# Amicus Brief — Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1749%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 443 U.S. 256

## Text

re
ers Court, U.
Lk ey]

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-479

STANLEY D. EDMONDS,
Petitioner,

Vv.

COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRANSATLANTIQUE,
Respondent.

On Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
CourRT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE,
LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY

Davip R. OweEN,
10 Light Street,
Baltimore, Maryland 21202,
Attorney for Amicus
Curiae.
Of Counsel:
SEMMES, BOWEN & SEMMES
Baltimore, Maryland

The Daily Record Co., Baltimore, Md. 21202 Be >

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE. ..... 1
CPRTONG FINNEY vsiccsecsncisisscsscsccosdsoscicaccdsossnsas 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUDENT ......cccccsccsccccccsccosccsccccccccase 4

ARGUMENT:

I. Under The Firmly Established Rule Of
Both Maritime And Common Law,
Each Tortfeasor Is Severally Liable For
All Damages Recoverable By The In-
PE einentete Ware Aen Oi aE 5

II. This Court’s Decision In United States
v. Reliable Transfer Co., Inc., 421 U.S.
397 (1975), Has No Relevance Whatever
ae ee CE SN sik Cineieenciccns 7

III. The Legislative History Does Not Sup-
port Respondent’s [Interpretation Of The

PI sea daeidtdcccineditelicht clit esse iidiaboitekunsinigen 15
1. The Committee Hearings ................. 15
2. The Committee Reports .................... 22
IV. The Statutory Language Itself Does Not
Support Respondent’s Interpretation. ... 25

V. Congress Could Not Have Intended To
Limit Employers’ Lien Recoveries As
Well As Burdening Them With The
Increased Cost Of Compensation Bene-
I saids cds conan aosseibictec etnaiecannd sneaks cbsbladetncadits 29

I 32

TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases

Adkins v. I.T.O. Corporation of Baltimore, 433
Mri WE ciinionsisctspaniidiokscbasaentncdenesilblecdctnoeladlpiicaekicanicaniins 32

ii
PAGE
Aktieselskabet Cuzco v. The Sucarseco, 294 U.S.
RRS RESP Cat Seger Soe acne tnnee =e SPRINT oe on 6
The Alabama and The Penn 92 U.S. 695
| __, ERRELR IERIE "Jets On oe 5 7 ere ERT Re 6
Albert v. Paulo, 552 F.2d 1139 (5 Cir. 1977) ...... 2

Complaint of Allied Towing Corp., 416 F. Supp.
1207 (E.D. Va. 1976), aff'd 580 F.2d 702 (4
CRs RI cchnhintie basesatiictniaducaccddestiieliiintssliemhisaecsantas 26

American Motorcycle Ass’n v. Superior Court, 20
Cal. 3d 587, 146 Cal. Rptr. 182, 578 P.2d 899 12

American Mutual Insurance Co. v. Matthews,

23GB PBe SEB CB Cie. 19GD) ....cccccccccecccccesccseceess 3
Anderson v. Iceland Steamship Co., (1 Cir.

9/29/78) (not yet reported) ............ccccccceeeeeeeeee 30
Atlantic Coastline R.R. Co. v. Erie Lackawanna

R.R. Co., 406 U.S. 340 (1972) ......................... 3
Baccile v. Halcyon Lines, 187 F.2d 403 (3 Cir.

pI OS RESTS er oe SABRES cM Die eC RC CE 18
Baker v. Pacific Far East Lines, Inc., 451 F.

Supp. 84 (N.D. Calif. 1978) 0... eeeeeeeee 26
The Bernina, [1887] 12 P. 58 (C.A.), aff’d [1888] 13

App. Cas, 1 (IL. 1887) ....ccceccccccscccsccceccsssecsesss 6
James R. Butler v. Eucharis Shipping Corp.,

Civil Action No. 78-431-N .........cccccccscsceeseseeeees 29
The Chattahoochee, 173 U.S. 540 (1899) ............. 6
Chavis v. Finnlines, Ltd., 576 F.2d 1072 (4 Cir.

SUI Ciphea lee cs vhcinsinescecendedaedeci alent bikie ncepneiiais 30

Compagnie Generale Transatlantique v. Stanley
Edmonds, Liberty Mutual Insurance Com-
pany, and Nacirema Operating Co., Inc.,

Civil Action No. 78-413-N oo....ccccccccccecsseeeseees 3
Cooper Stevedoring Company, Inc. v. Fritz
Kopke, Inc., 417 U.S. 106 (1974) ................ 3, 5, 6, 10

Crumady v. The J. H. Fisser, 358 U.S. 423 (1959) 23,24

a

ill

Dodge v. Mitsui Shintaku Ginko K.K. Tokyo, 528
F.2d 669 (9 Cir. 1975), cert. den. 425 U.S. 944

PAGE

ESSE PENOLANESIS oer ney OEE me VF 27
The Etna, 138 F.2d 37 (3 Cir. 1943) .............:..0000. 2
Fathom Expeditions, Inc. v. M/T Gavrion, 402 F.

es EB PM. TTB) ceiccecsesicscscctsveccrens 14
Fitzgerald v. Compania Naviera La Molinera,

394 F. Supp. 402 (E.D. La. 1975) ow... 26
Complaint of Flota Mercante Grancolombiana,

S.A., 440 F. Supp. 704 (S.D.N.Y. 1977) ........ 15
Fogarty v. United States, 340 U.S. 8 (1950). ...... 9
Gay v. Ocean Transport & Trading Ltd., 546 F.2d

as ON ees siinihsitintalcoatntctininiensssnbadotac 30
Griffith v. Wheeling Pittsburgh Steel Corpora-

tion, 521 F.2d 31, cert. den. 423 U.S. 1054

RIE sccececeercienditastentbinccdsadaclasibaiphtels baneunddbiasinbiatiein 10, 25, 26
Halcyon Lines v. Haenn Ship Ceiling & Refitting

Corp., 342 U.S. 282 (1952) .............. 5, 6, 18, 19, 21, 24
Robert C. Herd & Co. v. Krawill Machinery

Comp., SED UE. FT (RGD occ sscncncscciesscostsisseinns 7
Hogge v. SS Yorkmar, 434 F. Supp. 715 (D. Md.

2» RE AME ct ONE: Be ET PERERA 14
Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., 554 F.2d 1237 (3 Cir

SPT ‘icickicctash hci cescaaaiglblpacesseinooncitaiinipabivnaiiandaanete 30
Italia Societa v. Oregon Stevedoring Co., 376

Ns I MEINE os onicascsndecseninsnobaaicipasesileanmantbibadiioes 24
Jackson v. Lykes Bros. Steamship Co., 386 U.S.

I ID: icsitsicciiehittiphectitarsanteenh einiaighribacapasadibaitilses 25
Landon v. Lief Hoegh & Co., 521 F.2d 756 (2 Cir.

1975), cert. den. 423 U.S. 1053 (1976) ........... 27
Linehan v. United States Lines, Inc., 417 F.

Bua. CTS CD. Deelah. DTG) x. ,cncccsncccccoiecevessccesesis 14
Lopez v. A/S Svendborg, 581 F.2d 319 (2 Cir.

et Sy CRAG MEE REL AOS ORC TIEMT GIT 27

= PAGE

The Max Morris, 127 U.S. 1 (1890) oo... 9, 23
Munoz v. Flcta Mercante Grancolombiana, 553

fp ok he EE |: y ; ere nent Nemeanneet, 30
Napoli v. Hellenic Lines, Ltd., 536 F.2d 505 (2

RTPI aaa a RARER ce CEP 26
Northeast Terminal Co., Inc. v. Caputo, 432 U.S.

Se I shah itaa les ncciitcscancseineedicieidindainnatoivtientis 22, 32

Phoenix Ins. Co. v. The Atlas, 93 U.S. 302 (1876) 6

Pope & Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406 (1953)
18, 19, 24, 27
Reed v. SS Yaka, 373 U.S. 410 (1963) .000.0.000000... 25, 26

Ryan Stevedoring Co., Inc. v. Pan Atlantic
Steamship Corp., 350 U.S. 124 (1956) 17,19, 21, 24

Samuels v. Empresa Lineas Maritimas Argenti-

nas, 573 F.2d 884 (5 Cir. 1978) oe 27
Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85 (1946)

17, 19, 24
Smith v. M/V Capt. Fred, 546 F.2d 119 (5 Cir.

