# Petition — Walker v. Newgent

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2415%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 441 U.S. 906

## Text

Supreme Court Uy] |
FILED :

JAN 30 1979

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1978

RANDALL O. WALKER,
Petitioner

Vv.

DALE S. NEWGENT AND GENERAL MOTORS
CORPORATION AND ITS OPEL DIVISION,
ITS SUBSIDIARY, ADAM OPEL AG,
Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

JAMAIL AND KOLIuS

RICHARD WARREN MITHOFF
Liz NEUMANN

3300 One Allen Center
Houston, Texas 77002

Attorneys for Petitioner

Aipas Low Brej Co., Une Main fase, No. 1 Main St., Houston, 1 exas 77002

INDEX

Page
Re OE I ch isingin o ancln rene ueerns deeded st + « 12

Call Carl, Inc. v. B. P. Oil Co., 391 F.Supp. 367 (D.C.
ET Wennt aWhdedeadhds <6o8 6666 cto cos snesses 12

Cannon Mfg. Co. v. Cudahy Co., 267 U.S. 333, 45 S.Ct.
eR Ee eer 6, 10, 11, 12

Crucible, Inc. v. Stora Kopparbergs AB, 403 F.Supp.9.... 11, 13
Flack Oil Co. v. Continental Oil Co., 277 F.Supp. 357

CEP CS ADGEY casccasr ccc ccccesccsapecpeeseses 12
Frito-Lay, Inc. v. Proctor & Gable Co. 364 F.Supp. 243,

250. (IND. Tex. 1973) .ccccccsscccccceccccccccveces 11,12
Great Western United Corp. v. Kidwell, 577 F.2d 1256,

BZOR-SV COUR GE. 1978) oc oi icc c cess cc ccc cccccces 7,13
Gurley v. Lindsley, 459 F.2d 268 (Sth Cir. 1972); 466

PE ME Noche sde wees Sede ksvssnccsncdesecoecesers 7

II

CASES

Hitt v. Nissan Motor Co., 399 F.Supp. 838, 849 (S.D: Fla.
DER DEL shee chbca WHRENAe Samad 6 em be de ce ebebcsbsns
Hoppenfeld v. Crook, 498 S.W.2d 52, 56 (Tex. Civ. App.—
eg ES ere
International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 66
Ses ee Mas FO CLOSE). ccc cciecedecuiccccccs
Jetco Electronic Indus., Inc. v. Gardiner, 473 F.2d 1228,
i a EE oo CECE ah’ t 6s @hblea vaebewbe be és
Lone Star Motor Import, Inc. v. Citroen Cars Corp., 185
F.Supp. 48 (S.D. Tex. 1960); 288 F.2d 69 (Sth Cir.
re ae rh he) sehik sis 5 ous picdwida's
O.S.C. Corp. v. Toshiba American, Inc., 491 F.2d 1064
(9th Cir. 1972) ..... UPR aah eee Khan hehe ane
Product Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d 483, 489,
MN I I UO sac Dalene va bie can ocuiece
Reul v. Sahara Hotel, 372 F.Supp. 995, 997 (S.D. Tex.
Ue Ne cach iuailckca caus aoas
Tokyo Boeki (U.S.A.), Inc. v. S. S. Navarino, 324 F.Supp.
TEED sa tiwnasnadedekivhsederd Checks’
U-Anchor Advertising, Inc. v. Burt, 553 S.W.2d 760 (Tex.
PET TE. 2 VAG NAd a Vai ost hes ewes b004s chweadervecrs
United States v. Scophony Corp. of America, 333 U.S. 795,
68 S.Ct. 855, 92 L.Ed. 1091 (1948) ........cccccceees
Walker v. Newgent, 442 F.Supp. 38 (S.D. Tex. 1977); 583
ML Che UN s Seth cee eho sba ca eNebswacewebeeseces
Zenith Radio Corp. v. Matsushita Electronics, 402 F.Supp.
262 (E.D. Pa. 1975)........ hebieabuadnescuseadet< be

STATUTES
IE I Sd a i dis ee a De els ee weal
Nt PR es eee Ce awe u owe
Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. ANN; art. 2031(b) ............ & fi
TEXTS

Comment, Jurisdiction Over Parent Corporations, 51 Calif.
ED a Site EEL ae ca wies, naa week cane
Wellborn, Subsidiary Corporations in New York. When is
Mere Ownership Enough to Establish Jurisdiction Over
the Parent, 22 Buff. L. Rev. 681 (1973) .............
Bem, THACE. Beri: 102 CIDER) on ook cckceecccccccccs
Pee SUN. Wi Oe CEUUEE SccccicnnsespeOedvecse

11
11

NO.

Supreme Court of the Hnited Dtates

OcTOBER TERM, 1978

RANDALL O. WALKER,
Petitioner

Vv

DALE S. NEWGENT AND GENERAL MOTORS
CORPORATION AND ITS OPEL DIVISION,
ITS SUBSIDIARY, ADAM OPEL AG,
Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Randall O. Walker, prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the Judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered
in the above case on November 2, 1978.

2
I.

OPINIONS OF THE COURTS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported in
583 F.2d 163 and is hereto appended in Appendix A.
The district court’s opinion in this same case is reported
at 442 F.Supp. 38 (S.D. Tex. 1977); see Appendix B.

II.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court below was entered on No-
vember 2, 1978 (Appendix A).

This Court has jurisdiction of this application for the
writ of certiorari pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
Til.

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Is Adam Opel AG (“Opel”) amenable to suit in the
State of Texas under Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. ANN. art.

2031(b) and the U. S. Constitution.
IV.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,
AND RULES INVOLVED

| Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. ANN. art. 2031(b) provides in
pertinent part as follows:

Article 2031(b). Service of process upon foreign
corporations and nonresidents.

3

Failure to appoint agent; designation of Secretary
of State as lawful attorney.

Sec. 1. When any foreign corporation . . . subject
to Section 3 of this Act, has not appointed or main-
tained a designated agent, upon whom service of
process can be made . . . such corporation . . . shall
be conclusively presumed to have designated the
Secretary of State of Texas as their true and lawful
attorney upon whom service of process or com-
plaint may be made.

* * *

Act of engaging in business in state as equivalent
to appointment of Secretary of State as agent.

