# Opposition — Flickinger v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1209%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 836

## Text

X, REG
»

>

DP path, yy). Ne. > eg ee
sree Pa Wish ve Se Te SL

I hla I
se hos i q - 7 __ .
@ d
the Buite
~ : ae oe © > :

‘Ss © SNP i apt - ’ f, > 4 " ; ~ ; 4 : i ‘
Rar Ht us? “i e . Woes : A z ‘ . * - a
Se eae DANIEL. FLICKINGER, PETITIONER © -

a > ae of oe ast : “ie ) if

a ~ ed, + -* Vv. : ‘A . ee

otis ee 1% & ‘Meta Se .

: os i% ; 4 : ; a : ‘ , fi.
% eo et ae UNITED STATES OF AMERICA 2°

)

= |. ON PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO He
- THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR aa
ite kp | THE NINTH CIRCUIT °
>a P Y x ; M > Ps : =

peg BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
Spe Cr ee IN OPPOSITION

Wape H. McCree, Jr..
| Solicitor General,

| .. Puuip B. Heymann,
nbz Assistant Attorney General,
“s JEROME M. Fert,
. FRANK J. MARINE,
Attorneys,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 77-1827

DANIEL NEWTON FLICKINGER, PETITIONER

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORAK/ TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-24a)
is reported at 573 F. 2d 1349.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
March 24, 1978, and a petition for rehearing was denied
on May 25, 1978 (Pet. App. Ib). The petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on June 23, 1978. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 12541).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether exigent circumstances justified the warrant-
less entry into petitioner's home on probable cause to
arrest him for a felony.

(1)

2

2. Whether the court of appeals erred in applying the
“clearly erroneous” standard in reviewing the correctness
of the district court’s finding of exigent circumstances.

STATEMENT

Following a jury-waived trial in the United States
District Court for the District of Nevada, petitioner and
his co-defendants, John Munier, Robert McLaughlin and
Stanley Hayduk, were convicted of conspiracy to import
and to possess marijuana, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 846
and 963, importation of marijuana, in violation of 21
U.S.C. 952(a) and 18 U.S.C. 2, and possession of
marijuana with intent to distribute, in violation of 21
U.S.C. 84l(aXl) and 18 U.S.C. 2. Petitioner was
sentenced to a concurrent five-year prison term on each
count, to be followed by a two-year special parole term.
The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. la-24a).

The evidence adduced at the suppression hearing and at
trial showed that on June 23, 1975, an informant told an
agent of the Drug Enforcement Administration that
during the past month she had seen an aircraft landing at
night without landing lights on a dry lake bed in the area
oi Beatty, Nevada, and that the aircraft had been met by a
four-wheel-drive Chevrolet Suburban (S. Tr. 24).' After
determining that petitioner owned the Suburban and that
he was a licensed pilot, the agents began a surveillance of

egy and his residence in Las Vegas, Nevada (S. Tr.
6-38).

On July I1, 1975, petitioner and co-defendants
McLaughlin and Munier equipped petitioner's Suburban
and another Suburban with wide “desert type” tires and
installed antennas and radio equipment in the other

S. Tr.” refers to the transcript of the suppression hearing.

Suburban and in a pickup truck (S. Tr. 35-41). On July
12, McLaughlin and Hayduk installed a large piece of
plywood in the bed of the pickup (S. Tr. 42-43). Later
that day, the two men painted an insignia on the doors of
the truck (S. Tr. 45).

On July 16, 1975, petitioner and Munier drove in
petitioner's Suburban from petitioners home to
McCarran Airport in Las Vegas, where they transferred
boxes from the vehicle into petitioner's twin engine Piper
Navajo aircraft and from the plane to the vehicle (S. Tr.
50-52). Munier then drove away in the Suburban and
petitioner took off in the airplane (S. Tr. 52-54). Later
that same day, petitioner was observed at the Tucson,
Arizona, airport, where he and a man of Mexican
appearance bought and reviewed aeronautical maps of
Mexico (S. Tr. 72-73). Still later that day, McLaughlin
and Hayduk, in the pickup, and Munier, in petitioner's
Suburban, drove to a dry lake bed (known as Hidden
Hills Dry Lake) in eastern California near the Nevada
border (S. Tr. 56-59, 62-63).

