# Opposition — City of Cincinnati v. Public Utilities Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2163%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 440 U.S. 912

## Text

"Gupreme Court, 3
FILED

JAN 19 1979

Supreme Court of the UnitedStages 8%

October Term, 1978
No. 78-909

CITY OF CINCINNATI, OHIO,
Petitioner,

VS.

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF OHIO,
THE CINCINNATI GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To THE OHIO SUPREME COURT

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT THE CINCINNATI GAS &
ELECTRIC COMPANY IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM J. MorAN

JAMES J. MAYER

THE CINCINNATI GAs & ELECTRIC COMPANY
139 East Fourth Street
Cincinnati, Ohio 45201

ALAN P. BUCHMANN
WILLIAM C. DONAHUE
Wititiam H. BAUGHMAN, JR.
SQUIRE, SANDERS & DEMPSEY
1800 Union Commerce Building
Cleveland, Ohio 44115
Attorneys for The Cincinnati Gas &
Electric Company

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING Cu., CLEVELAND, OHIO—TEL. (216) 621-5647

TABLE OF CONTENTS

NTE nn euteensanetsenninnnasann
Counter Statement of the Case
Reasons for Denying the Writ

The only question raised by the petition is factual
in nature, has no importance other than to the par-
ties to the proceeding below, and was correctly
decided by the Ohio Supreme Court ...........-..............

EL ONS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327 (1945)

Lopresti v. Community Traction Co., 160 Ohio St. 480,
I cena aetercntionngensnmneense
Transcom Builders, Inc. v. Lorain, 49 Ohio App. 2d 145,
359 N.E.2d 715 (Lorain County, 1976) —........2000.......
Washington Utilities and Transportation Comm'n v.
FCC, 513 F.2d 1142 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 423
ae cintioconnycnsncasvenstonenneencontonenn
Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. CAB, 497 F.2d 608 (D.C. Cir.

1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 930 (1974) .................. 5-6, 7

B. J. McAdams, Inc. v. ICC, 551 F.2d 1112 (8th Cir.
ET
Great Western Packers Express, Inc. v. ICC, 263 F.
ee OD ..

Il

Cincinnati v. Public Utilities Comm’n, 55 Ohio St. 2d
OR POA Ge EE | ane

Southern Power Co. v. North Carolina Public Service
Co., 263 U.S. 508 (1924). ....................... eee oe a

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes

Ohio Const., Art. XVIII, §§ 4 and 5 ......000.... es
Ohio Rev. Code § 4909.18 et seq. 22.2.2... cccccceccsececeeeseeeeees

2

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1978
No. 78-909

CITY OF CINCINNATI, OHIO,
Petitioner,
vs.

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF OHIO,
THE CINCINNATI GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To THE SUPREME COURT

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT THE CINCINNATI GAS &
ELECTRIC COMPANY IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether two applications for increases in rates for
natural gas service provided in areas served by respondent
The Cincinnati Gas & Electric Company outside the cor-
porate limits of the City of Cincinnati and a third appli-
cation for increases in rates for natural gas service by The
Cincinnati Gas & Electric Company to customers residing
within Cincinnati were mutually exclusive, thereby pro-

tN

hibiting the Ohio Public Utilities Commission from ren-
dering a decision on the former two applications prior to
reaching a decision on the third under the principle enun-
ciated in Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327
(1945).

‘COUNTER STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Over the years respondent The Cincinnati Gas & Elec-
tric Company (hereinafter ““CG&E”) has followed a prac-
tice of negotiating ordinance rate contracts, setting rates
for gas and electric service, with many municipalities
throughout its service area, pursuant to Article XVIII,
Sections 4 and 5, of the Ohio Constitution (Respondent
PUCO’s App., p. 18). With respect to some other munic-
ipalities and unincorporated areas, its rates have been set
by the Public Utilities Commission pursuant to Ohio Re-
vised Code, Section 4909.18 et seq. (Petitioner’s App. H,
pp. 94a-97a). Owing to variables in the negotiating pro-
cess and to differing ordinance dates, CG&E’s rates for
the same kind and class of service varied widely through-
out its service territory. As a consequence, prior to the
relevant proceedings below, CG&E had in effect six tariff
schedules fer natural gas service, varying in amounts solely
by reason of political boundaries.

In September, 1974, CG&E filed an application with
the Commission, styled Case No. 78-581-GA-AIR, for an
increase in rates for gas service to customers in those
territories that had previously been subject to the Com-
mission’s jurisdiction (7.e., where ordinance contracts had
not been or could not, under Ohio law, be negotiated).
Subsequently, on March 25, 1975, CG&E filed Case No.
75-205-GA-AIR for an increase in certain rates for ser-
vice to customers in the City of Cincinnati, rates pre-

viously fixed by ordinance contract. Finally, in August,
1975, CG&E filed a third application, styled Case No.
75-641-GA-AIR, for an increase in rates to customers in
some sixty-three municipalities, rates previously fixed by
municipal ordinances. The three cases together covered
all of CG&E’s retail natural gas sales."

