# Petition — United States v. Naftalin

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1830%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 441 U.S. 768

## Text

‘teal aoe
Fl Pr OD
oct 2 ore

MICHAEL ROBAK, JR_CLERK |

Gu the Supreme Court of the UniteStaths ~

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

78-561

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
e.

NEIL T. NAFTALIN

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

WADE H. MCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO
Assistant to the Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
DAVID FERBER
Solicitor to the Commission

JAMES H. SCHROPP
Assistant General Counsel

LARRY R. LAVOIE
Attorney
Securities and Exchange Commission
Washington, D.C. 20549

INDEX
Page
Opinions below ta tet pd Saat Seal 1
STR oh 1
SE tenella SA ae 2
Statutory provisions involved ee Ee 2
Statement , 3
Reasons for granting the petition ______ Sosa 5
Conclusion 13
CITATIONS
Cases:

A. T. Brod & Co. v. Perlow, 375 F.2d 393_ 9

Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores,
i Su 12

Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 US.
185 7,8,9
Farrell v. United States, 321 F.2d 409___. 8-9
Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87__ 5

Naftalin & Co. v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce,
Fenner & Smith, Inc., 469 F.2d 1166. 3-4
Piper v. Chris-Craft Industries, Inc., 430

Oe ph ae oe ort et eae eR ‘ 12
Sante Fe Industries, Inc. v. Green, 430

4 SS eee Se Se 7
Scarborough v. United States, 431 US.

563 9

Securities and Exchange Commission v.
C. M. Joiner Leasing Corp., 320 U.S.

Securities and Exchange Commission v.
Capital Gains Research Bureau, Inc.,
375 U.S. 180 8

II
Cases—Continued Page

Securities and Exchange Commission v.
National Securities, Inc., 393 U.S. 453. 7,8

United States v. Brown, 555 F.2d 336____.6, 9, 10

United States v. Culbert, No. 77-142
(March 28, 1978) 7,9

Statutes and regulations:
Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. 77a

et seq.:
Section 2(3), 15 U.S.C. 77b(3) _ 2,7
Section 17(a) (1), 15 U.S.C. 77q(a)
8) SSE a ia el ee 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12
Section 24, 15 U.S.C. 77x 12
Securities Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. 78a et
seq.:
Section 2, 15 U.S.C. 78b _ SAE 8
Section 10(b), 15 U.S.C. 78j(b) Be 11
Section 15, 15 U.S.C. 780 et seg. _____. 13
Section 17A, 15 U.S.C. 78q-1 et seq... 13
15 U.S.C. 80b-1 et seq. _ ae 13
12 C.F.R. 220.8(d) EES 3
17 C.F.R. 240.10a-1 (d) Aa taebiciie gles 3
17 C.F.R. 240.10a-2(a) ———_______ 4,10
17 C.F.R. 240.10b-5 Piae: 9
Miscellaneous:
42d SEC Ann. Rep. (1976) 12
H. R. Conf. Rep. No. 94-229, 94th Cong.,
See TO ASO 12
1 L. Loss, Securities Regulation (2d ed.
1961) 7

2 L. Loss, Securities Regulation (2d ed.
1961) 4

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
Vv.
NEIL T. NAFTALIN

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United
States, petitions for a writ of certiorari to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. A,
infra, la-lla) is reported at 579 F.2d 444. The
opinion of the district court (App. D, infra, 15a-
20a) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App. B,
infra, 12a-13a) was entered on June 13, 1978. A
timely petition for rehearing was denied on August

(1)

2

4, 1978 (App. C, infra, 14a). On August 31, 1978,
Mr. Justice Blackmun extended the time for filing a
petition for writ of certiorari to and including Oc-
tober 3, 1978. The jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Section 17(a)(1) of the Securities Act
of 1933 prohibits fraudulent practices that injure
brokers who serve as intermediaries in securities
transactions but who are not themselves investors.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. Section 17(a) (1) of the Securities Act of 1933,
15 U.S.C. 77q(a) (1), provides in part:

It shall be unlawful for any person in the offer
or sale of any securities by the use of any means
or instruments of transportation or communica-
tion in interstate commerce or by the use of the
mails, directly or indirectly—

(1) to employ any device, scheme, or artifice
to defraud * * *
2. Section 2(3) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15
U.S.C. 77b(3), provides in part:

The term * * * “offer” shall include every at-
tempt or offer to dispose of, or solicitation of
an offer to buy, a security or interest in a se-
curity, for value.

STATEMENT

1. Respondent, the principal of a registered broker-
dealer firm and a sophisticated professional investor,
engaged in a “short selling” scheme. Respondent se-
lected stocks that, in his judgment, had peaked in
price and were entering into a period of market de-
cline. He then placed with brokers orders to sell
shares of these stocks, although he did not own the
shares he purported to sell (App. D, infra, 16a-18a).
Gambling that the price of securities would decline
substantially before he was required to deliver them,’
respondent planned to make offsetting purchases
through other brokers at lower prices and to take as
profit the difference between the price at which he
sold and the price at which he covered. Respondent
falsely represented that he owned the shares he
“sold;” he knew that the brokers who executed the
sell orders would not have accepted them had they
known that he did not own the securities (id. at
17a).?

