# Amicus Brief — Secretary of Public Welfare of Pa. v. Institutionalized Juveniles

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1099%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 442 U.S. 640

## Text

Supreme J. . ö
Fd |
No. 77-1715 ep 5 Ne
5 IN THE
18 Supreme Court of the United SF
i 8 OCTOBER TERM, 1978
— * —
; g SECRETARY OF PUBLIC WELFARE, Commonwealth of Penn-
d © sylvania, ALDO COLAUTTI; JOHN FONG, Director of

Haverford State Hospital; NicHoLAs D'ALulsio, Di-
rector of Polk State School and Hospital; C. DUANE
YOUNGBERG, Director of Pennhurst State School and
Hospital, sued as representatives of all others similarly
situated,

. Appellants,

INSTITUTIONALIZED JUVENILES in Pennsylvania institutions
for the mentally ill and the mentally retarded, namely,
KEVIN S.; RICHARD S.; JAMES PAUL M.; Epwarp B.;
RAYMOND C.; WILLIAM B.; FRANCIS B.; Maria L.;
THOMAS W.; NANCY LOUISE D.; GINA S.; and GEORGE
S., by their next friend and guardian ad litem, David
Ferleger, individually and on behalf of all others simi-
larly situated,

Appellees.

On Appeal from the Judgment of the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
AMICUS CURIAE

S. SHEPHEKD TATE, President

JOHN H. LASHLY

RUSSELL E. WEBB

JOSEPH F. VARGYAS

JOHN C. LAMB
American Bar Association
1155 East 60th Street
Chicago, Illinois 60637

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

— 0
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

QUESTION PRESENTED BY AMICUS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

ee RE Ree REE 4„˖7—

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....

ARGUMENT

1. Placement in a mental institution is a constitu-
tionally significant deprivation of liberty and
carries with it other serious and important ad-
TEE RA aN SO

2. Confinement in a mental institution cannot be
constitutionally imposed by the state or under
the authority of state law without adequate pro-
. K

A. The District Court’s emphasis on the right to
adequate notice and to counsel was appropri-
ate in light of applicable precedent and the
1 1E

B. The right to counsel, in particular, has been
emphasized by the American Bar Association
as a matter of sound judicial administration.

C. The District Court was correct in finding that
the Pennsylvania scheme for admission or
commitment of children does not satisfy the
requirements enumerated above

D. The labeling of juvenile mental disability
commitments as civil (rather than criminal),
benevolent, or voluntary does not affect the
applicability of the due process clause

10

10

21

24

26

a

Il

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

E. The imposition of due process protections
upon the institutionalization decision is ne-

XS. cessitated both by the risk of erroneous psy-
~ Ze and other judgments and by the need

to ens. less restrictive alternatives are

adequately - el — — —

3. Children facing — on mental disability
grounds are entitled to substantially the same
procedural protections afforded adults under the
due process clause

A. The decisions of this Court indicate that
parental authority is not without limits, and
that children, as well as adults, are entitled
to constitutional protections

B. This Court’s decisions with regard to abor-
tion reflect the proper balancing of interests
to be applied in the instant cae

C. The District Court properly accommodated
the interests of the parent and child in re-
quiring due process safe guards

D. It cannot be assumed that parents, faced with
legitimate familial problems, will always act
in the best interest of their children with
regard to commitment to a mental institu-
— BA OE en: RT ee

E. Claims of alleged traumatizing or disruptive
effects of due process protections for children
are not supported by the record

— ——̃ —

Page

31

37

40

8

és

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (197 10
In re Ballay, 482 F.2d $48 (D.C. Cir. 1973) _ 15

Bartley v. Kremens, 402 F.Supp. 1039 (E.D. Pa.
1975), vacated and remanded, 431 U.S. 119

A passim
Bazxstrom v. Herold, 383 ‘US. 107 (1966) 10
Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 585 (19717 22
Bell v. Wayne County, 384 F.Supp. 1085 (E.D.

// ee 23, 24, 25
Bellotti v. Baird, 428 U.S. 132 (1976) Oa Oe 37, 39
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) 15
Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (19717 22
Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519 (197577 30, 36
Cafeteria Workers Union v. McElroy, 367 U.S. 886

„ 22
Carey v. Piphus, 98 S. Ct. r 22
In re Coleman, Cir. Ct. No. 76-639-949 AV (Cir.