Petitioner, the City of Cincinnati (hereinafter the
“City”), petitioned the Commission for leave to intervene
in Case No. 75-205-GA-AIR (hereinafter the “‘in-City appli-
cation”) only (Respondent PUCO’s App., pp. 21-23), and
that petition was granted by the Commission (Respondent
PUCO’s App., pp. 24-25). By an entry dated June 9, 1976,
the Commission consolidated the three applications for
purposes of public hearing, and set July 12, 1976, as the
date for that hearing (Petitioner’s App. I, pp. 99a-102a).

Prior to the public hearing and during the course of
the proceedings, discussions were held between the parties
with respect to possible stipulation of all or some of the
issues and settlement. Contrary to the City’s contention
(Petition, p. 6 n.6), those discussions were not without
notice to the City. The City was invited, at the earliest
opportunity, to participate but declined. Eventually
CG&E, the Commission’s Staff, and all other parties par-
ticipating in Cases Nos. 74-581-GA-AIR and 75-651-GA-
AIR (hereinafter the “out-of-City applications”) were able
to reach agreement and to submit a recommendation to the
Commission that, if accepted, would dispose of those cases
in their entirety. Consequently, a motion to sever was

1. Although it is convenient to distinguish these cases in
terms of municipalities, it should be noted that No, 74-581-GA-
AIR actually included certain customer classes throughout CG&E’s
entire service area. Historically, service to these customers, prin-
cipally industrial users, had not been regulated by ordinance,
even where other service in a particular municipality had been so
regulated.

made, and was subsequently granted by an Opinion and
Order of the Commission entered on July 23, 1976 (Peti-
tioner’s App. D, pp. 39a-64a). That Order approved the
tendered recommendation and settlement agreement and
rejected a number of arguments raised by the City, in-
cluding the arguments raised in this petition.? Hearings
continued on the in-City application and an Opinion and
Order in that case was issued on September 8, 1976 ( Peti-
tioner’s App. E, pp. 65a-84a).

The City filed an application for rehearing on the out-
of-City applications, which the Commission denied by
Order dated September 15, 1976 (Petitioner's App. F, pp.
85a-88a). The Commission likewise denied the City’s ap-
plication for rehearing on the in-City application (Peti-
tioner’s App. G, pp. 89a-97a).

The City then appealed to the Ohio Supreme Court
from the Commission’s Orders on both the in-City appli-
cation and the out-of-City applications. Those appeals
were heard together, and the Court affirmed both of the
Orders appealed from. 55 Ohio St. 2d 168, 378 N.E.2d 729
(Petitioner’s App. A and B, pp. la-37a). Among the argu-
ments raised by the City and rejected by the Ohio Supreme
Court were the same arguments made in the instant
petition. The City’s motion for rehearing was also denied
(Petitioner’s App. C, p. 38a).

_ 2. The petitioner does not dispute, nor can it, that the Com-
mission was required by Ohio law to decide the in-City applica-
tion on its own record, notwithstanding the Commission’s entry
of an Order disposing of the out-of-City applications with which
it had been consolidated. See Lopresti v. Community Traction
Co., 160 Ohio St. 480, 483, 117 N.E.2d 2, 4 (1954): Transcom Build-
ers, Inc. v. Lorain, 49 Ohio App. 2d 145, 149-50, 359 N.E.2d 715.
718-19 (Lorain County 1976). CG&E, therefore by agreeing to the
settlement on the out-of-City applications despite the City’s re-
fusal to settle on the in-City application, bore the risk that it would
not have a uniform rate throughout its service area if the record
on the in-City application did not support the establishment of
rates in the City at the “uniform” level.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

THE ONLY QUESTION RAISED BY THE PETITION
IS FACTUAL IN NATURE, HAS NO IMPOR.
TANCE OTHER THAN TO THE PARTIES TO
THE PROCEEDING BELOW, AND WAS COR.
RECTLY DECIDED BY THE OHIO SUPREME
COURT.

Petitioner the City of Cincinnati (“City”) argues that
the Ohio Public Utilities Commission denied it due process
of law by entering a decision on two applications for
natural gas rate increases filed by respondent The Cincin-
nati Gas & Electric Company (““CG&E”) for areas served
by CG&E outside the City while reserving CG&E’s applica-
tion for natural gas rate increases to customers within
the City for later decision. Citing this Court’s decision
in Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327 (1945),
the City maintains that the three applications at issue
were “mutually exclusive” and that the Commission’s de-
cision on the two out-of-City applications rendered its
subsequent hearing on the in-City application an “empty
thing.”