1A broker may immediately execute an order to sell a cus-
tomer’s shares if it “is informed that the seller owns the
security ordered to be sold and, as soon as is possible without
undue inconvenience or expense, will deliver the security
** *” 17 C.F.R. 240.10a-1(d).

2 By misrepresenting his ownership of the shares, respond-

‘ent avoided the requirement that “short” sellers (that is,

persons who sell a promise to produce shares in the future)
make a substantial “margin” deposit with the brokers. See
Regulation T, 12 C.F.R. 220.8(d). Brokers executing short
sales are protected by such deposits against market fluctua-
tions. Respondent’s scheme, known colloquially as “free rid-
ing,” is also described in Naftalin & Co. v. Merrill Lynch,

4

The market prices of the securities that respondent
“sold” rose sharply prior to the settlement date. He
was unable to make covering purchases, and he never
delivered the securities (App. D, infra, 18a). The
five brokers with whom respondent had placed the
sell orders had in turn promised to deliver the shares
to investors at the prices prevailing when respondent
began his scheme. In order to keep their delivery
promises, the brokers purchased the stock on the open
market, a process known as “buying-in,” at an ag-
gregate loss to themselves of more than $1,000,000.°

2. After making the findings described above, the
district court found petitioner guilty on eight counts
of employing a scheme or artifice to defraud in the
sale of securities, in violation of Section 17(a) (1)
of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. 77q(a) (1).
See App. D, infra, 15a-20a. Although the court of
appeals thought the evidence sufficient to establish
that respondent committed fraud (App. A, infra, 5a),
it reversed his convictions. Reasoning that the pur-
pose of Section 17(a) (1) is to “protect investors from
fraudulent practices in the sale of securities” (App.
A, infra, 6a-7a), the court concluded that “the gov-

Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 469 F.2d 1166, 1171-1172 (8th
Cir. 1972), which found that he had engaged in “obvious and
calculated wrongdoing.”

® When a sell order is executed, and the seller fails to make
delivery when due, the broker normally must “buy-in” substi-
tute securities for the purchasers. See 17 C.F.R. 240.10a-2(a).
See also 2 L. Loss, Securities Regulation 122$-1235 (2d ed.
1961). This “buy-in” procedure serves as a form of insurance
for investors who purchase securities.

a

5

ernment must prove some impact of the scheme on
an investor” (id. at 8a). Because respondent’s fraud
injured brokers rather than investors, the court held,
respondent’s acts did not violate Section 17(a) (1).

The court reversed the conviction on the sixth count
of the indictment even though that count involved
fraud on a broker who traded for his own account
as an investor (App. D, infra, 17a). The court rea-
soned that “the indictment did not allege that [the
defrauded broker] was a purchaser and * * * [re-
spondent] could not be tried on charges that were not
made” (App. A, infra, 10a).* Judge Ross dissented
from the court’s disposition of Count 6 of the in-
dictment (id. at 1la).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The decision of the court of appeals, which limits
the coverage of Section 17(a) (1) to fraudulent prac-
tices injuring “investors,” effectively removes federal
criminal prohibitions against fraudulent securities

* We believe that the court’s disposition of Count 6 is im-
proper even assuming, for this purpose, that Section 17 (a) (1)
applies only to fraud on “investors.” Ordinarily an indictment
is sufficient if it sets out the language of the statute and the
essential facts of the offense. Hamling v. United States, 418
U.S. 87, 117 (1974). Count 6 unquestionably is sufficient

‘under the standard of Hamling. But because the court’s treat-

ment of Count 6 appears to involve only the (mis) application
of settled principles to particular facts, we do not present
it as a separate question for this Court’s review. Of course,
if the Court should accept our construction of Section 17 (a)
(1), it would follow that the convictions on all counts should
be reinstated.

6

schemes in which the fraudulent statements are made
to financial institutions serving as intermediaries in
securities transactions. But the statute applies on its
face to all fraudulent practices in “the offer or sale
of any securities.” This language prohibits fraud
aimed at non-investor financial institutions. The Sec-
ond Circuit has applied Section 17(a)(1) at face
value, squarely rejecting the “investor” limitation
adopted by the court below. See United States v.
Brown, 555 F.2d 336, 338-399 (2d Cir. 1977).°

The decision in this case deprives the United States
and the Securities and Exchange Commission of power
to protect the principal participants in the nation’s
securities markets under Section 17(a)(1). Because
protection of such participants from fraudulent
schemes is essential to the integrity of the securities
marketplace, this Court should review the court of
appeals’ decision and resolve the conflict among the
circuits.

*’ Brown was prosecuted under Section 17(a) (1) for sub-
mitting counterfeit stock certificates to a transfer agent and
obtaining genuine certificates in smaller denominations in
exchange. Brown contended that his scheme was designed
to defraud the transfer agent rather than any investor. The
court of appeals, noting that Section 17(a) (1) “broadly con-
demns the employment of “any device, scheme, or artifice to
defraud’” (id. at 339), stated that “there is no doubt that
Congress in the broad language employed in [Section 17(a)
(1)] was intent upon protecting the integrity of the market-
place in which securities are traded” (ibid.).

7

1. “‘Thestarting point in every case involving con-
struction of a statute is the language itself.’”*° Sec-
tion 17(a) (1) forbids “any person in the offer * * *
of any securities * * * directly or indirectly * * * to
employ any device, scheme, or artifice to defraud.”
Section 2(3) defines “offer” to include “every attempt
or offer to dispose of * * * a security * * * for
value.”* Respondent placed “sell” orders for value
with various brokers, and he employed a scheme to
defraud in the course of placing those orders. The
statute unambiguously proscribes respondent’s con-
duct.

