# motion to dismiss — Corbitt v. New Jersey

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1255%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** motion to dismiss
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 212

## Text

:
Supreme Court s te a het States, c: ee

Octoser Term, 1977 ae oes:

No. 77-5903

McARTHUR CORBITT,
Appellant,
v.

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY,
Appellee.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of New Jersey

MOTION TO DISMISS

Joun J. DEGNAN,
Attorney General of New Jersey,
Attorney for Appellee.

Leonarp D. Ronco,
Acting Essex County Prosecutor,
Essex County Courts Building,

Newark, New Jersey, 07102. n
(201) 961-7470 |

Maro J. Frrepman,
Deputy Attorney General,
Of Counsel and on the Brief.

Adams Press Corp., 5 Commerce Street, Newark, N. J. 07102—(201) 623-8611

EE ee Le Oe a NE RT NL, Ee ae eT ee Oe ee ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

I—The state statute involved and the nature of
the case

I ili elena ciilaseinainieleniocnmiehinn
B. The proceedings below

II—The case presents no substantial question not
previously decided by this Court Pd AB teed 4

4 A. The sentencing provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:
113-3 and N.J.S.A. 2A:113-4 do not place
an unconstitutional burden upon a defend-
ant’s right to contest his guilt before a

jury 4

1. No penalty is imposed upon one who
chooses to defend against a murder
charge

or

2. United States v. Jackson applies only
where the death penalty is a considera-
tion in the decision to defend against
a charge or plead guilty ......................... 12

3. No needless ror unnecessary burden is
placed upon a defendant who chooses
to contest his guilt .. ie 16

B. The sentencing scheme of N.J.S.A. 2A :113-
3 and N.J.S.A. 2A:113-4 does not constitute
a violation of—a_defendant’s right to equal
eee CRED A 20

ii TABLE OF CONTENTS

-*

PAGE

1. There is no cognizable class against
which equal protection is being denied .. 22

Assuming a cognizable class, there is no
disparity of punishment for the same of-
fense 23

3. The penalty provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:
113-3 and N.J.S.A. 2A:1134 are not ap-

bo

plied arbitrarily nor irrationally .............. 27
I1I—Conc.usion 30
Cases Cited
Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. 742 (1970) ............ 6, 18
Chaffin v. Stynchcombe, 412 U.S. 17 (1978) ................ 6, 14
Clark v. Paul Gray, 306 U.S. 583 (1939) 27
Colten v. Kentucky, 407 U.S. 104 (1972) 6

Commonwealth v. O’Neal, 339 N.E. 2d 676 (Mass.
RIPE ‘ssusccsesesctinipeseaiinbiseeacundgpstiemndsiiailiiianleatiaesad anions 13
Crampton v. Ohio, 402 U.S. 103 (1971) .-......22222......... 13, 14
Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972) —....2022... 6, 28
Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972) 2000... 27
Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391 (1963) eccsesnccneceenee 13
Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973) -.-.... 28
Fuller v. Oregon, 417 U.S. 40 (1974) 15
Funicello v. New Jersey, 403 U.S. 948 (1971) ssbiak ia 2,10
Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972) -............ 12,13

Gardner v. Broderick, 392 U.S. 273 (1968) .................. 6

TABLE OF CONTENTS lii

PAGE
Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967) 00.0... 6
Gregg v. Georgia, —— U.S. ——, 96 S.Ct. 2909

(1976) .... a 12
Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609 (1965) 00... 6
Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12 (1956) ou 22
Hess v. United States, 496 F.2d 936 (8 Cir. 1974) 6
Kahn v. Shevin, 416 U.S. 351 (1974) ... 29
Lefkowitz v. Turley, 414 U.S. 70 (1973)

Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1 (1964)
McDonald v. Board of Election Commissioners, 394

Riel EEE MITEEPD: snpustaaiesiidiniahdaipientinbleentiabasnataibilen 27
McDonald vy. State, 501 F.2d 385 (8 Cir. 1974), cert.

den. 419 U.S. 1004 (1974) 29
McGautha v. California, 402 U.S. 183 (1971) 00.0... 6,7
MeMann v. Richardson, 397 U.S. 759 (1970) ................ 6
Newman v. United States, 127 U.S. App. D.C. 263,

382 F.2d 479 (1967) ..... 25
North Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S. 25 (1970) 000... 18
Parker v. North Carolina, 397 U.S. 790 (1970) ........ 18
People v. Peters, 32 Ill. App. 3d 1018, 337 N.E.2d

73 (Ill. App. Ct. 1975) 15
Reed vy. Reed, 404 U.S. 71 (1971) 28
Rinaldi v. Yeager, 384 U.S. 305 (1966) 29
Roberts v. Louisiana, —— U. S. ——, 96 S.Ct. 3001

(1976) ‘ 12

iv TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

San Antonio Independent School District v. Rod-
whermam, G22. TED. 2 CEBTED . crcccsnseereccasnseinscininrennsninencnnentie 29
Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S, 257 (1971) ............. 18

Scott v. United States, 419 F.2d 264 (D.C. Cir.
WD. ccccnccsnynsnsisinnsesasiihctacannsiiivitecimasiinataldaldaiiainiiaiiibiabidn 20
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969) sniitihabiiasianiain 28
Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511 (1967)... 6

State v. Chambers, 63 N.J. 287, 307 A.2d 78 (1973) 28
State v. Coleord, 170 Minn, 502, 212 N.W. 894 (1927) 29

State v. Forcella, 52 N.J. 263, 245 A.2d 181 (1968),
cert. den. sub nom. New Jersey v. Presha, 408
CE, DER CIGD cetinnsstnietinninticsannininniiaamitdina| 8-10, 19, 26

State v. Funicello, 60 N.J. 60, 286 A.2d 55 (1972),
cert. den. sub nom. New Jersey v. Presha, 408
of Se Fe. ane cee ee 2, 4, 10

State v. Howland, 103 Ariz. 250, 489 P.2d 821 (1968) 29
State v. MeArthur Corbitt, 74 N.J. 379, 378 A.2d

OT | a | hh
State v. Poteet, 61 N.J. 493, 295 A.2d 857 (1972) ...... 20
State v. Reali, 26 N.J. 222, 1389 A.2d 300 (1958) ...... 19
State v. Robinson, 139 N.J. Super. 58, 352 A.2d 587

(App. Div. 1975) ............ sonication 4
State v. Sullivan, 43 N.J. 209, 203 A.2d 177 (1964),

cert. den. 362 U.S. 990 (19066) ........:..ececcccsvssesesanessseres 24, 26
State v. Williams, 39 N.J. 471, 189 A.2d 193 (1963),

oort, Gam, BIG Wis. GED CED ccccsaccnassascssvisnsncehensicnits 24

TABLE OF VONTENTS Vv

PAGE
Thomas v. United States, 368 F.2d 941 (5 Cir. 1966) 20

Uniform Sanitation Men v. Sanitation Comm’r., 392

Woes SE CRIED ccnccsnasecpnencevenninses Ye. 2
United States v. Andrews, 370 F.Supp. 365 (D.

Conn. 1974) 26
United States v. Berrigan, 482 F.2d 171 (3 Cir.

