# Petition — Cunningham v. Virginia

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1697%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 965

## Text

la Supreme Court, U.S ~
FILED

SEP 13 1978

2 | anne CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

NO. 78-424

BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM,
Petitioner

V.

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA

JOHN C. LOWE

CRAIG T. REDINGER
Lowe and Gordon, Ltd.
409 Park Street
Charlottesville
Virginia 22901
(804-296-8188)

FRED R. SURFACE & ASSOC. INC., HERITAGE BUILD: NG, RICHMOND, VA. (804) 643-7789

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS. . . © «© © «© e e e i
TABLE OF CITATIONS. . . « © « «© « » ii
OPINION BELOW. . . . « «© © © «© « « 2
JURISDICBION. . «© © © © © «© o@ « « 2
QUESTION PRESENTED. . .....-e«- 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ..... .- 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI. . 6

1. The importance of
the question. ...... 6

2. The trial court's
action violates this
Court's ruling in

Herring v. Herring. .. . 9
CONCLUS ION . . s * s . iad Ld . e ad * 3 1 3
APPENDIX. * . ad Ld e ° id ° * s . * 14
I. MOTION FOR RETRIAL. . . 14
II. MOTION FOR ACQUITTAL. . 17

III. ORDER DENING THE APPEAL

FROM THE VIRGINIA

SUPREME COURT. ... . 19

IV. PORTION OF THE
TRANSCRIPT. . 1... co « 20

<=

V. NOTICE OF TIMELY APPEAL. 23

PROOF OF SERVICE « s e * ad * . s . ° 25

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Argensinger v. Hamlin, 407
U.S. 25 (1972). . . ° - . .

Gideon v. Wainwright, 372
U,B. 399 {L9OS}. 2 be 6

Herring v. Herring, 422 U.S.
SoS (Aes ele 2 0 6 HF ORs

Lee v. Commonwealth, 200 Va.

233, 105 S.E. 2d 152 (1958). .

OTHER

Sixth Amendment to the United
States Constitution. ...

Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution.

ie

[ii]

PAGE

9,10,11

2,6,10

2,6,10

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No.

BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM,

Petitioner

Vv.
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME
COURT OF VIRGINIA

The Petitioner prays that a Writ
of Certiorari issue to review the Judgment
of the Supreme Court of Virginia entered in

this matter on June 15, 1978.

OPINION BELOW
The Supreme Court of Virginia
entered an order dismissing Cunningham's
Appeal to that Court, finding no reversib e
error in the judgment of the trial court.
This order is set forth in the Appendix,

infra, at 19.

JURISDICTION
Jurisdiction of this matter is
conferred on the Supreme Court of the

United States by virtue of 28 U.S.C. §1257.

QUESTION PRESENTED

1. Whether the trial court

violated Cunningham's Constitutional rights

as guaranteed by the Sixth Amendment of the

Constitution as applied to the states by

the Fourteenth Amendment in deciding his

guilt prior to hearing defense counsel's

closing arguments?

(24

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Beverly G. Cunningham was in-
dicted for breaking and entering and grand
larceny in Lynchburg, Virginia, on October
3, 1977. On October 21, 1977, the Honor-
able O. Raymond Cundiff, sitting without a
jury heard the evidence, which consisted
entirely of accomplice testimony and de-
fendant's alibi witnesses.

At the conclusion of the evid-
ence, and just as the Commonwealth's
Attorney had begun his summation the
trial judge interrupted with the suggestion
that the defendant submit to a polygraph
test. The colloquy between the judge and
Cunningham's defense counsel, Mr. Abbitt,
is found in the Appendix at p. 20 :

Mr. Petty [Commonwealth's

Attorney]: Your Honor,

the only thing... .
tas

The Court: Mr. Abbitt, let me make

a suggestion. If you want to do it request by the court for a polygraph test
I'll continue this case and have

this individual submit to a lie de- established that the court had reasonable
tector test and have it received as

evidence. doubt as a matter of law. Counsel further
Mr. Abbitt: I could not quite hear | argued that the trial judge had interfered

hear you. : .
with Cunningham's right to an impartial

The Court: I said if you want to

I'll continue the case if you want trier-of-fact by requesting polygraph
your client to submit to a lie de-

tector or polygraph test and let evidence which is completely inadmissible
that be received as evidence as to

whether he is guilty of that. under Virginia Law. Lee v. Commonwealth,
Mr. Abbitt: I told him Judge and 200 Va. 233, 105 S.E. 2d 152 (1958). The
he says that he is telling the