“Nothing on the face of the statute suggests a
congressional intent to limit its coverage” (United
States v. Culbert, No. 77-142 (March 28, 1978), slip
op. 2) to fraud practiced on investors. Just as it was

improper to restrict the scope of the Hobbs Act “by

reference to an undefined category of conduct termed
‘racketeering’ ” (id. at 9), so it was improper for the
court of appeals to restrict the scope of Section 17
(a) (1) to “the species of fraud” aimed at “investors”
(App. A, infra, 5a). Here, as in Culbert, the broad

¢ Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185, 197 (1976);

Santa Fe Industries, Inc. Vv. Green, 430 U.S. 462, 472 (1977).

“The definition of ‘offer’ is obviously much broader than
the common law concept.” 1 L. Loss, Securities Regulation 512
n.163 (2d ed. 1961). See also Securities and Exchange Com-
mission V. National Securities, Inc., 393 U.S. 453, 467 n.8

(1969).

8

words of the statute “do not lend themselves to [such
a] restrictive interpretation.” *

We do not doubt that investor protection is an
essential purpose of the Securities Act of 1933, just
as the prevention of “racketeering” is an essential
purpose of the Hobbs Act. But statutes commonly
have more than one purpose and strike at more than
one evil. So it is with the Securities Act of 1933.
This Court summarized the general objectives of the
statute in Ernst & Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185,
195 (1976) (emphasis added) :

The Securities Act of 1933 * * * was designed
to provide investors with full disclosure of mate-
rial information concerning public offerings of
securities in commerce, to protect investors
against fraud and, through the imposition of
specified civil liabilities, to promote ethical stand-
ards of honesty and fair dealing.

A principal purpose of the federal securities laws is
“to insure the maintenance of fair and honest mar-
kets.” 15 U.S.C. 78b.° Conduct that defrauds finan-

* This Court has often held that the securities laws should
be interpreted broadly to effectuate their remedial purposes
in government enforcement actions. See Securities and Ex-
change Commission V. Capital Gains Research Bureau, Inc.,
375 U.S. 180, 195 (1963); Securities and Exchange Commis-
sion V. National Securities, Inc., 393 U.S. 458, 467 (1969);
Securities and Exchange Commission Vv. C. M. Joiner Leasing
Corp., 320 U.S. 344, 350-351 (1943).

®* Consistent with this purpose, it is “well settled” in the
lower courts “that in a prosecution [under Section 17 (a) (1) ]
the government is not required to prove that anyone was de-
frauded or that any investor sustained loss.” Farrell v. United

on ee

9

cial intermediaries such as brokers strikes at the
heart of the securities markets.”

There was therefore no reason for the court of
appeals to invoke the “rule of lenity” to narrow the
literal application of Section 17(a)(1). As this
Court observed in United States v. Culbert, supra,
slip op. 8-9: “It is true that ‘ambiguity concerning
the ambit of criminal statutes should be resolved in
favor of lenity’. * * * But here Congress has con-
veyed its purpose clearly, and we decline to manu-
facture ambiguity where none exists.” See also Scar-
borough v. United States, 431 U.S. 563, 577 (1977).
Because Section 17(a) (1) is literally applicable here,
there is no ambiguity and no necessity to resort to
rules of construction intended to resolve statutory
uncertainties. See Securities and Exchange Commis-
sion v. C. M. Joiner Leasing Corp., 320 U.S. 344,
354-355 (1943).

States, 321 F.2d 409, 419 (9th Cir. 1963) (collecting cases).
See also United States v. Brown, supra.

1 Tt has long been recognized that Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R.
240.10b-5, which was based on Section 17(a) (see Ernst &
Ernst v. Hochfelder, supra, 425 U.S. at 213 n.32), prohibits
fraud practiced on “brokers.” See A. T. Brod & Co. v. Perlow,
375 F.2d 393, 396-397 (2d Cir. 1967): “Neither § 10(b) nor
Rule 10b-5 * * * speaks in terms of limiting the nature of the
violation to one involving fraud on ‘investors’; nor is there any

‘justification for reading such an additional requirement into

the act. * * * We believe that § 10(b) and Rule 10b-5 prohibit
all fraudulent schemes in connection with the purchase or sale
of securities, wehther the artifices employed involve garden
type variety of fraud, or present a unique form of deception.
Novel or atypical methods should not provide immunity from
the securities laws.”

10

2. Even if it were correct to conclude that tne
.1933 Act protects investors only, it would not follow
that frauds practiced on brokers are beyond the cov-
erage of the statute. A broker usually acts as the
agent of buyers and sellers. If the seller does not
have the promised shares, they cannot be delivered
to the buyer, and the buyer may suffer loss as a re-
sult. That loss is averted in cases like the present
one by the requirement (see 17 C.F.R. 240.10a-2(a) )
that the broker “buy in” real shares to deliver to the
buyer of the phantom shares. This, like insurance,
transfers the buyer’s loss to a financial intermediary.
Like insurance, it has a cost; in the long run it raises
the brokerage fees paid by investors. And if, in some
cases, brokers should be financially incapable of “buy-
ing in” to protect investors from loss, then investors
would bear the loss directly.

