# Opposition — Louisiana Land & Exploration Co. v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1950%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 1127

## Text

No. 78-687

SE a

Iu the Supremv Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

LOUISIANA LAND AND EXPLORATION
COMPANY, PETITIONER

v.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL ENERGY
REGULATORY COMMISSION IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. MCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
ROBERT R. NORDHAUS
General Counsel

HOWARD E. SHAPIRO
Solicitor

MCNEILL WATKINS, II
Attorney
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20426

Page
Opinions below .......-.------------s--ssesseeesseseeeeneteeeee 1
JUrisdiction ............2.....n--csonerencsee--nsnennsensoee = 2
Question presented ...........-.------:------sseseseeeereteeeees 2
URINE 5 co cnnscicsscanonsnesen sea clcasiiatiaseestialseesdaeditiveetesoninoaesie 2
AYQUMENL ............-.--c-nceceeeeeceeeeeseescesneaneeesneseeseneees 5
TRAIN oacecnnncncnsenncnesonetensanscuesnensnorsasetenncnevenconce 11
CITATIONS
Cases:

California v. Southland Royalty Co., 436
Oe canes ecetecdetanneesnoenccmesirsnss 7

FPC v. Pan American Petroleum Corp.,
BE DU aspikccecees arcmtscdennseasenncenenns 3, 6

FPC v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line
Corp., 423 U.S. 326 ........2-.-.------0:s+s020+-- 9

Mohil Oil Corp. v. FPC, 463 F.2d 256,
cert. denied, Ris. OE, siaseivererncnsicens 8

Pan American Petroleum Corp. v. FPC,
839 F.2d 694, rev’d, 381 U.S. 762 ........ 3

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Wisconsin, 347
ie EY. ee nena een nen 10

United Gas Improvement Co. v. Conti-

nental Oil Co. (Rayne Field), 381 U.S.
a acstdaskescscnbcobeanininicaasesesnienes 3

II

Statutes: Page m
Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. 717 et seq.: in the _—— — uf = ial States
TOBER TERM,

Section 1(b), 15 U.S.C. 717(b) ........ 2, 3,6
Section 19(b), 15 U.S.C. 717r(b) .... 5
Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978, Pub. No. 78-687

L. No. 95-621, 92 Stat. 3350 et seq.:

Section 2(20), 92 Stat. 3355 ............
Section 2(22), 92 Stat. 3355 -..........

LOUISIANA LAND AND EXPLORATION
COMPANY, PETITIONER

aI

Vv.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL ENERGY
REGULATORY COMMISSION IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
la-9a) is reported at 574 F.2d 204. The opinion deny-
ing rehearing (Pet. App. 10a) is reported at 579
F.2d 971. The initial opinion and order (No. 772)
of the Federal Power Commission (Pet. App. 18a-
27a) and its opinion and order (No. 772-A) denying
rehearing (Pet. App. 28a-39a) are not yet reported.

rr. T
eh

(1)

2
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
1la-12a) was entered on May 30, 1978, and its order
denying rehearing (Pet. App. 10a) was entered on
September 11, 1978. The petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari was filed on October 24, 1978. This Court’s
jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1) and
Section 19(b) of the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C.
717r(b).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Federal Power Commission erred in
determining that petitioner had made a sale of nat-
ural gas in interstate commerce within the juris-
diction of the Commission under Section 1(b) of
the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. 717(b).

STATEMENT

In 1955 and 1959, petitioner, the owner of lands in
what later beeame known as the Bastian Bay Field,
Louisiana, executed oil and gas leases with a prede-
cessor of Amoco Production Company (collectively
referred to as “Amoco”). The leases provided for the
payment of royalties to petitioner measured by a per-
centage (2714% or 30°) of the price at which the
lessee sold the gas to third parties. The leases alter-
natively provided that if the lessee used the gas itself
or sold it to an affiliate, the royalties would be the
same percentage of the “fair and reasonable value”
of the gas (Pet. App. 15a). The leases required
petitioner’s written consent prior to any assignment,
sublease, or other transfer of the leaseholds (Pet.
App. 2a, 15a).

