# Reply Brief — Goldstein v. Collin

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1171%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 910

## Text

No. 77-1788

Iu the q
Supreme Court of the United States

Srrinc Term, 1978

SOL GOLDSTEIN, on his own behalf and on behalf of a class
similarly situated,
Petitioner, |
vs.

FRANCIS JOSEPH COLLIN, a/k/a FRANK COLLIN, and all
persons acting in concert with him under the name of
The National Socialist Party of America,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

supreme Court ol Illinois

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF ON RESPONDENTS’
SUGGESTION OF MOOTNESS

JEROME H. TORSHEN
11 South LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603

ELLIOT L. BIEN

208 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604
Counsel for Petitioner

7

UNITED STATES LAW PRINTING CO., CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60618 (312) 525-6581

7 7

- 2

PAGE
ID” ican hia acaahhonsc casas maiemmnniaeiatsceamienes 1
I na a ae 3
IES EEN E ENE an nar Her nn nanase arses Ioana 6
Appendix—

Exhibit 1—Chicago Tribune, June 23, 1978 ........ App. 1

AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Buffalo Forge Co. v. United Steelworkers, 428 U.S, 397

SED cebaintaigsaaiescisshidensscevaaiail duals bins hlesnssainicinbusihtanisatieadienct 3,4
Bus Employees v. Missouri, 374 U.S. 74 (1963) ........... 3
Carroll v. President and Commissioners of Princess

Anne, 393 U.S. 175 (1968) we. wiaiinadaede 3, 4, 5
Sosna v. lowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975) eee 3
U.S. v. W.T. Grant Company, 345 U.S. 629 (1952) ....... 3

Walling v. Helmerich & Payne, Inc., 323 U.S. 37 (1944) 3

Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 (1975) ............. 3,4
Other Authorities
First Amendment to U. S. Constitution 0000000000000... 2, 5, 6

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

Sprinc ‘Term, 1978

No. 77-1788

SOL GOLDSTEIN, on his own behalf and on behalf of a class
similarly situated,
Petitioner,
vs.

FRANCIS JOSEPH COLLIN, 2/k a FRANK COLLIN, and all
persons acting in concert with him under the name of
The National Socialist Party of America,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Illinois

ee ee ee ee

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF ON RESPONDENTS’
SUGGESTION OF MOOTNESS

Introduction

This cause is not moot. Although respondents cancelled
their proposed demonstration in Skokie after the instant
petition was filed and after petitioner’s two emergency
motions to Justices of this Court had been filed and denied.
respondent Collin immediately stated to the press:

2

‘‘'That] does not mean I forego any future demon-
stration in Skokie,’’ he said. ‘‘It means only this one
has been cancelled.’’ (Chicago Tribune, June 23, 1978,
p. 1) (Exhibit 1, App. p. 1)

Thus, respondents in their Brief in Opposition to the
Petition herein, can accurately represent:

At present, respondents have no plans to hold an as-
sembly in Skokie, and no permit applications for such
an assembly are pending at this time. (Brief in Opp.,
p. 7) (emphasis added).

However, respondents have not abandoned the conduct of
which petitioner complains. They have carefully main-
tained their option to stage a Nazi-style demonstration in a
community of holocaust survivors. Although respondents
seek to foreclose review here of the summary dismissal
without any semblance of established procedure, of the
survivors’ complaint, that dismissal has a continuing im-
pact upon the petitioner and the class he represents. The
judgment below, if it remains extant, leaves the petitioner
class with the overhanging threat of a rescheduling of a
Nazi-style demonstration, at respondents’ sole discretion
should ‘‘agitation’’* again suit their ends, and with a final
state holding on record that the First Amendment absolute-
ly bars legal recourse against even tortious aspects of the
demonstration. Respondents’ qualified cancellation does
not render this case moot under the decisions of this Court.