It is not logical to conclude that the “species of
fraud” practiced by respondent was beyond the scope
of the securities laws simply because the investors
were “insured” by the brokers’ “buy in” of shares.
As the Second Circuit pointed out in United States
v. Brown, supra, 555 F.2d at 339, “[o]ne might as
well argue that if Brown stole [some person’s] fully
insured automobile, he was never the victim of a lar-
ceny.” The court continued (ibid.) :

The fact that the Uniform Commercial Code
might ultimately shift the monetary loss from
Smith and ultimate investors hardly serves to
exculpate Brown and his group of fellow thieves,
counterfeiters and forgers from criminal respon-

11

sibility. This was not of course the garden vari-
ety of security fraud—its long planned execution
* * * constituted a massive assault upon innocent
investors and brokerage houses and their normal
business procedures which we -cannot construe
the statute to countenance.

Fraud practiced on brokers results in greater losses
to them, or perhaps in costly precautions to avoid
loss. The costs of loss or precautions are ultimately
borne by persons who use the services of brokers—
the investing public. The decision below removes an
important deterrent to fraud practiced against bro-
kers, and, in the end, must serve to render brokerage
services more costly or more cumbersome, to the
detriment of all traders in securities.

8. At all events, the decision of the court of ap-
peals seriously impairs the ability of the United
States and the Securities and Exchange Commission
to enforce the securities laws in cases involving fraud
practiced on the largest participants in the national
securities markets." Brokers are integral parts of
the securities exchange process, handling sales and

11 The reasoning of the court below—that the “purpose” of
the statute was to protect investors, and that mere agents
are therefore beyond protection—would seem to apply equally
under Section 10(b) of the 1934 Act, 15 U.S.C. 78] (b), as well
as Section 17(a) of the 19383 Act. Indeed, the court placed
principal reliance on authorities construing Section 10(b)
(see App. A, infra, 7a). Thus, the decision of the court of
appeals may mean, as a practical matter, that government
enforcement actions under Section 10(b) will also be fore-
closed in the Eighth Circuit in cases involving fraud on brokers
and other securities professionals.

12

consummating purchases for customers throughout
the nation. The amount of money involved in such
transactions is enormous. In 1975 brokers partici-
pated in securities transactions on national exchanges
with a dollar volume of $166.9 billion. See 42d SEC
Ann. Rep. 192 (1976). Because Section 17(a) au-
thorizes not only criminal prosecutions but also civil
remedies, the effect of the decision here is to abol-
ish one of the government’s most effective weapons
against the most serious forms of securities fraud
practiced on members of the brokrage industry.”

The decision of the court of appeals also would bar
government enforcement actions in cases where other
financial institutions—including transfer agents, in-
vestment advisers, and commercial bank trust de-
partments—have been defrauded. In each case it
could be argued, with equal logic, that the defrauded
financial intermediary was not an actual “investor”
or “purchaser” of securities, and thus was beyond the
scope of statutory protection.

12“The securities markets of the United States are indis-
pensable to the growth and health of this country’s and the
world’s economy. In order to raise the enormous sums of
investment capital that will be needed in the years ahead and
to assure that capital is properly allocated among competing
uses, these markets must continue to operate fairly and
efficiently.” H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 94-229, 94th Cong., 1st Sess.
91 (1975).

18 There is no question in this case of enforcing a private
implied right of action or of conferring “standing to sue.” See
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723 (1975);
Piper Vv. Chris-Craft Industries, Inc., 480 U.S. 1 (1977). This
criminal prosecution is squarely predicated on Congressional
grants of jurisdiction. See 15 U.S.C. 77q(a), 77x.

13

Brokers, transfer agents and investment advisers
are subject to pervasive regulation under the federal
securities laws. See 15 U.S.C. 780 et seq., 15 U.S.C.
78q-1 et seg., 15 U.S.C. 80b-1 et seg. Congress has
not demonstrated any intent to impose the burdens
of the securities laws on these financial institutions
without conferring the protections of the securities
laws, and those protections therefore should be avail-
able where, as here, they are literally applicable.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO
Assistant to the Solicitor General
DAVID FERBER
Solicitor to the Commission

JAMES H. SCHROPP
Assistant General Counsel

LARRY R. LAVOIE
Attorney

Securities and Exchange Commission

' OcTOBER 1978

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 77-1290

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, APPELLEE
Vv.

NEIL T. NAFTALIN, APPELLANT

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Minnesota

Submitted: August 30, 1977
Filed: June 13, 1978

Before BRIGHT, ROSS and HENLEY, Circuit Judges

HENLEY, Circuit Judge.

Neil T. Naftalin, appellant here and defendant in
the district court, was indicted on eight counts of
employing a scheme to defraud in the offer or sale

2a

of securities, in violation of §17(a)(1) of the Se
curities Act, 15 U.S.C. § 77q(a)(1). Appellant was
tried without a jury in the United States District
Court for the District of Minnesota and found guilty
on all eight counts. He was sentenced to five years
imprisonment on each of the eight counts, to be served
concurrently. This court has jurisdiction on appeal
under 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

The alleged schemes to defraud consisted of appel-
lant ordering five different brokers in eight separate
transactions to sell stock listed on the New York
Stock Exchange that appellant did not own at the
time of the orders, either without disclosing that he
did not own the stock or by affirmatively misrepre-
senting that he did own the stock. Counts I-V, VII
and VIII of the indictment arose out of sell orders
placed with various broker-dealers whereby the bro-
kers became appellant’s agents for the purpose of
finding buyers for the stock and transferring the
stock to the third party purchasers. Count VI, pres-
ently to be discussed separately, differs from the
other counts in that the evidence adduced in support
thereof shows that on August 28, 1969 H. S. Kipnis
and Co., the brokerage house involved, purchased the
securities mentioned in that count as a principal
rather than acting as appellant’s agent for the sale
of the securities to third parties.

