# Opposition — Austin Independent School District v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2152%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 443 U.S. 915

## Text

“Supreme Court, U,
FILED

FEB % 1979

No. 78-897

i

ICuary

wiAKw ID we
, IR. CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the Wnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1978

—-

TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY (AUSTIN INDEPENDENT
SCHOOL DISTRICT), ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

WapeE H. McCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

Drew S. Days, Ill
Assistant Attorney General

BRIAN K. LANDSBERG
MILDRED M. MATESICH
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

INDEX

Page
I I pid iii sill aaa cbc dicbphasatonntenesuenaaiietins l
I Sei sida scsi ki iiiai diniitcentrdvcsidisadievecdicewedeveess l
I SUIT |. discon padhousanpbhcbassieeancienepiiionsenpeanesie 2
SE IINTIET sctedatutdvaccctpubstudselidvedetaveensoabinersovepnucssiandnevens 2
Pe IITD. dildi rocks enisshdaibannss tiietdithinaninsisithbinannadanngntuniieepresveny 4
SINT | shat abdbleishesdundeqiayebssaulinduduneséaviclosesvedseverstabies 11
CITATIONS
Cases:
Brown v. Board of Education, 347
SU MERE initoseetibie aibcuibintonishaastaittscorcnvecessvecbienss 8
Buchanan v. Warley, 245 U.S. 60 oo... ee 8
Dayton Board of Education v. Brinkman,
GEENA EE Gudnldbngdidbabainnedidaseviaiaccensoncs 4, 6, 10
Keyes v. School District No. 1, 413 |
NIE: SUN (iis aes atl inland buapteibnihaiahseeesoenteooeeyenege 9
Morales v. Shannon, 516 F. 2d 411, cert.
I Ie SO I cnkciniicsnceieccsisevssiccssessececeee 9

Oliver v. Michigan State Board of Education,
508 F. 2d 178, cert. denied, 421

MN IEEE Wldibacacatsadbbedivucdentaniessanactondsneonscecscencees 9
Swann v. Charlotte-Mechlenburg Bd. of
SII, IED AP TR citonodiebiveccddingsemsasseenioceesees 9

United States v. School District of Omaha,
521 F. 2d 530, cert. denied, 423

TE: bales bies bidishekiicelibsidetbasibaibedacdsddeinwbideserersnnacee 9
United States v. Texas Education Agency,
SE PEEL wdnhidiacidaloddedeinpbatnadéninatsihivdhesunasane 2

il

Page
_ Cases (continued): ’
Village of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan
Housing Development Corp., 429
SEAMEN ANN tsdesbeseaatiacagcaitbasassnackiccerass 4, 6, 7, 8, 10
Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S.
er RAE REN ALE ORO 3, 4, 5, 8, 10
Statute: |
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 407,
oR ERE Te SO 2
Miscellaneous:
Note, Reading the Mind of the School
Board: Segregative Intent and the De
Facto/ De Jure Distinction, 86 Yale L. J.
WF POON Mecdlbuiziiaahabsc bes: 9

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-897

TexaS EDUCATION AGENCY (AUSTIN INDEPENDENT
SCHOOL DISTRICT), ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals denying petitioner’s
request for rehearing en banc (Pet. App. 1-13) is reported
at 579 F. 2d 910. The opinion of the court of appeals on
remand from this Court (Pet. App. 14-44) is reported at
564 F. 2d 162. The opinion of the court of appeals on the
issue of relief and on liability for discrimination against
Mexican-Americans (Pet. App. 51-93) is reported at 532
F. 2d 380. The opinion of the court of appeals en banc as
to liability is reported at 467 F. 2d 848. The memorandum
opinions and orders of the district court as to liability and
remedy (Pet. App. 94-131) are unreported.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 14-44)
was entered on November 21, 1977. Petitioner’s request

(1)

for rehearing en banc was denied on September 7, 1978
(Pet. App. I-13) and the petition for certiorari was filed in
this Court on December 5, 1978. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 12541).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals properly complied with
this Court’s order remanding the case for reconsideration
of its earlier conclusion that petitioner had engaged in
intentional discrimination against Mexican-American
students in the Austin schools.