There was no activity at the dry lake bed until noon the
next day, when Munier drove petitioner's Suburban to a
phone booth. After Munier left the booth, D.E.A. agents
intercepted a radio transmission over the citizen’s band
radio in petitioner's Suburban, which said in substance
that he “called Susan last night and it's on for tonight” (S.
Tr. 69-70). (Petitioner's wife is named Susan.) Munier
then returned to the lake bed. Between 11:00 p.m. on July
17 and 1:00 a.m. on July 18, the agents intercepted a
series of radio transmissions from petitioner's Suburban,
including the statement that “Dan told us to cover up his
tracks” (S. Tr. 77-78). At approximately 11:00 p.m. on
July 17, one of the agents heard an aircraft land at the
lake bed, although the plane could not be seen because it
was not using its lights (S. Tr. 74-75). Some two hours

later, petitioner's Suburban and the pickup, also with
their lights out, drove away from the lake bed in different
directions, the pickup toward Tecopa, California, and the
Suburban toward Las Vegas (S. Tr. 76-77). At about 1:15
a.m. petitioner and his Mexican companion landed in
petitioner's aircraft at McCarran Airport (S. Tr. 78).

At the D.E.A. agents’ request, state police officers
stopped the pickup truck at about 4:00 a.m., found 1200
pounds of marijuana in the truck, and arrested its
occupants, McLaughlin and Hayduk (S. Tr. 79-80).
Meanwhile, at approximately 2:45 a.m., D.E.A. agents
observed petitioner's Suburban parked in front of his
home (Tr. 672).2 By 5:30 a.m., the agents at petitioner's
home had learned of the marijuana seizure and sought the
assistance of additional agents. About an hour later, after
two more D.E.A. agents had arrived, the agents knocked
at the front door of petitioner's residence, identified
themselves, and announced their purpose (Tr. 673-675).
Susan Flickinger opened the door, and the agents entered
and arrested petitioner, his wife and Munier (Tr. 675-
676; S. Tr. 92-93). After petitioner had been advised
of his Miranda rights but before the agents could ask
him any questions, petitioner remarked (Tr. 677): “Look,
you've got me. I’m guilty, okay? But don't bust Susan.
She doesn’t known anything about this. She doesn't
know anything about my business. She doesn't know
why I’ve been flying in and out of Mexico.” Petitioner

also told the agents his source of supply and explaintec/

how he had landed his aircraft on the dry lake bed
without lights (Tr. 678, 853-856). .

Petitioner, his wife and Munier were taken to the
federal building, while other agents remained at the
residence to await the arrival of a search warrant, which

“Tr.” refers to the trial transcript.

5

was obtained that afternoon (Tr. 679). A search of the
house pursuant to the warrant produced an aeronautical
map, with the Hidden Hills Dry Lake area encircled in
pencil (Tr. 726, 681-682). A subsequent search of
petitioner's airplane uncovered marijuana debris (Tr. 876),
and a search of petitioner's person after his arrest
uncovered a Mexican travel permit.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner, presumably seeking suppression of his
post-arrest admissions, argues (Pet. 6-7) that the district
court erred in finding that the agents’ entry into his
residence to effect a warrantless, probable cause arrest
was supported by exigent circumstances.’ This claim is
insubstantial.

It is an unsettled question “whether and under what
circumstances an officer may enter a suspect's home to
make a warrantless arrest.” Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S.
103, 113 n. 13. See also United States v. Watson, 423 U.S.
411, 418 n. 6; United States v. Reed, 572 F. 2d 412 (C.A.
2). There is no dispute, however, that the absence of a
warrant may be justified by exigent circumstances. See
Roaden v. Kentucky, 413 U.S. 496, 505, Johnson Vv.
United States, 333 U.S. 10, 14-15; United States v.
Gardner, 553 F. 2d 946, 947-948 (C.A. 5), certiorari

