# Opposition — French v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1486%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 980

## Text

| & Suprema Court, U,
i FILED
‘| OCT 28 1978

Nos. 78-209 and 78-5204
——_——- Se niiitioperiominens) 3 1 CLERK

In the vas Court of the linited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

LARRY FRENCH, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Guy WARREN PAYNE, PETITIONER
ve

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

WapbeE H. McCreE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILip B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JAMES A. HUNOLT
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

INDEX

Page
ESE Se |
Nee ci rsccscuscssccsessovssesevscocssecnseeseceseesensseess 2
INNO i scccucnescccccnccsssccasccsccccessccacsccccccsccess 2
ee aaeea cusstaubvacnadctsasessececaccsccsccescsccnscosegeccess 2
is aibicibisesscbnciontnadsnevdseacesecscccesescsccccseseseee 4
seco sake tiveCidscosivensearcecsssacccoccesecccees 10
CITATIONS
Cases:
Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484 ....... 4, 5
Lawn v. United States, 355 U.S. 339 .....cceceee YQ
Petite v. United States, 361 U.S. 529 ...........ccceee 8
Rinaldi v. United States, 434 U.S. 22 voce 8
Sherman v. United States, 356 U.S. 369 «0.0.0... 5
United States v. Calandra, 414 U.S. 338 «0.0.00... 9
United States v. Fisher, 518 F. 2d 836
0 EE 9
United States v. Fritz, No. 77-1027
(10th Cir. July 3, 1978) cert. pending,
ESE SCT REST R A 8
United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423. .......... 4,5
United States v. Thompson, (Oct. 10, 1978)
No. 76-1883 (10th Cir. June 15, 1978),
IR A PMID socacssecccsscenscenvecssecssicnse 8

Statutes:
EEE SRI, WIE Ness tdccdivandcocasciasavnsenceaysedbaboeeMeedeanabens 3
ee WM PE oes doc cach nc cubed tasenapbavenaestaataneeborel 2, 3
BO Nc TIENT Gon Veah dines eudechossesticancesaudeienetsusbrvenles Hs

Miscellaneous:

8 Wigmore, Evidence (McNaughton rev.
EINER scar tub cick citabiebsapebandnvas veciukniedabesesensennsiennns 9

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 78-209
LARRY FRENCH, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

No. 78-5204
Guy WARREN PAYNE, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The original opinion of the court of appeals (78-5204 Pet.
App. A) and the opinion of the court of appeals denying the
petitions for rehearing (78-5204 Pet. App. B) are not yet
reported.

(1)

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
March 31, 1978. Petitions for rehearing were denied on July
6, 1978. The petition for a writ of certiorari in No, 78-209
was filed on August 5, 1978. The petition for a writ of
certiorari in No. 78-5204 was filed on August 7, 1978, and ts
therefore out of time under Rule 22(2) of the Rules of this
Court. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether the conduct of government agents in this case
constituted entrapment as a matter of law (No. 78-5204).

2. Whether petitioner Payne was denied the effective
assistance of counsel by the manner in which bench
conferences were conducted (No. 78-5204).

3. Whether the trial court erred in admitting evidence of
petitioner Payne’s prior conviction for possession of
marijuana without requiring the government to produce a
certified copy of the record of that conviction (No. 78-5204).

4. Whether petitioners are entitled to relief on the ground
that they were prosecuted in violation of the Petite policy
(both petitions).

5. Whether the indictment should have been dismissed
because petitioner French’s wife testified before the grand
jury (No. 78-209).

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District Court
for the Western District of Oklahoma, petitioner Payne was
convicted of conspiring to import marijuana, in violation of

21 U.S.C. 963 (Count 1), importing marijuana, in violation
of 21 U.S.C. 952 (Count 2), and conspiring to distribute

marijuana, in violation of 21 U.S.C, 846 (Count 3), He was
sentenced to concurrent terms of four years’ imprisonment
on Counts | and 3 and to a consecutive term of four years’
imprisonment on Count 2.' Payne was also fined $15,000 on
Count |.