OPE OI aitiiniistiesteneabcslainchstiRibeiidnndiatnibiiintidaiaaais cn incsisen 26
United States v. Reliable Transfer Company,

Inc., 421 U.S. 397 (1975) .....3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 31
United States v. Wise, 370 U.S. 409 (1962) ........ 9
The Washington and The Gregory, 76 U.S. (9

ee ee SN atk cipievoseciidssvscbins salbiainosietes 6
Wescott v. Impresas Armadoras, S.A., 564 F.2d

SO PT iintbsescchpibeetcematedishncinaieudibesrceisen 30
Stanley M. Wetters v. Moore-McCormack Lines,

Inc., Civil Action No. H-77-858 .00...............00. 29
Zapico v. Bucyrus-Erie Co., 579 Co., 579 F.2d 714

(2 Fey SA URINE ch 00D Aa Ne 27

Law Review Articics

Allbritton, Contribution Among Joint Tortfea-
sors in Non-Collision Maritime Cases, 4 J.
Mar. L. & Com. 425 (1973) ..cccccecccsssssceseeeeee 10

eS ote RETR Geers ery

Vv

Allbritton, Division of Damages in Admiralty —
A Rising Tide of Confusion, 2 J. Mar. L. &
CE ee EN oath lkeMietaitdentnndiaccteadetcclcindiaisets

Brandon, Apportionment of Liability in British
Courts under the Maritime Conventions Act
of 1911, 51 Tul. L. Rev. 1025 (1977) ..............

Coleman and Daly, Equitable Credit: Apportion-
ment of Damages According to Fault in
Tripartite Litigation under the 1972 Amend-
ments to the Longshoreman’s and Harbor-
workers’ Act, 35 Md. L., R. 351 (1976) ..........

Huger, The Proportional Damage Rule in Colli-
sions at Sea, 13 Cornell L. Q. 531 (1928) ....

Kasanin, Cargo Rights and Responsibilities in
Collision Cases, 51 Tul. L. R. 880 (1977) .....

Mole and Wilson, A Study of Comparative
Negligence, 17 Cornell L. Q. 333 (1932) .......

Owen, The Origins and Development of Marine
Collision Law, 51 Tul. L. R. 759 (1977) .......

Prosser, Comparative Negligence, 51 Mich. L.
ig: Se I © cad dit secctica eglittinictecindgaaninsnccdinnee

Robertson, Jurisdiction, Shipowner Negligence
and Stevedore Immunities under the 1972
Amendments to the Longshoremen’s Act, 28
ae Bi Be, Bae CIID. seccinsctvessseictncccscnnnies

Sprague, Divided Damages, 6 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 15
EI Fic iit outa tas iat ald ncincniebinasacenneniageniele

Staring, Contribution and Division of Damages
in Admiralty and Maritime Cases, 45 Calif.
me E-alert aiid ay Ramen

Law Review Articles

Vickery, Special Problems of Personal Injury or
Death Arising Out of Collision Disaster
Cases, 51 Tul. L. Rev. 896 (1977) .........:..s0000

PAGE

10

11

27

g

vi

Texts
PAGE

Schwartz, Comparative Negligence (1974) .9,12, 14, 22
6 Benedict on Admiralty (7th ed. 1969) 39 ......... 11

Statutes

SB UAL. GOON sarcccccssveerisicstsnitnianna 1, 2, 4, 8, 25, 26, 28
BD SEI. QOD cnccisccencinsriviiinssaniiincnulsiesnisacienssiaialigieds 27, 28

Miscellaneous

Hearings on S. 2318, S. 525 and S. 1547 Before
the Subcommittee on Labor of the Senate
Committee on Labor and Public Welfare, 92d
Coma... BE Dame. CITE) ciiioncssritastaivasinasitintakiahen 15, 17,
18, 19, 21, 24
Hearings on H.R. 247, H.R. 3505, H.R. 12006, and
H.R. 1503 Before the Select Subcommittee on
Labor of the Committee on Education and
Labor of the House of Representatives, 92d
+ ee EE fy Se orn 15, 17,
18, 19, 21, 22, 28
Oversight Hearings of Subcommittee on Com-
pensation, Health and Safety of the Commit-
tee on Education and Labor of the H.R., 95th
Gotemt., Bat GO. accnccscsscticcicnisicliciedeeies 30, 31

Report No. 92-1125 of Senate Committee on
Labor and Public Welfare ...............ccccccceeeeeee 22, 23,

Report No. 92-1441 of H.R. Committee on
Education and Labor .0..............0cccccceeeececeeeeeeeee 22

aa eee: eA T=

a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-479

STANLEY D. EDMONDS,
Petitioner,

Vv.

COMPAGNIE GENERALE TRANSATLANTIQUE,
Respondent.

On WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED SYATES
CourRT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE,
LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF
AMICUS CURIAE

Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, Amicus Curiae,
files this brief in support of the Petitioner pursuant to
the written consent of the attorneys for the respective
parties, dated September 22, 1978, and filed herein.
Although this amicus was the workmen’s compensation
insurance carrier of the employer, neither it nor the
employer desire to be, have been, or are parties to this
action, it having been the consistent position of this
amicus that under Section 5(b) of the 1972 Amendments
to the Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensa-
tion Act (““LHWCA”) (33 U.S.C. § 905(b)) neither it nor

2

the employer can be forced to become parties. However,
since in the Court below Respondent shipowner and
amicus shipowner’s group advanced arguments which,
if accepted, could adversely affect the rights of this
amicus and others similarly situated, this amicus feels
compelled to use this means of explaining its views to
this Court.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does Section 5(b) of the LHWCA as amended in 1972
permit a reduction in a vessel owner’s liability to an
injured longshoreman where negligence of the vessel
owner and of the stevedore company employer concur to
cause the injury?

As applied to the facts of this case, the precise
question presented is whether the longshoreman
(Petitioner here) is entitled to recover from the vessel
owner (Respondent) $20,000 or $90,000.

As of December 18, 1978, this amicus had paid out to
or for the account of Petitioner statutory benefits in the
total amount of $49,152.23. Payment of workmen’s
compensation continues at the rate of $184.07 per week.
On the basis of established law, e.g., The Etna, 138 F.2d
37 (3 Cir. 1943); Albert v. Paulo, 552 F.2d 1139 (5 Cir.
1977), this amicus would be entitled to a lien upon
Petitioner’s recovery to the extent of the amount of
benefits paid; but manifestly this cannot be effected
here if the recovery is only $20,000. As the Court belew
noted (A60-61),! it could not pass upon the distribution
of the fund because the employer was not (and could not
be made) a party to the case.

It follows that this Court does not have before it the
direct question of whether the employer/carrier must
take a deduction from the lien or reimbursement on

1 References are to the opinion below as it appears in the
Appendix to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

3

account of the employer’s negligence, a theory which
shipowner’s counsel, using the full power of suggestion,
choose to call the “equitable credit’.2 That question is
presented in an interpleader action brought by Re-
spondent shipowner in the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Virginia, entitled Compagnie
Generale Transatlantique v. Stanley Edmonds, Liberty
Mutual Insurance Company, and Nacirema Operating
Co., Inc., Civil Action No. 78-413-N. This “credit’’,
equitable or otherwise, is not before this Court except to
the extent that it depends for its existence upon the
proposition that the 1972 Amendments abrogated the
long-established rule of maritime and common law
known as the “joint and several liability” of each
tortfeasor. In the instant case the question, more
precisely, is one of “several” liability for, since the
employer has a statutory immunity from tort liability to
the employee, he is not a “tortfeasor” nor is his liability
‘Joint’. American Mutual Insurance Co. v. Matthews,
182 F.2d 332 (2 Cir. 1950); Atlantic Coastline R.R. Co. v.
Erie Lackawanna R.R. Co., 406 U.S. 340 (1972); Cooper
Stevedoring Company, Inc. v. Fritz Kopke, Inc., 417
U.S. 106, 115 (1974). As indicated above, the only
question here is whether the Respondent is subject to
such several liability. It is the position of this amicus
that Respondent is so subject.

