# Opposition — Pierorazio v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1597%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 981

## Text

re Supreme Court, U. &

FILED
No. 78-324 NOV 1 1978

.

MIGHAEL RGDAK, JR., CLERK

Iu the Supreuve Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1978

FRANK PIERORAZIO and JESSE CAPPS, PETITIONERS
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. MCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JEROME M. FEIT
WILLIAM C. BROWN
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

Page
I igi crete Sic cat ccsigscginaimenictmnntani 1
Pe ar ee ae 1
Questions presented 2
IT AES Sc ee a 3
Be at ERC en i SRE Aes sae ee 4
EEL RARER Ie CR NEC ee Te cm 15
CITATIONS
Cases:
Berenyi v. Immigration Director, 385 U.S.
Es of CAE LS Sits EEE! a Se 6
Berlin v. United States, No. 77-548 cert.
Gen Geese eee 11,12
Calhoun v. State, 34 Md. App. 365, 367
p< | jac PERE F Ce ANOS AL EnT Se Se rad 11
Franks v. Delaware, No. 77-5176 (June
26, 1978) _...... AeA eCei Pay ASE Ot rin NE 9
Frazier v. Cupp, 394 U.S. 781 _. 14, 15
Graver Mfg. Co. v. Linde Co., 336 U.S.
Es eral atala, 6
Mares v. United States, 409 F.2d 1083,
cert. denied, 394 U.S. 963 _.._. LUE an ae 14
Stone v. United States, No. 77-690, cert.
denied, 434 U.S. 1064 11, 12

United States v. Canon, 404 F. Supp. 841. 13
United States v. Cooper, 567 F.2d 252... 6
United States v. Gigante, 538 F.2d 502 _ 13
United States v. Kalustian, 529 F.2d 585. 11, 12
United States v. Kirk, 534 F.2d 1262, cert.
denied, 430 U.S. 906

II

Cases—Continued

United States v. Landmesser, 553 F.2d
} | TEST
United States v. Leftwich, 461 F.2d 586,
cert. denied, 409 U.S. 915 .
United States v. Losing, 560 F.2d 906,
cert. denied, 434 U.S. 969 . ni
United States v. McCoy, 478 F. 2d 176. oa
United States v. Mitchell, 556 F.2d 371 ~
United States v. Quesada, 512 F.2d 1043,
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 946
United States v. Rodriguez, 546 F.2d 302.
United States v. Sisca, 503 F.2d 1337,
cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1008 . e
United States v. Sklaroff, 506 F.2d 837,
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 874
United States v. Spagnuolo, 549 F. 2d 705.
United States v. Steinberg, 525 F.2d 1126,
cert. denied, 425 U.S. 971 -
United States v. Ventresca, 380 U. S. 102.
Wisniewski v. United States, 353 U.S.
TO sisansipsnssnndnninninssisciiacegee aiden

Statutes:

70 Stat. 573 -
18 U.S.C. (1964 ed.) 1403(a) .

18 U.S.C. $638(1) (2). ae
18 U.S.C. 2518(3)(c)
18 U.S.C. 2618(8) (a)
1 USO OG) eee

21 U.S.C. 846

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-324

FRANK PIERORAZIO and JESSE CAPPS, PETITIONERS
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-
A9) is reported at 578 F.2d 48.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on May 31, 1978 (Pet. App. A10-A11). A petition
for rehearing was denied on June 27, 1978 (Pet.
App. A16-A17). Mr. Justice Brennan extended the

(1)

2

time for filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to
and including August 26, 1978, and the petition was
filed on August 25, 1978. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the evidence was sufficient to support
petitioners’ conspiracy convictions.

2. Whether 21 U.S.C. 843(b) applies to the use of
a telephone to facilitate an attempt or a conspiracy
to distribute controlled substances.

3. Whether the affidavit in support of the appli-
cation for an order authorizing a wire interception
was insufficient because it incorporated by reference
a prior affidavit of another government agent involved
in the investigation.