1973) —
United States v. Coke, 404 F.2d 836 (2 Cir. 1968) ...... 13

United States v. Derrick, 519 F.2d 1 (6 Cir. 1975) 6

United States v. Eisenmann, 396 F.2d 565 (2 Cir.
SISTED siicnseshanslicsstamsiabdiniiebpaieieeentaidbiaaleniidadbiahimi eth ian 26

United States v. Jackson, 390 U.S. 570 (1968) ...... 5, 6, 8-17
United States v. Maryland Savings-Share Ins. Corp.,

400 U.S. 4 (1970) 27
United States v. Rugiero, 472 F.2d 599 (2 Cir.
1973), cert. den. 412 U.S. 989 (1973) ceecccccccceccceeen 26

Whaley v. State, 202 Kan. 175, 446 P.2d 397 (1968) 15
Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78 (1970) 2.022.022.2000

Woodson v. North Carolina, —— U.S. ——, 96 S.
Ct. 2978 (1976) ie 12

United States Constitution Cited

Fifth Amendment .... vs 8-6, 9, 10, 14-17, 19
Sixth Amendment . ade 3-5, 9, 10, 15, 16, 19
Eighth Amendment .............. eaaplaaialisadiiiestietnidnhacnes 12

ae 3

vi TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Statutes Cited
Wear: TA BA acannon cemnncscccconnest 8,9, 16
es TN eine tensntidiecntseennentinminciitaninn eee rere 2,3
Be RII agichetcepsise acest Leignnincitencctittvniennindintegenaaianti 2
en IE III” | Ginoessintcnnseenttiniestascsdsnnbsnietwresin 2-4, 11, 20, 27, 30
ae ic. Tes CE picctediseveicnsetpstscntsvcensansiivies 2-4, 11, 20, 27, 30
PE i UTI scecinitateig tcecanstpedséneiapbtaildancliniidiandcelioan 11
18 U.S.C.:
Ns VIER cchcctsctessntanonnvastoans slssaidiainieaidilaanbeaiasons 8
Other Authorities Cited
Comment, 22 Rutgers L. Rev. 167 (1967) -.....0.0.00..... 17
Comment, 44 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 612 (1969) —W0002 17
Comment, 47 N.C. L. Rev. 421 (1969) .......................... 17
Comment, 54 Cornell L. Rev. 448 (1969) —000000... 17
Comment, 1969 Wash. U.L.Q. 231 (1969) .................... 17
Note, “Another Look at Unconstitutional Conditions,”
SEF i ees AGB CD sracenstccsoiniintctieentilenmetasediase 6
Note, “Developments in the Law: Equal Protection,”
82 Harv. L. Rev. 1065, 1077-1081 ......0....... ee eeeeoee 22

Note, “Discriminatory Sentencing and the Unitary
Trial: Two Areas For Application of the United
States v. Jackson Rationale,” 31 U. Pitt. L. Rev.

BRB (OIE) citctrnen shelbibspiadeaatibianeismaiataeiouateansbanas titi 17

Note, “The Unconstitutionality of Plea Bargaining,”
ee Se as RN BRE RIND mesecestatsacsinhptcintiies -ctpisinn 17

TABLE OF CONTENTS Vil

PAGE

Poe, “Capital Punishment Statutes in the Wake of
United States v. Jackson: Some Unresolved Ques-
tions,” 37 Geo. Wash. L. Rev. 719 (1969) .............. 17

“The Supreme Court, 1967 Term,” 82 Harv. L. Rev.

a See GRP D seiccensicdsicnccatemnenasancatees 17
Tussman and Ten broek, “The Equal Protection

of the Laws,” 37 Calif. L. Rev. 341, 344-346, 348

(1949) 22

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

Octoser TERM, 1977

No. 77-5903

»™
wa

McARTHUR CORBITT,
Appellant,

Vv.

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY,
Appellee.

On Appeal from the Supreme Court of New Jersey

=
—

MOTION TO DISMISS

The Appellee moves the Court to dismiss the appeal
herein on the ground that it is manifest that the ques-
tions on which the decision of the cause depends are so
unsubstantial as not to need further argument.

The state statute involved and the nature of the
case.

A. The Statute

This matter involves the constitutiouality of the sentenc-
ing scheme of the New Jersey murder statutes, N.J.S.A.
2A :113-1, 2, 3, and 4, as judicially altered in State v.
Funicello, 60 N.J. 60, 286 A.2d 55 (1972), cert. den. sub
nom. New Jersey v. Presha, 408 U.S. 942 (1972). As
modified by the New Jersey Supreme Court, N.J.S.A.
2A :113-3 now provides that no plea of guilty shall be
received upon any indictment for murder. If such a plea
is offered, it must be disregarded, a plea of not guilty
must be entered, and a jury duly impaneled must try the
ease. The statute permits, however, the accused to plead
non vult or nolo contendere to the indictment. Upon such
a plea, the sentence to be imposed is either life imprison-
ment or, in the alternative, the same as that imposed
upon a conviction of second degree murder.

N.J.S.A. 2A :113-4 provides that every person convicted
of first degree murder shall be sentenced to life impricon-
ment.' Upon a conviction of second degree murder, an
accused is to be imprisoned for a maximum of thirty
years. Thus, one convicted of first degree murder by a
jury must receive a life sentence while one pleading non
vult or nolo contendere may receive a sentence having a
maximum of thirty years or life imprisonment.

1Prior to Funicello v. New Jersey, 403 U.S. 948 (1971), and
State v. Funicello, supra, 60 N.J. 60 (1972), a jury conviction of
first degree murder mandated the imposition of the death penalty
unless the jury recommended life imprisonment.

B. The proceedings below

The appellant, McArthur Corbitt, was convicted by a
jury on April 10, 1973, of felony murder pursuant to
N.J.S.A. 2A:113-1. On May 16, 1973, the mandatory
sentence of life imprisonment was imposed. A Notice
of Appeal to the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appel-
late Division, was filed on July 31, 1973.

On September 23, 1975, the Superior Court, Appellate
Division, affirmed the conviction of felony-murder. A
subsequent Petition for Certification to the Appellate Divi-
sion was filed in the New Jersey Supreme Court and
was granted on February 18, 1976. The certification was
“limited to the question of the validity of the mandatory
life sentence upon a jury conviction for murder... .”

The appellant argued before the New Jersey Supreme
Court that the sentencing scheme of N.J.S.A. 2A:113-3
and N.J.S.A. 2A:113-4 infringed upon his Fifth Amend-
ment right not to plead guilty and his Sixth Amendment
right to a jury trial, and deprived him of equal protec-
tion under the Fourteenth Amendment. The New Jersey
Supreme Court found the sentencing scheme to be consti-
tutional and affirmed the conviction. State v. McArthur
Corbitt, 74 N.J. 379, 378 A.2d 235 (1977). A Notice of
Appeal to this Court was filed in the New Jersey Supreme
Court on November 30, 1977.

4

The case presents no substantial question not pre-
viously decided by this Court.

A. The sentencing provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:113-3 and
N.J.S.A. 2A:113-4 do not place an unconstitutional
burden upon a defendant’s right to contest his guilt
before a jury.