Appellant was the president and controlling share-
holder of Naftalin and Co., Inc. (Company), a cor-
poration registered as a securities dealer under fed-
eral and Minnesota securities laws. Prior to 1963,

=.

the Company operated a public business as a broker-
dealer. After 1963, and at the time of the transac-
tions involved in this case, the Company had ceased
doing business with the public and was operated
essentially as a one-man business with appellant con-
ducting all of its affairs.

From 1966 until the time of the transactions in-
volved in this case, appellant had been trading for
the Company’s account in a number of stocks. The
pattern of trading which appellant established during
this period, and particularly in the summer of 1969,
was to place large sell orders in the Company’s name
with various broker-dealers for listed stocks. Deliv-
ery of the securities for these transactions was often
made weeks or months after the settlement dates set
forth in the confirmation slips prepared and mailed
to the Company by the brokers.*

Naftalin was, and is, a knowledgeable and sophis-
ticated professional investor. It is possible that such
a person can sell securities that he does not own
without at the time disclosing he does not own them
or representing falsely that he does own them. If
before delivery of the securities is required the mar-
ket price declines the seller can buy in the securities
at a lower price and pocket the difference. Of course,

_if the market advances the seller suffers loss, and if

1A good description of Naftalin’s over-ali “short-selling”
or “free-riding” mode of operation during the indictment
period may be found in Naftalin & Co. v. Merrill Lynch,
Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 469 F.2d 1166, 1170 (8th Cir.
1972). See also United States v. Naftalin, 534 F.2d 770 (8th
Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 827 (1976).

4a

he does not deliver the securities the broker through
whom he sells suffers loss. To be sure, a seller law-
fully may sell stock he does not own “short” if he
discloses at time of sale that he is short and if he
maintains appropriate brokerage accounts and other-
wise trades according to prescribed procedures. How-
ever, the government charges in essence that undis-
closed short sales misrepresented as sales of stock
owned by the seller, 7.e., “long” with intent to deceive
the broker and take a free ride on the broker’s money
or credit are made unlawful by §17(a)(1) of the
Securities Act, 15 U.S.C. § 77q(a) (1).?

Appellant never delivered any of the stock which
he had agreed to deliver pursuant to the sell orders
included in this case. With regard to Counts I-V,
VII and VIII, when appellant failed to deliver the
stock involved, the brokers ultimately purchased stock

2 Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. § 77q(a):

Sec. 17(a). It shall be unlawful for any person in
the offer or sale of any securities by the use of any means
or instruments of transportation or communication in
interstate commerce or by the use of the mails, directly
or indirectly—

(1) To employ any device, scheme, or artifice to
defraud, or

(2) To obtain money or property by means of
any untrue statement of a material fact or any omis-
sion to state a material fact necessary in order to
make the statements made, in light of the circum-
stances under which they were made, not misleading,
or

(3) To engage in any transaction, practice, or
course of business which operates or would operate
as a fraud or deceit upon the purchaser.

5a

sufficient to cover the sales which they had arranged
with third party purchasers. With perhaps one ex-
ception, the indictment transactions resulted in loss
to the brokers. There is no evidence that any of the
third party purchasers were deceived or defrauded
in any way.

Appellant urges on appeal that the evidence ad-
duced at trial was insufficient as a matter of law to
support the district court’s finding of fraud. While
we are convinced there is no merit to that claim we
pretermit further discussion of it and the factual
details of the fraudulent acts at this juncture because
we are not persuaded that the provision of § 77q(a)
(1) under which appellant was put to trial is vio-
lated by the species of fraud practiced against the
defrauded brokers who were not purchasers, and for
that reason we reverse on all counts other than Count
VI"

With respect to the counts now under considera-
tion, the government argues that the issue is whether
the government alleged and proved a device, scheme
or artifice to defraud in the offer or sale of a security.
And the government insists that 15 U.S.C. § 77q(a)
(1) does not require that the purchaser be defrauded,

8 Other issues raised on appeal are (1) that the district

’ court had no jurisdiction with regard to Counts I—V because

of a lack of proof of use of the mails by appellant; (2) that
sentencing on eight counts was improper since the proof
showed only a single scheme to defraud; and (3) that appel-
lant was exposed to double jeopardy due to prior disciplinary
action which had been taken by the Securities and Exchange
Commission in connection with the same stock transactions.

6a

so long as someone is defrauded in the offer or sale
of securities.