4. Whether the application for the order authoriz-
ing the wire interception sufficiently established that
other investigative methods were inadequate or un-
likely to succeed.

5. Whether the tapes of the monitored conversa-
tions should have been excluded on grounds of failure
of the government to present them for immediate
sealing as required by 18 U.S.C. 2518(8) (a).

6. Whether the prosecutor’s reference in his open-
ing statement to the anticipated testimony of a wit-
ness who later refused to testify requires reversal of
petitioners’ convictions.

3
STATEMENT

Following a second jury trial* in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsyl-
vania, both petitioners were convicted of conspiring
to distribute a controlled substance, methampheta-
mine, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 846. In addition,
petitioner Pierorazio was convicted on two counts of
using a communication facility (a telephone) to fa-
cilitate the distribution and attempted distribution
of controlled substances, in violation of 21 U.S.C.
843(b). On the conspiracy count, petitioner Pierora-
zio was sentenced to three and one-half years’ im-
prisonment to be followed by two years’ special pa-
role, and petitioner Capps was sentenced to two years’
imprisonment and two years’ special parole. On the
two Section 843(b) counts, Pierorazio received sen-
tences of three and one-half years’ imprisonment,
both to be served concurrently with his sentence on
the conspiracy count. The court of appeals affirmed
(Pet. App. Al-A9).

On June 1, 1976, based upon a finding that prob-
able cause existed to believe that petitioner Pierorazio
was using a telephone at 31 East Wildey Street in
Philadelphia in conspiring to distribute methampheta-
mine, the district court authorized agents of the Drug
Enforcement Administration (DEA) to monitor con-
versations on that telephone (A. 1la-12a).* It was

1 The jury could not reach a verdict after the first trial (Pet.
App. A2).

2“A ” refers to the appendix filed by petitioners in the court
of appeals. We are lodging a copy of this appendix with the
Clerk of this Court.

4

soon discovered that through the use of a switching
service provided by the telephone company thgé great
majority of the calls coming into the East Wildey
Street telephone were being diverted to Pierorazio’s
home telephone on Tulip Street in Philadelphia (A.
82a-83a). Once transferred, these conversations could
not be monitored by the agents conducting the inter-
ception of the East Wildey Street telephone (7bid.).
Consequently, a second interception authorization was
obtained to permit the monitoring of the telephone at
Pierorazio’s residence (A. 65a-68a).

In these conversations, which were generally con-
ducted in the guarded idiom of the drug trade,* Pier-
orazio and Capps discussed their methamphetamine
distribution operation, and Pierorazio made numerous
arrangements to buy, sell, and trade methampheta-
mine (A. 967a-1023a).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioners contend that the evidence was insuf-
ficient to establish that the object of their conspiracy
was to distribute methamphetamine, as charged in
the indictment, rather than some other substance
(Pet. 15-17).

’The government presented the expert testimony of DEA
Special Agent Ellis M. Hershowitz to explain to the jury the
meaning of some of the drug terminology used in the conver-
sations.

5

This contention is without merit. Although no
methamphetamine was seized from petitioners during
the course of the conspiracy, it is settled that a drug
distribution conspiracy may be proved even though
the government has not actually seized the drugs in-
volved. United States v. Quesada, 512 F.2d 1043
(5th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 946 (1975). In-
deed, a conspiracy may exist even if the participants
do not succeed in their goal to obtain and distribute
controlled substances. See United States v. Mitchell,
556 F.2d 371 (6th Cir. 1977).

Petitioners’ monitored conversations introduced at
trial contained ample proof that they were engaged
in the distribution of methamphetamine, rather than
any other controlled substance. In the conversations,
the quantity of the drug to be delivered is frequently
referred to in terms of “lines” or “T’s”, and while
the term “line” is used in connection with either
methamphetamine or cocaine, the evidence established
that the term “T” (originally meaning a level tea-
spoon) is normally used to refer to methamphetamine
alone (Tr. 322-323, 387, 450).* Moreover, the
government expert testified that the term “meth”
(used by a customer in referring to Pierorazio’s
product) is never used to refer to anything but meth-

*The fact that the substance involved was methampheta-
mine, rather than cocaine, is also shown by a conversation
in which Pierorazio and his caller contrasted “Big C’’, or
cocaine, which was readily available around town with “the
regular stuff” that Pierorazio could not then provide (Tr. 333;
A. 975a-976a).