Sec. 3 Any foreign corporation . . . that engages
in business in this State . . . and does not maintain
a place of regular business in this State or a desig-
nated agent upon whom service may be made upon
causes of action arising out of such business done
in this State, the act or acts of engaging in such
business within this State shall be deemed equivalent
to an appointment by such foreign corporation . . .
of the Secretary of State of Texas as agent upon
whom service of process may be made in any action,
suit, or proceeding arising out of such business
done in this State, wherein such corporation . . . is
a party or is to be made a party.

Doing Business in state; definition.

Sec. 4. For the purpose of this Act, and without
including other acts that may constitute business,
any foreign corporation . . . shall be deemed doing
business in this State by entering into contract by
mail or otherwise with a resident of Texas to be
performed in whole or in part by either party in
this State, or the committing of any tort in whole
or in part in this State.

V.

‘ STATEMENT OF CASE

The basis for federal jurisdiction in the court of first
instance is diversity of citizenship pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1332. Service is sought under the Texas long-arm
Sstatuie, Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. ANN. art. 2031(b).

While riding as a passenger in a 1963 Opel Rekord
which was involved in an automobile collision in Ger-
many, Petitioner Walker, who was in Germany serving
as a member of the United States Armed Forces, was
totally disabled and blinded. He sued Newgent, the driver
of the car, for negligence and subsequently settled with
him. He also sued General Motors and Adam Opel AG
(“Opel”) on the basis of negligence, strict liability in
tort for the defective design and manufacture of the
windshield glass in the 1963 Opel Rekord, and breach
of express and implied warranties. The automobile in
question was designed, manufactured, and marketed by
the defendants, General Motors Corporation and Adam
Opel AG. Adam Opel AG is a German corporation con-
stituting a wholly-owned subsidiary of General Motors
Corporation, a United States corporation doing business
throughout the United States, including Houston, Harris
County, Texas.

This action was filed on April 12, 1973. Process was
served through a single citation in April, 1973, on Gen-
eral Motors corporation and its subsidiary, Adam Opel
AG, through General Motor’s agent for service of pro-
cess, C. T. Corporation Systems in Dallas, Texas. Attor-
neys for General Motors filed an answer purportedly on
behalf of General Motors and Adam Opel AG. Following

5

discovery, these same attorneys filed a motion to with-
draw the answer filed for Opel on the basis that Opel
was a separate corporate entity organized under German
law having no agent for service in Texas and that the
answer filed on its behalf was without its authorization
or knowledge. On August 12, 1974, the district court
ordered that separate citations be issued and served on
Opel. In response to that order, plaintiff served (1) C. T.
Corporation, (2) Mr. T. M. Wetzel, Secretary-Treasurer
of Al Parker Buick Company, a local automobile dealer,
(3) Mrs. A. R. Varela, Secretary to the zone service
manager of the Buick Motor Division of G.M., and (4)
the Secretary to State of Texas, pursuant to TEx. REV.
Crv. Stat. ANN. art. 2031(b). Opel moved the court to
vacate and set aside service of process and to dismiss for
lack of personal jurisdiction, submitting affidavits from
the first three persons listed above reflecting that they
were not authorized to receive service for Opel. The
district court granted Opel’s motion. See Walker v.
Newgent, 442 F.Supp. 38 (S.D. Tex. 1977).

Subsequently, General Motors moved for summary
judgment on the grounds that (1) it did not design,
manufacture, or sell the automobile in question and (2)
there was no ground for disregarding the separate cor-
porate existence of Opel, as the trial court had already
held when it granted Opel’s motion to dismiss. The district
court granted G.M.’s motion on February 6, 1978.

VI.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. This case merits review by this Court on certiorari
because the Court of Appeals has misinterpreted the de-

6

gree of control required by one corporation over another
so as to permit imputing to the controlling corporation
the business done within the forum state by the other
corporation.

B. This case merits review by this Court on certiorari
to reconsider the applicability of Cannon Mfg. Co. v.
Cudahy Co., 267 U.S. 333, 45 S.Ct. 250, 69 L.Ed. 635
(1925) in light of the decision in International Shoe Co.
v. Washirgton, 326 U.S. 310, 66 S.Ct. 154, 90 L.Ed.
95 (1945) to a situation where “doing business” is
complicated by the presence of a parent-subsidiary rela-
tionship between corporations.

C. This case merits review by this Court on certiorari
to clarify the fact that corporate law liability principles
and constitutional due process provisions for jurisdiction
are not coextensive.

D. This case merits review by this Court on certiorari
to settle the issue that foreseeable effects within the forum
of a defendant’s activities outside the forum can be
sufficient to maintain in personam jurisdiction when pur-
poseful and substantial advantage, though indirect, has
been taken of the forum market.

VII.

ARGUMENT

THE DEGREE OF CONTROL BY GM OVER OPEL
IS SUFFICIENT TO ESTABLISH JURISDICTION
OVER OPEL

The power of a federal court to acquire in personam
jurisdiction over a nonresident defendant in a diversity of
citizenship case turns on two independent considerations.

7

First, the law of the state in which the federal court
sits must confer jurisdiction over the person of the de-
fendant; and secondly, if it does, the exercise of juris-
diction under state law must comport with basic due
process requirements of the United States Constitution.’
The burden is on the plaintiff to make a prima facie show-
ing of the facts on which jurisdiction is predicated.’

In Texas, the applicable statutory authority concerning
service of process and personal jurisdiction is Article
2031(b) of Vernon’s Texas Revised Civil Statutes An-
notated. The Fifth Circuit has recognized that Article
2031(b) represents an effort by Texas to reach as far
as federal constitutional requirements of due process will
permit in exercising in personam jurisdiction over non-
resident defendants.’ In view of this approach by the
Fifth Circuit, most challenges to personal jurisdiction of
non-resident defendants arising under the Texas Long-
Arm Statute, whether in federal or state court, should
be and have been determined in accordance with consti-
tutional considerations.*

1. Product Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d 483, 489 (Sth
Cir. 1974); Jetco Electronic Indus., Inc. v. Gardiner, 473 F.2d
1228, 1232 (Sth Cir. 1973); Atwood Hatcheries v. Heisdorf and
Nelson Farms, 357 F.2d 847, 852 (Sth Cir. 1966).

