# Opposition — Haste v. American Home Products Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1702%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 955

## Text

eee eae en

“we ar Core ?
id Supreme VOUTL, U

2 107f

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE uNrreD SrATES

October Term, 1978 \EL R@DAK, JR., CLE

No. 78-429

WILLIAM and MAXINE HASTE, Petitioners
Ve

AMERICAN HOME PRODUCTS CORPORATION,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

GLENN PARKER

HIRST & APPLEGATE

200 BOYD BUILDING
CHEYENNE, WYOMING 82001

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENT

BYRON HIRST,
JAMES L. APPLEGATE,
and THOMAS N. LONG

200 Boyd Building

Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001
and

LEWIS PERKISS

685 3rd Avenue

New York, New York 10017

OF COUNSEL

f FILED

INDEX

Opinion Below .... .-
Statement of the Case .
Summary of Argument . .
Argument . . « »« »« « «

1. The Tenth Circuit Did

Not Make A Finding Of Fact
Unproven In The Record... 4

2. The Tenth Circuit Decision

Is Not In Conflict With

Decisions Of Other Circuits

Or 21 U.S.C. §353(b)(2).

3. There Is No Conflict

Among The Tenth Circuit

» did

Decision And The Decisions
Of Other Circuits And State

Courts In Evaluating The

Duty To Warn Where
Advertising Is Involved.

CONGLUBAOGR «4 1 6 ss *
Appendix . « « « « « e

Reply Brief of Appellant and

Cross-Appellee ...

(1)

s 83
- 29
-App.

-App.

1

1

AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES:

Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343

U.S. 250, 96 L.Ed. 919, 72 S. Ct.
725, (1951), reh. den. 343 U.S.
988, 96 L.Ed. 1375, 72 S. Ct.

1070 (1952) e o . . . ° e . e ° 6

California v. Taylor, 353 U.S.
553, o07 (1957). ° ° ° ° . ° ° ° |

Colorado Serum Co. v. Arp, 504
P.24 801 (Wyo. 1972) . . ++ + + 13

Davis v. Wyeth Labortories,

Inc., 399 F.2d 121, 130 (9th Cir.

1968) .« « «© «© «eo © w © © © co © «61617,
18,19,
20,22

Desper v. Starved Rock Ferry Co.,

342 U.S. 187, 96 L.Ed. 205, 72

S. Ct. 216 (1951), reh. den. 342

U.S. 934, 96 L.Ed. 695, 72 S. Ct.

S76 (i9SS)< + we he ee eh

First National Bank v. Ford,
216 P. 691, 30 Wyo. 110 (1933) . 15

Gravis v. Parke-Davis & Co.,
502 S.W.2d 863 (Tex. App. 1973) . 21,22,

Haste v. American Home Products
Corp., 577 F.2d 1122, 1124, 1125

(10th Cir. 1978). . * e e ° ° e ° 1,10,
11,14
22,28

Heirs of Fruge v. Blood Services,

365 F.Supp. 1344, 1350 (W.D.La.

SUTel* 6 4 4° O93 Se sO a a Oe
(ii)

Helvering v. Fuller, 310 U.S. 69,
84 L.Ed. 1082, 60 S. Ct. 784
(1939) e eo ° . 7 . e . . . eo . . 6

Helvering v. Tex-Penn Oil Co.,
300 U.S. 481, 81 L.Ed. 755, 57
S. ce. 569 (1936) . . ° e ° . . . 6

Incollingo v. Ewing, 444 Pa. 263,
aus Meee Gee CAPTAls + s « 4 « «© 36,26
Kay v. United States, 303 U.S.

1, 82 L.Ed. 607, 58 S. Ct. 568
(1937) ° . ° . . ° . ° ° ° ° ° ° 6

Lanasa Fruit S.S. & Importing Co.
v. Universal Ins. Co., 302 U.S.
556, 82 L.Ed. 422, 58 S. Ct. 371
Bes ys ee ee ey ee ee

Lawn v. U.S., 355 U.S. 339,
362-363 (1957) ° ° . ° . . . . e 5

Love v. Wolf, 249 Cal. App. 2d
822, 58 Cal. Rptr. 42 (3rd
Dist. Cl. App. 1967) « «= 2 es «+ 26,35

Love v. Wolf, 266 Cal. App. 2d
378, 38 Cal. Rptr. 183 (3rd D.C.
MPs £906). «© «6 oe © tt el ee st hl el| 6S 2

Maxted v. Pacific Car & Foundry
Co., 527 P.2d 832 (Wyo. 1974). . 13

Michel v. Louisiana, 350 U.S.

91, 100 L.Ed. 83, 76 S. Ct. 158

(1955), reh. den. 350 U.S. 955,

100 L.Ed. 831, 76-S. Ct. 340

6) Be ee ae ae ee ee
(iii)

Reyes v. Wyeth Laboratories, Inc.

498 F.2d 1264 (5th Cir. 1974). . 17,18
20,22

Ruhlin v. New York Life Ins.

Co., 304 U.S. 202, 58 S. Ct. 860,

ge OE eS | re be

Singer v. Sterling Drug, Inc.,
461 F.2d 288 (7th Cir. 1972) .. 16

Sonzinsky v. United States, °
300 U.S. 506, 81 L.Ed. 772, 57
Se Ct. 554 (1936) . ~. «© «© «© «© « «© 6

Sterling Drug, Inc. v. Cornish,
370 F.2d 82, 85 (8th Cir. 1966). 20

Sterling Drug v. Yarrow, 408 F.2d
976 (Gth Cir. 1969). « « « © « «© 24,27

Stevens v. Parke Davis & Co.,
107 Cal. Rptr. 45, 507 P.2d 653
(1973) . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24,27

Youakim v. Miller, 96 S. Ct. 1399
(1976) . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

MISCELLANEOUS:
21 U.S.C. §352(n) . 8 6 6 6 ae
a. Saweme Memeekt@ls « « 2:8 « « 2
2l Fe § 353 >. .* . . . . >. >. 2
Be Weteee Baoeeemitay « « « « « « 12,34
32 Am. Jur. 2d Federal Practice
6 Proceagure S297. <2 « «© «© ee 8

4 C.J.S. Appeal and Error §228 .

uw

Dixon, Drug Product Liability
§9.02[2] . . . . . . . . . . 20
(iv)

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1978
No. 78-429

WILLIAM and MAXINE HASTE, Petitioners
Ve

. AMERICAN HOME PRODUCTS CORPORATION,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

OPINION BELOW

The Court of Appeals' Opinion has
now been published and is7~ reported,
Haste v. American Home Products Corp.,
577 F.2d 1122 (10th Cir. 1978).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners' statement of the case
is Slanted, argumentative and omits
important circumstances established by
the evidence, necessitating a statement
by Respondent, which can probably be best
done by quoting from Respondent's Appeal

ale

and Reply Brief, which were not

challenged in the Court of Appeals:

"In 1970 Mr. and Mrs. William
Haste, Meeteetse, Wyoming, ranchers,
running some 250 head of Santa Ger-
trudis type cattle, had a problem
when some of their cows became af-
flicted with what their veterinarian,
Dr. Humphreys, diagnosed as anaplas-
mosis. They talked to him about
vaccinating with Anaplaz, a vaccine
dispensed by Defendant, if they had
more trouble in the future. He
advised of the possibility of
Neonatal Isoerythrolysis in calves
from the use of the vaccine and they
did nothing about vaccinating at that
time. In May of 1971 Hastes had Dr.
Humphreys vaccinate two of their
bulls with Anaplaz. Later that year
they bought 45 head of Angus cows
from an area infested with
anaplasmosis and after they had lost
28 cows from that disease, they
secured Anaplaz vaccine from Dr.
Roberts, another of their ‘regular
veterinarians', who also explained to
them the possibility of the side
effects of NI in calves of the
vaccinated cows. They vaccinated
cows themselves, after reading the
warning and directions on and in the
containers, each package bearing on
the outside a prominent caution sign

reading "Caution; See Enclosed
Leaflet Concerning Possible Risk In
Vaccinating Breeding Females.' (Ex.

L, R. Vol. VII, Ex. App. p. 122).
The Hastes also read the cautionary

ae

Statement on the inside of the
package.

"Thereafter they lost no cows
from anaplasmosis, but after two
booster shots of vaccine, the last of
which was secured in 1973 from
another of their ‘regular
veterinarians', Dr. Lester, a number
(39) of their calves died of a
disease which was diagnosed as NI. .