2 See, e.g., Coleman and Daly, Equitable Credit: Apportion-
ment of Damages According to Fault in Tripartite Litigation
under the 1972 Amendments to the Longshoreman’s and
Harborworkers’ Act, 35 Md. L.R. 351 (1976). This article is a
strong brief for the credit, long on “equitable” arguments and
short on fundamental law. However, it distorts the legislative
history of the Amendments (thereby contributing to the
erroneous conclusion that Congress in 1972 intended to adopt
by statute the proportionate fault rule promulgated by this
Court for collision cases in 1975 in United States v. Reliable
Transfer Company, Inc., 421 U.S. 397). It almost totally
disregards the basic legal question presented in the insiant
case as to whether the Amendments, with or without an
enactment of proportionate fault, abrogated the rule of joint

and several liability which is deeply embedded in both
maritime and common law.

4

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The 1972 Amendments to the LHWCA reconfirm the
rule, well-established by decisions of this Court and
statutory enactments, that in maritime personal injury
cases the common law defense of contributory negli-
gence gives way to a rule of comparative negligence
whereby the Plaintiff's recovery is reduced in propor-
tion to his own negligence. The Amendments do not,
however, provide for the apportionment of fault
between a negligent third party (whether vessel owner
or otherwise) and a negligent employer covered by the
LHWCA. Furthermore, the Amendments do not abro-
gate the well-established rule of maritime and common
law that an injured person may recover his full
damages from any one of multiple wrongdoers. The
contrary position taken by the Court below is not
supported by the statutory language itself or by the
legislative history. This Court’s decision in United
States v. Reliable Transfer, Inc., 421 U.S. 397 (1975),
decided three years after the Amendments, has no
relevance to their interpretation.

The Amendments have imposed an onerous financial
burden upon employers while at the same time
providing shipowners with new and effective defenses
to suits by employees. Congress could not have
intended further to unbalance the scales in favor of
shipowners by relieving them of any portion of their
traditional liability for the full results of their negli-
gence while at the same time further burdening
employers by reducing their potential lien recoveries. In
any event, Congress has, for over a year, had under
active study the functioning and impact of the 1972
Amendments and can be expected further to amend the
language of Section 5(b) if it should find that the courts
have thwarted its intent, as Respondent shipowner
claims has been done by the Second, Fifth and Ninth
Circuits and by several other district courts which have

5

ruled against shipowners. Petitioner and his supporting
amici, on the other hand, contend that the Court below
effectively rewrote the relevant statutory provisions.

ARGUMENT
I.

UNDER THE FIRMLY ESTABLISHED RULE OF BOTH MARI-
TIME AND COMMON LAW, EACH TORTFEASOR IS SEVERALLY
LIABLE FOR ALL DAMAGES RECOVERABLE BY THE INJURED
PERSON.

No authority need be cited for the common law rule of
several liability; even the Court below recognizes the
viability of the doctrine (A56-57). Although it does not
expressly so state, the Court’s language strongly
implies that it fails to understand that this is and
always has been the rule of admiralty law as well. At
three points in one paragraph and appended footnote,
the Court refers to this as a “common law doctrine” or
“common law principle” and even more pointedly refers
to it (fn.2) as one of “the principles of land-based
negligence law.” Since the instant case involves an
injury on navigable waters, it is governed by the
substantive principles of maritime law, and the same
rule applies both afloat and ashore. Had not the Court
below indicated ignorance of this fact, it might have
been sufficient for us merely to pass the point with
references to two decisions of this Court which
document our statement. Halcyon Lines v. Haenn Ship
Ceiling & Refitting Corp., 342 U.S. 282 (1952); Cooper
Stevedoring Company, Inc., v. Fritz Kopke, Inc., 417
U.S. 106 (1974). In Halcyon a shipowner found 25% at
fault was required to pay 100% of the longshoreman’s
damages. In Cooper this Court stated that the injured
longshoreman could have recovered his full damages
from either the shipowner or from another joint
tortfeasor though each was found to have been 50% at
fault.

6

These decisions are merely the latest in a long line
extending back for more than 100 years. The question
has arisen most frequently in cases of marine collision.
In The Washington and The Gregory, 76 U.S. (9 Wall.)
513 (1870), suit was brought by a passenger injured in a
collision against both the carrying vessel and the non-
carrying vessel. This Court held that he could recover
his full damages from either.* The same result has been
reached in numerous cases of property damage result-
ing from collision. The Alabama and The Gamecock, 92
U.S. 695 (1876) (suit by innocent tow against its tug and
other vessel colliding with tow); Phoenix Ins. Co. v. The
Atlas, 93 U.S. 302 (1876) (suit by cargo on an innocent
vessel against two other vessels each at fault); The
Chattahoochee, 173 U.S. 540 (1899) (suit by cargo
against non-carrying vessel for physical damage
caused in collision with carrying vessel which was
immune from direct suit); Aktieselskabet Cuzco v. The
Sucarseco, 294 U.S. 394 (1935) (suit by owner of cargo
against non-carrying vessel to recover for general
average contrisutions paid to carrying vessel which
was immune from direct suit).

Those being collision cases, contribution was of
course allowed between the joint tortfeasors (each
sharing equally). The important point is that as of 1972
not only was there joint and several liability, but there
was stated to be no contribution at all except in
collision cases. Halcyon Lines v. Haenn Ship Ceiling &
Refitting Corp., supra. Indeed this was confirmed two
years later for personal injury cases like this, i.e. those
subject to the LHWCA, although the over-broad dictum
in Halcyon was narrowed to the facts of the case.
Cooper Stevedoring Co. v. Fritz Kopke, Inc., supra. And

* Under English maritime law also the rule of joint and
several liability in personal injury cases has been applied as

at common law. See The Bernina, [1887] 12 P. 58 (C.A.), aff’
[1888] 18 Ape Cee LHL ais ied

7

the rule of proportionate contribution did not come until
three years after the Amendments. United States v.
Reliable Transfer Co., Inc., supra.

Beyond doubt, then, the rule of full liability for joint
negligence has always been deeply imbedded in the
law. The Court below, at the urging of the shipowners,
has held that Congress by the 1972 Amendments
abrogated this rule as to them. No contention can be
made, however, that the statute contains clear language
to that effect; and the Court noted that: “There is
nothing explicitly enlightening in the legislative
history.” (A57, fn.2.) This situation squarely invokes
the maxim that statutes in derogation of the common
law must be strictly construed. This is particuarly true
where, as here, the construction contended for by
Respondent would grant it a limitation of liability not
heretofore recognized. Robert C. Herd & Co. v. Krawill
Machinery Corp., 359 U.S. 297, 302-305 (1959).

As strictly construed, or indeed as liberally construed,
the language of this statute does not support the radical
new interpretation urged here. Consequently, Respond-
ent’s whole case collapses. It is not entitled to a “credit”
of any kind, either against Petitioner’s recovery, or
against the insurance carrier's reimbursement for
compensation benefits paid. Petitioner should have
judgment for $90,000, and the District Court can then
decide in the interpleader case what lien rights this
amicus has.

II.

THIS COURT’S DECISION IN UNITED STATES V. RELIABLE
TRANSFER CO., INC., 421 U.S. 397 (1975), HAS NO RELEVANCE
WHATEVER TO THE INSTANT CASE.

The Court below accepted the argument of Respond-
ent and of amici shipowners that this Court’s decision
in Reliable establishing a rule of proportionate fault
dictates that Respondent should be liable only for its

8

percentage of the total fault which contributed to
Petitioner’s injury. Injecting Reliable into an analysis
of Section 5(b) of the 1972 Amendments involves a
series of non-sequiturs;

1. It does not follow from a decision of this Court
in 1975 that Congress would in 1972 have been
influenced thereby.

2. It does not follow from the establishment by
this Court of a proportionate fault regime in cases
of property damage from collision or stranding (421
U.S. at 411) that Congress would have adopted
such a rule in cases of personal injury covered by
the workmen’s compensation statute.

3. It does not follow from the establishment of a
proportionate fault rule for the non-statutory
general maritime law that this Court should
impute the same intent to Congress in enacting
legislation which purports to cover its field.

4. Even if Congress had intended to provide for
proportionate fault as between shipowner and
employer, it does not follow that it intended to
abolish the doctrine of joint and several liability to
third parties.