2. Product Promotions. Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d at 491.

3. Great Western United Corp. v. Kidwell, 577 F.2d 1256 (Sth
Cir. 1978), citing Product Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d
483; Jetco Electronic Indus., Inc. v. Gardiner, 473 F.2d 1228; and
U-Anchor Advertising, Inc. v. Burt, 553 S.W.2d 760 (Tex. 1977);
Gurley v. Lindsley, 459 F.2d 268 (Sth Cir. 1972), mandate amended
466 F.2d 498.

4. See Atwood Hatcheries v. Heisdorf and Nelson Farms, 357
F.2d 847; Lone Star Motor Import, Inc. v. Citroen Cars Corp. 185
F.Supp. 48 (S.D. Tex. 1960), rev’d on other grounds, 288 F.2d 69
(Sth Cir, 1961); Hoppenfeld v. Crook, 498 S.W.2d 52, 56 (Tex. Civ.
App.—Austin 1973, writ ref’d. n.r.e.).

8 .

One way to establish a prima facie case under Article
2031(b) is to have the plaintiff show that the defendant
was doing business in the state and that the present action
arises out of such business.°

Both the Texas courts and the Fifth Circuit have em-
ployed alter-ego and agency theories to justify a finding
that the parent is doing business in Texas through its
subsidiary.° The appellate panel in the instant case has
stated that these theories are equally applicable to the
present situation where jurisdiction is sought over the
subsidiary through its parent’s local activities.’

The Court of Appeals has ruled that petitioner has not
presented evidence establishing such a degree of control
by General Motors over Opel as to permit imputing the
business done in Texas by GM to its subsidiary Opel.
Petitioner submits that the record reflects otherwise as is
shown in the following:

1) Adam Opel AG was a wholly owned subsidiary
of General Motors Corporation.

2) GM is presently doing business in Texas and
was doing business in the 1960’s and the 1970’s
in the State of Texas.

3) Adam Opel AG was designing, manufacturing,
and marketing Opels, including the Opel Re-
kord in 1963 both for export to the United
States and for sale in the United States as well
as for sale abroad.

5. Product Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d at 491.

6. Reul v. Sahara Hotel, 372 F.Supp. 995, 997 (S.D. Tex. 1974)
Product Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d at 492-93; Hitt v.
Nissan Motor Co., 399 F.Supp. 838 (S.D. Fla. 1975).

7. Walker v. Newgent, 583 F.2d 619.

4)

5)

6)

7)

8)

9)

9

Mr. Bill Morey, the zone manager of the Buick
Division of General Motors, testifed by depo-
sition that it was his function to act as liaison
in the sale and service of the Buick products
to the 109 dealers in the Houston zone, and that
the sale and service of the Buick parts included
the sale and service of the Opel.

Mr. Morey testified that his chief function with
respect to Opels was to see that they were prop-
erly distributed to the dealers, and he confirmed
that the Opel automobiles were being shipped
from Germany to the Port of Houston during
the time in question in the 1960's and the 1970’s.
There were at least four or five dealers in Hous-
ton during the time in question who were selling,
servicing, and advertising Opel automobiles.

It was clearly the intention of Adam Opel AG
during the time in question that Opel auto-
mobiles be exported to this country, including
Texas, on the orders of the parent, General
Motors Corporation.

Mr. Shea testified that in his position as Director
of Marketing Staff Operations of the Overseas
Division of General Motors he was the liaison
man for importing the Opel from Germany to
the United States from 1963 until 1975.

Several hundred persons in the Overseas Divi-
sion of General Motors worked abroad in Ger-
many and several thousand worked here in the
United States. '

Mr. Shea testified that he discussed with Adam
Opel, at least several times a week during the
period in question, the home delivery program
which was concerned with the placing of indivi-
dual orders from United States customers.

10

10) Mr. Scheskat, manager of the export division of
Adam Opel during the period in question, visited
this country on at least one or two occasions
to discuss business matters with GM.

CANNON IS INAPPLICABLE IN A
PARENT-SUBSIDIARY SETTING AFTER
INTERNATIONAL SHOE

As a general test, Texas has adopted the rationale of
Cannon Mfg. Co. v. Cudahy Co.* to determine whether
the parent and subsidiary are one and the same cor-
porate entity for purposes of jurisdiction.’ Cannon was
decided under the older “doing business” standard rather
than the more liberal “minimum contacts” test of Jnter-
national Shoe;"® therefore, petitioner asserts that the
‘Cannon test is not mandated by the due process clause.
Moreover, Mr. Justice Brandeis stated expressly that
Cannon does not raise directly any “question of the con-
stitutional powers of the State, or of the federal govern-
ment.”"* In Hitt v. Nissan Motor Co.,"* the court dis-
tinguished Cannon, in part on the ground that; “.. .
Cannon involved no question of the constitutional powers
of the state or of the federal government but it was
merely the Supreme Court’s interpretation of what activi-
ties constituted “doing business” within a forum and thus
involved the concept of “presence” and not the less rigid

8. 276 U.S. 333 (1925).

9. E.g. Murdock v. Volvo of America Corp., 403 F.Supp. 55
(N.D. Tex. 1975).

10. International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945).
11. 267 US. at 336.
12. 399 F.Supp. at 849,

11

“minimum contacts” test of International Shoe.”** Thus
rejecting the Cannon standard and notions of “piercing
the corporate veil,” the court decided the jurisdiction
question on the basis of minimum contacts and the state
long-arm statute.** The thrust of petitioner’s application
is to shut the door the Fifth Circuit panel has left open
with its holding in the present case. There is potential
for unfairness under Cannon, and this has become a re-
ality through Opel’s taking advantage of doing business
within Texas through GM while remaining immune from
suit.”*

Cannon should not apply to cases such as the present
one where the nonresident corporation is a foreign na-
tional since in such a case a finding that the foreign
corporation is not amenable to service of process ef-
fectively precludes the claimant any remedy or relief in
courts of this country. The court in Frito-Lay, Inc. v.