"Plaintiffs had a marginal opera-
tion of crossbreed cattle (Santa
Gertrudis), which were particularly
susceptible to anaplasmosis."

"Anaplaz, a vaccine against
anaplasmosis could be procured only
from veterinarians all of whom had
been advised by American Home that
the vaccine might cause NI in calves
of vaccinated animals. .. ."

"The vaccine which Plaintiffs
purchased had a prominent red warning
on the outside and also had a clear
understandable warning on the inside
that detailed the risk to one using
the product. The Hastes admitted
that they read and understood such
warning.”

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

l. Petitioners' "finding of fact
unproven" argument was not raised below
and is specious. The Tenth Circuit
adopted the Trial Court's supported
finding that Anaplaz, procurable only

-3-

through veterinarians, should be governed
by the “prescription drug" doctrine.

2. The Tenth Circuit decision by
extending the "prescription drug" doc-
trine to Anaplaz, because it is dispensed
in a manner similar to the sale of pre-
scriptions, is not in conflict with deci-
Sions of other circuits or with federal
Statutes regarding "prescription drugs."
No circuit has held that the "prescrip-
tion drug" doctrine applies only to those
products defined in 21 U.S.C. §353.

3. There is no conflict among the
decisions of the circuit courts regarding
the effect of advertising on the duty to
warn. Also this argument was not raised
by Petitioners below. No circuit has
imposed a duty to warn the public on a
drug manufacturer when all physicians
have been adequately warned.

1. THE TENTH CIRCUIT DID NOT MAKE A

FINDING OF FACT UNPROVEN IN THE
RECORD.

Petitioners criticize the Court of
Appeals for "making a finding of fact
unproven in the record", saying “at the
trial no substantial evidence of any sort

-4-

waS presented to prove that Anaplaz was
considered a prescription drug."

Such a criticism is unwarranted and
provides no basis for a consideration of
the matter by this Court for. several
reasons:

(a) Respondent on page 10 of its
brief to the Court of Appeals. said,
"Judge Winner in his opinion has agreed
with Defendant that Anaplaz is to _ be
considered a prescription drug." (R.
Vol. IV, p. 1352, App. p.32) Petitioners
did not challenge this as being unsuppor-
ted by the evidence, in either’ their
briefs or oral argument to the Court of
Appeals. (Their original Brief relates
only to damages. For their Reply Brief
see Appendix pages 1-35). They cannot
raise the question now.

It is well established that this
Court will refuse to consider claims not
made below. 32 Am. Jur. 2d Federal
Practice & Procedure §297; 4 C.J.S.
Appeal and Error §228; Youakim v. Miller,
96 S. Ct. 1399 (1976); California v.
Taylor, 353 U.S. 553, 557 (1957); Lawn v.

-5-

U.S., 355 U.S. 339, 362-363 (1957);
Michel v. Louisiana, 350 U.S. 91, 100
L.Ed. 83, 76 S. Ct. 158 (1955), reh. den.
350 U.S. 955, 100 L.Ed. 831, 76 S. Ct.
340 (1956); Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343
U.S. 250, 96 L.Ed. 919, 72 S.Ct. 725
(1951), reh. den. 343 U.S. 988, 96 L.Ed.
1375, 72 S. Ct. 1070 (1952); Desper v.
Starved Rock Ferry Co., 342 U.S. 187, 96
L.Ed. 205, 72 S. Ct. 216 (1951), reh.
den. 342 U.S. 934, 96 L.Ed. 695, 72 S.
Ct. 374 (1952); Helvering v. Fuller, 310
U.S. 69, 84 L.Ed. 1082, 60 S. Ct. 784
(1939); Kay v. United States, 303 U.S. l,
82 L.Ed. 607, 58 S. Ct. 568 (1937); Lanasa
Fruit S. S. & Importing Co. v. Universal
Ins. Co., 302 U.S. 556, 82 L.Ed. 422, 58
S. Ct. 371 (1937); Sonzinsky v. United
States, 300 U.S. 506, 81 L.Ed. 772, 57S.
Ct. 554 (1936); Helvering v. Tex-Penn Oil
Co., 300 U.S. 481, 81 L.Ed. 755, 57 S.
Ct. 569 (1936).

(b) The statement of Judge Winner

"Moreover, for the purposes of

resolution of this case, I accept

Defendants' arguments that Anaplaz

and its sale should be treated as
-6-

the sale of a prescription drug,
albeit the record is. short a few
elements of proof of a true
prescription drug." [Emphasis sup-
plied] (Petitioner's App. p.42)

is, in reality a finding of fact, based
on evidence that Anaplaz is sold under
circumstances which are sufficient to
invoke the "prescription drug" doctrines.
The Tenth Circuit did no more than repeat
this finding.
Petitioners have failed to consult
the record when they say,
"At the trial no_- substantial
evidence of any sort was
presented to prove that Anaplaz

was considered a_ prescription
drug."

Dr. Roberts when asked by Judge Winner,
"Did you write a prescription for it?"
answered, "No. It is not required to
write a prescription for it." (R. Vol.
X, p.- 40), and at another point said, "I
don't feel that I have to write a pre-
scripton to sell this product" (R. Vol.
X, p. 41). However, at another time he
conceded that the Hastes could not pur-
chase the vaccine themselves from Fort
-7-

Dodge, as he said, "because this is sold
to veterinarians only." (R. Vol. X, DP.
45).

Dr. Lester, another of the Hastes'
"regular veterinarians", when asked,
"Dr., what kind of a drug is Anaplaz,
what kind of a vaccine is Anaplaz
according to your knowledge or informa-

tion?" answered “It is a prescription

drug." [Emphasis supplied] (R. Vol. X, p.
105) Dr. Searl, a veterinarian employed by
Defendant, when asked about the restric-
tions with respect to Anaplaz answered,
"Anaplaz is a veterinary prescription
biological product." When counsel
queried, ". . . at least that is what you
think it is", Dr. Searl responded, "That's
what I know it is, and it is sold only to
licensed veterinarians and to no one else,
including M.D.'sS. And as with a
prescription biological, there are
requirements and obligations when he gets
it as to what he does with it." (R. Vol.
XIII, pp. 182, 183).

The Anaplaz carton and package
insert clearly stated:

@8-=

"Warning: Restricted by the
U.S. Department of Agriculture to
use by or on the order of a licensed
veterinarian." (Ex. L, R. Vol. VII;
Ex. 24, R. Vol. VI)

As indicated on the package and insert,
the Department of Agriculture restricts
the use of Anaplaz to veterinarians in
much the same way that the Food and Drug
Administration restricts use of human
prescription drugs to physicians. In
both cases it is clear that the purpose
of the restrictions is to prevent the
public at large from having direct access
to those medical products which are too
complex for lay use and for which the
layman does not have the training or
knowledge to know when, where and how to
use or not use the product.

Thus, there was before the trial
Court substantial evidence that Anaplaz
waS a prescription type drug sold only on
the order of a veterinarian, and the
Statement of Judge Winner, when fairly
interpreted, was a fully supported
finding of fact that ". . . Anaplaz and
its sale should be treated as the sale of

-9-

a prescription drug." (Petitioners' App.
p.42)

(c) If the sentences of the Circuit
Court opinion are not isolated in the
analysis, they fairly reflect the trial
Court's finding:

"The trial Judge acknowledged
that the drug was a ‘prescription
drug.' The Anaplaz vaccine was only
available from veterinarians, and
Plaintiffs obtained the dosages
here concerned from their veterinar-
ians. In this aspect of the case,
it makes no difference whether the
drug was compounded by the defendant
or by a pharmacist. Since it is a
prescription drug, the doctrines
applicable thereto must be applied,
and the trial Court was in error in
not doing so." Haste v. American
Home Products Corp., 577 F.2d 1122,
1124, (10th Cir. 1978).

"The records shows the typical
‘prescription drug' sequence of
events: The Hastes had livestock
exposed to anaplasmosis from new
stock they had brought into the
herd; they became interested in
Anaplaz from the ads in the live-
stock magazines; they consulted
their ‘regular' veterinarians (two
of them) before making a decision as
to what to do; they received typical
medical advice; they balanced the
risks; they decided to have the

alGie

Anaplaz ordered by Dr. Roberts (a
veterinarian was the only source);
they received it from him; they read
and understood the leaflets, and
used it. Their veterinarians were
knowledgeable on the problem, and
were well advised by defendant as to
the risks. In this chain or se-
quence of events, the defendant
discharged its duty to plaintiffs by
the warnings to the veterinarians."
Haste v. American Home Products
COfG., St! sae Lh88, 4445 [itn
Cir. 2078).