Ct. Wayne County Mich., Feb. 23, 19777 15
Covington v. Harris, 419 F.2d 617 (D.C. Cir.

12G 33
Davis v. Watkins, 384 F.Supp. 1196 (N.D. Ohio

Le ee 18
Denton v. Commonwealth, 883 S.W. 2d 681 (Ky.

— . haat ima tea ita niacin 23

Dixon v. Attorney General of the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, 325 F.Supp 966 (M.D. Pa. 1971) .. 23
Dizon v. Weinberger, 405 F.Supp. 974 (D.D.C.

—“—ͤ—H᷑X— — . Ä 33
Doremus v. Farrell, 407 F.Supp. 509 (D.

REIS ĩ⅛—VM̃˙—LA‚ L — W W wn 24
Evans v. Washington, C. A. No. 76-0293 (D.D.C.

EE Fi IED sabia intenccriieenictitennrealiiaetiiiniansedneniiintites 18, 33
In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (19877 11, 18, 22, 30, 36
Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968 35
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (197077 22
Goldy v. Beal, 429 F.Supp. 640 (M.D. Pa. 1976) 23
Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975955555 14, 36

Greenwood v. United States, 350 U.S. 366 (1956) 31

IV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) 14

Halderman v. Pennhurst State School and Hos-
pital, 446 F.2d 1295 (E.D. Pa. 1977) 18, 33

Heryford v. Parker, 396 F.2d 393 (10th Cir.
—ͤ TT a ee ee ee ee 25, 30, 41

Horacek v. Exon, 354 F.Supp. 71 (D. Neb. 1973),

order on consent No. 72-L-299 (D. Neb. Oct. 31,
a ⁵— ee Se 18, 41
Humphrey v. Cady, 405 US. |: — 10
Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651 (197777 36

Institutionalized Juveniles v. Secretary of Public
Welfare, No. 72-2272 (E.D. Pa. May 25, 1978) passim
JL. and JR. v. Parham, 412 F.Supp. 112 (M.D.
— * 11, 12, 24
Kaimowitz v. Michigan Department of Mental
Health, No. 73-19434-AW (Cir. Ct. Wayne Coun-
ty, Mich. July 10, 19733 13
Kendall v. True, 391 F.Supp. 413 (W.D. Ky. 1975) 23
Kent v. United States, 401 F.2d 408 (D.C. Cir.

1968) 41
Kidd v. Schmidt, 399 FSupp. 301 (ED. Wis

1975) * 24
Knecht v. Gillman, 488 F.2d 1136 (8th Cir. 1978) 13
Lake v. Cameron, 364 F. 2d 657 (D.C. Cir. 1966) 33

Lessard v. Schmidt, 349 F.Supp. 1078 (E.D. Wis.

1972), vacated on procedural grounds 414 U.S.

473 (1974), on remand 379 F.Supp. 1376 (E.D.

Wis. 1974), vacated on procedural grounds 421

U.S. 957 (1975), on remand 413 F.Supp. 1318

tr . 14, 23, 24, 25, 33
In re Long, 25 N.C. App. 702, 214 S.E. 2d 626
Fr A tnethininnnesiiiieteace 11. 24, 41
Lynch v. Barley. 386 F.Supp. 378 (M.D.Ala.

1% ̃ mA:i: 23. 24, 25, 33
Mackey v. Procunier, 477 F.2d 877 (9th Cir. 1973) 13,14
Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) 21
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923 35

*

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972)
Nelson v. Hudspeth, C.A. No. J75-40(R) (S.D.
Miss. May 16, 1977) a 13
New York State Association for Retarded Children
and Parisi v. Rockefeller, 357 F.Supp. 752
(E.D.N.Y. 1973), modified No. 72-C-356/357
(E.D.N.Y. May 23, 1973), order on consent sub
nom. New York State Association for Retarded
Children and Parisi v. Carey, No. 72-C-356/357
(E.D.N.Y. April 30, 1975), approved 393 F.

I 18, 33, 41
O'Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 (1975) 11, 12,
18, 22, 31, 33

Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976) —................ 15

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925) 35
Pima County Public Fiduciary v. Superior Court,

546 P.2d 354 (Ariz. Ct. App. 19790) 8 24
Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Dan-

forth, 428 U.S. 52 (1976) 37, 38, 39, 41
Price v. Sheppard, 239 N.W. 2d 905 (Minn. 1976) 13
Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944) 36
Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952) name 13
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) 14, 37
In re Roger S., 141 Cal. Rptr. a

OS 0 14. 24
Romeo v. Youngberg, CA No. 76-3429 (E.D. Pa.,

June 6, 1977) 18
Saville v. Treadway, 404 F.Supp. 430 (M.D. Tenn.