STATEMENT

The United States instituted this school desegregation
suit in the United States District Court for the Western
District of Texas pursuant to Section 407 of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000c-6. On September 4,
1970, the district court entered an interim order directing
petitioner to implement desegregation procedures in non-
student assignment aspects of school operations.

Following a six-day trial in 1971 the district court held
that petitioner had not discriminated against Mexican-
Americans (Pet. App. 128-129), but that the dual school
system historically maintained for blacks had not been
eliminated (id. at 131). It entered an order approving
a plan to close two predominantly black secondary
schools and to reassign their students to predominantly
Anglo schools (id. at 120-123).

The court of appeals, sitting en banc, reversed. Six
judges joined an opinion detailing a history of discrimina-
tion by petitioner (United States v. Texas Education
Agency, 467 F. 2d 848, 852-875 (5th Cir. 1972) (en banc)
(hereafter referred to as Austin /)). These six judges
concluded that petitioner had engaged in invidious
discrimination against Mexican-Americans as well as
blacks, and that the district court's findings were clearly
erroneous. The other eight judges concurred in the result,

concluding that “discriminatory segregation exists against
Mexican-American students and that the proposed part-
time integration plan of the school district is inadequate
as a desegregation plan” (id. at 885). The court remanded
the case to the district court with directions to identify
those schools that were segregated as a result of racial or
ethnic discrimination and to eliminate the effects of the
segregation by using specified desegregation techniques
listed on a priority basis (id. at 884-885).

On remand the district court once more concluded that
petitioner had not discriminated against Mexican-
Americans (Pet. App. 100); it approved a plan to
desegregate the sixth grade of the black elementary
schools (id. at 107).

The court of appeals again reversed and held, for the
second time, that petitioner had discriminated against
both blacks and Mexican-Americans (Pet. App. 70), and
that the partial desegregation plan approved by the
district court for black students was constitutionally
inadequate (id. at 73). The school district’s petition
for certiorari was granted by this Court and the judgment
of the court of appeals was vacated and the case
remanded for reconsideration in light of Washington v.

Davis, 426 U.S. 229 (1976) (id. at 45-50).' The court

'In our response to the certiorari petition in Austin I], we observed
that it might be “useful” for this Court to remand the case for
reconsideration in light of its intervening decision in Washington v.
Davis, and thus, we did not oppose the granting of certiorari. See
Brief for the United States, Texas Education Agency v. United States,
No. 76-200, O.T. 1976 at 13. However, we also stated (ibid.) that if
the Court

‘ were to undertake plenary review of this case, we would
urge that the judgment of the panel be affirmed, in light of the
evidence of extensive intentional discrimination against
Mexican-Americans.

Because the court of appeals in Austin J/// correctly analyzed that
evidence in light of Washington v. Davis, we believe further review by
this Court is unwarranted.

of appeals, applying the criteria of Washington v. Davis
and Village of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan
Housing Development Corp., 429 U.S. 252 (1977),
reaffirmed its earlier conclusion that petitioner had
engaged in intentional discrimination against Mexican-
Americans (Pet. App. 41), and remanded the case to the
district court to reconsider a remedy in light of this
Court’s decision in Dayton Board of Education v.
Brinkman, 433 U.S. 406 (1977) (ibid.).

ARGUMENT

The court of appeals has fully complied with this
Court’s mandate to reconsider its decision in Austin // in
light of Washington v. Davis and its reaffirmance of
Austin II is correct.

Petitioner contends that in reaffirming its two prior
findings of intentional discrimination by petitioner against
Mexican-Americans, the court of appeals failed to apply
the standards set out in Washington v. Davis and
Arlington Heights because the court has “again found
unconstitutional segregation of Mexican-Americans solely
by the application of a foreseeable consequences standard
to disproportionate impact” (Pet. 2). That characteriza-
tion of the court of appeals’ opinion in Austin II// is
unfounded.” In fact, the court expressly acknowledged its
duty under Washington v. Davis to ascertain whether the
discrimination was purposeful, and in making that inquiry