It is submitted that the West head-
note 2 well summarizes the Court of

Appeals holding:

"Products Liability. Where
cattle vaccine in question was only
available from veterinarians, and
cattle breeders obtained dosages for
their herd from their veterinarians,
vaccine was "prescription drug,"
regardless of whether it was
compounded by manufacturer or by
pharmacist, and prescription drug
doctrines were applicable in prod-
ucts liability action arising out of
use of vaccine." Haste v. American
Home Products Corp., 577 F.2d 1122
(lOth Cir. 1978)

Petitioner's did not raise the point

before the Court of Appeals, so that the

sufficiency of the evidence to support

Judge Winner's acceptance could there
-ll-

have been determined. They cannot now
avoid the fact that both the trial Court
and the Court of Appeals have held that

the vaccine, because it could be procured

Only through doctors, should be governed

by the doctrines applicable to

prescription drugs.

2. THE TENTH CIRCUIT DECISION
IS NOT IN CONFLICT WITH
DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS OR
21 U.S.C. §353(b) (2).

It should be noted initially that
Petitioners base their second and third
grounds for review upon a purported con-
flict of opinions among the Circuit
Courts of Appeal. However, all cases
mentioned by Petitioners were brought as
diversity actions involving application
of the law of California, Illinois,
Montana, Pennsylvania, South Dakota or
Texas. In this action, the Tenth Circuit
acknowledged that Wyoming law is control-
ling and that the matter must_ be

=} 2e

———

considered in light of such Wyoming
decisions as Maxted v. Pacific Car &

Foundry Co., 527 P.2d 832 (Wyo. 1974) and
Colorado Serum Co. v. Arp, 504 P.2d 801

(Wyo. 1972). Petitioners have not cited
a conflict between the Tenth Circuit
Opinion and other reported cases involving
Wyoming law. The decision of the Tenth
Circuit is Supportable as a matter of
Wyoming state law, as Respondent herein
contends, and thus any "conflict" (which
Respondent denies in the argument below)
may be the result of differing state laws
and does not warrant the extraordinary
relief sought by Petitioners, Ruhlin v.
New York Life Ins. Co., 304 U.S. 202, 58
S. Ct. 860, 82 L.Ed. 1290 (1938).
Furthermore, Petitioners do not_~ raise

important questions of federal law nor any
issues of constitutional dimension.
Petitioners have cited no conflict between
the Tenth Circuit Opinion and any
decisions of this Court. Petitioners
merely seek review to obtain a reversal of
the Tenth Circuit Opinion for their own
private benefit.
-]13-

The Court of Appeals actually adopted

the finding of Judge Winner that, "Anaplaz
and its sale should be treated as the sale

of a prescription drug" (Petitioners' App.

p. 42) [Emphasis supplied] and stated as
its reason the fact that "The Anaplaz
vaccine was only available from
veterinarians, and Plaintiffs obtained the
dosages here concerned from their
veterinarians." Haste v. American Home
Products Corp., 577 F.2d 1122, 1124 (10th
Cir. 1978).

Neither Court, by fair analysis, said

that Anaplaz was a prescription drug
within the meaning of 21 U.S.C. §353(b),
nor could they have properly done. so,
Since that statute specifically limits the
"prescription by physician" to "the drug
intended for use by man .. ." [Emphasis
supplied]. Certainly Congress adopting 21
U.S.C. §353(b6)(2) did not intend it to
apply to animals.

A fair reading of Judge Winner's
Opinion and that of the Court of Appeals
indicates that neither meant to say that
Anaplaz was in fact a prescription drug

-14-

but rather that it bore the characteris-

tics of a prescription drug, which cir-
cumstance justified its being treated as
One, Since it could be procured only from
a doctor, familiar with diseases, their
prevention or cure, and familiar with the
circumstances of his patients who may
have need of the drug.

It must also be be cne in mind that
Dr. Roberts was not the only veterinarian
who testified concerning Anaplaz as a
prescription drug and that Dr. Lester
Said unequivocally, "It is a prescription
drug."

Also, aS waS pointed out at page 6 of
Respondent's Court of Appeals Reply Brief,
which was unchallenged by Petitioners, Dr.
Searl testified that the "Dear Doctor"
warning letters were sent to all veterina-
rians (R. XIII, p. 180). There is a pre-
Sumption that they were received, First
National Bank v. Ford, 216 P. 691, 30 Wyo.
110 (1933), and the District Court adopted
this presumption (Petitioners' App. p.

42). That presumption is unrebutted here.

=} 5=

Further, Dr. Humphreys discussed the "Dear
Doctor" letters in his testimony (R. Vol.
X, p. 23) and indicated that he had seen
these as_ well as like publications
containing warnings. The District Court
found that these letters to veterinarians
", . « recognized the risk of N.I.,.. ."
(Petitioners' App. p. 36).

In this light, discussion of the
cases cited by Petitioners in this sec-
tion is relevant and desirable.

Singer _v. Sterling Drug, Inc., 461
F.2d 288 (7th Cir. 1972) was a case where

the drug manufacturer failed to give

notice of the danger to the doctor, who
gave an oral prescription to pharmacists,
ana where there was no evidence of a
warning to the user, except that she stay
out of the sun. Here there was positive
evidence that the veterinarians were
warned, that they relayed the warnings to
the Hastes and additionally the Hastes
read the written warnings on and in the
vaccine packaging.

Davis v. Wyeth Laboratories, Inc.,
399 F.2d 121 (9th Cir. CA 1968) dealt
with a human vaccine for polio, dispensed

-l16-

in mass clinics where individual consul-
tations between patient and doctor were
non-existent. The Court held that under
such a situation there was no sufficient
warning to a customer who had no contact
with a physician who had received the
warning. However, that Opinion contained
a statement at page 131 which is signifi-
cant in the present case:
"When drugs are sold over the
counter to all comers’ warnings

normally can be given by proper
labeling."

The Hastes admitted the reading of the
warnings on the outside of the Anaplaz
package as well as that contained in the
inserts. (R. Vol. XI, pp. 50, 51)

In Reyes v. Wyeth Laboratories Inc.,
498 F.zd 1264 (5th Cir. 1974), a case
which also dealt with oral polio vaccine,

the Court affirmed a judgment for the
Plaintiff citing Davis v. Wyeth Labora-

tories of the 9th Cir., supra, holding

that where the laboratory marketed

unavoidably unsafe trivalent oral polio

vaccine and failed to provide parents of

infants with either warning of risk or
-l17-

individualized medical judgment it was

liable for failing to warn. Both of the
Wyeth cases are consistent with the hold-
ing of the Court of Appeals in Hastes.

Petitioners' conclude that, on the
Strength of the Davis case, "if the drug
is not dispensed by filling and refilling
a prescription, warning must be given to
the consumer directly by the most
reasonable means available to adequately
inform the user of the risks." The Court
of Appeals decision, as already pointed
out, noted the Hastes read and understood
the written warnings which the vaccine
package contained, and as to that from
the veterinarians stated succinctly:

"The trial Judge considered
and evaluated the warnings’ given
Plaintiffs by the veterinarians, and
found them minimal. However, the
record shows that the veterinarians
were well aware of the risks. They
had adequate advice as to the risks
from Defendant. These were- the
‘warnings’ which are significant for
prescription drugs, and thus- con-

trolling here. There were no fact
questions as to these warnings."

-18-

Certainly the Haste decision followed,

rather than departed from the holding in
Davis v. Wyeth.

The line of cases which reflect the
"prescription drug" doctrine do not focus
on whether the product is in fact a "pre-
scription drug" within the meaning of the
federal statutes and regulations, nor on
whether the sale of the drug is adminis-
tered strictly through doctor's prescrip-
tion and subsequent purchase from a phar-
macist. The key factor cited by the
courts is the contact between the consu-
mer and a licensed practitioner who has
received warnings from the manufacturer
and who is’ familiar with the circum-
Stances of his patients. The one-to-one
contact permits the licensed practitioner
to give sound advice to the consumer
regarding a decision within his field of
practice.

"Ordinarily in the case of prescrip-

tion drugs warning to the prescrib-

ing physician is sufficient. In
such cases the choice involved is

essentially a medical one involving
an assessment of medical risks in

~19—

light of the physician's knowledge

of his patient's needs and

susceptibilities." Davis v. Wyeth

Laboratories, Inc., 399 F.2d 121,
t ir. ).