3The court of appeals correctly concluded that petitioner's arrest
was lawful. But even if the arrest had been invalid, that would not
necessarily require suppression of petitioner's post-arrest statements,
made after he had received Miranda warnings. See Brown v. Illinvis,
422 U.S. 590, 603-604; United States v. Ceccolini, No. 76-1151,
decided March 31, 1978. No other evidence was attributable to the
arrest entry, since the agents waited until a warrant had been
procured before searching petitioner's house. See United States v.
Delguyd, 542 F. 2d 346, 350-352 (C.A. 6). Compare Mincey Vv.
Arizona, No. 77-5353, decided June 21, 1978, slip op. 7.

denied, No. 77-416, January 9, 1978. See also Mincey v.
Arizona, No. 77-5353, decided June 21, 1978, slip op. 6.
Moreover, as the court below properly pointed out,
“exigency does not evolve from one single fact [but turns
on] the totality of the circumstances * * *” (Pet. App. 8a-
9a). So viewed, the facts of this case provided a sufficient
basis for a finding of exigency.

To begin with, as petitioner concedes (Pet. App. 8a), at
the time of the entry the agents clearly had probable
cause to believe that petitioner had imported a substantial
amount of marijuana into the United States only a few
hours earlier and was then present in his home, probably
in possession of large quantities of the easily disposable
drug: based on their earlier surveillance, the substance of
the overheard radio conversations, and the timing of the
arrival and departures of the vehicles and airplane, “the
D.E.A. agents could reasonably believe that the two
vehicles leaving the lake bed contained contraband” (Pet.
App. 10a), and petitioner’s Suburban, one of the two
vehicles that had met the plane carrying the marijuana,
was parked in front of petitioner's home. Additionally,
there was a significant danger that petitioner's con-
federates, who had just been arrested in possession of the
illegally imported marijuana, or other co-conspirators
(whose identities were unknown), would telephone or
otherwise attempt to contact petitioner to warn him of the
government's surveillance (Tr. 702) or that “a concerned
prospective recipient [of the marijuana] might alert
[petitioner] that the delivery was overdue and thus had
possibly been intercepted” (Pet. App. 13a). Petitioner's
training as a pilot and his access to an airplane heightened
the risk of escape (Tr. 684).

Trafficking in controlled substances particularly
requires a prompt law enforcement response. As Judge
Friendly has observed in sustaining a warrantless drug

—— |, '!

arrest in the defendant's home, “agents are entitled to use
their knowledge that efforts to dispose of narcotics and to
escape are characteristic behavior of persons engaged in
the narcotics traffic * * *.” United States v. Manning, 448
F. 2d 992, 998-999 (C.A. 2) (en banc), certiorari denied,
404 U.S. 995. Accord, United States v. Davis, 461 F. 2d
1026, 1031-1032 (C.A. 3) (“Because of the speed with
which narcotics can be dispersed or destroyed, agents
must be able to move as quickly as possible. * * *
[W]henever the Government attempts to control narcotics
and narcotics peddlers, it is dealing with a type of exigent
circumstance, the disappearance of evidence or
contraband, long recognized as creating an exception to
the need for.an arrest or search warrant.”) Moreover,
while there was no evidence in this case that petitioner
was actually armed, it was reasonable for the agents to
believe that he might have had a gun in his house, given
the common experience that large scale drug dealers often
employ weapons. Indeed, the agents testified that they
were concerned for their safety and feared thai the
occupants of petitioner's home were armed (Tr. 700-
701, 706). The presence of multiple suspects in the house
increased the dangers facing the agents.

In short, there was a significant possibility that
petitioner would escape or destroy evidence unless the
D.E.A. agents acted expeditiously. See, ¢.g., Aer \.
California, 374 U.S. 23, 40; United States v. Mc Laughlin,
525 F. 2d 517, 521 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 427 U.S.
904; United States v. Bustamanie-Gamez, 488 F. 2d 4, 8
(C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 416 U.S. 970; United States v.
Rubin, 474 F. 2d 262, 268-270 (C.A. 3), certiorari denied

sub nom. Agran v. United States, 414 U.S. 833. The
agents’ decision to arrest petitioner therefore was a
reasonable response to a fast developing chain of
events in the early hours of the morning.‘

2. Petitioner argues (Pet. 7-8) that the court of appeals
erred in applying a “clearly erroneous” standard to review
the district court's finding of exigent circumstances. We
note at the outset that the court below did not state that it
would have disagreed with the trial judge if it had decided
the exigent circumstances question de novo. Moreover,
for the reasons outlined above, the district court's
determination was plainly correct. Hence, this issue
appears to be only of academic importance in the context
of this case.