The shipowners pressed the Court below to apply to
this case the decision in Reliable Transfer. We submit
that their argument, which will presumably be repeated
here, turns legal history upside down. Let us commence
by laying out the precise holding in Reliable: in a
collision or stranding where the two vessels (or a vessel
and a shore station) are both at fault, their rights inter
sese to recover for property damage are based upon
proportionate fault rather than upon equal division.
The case had nothing whatsoever to do with the
liability of either to a third party, for either property
damage or personal injury.

Since manifestly a 1975 decision could not have been
written into a 1972 statute, the Court below had to

‘A statute must be construed in the light of events
contemporaneous with, and not subsequent to, its enactment.

9

resort to the suggestion that in 1972 there was a “trend”
to expand the doctrines of comparative negligence,
citing Reliable (A58). Of course, state legislatures and
Supreme Courts have been increasingly adopting rules
abolishing contributory negligence as a complete
defense and substituting a percentage reduction of
recovery. See V. Schwartz, Comparative Negligence
(1974) 1-29. Sometimes, but not always, provision is also
made for contribution among joint tortfeasors; and
sometimes, but not always, this is on a percentage
basis. Whatever the “trend” may have been in automo-
bile law, it was not reflected in American maritime law,
at least before 1975, except of course that traditionally
the plaintiffs contributory negligence in a case of
personal injury or death merely reduced his recovery
percentagewise. The Max Morris, 137 U.S. 1 (1890).

Because of the international nature of maritime law,
it is significant that in England and continental
countries there had indeed been a strong trend toward
percentage apportionment of fault in all maritime
cases, commencing in France in the 1870’s and gaining
its greatest momentum with the Brussels Collision
Convention of 1916. See Owen, The Origins and
Development of Marine Collision Law, 51 Tul. L.R. 759,
792-798 (1977). This marked difference between develop-
ments here and abroad prior to Reliable Transfer was
the theme of numerous law review articles in which the
authors decried the absence of any trend toward
apportionment (except, of course, as between plaintiff
and defendant in personal injury and death cases). See
Huger, The Proportional Damage Rule in Collisions at
Sea, 13 Cornell L.Q. 531 (1928); Sprague, Divided
Damages, 6 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 15 (1929); Mole and Wilson,
A Study of Comparative Negligence, 17 Cornell L.Q.
333 (1932); Staring, Contribution and Division of

See United States v. Wise, 370 U.S. 405, 411 (1962); Fogarty v.
United States, 340 U.S. 8, 13 (1950).

10

Damages in Admiralty and Maritime Cases, 45 Calif. L.
Rev. 304 (1957); Allbritton, Division of Damages in
Admiralty — A Rising Tide of Confusion, 2 J. Mar. L. &
Com. 323 (1971).

The writings of the two recognized admiralty scholars
Staring and Allbritton are particularly notable because
they wrote after Halcyon and before the 1972 Amend-
ments. Staring referred (p. 34C) to the absence of a
proportional damage rule in collision cases as “the
great anomaly of the maritime law applied in America
today.” Allbritton noted (p. 338) that “the courts have
refused to adopt a theory that would assign percentages
of fault among multiple defendants.” As late as 1973 it
was still being debated whether there was any right to
contribution in non-collision cases; and there was no
suggestion that, if so, it was on a percentage basis. See
Allbritton, Contribution Among Joint Tortfeasors in
Non-Collision Maritime Cases, 4 J. Mar. L. & Com. 425
(1973).

Reliable Transfer, of course, changed all of that in
collision cases. Evidence was not long in coming
thereafter that percentage apportionment among multi-
ple defendants in non-collision personal injury cases
might follow Reliable. See, e.g., Griffith v. Wheeling
Pittsburgh Steel Corporation, 521 F.2d 31, 44, cert. den.
423 U.S. 1054 (1976). Before Reliable, however, there
was no such “trend” in the maritime law. For these
reasons, we submit, attempts to impute to the 1972
Congress an intent to adopt a rule of proportionate
contribution are totally without justification.®

There is another more subtle reason why Reliable
Transfer does not help the shipowners here. It stems

° As late as 1974, this Court specifically refrained from
determining whether contribution among multiple defend-
ants in such personal injury cases should be on an equal
basis or on a percentage basis. See Cooper Stevedoring
Company, Inc. vu. Fritz Kopke, Inc., 417 U.S. 106, 108, fn. 3.

11

from the language of the Brussels Collision Convention
of 1910, the relevant provisions of which are as follows:

“Art. 4. If two or more vessels are in fault the
liability of each vessel shall be in proportion to the
degree of the faults respectively committed. Pro-
vided that if, having regard to the circumstances, it
is not possible to establish the degree of the
respective faults, or if it appears that the faults are
equal, the liability shall be apportioned equally.

The damages caused either to the vessels, or to
their cargoes, or to the effects or other property of
the crews, passengers, or other persons on board,
shall be borne by the vessels in fault in the above
proportion without joint and several liability
toward third parties.

In respect of damages caused by death or
personal injury, the vessels in fault shall be jointly
as well as severally liable to third parties, without
prejudice to the right of recourse of the vessel
which has paid a larger part than that which in
accordance with the provisions of the first para-
graph of this article she ought ultimately to bear.”
6 Benedict on Admiralty (7th ed. 1969) 39.

This Court in Reliable Transfer quoted from Article 4 of
the Convention (421 U.S. at 403) and ultimately (id. at
411) stated its holding in language virtually identical
with that of the Convention. The same Article contains
a provision for personal injury and death claims and
specifically preserves the rule of joint and several
liability, subject, of course, to the right of contribution
proportionate to fault. See Brandon, Apportionment of
Liability in British Courts under the Maritime Conven-
tions Act of 1911, 51 Tul. L. Rev. 1025, 1028 (1977).

The point is that a rule of joint and several liability is
perfectly compatible with a rule of proportionate fault.
Thus, even if Congress had spelled out in the 1972
Amendments a proportionate fault rule, shipowners
would have remained severally liable to employees
unless the statute had also expressly abolished several

12

liability, which of course it did not do. This has been the
result in every case in which the question has been
presented. Schwartz, Comparative Negligence (1974) at
253; American Motorcycle Ass’n v. Superior Court, 20
Cal. 3d 587, 146 Cal. Rptr. 182, 578 P.2d 899, an en banc
decision of the Supreme Court of California in 1978.
Coming from the court which is widely known for its
advancement of new tort theories, this decision is
sufficiently illustrative for our purposes and merits full
quotation (20 Cal. 3d 586-590, 146 Cal. Rptr. 187-190, 578
P.2d 904-907):

“Under well-established common law principles, a
negligent tortfeasor is generally liable for all
damage of which his negligence is a proximate
cause; stated another way, in order to recover
damages sustained as a result of an indivisible
injury, a plaintiff is not required to prove that a
tortfeasor’s conduct was the sole proximate cause
of the injury, but only that such negligence was a
proximate cause.
* ee

_ In the concurrent tortfeasor context, however, the
‘joint and several liability’ label does not express
the imposition of any form of vicarious liability,
but instead simply embodies the general common
law principle, noted above, that a tortfeasor is
liable for any injury of which his negligence is a
proximate cause. Liability attaches to a concurrent
tortfeasor in this situation not because he is
responsible for the acts of other independent
tortfeasors who may also have caused the injury,
but because he is responsible for all damage of
which his own negligence was a proximate cause.
When independent negligent actions of a number
of tortfeasors are each a proximate cause of a
single injury, each tortfeasor is thus personally
liable for the damage sustained, and the injured
person may sue one or all of the tortfeasors to
obtain a recovery for his injuries; the fact that one
of the tortfeasors is impecunious or otherwise
immune from suit does not relieve another tortfea-

13

sor of his liability for damage which he himself has
proximately caused.
* * kK *

As we have already explained, a concurrent
tortfeasor is liable for the whole of an indivisible
injury whenever his negligence is a proximate
cause of that injury. In many instances, the
negligence of each of several concurrent tortfeasors
may be sufficient, in itself, to cause the entire
injury; in other instances, it is simply impossible to
determine whether or not a particular concurrent
tortfeasor’s negligence, acting alone, would have
caused the same injury. Under such circumstances,
a defendant has no equitable claim vis a vis an
injured plaintiff to be relieved of liability for
damage which he has proximately caused simply
because some other tortfeasor’s negligence may
also have caused the same harm. In other words,
the mere fact that it may be possible to assign
some percentage figure to the relative culpability of
one negligent defendant as compared to another
does not in any way suggest that each defendant’s
negligence is not a proximate cause of the entire
indivisible injury.
x * Kk *