6

amphetamine (Tr. 403-404; A. 1006a). Accordingly,
the court of appeals properly rejected petitioners’
claim of insufficiency in the evidence (Pet. App. A8).
This factual determination does not merit further
review. See Berenyi v. Immigration Director, 385
U.S. 630, 635 (1967); Graver Mfg. Co. v. Linde Co.,
336 U.S. 271, 275 (1949).°

2. Pierorazio also asserts that his convictions on
two counts of violating 21 U.S.C. 843(b)—which
proscribes the use of a communications facility (here,
a telephone) in facilitating the commission of certain
narcotics felonies—must be reversed because the evi-
dence was insufficient to show that the specific distri-
butions discussed over the telephone were in fact
consummated (Pet. 12-15).° We do not agree that
the evidence is insufficient to show that the operation
involved the actual distribution of methamphetamine,
and the court of appeals did not so hold (Pet. App.
A3).

° Petitioners’ claim (Pet. 16-17) that the decision below
conflicts with United States v. Cooper, 567 F.2d 252 (3d Cir.
1977), is incorrect. Cooper involves the application of the rule
that once a conspiracy has been shown to exist, only slight
evidence of a defendant’s participation may suffice to establish
his complicity in the conspiracy beyond a reasonable doubt.
Petitioners suggest only that the commodity they were dis-
tributing was not proven; they do not deny that their partici-
pation in the scheme was sufficiently established by the inter-
cepted calls revealing their central position in the conspiracy.
Consequently, this case does not involve the “slight evidence”
rule.

* The sentences on these convictions were concurrent with
the sentence on the conspiracy count, which is unaffected by
this claim.

7

The contention is, in any event, without merit.
Section 843(b) prohibits the use of the telephone in
facilitating inchoate crimes like attempts and conspir-
acies as well as consummated offenses. It is not sig-
nificant that 18 U.S.C. (1964 ed.) 1403(a) (70 Stat.
573), the predecessor of Section 843(b), referred
specifically to attempts and conspiracies, while Sec-
tion 843(b) does not. As the court below explained
(Pet. App. A6-A7; emphasis in original; footnotes
omitted) :

Section 843(b) makes criminal the use of a
telephone “in committing, or in causing or facili-
tating the commission of any act or acts consti-
tuting a felony under any provision of this sub-
chapter [subchapter I] or subchapter II of this
chapter [Chapter 13 of Title 21].” Included
within subchapter I is § 846, which makes it a
felony for a person to attempt or conspire to
commit any offense defined in subchapter I (such
as distribution or possession with intent to dis-
tribute, defined as offenses in § 841). In other
words, attempt to distribute a controlled sub-
stance, conspiracy to distribute a controlled sub-
stance, attempt to possess a controlled substance
with intent to distribute it, and conspiracy to
possess a controlled substance with intent to dis-
tribute it, are all felonies under provisions of
subchapter I. As such, they are plainly included
within the terms of § 843(b). We can discern
nothing in the legisiative history, nor has any
policy been advanced, which would call for a
different result. Hence, the fact that particular
language found in former § 1403(a) was there-

8

after omitted from § 843(b) does not persuade
us that Congress intended to preclude a § 843
(b) facilitation conviction where the underlying
felony is attempt or conspiracy under § 846.

This interpretation of Section 843(b) is in accord
with the analysis of all other courts of appeals that
have considered this question. See United States v.
Losing, 560 F.2d 906, 913 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 434
U.S. 969 (1977); United States v. Rodriguez, 546
F.2d 302, 307-308 (9th Cir. 1976); United States v.
Steinberg, 525 F.2d 1126, 1133 (2d Cir. 1975), cert.
denied, 425 U.S. 971 (1976); see also United States
v. Kirk, 534 F.2d 1262 (8th Cir. 1976), cert. denied,
430 U.S. 906 (1977) ; United States v. Sisca, 503 F.2d
1337 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1008 (1974).’