The Appellant, McArthur Corbitt, was convicted by a
jury of felony-murder. Consequently, the trial court im-
posed the mandatory sentence of life imprisonment. See
N.J.S.A. 2A :113-4; State v. Funicello, 60 N.J. 60, 286 A.2d
55, cert. den. sub nom. New Jersey v. Presha, 408 U.S.
942 (1972) ; State v. Robson, 139 N.J. Super. 58, 352 A.2d
587 (App. Div. 1975). Had he chusen to plead non vult
to the indictment, and had the court accepted the plea, he
ciearly would have been eligible for a less harsh sentence.
See N.J.S.A. 2A:113-3 and N.J.S.A. 2A:113-4. Although
after pleading non vult a defendant may be sentenced to
life imprisonment, the New Jersey Statutes specifically au-
thorize the trial court to impose a lesser sentence not to
exceed thirty years. At issue is whether the possibility of
receiving a “lesser term’ by entering a plea of non vult
unnecessarily exacts a penalty with regard to an accused’s
assertion of his Fifth Amendment right to plead not guilty
and his Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial.

It is the position of the State of New Jersey that the
sentencing scheme of its murder statutes does not need-
lessly chill assertion of those rights guaranteed by the
Fifth and Sixth Amendments, nor does it penalize those
who elect to contest their guilt before a jury. The penalty
of life imprisonment is not contingent upon an accused’s
decision to defend against the charges which have been
brought. Similarly, a plea of non vult does not assure a

Se

lesser sentence than that mandated following a conviction
of first degree murder by a jury. Hence, the statutes im-
pose no burden on the exercise of an accused’s constitu-
tional rights.

Even if it is assumed that a burden is imposed, it can
hardly be said that a defendant is “needlessly” penalized
by virtue of his election not to plead non vult. In short,
such a burden, if one exists, is inconsequential and, in any
event, is reasonably related to a proper governmental
goal. While it is true that no man should be subject to
an enhanced penalty because he defends against a charge,
it does not follow that an accused who frankly acknowl-
edges his guilt should not be given consideration on that
account. The concept that one who confesses is a better
prospect for rehabilitation has long been accepted by our
courts. Further, one who candidly admits his guilt should
not, by virtue of that fact be denied leniency. So called
“plea bargaining,” which in part is premised upon the
idea that a defendant who confesses is entitled to some
degree of compassion, has respectable support in New
Jersey and throughout the country. It would be specious
to contend that the Fifth Amendment bars a potentially
less severe punishment upon an admission of guilt. We
submit that the New Jersey murder statutes do not in-
fringe upon an accused’s Fifth and Sixth Amendment
rights and do not “needlessly” and “unnecessarily” penal-
ize those who elect to proceed to trial and to assert their
innocence of the crime charged.

1. No penalty is imposed upon one who chooses to
defend against a murder charge.

It is well established that the State may not exact an
unnecessary price for the assertion of a constitutional
right. See e.g., United States v. Jackson, 390 U.S. 570

6

(1968), cf. Lefkowitz v. Turley, 414 U.S. 70 (1973); Gard-
ner v. Broderick, 392 U.S. 273 (1968); Uniform Sanitation
Men v. Sanitation Comm’r., 392 U.S. 280 (1968); Spevack
v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511, 515 (1967); Garrity v. New Jersey,
385 U.S. 493 (1967); Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609
(1965). See also Note, “Another Look at Unconstitu-
tional Conditions,” 117 U.Pa.L.Rev. 144 (1968). Thus,
this Court has heid that statements obtained during the
eourse of disciplinary investigations under the threat of
dismissal from publie office cannot be used as evidence in
a subsequent criminal prosecution. See, e.g., Garrity v.
New Jersey, supra. So too, statutes voiding public con-
tracts entered into by one who has asserted the Fifth
Amendment privilege against self-incrimination have been
held to be constitutionally infirm. Lefkowitz v. Turley,
supra. In a similar vein, this Court has condemned the
practice of mandatorily disbarring attorneys based upon
their exercise of the Fifth Amendment right to remain
silent. Spevack v. Klein, supra. In these and in other
contexts, it was held that the law may not place a pre-
mium on the assertion of a valued constitutional right.
See Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972): Malloy v.
Hogan, 378 U.S. 1 (1964); United States v. Derrick, 519
F.2d 1 (6 Cir. 1975); Hess v. United States, 496 F.2d
936 (8 Cir. 1974).

This much conceded, it is equally clear that our Con-
stitution does not serve to insulate those accused of erim-
inal conduct from the necessity of making delicate choices.
See, e.g., Chaffin v. Stynchcombe, 412 U.S. 17 (1973);
McGautha v. California, 402 U.S. 183 (1971); Brady v.
United States, 397 U.S. 742 (1970); McMann y. Richard-
son, 397 U.S. 759 (1970). Cf. Colten v. Kentucky, 407
U.S. 104 (1972). The criminal process, like the rest of
the legal system, “is replete with situations requiring the
making of difficult judgments as to which course to fol-

me eS NE

low.” McGautha v. California, supra at 213. The de-
fendant in a criminal trial “is frequently forced to testify
himself and to call other witnesses in an effort to reduce
the risk of conviction.” Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S.
78, 83 (1970). So too, when an accused presents witnesses
at trial, he must reveal their identity and submit them to
cross-examination which, in itself, may prove incriminat-
ing or may furnish the prosecution with strong rebuttal
evidence. Jd. at 83-84. That the defendant faces such a
dilemma “has never heen thought an invasion” of his
constitutional rights. Id. at 84; State v. Corbitt, 74 N.J.
379, 398, 378 A.2d 235, 245 (1977). The threshold ques-
tion is whether compelling the election impairs to an ap-
preciable extent any of the policies underlying the rights
involved. McGautha v. California, supra, 402 U.S. at 213.
Hence, the inquiry must focus upon whether the New
Jersev murder statutes’ sentencing scheme “unnecessar-
ily” places a burden upon the accused’s assertion of his
constitutional right to defend against a criminal charge.
State v. Corbitt, supra, 74 N.J. at 397, 378 A.2d at 244.
Resolution of the issue requires examination of the na-
ture and gravity of the choice confronting a defendant
charged with murder.

Appellant claims that he was penalized by virtue of his
election to proceed to trial. In essence, he contends that
he would have been eligible for a term less than life im-
prisonment had he pleaded non vult. It is argued that
the New Jersey murder statutes place an unconstitutional
penalty upon the exercise of the right to contest the
State’s charges before a jury. Appellant argued below
that one accused of murder is faced with the “grisly”
choice between contesting the State’s charges, thus assur-
ing a penalty of life imprisonment if convicted of first
degree murder, and pleading non vult with the attendant
potential of being sentenced to a lesser term of years. It

is argued that such a grave choice exacts a penalty with
regard to those who wish to exercise valued constitutional
rights.

In support of this claim, defendant heavily relics upon
United States v. Jackson, 390 U.S. 570 (1968). There,
this Court declared invalid the death penalty provision
of the Federal Kidnapping Act beeause it “unnecessar-
ily” and “needlessly” burdened the defendant’s right to
contest the prosecution’s charges before a jury. That
statute provided that capital punishment could be imposed
only upon a jury’s recommendation which was binding
on the trial court. 18 U.S.C. §1201(a). A defendant
could be assured of avoiding the death penalty only by
waiving a jury trial or entering a guilty plea. This Court
reasoned that since the defendants could avoid the death
penalty only by pleading guilty or proceeding to trial
before a judge, they were “needlessly enecourage[d]” to
waive their basic rights both to contest guilt and to do
so before a jury. 390 U.S. at 583. While recognizing the
State’s legitimate interest in jury-imposed capital punish-
ment, the Court found that there were other means avail-
able which would subject all defendants to an equal risk
of death and thereby eliminate the “unnecessary” and

“excessive” burden upon defendants who desired a jury
trial. 390 U.S. at 582.