"In such a case the purchaser's
doctor is a learned intermediary
between the purchaser and the manu-
facturer. If the doctor is properly
warned of the possibility of a side-
effect in some patients, and is
advised of the symptoms normally
accompanying the side-effect, there
is an excellent chance that injury
to the patient can be avoided."
Sterling Drug, Inc. v. Cornish, 370
F.2d 82, 85 (8th Cir. 1966)

"The universal view is that a warn-
ing in a prescription drug should be
made to the prescribing practition-
er, because he is in the theoretical
position of being able to evaluate
and balance the dangers of the drug
against the utility from the drug."
Dixon, Drug Product Liability,
§9.02([2].

Certainly non-prescription drugs can

be dispensed under circumstances in which

a “learned intermediary" is involved, and

can therefore fall into the category of

"prescription drugs" for the purpose of

determining to whom the manufacturer's
warning should be directed. This has

=~2@=

been recognized in existing case law, and
therefore the Tenth Circuit opinion is
not in conflict with other opinions by
extending the “prescription drug" doc-
trine to products which are not prescrip-
tion drugs under federal Statutory
definitions. For example, in Heirs of

Fruge v. Blood Services, 365 F.Supp. 1344
(W.D.La. 1973), the court noted at page
1350 that blood products are ". . .

analogous to ‘prescription only' drugs .

- -" and proceeded to apply the general
rule that, in Situations where a product
can be obtained only through a physician,
only the physician need be warned.
Similarly, in Gravis v. Parke-Davis §&
Co., 502 S.W.2d 863 (Tex. App. 1973), the
court noted that the product’ involved

therein, an anesthetic, wasS available
Only upon order of a physician, and went
on to hold:

"The laws and regulations prevent
prescription type drugs from being
purchased by individuals without the
advice, guidance and consent of li-
censed physicians and pharmacists.
These professionals are in the best
position to evaluate the warnings
put out by the drug- industry."

-2li-

(Emphasis supplied) Gravis v.
Parke-Davis & Co., 502 S.W.2d 863,
870 (Tex. App. 1973).

It is equally clear that when the "“"lear-

ned intermediary" is not involved in a
sale of a drug to consumers, the mere
fact that the product involved is a pre-
scription drug within the meaning of
federal statutes will not permit’ the
product's manufacturer to invoke the
protection of the "prescription drug"
doctrine. In Davis, supra. and Reyes,
supra., the Sabin Type III oral polio
vaccine was indeed a prescription drug
within the meaning of the federal
statutes, but nevertheless a warning to
the physician was insufficient where the
physician did not fill the role of
"learned intermediary."

The Tenth Circuit Opinion likewise
focused on the presence of the ". . .
typical ‘prescription drug' sequence of
events . . .", Haste v. American Home
Products Corp., 577 F.2d 1122, 1125 (10th
Cir. 1978). The Tenth Circuit Opinion is
therefore in harmony with the other cases

-22-

which form the basis of the "prescription
drug" doctrine, and there exists no con-
flict among the circuits which would
warrant the issuance of ae writ of
certiorari.

3. THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG
THE TENTH CIRCUIT DECISION AND
THE DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS
AND STATE COURTS IN EVALUATING
THE DUTY TO WARN WHERE ADVER-
TISING IS INVOLVED.

Petitioner erroneously claims there
is a conflict among the circuits’ and
State courts concerning the effect of
advertising on the duty to warn.
Petitioner also cites a conflict between
the Tenth Circuit decision and federal
law.

It should again be noted that the
federal laws regarding advertising of
prescription drugs, 21 U.S.C. §352(n) and
21 C.F.R. §202.1(e), are not applicable
to Anaplaz because it is not a prescrip-
tion drug within the meaning of 21 U.S.C.
§353. Thus no actual conflict or erron-
eous ruling of law exists in this regard
which would call for review by
this Court. Furthermore, Petitioners'

-23-

argument regarding federal statutory
advertising requirements was not raised
in the Court below, being nowhere found
in the Petitioners' Tenth Circuit Reply
Brief attached hereto at Appendix pp.
1-35, and should not be considered by
this Court.

The cases cited by Petitioners for
the proposition that a seller's over-
promotion of a drug mitigates the warn-
ings otherwise given to practitioners are
not on point and are not in conflict with
the opinion of the Tenth Circuit Court of
Appeals. In all four cases (Love _ v.
Wolf, 249 Cal. App. 2d 822, 58 Cal. Rptr.
42 (Ct. App. 1967); Incollingo v. Ewing,
444 Pa. 263, 283 A.2d 206 (1971); Stevens
v. Parke Davis & Co., 107 Cal. Rptr. 45,
507 P.2d 653 (1973); and Sterling Drug v.
Yarrow, 408 F.2d 978 (8th Cir. 1969)) the

Courts were dealing with situations

involving over-promotion of a prescription
drug to a physician. The cases did not

involve advertising directed to the

public. The trial court in this action

did not find that American Home _ had

directed its advertising to the
-24-

veterinarians, but rather found that it
had directed its advertising toward
cattlemen, Petitioners' Appendix pp. 35,
42.

In Love v. Wolf, 249 Cal. App. 2d
822, 58 Cal. Rptr. 42 (Ct. App. 1967)
the Court noted at 58 Cal. Rptr. 49, 249
Cal. App. 2d 832, 833, that the doctor's
state of mind is an important factor,

particularly as it is affected by the
drug manufacturer. The Court found that
the warnings to the doctor were
inadequate and that the drug manufacturer
was aware of the inadequacy. The Court
concluded that over-promotion of the drug
to the doctor was one factor in the

inadequacy of the warnings. In this
case, the District Court did not find
that American Home gave inadequate
warnings to the veterinarians, nor did it
find that there was any over-promotion of
the drug to the veterinarians, nor did it
find that American Home was aware of any
inadequacy in the warnings given. to
veterinarians. It should further be
noted that in an earlier case involving
the same parties and facts, Love v. Wolf,
-25-

266 Cal. App. 2d 378, 38 Cal. Rptr. 183,
Ct. App. 1964), the Court had held that
the drug manufacturer only had a duty to
warn the doctor:
"Parke-Davis has no contact with the
ultimate consumer of this drug, the
patient. The duty, therefore,
whatever its extent may be, must be
a duty to warn the doctor’ who
prescribes the drug. This would be
the only effective means by which

warning could help the patient."
Love v. Wolf, 38 Cal. Rptr. 183,

—-——_-

192, 266 Cal. App. 2d 378 (Ct. App.
1964).

In Incollingo v. Ewing, 444 Pa. 263,
283 A.2d 206 (1971), again there was
Over-promotion of the drug to the doctor,
but there was no advertising to’ the
public. The court held that ". . . the
warning required is not to the general
public or to the patient, but to the pre-
scribing doctor." The Court went on to
find that the warnings given doctors were
inadequate in light of the manufacturer's
knowledge and were further nullified by
the representations of "detail men" which
amounted to over-promotion of the drug.
Again, distinquishing the present case

_

from Incollingo are the absence of a
finding that advertising was directed to
the physician, and the absence of a
finding that warnings actually given to
the veterinarians were inadequate.

In Stevens v. Parke-Davis & Co., 107
Cal. Rptr. 45, 507 P.2d 653 (1973) the
Court found that warnings to doctors were
inadequate because they had been "watered
down" by over-promotion of the drug to
the doctors. Again, no duty to warn the
public was involved, but rather a finding
that a duty to warn the doctors had not
been fulfilled. In the present case, the
District Court did not find that American
Home had failed to adequately warn the
veterinarians.

In Sterling Drug v. Yarrow, 408 F.2d
978 (8th Cir. 1969) the Court repeated
the standard "prescription drug” doctrine

that a warning need only be given to

doctors. However, again the drug manu-

facturer's "detail men" failed to point

out the side effects of the drug, and the

Court found that such failure amounted to

a failure to give adequate warning to the
-27-

doctors of the possible side effects.
Again, no advertising was directed to the
public and no duty to warn the public was
established.

The District Court held here that
there is a duty to warn the consumer
directly when advertising is aimed at the

consumer:

"I think that the direct sales
effort (even though the product was
channeled through veterinarians)
imposed on Defendant a duty to warn
the ultimate consumer’ before he
spent his money on the purchase."
(Petitioners' App. 43, 44.)

