# Petitioners Reply Brief — Jones v. Wolf

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1371%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 891

## Text

FOR ARGUMBNE

Supreme Court, U. 8.
FILED

JAN 4 1979

| 7
IN THE MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1978

No. 78-91

R. W. JONES, SR., et al.,

Petitioners,
v.

CHARLES T. WOLF, et al.,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

E. BARRETT PRETTYMAN, JR.
ALLEN R. SNYDER
WALTER A. SMITH, JR.
CAROL ANNE MUTTER
815 Connecticut Avenue,
N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006
JOHN B. HARRIS, JR.
T. REESE WATKINS
1200 Georgia Power Building
Macon, Georgia 31201
H. T. O’NEAL, JR.

1001 American Federal
Building
Macon, Georgia 31201

Attorneys for Petitioners

.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1. Determination of the Identity of the True
Congregation of VPC Is Necessary in
Order To Resolve This Dispute

2. The Watson-Serbian Deference Rule Is
Constitutionally Required..........................

8. PCUS Is a Hierarchical Church, and Thus
— Watson - Serbian Rule Is Applicable
F ̃ ᷣ̃ cc

5„5⁵*ůR5˙„ũß „45

1

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Adickes v. Adkins, 264 S.C. 394, 215 S.E.2d
442, cert. denied, 423 U.S. 913 (1975)............

Gonzales v. Archbishop, 280 U.S. 1 (19299

Kedroff v. Saint Nicholas Cathedral, 344 U.S.
D acc vastiuhdasNshanvaideseeieon

Maryland and Virginia Eldership of the
Churches of God v. Church of God at Sharp-
sburg, 249 Md. 650, 241 A.2d 691 (1968),
vacated and remanded, 393 U.S. 528, rea/-
firmed, 254 Md. 162, 254 A.2d 162 (1969),
appeal dismissed, 396 U.S. 367 (1970) ..........

Mills v. Baldwin, 362 So, 2d 2 (Fla. 1978)

Mills v. Baldwin, Civ. Action No. 73-100
r ci csnadntcicrnenictads dooxenssocsorsoecee

Presbyterian Church in the United States v.
Mary Elizabeth Blue Hull Memorial Pres-
byterian Church, 398 U.S. 440 (1968)

Presbytery of the Covenant v. First Presby-
terian Church, 552 S.W.2d 865 (Tex. Civ.
App. 1977) Nee ee ee eee ee vans

Serbian Eastern Orthodox Diocese v. Milivoje-
vich, 426 U.S. 696 (1976)))));ßꝛl

State ex rel. Morrow v. Hill, 51 Ohio St.2d 74,
F Doc csccciactncowarsppotsecdsssees:

Watson v. Jones 90 U.S. (13 Wall.) 679 (1872)

7

9,10

2,3, 4,5
8,9,10

7
|
|
|
|
|

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM 1978

No. 78-91

R. W. JONES, SR., et al.,

Petitioners,
v.

CHARLES T. WOLF, et al.,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

The Brief for Respondents (“Resp. Brief“) re-
veals just how far apart the parties are concerning
the key questions of law in this case. Petitioners
believe that their earlier Brief anticipated and re-
sponded to most of Respondents’ arguments, and we
wish to add only a few short points in reply:

1. Determination of the Identity of the True Congre-

gation of VPC Is Necessary in Order To Resolve
This Dispute.

It is important to note that Respondents
acknowledge that PCUS had authority to determine

2

which of the competing factions constituted the true
congregation of VPC. Resp. Brief at 5 n.9. Respon-
dents assert, however, that “(t]he identity of the
‘true congregation’ has never been an issue in this
case.“ Id., accord, e.g., id. at 14-15.

The plain fact, however, is that—regardless of
the legal rule they selected to resolve this con-
troversy—the courts below were required to deter-
mine who constitutes the congregation of VPC in
order to decide the property questions raised in this
case. As we set forth in detail in our earlier Brief for
the Petitioners (‘“Pet. Brief“), at 7, 16-17, the prop-
erty at issue here is held in trust for the “use, benefit
and behoof” of the congregation of VPC. Both Peti-
tioners and Respondents claim to represent the true
congregation of VPC. Thus, whether the civil courts
defer to the church court determination on this point,
or whether they use some other legal rule to choose
between the two groups, resolution of the conflicting

This case is hardly unusual in presenting a conflict be-
tween two groups each claiming to be the rightful congregation
of a local church. See, e. ., State ex rel. Morrow v. Hill, 51 Ohio St.
2d 74, 364 N.E.2d 1156, 1158 n.2 (1977); Presbytery of the
Covenant v. First Presbyterian Church, 552 S.W.2d 865, 869-872
(Tex. Civ. App. 1977). Indeed, instances inevitably arise in
church disputes where one faction contests the procedure used,
or some other aspect of the decision purportedly putting the
other faction in control of the congregation. Petitioners con-
tend that in a hierarchical church the Watson-Serbian deference
rule means that such issues should be resolved by the appropri-
ate church court. It is unclear how civil courts could deal with
such questions under the so-called “neutral principles/formal
title approach” urged by Respondents—at least absent a full
— in the civil courts on the merits of each such religious

ispute.