3

Amoco’s drilling on its leaseholds confirmed the ex-
istence of substantial natural gas reserves (Pet. 4).
Instead of selling the gas under a conventional con-
tract, Amoco arranged to assign its leasehold interests
to Tennessee Gas Pipeline Company (‘‘Tennessee”’),
an interstate carrier, at a price equivalent to 21 cents
per Mef of the estimated leasehold reserves (Pet.
App. 15a-16a, 18a; see also Pan American Petroleum
Corp. v. FPC, 339 ¥..2a 694, 695 (10th Cir. 1964), re-
versed, 381 U.S. 762 (1965) ). The Amoco-Tennessee
transfer was Jater found by this Court to have been
a “sale” in. place of proven natural gas reserves with-
in the meaning of Section 1(b) of the Act and thus
subject to the Commission’s jurisdiction. FPC v.
Pan American Petroleum Corp., 381 U.S. 762 (1965).
The Court relied on its decision a week earlier in the
Rayne Field case, United Gas Improvement Co. v.
Continental Oil Co., 381 U.S. 392 (1965). In Rayne
Field, the Court held that if the economic effect of a
transfer is similar to that of a conventional sale, if
the subject of the transaction is proven and substan-
tially developed reserves, and if the transfer of the
reserves is for the purpose of interstate transmission
and resale, the transaction is a “sale” within the
meaning of Section 1(b) of the Act. 7d. at 401.

After Amoco and Tennessee had agreed on the
assignment of the leases to Tennessee, Tennessee ap-
proached petitioner and offered to purchase petition-
er’s royalty interest in the leases or, alternatively, to
amend the leases to provide that royalty payments be
calculated as a percentage of a fixed value for gas

4

removed from the leaseholds (22.5 cents per Mef
through January 1, 1962, and 25 cents per Mcf there-
after) instead of a percentage of a varying market
price (Pet. App. 2a, 33a). Petitioner accepted the
offer of fixed-rate royalties, and its acceptance was
embodied in a letter contract signed by petitioner,
Amoco, and Tennessee. Petitioner thereupon con-
sented to the Amoco-Tennessee assignment (Pet. App.
16a).

The Commission held that petitioner’s participation
in the lease assignment and renegotiation of royalties
constituted the “sale of natural gas in interstate com-
merce subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission”
(Pet. App. 18a). The Commission reasoned that the
effect of the transaction was that (ibid.) :

Amoco is selling part of the gas to Tennessee for
21 cents per Mcf while [petitioner] is receiving
25 cents for another part of the gas. In our
opinion * * * this is a sale and it should be
treated as such under the Gas Act.

Accordingly, the Commission determined that peti-
tioner should refund the amount by which its renegoti-
ated royalties exceeded the maximum rates that would
have been permissible under a conventional, regulated
gas sales contract (Pet. App. 19a-25a).

The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. la-9a).
The court applied this Court’s Rayne Field test and
held (Pet. App. 6a) that petitioner’s retained power
to withhold consent to the lease transfers,

coupled as it was with an alteration of the royal-
ty rate, had the effect of altering not only the

5

cost of extracting the gas but also the cost of
introducing the gas to commerce. Under these
circumstances, we conclude that in economic ef-
fect [petitioner] sold gas in interstate commerce
subject to FERC jurisdiction.

The court also found the Commission’s refund calcu-
lation to be supported by substantial evidence (Pet.
App. 9a).

In a petition for rehearing, petitioner for the first
time argued that if the Commission’s refund formula
was applied to the production history of the leaseholds
and to the royalty payments made in the years since
the administrative record was closed, no refunds
would now be due. Accordingly, petitioner asked the
court for leave to adduce additional evidence before
the Commission pursuant to Section 19(b) of the
Act, 15 U.S.C. 717r(b) (Pet. App. 45a-46a).