The Tenth Circuit held that it was error
to ignore the warnings given to veteri-
narians and to impose such a duty:

"The Trial Court was in error in
holding that the contents of the
advertisements of Anaplaz in the
various livestock publications are
controlling on the warnina issue,
and thus override the practical
considerations which arise from the
requirement that the consumer
purchase the vaccine only from
veterinarians, and override the
established "prescription drug'
doctrines." Haste v. American Home
Products Corp., 577 F.2d 1122, 1125
(1lOth Cir. 1978).

-28<

American Home in its Appeal Brief stated
that the duty imposed by the District
Court iS unsupported in the law. In the
Tenth Circuit, Petitioner was unable to
point out any law in support of such a
duty. The cases now cited by Petitioner
can only stand for the proposition that
advertising directed to physicians must
be considered in determining the adequacy
of warnings given to the physician, and
they cannot be considered as support for
the proposition that there is an absolute
duty to warn consumers in advertising
directed to the consumer when adequate
warnings have been given to physicians.
Here all of the advertising directed to
the consumers advised them to first
consult their veterinarian; the veteri-
narians were warned by American Home and
these warnings were also relayed to the
Petitioners when they consulted with
their “regular veterinarians" regarding
vaccinating with Anaplaz.
CONCLUSION
The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals

did not make a "finding of fact unproven
in the record," nor is its decision in
=-29<

conflict with the decisions of other cir-
cuits or with federal law. The Petition-
ers have raised spurious arguments in
order to obtain review by this Court of
their private grievance which involves no
questions of federal or constitutional
import. The Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully Submitted,

SLENN PARKER

HIRST & APPLEGATE
200 Boyd Building
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001

BYRON HIRST,

JAMES L. APPLEGATE,

and THOMAS N. LONG

200 Boyd Building
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001

and
LEWIS PERKISS
685 3rd Avenue
New York, New York 10017

OF COUNSEL

b October 1978

«3@0

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 76-2015 and 76-2016

WILLIAM HASTE and
MAXINE HASTE,

Plaintiff-Appellant
and Cross-Appellee,

VS.

AMERICAN HOME PRODUCTS

CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellee
and Cross-Appellant.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

REPLY BRIEF OF APPELLANT AND CROSS-APPELLEE

BADER & DUFTY

Pamela N. Hultin

600 Boston Building
828 - 17th Street
Denver, Colorado 80202

ATTORNEY FOR PLAINTIFF-
APPELLANTS

August 10, 1977

App. p. l

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Brief (App.)

Page Page
ISSUES PRESENTED .. . « « «© «© « ef (5)
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ....e. 2 (6)
ARGUMENT . . «© © © © ew ew ee ow oe eG (8)
I. Computation of cows was in
CCfOE« « 2 + s+ ss + we « 2 6 (8)
II. Upgrading program damages. .5 (9)

Itz. Oxhibite 91 and 92. « « » of (12)
IV. Increased Feed Costs ... .8 (13)
7, Gaesatiowh s » + a i « « o » wf (13)
VI. Waerning®S . . «© «6 » «© © «© « ohh (18)

VII. Contributory Negligence and
Assumption of the Risk. . .16 (25)

VIII. Limitation of Implied
Warranty. «© « « s «6 « « « «40 (32)

IX. Unusual Susceptibility ... (33)

CONCLUSION ° ° . ° ° ° . . ° ° . 022 (34)

App. p.2

TABLE OF CASES CITED
Brief(App.)
Page Page

Elder v. Crawley Book Machine Co,
441 F.20 771 (3rd Cir. 1971). . .18 (27)

Ferraro vs. Ford Motor Co.,
423 Pa. 324, 223 A.2d 746 (1966) .18 (29)

Love vs. Wolf,
226 Cal. App. 2d 378, 38 Cal.Rptr.15 .(24)

Ralston’ vs. Illinois Power Co.,
299 @U.W. 24 497 (Ill. 1973) « « « 19 (36)

Stevens vs. Parke Davis and Co.,
507 P.2d 653 (Calif. 1973) « « « 83 €23)

Vernon vs. Lake Motors,
466 P.26 362 (Utah. i971) « « « « @ (31)

OTHER AUTHORITIES

STATUTES

Wyoming Statutes
Section 34-2-316 ° ° ° *- 2°© ° 20 (32)

PUBLICATIONS

United States Department of Agriculture
release dated December 29, 1969 .14 (21)

Restatement of Torts 2d

Section 496A, Comment d.. .18 (28)
Section 496C, Comment e .. .18 (28)
Section 496D, Comment c.. .18 (28)
Section 496E, Comment a... .18 (29)

App. p. 3

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT
Nos. 76-2015 and 76-2016

WILLIAM HASTE and
MAXINE HASTE,

Plaintiff-Appellant
and Cross-Appellee,

AMERICAN HOME PRODUCTS
CORPORATION,

De fendant-Appellee

)

)

)

)

)

)

vs. )
)

)

)

)

)

and Cross-Appellant.)

REPLY BRIEF OF APPELLANT AND
CROSS-APPELLEE

This reply brief is submitted in

rebuttal on the issues presented in the
Opening brief of Appellee and Cross-
Appellant. Appellant and Cross-Appellee
responds first to the Appellee and Cross-
Appellant's rebuttal regarding the issues
of Damages and then to the issues regard-
ing Cross-Appellant's challenge of the
finding of liability in the trial ,court.

Parties will be referred to by
name or aS designated Plaintiff oor
Defendant in the trial court.

App. p.4

All citations to the Appendix
prepared in this case shall be in this
form [App. p. 366, L.2]. Citation to the
Prepared Exhibits will be in this form
[Ex. p.616]. Citation to the Record
shall be [Rec.Vol. XX p.3010, Le 2).
Citation to exhibits not in the Prepared
Exhibits shall be in this form [Rec.Vol.
VII, Ex.198].

ISSUES PRESENTED
I. The trial Court erred in its

computations regarding the number. and
value of cows sold.

Ir. The trial Court erred in
failing to award damages for loss to the
upgrading program.

III. The trial court erred in
failing to admit Exhibits 91 and 92.

IV. The trial court erred in
failing to award for increased _ feed
costs.

V. The Record discloses sub-
stantial evidence of causation;

VI. Any warnings were insubstan-
tial, inadequate and eroded by publicity
promoting the product.

VIII. Actual and implied warran-
ties were given by Defendant in

App. p. 5

promotional literature.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The Hastes would incorporate the

Statement of the case presented in the
opening brief as if fully set out here-
in.

The statement of the case as
presented in the Defendant's brief is
objectionable in that it represents
"facts" as "proven" where obvious) and
continuing conflict existed in the
exhibits and testimony. A reading of the
entire record, particularly the tran-
Script of trial testimony, discloses that
the plaintiffs and the veterinarians
called by Defendant gave continually
conflicting testimony regarding the
conversations between them and the
particulars of those conversations.

The record discloses that none
of the veterinarians called by the
Defendant testified to having received
any of the "Dear Doctor" letters apparen-
tly sent by the Defendant. Furthermore,
the testing of Anaplaz performed by
Outside experts has continually shown
that Anaplaz causes Neonatal Isoerythro -
lysis (N.I.). Plaintiffs did not seek to

App. p. 6

© RELI NEE DD

show that Anaplaz is the only cause, but
that it was the cause in this case.
Defendant states in its Statement of the
Case that:

"To this date, it is the

opinion of veterinarians’ and
scientists who have participated
in the investigations that there
is not enough scientific proof
to establish a cause and effect
relationship between Anaplaz and
N.I." (Brief of Appellee and
Cross-Appellant P.7).

This totally mistates the status of the
present scientific investigation and
ignores the evidence presented at this
trial from scientists such as Dr.
Stormont and Dr. Young, the veterinarians
called by the Defendant, and the United
States Government as well as the Defen-
dant itself who saw fit to include a
warning in the insert indicating that
there are indications that N.I. may
result. Certainly at the time of trial
in this matter substantial testing had
been performed as testified to by Dr.
Stormont and indicated by the articles of
Dr. Stormont and Dr. Young. Plaintiffs
invite the Court to read the record of
the liability trial, specifically the
App. p. 7

testimony of Dr. Stormont, for evidence
presented on the relationship of Anaplaz
to N.I. It is evident that the Defendant
is hiding its corporate head in the sand
to ignore and discount the overwhelming
evidence that Anaplaz has a direct rela-
tionship to the occurrence of N.I.
ARGUMENT

I. Computation of cows was in

error.