1974) 24, 41
Schmerber v. California, 384 US. 757 (1966) 13
Scott v. Plante, 532 F.2d 939 (3rd Cir. 1976) 13
Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479 (1960) 32, 33

In re Sippy, 97 A.2d 455 (D.C. Mun. App. 1953) 41
Souder v. McGuire, 423 F.Supp. 830 (M.D. Pa.
1976) 4 13
Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967) — 22. 30
Stamus v. Leonhardt, 414 F.Supp. 439 (S. D. Iowa
1976) 23

Vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

State ex rel. Hawks v. Lazaro, 202 S. E. 2d 109
. 1 23

Suzuki v. Quisenberry, 411 F.Supp. 1113 (D.
rr xx——— 23, 24

Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community
School District, 393 U.S. 503 (196997 36

Vanderzeil v. Hudspeth, C.A. No. J76-262(R) (S.D.
I I . 18

Welsch v. Likins, 373 F.Supp. 487 (D.Minn. 1974),
enforced No. 4-72-Civ. 451 (D.Minn. Oct. 1,
1974) aff d in part 550 F.2d 112 (8th Cir. 1977) 18, 33

Wheeler v. Glass, 473 F.2d 983 (7th Cir. 1973) 18
In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970)_...________.. 10, 22, 36
Winters v. Miller, 446 F.2d 65 (2nd Cir. 1971),

cert. den. 404 U.S. 985 (197177 13
Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971) 15
Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (197272 35
Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1974) 21
Wouri v. Zitnay, Civ. No. 75-80-SD (S.D. Maine

July 14, 1978) 2 a a

Wyatt v. Stickney, 325 F.Supp. 781 (M. D. Ala.
1971), 334 F.Supp. 1341 (M.D. Ala. 1971), 344
F.Supp. 373 and 387 (M.D. Ala. 1972), aff'd sub
nom. Wyatt v. Aderholt, 503 F.2d 1305 (5th Cir.
1974) = 18, 33
Wyatt v. Hardin, No. 3195-N (M.D. Ala. February
28, 1975, June 26, 1975, and July 1, 19755 13

28 U.S.C. § 1253 ‘ — 69
28 U.S.C. § 1331 . —— — 4
t
4

90
28 U.S.C. § 2281

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

28 U.S.C. § 2284 4

42 U.S.C. § 1983 4
21 D.C. Code §§ 501f. (1964 Hospitalization of the

Mentally Ill Act) 33

50 P.S. §§ 4402, 4403 (Sections 402 and 403, Penn-
Sylvania Mental Health and Mental Retardation
Act of 1966) 4, 5, 6, 7, 28
50 P.S. §§ 7201, 7205, 7206 (Sections 201, 205, and
206, Pennsylvania Mental Health Procedures

Act of 1976) 6, 28, 29, 30
Regulations:
45 C. F. R. § 249.10(b) (16) (iii) . 34
45 C.F.R. § 249.13(a) (2) (iv) 34
, e on 5, 6, 28, 30
Miscellaneous:

ABA Comm. on Standards of Judicial Admin.,

Standards Relating to Trial Courts, §§ 2.20,

2.72 3, 26, 27
American Psychiatric Association, “Position State-

ment on Discrimination Against Persons with

Previous Psychiatric Treatment,” 135 Am. J.

Psy. 643 (1978) 16
Barton, Institutional Neurosis (2d ed. 1966) 18
Bord, “Rejection of the Mentally III: Continuities

and Further Developments,” 18 Soc. Prob. 496

—ͤͤ » ticle ata ait 16
Bowlby, Child Care and Growth of Love (1953) 19
Brakel & Rock, The Mentally Disabled and the

r x 2
Centerwell and Centerwell, A Study of Children

with Mongolism Reared in the Home,” 25 Pedi-

atrics 678 (1961) 20
Comment, “Developments in the Law—Civil Com-

mitment of the Mentally Ill,” 87 Harv. L. Rev.