3. Petitioners argue that their monitored conver-
sations should have been suppressed because an affi-
davit in support of a wire interception application
may not incorporate by reference a prior affidavit by
another law enforcement officer, and, absent recourse
to this earlier affidavit, the application for the second
interception order in this case failed to set forth facts
establishing probable cause (Pet. 17-19).

It is well established that “[o]bservations of fellow
officers of the Government engaged in a common in-
vestigation are plainly a reliable basis for a warrant
applied for by one of their number.” United States
v. Ventresca, 380 U.S. 102, 111 (1965). Accordingly,

7 As petitioners note (Pet. 14), the court of appeals in this
case rejected the contrary conclusions of two district courts in
its own circuit (Pet. App. A5-A6). That rejection does not
establish a conflict warranting review by this Court.

-_—>=-~-

9

it was perfectly proper for Agent Fekete of the DEA,
the affiant supporting the application for the intercep-
tion at Pierorazio’s residence, to rely on the informa-
tion provided by a fellow agent in the affidavit filed
in support of the prior East Wildey Street intercep-
tion. See United States v. McCoy, 478 F.2d 176
(10th Cir. 1973). The fact that Agent Fekete, in
addition to summarizing new evidence obtained in the
investigation, simply incorporated by reference the
prior affidavit rather than setting out its entire con-
tent afresh, is immaterial. See United States v. Land-
messer, 553 F.2d 17, 21 (6th Cir. 1977).*

8 Petitioners also suggest (Pet. 17-18) that the second affi-
davit contained material misrepresentations. Agent Fekete did
state at the suppression hearing that a subsequent review of
the tapes of the original intercept led him to alter his analysis
of the two conversations described in the affidavit to some
extent (Tr. 140-145, 147-148; A. 221a-226a, 228a-229a). It is
not clear that this re-evaluation would deprive the conversa-
tions of the significance attributed to them in the affidavit.
Compare Tr. 27-28, A. 183a-184a and Tr. 144, A. 225a with Tr.
148-149, A. 229a-230a (the first conversation); compare Tr.
162, A. 243a with Tr. 152-153, A. 233a-234a (the second con-
versation). In any event, the entirely accurate statement in
the affidavit that the call- on the originally intercepted tele-
phone were being automatically transferred to the telephone
for which interception authority was sought was sufficient,
with the original affidavit that was incorporated by reference,
to constitute probable cause for the issuance of the second
authorization. The two additional calls reported were thus not
necessary to the sufficiency of the affidavit. There is no indi-
cation that the inaccuracies in the affidavit were the result of
deliberate falsehood or a reckless disregard for the truth.
Accordingly, under Franks v. Delaware, No. 77-5176 (June 26,
1978), petitioners were not even entitled to a hearing on their
claim that the warrant contained misrepresentations. They

10

4, Petitioners next contend that the applications
for electronic surveillance did not satisfy the require-
ments of 18 U.S.C. 2518(1)(¢c) because they did not
explain whether “other investigative procedures have
been tried and failed or why they reasonably appear
to be unlikely to succeed if tried or to be too dan-
gerous.”

The record refutes this claim. The affidavits reveal
a history of physical surveillance of Pierorazio and
his associates, utilization of a number of informants,
and analysis of telephone toll records. While these
conventional methods had succeeded in disclosing that
Pierorazio and others were dealing in controlled sub-
stances, they had failed to reveal the entire scope of
the conspiracy or produce sufficient evidence for a
successful prosecution. The affidavits pointed out why
these methods were unsuccessful: The confidential
informants and witnesses described in the affidavit
had refused to testify in court (A. 41a); infiltration
by undercover agents was not possible because Piero-
razio dealt only with close associates (ibid.); and
the execution of search warrants would not identify
Pierorazio’s co-conspirators or sources of supply
(ibid.). The affidavits further informed the court
that the conspirators were alert to the possibility of
surveillance (citing at least one instance of overt
counter-surveillance activity (A. 84a)), and pointed
out that, in any event, continued visual surveillance
would not disclose direct evidence of the drug deal-

nevertheless were permitted to explore this matter fuliy at the
hearing on the motion to suppress, and the district court con-
cluded that their attack on the affidavit was without merit.