truth and he wants to submit to it. court overruled the motion, noting that it
The Court: Well, we will continue had already decided Cunningham's guilt at
it and have the lie detector test an
be set-up and be stipulated by both the time the court made the polygraph

of you and him on a stipulation that

the results will be received as Suggestion. (Appendix at p. 21):

evidence in the case.
The Court: I was convinced

The case was continued until December beyond a reasonable doubt that
he was guilty, but I wanted to
2, 1977. give him an opportunity to have
a polygraph test should he want
On December 2, 1977 Cunningham that and I would consider that
and it could change my mind,
appeared with his present counsel and filed | but I was convinced at the time
: I made the suggestion beyond a
a motion for acquittal and a motion for a | ere doubt that he was
guilty.
mistrial (Appendix at pp. 17, 14). Counsel
Defendant then moved for a

argued in support of the motion that the

[4]

mistrail which was also overuled. The

[5 ]

court then permitted defendant's counsel to
argue the case whereupon Cunningham was
found guilty on both counts and, on December
19, 1977, sentenced to twelve months in

jail on each count.

Timely Notice of Appeal was filed

(Appendix at p. 23).

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

1. The importance of the ques-

tion.

One of the most fundamental
principles of our system of criminal
justice is the accused's right to the
assistance of counsel. The Sixth Amendment
to the Constitution as applied against the
States by the Fourteenth Amendment promul-

gates and solemnifies this basic require-

ment. Gideon v. Wainright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963);

Argensinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25 (1972).

criminal defendant is entitled to have his

[6]

case heard by an unbiased trier-of-fact and
to have the assistance of competent counsel
during that presentation.

The events in the case at bar
pose a clear threat to the continued vi-
tality of this fundamental constitutional
principle. Cunningham was convicted upon
the testimony of alleged accomplices and he
offered alibi witnesses on his own behalf.
The importance of defense counsel's agru-
ment is paramount in such a case where the
issues are not technical legal ones, but
the basic credibility of the witnesses.
Such a case provides defense counsel with
the paradigm opportunity to exercise those
skills unique to the closing argument. His
ability to focus on specific characteristics
of the witnesses presentation and to per-
suade the judge of their importance in
support of his client's position ought not

to be infringed.
[7]

The effective assistance of
counsel requires that counsel be given the
opportunity to argue the case in the best
light for his client before the trier-of-
fact makes a decision, to point out infer-
ences to be drawn from the evidence which
might not appear at first hearing, to point
out particular portions of the evidence
which may not have impressed the trier-of-
fact and to argue the consequences of the
facts in light of the prevailing law. To
allow a trier-of-fact to find a defendant
guilty before final argument by counsel
destroys counsel's most effective defense
tool, the ability to persuade. Clearly,
the elimination of that opportunity by the
judge's premature decision impermissibly
restricts the function of defense counsel
and denies the defendant his constitutional
protections.

[ 8 ]

2. The trial court's action

violates this Court's ruling in Herring v.

New York.

In 1975, this Court decided

Herring v. New York, 422 U.S. 853 and

examined at great length the right of a
defendant to assistance of counsel. The
only difference between the case at bar and
Herring is that in Herring this Court
construed a New York State statute which
granted the trial court discretion to
permit the parties to deliver summations.
However, there is no fundamental difference
between the denial of the constitutionally
mandated privilege in Herring and the
denial which took place in the case at bar
by judicial fiat. In both instances,
the accused's right to counsel was uncon-
stitutionally violated.

The ruling in Herring was based

upon the constitutional requirements of

eg

the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments.
Though in Cunningham's case, there was no
statute under which the judge acted, the

judges' actions in both the case at bar and

in Herring are analogous. They both denied

the defendants their right to counsel.
This Court in Herring found the
fundamental right to a closing summary of

the evidence inherent in the English

criminal system.

'In the Sixteenth and Seven-
teenth Centuries when notions
of compulsory process, con-
frontation and counsel were
in their infancy, the essence
of the English criminal trial
was argument between the
defendant and counsel for

the 'crown.'

Herring v. New York supra., at 360. The

American system has adopted that rule,
which prevails by the great weight of
authority in both federal and state juris-
dictions. This Court recognized the

[ 10 ]

pervasiveness and constitutional dimensions
of the rule, stating,

- « «(T]he overwhelming
weight of authority in both
federal and state courts
holds that a total denial
of the opportunity for
final argument in a non-
jury criminal trial is a
denial of the basic right
of the accused to make his
defense.