2In view of the court of appeals’ explicit rejection of a mechanical
application of the foreseeable consequences test in Austin III (Pet.
App. 8-9), we believe there is no need for this Court to stay action on
this petition pending its decisions in Dayton Board of Education v.
Brinkman, No. 78-627, O.T. 1978, and Columbus Board of Education
v. Penick, No. 78-610, O.T. 1978, both of which challenge findings of
discriminatory intent allegedly based solely on utilization of a
foreseeable consequences test. The petitioners in Columbus and
Dayton have also argued that the remedies in those cases do not
comport with the guidelines articulated by this Court in its prior
Dayton decision. However, the court of appeals has remanded this
case to the district court for the specific purpose of affording it the
opportunity to formulate a remedy in accordance with Dayton.

it looked to the types of evidence identified as relevant in
Arlington Heights (Pet. App. 20-23).

At the beginning of its opinion in Austin //] the court
of appeals made clear its understanding that dispropor-
tionate impact by itself will not support a finding of
intentional discrimination (Pet. App. 26):

Washington v. Davis and Arlington Heights did
establish that the disproportionate racial impact of
the neutral application of a long-standing neutral
policy, by itself, will rarely constitute a constitutional
violation. * * * We are well aware that some official
actions on which a plaintiff hinges an allegation of
unconstitutional! discrimination have historically been
motivated by racially and ethically neutral bona fide
concerns, such as the desire to have children attend
the school closest to their home, and no showing is
made that those concerns were actually subordinate
to, or a subterfuge for, unconstitutional discrimina-
tion. In those circumstances, that a discriminatory
result was the natural and foreseeable consequence of

In addition to mischaracterizing the basis for the court's decision
in Austin J/I, petitioner throughout its brief misstates the issue
under consideration on remand (Pet. 12-13, 19, 27). That issue was
not—as petitioner erroneously claims—whether the school district
had rebutted a prima facie showing of intentional discrimination
against Mexican-Americans, but rather whether the evidence upon
which the court relied in Austin / and Austin //] demonstrated the
requisite racially discriminatory intent to constitute a prima facie
case. Washington v. Davis does not turn on rebuttable presumptions:
its concern is with the prerequisites for a finding of invidious
discrimination. In remanding Austin // for reconsideration in light of
Washington v. Davis this Court presumably intended for the court of
appeals to reexamine the record for evidence of improper purpose or
inteft and to make explicit its conclusions on that issue. The court of
appeals dutifully carried out that task, and petitioner's incorrect
contention that the “real question in the case” (Pet. 13) is whether it
has rebutted a prima facie showing should not obscure the substantial
evidence of segregative intent identified by the court of appeals.

the actions is insufficient to infuse the challenged acts —

with the type of discriminatory intent required by
Washington v. Davis and Arlington Heights.

While recognizing that disproportionate impact stand-
ing alone is not dispositive on the issue of discriminatory
intent, the court of appeals heeded this Court’s suggestion
in Arlington Heights, supra, 429 U.S. at 266, that such an
impact is “an important starting point” in determining
intent (Pet. App. 32). Thus, the court began its factual
analysis in Austin III by pointing out the substantial
degree of racial isolation of Mexican-Americans that
persists in the Austin schools where almost 40% of the
Mexican-American students attend schools where the
minority enrollment exceeds 90% (id. at at 31-33). The court
then turned its attention to the other evidentiary factors
held relevant in Arlington Heights on the issue of dis-
criminatory intent.‘

‘In discussing the facts (Pet. 19-27), petitioner implies that the
court of appeals usurped the fact-finding function of the district
court. That suggestion is incorrect. The court of appeals explicitly
states in its opinion in Austin JI] and in its opinion denying the
petition for rehearing that it is reversing because the district court
employed an erroneous legal standard in finding no intentional
discrimination against Mexican-Americans (Pet. App. 10, 34-35
n.17). Alternatively, the court holds that even under the “clearly
erroneous standard” the district court’s finding of no intentional
discrimination’ would warrant reversal (ibid.). Thus, the court in
Austin III exercised what this Court in Dayton Board of Education
v. Brinkman, supra, 433 U.S. at 417-418, has identified as the
proper function of an appellate court:

On appeal, the task of a court of appeals is defined with
relative clarity; it is confined by law and precedent, just as are
those of the district courts and of this Court. If it concludes that
the findings of the district court are clearly erroneous, it may set
them aside under Fed. Rule Civ. Proc. 52(a). If it decides that
the district court has misapprehended the law, it may accept that
court’s findings of fact but reverse its judgment because of legal
errors.