Indeed, although [co-defendant] fervently asserts
that the joint and several liability concept is totally
incompatible with a comparative negligence re-
gime, the simple truth is that the overwhelming
majority of jurisdictions which have adopted
comparative negligence have retained the joint and
several liability doctrine. As Professor Schwartz
notes in his treatise on comparative negligence:
‘The concept of joint and several liability of
tortfeasors has been retained under comparative
negligence, unless the statute specifically abolishes
it, in all states that have been called upon to decide
the question.’ [citation omitted]. [Co-defendant] has
not cited a single judicial authority to support its
contention that the advent of comparative negli-
gence rationally compels the demise of the jeint
and several liability rule. Under the circumstances,
we hold that after Li [the California case establish-

14

ing comparative negligence], a concurrent tortfea-
sor whose negligence is a proximate cause of an
indivisible injury remains liable for the total
amount of damages, diminished only ‘in proportion
to the amount of negligence attributable to the
person recovering.’” (Italics supplied)

The post-Reliable personal injury and death cases
have continued to apply the rule of joint and several
liability while apportioning fault among defendants.
Hogge v. SS Yorkmar, 434 F. Supp. 715, 728 (D. Md.
1977);° Linehan v. United States Lines, Inc., 417 F.
Supp. 678, 694-695 (D. Dela. 1976), mod. 559 F.2d 1208 (3
Cir. 1977); Fathom Expeditions, Inc. v. M/T Gauvrion,
402 F. Supp. 390, 393-394 (M. D. Fla. 1975); Vickery,
Special Problems of Personal Injury or Death Arising
Out of Collision Disaster Cases, 51 Tul. L. Rev. 896, 932-
935 (1977).

Reverting now to Reliable and the Collision Conven-
tion, we draw the Court’s attention to the second
paragraph of Article 4 which provides for damage to
cargo and other property. In this instance the joint and
several liability rule is expressly abrogated, thus
expressing in eight clear words what the shipowners
here contend that Congress implied in the 1972
Amendments. Thus the Convention satisfied Professor
Schwartz’s criterion that the concept of joint and
several liability is retained under a proportionate fault
regime “unless the statute specifically abolishes it”.
Comparative Negligence at 253. The ultimate proof of
the continued, complete viability of the joint and
several liability rule in American maritime law appears
in the post-Reliable decisions to the effect that this

° Hogge is particularly in point because there one of the
defendants was permitted to limit its liability, thus present-
ing a situation analogous to statutory immunity (as in the
instant case), bankruptcy, inability to effect service of
process, etc., all of which bring the joint and several liability
rule into sharp focus.

15

Court did not adopt this section of the Convention, did
not overrule the Chatiahoochee, supra, and did not
abrogate the joint and several liability rule even in
cases of damage to innocent cargo. See Kasanin, Cargo
Rights and Responsibilities in Collision Cases, 51 Tul.
L.R. 880, 888 £n.63 (1977); Owen, supra, n.3, at 797-798,
804-806; and cases cited in said articles plus Complaint
of Flota Mercante Grancolombiana, S.A., 440 F. Supp.
704, 724-725 (S.D.N.Y. 1977).

III.

THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY DOES NOT SUPPORT
RESPONDENT’S INTERPRETATION OF
THE STATUTE.

1. The Committee Hearings

During May and June, 1972, the Subcommittee on
Labor of the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare of
the United States Senate (92d Cong. 2d Sess.) held
hearings on S. 2318, S. 525, and S. 1547 (843 pages)
(hereinafter cited as Senate Hearings). Thereafter, in
June and July, 1972, the Select Subcommittee on Labor
of the Committee on Education and Labor of the House
of Representatives (92d Cong. 2d Sess.), held hearings
on H.R. 247, H.R. 3505, H.R. 12006, and H.R. 15023 (332
pages) (hereir fter cited as House Hearings). From
these hearings emerged the 1972 Amendments. Conse-
quently, it is essential to search this public record for
any evidence of the now alleged Congressional intent to
limit the liability of shipowners, in suits by covered
employees, to the shipowners’ percentage of the total
fault contributing to the injuries.

Not even shipowners now contend that the hearings
provide any direct evidence to support their position.
This is perhaps not surprising in view of the fact that
shipowners took no part in the hearings. A great many
witnesses testified and/or submitted written state-
ments, the total of which comprises 1,175 pages. These

16

were Senators and Congressmen, representatives of the
Department of Labor, representatives of labor unions,
representatives of bar associations of plaintiffs’ attor-
neys, employers of all types of waterfront labor and
their associations and committees, and insurance
carriers of such employers. Conspicuous by their
absence were representatives of shipowners, shipowner
associations, and shipowners’ insurance underwriters.
In view of the subsequent controversy raised by
shipowners as to the impact of the Amendments upon
their rights and defenses (as exemplified by this case),
it would seem logical to find in the hearing record some
proposal by shipowners of the positions which they now
espouse. This would have added some credibility to
their present contentions as to the intent of the two
Committees. Conversely, their failure to participate in
the legislative process, while in no way subject to
criticism, does make it impossible for Respondent and
its supporting amici to track their contentions back to
the legislature.

In this connection, there is relevance in the remark of
the lower court: “Before 1972 the exposure of ships to
liabilities for injuries to longshoremen was compara-
tively slight except insofar as reparations for such
injuries occasioned higher stevedoring costs.” (A52).
Unquestionably the exposure of employers was “com-
paratively” much greater than that of shipowners. But,
if the latter’s exposure was only “slight”, there can be
no presumed intent on the part of Congress to legislate
a radical new defense in favor of shipowners. Rather,
the logical inference from this is that Congress
intended to protect employers by fortifying their rights
and defenses as set forth in the then-existing statute.
Thus, the quoted statement of the Court below is
inconsistent with its own conclusion and actually
supports the position taken in this brief.

— ae

17

The key to the whole situation was the overruling of
Ryan Stevedoring Co., Inc. v. Pan Atlantic Steamship
Corp., 350 U.S. 124 (1956), and the statutory restoration
of the employer’s “exclusive liability” under Section 5 of
the Act. If the employer could be relieved of the Ryan
burden, he could agree to higher benefits. (Benefits had
not been increased since 1961 because employers could
not afford the double exposure.) Given higher benefits,
employees could relinquish their rights to recover from
shipowners for unseaworthiness awarded them in Seas
Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85 (1946). The
hearings were devoid of any sentiment for improving
the shipowners’ position as such (or for weakening it
either) — only for abolishing their liability to harbor
workers for unseaworthiness, which would in turn
make it feasible to overrule Ryan, which would in turn
break the impasse between employers and employees.

The record is replete with examples of such testi-
mony, of which that of the lead-off witness, Secretary of
Labor Hodgson, is typical. Senate Hearings 28-31. The
AFL-CIO representative referred to “circular liability”
as being “the big problem at this point”. House
Hearings 284. A leacing representative of stevedores
called it “the most serious problem in the longshore
industry” which “commands paramount consideration
before any decision can be reached regarding improve-
ment in the benefits of the Longshore Act”. Senate
Hearings 277. A representative of an ad hoc committee
of all the major port associations of the United States
said that “the longshore compensation system is in
crisis, a crisis that is steadily worsening. This crisis is
caused by the proliferation of ‘third party’ or ‘circular
liability’ law suits”. Senate Hearings 724. A repre-
sentative of west coast stevedores said: “The steadily
increasing incidence of third party suits is, to my mind,
at least, the most alarming and threatening problem
facing our industry.” Senate Hearings 632.

18

Thus, the current argument for improving the
position of the shipowner at the expense of the
employer is diametrically opposite to the purpose and
intent of Congress. The Committees were thoroughly
aware of such rights and defenses as employers then
retained under the existing law. First, they knew that
the shipowner could not get contribution from the
employer on any basis, percentage, equal, or otherwise,
because this Court had said so in Halcyon (specifically
cited by a witness representing plaintiffs’ trial lawyers,
House Hearings 152). Secondly, they knew that the
employer was entitled to a lien on the employees’
recovery to the extent of all statutory benefits thereto-
fore paid. Senate Hearings 30 (Secretary Hodgson), 354;
House Hearings 48 (Secretary Hodgson), 119, 135, 158.
They also knew that a reduction of the employers’ lien
would be “the substantial equivalent of contribution”
because this Court had said so. Pope & Talbot, Inc. v.
Hawn, 346 U.S. 406, 412 (1953). This Court had also
made this clear in Halcyon when it reversed the
decision of the Court of Appeals granting the shipowner
“an equitable adjustment” against the lien. Baccile v.
Halcyon Lines, 187 F.2d 403, 405 (3 Cir. 1951).