As a result of the decision in Jackson, grave doubts
were generated with respect to the validity of statutes
which permitted a criminal defendant to avoid capital
punishment by foregoing a jury trial. Like the Federal
Kidnapping Act, the New Jersey murder statutes pro-
vided that only a jury could impose the death penalty.
State v. Forcella, 52 N.J. 263, 245 A.2d 181 (1968), cert.
den. sub nom. New Jersey v. Presha, 408 U.S. 942 (1972).
However, our statutory scheme differed because a de-
fendant could not be tried by a judge. Jd. at 269, 245 A.2d

at 184. Furthermore, acceptance of a plea of non vult,
by which a defendant could escape the possibility of fac-
ing death, was discretionary with the trial court. Jd. at
270-71, 245 A.2d at 184-185. In State v. Forcella, supra,
the New Jersey Supreme Court held that the Sixth
Amendment challenge was meritless because the New Jer-
sey statute required trial by jury in all cases in which the
accused contested his guilt. Jd. at 272, 245 A.2d at 185.
As for the claim that the Fifth Amendment was violated,
a majority reasoned that acceptance of a plea of non
vult was discretionary with the trial judge, and thus, the
impermissible encouragement to plead guilty that existed
under the Federal Act was not present under the New
Jersey statute. Id. at 279-80, 245, A.2d at 189-190. The
majority further reasoned that the non vult plea was
enacted pursuant to valid governmental interest to pro-
vide lenity for those who were willing to admit their
guilt. Id. at 275, 245 A.2d at 187. The New Jersey Su-
preme Court, therefore, upheld our capital penalty pro-
vision in recognition that it constituted nothing more than
a form of plea bargaining by allowing consideration to
be given to the accused who admits his guilt. Jd. at 275-
276, 245 A.2d at 187.

Significantly, the majority in Forcella accurately fore-
casted the question in State v. Corbitt, swpra. Specifically,
the majority suggested that striking the death penalty
might still leave a “Jackson-type difficulty” in that a de-
fendant who pleads non vult would receive life or a term
of years whereas a defendant found guilty of first degree
murder would necessarily receive life imprisonment. Since
the Court concluded that the New Jersey statutes did not
fall afoul of the Fifth and Sixth Amendments, the majority
found it unnecessary to resolve the issue. The two dissent-
ing Justices were of the view that this Court’s decision in
Jackson were dispositive and that the New Jersey statutes

10

infringed upon the constitutional right to defend against
the State’s charges before a jury. The dissenters, there-
fore, found it necessary to squarely confront the question
presented in Corbitt.

The dissenting opinion in Forcella rejected the conten-
tion that a statute mandating life imprisonment upon a con-
viction following a jury trial but permitting a lesser pen-
alty upon a plea of non vult would be violative of the
Fifth and Sixth Amendments. According to the dissent,
“the inducement [to plead non vult] would be insignificant
when compared to the death penalty stricken in Jackson.”
52 N.J. at 300, 245 A.2d at 201. The dissenters aptly ob-
served that “the law has always been administered with
pragmatic recognition of the fact that the difference be-
tween the death penalty and imprisonment entails more
than matters of logic and degree.” Id. Jackson was dis-
tinguished upon the basis that it was “concerned solely with
the grisly choice between a plea or waiver with an assur-
ance of no death penalty, and a jury trial with the danger
of capital punishment.” Jd. at 301. This same conclusion
was reached by the New Jersey Supreme Court in State v.
Corbitt, supra, 74 N.J. at 399, 378 A.2d at 235.

In any event, this Court was unconvinced by the ma-
jority’s reasoning in State v. Forcella, supra, and sum-
marily reversed and remanded the matter three years
later. Funicello v. New Jersey, 403 U.S. 948 (1971). On
remand, the New Jersey Supreme Court struck the capital
penalty provision. State v. Funicello, 60 N.J. 60, 286 A.2d
55, cert. den. sub nom. New Jersey v. Presha, 408 U.S.
942 (1972). It ruled that in all future cases, those found
guilty of first degree murder by a jury would be sentenced
to a mandatory term of life imprisonment and that the
penalty provisions applicable upon a plea of non vult
would remain intact. Jd. at 68, 286 A.2d at 59.

11

Hence, in 1972 the New Jersey Supreme Court provided
the framework under which the murder statutes were to
be applied and administered. Accordingly, a defendant
who proceeds to trial faces the possibility of receiving a
life sentence if found guilty of first degree murder. He
may also be found guilty of second degree murder, in
which case he faces a maximum exposure of 30 years im-
prisonment, N.J.S.A. 2A :113-4, or manslaughter, in which
event he faces a maximum sentence of ten years, N.J.S.A.
2A :113-5. He may also be acquitted. A defendant who
pleads non vult to murder may receive a sentence of life
imprisonment. The court may, however, impose a maxi-
mum term of 30 years. N.J.S.A. 2A :113-3.

It is manifest that the sentencing scheme of the New
Jersey murder statute is fundamentally different from
that struck down in United States v. Jackson, supra. As
noted previously, this Court found it constitutionally offen-
sive to subject only those who contested their guilt before
a jury to a greater penalty than all other similarly situ-
ated individuals who elected to contest the State’s charges.
Under the New Jersey statutes, however, the defendant
faces exactly the same maximum sentence exposure.
Whether he proceeds to trial or enters a plea of non vult,
he cannot avoid the potential of receiving a life sentence
by admitting the State’s charges. This exposure to the
identical maximum sentence eliminates the incongruity
found offensive in United States v. Jackson, supra. In sum,
no penalty whatever is imposed upon an accused who
elects to defend against the State’s charges.

12

2. United States v. Jackson applies only where the
death penalty is a consideration in the decision to
defend against a charge or plead guilty.

The question, therefore, is whether the mere possibility
of receiving a term of less than life imprisonment by
pleading non vult “unnecessarily” serves to penalize those
who elect to contest their guilt. Stated somewhat dif-
ferently, at issue is whether our statutory scheme places
an unwarranted and needless burden upon an accused who
wishes to defend against the State’s charges by mandating
life imprisonment upon a jury finding of guilt. As we
have noted, the strength of the inducement to obtain the
benefit and avoid the burden can be ascertained only by
carefully focusing upon the magnitude of the choices
involved. In our view, United States v. Jackson, supra,
is clearly distinguishable in this respect because capital
punishment is qualitatively different than mere imprison-
ment. Its finality and severity make the death penalty sui
generis. Although this Court has recently held that capi-
tal punishment is not per se “cruel and unusual” and,
hence, violative of the Eighth Amendment [Gregg v.
Georgia, U.S. ——, 96 S. Ct. 2909 (1976)], it has
been recognized that “[t]he calculated killing of a human
being by the State involves by its very nature, a denial
of the executed person’s humanity.” Furman v. Georgia,
408 U.S. 238, 290 (1972). So too, it has been said that
“{djeath is not only an unusually severe punishment, un-
usual in its pain and its enormity .. .,” but it is also
“truly awesome” because it destroys the right of an
executed person “to have rights.” Furman v. Georgia,
supra, 408 U.S. at 290. “Death is a punishment different
from all other sanctions in kind rather than degree.”
Woodson v. North Carolina, U.S. —, 96 S.Ct. 2978
(1976). See also Roberts v. Louisiana, —— U.S. —, 96
S.Ct. 3001 (1976). Certainly, the enormity of choosing

13

between life and death precludes a meaningful exercise of
the right to assert one’s innocence. The Jackson decision
made constant reference to the inordinate burden of facing
the choice between life and death. 390 U.S. at 572, 581.
As the Court noted:

Under the Federal Kidnapping Act, therefore, the
defendant who abandons the right to contest his
guilt before a jury is assured that he cannot be exe-
cuted; the defendant ingenuous enough to seek a
jury acquittal stands forewarned that, if the jury
finds him guilty and does not wish to spare his life,
he will die. (390 U.S. at 580.)

