# Opposition — Houston Distribution Services, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1760%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 1047

## Text

No. 78-490 Oy 22 |

pe

Supreme Court, U. S,
Bs ee 3°

978

R., CLERK

——— or

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

HOUSTON DISTRIBUTION SERVICES, INC. AND
SOUTHWEST WAREHOUSE SERVICES, INC., PETITIONERS
Ve
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT Of APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUI,

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. MCcCREE, JR.
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

JOHN S. IRVING
General Counsel

JOHN E. HIGGINs, JR.
Deputy General Counsel

ROBERT E. ALIEN
Acting Associate General Counsel

NorRTON J. COME
Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER
Assistant General Counsel

VIVIAN A. MILLER
Attorney
National Labor Relations Board
Washington, D.C. 20570

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-490

HOUSTON DISTRIBUTION SERVICES, INC. AND
SOUTHWEST WAREHOUSE SERVICES, INC., PETITIONERS

V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A-48 to A-
62) is reported at 573 F. 2d 260. The decision and order of
the National Labor Relations Board (Pet. App. A-I to A-
47) are reported at 227 NLRB 960.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
June 26, 1978 (Pet. App. A-63 to A-64). The petition for a
writ of certiorari was filed on September 22, 1978. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether substantial evidence supports the Board’s
finding that petitioners violated Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of

(1)

the National Labor Relations Act by refusing to hire
three applicants for employment and by discharging four
employees in order to avoid bargaining with the union.

2. Whether, in the circumstances of this case, the Board
properly amended the complaint to include the parent
corporation of the wholly-owned subsidiary nained in the
unfair labor practice charge.

3. Whether the court of appeals properly found that no
prejudice resulted from the Administrative Law Judge’s
refusal to admit certain evidence.

STATUTE INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the National Labor Re-
lations Act, 29 U.S.C. 151 ef seq., are set forth at Pet.
2-4.

STATEMENT

1. In December, 1974, the Company,' which provides
public warehouse services, purchased the assets of
Shippers Transportation Services (“Shippers”), including
a long term lease on the Spikewood warehouse. Shippers’
warehouse employees were represented under a collective
bargaining agreement by Teamsters Freight, Tank Line
and Automobile Industry Employees Local Union No.
988 (“the Union”). (Pet. App. A-22 to A-23.)

The Company began operating the Spikewood
warehouse on February |, 1975.2 The existing workforce

'The Board found that petitioner Houston Distribution Services,
Inc. (HDS) and its wholly-owned subsidiary, petitioner Southwest
Warehouse Services, Inc. (Southwest), are single-employer within
the meaning of the Act (Pet. App. A-3). Petitioners do not contest
that finding here. Unless otherwise noted, petitioners are individ-
ually & jointly referred to herein as “the Company.”

?After assuming control of the Spikewood facility, the Company
continued to honor Shippers’ obligations to customers. The major
customers and principal products stored continued as before and only

Pe

at the warehouse was required to file application forms by
February 3 for consideration for employment with the
Company (Pet. App. A-8).

The Union’s business agent visited Spikewood on
February 3. He asked Company Vice-President Daniel
Barrett if he knew that the Union represented the
warehouse employees and that there was an existing
contract. Barrett replied that he had no connection with
the Union and that, as far as he was concerned, the Union
was out. (Pet. App. A-9; Tr. 26-28, 45-46.)

Seventeen Shippers employees applied for jobs. Nine
were hired, and eight were refused employment, including
Eugene Plater, Emmet Lewis, and Phillip Ware. (Pet.
App. A-10 to A-15; Tr. 84-86, 554-555, 604.) During the
first week of February, Barrett hired six employees, who
responded to a Company newspaper ad, including four
college students with no experience in warehousing (Pet.
App. A-8 to A-9, A-20 n.12; Tr. 72, 135, 604). Two
additional employees were on the Company payroll when
Spikewood was acquired and Barrett hired Company
President Gary Stillwell’s son as a regular part-time
employee (Pet. App. A-9; Tr. 398-399, 555, 604, 614-615).
Thus, the workforce at the end of the first week of
February numbered eighteen employees.

On February 13, Barrett rejected the Union’s request
for contract discussions, stating that less than a majority
of the Spikewood workforce were formerly employed by
Shippers, that the majority of the workforce had no
known union affiliation, and that Southwest was not
required to bargain with a labor organization which did
not represent more than half of its employees (Pet. App.
A-18 to A-19). But see note 3, infra.

minor changes were made in the warehouse facility and the method of
operation. (Pet. App. A-22 to A-28; Tr. 69-70, 98, 122-128, 144-145,
182, 473-474.) “Tr.” references are to the transcript of the unfair labor
practice hearing.