13. Jd. at 849.

14. A number of commentators argue that Cannon should be dis-
carded as the jurisdictional test. See Note, N.C.L. Rev. 181 (1958)
(argues Cannon’s application inappropriate since Erie-Tompkins) ;
Wellborn, Subsidiary Corporations in New York. When is Mere
Ownership Enough to Establish Jurisdiction Over the Parent, 22
Burr. L. Rev. 681 (1973) (Cannon rationale should be abolished
and replaced with “single economic entity” test); Comment, Juris-
diction Over Parent Corporations, 51 Catrr. L. Rev. 574 (1963)
(Identifies the exceptions to the Cannon rule). See also O.S.C. Corp.
v. Toshiba America, Inc., 491 F.2d 1064 (9th Cir. 1974) noted 8
Vanp. J. Trans. L. 249 (1974). .

15. See Crucible, Inc. v. Stora Kopparbergs Bergslags AB, 403
F.Supp. 9, 13 (W.D. Pa. 1975). Cf Harris v. Deere & Co., 223 F.2d
161, 162 (4th Cir. 1955) (following majority rule although “[mJuch
can be said in support of the view that a manufacturer which dis-
tributes its product by selling it to a wholly owned and completely
controlled subsidiary, should, for purposes of jurisdiction in the
courts, be held to be doing business where the subsidiary sells the

product”).

12

Proctor & Gamble Co."* suggests that Cannon should
be less strictly applied in the case of a foreign national.

CORPORATE LIABILITY AND JURISDICTIONAL
TESTS ARE NOT IDENTICAL

It is petitioner’s position that the Texas long-arm
Statute authorizes jurisdiction over a foreign based cor-
poration solely because of the sufficiently appropriate
activities of its parent within the forum.’’ Such authori-
zation is well within the minimum contacts required by
due process. Where courts have held that a parent-sub-
sidiary relationship is insufficient to support jurisdiction
over the parent when the subsidiary maintains clearly
established minimum contacts with the forum, the lack
of jurisdiction has been adjudicated by applying principles
of corporate law historically used to establish ultimate
liability. However, the petitioner urges that these prin-
ciples are not required, nor even warranted, to establish
jurisdiction under minimum contacts requirements. Thus,
there is no constitutional impediment to a long-arm
statute authorizing jurisdiction over a corporation on the

16. 364 F.Supp. 243, 250 (N.D. Tex. 1973) citing Boryk v. de-
Havilland Aircraft Co., 341 F.2d 666 (2d Cir. 1965); Tokyo Boeki
(U.S.A.), Inc. v. S. S. Navarino, 324 F.Supp. (S.D. N.Y. 1971).
Compare United States v. Scophony Corp. of America, 333 U.S. 795
(1948). There is a split of opinion as to whether Scophony overruled
Cannon by implication in the context of antitrust litigation. See Frito-
Lay, Inc. v. Proctor & Gamble Co. 364 F.Supp. 243 (Cannon still
good law); Call Carl, Inc. v. B. P. Oil Co., 391 F.Supp. 367 (D.C.
Md. 1975) (Cannon no longer applicable to antitrust cases). See
also Zenith Radio Corp. v. Matsushita Electronics, 402 F.Supp. 262
(E.D. Pa. 1975); Flack Oil Co. v. Continental Oil Co., 277 F.Supp.
357 (D.C. Colo. 1967).

17. See Hitt v. Nissan Motor Co., 399 F.Supp. 838.

13

basis of its subsidiaries’ or parent’s activities in the
state.**

IN CERTAIN SITUATIONS, FORESEEABLE
EFFECTS OF DEFENDANT’S ACTIVITIES ARE
SUFFICIENT TO MAINTAIN JURISDICTION

The appellate panel erred in holding that plaintiff did
not meet the “minimum contacts” requirements set out
most recently by the Fifth Circuit in Great Western
United Corp. v. Kidwell.’® Reading the “minimum con-
tacts” requirement as broadly as due process permits,
the Kidwell court declared that these contacts “need not
arise from actual physical activity in the forum state;
activities in other forums with foreseeable effects in the
forum state will suffice.”*° Petitioner maintains that
Opel’s activities in Germany, especially considering its
substantial dealings with GM, have such foreseeable
effects in Texas. Opel was well aware that its cars would
reach the United States and Texas and that the end
disposition would be American consumers. A paper trans-
action in Germany should not be allowed to be raised
as an “immunity from suit” shield while Opel was taking
purposeful, though indirect, advantage of Texas markets.

For the foregoing reasons it is submitted that the
Petition for Certiorari should be granted to review the

18. Jd.; Crucible, Inc. v. Stora Kopparbergs AB, 403 F.Supp. 9.

19. 577 F.2d 1256.
20. Jd. at 1266-67.

14

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMAIL AND KOLIuS
3300 One Allen Center
Houston, Texas 77002

RICHARD WARREN MITHOFF
Attorney-in-charge

Liz NEUMANN, Of Counsel

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that three true and correct copies of
the foregoing instrument were forwarded to John T.
Golden and John E. Kennedy, VINSON & ELKINS,
2100 First City National Bank Building, Houston, Texas
77002 on this ___ day of January, 1979, by certified
mail, return receipt requested.

15
APPENDIX A
RANDALL O. WALKER, Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

GALE S. NEWGENT and General Motors
Corporation and its Opel Division, it subsidiary,
Adam Opel, AG, Defendants-Appellees.

No. 78-1371
Summary Calendar.*

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS,
FIFTH CIRCUIT

Nov. 2, 1978.

A passenger injured in an automobile collision in Ger-
many brought an action, inter alia, against manufacturer
of automobile, alleging that vehicle was defectively manu-
factured and unsafe and that such defects were proximate
cause of the injuries. The United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas, John V. Singleton, Jr.,
J., 442 F.Supp. 38, dismissed case and passenger ap-
pealed. The Court of Appeals, Gee, Circuit Judge, held
that the manufacturer, which was a wholly owned Ger-
man subsidiary of an American automobile manufacturer
doing business in the district, was not amenable to service
of process under the Texas long-arm statute.

Affirmed.

* Rule 18, 5th Cir.; see Isbell Enterprises, Inc. v. Citizens Cas.
Co. of New York et al., Sth Cir., 1970, 431 F.2d 409, Part I.

16

Richard W. Mithoff, Houston, Tex., for plaintiff-
appellant.

John T. Golden, John E. Kennedy, Houston, Tex., for
General Motors Corp. and Adam Opel AG, Vinson &
Elkins,

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas.