Looking first to “the historical background” of official
actions taken by petitioner with respect to Mexican-
Americans, Arlington Heights, supra, 429 U.S. at 267, the
court of appeals found the evidence—both direct and
circumstantial—to demonstrate’ pervasive purposeful
segregation of Mexican-American students in the Austin
school system dating back six decades (Pet. App. 34-38).°
That segregative race consciousness rather than race
neutrality motivated petitioner’s actions was apparent to
the court from such evidence as (1) the construction of
Comal Street School specifically for those Mexican-
Americans attending the only three schools in the district
having more than twenty Mexican-American students; (2)
the construction of Zavala School “to provide for the
large group of Spanish-speaking citizens of Austin, a
suitable well-equipped building as near the center of this
population as possible” and (3) the removal of all but
one Mexican-American pupil from Winn School in
response to a complaint from Anglo parents about
“Mexican” pupils at Winn (Pet. App. 9, 35-37).°

‘Petitioner attempts to minimize the significance of the evidence on
which the court relies in Austin /// by pointing out that it was “set
out in the minority opinion in Austin I” (Pet. 19, 20), a case which
petitioner claims “was decided under an erroneous legal standard”

(id. at 19).

The importance of the facts cited in Austin /// is in no way
diminished by their having first appeared in an opinion in which only
six of the fourteen judges sitting en banc i in Austin I joined. The other
eight judges fully agreed that petitioner was guilty of intentional
discrimination against Mexican-Americans and disagreed only as to
the appropriate remedy. Moreover, even if petitioner were correct
that the court applied an erroneous legal standard in Austin /, the
error would be in the standard, not in the facts to which it was
applied.

‘The court of appeals also pointed out that the Mexican-American
school had attendance zones overlapping those of predominantly

Petitioner maintains that the district court was correct
in excusing these acts of segregation as “a humane and
compassionate attempt by the School District * * * to
meet the special education needs” of Mexican-American
children (Pet. 22). The court of appeals properly rejected
that contention for the third time in Austin /// (Pet. App.
34 n.17). Racial animus is not a prerequisite to a finding
of invidious discrimination. In the years prior to this
Court’s decision in Brown v. Board of Education, 347
U.S. 483 (1954), separate schools, housing, and other
facilities for blacks and whites were also thought by some
to be in the best interests of both races. But such
“humane” considerations are not controlling where equal
protection has been denied. See Buchanan v, Warley, 245
U.S. 60, 80-81 (1917). Moreover, as the court pointed out
in Austin III, bilingual instruction for Mexican-American
students was introduced only comparatively recently in
the Austin schools; it certainly could not have justified the
establishment of separate schools for Mexican-Americans
at a time when teachers were prohibited by state law from
conducting classes in Spanish (Pet. App. 34-35 n.17).’

In addition to the direct evidence of intentional
discrimination reflected in the historical background of

Anglo schools (Pet. App. 34-35).

Much of this direct evidence of segregative intent is contained in
petitioner's own documents and records. Such contemporaneous
statements are “highly relevant” in illuminating a decision-making
body's intent. Arlington Heights, supra, 429 U.S. at 268.

’Petitioner strains to transform its “humane and compassionate use
of then accepted and proper educational techniques” (Pet. 14)
into the sort of neutral “purpose the government is constitutionally
empowered to pursue” approved in Washington v. Davis (Pet. 14-15).
But this effort to blur the conceptual distinction between “benign
motive” and neutral purpose must fail. A neutral purpose is by
definition a non-racial purpose. Here the alleged “benign motive” was
blatantly racial: its express object was to group Mexican-American
children in separate schools on the theory that they would do better
in such segregated facilities. Governments are not constitutionally
empowered to maintain dual school systems in the belief that it is
beneficial to educate the races separately.

the school district’s policies toward Mexican-American
students, the court of appeals in Austin //I found
considerable circumstantial evidence of segregative intent
in other actions by petitioner, including its decisions
pertaining to school construction and abandonment,
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Education, 402
U.S. 1, 21 (1971), and teacher assignment, Swann, supra,
402 U.S. at 18.8 For example, when Johnston Senior High
School and Martin Junior High School were built, the
district selected sites that maximized Mexican-American
enrollments and it rejected more central locations
that would have produced less isolation (Pet. App. 38).°
Overcrowding in predominantly Anglo elementary
schools was alleviated by building new schools, but
overcrowding in the Mexican-American schools was
alleviated by the use of portable classrooms (Pet. App. 38
& n.18).