Herring v. New York, supra., at 859.

Defendant Cunningham was not denied the
Opportunity for closing argument by a
judge's action pursuant to a statute as in
Herring. However, there is no substantive
distinction between this case and that of
the defendant in Herring. This Court's
opinion in Herring was directed at the
denial of effective assistance of counsel,
a denial which is just as inimical and
equally violative of the Constitution

whether pursuant to statute or to judicial

fiat. The judge's decision as to Cunningham's

[ 11 ]

guilt prior to agrument totally foreclosed
the defendant's right to closing argument
just as if a statute had prevented it.

There is clearly a basic constit-
utional right to closing argument by de-
fense counsel. This right cannot be
abrogated by statute nor denied by judicial
intereference. The trial court precluded
Cunningham from exercising this fundamental
right, for which action Cunningham's

conviction should be reversed.

t 22:4

CONCLUSION
For the reasons set forth

above, a Writ of Certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM

John
Craig T. Redinger

Lowe and Gordon, Ltd.

409 Park Street
Charlottesville, Virginia 22901
(804 296-8188)

September 1l, 1978

[ 13 ]

APPENDIX
be MOTION FOR A MISTRIAL
VIRGINIA
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
OF THE
CITY OF LYNCHBURG
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,
Plaintiff
V.
BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM,
Defendant

MOTION FOR A MISTRIAL,
NEW TRIAL AND RECUSAL

Comes now the defendant, Beverly
G. Cunningham, by counsel, and represents
unto this Honorable Court as follows:

1. At the trial of this case
on October 21, 1977, before the court with-
out a jury, and before the entry of judg-
ment, this Court requested that defendant

submit to a polygraph test.

[14]

2. Counsel for defendant and the
Commonwealth agreed to have the defendant
submit to such a test and to enter the
resuits in evidence.

3. The request for a polygraph
examination of the defendant in this ac-
tion seeks evidence which is inadmissible
under Virginia law and violates defendant's
rights under the Fifth, the Fourteenth
Amendments to the Constitution of the

United States. Skinner v. Commonwealth,

212 Va. 260 (1971); Barber v. Commonwealth,

206 Va. 241 (1965) and Lee v. Commonwealth,

200 Va. 233 (1959).

4. The request and acquiescence
in that request on the part of the defen-
dant has so tainted the proceedings before
this Court that the defendant can no long-
er be afforded a fair trial.

WHEREFORE, defendant moves this

Court for a mistrial and for the granting

[15]

of a new trial before another judge of
this Circuit.
Respectfully submitted,
BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM
By Counsel
{s/ Craig T. Redinger
John C. Lowe
Lowe and Gordon, Ltd.
409 Park Street is
Charlottesville, Virginia 22901
(804 296-8188)
/s/ Watkins M. Abbitt
Attorney at Law
Appomattox, Virginia 23522
MAILING CERTIFICATE
I hereby certify that on or
before the 2nd day of December , 1977,
I mailed or delivered a true copy of the
foregoing Motion for a Mistrial, New Trial
and Recusal to William Petty, Commonwealth
Attorney, Post Office Box 1360, Lynchburg,
Virginia, 24505.

/s/ Craig T. Redinger

[16]

——

II. MOTION FOR ACQUITTAL
VIRGINIA
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT

OF THE
CITY OF LYNCHBURG

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,

Plaintiff

Vv.
BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM,

Defendant
MOTION FOR JUDGMENT OF ACQUITTAL

Comes now the defendant, Beverly
G. Cunningham, by counsel, and represents
unto this Honorable Court as follows:

1. This court upon hearing ev-
idence at the trial for this case and
upon entering judgment requested that
defendant submit to a polygraph examination.

2. This court's request indi-
cates as a matter of law that the court

has reasonable doubt after hearing all the

[17]

evidence as to defendant's guilt.

3. Therefore, this court should
have acquitted defendant on the day of
trial.

WHEREFORE, defendant requests
this court to enter a judgment of acquit-
tal.

Respectfully submitted,
BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM
By Counsel
/s/ Craig T. Redinger
John C. Lowe
Lowe and Gordon, Ltd.
409 Park Street

Charlottesville, Virginia 22901
(804 296-8188)

/s/ Watkins M. Abbitt
Attorney at Law
Appomattox, Virginia 23522
MAILING CERTIFICATE
I hereby certify that on or before
the 2nd day of December, 1977, I mailed or

delivered a true copy of the foregoing

[18]

Motion for Judgment of Acquittal to William
Petty, Commonwealth Attorney, Post Office

Box 1360, Lynchburg, Virginia 24505.