The court denied rehearing, but stated: “[t]he
Commission should, however, allow additional hearing
on whether refunds should be recalculated * * *”

(Pet. App. 10a).’
ARGUMENT

The decision below is correct, there is no conflict
among the circuits, and the issue presented by the
unique facts of this case is not of general or recurring
importance.

1. The Commission and the court of appeals cor-
rectly applied the principles established in Rayne
Field, supra, in determining that petitioner’s trans-

1 No application for such a hearing has yet been filed with
the Commission.

6

action with Tennessee was in effect a sale of natural
gas in interstate commerce and therefore within the
Commission’s jurisdiction under Section 1(b) of the
Natural Gas Act.

Petitioner’s claim (Pet. 10-18) that it entered into
an ordinary lease and royalty agreement with Ten-
nessee is incorrect. The suusiance of the various
transactions was as follows: Under the original
leases, Amoco, as lessee, had a right to produce and
sell gas from the leaseholds and was required to pay
royalties to petitioner of 27.5% or 30% of Amoco’s
selling price. Amoco wished to assign all its rights to
the gas to Tennessee at a price equivalent to 21 cents
per Mcf—an assignment this Court later held to
be a jurisdictional sale, FPC v. Pan American Petro-
leum Corp., supra. Amoco and Tennessee, however,
needed petitioner’s consent to the assignment. Peti-
tioner consented to the assignment after renegotiating
the royalty provisions to provide petitioner with
royalties calculated on the basis of a fixed value for
the gas. As the Commission held (Pet. App. 18a),
fixing the value of the gas for royalty purposes at
25 cents per Mecf (after January 1, 1962) amounted
to a sale of the gas attributable to petitioner’s royalty
interest—at a price, indeed, higher than the price at
which Amoco sold its interest in the gas to Tennes-
see? In short, the Commission and the court of ap-

2 The economic effect of the transactions is the same as if
Amoco and petitioner had divided the gas under the lease-
hvuids between them (27.5% and 30% to petitioner and 72.5%
and 70% to Amoco), Amoco had sold its portion to Tennes-
see for 21 cents per Mcf, and petitioner had sold its portion
to Tennessee for 25 cents per Mcf.

7

peals correctly determined that under this Court’s
opinion in Rayne Field, the economic effect of peti-
tioner’s transaction with Tennessee was 2 jurisdic-
tional sale of gas.°

Indeed, petitioner appears to recognize that the
Commission correctly applied Rayne Field, since it
argues that Rayne Field was wrongly decided and
that “this Court should consider reshaping its hold-
ing * * *” (Pet. 13 & n.18). There is no occasion,
however, to reconsider Rayne Field, which this Court
has cited with approval several times, most recently
in California v. Southland Royalty Co., 436 U.S. 519,
541 (1978).

3 Petitioner argues (Pet. 14-18) that the record does not
support the Commission’s conclusion that petitioner’s right
to withhold consent to the assignment of the lease to Tennes-
see was relevant to the terms of the final arrangement be-
tween petitioner and Tennessee. The record evidence cited by
the Commission belies petitioner’s apparent contention that it
did not negotiate with Tennessee and did no more than pas-
sively consent to Tennessee’s proposal (see Pet. App. 3la-
34a). But even if there had been no evidence concerning the
actual negotiations between petitioner and Tennessee, the
Commission would have been justified in concluding that peti-
tioner’s right to withhold consent to the assignment was a
significant factor leading to the renegotiation of the royal-
ties, and that if the original leases had not given petitioner
that right, Tennessee, as assignee, would have been content
with the original royalty provisions.

‘Moreover, the Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978, Pub. L.
No. 95-621, enacted November $, 1978, 92 Stat. 8350, codi-
fies the Rayne Field doctrine. That Act defines “sale” to
mean “any sale, exchange, or transfer for value” (Section
2(20)), and defines “deliver,” with respect to any first sale
of natural gas, to include “in the case of the sale of proven
reserves in place * * * the transfer of title to such reserves.”
Section 2(22).