*Elaborating on his eleventh hour cancellation respondent
Collin stated:
“The whole Skokie issue which began in March, 1977, was
pure agitation on our part to force the system to restore our
rights to free speech,” he said. (Exhibit 1, p. 18, App. 2)

3

Argument

A voluntary discontinuance of challenged conduct does
not ipso facto render the challenge moot and nonjusticiable.
Walling v. Helmerich & Payne, Inc., 323 U.S. 37 (1944);
US. v. W.T. Grant Company, 345 U.S. 629 (1952); Bus
Employees v. Missouri, 374 U.S. 74 (1963); Buffalo Forge
Co. v. United Steelworkers, 428 U.S. 397 (1976); and
accord, Carroll vy. President and Commissioners of Princess
Anmme, 393 U.S. 175 (1968). Where the complaining party
has an interest which continues to be exposed to the type
of harm complained of, unlike Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393
(1975) and Weinstein vy. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 (1975),
the case or controversy continues in effect for jurisdictional

purposes.

‘‘The defendant is free to return to his old ways.’’
U.S. v. W.T. Grant Co., supra, 345 U.S. at 632. Grant
held a controversy justiciable despite a voluntary cessation
and sworn disclaimer of intention to resume an interlock-
ing directorate—something significantly stronger than
respondents’ bare cancellation of one demonstration. Even
a strong disclaimer of the Grant type ‘‘does not suffice to
make a case moot... .’’ Jd. at 633

The suggestion of mootness in Walling, supra, was based
on the voluntary relinquishment of a pay plan challenged
as an evasion of federal overtime law. The Court stated:

‘*Despite respondent's voluntary cessation of the chal-
lenged conduct, a controversy between the parties over
the legality of the split-day plan still remains. Volun-
tary discontinuance of an alleged illegal activity does
not operate to remove a case from the ambit of judicial
power. See Hecht Co, v. Bowles, 321 US 321, 327, 88
L ed 754, 759, 64 S Ct 587; Otis & Co. v. Securities
& Exch. Commission (CCA 6th) 106 F (2d) 579, 583,

4

584. Respondent has consistently urged the validity
of the split-day plan and would presumably be free to
resume the use of this illegal plan were not some
effective restraint made. There is thus ‘an actual
controversy, and adverse interests,’... .’’ 323 U.S. at
43.

On point with Walling is the respondents’ clear position in
this case that they legally can and accordingly might re-
schedule the complained of demonstration in Skokie.

In Buffalo Forge, supra, the Court held a case involving
an allegedly unlawful sympathy strike to present ‘‘a live
controversy despite the J & M employees’ return to the
job.”’ 428 U.S. 397 at 403, fn. 8. The disputed work
stoppage, ‘‘though ended, might ‘be resumed at any time
in the near future at the direction of the International
Union, otherwise.’’’ Jd. at 403. Given the complaining
employer’s continuing exposure to the kind of harm at
issue, the voluntary cessation did not render the case moot
even though at the time of Supreme Court adjudication
there were no evident plans for a resumption. Contrary
to Buffalo Forge and the instant case, the Weinstein
prisoner had no continuing exposure to the harm he had
complained of beyond that faced by any other citizen. (The
remaining Sosna class members faced continuing preju-
dice, not merely exposure, under challenged state resi-
dency requirement.)

Finally,* in Carroll, supra, the Court refused to dismiss
us moot a First Amendment challenge to a ten-day restrain-

* Respondents also argue, for the first time, that since peti-
tioner’s complaint mentioned only the first date respondents
scheduled for their demonstration petitioner has no basis for
complaining as to later dates. Aside from the broad scope of
equitable jurisdiction, respondents’ consistent treatment of this
action as live despite the date issue estops them from asserting
it now, after significant reliance on their original position by
the petitioner.

5)

ing order whose operation had long since terminated. The
Court’s first citation was to Bus Employees, supra, a case
involving the seizure of a business, stating its holding as
follows :

‘**{A |lthough the seizure had been terminated, the case
was not moot beeause the labor dispute [which gave
rise to the seizure! remains unresolved. There thus
exists ... not merely the speculative possibility of in-
vocation of the |seizure law} in some future labor dis-
pute, but the presence of an existing unresolved dis-
pute which continues .. .”* Quoted at 393 U.S. 175 at 178.