Capital punishment has always been regarded as such
a unique penalty that any choice between life and death
has been characterized as a “grisly” one. See, e.g., Fur-
man v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238, 286-90 (1972) (Brennan, J.,
Concurring); Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391 (1963); United
States v. Coke, 404 F.2d 836, 846 n. 9 (2 Cir. 1968) ; Com-
monwealth v. O’Neal, 339 N.E. 2d 676, 680 (Mass. 1975).
It is evident that the possibility of death is a far different
price to pay for contesting one’s guilt than the risk of a
sentence of life imprisonment instead of a possible term
of years.

Subsequent judicial holdings have made it apparent that
United States v. Jackson, supra, forbids oniy government
induced choices of a substantial nature akin to that in-
volving the clear cut question between life and death.

In Crampton v. Ohio, 402 U.S. 103 (1971), this Court
upheld the constitutionality of Ohio’s system of conducting
criminal trials. In Ohio, the jury is permitted to deter-
mine guilt and punishment in a single proceeding. Peti-
tioner argued that unless the trial were bifurcated, he
would be coerced to forego his right to remain silent in

14

order to argue for mitigation. This he contended “chilled”
his Fifth Amendment right because he risked a harsher
sentence if he remained silent. This Court held that the
Ohio system did not place an impermissible burden on the
petitioner’s assertion of his Fifth Amendment right. In
short, the Court concluded that, “although a defendant may
have a right, even of constitutional dimension, to follow
whichever course he chooses, the Constitution does not by
that token always forbid requiring him to choose.” 402
U.S. at 213. In so holding, it was noted that the decision
in Jackson was limited to government compelled choices
involving life and death.

Similarly, in Chaffin v. Stynchcombe, 412 U.S. 17 (1973),
this Court reiterated the principles set forth in Crampton
v. Ohio, swpra, and upheld Georgia’s unrestricted jury
resentencing procedures. Petitioner had been convicted
and sentenced to 15 years in prison by a jury on a charge
of robbery. He thereafter successfully obtained a writ of
habeas corpus. Petitioner was then retried, convicted,
sentenced to life imprisonment by a jury which had no
knowledge of the previous sentence. Petitioner argued
that the possibility of receiving a harsher sentence on
retrial had a chilling effect on the exercise of his right to
appeal or collaterally attack his conviction. The Court
was unpersuaded and rejected petitioner’s claim that its
holding in United States +. Jackson, supra, called for
abrogation of the Georgia system. It reasoned that the
Georgia practice was a legitimate one and that an inci-
dental consequence of the procedure was that it required
the accused to choose to accept the risk of a greater sen-
tence or waive his rights. 412 U.S. at 32-33. Despite the
fact that under Georgia’s system an accused might be
penalized by exercising his right to appeal, the Court
held that the possibility of receiving a harsher sentence
did not needlessly exact an unconstitutional burden. 412
US. at 35.

15

Courts in other jurisdictions besides New Jersey have
also construed the holding in United States v. Jackson,
supra, as applying only to the “grisly” choice between life
and death. In Whaley v. State, 202 Kan. 175, 446 P.2d
397 (1968), for example, the Kansas Supreme Court re-
jected a claim that an accused was discouraged from
asserting his Fifth and Sixth Amendment rights because
of the possibility that the prosecutor would invoke the
habitual offender statute if he proceeded to trial. The
Court noted that the possibility of an enhanced sentence
by electing to contest the State’s charges does not alone
constitute a burden of the magnitude involved in Jackson.
Id. at 176, 446 P.2d at 398.

Likewise, the Illinois Court of Appeals has held that the
financial burden placed upon an accused who elects to
contest his guilt by proceeding to trial does not constitute
a “substantial” penalty for the assertion of a constitutional
right. In People v. Peters, 32 Ill. App. 3d 1018, 337 N.E.
2d 73 (Ill. App. Ct. 1975), defendant contended that an
Illinois statute which required an accused to reimburse the
State’s attorney with respect to per diem expenses upon
conviction following a trial, deprived him of his Fifth
Amendment right to contest his guilt More specifically,
it was argued that an assessment of trial costs made pur-
suant to the statute constituted a penalty imposed by
virtue of the defendant’s election to defend against the
State’s charges. The Court of Appeals summarily rejected
defendant’s claim that United States v. Jackson, supra,
was applicable. The Court held that the financial burden
imposed by the statute was infinitely less substantial than
the possibility of receiving the death penalty. Hence, the
statute did not serve to penalize those who elected to con-
test their guilt. See also Fuller v. Oregon, 417 U.S. 40
(1974) (Oregon recoupment statute for attorney’s fees
does not impermissibly chill assertion of the right to
counsel).

16

It is thus apparent that the mere possibility of receiv-
ing a lesser term ot imprisonment upon a plea of non vult
does not serve to penalize those who choose to defend
against the State’s charges. Even were we to conclude
that our statutory scheme imposes a burden with respect
to those who elect to contest their guilt, it would not fall
afoul of the Fifth and Sixth Amendments. The New
Jersey murder statutes do not suffer from the same in-
firmity as that found to be present in the Federal Kid-
napping Act in United States v. Jackson, supra. The
election compelled by our statutes does not impair “to an
appreciable extent” any of the policies which the Fifth
and Sixth Amendments seck to protect. In short, our
statutory scheme does not compel a defendant to choose
between exercising his constitutional rights with the at-
tendant risk of exposing himself to the death penalty and
pleading non vult, thereby avoiding the danger of capital
punishment. State v. Corbitt, supra, 74 N. J. 379, 399,
378 A.2d 235, 245 (1977).

3. No needless nor unnecessary burden is »laced upon
a defendant who chooses to contest his guilt.

It is the position of the State of New Jersey that United
States v. Jackson, supra, is inapposite for another reason.
As we have noted, the Supreme Court concluded that the
death penalty provision in the Federal Kidnapping Act
“needlessly encourage[d]” those charged with having
committed the offense to waive their rights both to con-
test guilt and to do so before a jury. 7d. at 583. The
federal statute was said to impose an “unnecessary” and
“excessive” burden upon those who desired a jury trial.
Id. at 582. The use of these terms by this Court plainly
indicates that not every burden imposed upon a defend-
ant who elects to contest the State’s charges is subject

A 4 Oe se ee

17

to constitutional attack. As already pointed out, numer-
ous consequences necessarily flow from a decision to ex-
ercise the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrim-
ination. For example, although an accused is under no
constitutional obligation to present witnesses or to testify
in his own behalf at trial, such a course of conduct may
substantially increase the risk of conviction. But we have
noted that such « dilemma has never been thought an
invasion of a defendant’s constitutional rights, for the
burden imposed is neither “needless,” “unnecessary,” nor
“excessive.” The inquiry must thus focus upon whether
the option present in the New Jersey statutory scheme is
reasonably related to a proper governmental goal.