ll

ings conducted inside the premises (A. 41a, 84a-
85a).°

Petitioners assert (Pet. 20-22) that the circuits
have adopted different standards for determining
compliance with 18 U.S.C. 2518(1)(c). Whether or
not this is true at the present time, the affidavits in-
volved here, which contain detailed factual allegations
concerning the alternative techniques attempted and
why they were unsuccessful in this particular case,
are clearly sufficient to meet the most stringent in-
terpretation of Section 2518(1)(c). Accordingly,
even assuming there is some difference in the stand-
ards used, this case does not directly present that
issue.”

* Relying on Calhoun v. State, 34 Md. App. 365, 367 A.2d 40
(Ct. Spec. App. 1977), petitioners also make the argument that
because a prior affidavit was incorporated by reference, the
government did not meet the statutory requirement of Section
2518(3) (c). In Calhoun, however, the court simply held that
where the new affidavit did not even allege that normal investi-
gation means would be ineffective, the statutory requirement
was not met by the incorporation in it of a prior affidavit mak-
ing that allegation as to a different interception at a different
time. That defect is not present here. Agent Fekete’s affidavit
not only contained the required allegation, but it also contained
additional facts showing the necessity for the interception
(A. 8la-85a). The prior affidavit was properly incorporated
to show additional facts supporting Fekete’s allegations.

7° As we have frequently noted in our filings in this Court
(see, e.g., Berlin v. United States, No. 77-548, cert. denied,
434 U.S. 1012 (1978); Stone v. United States, No. 77-690,
cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1064 (1978)), the Ninth Circuit in
United States v. Kalustian, 529 F.2d 585 (1975), appeared to
require more specificity in supporting affidavits than has been
required by other circuits. But Kalustian has not been accepted

12

5. Petitioners also contend (Pet. 22-25) that their
monitored conversations should have been suppressed
because the government failed to make the recordings
available for judicial sealing “‘[i]mmediately upon the
expiration of the * * * order” as required by 18 U.S.C.
2518(8) (a). ;

There was, however, no delay in sealing the tapes
at issue here.** The interception of Pierorazio’s tele-
phone concluded at 8:00 p.m. on Friday, July 2, 1976
(A. 98a). Immediately following the three-day holi-
day weekend, the tapes were evidently prepared for
judicial sealing on July 6, and the district judge
sealed them on July 7 (A. 108a). Thus, only one
work day, and less than five days in all, intervened
between the expiration of the interception order and
the sealing of the tapes.** This was substantial com-

by any other circuit, or even consistently followed in the
Ninth Circuit. In United States v. Spagnuolo, 549 F.2d 705
(9th Cir. 1977) that circuit retreated somewhat from the
Kalustian standard, and it is not clear that the Ninth Circuit
will continue occasionally to apply a more stringent stand-
ard than is utilized by the other circuits. In any event, this
Court has declined numerous requests to review decisions
alleged to be in conflict with Kalustian. See, e.g., Berlin v.
United States, supra; Stone v. United States, supra, and cases
cited in our oppositions therein. Nothing has happened recently
to justify any change in this refusal to review what is, at
heart, an intra-circuit conflict of little continuing importance.
Cf. Wisniewski v. United States, 353 U.S. 901 (1957).

11 No tapes made pursuant to the original authorization were
presented at trial; therefore, there is no need to consider
whether those tapes were promptly sealed.