Plaintiffs make no argument that
Defendant's exhibit U indicates that 40
cattle were not worth more than slaughter
value. However, the evidence discloses
that the plaintiffs gave value to the
cows and estimated a life for them as
indicated in their tax returns. Dr.
Charlesworth indicates that these cows
had no practical value as breeders. He
never saw these cows or the results of
their breeding. His opinion is’ based
upon generalities of his experience and
not supported by any actual evidence that
the particular cattle had no value as
breeders to the Hastes, There is no
evidence that these cows would fail to
produce viable, saleable calves.

App. p. 8

Furthermore, the Plaintiffs
testified that due to the N.I. propensi-
ties of their brood cows they were forced
to sell at slaughter prices. Mr. Haste
testified that he actually received
$300.00 on an average for each cow sold
for slaughter. [Mr. Haste's testimony,
App. p.94, L.1l-ll]j. The Defendant's
Exhibit U indicates that the slaughter
value according to Dr. Searl and 0Dr.
Charlesworth would be $353.00. The
forced sale at the time the Hastes had to
sell breeding cows in Wyoming, where no
other Santa Gertrudis herds’ existed,
caused at least a minimum loss. of
$2,120.00.

{I. Upgrading program damages.

Defendant states, as did the
trial Court memorandum on the issue of
damages, that the request for damages for
losses sustained by the up-grading pro-
gram was actually a request for multiple
damages since before and after value of
the cows was given. Yet neither Judge
Winner nor the Defendant indicates how
this award would be duplicitous of the
other award if the before and after value
of the cows is subtracted from the

App. p. 9

loss to the upgrading program.

Mr. Elrod testified that the
Hastes entered into the upgrading program
in February of 1972. This program had
value to the Hastes in that, at its con-
clusion the Hastes would have not only a
herd of cattle, but the reputation, good-
will and certification as breeders of
purebred Santa Gertrudis cattle. The
loss of the individual cattie at the time
of the injury and the loss of breeding
capacity cannot compensate fully for the
loss of future profit from the termina-
tion of the involvement in this program.

This is not simply a speculative
improvement of the breed but a program
determined by other breeders designed to
provide standards of quality and a rating
procedure. All testimony -indicated that
cattle given a higher’ classification
(except bulls until they were registered
pure-bred) were of increasingly greater
value. The program was scientifically
controlled by inbreeding to achieve
ultimate perfection within tthe Santa
Gertrudis' breed. There was ample
evidence that the Hastes were
following the program and actively

App. p. 10

Wa a

Ae ge See 6

attempting to increase the value of the
herd.

This loss was not easily calcu-
lable. However, the case law is clear
that simply because the damages. are
difficult of ascertainment the fact
finder is not relieved of the ~<esponsi-
bility of approximating an amount for an
award. [This issue was amply raised and
argued in the Plaintiffs' opening brief
and cases cited there will not be repeat-
ed in the interest of brevity.]

Mr. Haste's unrebutted testimony
that the upgrading program itself repre-
sented a loss of $100,000.00. As indica-
ted in the opening brief, if the award
for the lost cows and calves is subtrac-
ted from the amount representing the loss
to the upgrading program there is no
terrible danger that a duplication of
damage would occur.

The Defendant implies that the
Hastes did not pursue a course of reason-
able action in failing to purchase re-
placement cows. The testimony regarding
the plaintiffs' desparate financial
condition after the N.I. problem and due
to it, as well as the then existing cost

App. p. ll

of comparable cross-bred cattle made such
replacement impossible for the Plain-
tiffs. As the opening brief citations
indicate such replacement is not neces-
Sary in situations where the burden would
be too onerous.

III. Exhibits 91 and 92.

Counsel for Plaintiffs would
agree with counsel for Defendant that the
record of the damages trial indicates
such amount of confusion and a perplexing
lack of preparation on the part of Plain-
tiffs' trial attorneys on the issues
related to damages. However, the evi-
dence that was educed at the trial makes
it abundantly clear that some form of
demonstrative evidence would have been
useful to clarify exactly the thrust of
the Plaintiffs' damage allegations.
Exhibits 91 and 92 were such exhibits and
should have been admitted despite the
inartful manner in which they were des-
cribed and presented. The trial Court
seemed overtly antagonistic to the expert
economic testimony presented by the
Plaintiffs and continually challenged
Plaintiffs' attorneys and apparently
badgered them into withdrawing one of

App. p. 12

their claims.

The claim for damages to upgra-
ding was not withdrawn and the Exhibits
offered had a direct bearing on_ the
determination of the amount of ‘loss to
that program.

IV. Increased Feed Costs.

The increased feed costs, as
evidenced by the tax returns of the
Plaintiffs and statements of the sickly
condition of the cattle by Gene
Schreibeis are ample evidence of addi-
tional damage to the Plaintiffs. The
feed required to prepare the cattle for
Sale after the N.I. illnesses is not a
multiplication or duplication of awarded
damages.

This feed was in addition to
that normally required. It is not
reflected as part of the awarded price of
the cattle. Judge Winner was remiss in
not making some monetary award for this
loss.

V. Causation.

The Defendant asserts that since
the written records provided to Dr. Searl
by Mrs. Haste show that one calf that
died of N.I. was born of a cow for which

App. p. 13

no notation of vaccination with Anaplaz
was made that this conclusively shows
that Anaplaz did not cause the N.I. in
the Haste herd.

Maxine Haste testified that all
of the brood cows were vaccinated with
Anaplaz vaccine [Appendix p.65, Line
9-23). The records in evidence show that
the Plaintiffs vaccinated hundreds of
animals with Anaplaz as well as other
vaccines. These records were kept by
Maxine Haste during the course of the
normal ranch routine. The finding of one
mistake or omission on the part of Mrs.
Haste in her record keeping is neither
Surprising nor dispositve of the liabil-
ity issue in this case. The fact that
Mrs. Haste missed only one entry out of
several hundred cows is credit to her
bookkeeping.

The Defendant goes to _ great
lengths to argue that the testimony of
Dr. Searl is the only probative testimony
on the issue of causation. As Judge
Winner noted,

"The opinion testimony is diame-

tric as to causation. The pro-
duct is new, and perhaps further

App. p. 14

Scientific study and_ research
will prove defendant's experts
to be right, but as the trier of
fact, and based upon the expert
testimony so saying, I find that
the Anaplaz vaccinations of
Plaintiffs' herd was the proxi-
mate cause of the N.I. later
discovered in those cattle."

(3) “In so finding, I am not
unaware of evidence tending to
show that one cow diagnosed as
having N.I. was not vaccinated
with Anaplaz, but I think that
the preponderance of the evi-
dence shows to causal connection
between Anaplaz and N.I. That
connection is surely not estab-
lished beyond a reasonable
doubt, but I think that’ the
civil case test of preponderance
of the evidence is met."

Plaintiffs agree that proof can-
not be speculative, but in matters of
expert opinion it is not uncommon that
the experts differ in the interpretation
of data and the methods used. The exten-
Sive testimony of Dr. Stormont, that his
experiments proved that Anaplaz produces
the sensitization in catle causing isoan-
tibodies which ultimately cause N.I. in
calves [Appendix p.100-116] was not
controverted by comparable evidence of

App. p. 15

experiments by the Defendant’ showing
otherwise. Dr. Searl and Dr. Stormont
are at odds as to the side-effects of
Anaplaz. Judge Winner in weighing the
evidence chose, rightly, to find that by
a preponderance of the evidence Anaplaz
caused N.I. in the Haste herd.

Dr. Stormont indicates that he
has never encountered N.I. in a herd that
was not vaccinated with Anaplaz [App. p.
117 L. 17-20). He also indicated that he
knew of no published proof that N.I. had
been found in any herd that had not been
vaccinated with Anaplaz [App. p.1l7 L.
21-24] except from Australia where they
have another kind of homologous’ blood
vaccine [App. p.118 L.4-9]. Dr. Stormont
further indicated that the cows in his
test group still produced the isoanti-
bodies over a year after their last
booster injection [App. p.118 L.10-23].
This testimony clearly shows that the
witnesses had some conflicting opinions
and by the preponderance of evidence that
Anaplaz caused N.I. in the Haste herd.

Other evidence that Anaplaz
causes N.I. was produced by the Plain-
tiffs in the form of papers. The Court

App. p. 16

should read, for example, Exhibits No. 53
[Ex. p.10); Exhibit No.54 [Ex. p.15];
Exhibit No. 55 [Ex.p.19]; Exhibit No. 58
[Ex. p.20]; Exhibit No. 80, [Ex. p.29].
These articles as well as letters submit-
ted into evidence between Dr. Stormont
and American Home Products as well as
United States Government directives to
the Defendant submitted into evidence
more than adequately showed by a prepon-
derance that Anaplaz causes N.I.