Se ee . — — ——— —

— 4

3

property elaims demands a decision as to which group
is in fact the “true congregation” of VPC. :

Indeed, the “formal title“ approach urged by
Respondents leads only to the conclusion that title is
in the local congregation—a proposition never dis-
puted by anyone in this case. The further question of
who properly represents the congregation was a
fundamental element of the issue presented to and
necessarily decided by the lower courts. It cannot be
avoided under any approach to the case.

2. The Watson-Serbian Deference Rule Is

Constitutionally Required.

Petitioners argued in their earlier Brief that
First Amendment principles required the lower
courts to defer to the hierarchical church court deci-
sion on the question of who constitutes the true
congregation of VPC. See Pet. Brief at 11-17.
Respondents argue, however, that the rule set forth
in Watson v. Jones, 80 U.S. (18 Wall.) 679 (1872), and
its progeny, requiring deference to hierarchical
church court decisions, has been “eliminated” in
Georgia, Resp. Brief at 11, and is “not of con-
stitutional dimensions.“ Jd. at 19.3 Respondents’ posi-
tion simply ignores the opinions of this Court to the
contrary.

2Indeed, Respondents themselves note that the VPC
trustees must “take their instructions solely from the local
congregation.” Resp. Brief at 24.

3 Respondents seem to equate the state law implied trust
principle with the constitutional deference rule first referred to
in Watson. See Resp. Brief at 11 & n.15. This is a basic
misconception. The deference rule arises out of the structure
and rulings of the mother church and the local congregation’s
binding itself to abide by that structure and rulings. Whether
or not state law principles call for an implied trust in favor of
the mother church is simply irrelevant to application of the
constitutionally mandated deference rule.

4

While Watson initially was decided without ref-
erence to the First Amendment, this Court subse-
quently held that the Watson rule is of constitutional
dimension. Kedroff v. Saint Nicholas Cathedral, 344
U.S. 94, 115-116 (1952). In Serbian Eastern Orthodox
Diocese v. Milivojevich, 426 U.S. 696, 710-711 (1976),
this Court quoted approvingly the following
language from Watson, and noted that it has “a clear
constitutional ring“:

It is of the essence of these | hierarchical ]
religious unions, and of their right to estab-
lish tribunals for the decision of questions
arising among themselves, that those deci-
sions should be binding in all cases of
ecclesiastical cognizance, subject only to such
appeals as the organism itself provides for.

The Serbian Court went on to state that “the Watson
rule has been held to be mandated by the First
Amendment.” 426 U.S. at 712. Contrary to Respon-
dents’ contention that the Watson deference rule is
not constitutionally required, this Court in Serbian
summarized the First Amendment rule in terms
precisely applicable to the instant case:

[The First and Fourteenth Amendments
permit hierarchical religious organizations
to establish their own rules and regulations
for internal discipline and government, and
to create tribunals for adjudicating disputes —
over these matters. When this choice is
exercised and ecclesiastical tribunals are
created to decide disputes over the govern-
ment and direction of subordinate bodies,
the Constitution requires that civil courts

— ee e

—

5

accept their decision as binding upon them.
[426 U.S. at 724-725]

3. PCUS Is a Hierarchical Church, and Thus the
Watson-Serbian Rule Is Applicable Here.

Perhaps recognizing the weakness of their other
arguments, Respondents seem to contend that no
PCUS church rules call for church control over a
matter such as that decided by the church court here.
Respondents suggest that perhaps PCUS in fact is
not hierarchical after all, at least with regard to this
issue. See Resp. Brief at 27-28. The fundamental
flaw in that argument is that the lower courts made
no such finding,’ nor could they under the circum-
stances here.