Before RONEY, GEE and FAY, Circuit Judges.
GEE, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff-appellant, Randall Walker, while a member
of the United States Armed Forces in Germany, was a
passenger in a 1963 Opel Rekord when it was involved
in an automobile collision on December 7, 1970, in
Germany. He suffered permanent injuries and sued New-
gent, the driver of the car, for negligence, subsequently
settling with him. He also sued General Motors and
Adam Opel AG (Opel) in Texas on the basis of negli-
gence, strict liability in tort for the defective and dan-
gerous design and manufacture of the windshield glass in
the 1963 Opel Rekord, and breach of express and implied
warranties. Plaintiff has based jurisdiction on diversity
of citizenship, seeking service under the Texas long-arm
statute.

- The automobile in question was designed, manufac-
tured and sold by Opel, a wholly owned subsidiary of
General Motors located in Germany. Opel is a German
corporation with its principal place of business in Russel-
sheim and is primarily engaged in the manufacture of
automobiles. Opel has never maintained an office or place
of business within the State of Texas, or, indeed, within

bd

17

the United States. Opel has no agents, servants, or em-
ployees of the company assigned sales responsibility
operating within the State of Texas or the United States.
Opel has never entered into any contract which requires
performance by it in whole or in part within the State
of Texas, nor has it any assets located there. In the past
years no automobile sales were made to importers (i.e.,
auto dealers) in the State of Texas. All sales made to
the United States importer or distributor are FOB at a
point outside the United States. Title to the automobiles,
which become property of the importer, passes to the
importer prior to their entry into the United States. The
sole importer to which Opel sells automobiles for resale
in the United States is Buick Motor Division of General
Motors Corporation. Indeed, the relationship between
GM and Adam Opel AG has been characterized as one
of customer and seller.

Opel, which has its own engineering and design staff
and its own sources of supply, manufactures automobiles
primarily for the German and other European markets.
The automobile involved in the accident at issue in this
case, a 1963 Opel Rekord, was not one of those sold
to Buick for export to the United States. It was purchased
secondhand by Newgent in Germany, and the model in
question was not at that time being exported to the
United States.

This action was filed on April 12, 1973. Process was
served through a single citation in April 1973 on General
Motors Corporation and its subsidiary, Opel, through
General Motors’ agent for service of process, C. T. Cor-
poration Systems in Dallas, Texas. On August 12, 1974,
the district court ordered that separate citations be issued

18

and served on Opel. In response to that order, plaintiff
served (1) C. T. Corpration, (2) Mr. T. M. Wetzel,
Secretary-Treasurer of Al Parker Buick Company, a local
automobile dealer, (3) Mrs. A. R. Varela, Secretary to
the zone service manager of the Buick Motor Division of
GM, and (4) the Secretary to State of Texas, pursuant
to Tex. Rev. Civ. STAT. ANN, art. 2031b. Opel moved
the court to vacate and set aside service of process and to
dismiss for lack of personal jurisdiction, submitting affi-
davits from the first three persons listed above reflecting
that they were not authorized to receive service for Opel.
The district court granted Opel’s motion. Walker v. New-
gent, 442 F.Supp. 38 (S.D. Tex. 1977).

Subsequently, General Motors moved for summary
judgment on grounds that (1) it did not design, manu-
facture or sell the automobile in question, and (2) there
was no ground for disregarding the separate corporate
existence of Opel, as the district court had already held
when it granted Opel’s motion to dismiss. On February
6, 1978, the district court granted GM’s motion.

Plaintiff has appealed this judgment, asserting that the
district court does have personal jurisdiction of Opel.
Plaintiff contends that he has made out a prima facie
case that the defendant Opel is doing business in the
State of Texas through the activities of and based on the
relationship with its parent corporation, the defendant
GM, and that this cause of action arises out of and is
connected with the marketing and selling of Opel auto-
mobiles, both in this country and abroad. Plaintiff further
maintains that the degree of ownership and control of
GM over Opel clearly rises to the level necessary to im-
pute business in Texas by GM Corporation to its wholly
owned subsidiary, Opel.

19

Furthermore, plaintiff argues, since the court has in
personam jurisdiction over Opel and since the business
of Opel is clearly imputed to GM, the granting of the
motion for summary judgment filed by the defendant
GM should be reversed.

[1, 2] Plaintiff has predicated the existence of in per-
sonam jurisdiction over Opel on the Texas long-arm
statute, Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 2031b. In deciding
whether the state jurisdictional statute confers jurisdic-
tion over a nonresident defendant in a diversity suit, it
must be determined that (1) the defendant is in fact
amenable to service under the statute (state law of the
forum controls this question), and (2) if the state statute
has been complied with, then federal law must be ap-
plied to determine whether assertion of jurisdiction over
the defendant comports with due process. Jetco Electronic
Industries, Inc. v. Gardiner, 473 F.2d 1228 (5th Cir.
1973); Product Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d
483 (Sth Cir. 1974); Wilkerson v. Fortuna Corp., 554
F.2d 745 (Sth Cir. 1977). Plaintiff, the party seeking
to invoke the court’s jurisdiction, has the burden of es-
tablishing that jurisdiction by making a prima facie show-
ing of facts on which it may be predicated. Product
Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d at 490-91.

The Texas long-arm statute provides that one who “does
business” in the state is amenable to. process in suits
arising from such business. Since Opel, a German corpo-
ration, has neither assets, office, agents, nor employees
in Texas, the traditional manifestations of “doing busi-
ness” are not present. Also significant is the fact that
even though Opel sold cars to Buick Motor Division of
GM, the car in question was a model which was not

20

manufactured for export and in fact was sold second-
hand in Germany; further, regarding those cars which
were sold for export, title passed in Germany, and no
contracts for sale were entered into or to be performed
in the State of Texas.

[3] “Doing business” also includes entering into a
contract to be performed in whole or in part within the
state and the commission of a tort in whole or in part
within the state. See Jetco Electronic Industries, Inc. v.
Gardiner, supra; Product Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau,
supra; Wilkerson v. Fortuna Corp., supra. Jetco provides
a gloss for the tort aspect of “doing business”:

It is immaterial that the tortious act occurred out-
side the state, for it is well established that the
statute extends to injury occurring within the state
as a result of a wrongful act committed outside the
state. [citations omitted]

473 F.2d at 1232 n. 5. In the instant case, Opel did not
commit a tort in whole or in part within the State of
Texas. First, the automobile in question was designed
and manufactured in Germany. Furthermore, the acci-
dent which is the basis of this suit also occurred in
Germany. Thus, the activity here does not satisfy the
tort provision of the Texas long-arm statute.