8

2. Contrary to petitioner’s claim (Pet. 9-12), the
court of appeals’ holding is fully consistent with
Mobil Oil Corp. v. FPC, 463 F.2d 256 (D.C. Cir.
1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 976 (1972). In Mobil,
the court of appeals held that by executing a typical
oil and gas lease, a landowner does not make a “sale”
of natural gas subject to Commission jurisdiction. As
the court stated (463 F.2d at 262; footnote omitted),
the lessor of reserves normally has

no knowledge when the lease is executed of the
ultimate destination of any gas that might be
discovered, no knowledge whether the gas, if dis-
covered, will be sold either to an interstate pipe-
line or to any other customer that will move it
across state lines. While the lease by the land-
owner provides for a royalty in the event of the
discovery and sale of gas, typically he has no
control over any incident of such sale either as to
the quantity to be sold, the price to be paid, the
identity of the purchaser or whether it shall be
sold in interstate or intrastate commerce.

The transaction in this case is not the typical lease
transaction described in Mobil. Here, proven and
substantially developed reserves were the subject of
the transfer; the transfer itself was for the purpose
of interstate transmission and resale. Petitioner
stepped out of the role of the v, ,*eal royalty owner to
affect the incidents of the sale, most pa. ‘larly the
cost of the gas on which the royalty was based. 1:.>se
facts distinguish petitioner from the typical lessor

9

considered in Mobil, as the court of appeals here
recognized (Pet. App. 5a-6a).

3. Petitioner also contends (Pet. 18-20) that the
court of appeals erred in denying petitioner’s motion
for leave to adduce additional evidence before the
Commission. The proffered evidence relates to gas
production and royalty payments in the years since
the administrative record was closed; according to
petitioner, the new evidence, when the Commission’s
refund formula is applied to it, would eliminate any
refund obligation.

The new evidence proffered does not affect the
merits of the Commission’s holding, and the proffer
implicitly accepts the Commission’s methodology for
computing refunds. Because the evidence did not
controvert the Commission’s fundamental conclusions,
the court of appeals properly denied the motion. Cf.
FPC v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 423
U.S. 326, 331 (1976). In any event, petitioner is now
free to present its new evidence to the Commission, by
virtue of the court of appeals’ direction on petition
for rehearing that “[t]he Commission should * * *
allow additional hearing on whether refunds should
be recalculated * * *” (Pet. App. 10a). Any decision
by the Commission on an application to recalculate
refunds will be subject to judicial review. Because
petitioner has available a complete remedy, there is
no reason for further review here.

4. Finally, the events giving rise to this proceeding
are unlikely to recur. The lease-sale transaction con-
summated by Amoco and Tennessee in this case is

10

similar to other lease-transfer arrangements devised
by producers following this Court’s decision in Phillips
Petroleum Co. v. Wisconsin, 347 U.S. 672 (1954), in
attempting to avoid rate regulation under the Natural
Gas Act. Following this Court’s holding in Rayne
Field, the impetus for improvising such transactions
evaporated; if the transaction in question ‘“‘accom-
plished the transfer of large amounts of natural gas
to an interstate pipeline company for resale in other
States,” then that “is the significant and determina-
tive economic fact.’’ 381 U.S. at 401.

Moreover, petitioner’s role as a royalty owner in
the Amoco-Tennessee transfer appears to be unique.
Eight of the nine royalty owners that were parties
to the Commission proceeding, for example, did not
negotiate separate royalty agreements with Tennessee
and were dismissed from the proceeding. (Pet. App.
16a, 34a). In no other case subsequent io the decision
in Mobil, supra, has the Commission been presented
with facts similar to those presented here. There is,
therefore, no reason to believe that the issues raised
in this case are of general importance or recurring
significance.

11
CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCREE, JR.
Solicitor General
ROBERT R. NORDHAUS
General Counsel

HOWARD E. SHAPIRO
Solicitor

MCNEILL WATKINS, II
Attorney
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

JANUARY 1979

ov. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFice; 1978 264165 256

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1950%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