It should be noted at the outset that this Court
has held on two separate occasions that PCUS is a
hierarchical church. See Watson, supra, 80 U.S. at
722, 726-729; Hull, supra, 393 U.S. at 441-442. Nu-
merous other courts have reviewed the PCUS Book of
Church Order and come to the same conclusion. See,
e.g., Mills v. Baldwin, 362 So.2d 2, 5, 7 (Fla. 1978);
Mills v. Baldwin, Civ. Action No. 73-100 (Fla. Cir. Ct.
1975), reprinted at Pet. App. 20a, 23a (The Presby-
terian Church U.S. is not congregational in organiza-
tion, but is clearly hierarchical or representative.“);
Adickes v. Adkins, 264 S.C. 394, 215 S.E.2d 442, cert.

4 Watson has also been cited with approval in Presbyterian
Church in the United States v. Mary Elizabeth Blue Hull Me-
morial Presbyterian Church, 393 U.S. 440, 445-447 (1968), and
Gonzales v. Archbishop, 280 U.S. 1, 16 (1929). Only the dictum in
Watson allowing civil courts to inquire into the “arbitrariness”
of church decisions has ever been overruled, or even questioned.

5 It is interesting to note that Respondents suggest what
they believe the lower court findings were, [although not
stated in these terms.” Resp. Brief at 14 n.19.

6

denied, 423 U.S. 918 (1975); Presbytery of the Cov-
enant, supra, 552 S.W.2d at 868, 870.

Indeed, no other finding would be possible. The
Brief for the Presbyterian Church in the United
States as Amicus Curiae in Support of Petitioners
(“PCUS Brief”) sets out in some detail the provisions
of The Book of Church Order and other governing
church rules that clearly give PCUS church courts
jurisdiction over a controversy concerning who con-
stitutes the true congregation of a local church. Id. at
8-15. See also Pet. Brief at 6 n.3. Nothing in
Respondents’ Brief even suggests the inapplicability
of these provisions.

The Book of Church Order emphasizes that a local
congregation, or church session, is “not separate and
independent” from the higher church courts, but
rather is subject to their “review and control.” JA 49-
50. PCUS General Assembly rulings substantially
pre-dating the instant controversy were explicit in
holding that local congregations must use their prop-
erty in accordance with the PCUS Constitution, and
that in case of disputes the church courts retain the
power to decide who is the true congregation entitled
to continued control of church property. PCUS Brief
at 11-12, 14:

The beneficial ownership of the property
of a particular church of the Presbyterian
Church in the United States is in the con-
gregation of such church and title may prop-
erly be held in any form, corporate or other-
wise, consistent with the provisions of civil
law in the jurisdiction in which such proper-
ty is situated. * * * In every instance nothing

7

in the manner of tenure of such property or
the use thereof shall be in violation of the
obligation of such congregation to the body of
the Presbyterian Church in the United States
as established by the Constitution of such
Church. (Emphasis added.)

Disposition of the property of a particu-
lar church rests in the will of the congrega-
tion of that church. The congregation is that
body of persons recognized as members of that
particular church by the respective courts of
the church. (Assembly’s Digest, p. 76)
(Emphasis added.)

It takes more than a name to become a
Presbyterian Church, U.S. It takes more
than to profess the same faith as the Presby-
terian Church, U.S. professes to become a
Presbyterian Church, U.S. It takes a profes-
sion of that faith and subjection to the gov-
ernment of that Church to make a Presby-
terian Church, U.S.

A Presbyterian congregation, with its
officers, pastor, elders and deacons, is a com-
plete organization in itself, but it is not
independent. [preface to the Form of Govern-
ment, IH, 1, 5.] It is a part of an extended
whole, living under the same ecclesiastical
constitution, and therefore subject to the
inspection and control of the Presbytery,
whose business is to see that the standards of
doctrine and rules of discipline are adhered to

8

by the particular churches under its care. It
is the court of review and control, over all the
sessions of the particular churches within its
bounds.

Moreover, numerous sections of The Book of
Church Order require that local church members and
officials must take oaths to submit to the supervision of
PCUS church courts and to abide by PCUS governing
rules. See The Book of Church Order §§ 4-1(2), 24-5,
27-6(4), 29-8, 210-5(c)(5), 219-1, 224-7, JA 33, 73,
83, 89, 145-146, 155, 159.

Thus, there simply can be no question that PCUS
is a hierarchical church and that its members have
agreed to abide by its constitution and church court
rulings.* These rules, of course, do not prevent indi-
viduals like Respondents from withdrawing as mem-
bers of PCUS or joining a new denomination; the
rules simply prevent Respondents from ignoring de-
cisions by the properly constituted church court as to
the true congregation, and from taking the church
property with them in the face of a ruling that they
do not represent the true congregation.