2 The district court, in denying petitioners’ suppression
motion, specifically ruled that “there is insufficient evidence
to warrant a finding that the integrity of the tapes of the inter-

13

pliance with Section 2518(8)(a). United States v.
Sklaroff, 506 F.2d 837, 840-841 (5th Cir.). cert. de-
nied, 423 U.S. 874 (1975) (14-day delay in sealing
constitutes substantial compliance) ; United States v.
Canon, 404 F. Supp. 841, 849 (N.D. Ala. 1975)
(seven-day delay in sealing constitutes substantial
compliance).

6. Petitioners’ final contention is that their con-
victions should be reversed because the prosecutor, in
his opening statement, adverted to the testimony of
a potential witness who he could not reasonably have
expected to testify at trial (Pet. 26-29).

During his opening statement the prosecutor stated
(Tr. 16):

And it’s also the Government’s expectation
that you will hear at least one of the participants
in the telephone calls, other than Mr. Capps and
Mr. Pierorazio, a person by the name of Rose-
marie Schulz, testify as to her involvement in a
particular telephone call with the defendant
Frank Pierorazio.

Even though she was granted immunity, however,

cepted communications which the government seeks to have
admitted has been violated or that the tapes have in any man-
ner been tampered with or altered” (A. 158a). During the in-
terval between the expiration of the intercept and judicial
sealing, the tapes were carefully protected. They were initialed
and heat sealed in evidence bags when removed from the re-
corder, then kept in a locked cabinet in Agent Fekete’s office to
which no other agent had access (A. 651a-657a).

'In United States v. Gigante, 538 F.2d 502 (2d Cir.
1976), upon which petitioners rely, the court properly sup-
pressed tapes where sealing delays ranged from 8 to 13
months.

14

Schulz refused to testify.“ For this conduct she was
held in contempt and jailed by the trial judge (Tr.
246-252).

Petitioners’ argument that the prosecutor could not
reasonably have expected Schulz to testify is refuted
by the record. Schulz herself had pleaded guilty to
distributing methamphetamine on May 3, 1976, and,
in conjunction with a plea bargain in that case, had
agreed to testify (and had testified) in a related
probe of police corruption (Tr. 166-182). Indeed, in
a meeting one month prior to trial, Schulz had in-
formed the prosecutor that she would testify if
granted immunity because she “wouldn’t go to jail,
even for one day, for somebody else” (G. Ex. 21;
A. 793a). In light of this information and the grant
of immunity, the prosecutor had every reason to be-
lieve that Schulz would, in fact, testify.

Moreover, it is well established that a new trial
is not required whenever the prosecutor’s opening
remarks are not supported in every detail by evidence
presented at trial. Frazier v. Cupp, 394 U.S. 731
(1969) ; Mares v. United States, 409 F.2d 1083, 1085
(10th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 963 (1969) ;
cf. United States v. Leftwich, 461 F.2d 586, 590 (3d
Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 915 (1972). Many things
may happen during the course of a trial to prevent the
presentation of all the expected evidence by the gov-
ernment. A witness’s contumacious refusal to testify

4 Schulz indicated that she was afraid to testify because of
the possibility that she would suffer physical harm (Tr. 181-
183).

15

is one of those things. But variances between the
opening statement and the evidence actually intro-
duced, like other improprieties of argument, do not
require a new trial unless the discrepancies are
“so gross as probably to prejudice the defendant
and the prejudice has not been neutralized by the
trial judge before submission of the case to the jury.”
United States v. Leftwich, supra, 461 F.2d at 590.
The trial judge here properly instructed the jury that
the case was to be decided on the evidence, which
“does not include arguments or statements of coun-
sel” (Tr. 679-681; see also Tr. 17).” See Frazier v.
Cupp, supra, 394 U.S. at 736. Under these circum-
stances, the courts below properly refused to grant
petitioners a new trial because of the brief reference
by the prosecutor to Schulz’s expected testimony.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectful. submitted.

WADE H. MCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JEROME M. FEIT
WILLIAM C. BROWN
OCTOBER 1978 Attorneys

18 No request was made for a specific instruction to disre-
gard the portion of the opening statement pertaining to
Schulz’s expected appearance.

Wy ov. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE; 1978 276523 171

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1597%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