We note in this context that if the Fifth Amendment
bars a lesser penalty when guilt is admitted, the entire
practice of plea bargaining is necessarily implicated. In
the aftermath of Jackson, it was widely recognized that
plea bargaining was subject to doubt. See, e.g., Comment,
54 Cornell L. Rev. 448 (1969); Poe, “Capital Punishment
Statutes in the Wake of United States v. Jackson: Some
Unresolved Questions,” 37 Geo. Wash. L. Rev. 719 (1969) ;
“The Supreme Court, 1967 Term,” 82 Harv. L. Rev. 63,
156 (1968); Note, “The Unconstitutionality of Plea Bar-
gaining,” 83 Harv. L. Rev. 1387 (1970); Comment, 44
N.Y.U. L. Rev. 612 (1969); Comment, 47 N.C. L. Rev.
421 (1969); Note, “Discriminatory Sentencing and the
Unitary Trial: Two Areas For Application of the United
States v. Jackson Rationale,” 31 U. Pitt. L. Rev. 118
(1969); Comment, 1969 Wash. U.L.Q. 231 (1969). See
also Comment, 22 Rutgers L. Rev. 167 (1967). The broad-
est interpretation of Jackson could conceivably lead to a
conclusion that whenever a system provides a means to
obtain leniency, either by statute or practice, a defendant
who rejects a proposed plea bargain, contests guilt, and
thus receives a heavier penalty is deprived of his Fifth
Amendment rights.

18

Such broad implications were quickly dispelled by this
Court in Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. 742 (1970),
Parker v. North Carolina, 397 U.S. 790 (1970), and North
Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S. 25 (1970). There, defend-
ants, who had pleaded guilty to avoid the possible imposi-
tion of the death penalty, attempted to retract their pleas
by asserting that the statutes under which they were pro-
secuted dissuaded them from asserting their constitutional
rights. The principal thrust of their argument was
grounded upon the claim that they had abandoned their
right to defend in order to safeguard their right to live.
They thus asserted that their guilty pleas were “coerced.”
This Court perceived no constitutional violation. More
specifically, it was reasoned that the defendants’ dilemma
was no different from the circumstances existing in any
common plea bargaining situation. 397 U.S. at 751. Al-
though it was recognized that plea bargaining has a po-
tentially chilling effect on assertion of Fifth and Sixth
Amendment rights, the practice was upheld as a necessary
and legitimate adjunct to the administration of criminal
justice. 404 U.S. at 751-752.

This Court subsequently reiterated its position with re-
gard to plea bargaining. In fact, in Santobello v. New
York, 404 U.S. 257 (1971), it was suggested that plea
bargaining is a virtuous and desirable practice which
should be encouraged. This, despite the fact that plea
bargaining presents a potentially chilling effect upon the
assertion of the constitutional right to defend.

It bears repeating that plea bargaining is predicated
upon the just and humane concept that those who acknow-
ledge guilt are probably better prospects for rehabilitation
and should be given consideration on that account. Surely,
“we should not deny a justified leniency for the many,
merely to be positive that no man is needlessly encouraged

ee eee eet

19

not to defend.” State v. Forcella, supra, 52 N.J. at 276,
245 A.2d at 188. The gain to the many plainly outweighs
whatever evil may repose in encouraging the guilty to
confess. As to the fear that the innocent might be stam-
peded, “there are safeguards against a false guilty plea.”
Id. A plea of guilty may not be entered if the accused
claims he is innocent. Further, in New Jersey a “factual
basis” must support the defendant’s decision not to con-
test the State’s charges. See State v. Reali, 26 N.J. 222,
139 A.2d 300 (1958). With respect to those who perceive
a benefit in the form of a lesser sentence if they plead
guilty, it can hardly be argued that they are “needlessly”
penalized by virtue of their election to reject such a
course. The potential of receiving a lesser penalty upon
a plea of guilty is not “unnecessary.” Nor is the burden
that is incidentally imposed upon such an individual “ex-
cessive.”

Our non vult statute embodies the principles of plea
bargaining. It achieves the same result as the down-
grading of offenses or the dismissal of selected charges.
The statute cannot be found to unnecessarily and need-
lessly discourage assertion of an individual’s Fifth and
Sixth Amendment rights. A defendant who proceeds to
trial on a murder charge no longer faces a “grisly” choice.
His knowledge that those who plead non vult face the
same possibility of a life term certainly diminishes any
alleged agony inherent in his choosing a trial over a plea.
Finally, his knowledge that others who plead may receive
a sentence less than life imprisonment is no different from
the situation confronting all defendants who proceed to
trial, aware of the fact that others have obtained bar-
gains to plead guilty in exchange for dismissal of other
pending charges or for some other benefit. In short,
there are no excessive or unnecessary conditions encom-
passed in the present New Jersey murder statutes such
as to render them unconstitutional.

20

B. The sentencing scheme of N.J.S.A. 2A:113-3 and
N.J.S.A. 2A:113-4 does not constitute a violation of a
defendant’s right to equal protection.

The Appellant has argued that the sentencing scheme
of the New Jersey murder statute violates the Equal
Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. He has
pointed to the fact that those who have pleaded non vult
may be sentenced to a term of years, while others who
have been convicted of first degree murder following a
trial are necessarily sentenced to life imprisonment.
N.J.S.A. 2A :113-3, 4. The import of the argument is that
the State may not impose “different punishments for the
same” crime where the differing penalties are based en-
tirely on whether the accused has chosen to stand trial.
(See Jurisdictional Statement at 12).

It is the contention of the State of New Jersey that it
would be grossly unfair if all had to be sentenced without
regard to their acknowledgment of guilt. While it is true
that the law may not add a penalty by virtue of a defend-
ant’s election to contest the State’s charges, Scott v.
United States, 419 F.2d 264 (D.C. Cir. 1969), Thomas v.
United States, 368 F.2d 941 (5 Cir. 1966), it is not irra-
tional to take into account “defendant’s prospect for re-
demption reflected by his attitude toward the truth.” State
v. Poteet, 61 N.J. 493, 295 A.2d 857 (1972). As the New
Jersey Supreme Court aptly observed in State v. Poteet,
supra, “(t]he aims of punishment are several, but the
hope is constant that . . . mild or severe, [it] wili shape
the offender.” Id. at 496, 295 A.2d at 859. “Assaying the
prospects for rehabilitation, the court must look at the
man as well as the offense,” and it is here that a defend-
ant’s candid acknowledgment of guilt should be given
some consideration. Jd. Although it would be conceptually
wrong to enlarge the crime for which a defendant is being

21

punished because he chose to stand trial, it is equally clear
that a legislative judgment based upon the premise that
a frank confession indicates some promise of rehabilita-
tion is neither unsound nor unjust. In any event the
State of New Jersey has exhaustively set forth its argu-
ment with regard to this question in Point A. Suffice it
to say, we do not perceive it to be a violation of equal
protection to accord a benefit to those who have acknowl-
edged their guilt by pleading non vult.