The hearing record demonstrates that the objective
was not, as Respondent here argues, to give the
negligent shipowner a new defense to the employees’
claim to damages and to the employers’ claim to a lien,
when the employer was also negligent. The objective
was to guarantee such rights and defenses as the
employer then had under the statute and under
Halcyon and Pope & Talbot. In particular, the need was
to protect the employer from the “end around play” of
Ryan.’ This culminated in the new protective language
of Section 5(b) which insured that the shipowner would

7 See, e.g., Senate Hearings 28-31, 174, 190, 209, 258-292,
621-625, 626-631, 632-639, 640-642, 657, 661, 722-748, 785-786,
791-792. House Hearings 47-50, 71, 81-86, 91-93, 243.

19

have no right of indemnity or contribution “directly or
indirectly” and that the employers’ right of full lien
reimbursement would be guaranteed. This would fully
implement Halcyon and Pope & Talbot, would eradicate
the Ryan doctrine, would solve the problem of circular
liability, and would clear the way for an increase in
benefits to the employees.

Various suggestions were made with respect to third
party suits against shipowners. At one extreme, the
Administration, through Secretary Hodgson, proposed
abolishing them entirely, whether based upon unsea-
worthiness or negligence (Senate Hearings 38; House
Hearings 50), as did a prominent representative of
stevedores. Senate Hearings 273, House Hearings 117-
118. At the opposite extreme representatives of plain-
tiffs’ lawyers advocated leaving them intact as under
Sieracki. Senate Hearings 354, 370-372; House Hearings
136. A representative of the shipyard industry, Ralph K.
Hartman, advocated the middle ground of abolishing
suits for unseaworthiness but preserving to employees
the right to recover for negligence. Senate Hearings 174-
175, 188-191, 206-210; House Hearings 71-72, 78-79. This
was accepted enthusiastically by both Committees
(Senate Hearings 174-176; House Hearings 72, 79) and
ultimately became the new Section 5(b).

This raises the key question of whether in the course
of these 1,175 pages of testimony there was any
discussion of how to handle the situation where both
shipowner and employer were negligent. The logical
place to commence this search is in Mr. Hartman’s
testimony. In fact, he made no reference whatsoever to
apportioned fault or damages, as is evident from a full
quotation of the relevant portion of his testimony
(House Hearings 71):

“J will not summarize the rights of injured

seamen, longshoremen, and ship repair yard
workers except to say there is a logical basis for the

20

granting of immunity to a shipowner subjected to a
liability due to an unseaworthy condition solely
created by a stevedore or ship repair yard contrac-
tor. In these cases, the circuity of action arises with
the result that the stevedore and ship repair yard
contractor have a dual liability.

Clearly this is a situation that is contrary to the
original intent of the exclusive remedy provisions
of the Longshoremen’s Act, and, because of the
greatly added burden it places upon stevedores and
ship repair yard contractors, should be corrected.

On the other hand, there do not appear to be any
compelling reasons to eliminate the rights and
remedies of longshoremen and ship repair yard
workers when injured as a result of the negligence
of shipowners.

To abrogate this right, without the longshoremen
or ship repair yard workers receiving a quid pro
quo from the responsible third party, would, I
suggest, be morally wrong and may raise a
question of possible violation of the due process
clause of the Constitution.

The reestablishment of the exclusive remedy
provision of the act can, with due regard for our
employees, be accomplished by removing the
warranty of seaworthiness as a basis for determin-
ing the liability of ships and shipowners (other
than in claims by crewmembers), as was proposed

in H.R. 207 in 1961, a copy of which is attached
hereto.

The provisions in that bill had the effect of
retaining all the injured workers’ traditional
remedies except for the seaworthiness warranty as
applied to longshoremen and ship repair yard
workers (in itself a remedy which had not existed
prior to 1946), and removing, for practical pur-
poses, the dual liability of stevedores and ship
repair yard contractors.

It is suggested that the intended and sorely
needed relief can be accomplished by an amend-
ment conforming to H.R. 207.”

21

This statement also appears at House Hearings 78-79
and Senate Hearings 174, 190-191, 209-210. It is
manifest from Mr. Hartman’s use of the words “solely
created by a stevedore”, appearing five times in the
record, that he was suggesting the elimination of the
vicarious liability of shipowners for the acts or
omissions of employers. The converse seems equally
clear, namely, that he would retain the full liability of
shipowners for their own acts or omissions, as pres-
cribed by established case law, notably Halcyon. The
“quid pro quo” to which he referred was the preserva-
tion of the negligence cause of action in consideration
for the elimination of vicarious liability.

Only one witness raised the question of apportion-
ment as between shipowner and employer, this being
Mr. David B. Kaplan, representing the American Trial
Lawyers Association, whose members represent plain-
tiffs in personal injury suits. Senate Hearings 354-355,
373, 377; House Hearings 136-137, 148. Mr. Kaplan's
suggestion was, however, made in a context entirely
different from that now existing. His proposal was to
retain Sieracki and the shipowner’s absolute liability
for unseaworthiness, including his vicarious absolute
liability for the acts of the stevedore. He would then
have allowed the shipowner to get contribution from the
stevedore to the extent of the latter’s negligence. In
effect, Mr. Kaplan would have retained Sieracki and
overruled both Ryan and Halcyon.

The Kaplan suggestion was given short shrift in both
Committees and never reappeared in the hearings or in
the Committee reports. Senator Eagleton, conducting
the Senate hearings, dismissed the suggestion as being
contrary to the whole “concept of workmen’s compensa-
tion”. Senate Hearings 355. In the House Committee
the Kaplan suggestion was, paradoxically, criticized by
another representative of the plaintiffs’ bar because it
“alters the compensation scheme and that really what

22

the stevedore was promised under the Longshoremen’s
and Harbor Workers’ Act was exclusive liability for
damages to one of its own employees.” House Hearings
152. That was the last heard of apportionment in any
form between shipowners and employers.

2. The Committee Reports

The Senate and House Committees produced Reports
which are identical in most respects. The Senate Report
is No. 92-1125, reprinted in relevant part as an
appendix to Petitioner’s brief. The House Report is No.
92-1441, reprinted in 6 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad: News, 92d
Cong. 2d Sess., at 4698. This Court has demonstrated
the usefulness of these Reports. Northeast Terminal
Co., Inc. v. Caputo, 432 U.S. 249 (1977).

The Respondent and its supporting amici read the
Reports as providing for apportionment of fault
between shipowner and employer. Two general com-
ments can be made in reply. First, it is inconceivable
that the Committees would be thus recommending
legislation which radically altered existing law without
any discussion thereof in the lengthy hearings (except
only for the Kaplan testimony discussed supra).
Secondly, Respondent’s interpretation is made possible
only by taking various statements of the Committees
completely out of context.

For example, Respondent argues that the Committees
specifically adopted “comparative negligence”. While
the Reports do use the phrase (Senate Report 12), it is
perfectly obvious that what is meant is the comparative
negligence of plaintiff and defendant shipowner. In
fact, the remainder of the same sentence so states. The
context is not one in which the relationship of
shipowner and employer is at issue.? The “admiralty

* The phrase “comparative negligence” properly refers to a

comparison of fault between plaintiff and defendant, not
between co-defendants or others. V. Schwartz, Comparative

23

concept of comparative negligence” referred to was that
represented by The Max Morris, supra, which was in
1972 the only form of comparative negligence known to
the American admiralty.