1190 (1974) 14

VIII

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Department of Health, Education and Welfare,
National Center for Child Abuse and Neglect,
“Child Abuse and Neglect Statistical Information
Sheet” a

“Due Process Limitations on Parental Rights to
Commit Children to Mental Institutions,” 48
U. Colo. L. Rev. 235 (1977) ;

Edgerton, The Cloak of Competence: Stigma in
the Lives of the Mentally Retarded (1967)

Ellis, “Volunteering Children: Parental Commit-
ment of Minors to Mental Institutions,” 62 Calif.
L. Rev. 840 (1974)

Ennis & Litwack, “Psychiatry and the Presumption
of Expertise: Flipping Coins in the Courtroom,”
62 Calif. L. Rev. 698 (1974)...

Flint, The Child and the Institution (1966)

Fracchia, et al., “Public Views of Ex-Mental Pa-
tients: A Note on Perceived Danger®usness and
Unpredictability,” 38 Psych. Rep. 495 (1976)

Friedman, “Legal Regulation of Applied Behav-
ioral Analysis in Mental Institutions and Pris-
ons,” 17 Ariz. L. Rev. 39 (19759

Glasscote, Children and Mental Health Centers
(1972)

Glenn, “The Least Restrictive Alternative in Resi-
dential Care and the Principle of Normalization,”
in The Mentally Retarded Citizen and the Law,

Page

16, 17

13

19

(1976) 13, 19, 34

Goffman, Asylums (1961) 6
Goldstein, Solnit & Freud, Beyond the Best Interest
r
Gruenberg, The Social Breakdown Syndrome—
Some Origins,” 123 Am. J. Psychiatry 12
(1967)
Hobbs, The Futures of Children (197577
Hobbs (ed.), Issues in the Classification of Chil-
dren (1975)

18
12
18
20

13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Howard, “The Ex-Mental Patient as an Employee,”
45 Am. J. Orthopsych. 479 (197955
IJA-ABA, Standards Relating to Counsel for Pri-
vate Parties (Tent. Draft, 1977) ae
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals,
Accreditation Manual for Psychiatric Facilities
Serving Children and Adolescents (1974) —
Joint Commission on the Mental Health of Chil-
dren, Crisis in Child Mental Health: Challenge
I i ceeltcmsaion
Kaufman, “The Effects of Institutionalization on
Development of Stereotyped and Social Beha-
viors in Mental Defectives,” 71 Am. J. Men.
Def. 581 (1967)
Kaufman, “The Formation of a Learning Set in
Institutionalized and Non-Institutionalized Men-
tal Defectives,” 67 Am. J. Men. Def. 601
(1963)
Klaber & Butterfield, “Sterotyped Rocking—A
Measure of Institution and Ward Effectiveness,”
73 Am. J. Men. Def. 13 (1968) ———____.....
Leland & D. Smith, Mental Retardation: Present
and Future Perspectives (1974)
Lindman & McIntyre, The Mentally Disabled and
D ear nciliataniitintlinibiotints
Lyle, “The Effect of an Institution Environment
Upon the Verbal Development of Imbecile Chil-
dren,” 1 J. Men. Def. Res. 1 (1960)...
Matthews, Mental Disability and the Criminal Law
11% aS ens ee eC
Menolascino, “Emotional Disturbance and Mental
Retardation,” 70 Am. J. Men. Def. 248 (1965)
“Mental Illness: A Suspect Classification?,” 83
r ..
“Minors’ Right to Due Process: Does it Extend
to Commitment to Mental Institutions?” 52

Page

16

13, 19

21

21

15

Notre Dame Law. 136 (1976) 12, 15, 25

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Mosley, et al., “Effects of Social and Non-Social
Stimuli on the Stereotyped Behaviors of Re
tarded Children,” 74 Am. J. Men. Def. 809
(1970) _... 21

Panneton, “Children, Commitment and Consent:

A Constitutional Crisis,“ 10 Fam. L.Q. 295
(1977) 37

Plotkin, “Limiting the Therapeutic Orgy: Mental
Patients’ Right to Refuse Treatment,” 72 Nw. L.