After a jury-waived trial in the same court,’ petitioner
French was convicted of conspiring to import marijuana, in
violation of 21 U.S.C. 963 (Count 1), and importing
marijuana, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 952 (Count 2). He was
sentenced to consecutive terms of four years’ imprisonment
on the two counts. The court of appeals affirmed in both
cases (78-5204 Pet. App. A).

The evidence at trial showed that on July 27, 1975, John
Walker, an undercover agent and pilot for the Drug En-
forcement Administration, and Joseph Haas, an inform-
ant and commercial pilot, met with petitioner Payne and
co-conspirator George Boehm in Kenner, Louisiana (Tr.
250, 252). During the meeting, petitioner Payne stated that
he had money to start an operation to import marijuana for
distribution in the United States (Tr. 254-255). Payne asked
Walker and Haas to fly to Mexico to pick up 3,800 pounds
of marijuana (Tr. 255). However, Walker told Payne that
they did not want to get involved in drug operations in
Mexico (ibid.). Petitioner then offered to pay Walker and
Haas $10.00 for each pound of marijuana they delivered to
him from Colombia, and the two pilots agreed (Tr. 256).

‘The sentence was made consecutive to a prior state sentence.

*Petitioners were named as co-defendants in the same indictment.
P&itioner French was granted a mistrial, however, during the joint trial.
Hé then waived his right to a jury trial and stipulated to the evidence
presented at the prior trial.

‘George Boehm was convicted in a separate trial, and the convictién
was affirmed by the court of appeals. A petition for a writ of certio-
rari is pending in that case (No. 78-5203).

On September 29, 1975, Walker, Haas, and petitioner
Payne fiew to Colombia (Tr. 260). Payne carried $42,000 in
his boots (Tr. 261-262), After arriving in Colombia, Payne
contacted petitioner French, and the four met the following
day (Tr. 263-264). Payne gave French the $42,000, and
French said that he would “talk to the Colombians and see if
it could be arranged” (Tr. 266). The next day French took
Walker and Haas to survey a clandestine landing strip (Tr.
281-285). Later French, Walker, and Haas discussed the
details of transporting the marijuana (Tr. 291-293). French
told Walker that he should fly to Colombia on October 11,
1975, to pick up the marijuana and that 10,000 pounds
would be transported (Tr. 292). Walker, Haas, and Payne
subsequently returned to the United States (Tr. 293-294).

Walker rented an airpiane on October 10, 1975, and flew
with Haas to Colombia (Tr. 294-301). Approximately four
tons of marijuana were loaded onto the aircraft, which was
then flown to Chickasha, Oklahoma (Tr. 301-305). Walker
and Haas were met there by petitioners and others, and
the marijuana was loaded into two trucks and taken to
a farm in Arkansas (Tr. 306-308, 586-587).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner Payne contends (78-5204 Pet. 4) that he was
entrapped as a matter of law because government agents
actively participated in the criminal scheme. But the focus of
the entrapment defense is not on governmental conduct, but
is “on the intent or predisposition of the defendant to
commit the crime.” Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S.
484, 488 (1976) (plurality opinion), quoting United States v.
Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 429 (1974). “It is only when the
Government’s deception actually implants the criminal
design in the mind of the defendant that the defense of
entrapment comes into play.” United States v. Russell,
supra, 411 U.S. at 436. Petitioner has not suggested that he

lacked the predisposition to commit the offenses proved at
trial, and the evidence shows clearly that petitioner was not
an “unwary innocent” (ibid., quoting Sherman v. United
States, 356 U.S. 369, 372 (1958)) but was instead
predisposed to engage in such unlawful conduct. Accord-
ingly, the court of appeals correctly concluded (No. 78-
5204 Pet. App. 12) that petitioner was not entitled to the
entrapment defense as a matter of law.*

Nor was the conduct of the government agents “so
outrageous that due process principles would absolutely bar
the government from invoking judicial processes to obtaina
conviction.” United States v. Russell, supra, 411 U.S. at
431-432. The activity of the agents in flying the marijuana
from Colombia to Oklahoma supplied only one element in
the petitioner’s scheme to import and distribute marijuana,
and the participation was solicited and directed entirely by
petitioners. Petitioner Payne has suggested no basis on
which it could be concluded that the agent’s conduct was so
outrageous as to deprive him of due process of law, and the
court of appeals properly rejected this claim (No. 78-5204
Pet. App. 12).