On February 26 or 27, Barrett and another supervisor
learned that the Union had scheduled a meeting for the
first week of March and that Raymond Mills and
Nathaniel Jones, two former Shippers employees who had
been hired by the Company, planned to attend the
meeting (Pet. App. A-29 to A-30; Tr. 107-108, 232-235,
344-346, 348). On Tuesday, March 4, in the middle of a
pay period, the Company discharged Mills and Jones as
well as Wilford Davis and Curtis Mack, former Shippers
employees and members of the Union (Pet. App. A-28 to
A-29, A-32 to A-33; Tr. 115, 235-236). In discharging
Jones and Mills, Barrett said that he was terminating
them because “they” were not satisfied with their working
conditions (Pet. App. A-32; Tr. 235, 280).

2. The Board concluded that the Company refused to
hire three Shippers’ employees, Plater, Lewis, and Ware,
“because of a predesign * * * to decline to hire [Shippers]
employees beyond a number constituting a majority of the
work force” and thereby “avoid bargaining with the
Union” (Pet. App. A-19, A-21). In so holding, the Board
rejected the Company’s contention that the three were
denied employment because they could not report to work
immediately and because their applications were either
incomplete, ambiguous concerning the job sought, or
failed to show warehousing experience. The Ad-
ministrative Law Judge, whose decision was adopted by
the Board, pointed out that, although the Company
contended that it sought to hire the most qualified
employees, it did not check with former Shippers’
officials, including those hired by the Company, as to the
qualifications of individual Shippers’ warehousemen who
applied for work with the Company (Pet. App. A-17).
And, although the Company contended that the three
former Shippers employees’ applications did not disclose
their qualifications for the job, it hired, in their place,
college students with no previous experience in warehouse
work. Finally, all three applicants were available for work

no later than February 4 and other applicants were hired
who were not available until that date (Pet. App. A-19 to
A-12).

The Board further found that Davis, Mack, Mills, and
Jones were terminated “as a further step in [the
Company’s] effort to thwart the threat of union or-
ganization of its warehouse facilities” (Pet. App. A-32),
rather than because of poor work performance as the
Coinpany contended. The Law Judge pointed out that,
although the four employees’ alleged work deficiencies
“were detected shortly after hire” (Pet. App. A-30), and
there were no “specific work derelictions or acts of
misconduct at a time proximate to their terminations”
(Pet. App. A-29), the employees were discharged in the
middle of a pay period and shortly after the Company
found out about their continuing interest in union
representation (Pet. App. A-32). The Law Judge also
relied on Vice-President Barrett's allusion to Jones’ and
Mills’ continuing interest in the Union as grounds for
their discharge (Pet. App. A-32).

Accordingly, the Board concluded that the Company
violated Sections 8(a)(3) and (1) of the Act, 29 U.S.C.
158(a)(3) and (1), by refusing to hire Plater, Lewis and
Ware, and by discharging Mills, Jones, Davis and Mack
(Pet. App. A-33).

Additionally, the Board concluded that the Company
violated Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act, 29 U.S.C.
158(a)(5) and (1), by refusing to recognize and bargain
with the Union (Pet. App. A-33). The Board found that
the Company was a successor employer to Shippers, and
that, at the inception of operations, a majority of its
employees had been employees of Shippers who were
represented by the Union.} (Pet. App. A-24 to A-28.)

3At the end of the first week of Febuary there were 18 employees in
the workforce: nine Shippers employees, 6 new employees hired as a
result of newspaper advertising, 2 employees already on the Company

The Board ordered the Company, inter alia, to offer
employment to Plater, Lewis, and Ware, to reinstate the
four discriminatorily discharged employees, and to
bargain with the Union (Pet. App. A-34 to A-35).4

3. The court of appeals upheld the Board's decision
and enforced its order. The court found that substantial
evidence supports the Board’s finding that the Company
was motivated by anti-union animus in refusing to hire
the three applicants and in discharging the four union
adherents (Pet. App. A-54 to A-56, A-57). The court
noted that the fact that the Company “had good cause to
fire the four workers * * * is not enough to vitiate the
Board’s finding unless the good reason was a motivating
cause of the discharge” (Pet. App. A-57).