Craig T. Redinger

III. ORDER DENYING THE APPEAL FROM
THE VIRGINIA SUPREME COURT

VIRGINIA: In the Supreme Court of Virginia

held at the Supreme Court Building in the
City of Richmond on Thursday the 15th day
of June, 1978.

BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM, Appellant,

Record No. 780369
Circuit Court No. 32A

against

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, Appellee.
From the Circuit Court of the
City of Lynchburg
Finding no reversible error in
the judgment complained of, the court
refuses the petition for appeal filed in

the above-styled case.

/s/
[19]

IV.

(T76)

MR.

THE

MR.

THE

MR.

THE

MR.

THE

PORTION OF THE TRANSCRIPT

we had to walk.

ABBITT:

COURT:

PETTY:

COURT:

PETTY:

COURT:

ABBITT:

COURT:

I believe that's all.
That's all. Any other
rebuttal?

No.

Do you gentleman want to
be heard on the matter?

Your Honor, the only
thing---

Mr. Abbitt let me make a
suggestion. If you want
to do it I'll continue
this case and have this
individual submit to a
lie detectors test and
have it received as evi-
dence.

I couldn't quite hear
you.

I said if you want to

I'll continue the case

if you want your client

to submit to a lie detect-
ors or polygraph test and
let that be received as

evidence as to whether he's

guilty of that.

[20]

MR. ABBITT:

THE COURT:

I told him Judge and he
says he's telling the
truth and he wants to
Submit to it.

Well we'll continue it

and have the lie detector
test be set up and be stip-
ulated by both of you and
him on a stipulation that
that the results be re-
ceived as evidence in the
coors Come back November

5.

(Transcript of motions pg. 4]

THE COURT:

MR. REDINGER:

THE COURT:

MR. REDINGER:

THE COURT:

it and---

I was convinced beyond a
reasonable doubt that he
was guilty, but I wanted
to give him an opportunity
to have a polygraph test
should he want that I
would consider that and it
would change my mind, but
I was convined at the time
I made the suggestion be-
yond a reasonable that he
was guilty.

Do I take it then that--
I'll deny your motion.
You deny the motion?

Yes sir.

[21]

MR. REDINGER: We have a second
motion Your Honor.

THE COURT: All right.

MR. REDINGER: The court has the
second motion.

THE COURT: All right, let me see.

MR. REDINGER: And that Your Honor is
that the polygraph evi-
dence is inadmissible
as a matter of law in
Virginia; that no cases
in Virginia have allowed
even a stipulation
between counsel that a
polygraph would be ad-
missible, therefore the
defendant would be
entitled to a mis-trial
or a new trial.

[22]

V. NOTICE OF TIMELY APPEAL
VIRGINIA
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT

OF THE
CITY OF LYNCHBURG

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,
Plaintiff

Vv.

BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM,

Defendant

NOTICE OF APPEAL

Comes now the defendant, Beverly
G. Cunningham, by Counsel, pursuant to
Rule 5:6 of the Supreme Court of Virginia,
and notes his appeal from the judgment of
court entered this 19th day of Decmeber,
1977. A transcript will be filed with this
court pursuant to Rule 5:9 to become part
of the record in accordance with Rule 5:8.

BEVERLY G. CUNNINGHAM

By Counsel

[23]

/s/ Craig T. Redinger
John C. Lowe
Lowe and Gordon, Ltd.
409 Park Street
Charlottesville, Virginia 22901
(804 296-8188)

/s/ Watkins M. Abbitt
Attorney at Law
Appomattox, Virginia 24522
MAILING CERTIFICATE
I hereby certify that a true
copy of the foregoing Notice of Appeal was
mailed this 28 day of December, 1977, to

William Petty, Commonwealth's Attorney,

P. O. Box 1360, Lynchburg, Virginia 24505.

Craig T. Redinger

[24]:

i OTE TOIT

PROOF OF SERVICE

I, John C. Lowe, a member of
the Bar of this Court, do hereby certify
that on or before September 13, 1978, I
mailed, postage prepaid, three copies of
this Petition for Writ of Certiorari to
William Petty, Commonwealth's Attorney,

P. O. Box 1360, Lynchburg, Virginia 24505.

nC. Lowe

[25]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1697%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