2. Petitioner Payne contends (78-5204 Pet. 4-5) that he
was denied effective assistance of counsel because the
district court allowed only one attorney at a time to attend
bench conferences. Fourteen defense attorneys participated
in the trial, which involved several co-defendants. Although
the record does not disclose any ruling by the trial judge
limiting the number of counsel allowed to approach the

‘Petitioner Payne asserts that there is a conflict among various courts
on the issue whether proof of substantial police involvement alone may
custain the entrapment defense. Each of the cases upon which petitioner
relies, however, was decided prior to Hampton, supra.

6

bench.s a number of bench conferences occurred at which
only one defense counsel was present (e.g., Tr. 369, 979,
1042-1044, 1634). On other occasions, however, two or
more defense counsel conferred at the bench (e.g., Tr. 310-
312, 878, 937-938, 1654-1657). When petitioner Payne's
counsel wished to approach the bench, he did so (Tr. 2288-
2289). The bench conferences routinely involved matters of
significance only to those participating (e.g., Tr. 1232, 1484-
1485, 1634), and the trial judge allowed other counsel to be
presented/upon request (Tr. 1121-1122). Matters of general
importance to all or several defendants were discussed at
conferences held out of the presence of the jury and in the
presence of all counsel (Tr. 296, 346, 440-446, 481, 495-499,
538-541, 666-682, 1416-1443, 1554-1556, 1841-1845, 2290-
2295).

‘

Petitioner Payne points to no instance in which the trial
court's procedures for conducting bench conferences
adversely affected his representation. The district court's
conduct of the trial merely conformed to the necessities of a
large trial involving several defendants. Petitioner Payne’s
attorney was regularly given the opportunity to address the
trial judge out of the jury’s presence, and there is no basis for
any claim that petitioner was denied the effective assistance
of counsel.

3. Petitioner Payne urges (78-5204 Pet. 3, 5) that
the trial court erred in admitting evidence of petitioner's
prior conviction for possession of marijuana without
requiring the prosecutor to produce a certified copy of the
judgment of conviction. At trial, petitioner Payne asserted
an entrapment defense. During cross-examination he
conceded that he had been convicted of possessing 165

‘According to petitioner (78-5204 Pet. 3), a co-defendant moved
to have the transcript expanded to include the ruling, but that
motion was denied.

pounds of marijuana in 1975 (Tr. 1912). Upon redirect
examination, however, Payne testified that he was in fact
innocent of the prior offense and that he had pleaded guilty
to that charge only because his defense witness was
unavailable (Tr. 1913-1914). A narcotics agent testified
during the government's rebuttal that he had observed
Payne commit the prior offense and that he had been
present at the guilty plea proceedings. Contrary to Payne's
testimony, the agent stated that Payne’s purported defense
witness was available to testify if a trial had been held (Tr.
2270-2277).

Petitioner has conceded the fact of the prior conviction,
Since there was no dispute at trial that petitioner previously
had been convicted, there was no reason to produce a
certified record of that conviction. A copy of the judgment
would have revealed no relevant information concerning the
dispute that arose at trial regarding the facts underlying the
conviction. Accordingly, the court properly rejected
petitioner's request that the official record of conviction be
produced at trial.

4. Petitioners claim (78-5204 Pet. 5-7; 78-209 Pet. 18-19)
that they were prosecuted in violation of the Petite policy.
On October 15, 1975, petitioners were arrested by state law
enforcement officers in Arkansas. They were subsequently
convicted in state court of possession of marijuana.
Thereafter, the present federal indictment was returned, and
petitioners were tried and convicted in federal court. The
state and federal convictions both arose from the same
criminal scheme.