While we agree with the government’s statement
of the issue in this case, we do not agree with the
government’s analysis of the requirements of 15
U.S.C. § 77q(a) (1). It is clear that as between ap-
pellant and the brokers, there was no offer or sale
of securities. Appellant made phone calls to the vari-
ous brokers, during which he allegedly made a num-
ber of fraudulent statements, but he did not propose
to sell any securities to the brokers alleged to have
been defrauded. Appellant did request that the bro-
kers find purchasers for appellant’s stock and did
authorize sales for his account. A stockbroker does
not become the purchaser of stock when an owner
requests that the broker sell certain of the owner’s
securities. The ordinary relationship of a stockbroker
to his customer is that of principal and agent. See
Galiger v. Jones, 129 U.S. 193 (1889); McMann v.
Securities and Exchange Commission, 87 F.2d 377
(2d Cir. 1937). And the facts here clearly indicate
that the stockbrokers were acting as agents of appel-
lant, with the limited authority to find persons will-
ing to purchase appellant’s stock and subsequently to
transfer the stock to the purchasers.

The third party purchasers to whom the brokers
sold were not deceived or defrauded in any way. They
received the securities from the brokers and paid the
price they had contracted to pay.

The legislative purpose in enacting 15 U.S.C. § 77q
(a)(1) was to protect investors from fraudulent

Ta

practices in the sale of securities. Ernst & Ernst v.
Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185, 195 (1976) ; Securities and
Exchange Commission v. International Chem. Dev.
Corp., 469 F.2d 20, 26 (10th Cir. 1972); Superin-
tendent of Ins. of the State of New York v. Bankers
Life & Cas. Co., 300 F.Supp. 1088, 1094 (S.D. N.Y.),
affd, 480 F.2d 355 (2d Cir. 1970), rev’d on other
grounds, 404 U.S. 6 (1971); Dolgow v. Anderson,
43 F.R.D. 472, 482 (E.D. N.Y. 1968).

As Mr. Justice Powell noted in Ernst, supra, 425
U.S. at 194, federal regulation of transactions in
securities emerged as part of the aftermath of the
market crash in 1929. In the decade prior to 1933
the investing public suffered losses through invest-
ments in worthless securities estimated at twenty-
five billion dollars. S.Rep. No. 47, 73rd Cong., Ist
Sess., 2, to accompany S.875 (April 27, 1933). At
the time there was national concern with public sales
of worthless stock to persons who had no means of
adequate protection and emphasis upon protecting
the investing public from exploitation through sales
of unsound, fraudulent and worthless securities. In
a message to the Congress President Franklin D.
Roosevelt on March 29, 1933 said in part:

In spite of many State statutes the public in
the past has sustained severe losses through prac-
tices neither ethical nor honest on the part of
many persons and corporations selling securities.

Of course, the Federal Government cannot and
should not take any action which might be con-
strued as approving or guaranteeing that newly
issued securities are sound in the sense that their

8a

value will be maintained or that the properties
which they represent will earn profit.

There is, however, an obligation upon us to
insist that every issue of new securities to be
sold in interstate commerce shall be accompanied
by full publicity and information, and that no
essentially important element attending the is-
sue shall be concealed from the buying public.

This proposal adds to the ancient rule of
caveat emptor, the further doctrine ‘let the seller
also bevvare.’ It puts the burden of telling the
whole truth on the seller. It should give impetus
to honest dealing in securities and thereby bring
back public confidence.

The purpose of the legislation I suggest is to
protect the public with the least possible inter-
ference to honest business.

“Regulation of Security Issues,” Message from the
President of the United States, March 29, 1933.
House Document No. 12, 73rd Congress.

It was against this backdrop that the Securities
Act of 1933, including the section now codified as 15
U.S.C. § 77q(a) (1), was adopted. And it is against
this backdrop that we are constrained to hold that
the government must prove some impact of the scheme
on an investor. United States vy. Ashdown, 509 F.2d
793, 799 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 829
(1975), quoting United States v. Schaefer, 299 F.2d
625, 629-30 (7th Cir. 1962).

Our resolve is strengthened by reference to the
general principle that statutes creating crimes are to
be strictly construed in favor of the accused and be-
fore one may be punished it must appear that his

9a

case is plainly within the statute. United States v.
Harris, 544 F.2d 947, 949 (8th Cir. 1976); United
States v. Freeman, 473 F.2d 7, 9 (8th Cir. 1973);
Jacobs v. United States, 359 F.2d 960, 964 (8th Cir.
1966).

Moreover, the government has cited and our re-
search has uncovered no case in which 15 U.S.C.
§ 77q(a) (1) has been used to prosecute a defendant
for fraud in the sale of securities perpetrated upon
an agent-broker, where no investor has been deceived
or defrauded as a result of the fraud. We decline to
expand the scope of 15 U.S.C. § 77q(a) (1) to encom-
pass the facts of the present case.

Turning now to Count VI of the indictment, as
indicated it may be observed that the evidence shows
that on August 28, 1969 Naftalin called H. S. Kipnis
& Co. (Kipnis) to sell 1,000 shares of Fairchild
Camera (Fairchild). Kipnis, which both bought and
sold Fairchild for its own account, executed the order
by purchasing the shares.*

The evidence is somewhat conflicting as to repre-
sentations, if any, made by Naftalin in connection
with the sale and as to whether Naftalin was in fact
“short.” There are also facts including the fact of
a substantial post sale payment on the Kipnis account
by Naftalin in September, 1969 tending perhaps to
show lack of fraudulent intent never to deliver stock
or pay a debit balance.