Other considerations support our position. First, our
statutes do not provide disparate punishments “for the
same offense.” A short form indictment is sufficient to
encompass first and second degree murder. Hence, a de-
fendant is not permitted to plead non vult to any particu-
lar degree of murder. In the words of the statute, the plea
is to be directed “to the indictment” which charges mur-
der generally. In contrast, the mandatory term of life im-
prisonment is applicable only following a jury finding of
first degree murder. It is apparent, therefore, that those
who plead non vulé to “murder” and those who are found
guilty of first degree murder are not similarly situated.
The sentencing scheme merely reflects this basic reality.
Second, an Equal Protection argument is predicated upon
the erroneous assumption that all similar conduct consti-
tutes the “same offense.” Although we will shortly set
forth our argument in some detail, it is enough to observe
here that criminal statutes often overlap in prohibiting the
same conduct and a prosecutor’s decision to proceed under
one or another has never been thought to offend the con-
cept of equal protection. The same principles are appli-
cable with respect to our murder statutes. Although the
offense of “murder” and “murder in the first degree” may
be said to “overlap,” equal protection is not offended as

22

long as the court does not act arbitrarily in exercising its
discretionary power to acecpt or reject a plea of non vult.

1. There is no cognizable class against which equa!
protection is being denied.

The guarantee of equal protection requires that a legis-
lative classification bear a rational relationship to a legiti-
mate governmental goal. See Tussman and Ten broek,
“The Equal Protection of the Laws,” 37 Calif. L.Rev. 341,
348 (1949); Note, “Developments in the Law: Equal Pro-
tection,” 82 Harv. L.Rev. 1065, 1077-81 (1969). When a leg-
islature creates a classification, those similarly situated
must be treated alike. Tussman and Ten broek, supra at
344-46. It is manifest that the threshold question in re-
solving any alleged equal protection violation is whether
the challenged legislation or state practice creates any
classification whatsoever. The point is best illustrated by
Justice Harlan’s dissenting opinion in Griffin v. Illinois,
351 U.S. 12 (1956). There, it will be recalled, the majority
held the Lllinois practice which required an appellant to
absorb the costs of providing a transcript on appeal con-
stituted a violation of equal protection because it unrea-
sonably discriminated on the basis of wealth. Justice Har-
lan dissented, contending that the basis for the majority
holding was not equal protection but rather due process.
351 U.S. at 36. He explained that when the State im-
poses legal disabilities upon a named class the equal pro-
tection guarantee is called into question. Jd. at 35-36.
Merely posing a choice or condition to receipt of a State-
proffered benefit, on the other hand, involves no classifica-
tion. Id. Accordingly, such a system is properly analyzed
by employing the “fundamental fairness” standard of the
due process clause. Id. at 36.

Cc

Os La aN

23

In the instant case, the initial inquiry is whether the
Legislature has in fact made any classification which arbi-
trarily treats those similarly situated. Otherwise stated,
the question presented is whether the New Jersey Legisla-
ture has singled out a particular group of individuals and
arbitrarily imposed upon that class a legal disability that
it does not impose upon all others in a like position. So
posited, the State of New Jersey submits that the only
class created by the Legislature was the unitary category
of indicted murderers. Our statutes offer a series of ef-
fectively identical choices to all members of this class. Spe-
cifically, all defendants have the opportunity to plead non
vult. Aeceptance of the plea, of course, is in the discre-
tion of the court. Of significance, however, is that all de-
fendants possess an equal opportunity to request the
court’s indulgence. Thus, the system does not designate
two separate classes to which it imposes distinct legal dis-
abilities. Rather, our system merely provides several
courses of action to all defendants charged with murder.
As such, it is evident that this case does not implicate
values underlying the equal protection clause. Rather the
question presented is one of due process. Specifically, the
issue is whether the election compelled by our statutory
scheme is fundamentally unfair. The fairness of the choice,
phrased in terms of whether it is unconstitutionally oner-
ous, has been amply demonstrated in Point A, supra. Ac-
cordingly, we submit that appellant’s contention regarding
the alleged denial of the equal protection guarantee is
without merit.

2. Assuming a cognizable class, there is no disparity
of punishment for the same offense.

A non vult plea to murder in New Jersey does not in-
volve the same crime as a conviction for first degree mur-

oA

der, although in some circumstances both may encompass
similar conduct. First degree murder is a crime in which
conduct of a specific nature and quality is proscribed. The
sentence for such conduct is life imprisonment. A non vult
plea is not comparable to a conviction of a specific degree
of murder. State v. Sullivan, 43 N.J. 209, 245, 203 A.2d
177, 197 (1964), cert. den. 382 U.S. 990 (1966); State v.
Williams, 39 N.J. 471, 479, 189 A.2d 193, 197 (1963), cert.
den, 374 U.S. 855 (1963). Rather, it is a plea to the in-
dictment encompassing conduct which may constitute both
degrees of murder, and manslaughter as well. State v.
Sullivan, supra, 43 N.J. at 246, 203 A.2d at 197. The plea
must be accepted without specification of the degree of
guilt. Jd. Accordingly, the sentence for the plea spans
the broad range of conduct encompassed by the indict-
ment. It is apparent that a plea of non vut is for an
offense different from first degree murder because it in-
cludes a far broader range of criminal conduct.

It was upon this basis that a similar claim was rejected
by the New Jersey Supreme Court in State v. Sullivan,
supra. There, the defendant had been convicted of first
degree murder. On appeal, he contended that our murder
statutes exacted a penalty with regard to those who elected
to contest their guilt. It was argued that disparate pen-
alties were imposed depending upon the accused’s election
to plea non vult or contest the State’s charges. Defendant
claimed that such an election deprived those charged with
murder “of due process and equal protection of the law.”
Id. at 245, 203 A.2d at 197. The court was unpersuaded.

Not only is there no right to demand acceptance
of a plea of non vult, but acceptance thereof by the
court confers no right to any particular sentence
short of life imprisonment. As N.J.S.A. 2A:113-3
prescribes, the term may be for life or for any

ads <auhs

eee

25

period up to the 30-year maximum for second degree
murder. One reason for the broad expanse of sen-
tencing power is the nature of the indictment. As
we have said, it specifies no degree of murder, and
will support a conviction of first or second degree
murder or manslaughter. (We note in passing it
has been suggested persuasively that there is noth-
ing in our rules or statutes which prohibits a spe-
cific indictment for second degree murder in a
proper case.) Under our cases the plea must be to
the indictment. It should not be to a specific de-
gree of murder. Nor does the statute, as in earlier
days, contemplate a hearing to determine the de-
gree of guilt or the nature of the sentence to be
imposed. State v. Williams, 39 N.J. 471, 479 (1963).
Sentence is passed by the court within the broad
limits authorized after consideration of the nature
of the offense and a comprehensive probation re-
port. R.R. 3:7-10(b). [Id. at 246-247, 203 A.2d
at 197; emphasis supplied].

Appellant contends that since an accused who theoreti-
cally commits the same crime as one convicted of first
degree murder may plead non vult, our statutes impose
different punishments for the same offense. This argu-
ment is based on the faulty assumption that all similar
conduct constitutes the same crime. It is evident, how-
ever, that an accused’s conduct may violate two over-
lapping statutes. Where there is such an overlap, the
prosecuting authority has discretion to proceed under
either statute. United States v. Berrigan, 482 F.2d 171
(3 Cir. 1973); Newman v. United States, 127 U.S. App.
D.C. 263, 382 F.2d 479, 480 (1967). So long as the pro-
secutor does not act arbitrarily and does not discriminate
against a class of defendants, it has been held that equal

26

protection is not denied. United States v. Rugiero, 472
F.2d 599, 606 (2 Cir. 1973), cert. den. 412 U.S. 939
(1973); United States v. Eisenmann, 396 F.2d 565, 568
(2 Cir. 1968); United States v. Andrews, 370 F.Supp. 365,
370 (D. Conn. 1974). In short, the mere existence of over-
lapping statutes is not a deprivation of equal protection.