[4] As for the contract portion of the Texas long-
arm statute, for jurisdiction to lie appellant must make
a prima facie showing that “(1) a contract to be per-
formed in whole or in part within Texas existed between

itself and appellees and (2) the present suit arose out |

of that contractual arrangement.” Product Promotions,
Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d at 491. Since the record con-

21

tains no evidence of any contract between plaintiff and
either defendant, this provision of the statute is likewise
inapplicable.

Nor can it be said that Opel, because of its admitted
sales of Opel automobiles to GM for resale in the United
States, is doing business in Texas. Article 2031b does
expressly state that there are “other acts that may con-
stitute doing business,” and it is true that this circuit
has upheld the exercise of jurisdiction on the basis of a
manufacturer’s placing a defective product in the “stream
of commerce”; but these cases have involved an injury
that occurred in the forum state, and the court was con-
struing the tort clause of the statute. See Coulter v. Sears,
Roebuck & Co., 426 F.2d 1315 (5th Cir. 1970); Eyerly
Aircraft Co. v. Killian, 414 F.2d 591 (Sth Cir. 1969).
A further factual distinction is that the Opel Rekord at
issue was introduced into international commerce and
was never put into service in the United States. See
Reich v. Signal Oil & Gas Co., 409 F.Supp. 846 (S.D.
Tex. 1974), aff'd, 530 F.2d 974 (Sth Cir. 1976).

[5] Notwithstanding all of the above, personal juris-
diction can still be found to exist over Opel if the rela-
tionship between the parent corporation, GM, which does
business in the State of Texas, and the subsidiary German
corporation, Opel, is one which would allow the court
to find that the doing of business of the parent corpora-
tion can be imputed to the subsidiary. Reul v. Sahara
Hotel, 372 F.Supp. 995 (S.D. Tex. 1974). Plaintiff con-
tends that such a relationship exists. Since the alleged
agency is one of the facts upon which appellant predicates
his argument for jurisdiction, he has the “burden of mak-
ing a prima facie showing of [its] existence.” Product

22

Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d at 492. Plaintiff
has not met his burden.

Our cases dealing with the agency relationship with
regard to in personam jurisdiction and the requirement
of doing business address the situation where jurisdiction
is sought over the parent corporation through its sub-
sidiary’s local activities. See Product Promotions, Inc.
v. Cousteau, 495 F.2d at 492 and cases cited therein.
The issue in the instant case is the reverse of that situa-
tion, but the same legal principles apply.

Plaintiff asserts that “[t]he degree of ownership and
control of General Motors Corporation over Adam Opel
AG clearly rises to the level necessary to impute business
in Texas by General Motors Corporation to its wholly-
owned subsidiary, Adam Opel AG.” However, the evi-
dence does not support this claim. As the record shows
and the district court determined, the two corporations
“do not have the same corporate offices or the same regis-
tered agent, nor are there any mutual officers or direc-
tors. There are no facts to support a prima facie case of
actual control.” Furthermore, the record establishes that
Opel maintains its own engineering and design staff and
its own sources of supply and that at most only eleven
percent of its total production output was ever sold to
Buick in any one year. As noted earlier, deposition
testimony characterizes the relationship between GM and
Opel as one of customer-manufacturer.

[6] Although GM does own 100% of Opel’s stock,
this fact alone is not sufficient to fuse the subsidiary into
the parent corporation for the purpose of establishing an
agency relationship. See Cannon Manufacturing Co. v.

23

Cudahy Packing Co., 267 U.S. 333, 45 S.Ct. 250, 69
L.Ed. 634 (1925); Turner v. Jack Tar Grand Bahama,
353 F.2d 954 (Sth Cir. 1965); Reul v. Sahara Hotel,
supra. Indeed, in Gentry v. Credit Plan Corp., 528 S.W.
2d 571, 573 (Tex. 1975), the Texas Supreme Court
stated that:

A subsidiary corporation will not be regarded as the
alter ego of its parent because of stock ownership,
a duplication of some or all of the directors or of-
ficers, or an exercise of control that stock owner-
ship gives to stockholders.

Thus plaintiff has not presented evidence establishing
such a degree of control by General Motors over Opel
as to permit imputing the business done in Texas by
GM to its subsidiary Opel.

Finally, it is true that the Texas long-arm statute
“authorizes assertion of personal jurisdiction over non-
residents to the limits of due process.” Great Western
United Corp. v. Kidwell, 577 F.2d 1256 (Sth Cir. 1978),
citing Jetco, supra; Product Promotions, supra; and
U-Anchor Advertising, Inc. v. Burt, 553 S.W.2d 760
(Tex. 1977). This court’s most recent due process analy-
sis is found in Kidwell:

[T]he governing principle is the fairness of sub-
jecting a defendant to suit in a distant forum. Only
if the nonresident defendant has such “minimum
contacts” with the state “that the maintenance of
the suit does not offend ‘traditional notions of fair
play and justice’,” International Shoe Co. v. Wash-
ington, 326 U.S. 310, 66 S.Ct. 154, 90 L.Ed. 95
(1945), or if the defendant has performed some act
“by which [it] purposefully avails itself of the privi-

24

lege of conducting activities within the forum State,
thus invoking the benefits and protections of its
laws,” Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235, 78 S.Ct.
1228, 2 L.Ed.2d 1283 (1958); McGee v. Inter-
national Life Insurance Co., 355 U.S. 220, 78 S.Ct.
199, 2 L.Ed.2d 223 (1957), may the forum, con-
sistently with due process, extend its long arm to
embrace it. Jetco Electronic Industries, 473 F.2d
at 1234; see also Product Promotions, Inc., 495
F.2d at 494. Of necessity, inquiries into whether the
exercise of personal jurisdition is permissible in a
particular case are sensitive to the facts of each
case. 2 L. Moore, § 4.25[5] at 1172.