Clearly the testing as evidenced
by the testimony of Dr. Stormont and Dr.
Young was not the subject of speculation
on their parts. Their opinions were
based on these tests and were competent
to a reasonable degree of certainty.

It is unrebutted that the
Plaintiffs' calves died of N.I. Dr.
Blessing and Dr. Stormont testified to
that. A great deal of testimony was
given by many witnesses both experts and
veterinarians that N.I. was caused by
Anaplaz. Dr. Roberts testified for the
Defendant and he indicated that he would
not recommend Anaplaz because of the
danger of N.I. caused by the vaccine.
[R.Vol. X, p.55, App. p.132].

App. p. 17

VI. Warnings.
Defendant contends that the

conversations between Dr. Roberts and Dr.
Humphreys and the Hastes were sufficient
to satisfy its duty to warn the Plain-
tiffs of the risk of N.I. As they noted,

these individuals “had no connection

whatever with American Home _ Products
coe It is unclear how the Defendant
finds that its duty to warn can be
assigned to veterinarians in Wyoming,
where these veterinarians never testified

to having received any "Dear Doctor"

letters from American Home Products
regarding the impossible danger of N.l.
from Anaplaz vaccination. Dr. Roberts
indicated that the knowledge he had about
N.I. came from published articles and not
from any information disseminated by
Defendant.

Adequate warning did not issue
to the Hastes from the Defendant. The
testimony regarding these conversations
by Dr. Humphreys and Dr. Roberts was
contradicted by the Plaintiffs' recollec-
tion of these conversations. Dr.
Humphreys minimized any warning that he

may have made. Dr. Roberts did not
App. p. 18

consider the vaccine to be a prescription
drug and therefore he had no “profession-
al duty" to do more than order’ the
vaccine which he did. Mrs. Haste testi-
fied that Dr. Roberts said only one sen-
tence that indicated he would not use
Anaplaz, without any indication as to
why:
"When we were at Dr. Roberts' we
told him we were thinking about
doing this, in fact, had almost
decided to do it. He said that
if it were he, he wouldn't do

it. We said 'Why?' and he said
"Because of the kind of vaccine

te is.* And that is all he
said. He does not explain a
lot and that is every word he
said to us." [Rec.Vol. XI

Judge Winner aptly resolved this
testimonial conflict in his memorandum
opinion:

"I accept plaintiffs' testimony

as to the extent of Dr. Roberts'

warning, and I do not think that
this warning was of a nature to
place a reasonable cattleman on

notice of realistic risk from
use Of Anaplaz." [App. p.30]

Not only was there no duty known
to the veterinarians to warn on behalf of
the Defendant and no evidence of actual
notice to them from the Defendant of N.I.

App. p. 19

danger, there was obvious conflict as to
the extent of the warnings they testified
to which was resolved by the trier of
fact in favor of the Plaintiffs. This
Court has only to read the record of the
liability trial to see that Judge Winner
had ample testimony upon which to base
his determination that any warnings from
the doctors were minimal. .That decision
Should not now be overturned by this
Court on appeal.

The Defendant challenges Judge
Winner's determination that:

"There is a duty to warn the

rancher of potential risks in

the advertising and sales

material which promote the sale

of the product." [R.Vol. IV, p.
1352, App. p.32].

The Defendant neglects to men-
tion that this product was extensively
advertised in cattlemen's magazines. The
Plaintiffs first learned of the product
from these magazines. These are included
in the Record of this case but Judge
Winner's citation of certain passages in
his brief indicates some of the represen-
tations of safety and the lack of any
warning of any potential side effect in

App. p. 20

this literature:

"Understandably, and justifi-
ably, the advertising is lauda-
tory of Anaplaz, but, in
addition to the broad commenda-
tory language, published adver-
tisements say, for example,
"So vaccinations not only
protect your cow herd, but
your profits from two calf
crops as well. With ease,
safety and economy.

"Anaplaz" is an inactivated
vaccine, incapable of prod-
ucing disease. It has been
scientifically researched,
developed and tested by
controlled procedures under
both laboratory and actual
field conditions. Exten-
Sive trials have been con-
ducted in herds on widely
separated farms and
ranches.'
The 'Dear Doctor' letters recog-
nized the risk of N.I. but the
material directed to the ulti-
mate purchaser gave no clue that
there was any risk. MThe adver-
tising literature did not men-
tion a release by the United
States Department of Agriculture
dated December 29, 1969, which
said, inter alia:

"Vaccinating brood cows
with anaplasmosis vaccine
sometimes may cause fatal
side-effects in calves, the
App. p. 21

»

U.S. Department of Agricul-
ture cautioned today

Judge Winner was stating what
may seem patently obvious to the lay
person but not apparently to counsel for
the Defendant. The representations to
the buyer were such as to induce them to
purchase. Known risks vere not merely
minimized but were ignored stating that
the drug was “incapable of producing
disease." Surely some burden should be
placed on the manufacturer of a product
with a known risk to inform potential
buyers, before purchase, of that danger.

Exhibit 23 (1) [Memorandum
Opinion App. p.29] which is a brochure
supplied by the Defendant to Dr.
Humphreys and given by him to- the
Plaintiffs when they inquired about the
Anaplaz vaccine assured them that "five
years of Anaplaz field use has_~ shown
there's no longer any reason for running

the risks of suffering the ravages of
anaplasmosis." (emphasis added). This
Same brochure described the vaccine as
"safe" and "readily available."

App. p. 22

These overt representations,
that uncontrovertedly reached the plain-
tiffs, were relied on by them in purchas-
ing the vaccine. Any understanding they
may have had about a risk as enormous as
the one existing here came from others
and wasS minimized by them.

In Stevens vs. Parke Davis and
Co., 507 P.2d 653 (Calif. 197) the ques-
tion was raised as to the adequacy of a

warning given to a physician regarding
dangers of a prescription drug for human
use. The Supreme Court of California
stated:

"Although the manufacturer or
Supplier of a prescription drug
has a duty to adequately warn
the medical profession of its
dangerous properties or of facts
which makes it likely to be
dangerous, an adequate warning
to the profession may be eroded
Or even nullified by over-promo-
tion of the drug through a vig-
Orous sales program which may
have the effect of persuading
the prescribing doctor to disre-
gard the warnings given." (id.
at p.661)

If over-promoting a drug to a
doctor can be grounds for the nullifica-

tion of any warnings given him then a
App. p. 23

fortiori the same principle should apply

to lay persons to whom the drug is
directly marketed. Another prescription
drug case raised a similar issue making
the point that if over-promoting reason-
ably induces a doctor to disregarding
warnings he has received then the warning
is withdrawn or cancelled. See Love vs.
Wolf, 226 Cal. App. 2d 378, 38 Cal. Rptr.
183.

The warnings, if any, given by
the doctors were in contradiction to the
literature read by the Plaintiffs and
Supplied by the Defendant. This litera-
ture assured safety and indicated "no
reason" for taking any risk of
anaplasmosis. The package insert sup-
plied in small print inside the container
was insufficient as a warning. The
Sales-pitch of the Defendant could not be
Overcome by a minimizing technical state-
ment inside the purchased package.

The trial Court's determination
that the warnings were inadequate is
amply supported by the record and by
available case law and should not be
overturned.

App. p. 24

VII. Contributory Negligence And
Assumption of the Risk.

The Defendant asserts that the
Plaintiffs, being fully informed of the
possibility of N.I. from Anaplaz vaccine,
assumed the risk of their cattle contrac-
ting the disease and proceeded to vacci-
nate. As discussed in the preceeding
section, the Plaintiffs were certainly
not "fully informed" and in fact were
misled by the literature published by
Defendant that they received.

Defendant indicates that’ the
vaccination of the bulls by the Plain-
tiffs shows that they were’ testing
the product for future use on the cows
evidencing a “calculated risk on their
part." It is highly unlikely that a
reasonable rancher would test out a
product on his most valuable animals.
Dr. Humphreys indicated that the reason
he vaccinated the bulls at the time he
did was because they were in Worland.

"... and when Bill brought down
these two bulls, they were his
most valuable animals, he
decided to use the vaccine on
the bulls as he had them down,

App. p. 25

he brought them down to

Worland, anyway, to have their
feet trimmed." [App. p.136
L.5-9].