Although there was no mention in Carroll of any exist-
ing plan or intention by the Princess Anne officials to seek
another restraining order against the Carroll group, the
group’s continuing activity and the officials’ continuing op-
position kept the constitutional issue justiciable :

‘*The underlying question persists and is agitated by
the continuing activities and program of petitioners:
whether, by what processes, and to what extent the au-
thorities of the local government may restrict peti-

tioners in their rallies and public meetings.’’ 393 U.S.
at 179.

Lastly, because of the existence of the present under-
lying decision of the Illinois Supreme Court and the short
time frame which would exist if respondents once again
decided to demonstrate in Skokie, the issues presented here
would, in all likelihood, evade judicial review.

Thus, very much alive in the instant case is the question,
similar to that in Carroll, whether the First Amendment
forecloses any and all consideration by a state court of
equity of narrow injunctive relief against an admittedly

6

tortious and irreparable aspect* of a prospective demon-
stration. The dispute between the neo-Nazis and the holo-
caust survivors in Skokie has not abated because of re-
spondents’ latest unilateral cancellation of a demonstration.
Petitioner and his class should not be required to remain
in a state of legal and psychological jeopardy subject to a
rescheduling of a Nazi-style demonstration in their com-
munity, with all the attendant trauma to be expected there-
from. The decisions of this Court do not require such a
result.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should
issue to review ‘uc judgment and opinion of the Supreme
Court of Illinois.

Respectfully submitted,

Sot Goipsrein, on his own behalf,
and on behalf of a class similarly
situated, Petitioner
Jerome H, TorsHEN
Exuror L. Bren
Counsel for Petitioner

* This case arises on a motion to dismiss. admitting the allega-
tions of the complaint. Respondents have not challenged peti-
tioner’s statement that the law of the case is that the admitted
allegations, as the trial court held, state a cause of action in
tort and for equitable jurisdiction. Respondents claim only that
the First Amendment provides them an absolute defense to their
proposed conduct.

JeroME H. Torsnen
JEFFREY CoLe

11 South LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603
372-9282

Exurot L. Bren

208 South LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60604
346-8500

KituGeNe Weporr

One IBM Plaza

44th floor

Chicago, Illinois 60611
222-9350

Gerarp LEVAL

233 South Wacker Drive
8000 Sears Tower
Chicago, Illinois 60606
876-8000

Counsel to Plaintiff

—— i

APPENDIX

wii

| 5StarFino.

Bune

«

a
lriday, June 23, 1978

aN 2 Este
- os F3as

Exhibit 1

Contvaucd [rom page ene
July 9 in the park.

“IF CALLA COME fer us, we will join
them as we did ts Sema and in Wash
ington,” Rabbi Pereimuter said.

“if the communuy cails for support to
oppeee the Nazis, we will be there,”
said Maynard Wishner, anolher spokes-
man for the group.

lierman H. Moses, netiona: command-
er of Use Jewish War Veicrans, cancelet
lus organization's pians (lo (ake part in
weeker| counter-denonstralions against
the Nats in Skokie and Chicago.

Gov. Thompson's office announcel
thal plans were canceled to assembic
unis of he National Guard in Skokie (ov
prevent violence if the Nazis had
marched.

Sixty news reporters and camecrainen
jammed the Nazi Party headquarters
for Colin's 6 p.m. press conference.
Uulside the front door were Rabbi Meir
Kahone of the Canferenee of Jewish Ac-
lvls and a hendfui of hu foliowers.

“We expect lo see you in Skokie, Col-
in,"" Rabbi Kahane shouted a few sec-

Collin said the rally Saturday afier-
noon “is definitely on despile what eise
I say here today.”

“THE WHOLE SKUKIE issue which

restore our
Bank

He saxt the news media “nol once
ever reported why we were demonsiral-

_

Nazis Cai. ©

App. 2

omflorms Quad symbeis while Unere, were

-t Skokie march

‘This case han more faceis than the

:
E
|
3
E
i

|

materials
after be pulled his car behind the head-
quarters. Lewis told police be had been

rH
gS
|
Hy

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1171%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