Other statements in the Reports are lifted out of
context, notably this one: “The vessel will not be
chargeable with the negligence of the stevedore or
employees of the stevedore”. Senate Report 11. If the
Committees had been speaking in terms of percentage
apportionment, they could easily have said so. Even the
simple phrase “to the extent that the stevedore is
negligent” would have done it. On the contrary what
they were talking about was the vicarious liability of
the shipowner for the acts of the stevedore in causing
the unseaworthy condition or bringing it into play. In
fact, the Reports expressly so state. Senate Report 9.
This is entirely consistent with the testimony at the
hearings referred to, supra, particularly that of Mr.
Hartman, which developed the concept that the
shipowner should remain liable for his own acts or
omissions as at common law but should not be liable
vicariously for those of the stevedore.

The Reports make this perfectly clear by citing a long
list of cases in this and the lower courts in which
shipowners were held “liable in damages for acts or
omissions of stevedores” in causing or bringing into
play a condition of unseaworthiness. Senate Report 10.
Two of them are worthy of special mention. In one the
unseaworthy condition was caused by the shipowner’s
negligence and brought into play by the stevedore’s
negligence. Crumady v. The J. H. Fisser, 358 U.S. 423
(1959). Had the Committees been disposed to apportion
fault, this would have been a perfect example. In
Negligence (1974); Prosser, Comparative Negligence, 51
Mich. L. Rev. 465 fn.2 (1953).

24

another case cited the shipowner was held liable for
unseaworthiness resulting from a non-negligent act of
the stevedore. Italia Societa v. Oregon Stevedoring Co.,
376 U.S. 315 (1964). There was no room for apportion-
ment there; in fact it represented the ultimate in
vicarious liability. The Committees proposed simply
overruling all of these cases, suggesting no middle
ground such as apportionment of fault.

Our conclusion is supported by the repeated referen-
ces to making shipowners liable “just as land-based
third parties in non-maritime pursuits are liable for
damages when, through their fault, a worker is
injured.” Senate Report 8, 10, 11. (This language can be
traced back directly to Senator Javits and the Minority
Labor Counsel, who likened the situation to one on a
building construction site. Senate Hearings 38, 175-176,
272-274, 656.) The use of land-based law as a measure
has two facets. First, it imported a new standard of care
into third party stevedore actions. Secondly, it recon-
firmed that the common law principle of joint and
several liability would apply on a vessel as on a
construction site. The dissenting judge below thought
this important (A64).

Whether articulated or not, the burden of Respond-
ent’s argument is that the 1972 Amendments overruled,
not only Sieracki and Ryan, but also Halcyon and Pope
& Talboi. Fortunately the Committee Reports carry
their own refutation of such an argument in that they
carefully list the cases which were intended to be
overruled, namely Sieracki (Senate Report 8), Ryan (p.
9), and Crumady, et al. (p. 10). Neither Halcyon nor
Pope & Talbot was included in the list, although they
had both been cited in the hearings.

25

IV.

THE STATUTORY LANGUAGE ITSELF DOES NOT SUPPORT
RESPONDENT’S INTERPRETATION.

The lower court’s misreading of the statute can be
pin-pointed in one phrase which it used four times: the
shipowner is liable “to the extent” of its negligence (A.
55, 56, 57, 58). Obviously such language as that would
call for apportionment, but the fact is that Congress did
not use these words. They were injected by the Court for
the purpose of expressing its own conclusion and have
no probative value.

Respondent cannot point to any language in Section
5(b) which on its face calls for apportionment, and the
Court below made no attempt to point out any such
direct support for its position. In lieu of such supporting
language the Court merely resorted to an exercise in
semantics by reasoning that the first and second
sentences of Section 5(b) are irreconcilable except in
terms of apportioned negligence. We suggest that this is
a slender reed upon which to base the Court’s decision,
and the dissenting judge refused to accept it (A. 64-66).
He read the second sentence as stating simply that “the
plaintiff may not base his claim against the shipowner
upon the negligence of the stevedore.” (A. 65). This
merely expresses the negation of vicarious liability
which we have traced in detail through the hearings
and the Reports. See Griffith v. Wheeling Pittsburgh
Steel Corp., 521 F.2d 31, 40 (8 Cir. 1975), cert. den. 423
U.S. 1054 (1976).

Actually, the short answer to the Court’s interpreta-
tion is that the second sentence (and third sentence)
were included in the statute to cover a situation not
involved in the instant case. This is made plain in the
paragraph of the Report commencing at the bottom of
page 11 and carrying over to the top of page 12. This
Court had held in Reed v. SS Yaka, 373 U.S. 410 (1963),
and Jackson v. Lykes Bros. Steamship Co., 386 U.S. 371

26

(1967), that a longshoremar. could sue his employer for
unseaworthiness of the vessel where the employer was
both shipowner and stevedore. Mr. Justice Harlan,
dissenting with Mr. Justice Stewart, thought that this
repealed the “exclusive remedy” provision of Section 5
(373 U.S. at 416). On the other hand the decision
prevented inequity to a longshoreman who happened to
work for a stevedore loading his own vessel. The
Committees resolved this dilemma by preserving the
right to sue a shipowner-stevedore for the negligence of
his employees not engaged in stevedoring as, for

example, members of the crew, shore-based personnel,
etc.

The second and third sentences, therefore, were
intended to narrow the scope of recovery in a Yaka
situation, while preserving its broad outlines. This has
been the result in all but one of the reported cases.° In
the instant case the shipowner and stevedore are
entirely independent, and therefore the Yaka problem is
not involved.

The lower court does not mention the one provision of
Section 5(b) which deals with the present situation. The
decision below reduces the plaintiff's recovery from
$90,000 to $20,000. Since the insurance carrier (this
amicus) has a lien on the recovery of $49,152.23 (as of
December 18, 1978), the Court’s decision reduces the
carrier’s reimbursement by $29,152.23. In other words
the carrier is called upon to contribute $29,152.23 to the
shipowner who is saving $70,000. It is our position that

*° Griffith v. Wheeling Pittsburgh Steel Corp., 521 F.2d 31,
40-44 (3 Cir. 1975), cert. den. 423 U.S. 1054 (1976); Napoli v.
Hellenic Lines, Ltd., 536 F.2d 505, 507 (2 Cir. 1976); Smith v.
M/V CAPT. FRED, 546 F.2d 119, 122-123 (5 Cir. 1977);
Complaint of Allied Towing Corp., 416 F. Supp. 1207 (E.D.
Va. 1976), aff'd 580 F.2d 702 (4 Cir. 1978); Fitzgerald v.
Compania Naviera La Molinera, 394 F. Supp. 402, 409 (E.D.

La. 1975); Contra: Baker v. Pacific Far East Line, Inc., 451 F.

Supp. 84 (N.D. Cal. 1978) (holding Yaka overruled com-
pletely).

27

this ruling is contrary to the statutory language: “* * *
the employer shall not be liable to the vessel for such
damages directly or indirectly * * *.” Professor Robert-
son supports this position in his article Jurisdiction,
Shipowner Negligence and Stevedore Immunities
Under the 1972 Amendments to the Longshoremen’s
Act, 28 Mercer L. Rev. 515, 542 (1977):

“As indicated above, it ought to be completely
clear that, aside from the peculiar situation of the
stevedore who is also a shipowner, all forms of tort
recovery against stevedores on account of long-
shoremen’s injuries are foreclosed by the 1972
amendments. The prohibition in § 905(b) against
any liability of the stevedore to the shipowner
‘directly or indirectly’ should be fully understood to
mean that the negligent shipowner is to bear the
full tort liability to the injured longshoreman,
subject only to a diminution by plaintiffs negli-
gence, and that there is no way for all or part of
that liability to be shifted on account of any
negligence of which the stevedore may have been

guilty.”

Directly in point here is this Court’s decision in Pope
& Talbot, supra, 346 U.S. at 412, which termed a
reduction of the lien “the substantial equivalent of
contribution”. This remains good law.'®

The LHWCA contains other evidence of Congres-
sional intent not mentioned by the Court below. It has
to do with third party actions against others than
shipowners. From 1927 to 1972 the statutory basis for
all third party actions was Section 33, which was not
amended in any relevant respect in 1972. In that year
Section 5(b) was added to cover specifically actions

10 Lo uv. A/S Svendborg, 581 F.2d 319, 325-326 (2 Cir.
1978); odo uv. Bucyrus-Erie Co., 579 F.2d 714, 725 (2 Cir.
1978); Landon v. Lief Hoegh & Co., 521 F.2d 756, 760 (2 Cir.
1975), cert. den. 423 U.S. 1053 (1976); Dodge v. Mitsui
Shintaku Ginko K.K. Tokyo, 528 F.2d 669, 673 (9 Cir. 1975),

rt. den. 425 U.S. 944 (1976); see Samuels v. Empresa Lineas
Matinee Argentinas, 573 F.2d 884, 888 (5 Cir. 1978).