* We are not advised as to whether Naftalin knew immedi-
ately that Kipnis was the purchaser; however, in due course
of business he learned the identity of the purchaser to whom
he had sold.

10a

On the other hand, there is strong evidence tend-
ing to support a finding of guilt.

Nevertheless, the conviction under Count VI must
be reviewed precisely as the other counts were re-
viewed even though a sale to Kipnis was in evidence.

In passing upon pretrial motions the district court
ruled that the entire indictment was not subject to
dismissal on the ground that it did not charge Nafta-
lin with having defrauded “purchasers,” and rejected
the government’s argument that it could satisfy the
purchaser requirement by proving that certain shares
were sold to Kipnis.

In rejecting the government’s argument, the trial
court noted the indictment did not allege that Kipnis
was a purchaser and observed that the defendant
could not be tried on charges that were not made.
Accordingly, the trial court concluded this portion of
its reasoning by announcing that the government
would be limited at trial to proof of violations of § 17
(a) (1). Under the statutory construction applied by
the trial court this meant, of course, that proof of
the fact of purchase by Kipnis was not to be con-
sidered essential at trial. Indeed, as the government
concedes with commendable candor, fraud on the pur-
chaser as purchaser was not charged.

Thus we have an anomolous situation in which we
have held that the theory and facts upon which the
case went to trial do not permit conviction, but in
which we perhaps could sustain a conviction had the
defendant been put to trial upon another basis.

lla

In the circumstances, we must vacate the convic-
tion on Count VI also.

The judgments of conviction are vacated and the
indictment shall be dismissed.

Ross, Circuit Judge, Concurring and Dissenting.

I concur in the disposition of all of the counts ex-
cept Count VI. I would affirm the conviction as to
Count VI.

A true copy.

Attest:
Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals,
Eighth Circuit

12a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-1290
[Filed June 13, 1978]
THE UNITED STATES, APPELLEE
v8.
NEIL T. NAFTALIN, APPELLANT

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Minnesota

JUDGMENT

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the desig-
nated record of the United States District Court for
the District of Minnesota and was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now
here ordered and adjudged by this Court, that the
judgment and sentence of the said District Court as
to Counts I-V, VII and VIII be and is hereby re-
versed.

And it is further ordered by this Court that this
cause as to Count VI be and is hereby vacated and

13a

the indictment shall be dismissed in accordance with
the majority opinion of this Court.

June 13, 1978
[SEAL]

A true copy:
Attest:

/s/ Robert C. Tucker
Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals,
8th Circuit

l4a
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-1290
[Filed August 4, 1978]
THE UNITED STATES, APPELLEE
v8.
NEIL T. NAFTALIN, APPELLANT
Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Minnesota

The Court having considered petition for rehearing
en banc filed by counsel for appellee and, being fully
advised in the premises, it is ordered that the peti-
tion for rehearing en banc be, and it is hereby, de-
nied.

Considering the petition for rehearing en banc as
a petition for rehearing, it is ordered that the peti-
tion for rehearing also be, and it is hereby, denied.

August 4, 1978

/s/ Robert C. Tucker
Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals,
8th Circuit

15a
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA
FOURTH DIVISION

Cr. No. 4-74-73
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Vv.

NEIL T. NAFTALIN

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
AND VERDICT

The above-entitled criminal matter came on for
trial December 14, 1976, before the Court (a jury
having been waived) on an eight-count indictment,
each count charging Neil T. Naftalin with a viola-
tion of Title 15, United States Code, Section 77(q)
(a).

Upon all of the evidence presented at trial, the
Court finds as follows:

1. From on or about February 10, 1960, and con-
tinuing thereafter up to and including the present,
Naftalin & Co., Inc., a corporation duly organized
under and by virtue of the laws of the State of Min-

‘nesota, maintains its principal offices in Minneapolis,

Minnesota. Since February 25, 1960 and continuous
thereafter up to May 17, 1973, Naftalin & Co., Inc.,
was registered with the Securities and Exchange
Commission pursuant to Section 15(b) of the Securi-

16a

ties Exchange Act, Title 15, United States Code,
Section 780(b). Naftalin & Co., Inc., was also a
member of the National Association of Securities
Dealers, Inc., a national securities association regis-
tered pursuant to Section 15A of the Securities Ex-
change Act, Title 15, United States Code, Section
780-3, since 1960. From the time of its registration
in 1960 through approximately the end of 1962, Naf-
talin & Co., Inc., conducted a general securities busi-
ness in the over-the-counter market from its offices
in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Since 1963 through De-
cember, 1969, except for a few isolated transactions,
Naftalin & Co. did not conduct a public business, but
rather traded for its own account through various
broker/dealers.

2. At all times since its incorporation, Neil T.
Naftalin, defendant herein, was President, principal
executive officer, and majority shareholder of Nafta-
lin & Co., Inc. Neil T. Naftalin was an experienced,
knowledgeable and sophisticated investor and was
familiar with the customs and terminology used in
the trade.

3. From July 22, 1969 through August 28, 1969,
Neil T. Naftalin knowingly employed a scheme and
artifice to defraud Paine, Webber, Jackson and Cur-
tis, Piper, Jaffray and Hopwood, Inc., Dain, Kalman
and Quail, Inc., Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and
Smith, Inc., and H. S. Kipnis & Co., Inc.