Pursuant to the Ashbacker doctrine, in a factual situa-
tion where the nature of two applications are such that
the granting of one of the applications as a practical matter
effectively precludes the granting of the other, the body
ruling on the competing applications must decide their
merits at the same time. Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. FCC,
supra, 326 U.S. at 330. The fact of mutual exclusivity
between applications is prerequisite to the applicability
of Ashbacker. Id. at 333; Washington Utilities and Trans-
portation Comm’n v. FCC, 513 F.2d 1142, 1165-66 (9th
Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 836 (1975); Delta Air Lines,

Inc. v. CAB, 497 F.2d 608, 614 (D.C. Cir. 1973), cert.
denied, 417 U.S. 930 (1974). Where such mutual exclu-
sivity is absent, there is no requirement of a consolidated
or comparative hearing on the applications. B. J. Mc-
Adams, Ine. v. ICC, 551 F.2d 1112, 1115 n4 (8th Cir.
1977); Great Western Packers Express, Inc, v. ICC, 263 F.
Supp. 347, 350-51 (D. Colo. 1966).

The City is asking this Court to review the factual
determination made by the Ohio Supreme Court that the
three applications at issue were not mutually exclusive.
The Ohio Supreme Court based its decision on the City’s
Ashbacker claim on the absence of mutual exclusivity.

“We do not find, however, that the Ashbacker
doctrine applies to the instant cause. Under the facts
of the Ashbacker case, the grant of one station’s radio
broadcasting application meant the automatic denial
of the second station’s license request. The two appli-
cations were mutually exclusive. In the instant cause,
the commission’s grant of one rate outside the City
did not preclude the possibility of a different rate in-
side the city.” Cinncinnati v. Public Utilities Comm’n,
55 Ohio St. 2d 168, 170-71, 378 N.E.2d 729, 731-32 (1978)
(Petitioner’s App. A, p. 4a; App. B, p. 23a) (emphasis
by the Court).

Certiorari is customarily not granted to review factual
determinations made by lower courts. E.g., Southern
Power Co. v. North Carolina Public Service Co., 263
U.S. 508, 509 (1924). With respect to the particular
factual determination germane here, mutual exclusivity of
applications, in the thirty-three years since Ashbacker,
this Court has never issued an opinion addressing the
question of whether applications were or were not mu-
tually exclusive in the Ashbacker sense, and, as iate as

1974, denied a petition for writ of certiorari raising such
a question. Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. CAB, 497 F.2d 608,
614 (D.C. Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 930 (1974).*
The instant petition should likewise be denied.

The nature of the City’s mutual exclusivity argument
further militates against the granting of the writ. The
City does not contend that the Commission was required
to reach the decision that it did on the in-City application
by force of law or because of the impact of its prior
decision on the out-of-City applications upon the facts
relevant to the in-City application. Rather the City argues
that mutual exclusivity should be presumed because the
record on the in-City application does not contain sub-
stantial evidence to support the Commission’s decision and
because that decision is consistent with the prior one
entered on the out-of-City applications.* As a prerequisite
to resolving the question of mutual exclusivity, therefore,
this Court would have to address the question of whether
the record contained substantial evidence supporting the
challenged rate decision, a question not only inappropriate
for review on certiorari but also of no importance to any-
one but the parties to the proceeding below.

The Ohio Supreme Court correctly decided that
after entering a decision on the out-of-City applications,
the Commission was free to decide the in-City application
on its own record, and that substantial evidence on the
record supported the Commission’s decision on the in-City

3. The question presented by the petition in Delta Air Lines,
Inc. v. CAB, supra, is stated in 42 U.S.L.W. 3534 (March 17, 1974).

4. This respondent is aware of no authority supporting peti-
tioner’s contention that where two applications are not mutually
exclusive in the Ashbacker sense, by their nature, mutual exclu-
sivity may nevertheless be presumed from the decisions on the
merits of those applications, nor does the authority cited by
the petitioner support that contention.

8

application. 55 Ohio St. 2d at 170-71, 378 N.E.2d at 729,
731-32 (Petitioner’s App. A, pp. 4a-5a; App. B, pp. 23a-
24a). Accordingly, the instant petition should be denied.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully submitted
that this petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM J. MorRAN

JAMES J. MAYER

THE CINCINNATI GAs & ELECTRIC COMPANY
139 East Fourth Street
Cincinnati, Ohio 45201

ALAN P. BUCHMANN
WILLIAM C. DONAHUE
WILLIAM H. BAUGHMAN, JR.
SQUIRE, SANDERS & DEMPSEY
1800 Union Commerce Building
Cleveland, Ohio 44115
Attorneys for The Cincinnati Gas &
Electric Company

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2163%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