The court found no error in the amendment of the
complaint to include Southwest. It noted that “the
addition of the correct corporate entity is not so
completely outside the original charge that the Board
could be said to have initiated a proceeding on its own
motion” and observed that working men filing an unfair
labor practice charge “are not required to wander the
maze of corporate structure” (Pet. App. A-53).

payroll, and the son of the Company president. Since the nine
Shippers employees did not constitute a majority of the 18 employees
hired, the Company considered that it had no obligation to recognize
the Union (Pet. App. A-18 to A-19). However, since Section 2(3) of
the Act, 29 U.S.C. 152(3), excludes from employee status any
individual employed by “his parent or spouse,” President Stillwell's
son was not properly included in the unit. Therefore, there were only
17 rank-and-file employees, and the nine former Shippers employees
constituted a majority. (Pet. App. A-23 to A-24.)

4At the Board hearing, petitioners moved to dismiss the complaint
on the ground that the charge and complaint named only HDS and
that the alleged unfair labor practices related solely to Southwest.
The Judge denied the motion because HDS and Southwest constitute
a single employer and amended the complaint sua sponte to include
Southwest. (Pet. App. A-2 to A-5; Tr. 13-17, 497-500, 587-588.)

The court did find that the Law Judge committed error
in refusing to accept the testimony of a white employee,
Bret Griffin, concerning the job performance of black
employees on the ground that the testimony of the former
would be likely to be animated by racial prejudice.
However, the court found that the Company was not
prejudiced thereby “because of the cumulative nature of
the proposed testimony” (Pet. App. A-59).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioners contend (Pet. 6-7) that the instant case
presents a conflict with the First Circuit as to the standard
to be applied in discriminatory discharge cases where
there is evidence that an employer had both proper and
improper motives for the discharge. However, the Board,
upheld by the court of appeals, found that the Company
discharged the four employees solely to deter the
unionization of its warehouse facilities and then
attempted to justify the discharges with pretextuous
reasons “unworthy of belief” (Pet. App. A-31). Accord-
ingly, this case presents no occasion to resolve any
difference between the First and the Fifth Circuits as to
the proper standard to apply in assessing the lawfulness of
a discharge in mixed-motive cases.

Similarly, the Board, upheld by the court below, found
that the sole reason for denying employment to the three
applicants was to avoid bargaining with the Union. Thus,
assuming arguendo petitioners are correct in contending
(Pet. 8) that Howard Johnson Co., Inc. v. Hotel
Employees, 417 U.S. 249 (1974), stands for the proposi-
tion that a refusal of a successor to hire a predecessor's
employees is lawful unless solely motivated by anti-union
considerations,’ the Board found that to be the case here.

‘There is, however, no merit to that contention. As the court of
appeals correctly noted the sentence from Heward Johnson quoted
by petitioners (Pet. 8) was not “an attempt to formulate a test for

Thus, the question actually presented. is whether the
Board improperly rejected petitioners’ assertion that the
failure to hire the three applicants and the discharge of
the four employees were motivated by legitimate
economic considerations. Those are merely evidentiary
matters that do not warrant review by this Court.
Universal Camera Corp. v. National Labor Relations
Board, 340 U.S. 474, 490-491 (1951).

2. Contrary to petitioners’ contention (Pet. 9), the
court of appeals did not uphold the Board’s action in
amending the complaint by invoking any broad principle
that a parent company is always answerable for its
subsidiary. Rather, the court merely upheld the Board’s
finding, which petitioners do not contest here, that HDS
and Southwest were, in fact, a single employer for the
purposes of the Act. Thus, the case raises no question
concerning the propriety of administrative action based
only on common ownership of corporate entities.

3. Petitioners’ contention (Pet. 7-8) that the error of the
Administrative Law Judge in refusing to admit the
evidence of Bret Griffin (supra, page 7) required dismissal
of the complaint raises only the issue whether the court of
appeals abused its discretion in determining that the error
was not prejudicial because the disallowed testimony was
cumulative. See National Labor Relations Board v.
Safway Steel Scaffolds Co. of Georgia, 383 F. 2d 273, 277
(Sth Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 390 U.S. 955 (1968). That

burden of proof in successorship cases (Pet. App. A-54),” but merely
gave an example of conduct which would be unlawful. The court
added (ibid.):

Indeed, after citing with approval two cases, neither of which
adopts a “sole motivation” test, Mr. Justice Marshall further
states, “There is no suggestion in this case that Howard Johnson
in any way discriminated in its hiring against the former Grisson
employees because of their union membership, activity, or
representation.” [417 U.S. at 262 n.8.]

factual question is not appropriate for review by this
Court.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCRreE, Jr.
Solicitor General

JOHN 3. IRVING
General Counsel

JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR.
Deputy General Counsel

ROBERT E. ALLEN
Acting Associate General Counsel

NorTON J. COME
Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER
Assistant General Counsel

VIVIAN A. MILLER
Attorney

National Labor Relations Board

NOVEMBER 1978

DOJ-1978-11

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1760%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