The court of appeals pointed out that the school district
has for the most part assigned its few Mexican-American
teachers to schools with predominantly Mexican-

*Petitioner asserts that decisions as to construction, abandonment,
site selection, and attendance zones are but “elements of the
neighborhood school policy” (Pet. 16), but the court of appeals
properly recognized that such decisions have in fact been devices for
manipulating a facially neutral “neighborhood school” policy to
create and maintain segregated schools (Pet. App. 33). In the face of
that finding “the mere assertion of * * * a [neighborhood school]
policy is not dispositive.” Keyes v. School District No, 1, 413 U.S.
189, 212 (1973).

°The rejection of alternatives that would have had a less segregative
impact or no such impact is highly probative on the question of
intent. See United States v. School District of Omaha, 521 F. 2d 530,
538 n.13, 540 n.20, 542-543 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 946
(1975); Morales v. Shannon, 516 F. 2d 411, 413 (Sth Cir.), cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 1034 (1975); Oliver v. Michigan State Board of
Education, 508 F. 2d 178, 182, 184-187 (6th Cir. 1974), cert. denied,
421 U.S. 963 (1975). See generally Note, Reading the Mind of the
School Board: Segregative Intent and the De Facto/De Jure
Distinction, 86 Yale L. J. 317 (1976).

10

American enrollments, thereby reinforcing the segregated
identity of those schools (Pet. App. 39). When desegrega-
tion plans were implemented for black students in Austin
in 1955 and the 1960's they permitted black students to
transfer to Mexican-American schools but not to Anglo
schools, and “Mexican-Americans were invariably as-
signed to black schools but not Anglo schools” (Pet.
App. 40).

As this Court recognized in Arlington Heights, supra,
429 U.S. at 266, on occasion “a clear pattern, unex-
plainable on grounds other than race, emerges from the
effect of state action” even where the governing policies
appear neutral on their face. In the instant case the record
contains evidence not only of facially neutral policies
carried out in a way that increased the isolation of
Mexican-American students, but of non-neutral, explicitly
racial policies directed to that end. While it may be that
no single decision by the school district compels the
conclusion that it engaged in pervasive intentional
discrimination against Mexican-Americans, an examina-
tion of the whole range of evidence deemed relevant in
Washington v. Davis and Arlington Heights \eads
inexorably to that conclusion. In Austin /I/ the court of
appeals conducted such an examination and found
substantial evidence of invidious intent. Further review by
this Court is unwarranted.'°

Petitioner also challenges the court of appeals’ remand to the
district court for reconsideration of an appropriate remedy in light of
this Court's decision in Dayton Board of Education v. Brinkman. In
Dayton, supra, 433 U.S. at 420, it was held that where constitutional
violations are found in a school desegregation case,

* * * the District Court in the first instance, subject to review
by the Court of Appeals, must determine how much incremen-
tal segregative effect these violations had on the racial
distribution of the *** school population as presently
constituted, when that distribution is compared to what it would
have been in the absence of such constitutional violations. The
remedy must be designed to redress that difference, and only if
there has been a systemwide impact may there be a systemwide
remedy.

CONCLUSION
The petition for certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCreg, Jr.
Solicitor General

Drew S. Days, III
Assistant Attorney General

BRIAN K. LANDSBERG
MILDRED M. MATESICH
Attorneys

FEBRUARY 1979

The district court has not had an opportunity to apply that standard
in this case. Indeed, it has not even considered a remedy for the
desegregation of the Mexican-American schools. In these cir-
cumstances, the court of appeals was entirely correct in sending the
case back to the district court for its consideration of the question of
appropriate relief. There is no reason for this Court to deal with that
issue at this time.

DOJ-1979-02

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_2152%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