The foregoing discussion indicates why Respond-
ents are incorrect in their argument (Resp. Brief at

o This Court has noted that those who unite with a local
church that is part of a hierarchical system do so with implied
consent to the government of the hierarchical church and are
bound to submit to that government. Watson, supra, 180 U.S. at
728-729, quoted with approval in Hull, supra, 398 U.S. at 446.
Here, however, Petitioners need not rely upon an implied
acquiescence in PCUS’s form of government, including its
church courts, because, as noted above, Respondents themselves
took specific oaths to be bound by PCUS’s form of government.

9

20-24) that the Sharpsburg case’ is analogous to the
present dispute. This Court dismissed the second
appeal in Sharpsburg only after the state court had
made a finding® that the structure of the Church of
God is congregational, and not hierarchical, with
regard to the matters at issue. See 249 Md. 650, 663,
241 A.2d 691, 699, 705.° That finding made the

Maryland and Virginia Eldership of the Churches of God v.
Church of God at Sharpsburg, 249 Md. 650, 241 A.2d 691 (1968),
vacated and remanded, 393 U.S. 528, rmed, 254 Md. 162, 254
A.2d 162 (1969), appeal dismissed, 396 U.S. 367 (1970).

8 As Mr. Justice White noted in concurrence in Serbian,
under the Watson-Serbian deference rule it is a threshold
question for the civil court to determine whether the church
government is indeed hierarchical. 426 U.S. at 725. If the church
is not hierarchical with regard to the matter at issue—as in
Sharpsburg—then the First Amendment does not command
deference to any church court decision on that matter. Thus, the
hypothetical question posed by the Amicus Curiae Brief of the
Anglican Catholic Church, at 5, is completely answered by
Sharpsburg: an otherwise hierarchical church, with an explicit
charter provision giving local congregations exclusive power
over certain matters, would not be deemed hierarchical with
regard to such matters, and thus the Watson-Serbian deference
rule would not apply.

It is also noteworthy that in Sharpsburg the mother church
refused to recognize any right of secession and attempted to
enforce that position in the civil courts by asking that those
attempting to withdraw be enjoined from doing so. See 241 A.2d
at 694. Such a ruling by a civil court would have been an obvious
violation of the First Amendment since, as noted above, every
member of a church or synagogue has an unfettered right at
any time to disassociate himself or herself from any particular
religious faith, doctrine or denomination.

o Indeed, the Maryland Court of Appeals found over-
whelming evidence that the Church of God intended that its
congregations be totally independent with regard to questions
such as determining the identity of the congregation entitled to
use of the property. See 249 Md. 650, 659, 241 A.2d 691, 697
(charter provision that the “congregation of this Church shall
be and remain an independent congregation * * * [and] such

(footnote continued )

10

Watson-Serbian deference rule inapplicable, since the
rule applies only to hierarchical churches. In the
instant case, no such finding was made, or could have
been made, concerning PCUS, and thus the Sharps-
burg decision is completely distinguishable. Instead,
the reasoning and holdings of Watson and Serbian
are completely applicable to this dispute and should
have commanded the civil courts to defer to the
church court ruling, rather than improperly reexam-
ining the ecclesiastical question of which faction
constitutes the “true congregation” of VPC.

(footnote continued )

associations [with a national church denomination) shall in no
wise effect [sic] this Corporation in its ownership and control of
its real and personal property, which shall be and remain in the
properly constituted officers of this corporation.”); id., 249 Md.
at 666, 241 A.2d at 700 (expert testimony that church govern-
ment of Church of God “is not strictly speaking analogous to
that of the Presbyterian denomination”).

The differences between the Church of God government,
reviewed in Sharpsburg, and the PCUS structure could hardly be
more striking. As discussed at pp. 6-8, above, PCUS rules
expressly state that local congregations are not independent,
that they are subject to PCUS church court review and control,
and that one of the PCUS church courts’ powers is determina-
tion of the identity of the “true congregation” in case of a
property dispute. This is also made clear by the various oaths
which members and officials must take. See p. 8, supra.

11
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, as well as those
expressed in their earlier Brief, Petitioners respect-
fully urge this Court to reverse the decision below.

Respectfully submitted,

E. BARRETT PRETTYMAN, JR.
ALLEN R. SNYDER
WALTER A. SMITH, JR.
CAROL ANNE MUTTER
815 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20006

JOHN B. HARRIS, JR.

T. REESE WATKINS
1200 Georgia Power Building
Macon, Georgia 31201

H. T. O’NEAL, JR.
1001 American Federal
Building
Macon, Georgia 31201

Attorneys for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1371%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