The federal prosecution was not authorized in advance
by the Attorney General, or Assistant Attorney General, in
accordance with the Petite policy, adopted by the Depart-
ment of Justice to limit successive federal and state
prosecutions to cases where there are compelling reasons for

the federal prosecution. See Rinaldi v. United States, 434
U.S. 22 (1977); Petite v. United States, 361 U.S. 529 (1960).
However, on December 17, 1977, while petitioners’ appeals
were pending, the federal prosecution was authorized nunc
pro tunc by Attorney General Bell.

Petitioners first raised the claim that the federal
prosecution violated the Petite policy in petitions for
rehearing before the court of appeals. Petitioners contended
that the federal prosecution was barred because it was not
authorized in advance in conformity with normal practice
under the Petite policy. The court of appeals rejected this
claim, relying upon its prior en banc decisions in United
States v. Thompson, No. 76-1883 (June 15, 1978), cert.
denied, No. 78-5087 (Oct. 10, 1978), and United States
v. Fritz, No. 77-1027 (July 3, 1978), petition for a writ of
certiorari pending, No. 78-5192.

The petitioner in Thompson was indicted along with the
petitioners in this case, and the prosecution of petitioners
and Thompsen was authorized nunc pro tunc at the same
time by the Attorney General.® We therefore rely upon our
memorandum in Thompson, in which we submitted that the
administration of the Petite policy represents an exercise of
prosecutorial discretion by the Department of Justice and
creates no judicially enforceable rights in defendants,
that the nunc pro tunc authorization of federal prosecu-
tions complies with the aims of the Petite policy, and that,
in any event, no prejudice results from such authoriza-
tions.’

“Thompson pleaded guilty in federal court to conspiracy to distribute
marijuana after he had been convicted of possession of marijuana in
state court.

"We are sending a copy of our memorandum in Thompson to
petitioners’ counsel.

5. Petitioner French contends (78-209 Pet. 1 1-18) that the
indictment must be dismissed because his wife testified
before the grand jury in violation of the privilege against
adverse spousal testimony.* But the indictment is facially
valid, and “an indictment valid on its face is not subject to
challenge on the ground that the grand jury acted on the
basis of inadequate or incompetent evidence. Costello v.
United States, [350 U.S. 359 (1956)]; Holt v. United States,
218 U.S. 245 (1910) * * *.” United States v. Calandra, 414
U.S. 338, 345 (1974). See Lawn v. United States, 355 U.S.
339, 349-350 (1958). Petitioner's claim that the grand jury
heard incompetent evidence thus provides no basis for
dismissal of the indictment.?

Petitioner argues that the prosecutor acted in bad faith in
calling petitioner’s wife before the grand jury and that
the indictment should therefore be dismissed. In the
government’s response to a pretrial motion filed by
French, however, the prosecutor advised the district
court that (R. 224-225):

[P]rior to the January Session of the Grand Jury,
Assistant United States Attorney Floy Dawson entered
into plea bargain discussions with defendant’s counsel
relative to Barbara French [petitioner’s wife]. It was
agreed that Barbara French would remain as unin-
dicted co-conspirator, in return for her testimony and
co-operation. When asked about the “husband-wife”

‘The privilege against adverse spousal testimony is distinct from the
privilege against disclosure of confidential marital communications.
United States v. Fisher, 518 F. 2d 836, 838 n.2 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 423
U.S. 1033 (1975); 8 Wigmore, Evidence § 2334 (McNaughton rev.
ed. 1961). Petitioner relies only upon the former privilege.

*Petitioner French asserts (78-209 Pet. 4) that his wife was the only
witness to testify before the grand jury. The prosecutor represented to
the district court, however, that in fact numerous other witnesses
testified against petitioner French before the grand jury, and that their
testimony was ample to support the indictment independent of any
testimony by French's wife (R. 335-336).

10

privilege problems that could arise from this situation,
Assistant United States Attorney Dawson was advised
that [petitioner] Larry French was going to plead
guilty, and accordingly, there would be no problems in
this regard.
After the indictment was returned, petitioner French
pleaded not guilty. The negotiations leading to the
appearance of Barbara French before the grand jury,
however, reveal that the claim of prosecutorial misconduct
is unfounded.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCRrEE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHiLip B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JAMES A. HUNOLT
Attorney
OCTOBER 1978

DOJ-1978-10

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1486%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