Since this was the first time Dr.
Humphreys recalled mentioning the possi-
bility of N.I., it is unlikely that Mr.
Haste "calculated" that risk in vaccina-
ting the bulls. As the counsel _ for
Defendant appropriately noted at the
trial, the bulls weren't going to have
any calves so any mention the doctor may
have made about calves having N.I. would
not have indicated any risk as far as the
bulls were concerned. Nor would the
vaccination of the bulls resolve any
"calculation" of risk of N.I. in cows and
their calves. Clearly the reason for the
vaccination was to protect his "most
valuable" animals from anaplasmosis.
Assumption of a risk as distin-
guished from contributory negligence
requires “actual knowledge" of the danger
and not constructive knowledge. What was
in the mind of the plaintiffs when they
purchased the vaccine and vaccinated
their cattle is what is important. The
Hastes' actions and statements at trial

App. p. 26

evidence the fact that they were not
actually aware of the severe damage that
could occur to their herd. They read the
enclosed warning but, as Mr. Haste's
testimony reveals regarding the enclosed
"warning" on the instruction sheet in the
vaccine:

"A. Well, it minimized the

warning end of it to where you
wouldn't even consider it.

Q. In any event you didn't
consider it?
A. In any event I didn't

understand the language to the
point where I considered it as
any gamble between my calf crop
or my cows, because after all i
had lost the cows, the big
Siege, and from there on it was
a precautionary measure, and I
sure wouldn't have vaccinated my
cows intentionally with
something that I knew was
gambling the loss of my calf
crop on, or the ruination of my
cows later." [App. p.147
L.8-17).

In Elder vs. Crawley Book
Machine Company, 44] F.2d 771 (3rd Cir.
1971) the Court in an action for personal
injuries under strict liability
interpreted The Restatement of Torts 2d
in its definition of what we call

App. p. 27

assumption of risk as requiring actual

knowledge:

"In defining the doctrine, the
Restatement makes it clear that
the law envisions a conscious
appreciation of danger and
willingness to risk it. Thus,
comment d, Section 496A _ says:
In theory, the distinction
between the two (contributory
negligence and assumption of
risk) is that assumption of risk
rests upon the voluntary consent
of the Plaintiff to encounter
the risk and take his chances
.-. A subjective standard is
applied to assumption of the
risk, in determining whether the
Plaintiff knows, understands,
and appreciates the risk. Com-
ment e, Section 496C states:
Assumption of risk is a matter
of which Plaintiff knows, under-
stands, and is willing to
accept. Comment c, Section 496D
states: That the standards to
be applied is a subjective one
of what the particular Plaintiff
in fact sees, knows, understands
and appreciates ... . If by
reason of age or lack of infor-
mation, experience, intelligence
or judgment, the Plaintiff does
not understand the risk involved
in a known situation he will not
be taken to assume the risk."

l.. applying this subjective
standard the Court found that the
App. p.28

Plaintiff had not assumed the risk of
having her fingers severed by a machine
she worked on. Here it is clear from the
testimony that what the Plaintiffs saw,
understood, and appreciated regarding the
vaccine did not include a risk to _ the
calf crop or cows from N.I.

In Ferraro vs. Ford Motor Co.,
423 Pa. 324, 223 A.2d 746 (1966), this

case involved personal injuries received

by the Plaintiff driver of a truck where
the Plaintiff knew of the defects in the
truck and had several times tried to have
the defe@ss fixed by the Defendant, who
assured Plaintiff that the condition
would correct itself; the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court followed the Restatement of
Torts 2d, Section 496E comment (a) in
reversing a judgment notwithstanding the
verdict.

"Comment (a), however,
immediately goes on to. say:
Where, however, the Plaintiff
Surrenders his better judgment
upon an assurance of safety or a
promise of protection against
the risk, he does not assume it
unless a known danger is_ so
extreme that there can be no
reasonable reliance upon such an
assurance, or unless so- much

App. p. 29

Co.,

time has elapsed without action
that he can no longer reasonably
rely on it.

It is our conclusion that the
matrix of logic does not clearly
compel the acceptance of only
one of those opposing positions.
Rather do we believe, that,
under the circumstances, reason-
able men could honestly differ
as to what impact, if any, the
dealers assurance would or
should have had on the mind of a
reasonably prudent automobile
driver. Hence, a jury question
was presented. We will, there-
fore, reverse the entry of the
judgment notwithstanding the
verdict." (emphasis added).

In Ralston vs. Illinois Power

299 N.W. 2d 497 (Ill. 1973), it is

pointed out that contributory negligence

is not a defense to the action of strict

products liability and states in regard

to assumption of the risk:

"That tests to be resorted to in
determining whether one _ has
assumed the risk is’ fundamen-
tally a subjective test, in the
sense that it is his knowledge,
understanding, and appreciation
of the danger which must be
assessed, rather than that of a
reasonably prudent person."

App. p. 30

Once again, obviously in the
case at bar, the knowledge, understanding
and appreciation of the use of the
Anaplaz vaccine by the Plaintiffs
considering their reliance on Defendant
and its product and the - inadequate
warning was such that they could certain-
ly not be considered to have assumed the
risk in any respect as Plaintiff William
Haste stated so emphatically, he would do
nothing that would endanger his herd, and
thus, his livelihood.

In Vernon vs. Lake Motors, 488
P.2d 302 (Utah 1971) the Utah Supreme
Court stated:

ah? Plaintiff knows’ of the
defect and the danger, but
nevertheless ‘deliberately and
unreasonably' goes ahead, he
should be precluded from
recovery."

The interpretation of the words,
"deliberately" and "unreasonably" are
important. Whether the Plaintiffs knew
of the danger was also at issue in this
case.

Judge Winner rejected assumption
of the risk and contributory negligence
on the basis of a failure of evidence and

App. Pp. 3l

not because he did not feel it was a
proper defense in this case. [App. p.45
and 46]. Therefore the lengthy argument
and case cites by Defendant to the effect
that contributory negligence and assump-
tion of risk are proper defenses in cases
of this nature is not rebutted either by
the trial Courts ruling or this brief.

VIII. Limitation of Implied
Warranty

The uniform commercial code as
enacted in Wyoming indicates that for
implied warranties to be excluded the
exclusion must be in writing and
conspicuous. The proper language being
"There are no warranties which extend
beyond the description on the face
hereof." W.S. §34-2-316.

The warranties in this case were
written in the brochures and literature
of the Defendant as indicated in previous
sections of this brief. The container
itself contained no modifying language
but only a referral to enclosures.

The reason for requiring the
product to have cautionary statements and
warnings printed on the container is to
insure that sales contracts are fully

App. p. 32

informed. To give a disclaimer after the
sale has occured will not protect the
seller from his written warranties given
in advertising prior to the sale.

IX. Unusual Susceptibility

The Defendant asserts that since
the Hastes were experienced breeders of
Santa Gertrudis cattle and the warning
contained in the package of vaccine
notified them that N.I. occured in
another cross-breed, Charolais, in 75% of
the reporved cases, that they assumed the
risk of vaccinating their Santa Gertrudis
cattle (another cross-breed). Surely if
the Hastes should be held to foresee the
danger to their cattle, then the particu-
lar susceptibility of their cattle was
not unforeseeable to the manufacturer of
the product with the weight of scientific
development and experimentation behind
it.

There was no testimony presented
that the risk of N.I. was not known to
the Defendant. Indeed, Dr. Searl's test-
imony and all the literature presented as
well as the package insert indicates that
it was known to the Defendant that cer-

tain cases of N.I. had been reported

App. p. 33

after use of Anaplaz.

The extent of occurrence in the
Haste herd is not the correct gauge for
foreseeability. Which cattle will con-
tract N,.I. at one place is not required
to be foreseeable, only the occurrence
* need be foreseeable, which it
Clearly was.

CONCLUSION
The Defendant appeals the

finding of liability in this’ case
basically on a theory of a failure of
evidence. The record is full of causa-
tion evidence and evidence of warranties
of safety and evidence of reliance by the
Plaintiffs. The trial Courts' liability
decision is amply supported by relevant
testimony and exhibits and should not be
overturned by this Court,

The Damages Judgment should be
increased or remanded as set out in the
Opening brief of Plaintiffs.

App. p. 34

Respectfully submitted,

BADER & DUFTY
Pamela N. Hultin [4646]

BY:

600 Boston Building
828-17th Street
Denver, Colorado 80202
Attorney for Plaintiff

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and
correct copy of the above and foregoing
Reply Brief was served by mailing,
postage prepaid this 15th day of August,
1977, to the following:

Glenn Parker

Hirst and Applegate

200 Boyd Building
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001

App. p. 35

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1702%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