577 F.2d at 1266. Reading the “minimum contacts” re-
quirement very broadly, the Kidwell court declared that
these contacts “need not arise from actual physical ac-
tivity in the forum state; activities in other forums with
foreseeable effects in the forum state will suffice.” Id.
at 1266-67. In Kidwell the court found that the defend-
ant’s actions in regard to the plaintiff corporation did
have foreseeable effects in Texas, the forum state. In the
instant case, however, Opel’s activities in Germany from
which this cause of action arises did not have foreseeable
effects in Texas, especially since the automobile in ques-
tion was not manufactured for export and was sold only
domestically.

Furthermore, even though the Kidwell decision recog-
nizes that the Texas long-arm statute extends to the
limits of due process, it firmly maintains the proposition
that “unilateral activity by the plaintiff cannot produce
the minimum contacts necessary to satisfy due process”
and unequivocally requires some activity by the defend-
ant. Jd. at 1268. In the instant case, all the activity con-

eo

25

cerning this cause of action occurred in Germany. In-
deed, it appears that only because the plaintiff now re-
sides in Texas was this action brought in that forum.

[7] On all of the above considerations, then, we con-
clude that the trial court correctly determined that the
relationship between the defendant Opel and the forum
state is too attenuated to support in personam jurisdiction.

[8] Defendant GM’s motion for summary judgment
was likewise properly granted. The sole basis of plain-
tiffs argument for reversal of the summary judgment
appears to be the relationship between GM and Opel.
This relationship did not comprise sufficient ownership
and control to establish an agency relationship or to
permit disregarding their separate corporate entities. And
since the record reveals that GM did not design or manu-
facture the automobile in question, and as we have con-
cluded that no agency relationship exists between GM
and Opel, it necessarily follows that GM cannot be held
liable for any alleged failing of Opel in the design and
manufacture of the automobile in question.

AFFIRMED.

26
APPENDIX B
RANDALL O. WALKER

Vv.

GALE S. NEWGENT and General Motors
Corporation and Adam Opel AG.

Civ. A. No. 73-H-469.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,
S. D. Texas,
Houston Division.

December 6, 1977.

A passenger injured in an automobile collision in
Germany brought an action, inter alia, against the manu-
facturer of the automobile, alleging that the vehicle was
defectively manufactured and unsafe and that such de-
fects were the proximate cause of his injuries. The Dis-
trict Court, Singleton, J., held, inter alia, that the manu-
facturer, which was a wholly-owned Germany subsidiary
of an American automobile manufacturer doing business
in the district, was not amenable to service of process
under the Texas long-arm statute.

Action against manufacturer dismissed for want of
jurisdiction.

Richard W. Mithoff, Jr., Jamail & Gano, Houston,
Tex., for plaintiff.

B. Jeff Crane, Jr., John T. Golden, Vinson & Elkins,
Houston, Tex., for defendants.

at ee ee ee

27
Memorandum and Order:

SINGLETON, District Judge.

Plaintiff Randall O. Walker has brought this suit for
damages arising out of injuries he suffered in an auto-
mobile accident in 1970. Mr. Walker was a passenger in
a 1963 Opel Rekord automobile owned and operated
by Gale S. Newgent, when the car was involved in a
head-on collision in Giessen, Germany. Mr. Walker has
alleged that the car was defectively manufactured and
unsafe and that such defects were the proximate cause of
his injuries. The car was manufactured in Germany by
Adam Opel AG, a German corporation and wholly-
owned subsidiary of General Motors Corporation. Mr.
Newgent purchased the car secondhand in Germany.
Adam Opel AG has challenged the in personam jurisdic-
tion of this court and moved for dismissal of the suit
against it.

Process was served through a single citation in April,
1973, on General Motors Corporation and its subsidiary,
Adam Opel AG, through General Motor’s agent for
service of process, C. T. Corporation Systems in Dallas,
Texas. Attorneys for General Motors filed an answer
purportedly on behalf of General Motors and Adam Opel
AG. Following discovery, these same attorneys filed a
motion to withdraw the answer filed for Opel on the
basis that Opel was a separate corporate entity organized
under German law having no agent for service in Texas
and that the answer filed on its behalf was without its
authorization or knowledge. On August 12, 1974, this
court ordered that separate citation be issued and served

on Adam Opel AG. Consideration of Opel’s motions to

28

withdraw its answer and its motion to dismiss the action
for lack of in personam jurisdiction was deferred to
allow for further discovery of the facts relating to
personal jurisdiction. That discovery has now been com-
pleted.

[1] The threshold issue to be considered by this
court is whether Adam Opel AG has waived its juris-
dictional defense through the answer filed on its behalf
in June, 1973, by the attorneys for General Motors.
The affidavit of R. Pinnekamp, an attorney in the legal
department of Adam Opel AG, states that Adam Opel
AG had no knowledge of this lawsuit until more than a
year after the answer was filed. Mr. Pinnekamp further
stated that any appearance in this lawsuit was without
Adam Opel’s knowledge or authorization. The affidavit
of Jeff Crane, the attorney who filed the answer on behalf
of General Motors Corporation and its subsidiary, Adam
Opel AG, stated he did so on the instructions of General
Motors’ insurer and without authorization from Adam
Opel AG and prior to discovering that Adam Opel AG
was a separate corporation. In recognition of Opel’s
answer being unauthorized by it, this court ordered
separate citation be issued as noted above. Subsequent
discovery has revealed evidence which supports a finding
that Adam Opel AG is indeed a separate corporate
entity as discussed infra. This court finds that Adam
Opel AG’s June, 1973, answer did not operate as a
waiver to its jurisdictional defense since that answer was
without knowledge or consent of Opel.

[2] The burden is on the plaintiff, Mr. Walker, to
establish the existence of in personam jurisdiction over
Adam Opel AG. Product Promotions, Inc. v. Cousteau,

ne ne ee eee

6 DN A a ert as tw eo ae

29

495 F.2d 483 (Sth Cir. 1974). In response to this court’s
August 12, 1977, order, Mr. Walker served (1) C. T.
Corporation, General Motors’ agent for service of pro-
cess, (2) Mr. T. M. Wetzel, secretary-treasurer of a local
Buick dealer, and (3) Mrs. A. R. Varela, secretary to the
zone service manager of the Buick Motor Division of
General Motors, in addition to (4) the Secretary of
State of Texas, pursuant to Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann.
art. 2031b. In each case Opel moved to vacate and set
aside service of process. In support of such motions,
affidavits were filed from the first three entities listed
above, stating that the persons served were not authorized
to receive service for Opel. Thus the question must be
resolved in light of the Texas long arm statute and the
ample case law as applied to the facts presented through
discovery by both parties.

