi-
dence’ test of APA, 5 U.S.C. §706(2)(E), quoted
in n. 21, supra, may be invalidated by a reviewing
court under the ‘arbitrary or capricious’ standard if
they are not rational and based on consideration
of the relevant factors. Citizens to Preserve Over-
ton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 413-416, S.Ct.
814, 822-823, 28 L.Ed.2d 136 (1971).”

28

In the instant adjudicatory case the Court below
correctly applied the “substantial evidence” test. It was
unable to find the necessary “substantial evidence”’ as
to the bank letter and had no choice but to reverse the
Commission.

Mobil Oil Corp. v. F.C.C., supra, is likewise inap-
posite. In Mobil this Court affirmed a decision of the
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, which decision
had affirmed an Order of the Federal Power Commis-
sion. This Court stated that the action of the court of
appeals in that case was an appropriate exercise of
administrative discretion supported by substantial evt-
dence in the record as a whole. Again, the key factor of
substantial evidence in the record is lacking in the
instant case to support the Commission’s adverse find-
ings as to the bank letter.

There is no question that the court below correctly
followed the procedures outlined in the Administrative
Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. §706(1)(E) applicable to this
type of case. The court likewise adhered to the
mandate of this Court delineated in its decisions in
cases properly applicable to the instant case. [See
Universal Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., supra, and Beth
Israel Hospital v. N.L.R.B., 437 U.S. , 98 S.Ct.
3463 (1978)]. As required by the Act and the decisions
of this Court, the court below, in applying the required
“substantial evidence” test, canvassed the record to
determine whether the evidence relied upon by the
Commission provided the requisite substantial support.
The record did not support the Commission’s finding.
The Court had no choice but to remand.

The correct procedure to be followed by the review-
ing courts in cases such as this was clearly spelled out
by this Court in Universal Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B.,

29

supra, and recently reiterated in Beth Israel Hospital v.
N.L.R.B., supra. In Universal Camera, supra, this Court
went to great lengths in tracing the Congressional intent
and the legislative history of the Administrative Proce-
dures Act as it applies to the scope of judicial review. It
pointed out that the Court of Appeals was not
completely bound by decisions of Federal agencies. The
intent of Congress was made quite clear as to the scope
of review required by the Court of Appeals in dealing
with the review of decisions of Federal agencies such as
the National Labor Relations Board. This Court noted
(at 466):

“Reviewing courts must be influenced by a feeling
that they are not to abdicate the conventional
judicial function. Congress has imposed on them
responsibility for assuring that the Board keeps
within reasonable grounds. That responsibility is
not less real because it is limited to enforcing the
requirement that evidence appear substantial when
viewed, on the record as a whole, by courts
invested with authority and enjoying the prestige
of the Courts of Appeals. The Board’s findings are
entitled to respect; but they must nonetheless be
set aside when the record before a Court of
Appeals clearly precludes the Board’s decision
from being justified by a fair estimate of the
worth of the testimony of witnesses or its in-
formed judgment on matters within its special
competence of both.”

In the instant case the Court of Appeals properly
exercised its conventional judicial function. It took the
affirmative action required by both the Administrative
Procedures Act and the decisions of this Court. While
affording full respect to the Commission’s findings, it
reviewed the record and found lacking the substantial

30

evidence necessary to support the Commission’s find-
ings.

Western finally and incorrectly contends that the
Court of Appeals usurped the FCC’s statutory role (in
determining financial qualifications of broadcast appli-
cants by “... judicial bending of long-standing FCC
qualifications standards. ...’’). This claim is completely
inaccurate as reflected in the court of appeals opinion.
The court merely stated that the bank letter of Valley
met the “reasonable assurance” standard of the Com-
mission and stated further (Pet. App. 15a):

“We do not foreclose Commission consideration of
Valley’s complete financial qualifications.”

The Court of Appeals in no way has usurped the
Federal Communications Commission’s statutory role in
determining licensee qualifications.

CONCLUSION

There is, therefore, no substantial reason for this
Court to grant the petition for certiorari and, accord-
ingly, it should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

EDWARD P. MORGAN
JOSEPH M. MORRISSEY
ROBERT T. MURPHY

Attorneys for Respondent
Las Vegas Valley

WELCH & MORGAN Broadcasting Co.
300 Farragut Building

900 Seventeenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

March 8, 1979

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2445%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