As a part of said scheme and artifice to defraud
the above firms, Neil T. Naftalin placed sell orders
with the above firms for the cash account of Naftalin

17a

& Co., Inc., for the stocks of American Research and
Development, Avon Products, Inc., Burroughs Corpo-
ration, Control Data Corporation, and Fairchild
Camera and Instrument. In each instance defendant
Naftalin represented Naftalin & Co. to be “long” in
the stock, either by direct statement to that effect or
by using words and phrases in placing the sell order
which would be understood in the trade as a repre-
sentation that Naftalin & Co. was “long” in the
stock. In each instance Naftalin & Co. was “short”
the stock involved. Neil T. Naftalin knew that each
of the firms would not have accepted the sell orders,
except that giving rise to Count 6 of the indictment,
had they known that Naftalin & Co. was “short” the
stock. They either would not have taken the sell
order at all or would have required a margin deposit.
As to Count 6, the short sale of 1000 shares of Fair-
child Camera through H. S. Kipnis & Co., Kipnis
would not have required margin because it dealt in
that stock as a principal, but, as Neil T. Naftalin
knew, it would have refused to complete the transac-
tion had it known that Naftalin & Co. was not in a
position to deliver the stock as represented by Neil
T. Naftalin.

As a part of the scheme and artifice to defraud the
above firms in the sell orders placed with respect to

‘the above stocks, Neil T. Naftalin lulled the above

firms into believing Naftalin & Co. was long in the
stocks by responding to the firms’ demands for deliv-
ery of the stock with assertions that Naftalin & Co.
was “long” and the stock was on its way to Naftalin

18a

& Co. from other brokers, banks, or transfer agents.
None of the securities sold by Naftalin & Co. in the
transactions alleged in the indictment were delivered
by Naftalin & Co. Each broker had to buy the securi-
ties in (and in all but one case, said buy ins were at
a loss).

4, With respect to Count One, Neil T. Naftalin
employed the scheme to defraud, described in para-
graph 8 herein, by placing a sell order for 500 shares
of American Research and Development with Paine,
Webber, Jackson and Curtis on July 22, 1969, and
caused said firm to send and deliver by United States
mail an envelope addressed to Naftalin & Co. contain-
ing a written confirmation of that sale.

5. With respect to Count 2, Neil T. Naftalin em-
ployed the scheme to defraud described in paragraph
3 hereby placing a sell order for 1000 shares of Bur-
roughs Corporation with Paine, Webber, Jackson and
Curtis on August 5, 1969, and caused said firm to
send and deliver by United States mail an envelope
addressed to Naftalin & Co. containing a written
confirmation of that sale.

6. With respect to Count 3, Neil T. Naftalin
employed the scheme to defraud described in para-
graph 8 herein by placing a sell order for 1000 shares
of Burroughs Corporation with Piper, Jaffray &
Hopwood, Inc., on August 7, 1969, and caused said
firm to send and deliver by United States mail an
envelope addressed to Naftalin & Co. containing a
written confirmation of that sale.

19a

7. With respect to Count 4, Neil T. Naftalin
employed the scheme to defraud described in para-
graph 3 herein by placing a sell order for 1000 shares
of Control Data Corporation with Dain, Kalman and
Quail, Inc., on August 8, 1969, and caused said firm
to send and deliver by United States mail an envelope
addressed to Naftalin & Co. containing a written
confirmation of that sale.

8. With respect to Count 5, Neil T. Naftalin
employed the scheme to defraud described in para-
graph 3 herein by placing a sell order for 500 shares
of American Research and Development with Merrill
Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and Smith, Inc., on August 20,
1969, and caused said firm to send and deliver by
United States mail an envelope addressed to Naftalin
& Co. containing a written confirmation of that sale.

9. With respect to Count 6, Neil T. Naftalin
employed the scheme to defraud described in para-
graph 3 herein by placing a sell order for 1000 shares
of Fairchild Camera and Instrument Corporation
with H. S. Kipnis & Co. on August 28, 1976, and in
placing such sell order the defendant used a com-
munication in interstate commerce, that is, a tele-
phone call from Minnesota to Illinois.

10. With respect to Count 7, Neil T. Naftalin
employed the scheme to defraud described in para-
graph 3 herein by placing a sell order for 500 shares
of American Research and Development with H. S.
Kipnis & Co. on August 4, 1969, and in placing such
sell order the defendant used a communication in
interstate commerce, that is, a telephone call from
Minnesota to Illinois.

20a

11. With respect to Count 8, Neil T. Naftalin em-
ployed the scheme to defraud described in paragraph
3 herein by placing a sell order for 1000 shares of
Avon Products, Inc., with H. S. Kipnis & Co. on
August 1, 1969, and in placing such sell order the
defendant used a communication in interstate com-
merce, that is, a telephone call from Minnesota to
Illinois.

From the above facts, the Court finds that as to
each count the government has proven beyond a rea-
sonable doubt that Neil T. Naftalin employed a
scheme or artifice to defraud in the sale of securities
and has used the mails or a communication in inter-
state commerce in said scheme.

As to each count of the indictment, the Court finds
that the defendant acted as charged in the count
wilfully and knowingly.

The Court finds the defendant guilty of each count
in the indictment.

/s/ Earl R. Larson
United States District Judge

Dated: February 1, 1977.

W sou. s. covernment printine orrice; 1978 274154 127

| CE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1830%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