Personal jurisdiction over a foreign corporation must
comport with the requirements of due process in that

(1) the nonresident defendant must purposefully
do some act or consummate some transaction in
the forum state; (2) the cause of action must arise
from, or be connected with, such act or transaction;
(3) the assumption of jurisdiction by the forum
state must not offend traditional notions of fair play
and substantial justice... .

International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310,
66 S.Ct. 154, 90 L.Ed. 95 (1945).

The evidence presented by both parties in depositions
and affidavits established that Adam Opel AG is a Ger-
man corporation which manufactures automobiles for
domestic sale and for export. It is a wholly-owned sub-
sidiary of General Motors Corporation which undis-

30

putedly does business in this state. Adam Opel AG, how-
ever, has no assets, offices, agents, or employees in Texas.
All Opel automobiles sold to the Buick Motor Division of
General Motors during the time in question were sold
by Opel to Buick f.o.b. Germany. Buick then advertised,
sold, and serviced these cars throughout the United
States, including Texas.

Significantly, the particular automobile involved in this
case was a 1964 Opel Rekord, a model which was never
manufactured for export and was sold only domestically.
This particular model was never sold to or purchased by
Buick. It was placed in commerce directly by Opel into
its domestic market.

Notwithstanding all of the above, personal jurisdiction
can still be found to exist over Adam Opel AG if the
relationship between the parent corporation, General
Motors, which does business in the state of Texas, and
the subsidiary German corporation, Adam Opel AG, is
one which would allow the court to find that the doing of
business of the parent corporation can be imputed to the
subsidiary so that Texas can acquire in personam juris-
diction over the German corporation. Reul v. Sahara
Hotel, 372 F.Supp. 995 (S.D. Tex. 1974). Plaintiffs in
Reul alleged that one defendant, a California subsidiary
of the defendant parent company, did business in Texas
through its parent corporation which was licensed to do
business in Texas. Service of process over this subsidiary
was achieved under the Texas long arm statute as in the
instant case. The California corporation neither sold nor
solicited any sales in Texas; it did not receive income
from sales in Texas; it did not have a license to do
business or own any property in Texas. The question in

ean erent nes

Pe ats TA Son nr

31

Reul of whether or not in personam jurisdiction was
proper against this subsidiary turned on the nature of its
relationship with the parent corporation, which assuredly
did business in Texas. The question in the instant case
is the same. However, the widely differing fact pattern
calls for a different conclusion.

The facts presented to the court in Reul led to the
conclusion “that there is present here more than that
amount of control of one corporation over another which
mere common ownership and directorship would in-
dicate.” Reul, at 998. The evidence presented in that case
showed the close interrelationship of the various corpora-
tions with the parent company. Salesmen’s assignments
and commission payments emanated from the owners of
the parent corporation; the parent and subsidiary shared
common officers; the senior vice president and director
of the parent company was also the manager of the
Western Division, which included the California subsi-
diary. The court found that while on paper the corpora-
tions looked like separate entities, “they are for all opera-
tional purposes one big, albeit well organized, corporation
....” Reul, at 1000 (emphasis in original). All the
business was conducted out of New York, the home office
of the parent corporation; all of the corporations owned
by the parent were covered under one insurance policy;
employees were hired by the parent corporation for its
benefit and for the benefit of the other corporations. In
addition, they advertised under one slogan and trade-
mark.

The instant case is distinguishable from Reul, supra.
The evidence in this case reveals that Adam Opel AG is
not controlled by General Motors. They do not have the

32

same corporate offices or the same registered agent, nor
are there any mutual officers or directors. There are no
facts to support a prima facie case of actual control. The
only significant factor relating to this issue is that General
Motors owns 100 percent of Adam Opel AG’s stock.
According to the deposition of Mr. William F. Shea,
Director, Marketing Staff Operations of General Motors
Overseas Division, General Motors Buick Division and
Adam Opel had a pure manufacturer-customer relation-
ship. The record reveals that Opel had its own engineer-
ing and design staff and its own sources of supply for
component parts. From 1964 to 1975, Buick purchased
no more than 11 per cent of Opel’s total automobile
production in any one year.

Mr. William M. Veselick, a zone manager for Buick
Motor Division, testified in his deposition that suggestions
made for design changes and communicated through
channels to Adam Opel were not followed by Opel.
Furthermore, Mr. Lloyd D. Loggins, another Buick zone
manager, testified on deposition that Adam Opel did not
seek the advice of General Motors’ Buick Division about
changes in the Opel cars.

The Texas Supreme Court has recently stated that
“where management and operations are assimilated to
the extent that the subsidiary is simply a name or conduit
through which the parent conducts its business, the cor-
porate fiction may be disregarded to prevent fraud or
injustice.” Gentry v. Credit Plan Corp., 528 S.W.2d 571
(Tex. 1975). That court further stated that

[a] subsidiary corporation will not be regarded as
the alter ego of its parent because of stock owner-
ship, a duplication of some or all of the directors

33

or officers, or an exercise of control that stock own-
ership gives to stockholders.

Gentry, at 573.

In summary, this court finds that Adam Opel AG
has not waived its jurisdictional defense by an answer
filed on its behalf without its knowledge or consent:
that Adam Opel AG was not doing business in the
state of Texas during the time in question; that the act
complained of did not arise out of any business done
by Adam Opel AG in the state of Texas; that the degree
of ownership and control by General Motors over Adam
Opel AG does not rise to the level necessary to impute
the business done in Texas by General Motors to its
subsidiary Adam Opel AG; and that in personam juris-
diction does not lie as to Adam Opel AG in this lawsuit.

Accordingly, it is hereby ORDERED, ADJUDGED,
and DECREED that defendant Adam Opel AG’s motion
to vacate, set aside service of process, and dismiss for
want of jurisdiction be, and hereby is, GRANTED.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2415%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