Just as two or more statutes may cover the same con-
duct so that different penalties may be imposed for the
identical offense, the New Jersey murder statutes may be
said to “overlap.” The major difference is that under
our murder laws, the discretion to administer the statutes
does not reside solely in the prosecutor. Instead, the
accused may tender a plea of non vult, but the court must
decide whether to accept it. If a conviction for first de-
gree murder best serves the legislative purpose, the plea
must be rejected or a comparable sentence be imposed.
State v. Sullivan, 43 N.J. 209, 203 A.2d 177 (1964), cert.
den. 382 U.S. 990 (1966); State v. Forcella, 52 N.J. 263,
245 A.2d 181, cert. den. sub nom. New Jersey v. Presha,
408 U.S. 942 (1972).

To further clarify the point, the situation can be viewed
in a slightly different fashion. In many instances in
which an individual commits a criminal act, his conduct
may constitute both a greater and lesser offense. For
example, activity which constitutes atrocious assault and
battery in New Jersey is also proscribed by our disor-
derly persons statute. Activity which constitutes robbery
also falls within our larceny statute. The prosecutor has
discretion to choose the charge. Furthermore, he can
charge the greater offense and then later downgrade it
in exchange for a plea of guilty. The individual who is
tried and convicted of the greater offense is not denied
equal protection because another who may have engaged
in similar conduct is either charged or convicted of the
lesser crime.

rl EES Ente nen

a ee a ee

ee

a

27

Analogously, one who is convicted of first degree mur-
der cannot complain that he was denied equal protection
because another was permitted to plead non vult. Viewed
within this context, it is apparent that equal protection
is denied only if the various relevant statutes are applied
in an arbitrary or discriminatory fashion. If no par-
ticular class is singled out for harsher treatment, the
equal protection clause is not violated.

3. The penalty provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:113-3 and
N.J.S.A. 2A:113-4 are not applied arbitrarily nor
irrationally.

Any analysis of the manner in which statutes are ap-
plied must be considered in light of the proposition that
“Legislatures are presumed to have acted constitutionally

. . and their statutory classifications will be set aside
only if no grounds can be conceived to justify them.”
McDonald v. Board of Election Commissioners, 394 U.S.
802, 809 (1969). As long as some reasonable basis ex-
ists for the recognition of separate classes and disparate
treatment, and the legislation has a rational relation to
the object sought to be achieved, there is no constitutional
infirmity. See Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 488, 446-447
(1972); United States v. Maryland Savings-Share Ins.
Corp., 400 U.S. 4 (1970). The function of the judiciary
in reviewing a statute “is to determine whether it is pos-
sible to say that the legislative decision is without ra-
tional basis.” Clark v. Paul Gray, 306 U.S. 583, 585
(1939).

It is the position of the State of New Jersey that the
rational relationship test for determining equal protec-
tion should be utilized in analyzing the sentencing provi-
sions of the murder statutes. This court, recognizing
this traditional test, has in recent years recognized that

28

there are some situations where it is inappropriate to
apply the “rational relationship” test. Certain statutory
classifications are so inherently suspect as to compel
greater judiciary scrutiny (?.e., those based on race, na-
tionality, alienage, political affiliation and sex). So too,
statutory schemes which affect fundamental rights are to
be carefully reviewed. In these cases, a stricter equal
protection standard has been fashioned by this Court
requiring a showing that the statutory scheme challenged is
based upon a “compelling governmental interest.” Phrased
somewhat differently, if a statutory classification is
based upon an inherently suspect criterion, or if it affects
fundamental rights, then it must be demonstrated that
the legislation is necessary to promote a compelling gov-
ernmental interest. See Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 US.
618 (1969) (Harlan, J. dissenting). A heavy burden of
justification is imposed upon the State and such statutes
are closely scrutinized in light of their essential purposes.
Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972). State v. Cham-
bers, 63 N.J. 287, 307 A.2d 78 (1973).

It is submitted that the New Jersey statutory scheme
for murder does not create a classification which is “in-
herently suspect.” It does not affect fundamental rights,
i.e., those which are based solely on race, nationality, po-
litical affiliation, sex, the right to vote or the right to
travel. Nor does our statute affect the fundamental right
to live. The latter classifications have been found to be
inherently suspect and, thus, have been evaluated under
the “compelling governmental interest” formula. See e.g.
Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677, 686-87 (1973);
Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71, 75 (1971); Shapiro v. Thomp-
son, 394 U.S. 618 (1969); Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S.
330 (1972). On the other hand, legislatures are allowed
considerable leeway in classifying offenses and offenders
for sentencing purposes, provided there is a rational nexus

ee ee ee enn De ee 1 eeeanne ten DERE tee Te

Se eee oe

29

between the classification and a valid legislative purpose.
Kahn v. Shevin, 416 U.S. 351 (1974); Rinaldi v. Yeager,
384 U.S. 305 (1966).

When an individual violates a penal law, he is generally
subject to incarceration. In short, he has lost his right
to liberty. In such instances, the State need not demon-
strate a compelling governmental interest to support in-
earceration. Rather, it need only be shown that the
punishment imposed is reasonably related to a proper
governmental goal. Thus, the proper test to be employed
here is the “rational relationship” formula. State v.
Corbitt, 74 N.J. 379, 401, 378 A.2d 235, 247 (1977). See
San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodriguez, 411
U.S. 1 (1973).

It is apparent that a mandatory life term for first de-
gree murder is reasonably related to the goal of deter-
rence. Mandatory penalties are within the power of the
legislature to prescribe and the judiciary seldom acts to
challenge their validity. See State v. Howland, 103 Ariz.
250, 439 P.2d 821 (1968); McDonald v. State, 501 F.2d
385 (8 Cir. 1974), cert. den. 419 U.S. 1004 (1974); State
v. Colcord, 170 Minn. 502, 212 N.W. 894 (1927). In this
context, the statutory penalty challenged here serves as
a warning to those who might be predisposed to commit
the criminal offense that they will be harshly dealt with
upon conviction. The penalty is applicable to a class of
offenders whose disregard for life justifies severe pun-
ishment.

In any event, it is clear that the penalty is supported
by a compelling governmental interest. It is incumbent
upon the State to protect its citizens against premeditated
and deliberate attacks. In sum, the statutory penalty
serves a compelling governmental interest in deterring
criminal conduct. The judiciary cannot and should not
substitute its judgment for that of the Legislature.

30

On the other hand, the penalty provided for a plea of
non vult to murder without specification as to degree, an
offense which is different from first degree murder, is
rational. The penalty range is necessarily broad since
the criminal conduct encompassed is great. This range
is reasonably related to the governmental goal of pro-
moting rehabilitation. Since the penalty provisions of
N.J.S.A. 2A:113-3, 4 are reasonably related to proper
governmental goals, we respectfully submit that the guar-
antee of equal protection is not denied by the sentencing
scheme of the statutes.

II1.
CONCLUSION

Wherefore, Appellee respectfully submits that the
questions upon which this cause depend are so unsub-
stantial as not to need further argument, and Appellee
respectfully moves the Court to dismiss this appeal.

Respectfully submitted,

Joun J. DeGNan
Attorney General of New Jersey

Marc J. FrrepDMAN
Deputy Attorney General
Counsel for the State of New Jersey

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1255%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