28

against “a vessel,” as defined in Section 2(23), but
which we have loosely called a “shipowner.”

The Court below purports to find in 5(b) a formula for
apportionment of fault between employer and ship-
owner. Yet no one has ever contened that 33 provides
for apportionment between employer and other types of
third party tortfeasor. This is illogical. There is no
apparent reason for treating shipowners and non-
shipowners any differently. In fact, it would be contrary
to the legislative intent to grant to negligent ship-
owners a limitation of liability to injured employees not
granted to non-shipowners.

Congress had the stated “objective of encouraging
safety”. Senate Report 10. Such a grant to a negligent
shipowner would immunize him from liability for the
full damages resulting from his negligence while
exposing the non-shipowner to full liability no matter
what the percentage of his fault. Yet Congress must
have thought that, of all types of third parties, it is the
shipowner who should be given the incentive to
maintain safety on shipboard. In fact, the Committees
said that “the vessel will still be required to exercise the
same care as a land-based person in providing a safe
place to work” (p. 10). In other words Congress intended
to subject all third parties to the same rules, whether
sued under Section 5(b) or Section 33. This meant the
same standard of care and the same rule of full liability.
Otherwise shipboard safety might be compromised.

As previously indicated, suggestions were made at
the hearings that shipowners should be entirely
immune from suit (and subject to workmen’s compensa-
tion liability), while negligence suits against other third
parties would be preserved. House Hearings 87. The
Committees rejected the suggestion and undertook to
treat them all alike. Senate Report 8. It follows that if
there is no apportionment under Section 33, there can
be none under Section 5(b).

eS em ee

29

The decision of the Court of Appeals has already led
to a situation in the Fourth Circuit which thwarts the
purpose of the Amendments to guarantee the employer
an “exclusive remedy” in return for higher benefits. The
Court below said that “the stevedore might be made a
party plaintiff’ so that his lien rights could be
adjudicated. A. 61. In other words, stevedores would be
“subject to additional law suits,” which is precisely
what the Congress said should not be done. Senate

Report 4.

Attorneys for shipowners in Baltimore and Norfolk
have been filing motions to require the joinder of
employers and their insurance carriers at the inception
of the litigation. E.g. James R. Butler v. Eucharis
Shipping Corp., Civil Action No. 78-431-N in the
Eastern District of Virginia, Norfolk Division; Stanley
M. Wetters v. Moore-McCormick Lines, Inc., Civil
Action No. H-77-858 in the District of Maryland. In the
latter case the District Judge entered an order summar-
ily granting the motion, and the employer is now a
party to “tripartite litigation” again despite all that
Congress said in 1972. This exposes the fundamental
error in the decisior below.

V.

CONGRESS COULD NOT HAVE INTENDED TO LIMIT EM-
PLOYERS’ LIEN RECOVERIES AS WELL AS BURDENING THEM
WITH THE INCREASED COST OF COMPENSATION BENEFITS.

Respondent has argued that Congress intended to
give employers an added financial inducement to
promote safety by limiting their lien recoveries where
their negligence contributed to injuries. This shows
considerable ignorance of the cost of waterfront safety
(or lack thereof) and workmen’s compensation. The
LHWCA itself furnishes all the financial incentive
necessary to promote safety. It is the employer (and his
carrier) who pay first and pay most, no matter who was
negligent. Lien recoveries in third party suits are a

30

small factor in the equation. This has been particularly
true under the 1972 Amendments because the Courts of
Appeals have taken a very strict view of the negligence
standard to be applied against a shipowner. The
shipowner has been extremely successful in defending
such suits, using the conservative language of the
Reports as a defense.'! Congress intended this result.

This is what the shipowner got cut of the “trade-off”
referred to by the Court below. A57a. He was given good
defenses when he was not negligent, not a new
limitation of liability when he was negligent. Congress
simply had no reason to give the shipowner any other
benefits even if he had asked for them, which, as we
have noted above, he did not do.

When it came time in 1972 to add to the employer/car-
rier’s financial burdens, Congress set Ossa upon Pelion.
The brief of amicus National Association of Stevedores
lists the increased benefits under the Amendments. Just
as an example, the maximum weekly payment had
theretofore been $70; it is now $396.78, with a built-in
escalation for annual inflation increases.

During 1977 and 1978 the Subcommittee on Compen-
sation, Health and Safety of the Committee on
Education and Labor of the House of Representatives,
95th Cong., Ist Sess., has been conducting Oversight
Hearings on the LHWCA. (Part 1 (953 pp.) has been
printed, and Part 2 is expected shortly.) The waterfront
industry covered by the LHWCA has been in a state of
financial crisis as a result of the additional costs
imposed by the 1972 Amendments!2 and the unavaila-

'! E.G. Anderson v. Iceland Steamship Co., (1 Cir. 9/29/ 78)
(not yet reported); Munoz vu. Flota Mercante Grancolombiana,
553 F.2d 837 (2 Cir. 1977); Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., 554
F.2d 1237 (3 Cir. 1977); Chavis v. Finnlines, Ltd., 576 F.2d
1072 (4 Cir. 1978); Gay v. Ocean Transport & Trading Ltd.,
546 F.2d 1233 (5 Cir. 1977); Wescott v. Impresas Armadoras,
S.A., 564 F.2d 875 (9 Cir. 1977).

”? An insurance expert testified, for example, that the
widow of a deceased employee, who might have died from
causes unrelated to his injury, could receive death benefits of
nearly $2,500,000 by age 77. Oversight Hearings 489.

ad

31

bility of insurance because the risks are largely uninsu-
rable.’

Reference to these volumes, and to the two recent
newspaper articles printed as an Appendix to this brief,
will show two things. First, to the extent Congress
intended to promote safety by increasing employers’
financial burdens, it was overkill; there was no need to
resort to any “credit” against lien recoveries to
accomplish this purpose. Secondly, Congress is cur-
rently and actively surveying the operation of the 1972
Amendments and can be expected further to amend the
Act if it believes that an apportionment formula should
be added.

It is the position of this amicus that since Congress
undertook to cover the whole field in 1927, and to cover
the specific subject of the employer-shipowner relation-
ship in 1972, the establishment of a proportionate fault
rule is a matter for Congress to prescribe in clear
language, if that is what it wants. The Fourth Circuit
majority has impatiently re-written the statute as it saw
fit. All other courts have deferred to Congress. We ask
this Court to do likewise. We note in passing that the
situation here is unlike that in Reliable Transfer,
supra., where Congress had failed to accept | the
opportunity to legislate in the field of collision liability.

13 Various witnesses testified that the risk is now so
unpredictable that insurance is “prohibitively expensive and
in some cases unavailable”. P. 492. One stevedore executive
showed letters from 23 insurance companies refusing to quote
on his primary coverage. Pp. 462-481.

32

CONCLUSION

This Court has had only one previous occasion to
consider the 1972 Amendments. Northeast Terminal
Co., Inc. v. Caputo, supra (actually a group of cases we
call Caputo). Although the issues there were different,
the Court’s method of analyzing the statute is adapta-
ble here. In Caputo the Fourth Circuit claimed to have
found in the Committee Reports evidence that Congress
intended to adopt the “point of rest” rule for jurisdic-
tional coverage. All other Circuits disagreed. In the
instant case the Fourth Circuit claims to have found
evidence of the proportionate fault rule. as between
shipowner and employer. All other Circuits disagree. In
Caputo this Court, in reversing the Fourth Circuit (see
Adkins v. I.T.O. Corporation of Baltimore, 433 U.S. 904)
used language appropriate here. It rejected:

“A theory that nowhere appears in the Act, that
was never mentioned by Congress during the
legislative process, that does not comport with
Congress’ intent * * *.” 432 U.S. at 278.

The decision below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Davip R. Owen,
SEMMES, BOWEN & SEMMES,
Attorneys for Liberty Mutual
Insurance Company,
Amicus Curiae,
10 Light Street,
Baltimore, Maryland 21202.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1749%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