In any event, while the matter is not free from doubt,
the weight of authority supports the court of appeals’
decision. Although the “exigent circumstances”
determination to some extent involves a mixed question
of fact and law, it involves the sort of case-specific issue,
like the voluntariness ve/ non of a defendant's confession
or consent to search, in which deference should be given
to the “fact-finding tribunal's experience with the

‘There is a strong similarity between this case and the cases
applying the doctrine of “hot pursuit.” While in a literal sense there
was no “chase” here, there was no chase in Warden v. Hayden, 387
U.S. 294, where the suspect was already inside his home when the
officers learned of his whereabouts. Nor was there a “chase” in other
recent cases applying the “hot pursuit” doctrine. See, ¢.g., United
States v. Scott, 520 F. 2d 697, 699-700 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 423
U.S. 1056; United States v. Holland, 511 F. 2d 38, 43-44 (C.A. 6),
certiorari denied, 421 U.S. 1001; United States v. Holiday, 457 F. 2d
912, 914 (C.A. 3), certiorari denied, 409 U.S. 913; United Siaies v.
Rose, 440 F. 2d 832, 834 (C.A. 6), certiorari denied, 404 U.S. 838. CI.
United States v. Easter, 552 F. 2d 230, 233 (C.A. 8); certiorari denied,
434 U.S. 844; United States ex rel. Cardaio v. Casscles, 446 F. 2d 632.
637-638 (C.A. 2).

mainsprings of human conduct.” Commissioner Vv.
Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278, 289. See United States v.
Bradshaw, 515 F. 2d 360, 364-365 (C.A. D.C.), reversed
on other grounds en banc sub nom. United States v.
Robinson, 533 F. 2d 578, certiorari denied, 424 U.S. 956;
United States v. Gargotto, 510 F. 2d 409 (C.A. 6),
certiorari denied, 421 U.S. 987. This Court and the lower
courts therefore have repeatedly held that a trial judge's
determination of matters such as these—even if they
should not be accorded the same degsee of deference as a
credibility determination—should not be disturbed unless
clearly erroneous. See, e.g., Campbell v. United States,
373 U.S. 487, 493 (producibility of interview reports
under the Jencks Act); Davis v. United States, 328 U.S.
§82, 593 (voluntariness of a consent to search); United
States v. McCaleb, 552 F. 2d 717, 720-721 (C.A. 6)
(same); United States v. Lemon, 550 F. 2d 467, 472(C.A.
9) (same); United States v. Woodward, 546 F. 2d 576
(C.A. 4) (search not the result of allegedly unlawiul
surveillance); United States v. Jackson, 544 F. 2d 407, 410
(C.A. 9) (abandonment of property); United Siaies \v.
Quinn, 540 F. 2d 357, 361 (C.A. 8) (prejudice to the
defendant from pre-indictment delay). See generally
United States v. Hart, 546 F. 2d 798, 801-802 (C.A. 9),
certiorari denied sub nom. Robles v. United Sitaies,
429 U.S. 1120; United States v. Tallman, 437 F. 2d
1103, 1104-1105 (C.A. 7); Jackson v. United States,
353 F. 2d 862, 864-865 (C.A. D.C.). After observing the
witnesses and hearing the evidence at the suppression
hearing, the district court was in by far the best
position to judge whether the agents’ swift action was
reasonable in the circumstances of this case. Since the
court of appeals found the issue to be a close one, it
properly concluded not to disturb the lower court's
determination.

10

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

Wave H. McCret, JR.,
Solicitor General.

PHitie B. HEYMANN,

Assistant Attorney General.

JEROME M. FEIT,
FRANK J. MARINE,
Attorneys.

AuGustT 1978.

DO}-1978-08

ie ee

>

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1209%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