Rev. 461 (1978) 14

President’s Commission on Mental Health, Public
Attitudes and Use of Media for Promotion of
Mental Health, in Task Panel Reports (Ap-

r 15
President's Commission on Mental Health, Report
to the President (1979 3, 15, 18, 23, 34

President's Committee on Mental Retardation,
The Mentally Retarded Citizen and the Law
(1976) 17
Provence & Lipton, Infants in Institutions (1962) 13, 19,

20
Rock, Jacobson & Janopaul, Hospitalization and
Discharge of the Mentally Ill (1968) 2
Rosenhan, “On Being Sane in Insane Places,”
113 Santa Clara L. Rev. 379 (1973) aie 32

Sarbin & Mancuso, “Failure of a Moral Enterprise:

Attitudes of the Public Toward Mental IIlness,“

35 J. Consulting & Clinical Psych. 159 (1970) 15
Scheerenberger, Deinstitutionalization and Institu-

tional Reform, 133 (1976) * 41
Severance & Gasstrom, Effects of the Label Men-

tally Retarded’ on Causal Explanations for Suc-

cess and Failure Outcomes,” 81 Am. J. Men.

Def. 547 (1977) 16
Shah, “Dangerousness: Some Definitional, Con-

ceptual, and Public Policy Issues,” in Perspec-

tives in Law and Psychology (B. Sales ed. 1977) 32

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Shah, “Some Interactions of Law and Mental
Health in the Handling of Social Deviance,” 23
Catholic U. L. Rev. 647 (1974)

Sternlight and Seigel, “Institutional Residence and
Intellectual Functioning,” 12 J. Men. Def. Res.
ET Cae

Stimpson, “Effects of Early Institutionalization on
Growth and Development of Young Children
with Down’s Snydrome,” 67 Mich. Med. 1213
—Td——

Teitelbaum and Ellis, The Liberty Interest of
Children: Due Process Rights and Their Appli-

Page

32

20

cation,“ 12 Fam. L. G. 153 (Fall, 1978) 16, 22, 29,

Tizard & Rees, The Effect of Early Institutional
Rearing on the Behavior Problems and Affec-
tional Relationships of Four-Year-Old Children,”
16 J. Child Psychology-Psychiatry 61 (1975)

Wolfensberger, The Principle of Normalization in
Human Services (1972

Youngleson, “The Need to Affiliate and Self-
Esteem in Institutionalized Children,” 26 J. Per-
sonality and Soc. Psychology 280 (1973

32, 41

20

34

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 77-1715

SECRETARY OF PUBLIC WELFARE, Commonwealth of Penn-
sylvania, ALDO COLAUTTI; JOHN FOoNG, Director of
Haverford State Hospital; NicHoLas D’ALuIsio, Di-
rector of Polk State School and Hospital: C. DUANE
YOUNGBERG, Director of Pennhurst State School and
Hospital, sued as representatives of all others similarly
situated,

. Appellants,

INSTITUTIONALIZED JUVENILES in Pennsylvania institutions
for the mentally ill and the mentally retarded, namely,
KEVIN S.; RICHARD S.; JAMES PAUL M.; EDWARD B.;
RAYMOND C.; WILLIAM B.; FRANCIS B.; MARIA L.;
THOMAS W.; NANCY LOUISE D.; GINA S.; and GEORGE
S., by their next friend and guardian ad litem, David
Ferleger, individually and on behalf of all others simi-
larly situated,

Appellees.

On Appeal from the Judgment of the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
AMICUS CURIAE

2
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The American Bar Association is a national member-
ship organization of the legal profession. It counts as
members more than 220,000 lawyers from all states and
the District of Columbia and has, since 1944, main-
tained an active interest in the field of mental disability
law.“ This interest was intensified in 1973 when the
Board of Governors of the American Bar Association
established a Commission on the Mentally Disabled, a 17-
member interdisciplinary body charged with promoting
effective legal assistance to the mentally disabled, and
with recommending and implementing programs designed
to correct pervasive deficiencies in the nation’s mental
disability system. Since its inception, the Commission on
the Mentally Disabled has focused its efforts toward, inter
alia: mobilizing, activating, and awarding grants to
local and state bar associations to encourage legal rep-
resentation of the mentally disabled (including appropri-
ate substantive technical assistance) ; establishing and pub-
lishing the Mental Disability Law Reporter (hereinafter
MDLR), an interdisciplinary journal which reports sig-
nificant developments in the mental disability law field;
operating a model in-house patient advocacy project at
three state hospitals in Pennsylvania; and developing
model legislation to secure rights and services for men-
tally retarded and other developmentally disabled persons.

The Commission on the Mentally Disabled has been
active in shaping Association policy with respect to the

1 The Association established a Special Committee on the Rights
of the Mentally III 34 years ago; this committee’s recommendations
led ultimately to the publication of a number of path-breaking
studies by the American Bar Foundation, created by the Associa-
tion in 1952. See Lindman & McIntyre, The Mentally Disabled and
the Law (1961); Rock, Jacobson, & Janopaul, Hospitalization and
Discharge of the Mentally Ill (1968) ; Matthews, Mental Disability
and the Criminal Law (1970); Brakel & Rock, The Mentally Dis-
abled and the Law (rev. ed. 1971).

mentally disabled. Pursuant to a Commission recom-
mendation, the Association’s House of Delegates adopted
in August 1978, a policy statement calling for increased
procedural protections during the civil commitment
process, as recommended by the President’s Commission
on Mental Health in its Report to the President (April
1978).

The Association has also taken the lead in establish-
ing standards for the administration of justice, such
as its Standards for the Administration of Criminal
Justice and its Standards Relating to Trial Courts (see
part 2B, infra). In addition, the Association has re-
cently completed a 23-volume tentative draft of juvenile
justice standards. Thus, the Association is uniquely ex-
perienced and interested in the question now before the
Court.

With due consideration of the extended factual legal
analysis offered in the briefs of the parties and other
amici, the Association, with the written consent of the
parties, sets forth its views herein on the important
question of whether, and to what extent, the Constitution
requires procedural safeguards for minors facing civil
commitment on the basis of alleged mental disability.

QUESTION PRESENTED BY AMICUS

Whether the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment applies to the nominally voluntary but in fact
involuntary civil commitment of juveniles on the basis
of alleged mental disability, and, if so, whether due
process requires substantially the same procedural pro-
tections for such children as it does for adults?

4 * Copies of letters indicating the parties’ consent have been filed
with the Clerk of the Court.

As used herein, the term mental disability“ includes both
mental illness and mental retardation.

1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On November 16, 1972, the plaintiffs in Partley v.
Kremens, 402 F.Supp. 1039 (E.D. Pa. 1975), who were
patients in Pennsylvania’s Haverford State Hospital, filed
a class action pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343
(3) and 42 U.S.C. § 1983 in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. A three-
judge court was sought and convened pursuant to 28
U.S.C. §§ 2281 and 2284. The action was brought against
the Director of Haverford State Hospital and officials of
the Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare, on be-
half of all mentally ill and mentally retarded children
(18 years of age or younger) admitted or committed in-
definitely to mental institutions under Sections 402 and
403 of the Pennsylvania Mental Health and Mental Re-
tardation Act of 1966, 50 P.S. §§ 4402 and 4403.

The minor plaintiffs alleged that the Pennsylvania
statutory procedure constituted a denial of due process
and equal protection of the law under the Fourteenth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States. The
statutory provisions in question provided that persons
18 years of age or younger may be institutionalized upon
the application of a parent, guardian, or person in loco
parentis; such institutionalization is considered a “volun-
tary” admission or commitment.‘ The admission/commit-
ment procedure under challenge provided no opportunity
for a hearing or assistance of counsel and merely re-
quired a finding by the director of the facility upon ad-
mission that the child “is in need of care or observation.”
Subsequent to plaintiffs’ initiation of the action, the
Secretary of Public Welfare published regulations which

*The record in Bartley indicates that “voluntary” admissions or
commitments are often against the expressed wishes of members
of the plaintiff class, and are frequently based upon reasons un-
related to the mental condition of the child involved. 402 F.Supp.
at 1044; A. 210-221.

5

augmented the challenged statutory procedures (3 Pa.
Bull. 1840 (1973)), but which did not address the pro-
cedural deficiencies claimed by plaintiffs.

On July 24, 1975, the District Court ruled on due
process grounds, one judge dissenting, that the voluntary
admission and commitment procedures of 50 P.S. §§ 4402
and 4403 were unconstitutional as applied to children 18
years of age or younger. Bartley v. Kremens, 402 F.
Supp. 1039, 1054 (hereinafter cited as Bartley). Central
to the court’s holding was its determination that a child's
interest in not being institutionalized . . . is safeguarded
by the Fourteenth Amendment.” 402 F.Supp. at 1046-
47. The District Court specifically rejected defendants’
argument that due process protections should not apply
because the state is acting as parens patriae and not as
an adversary in the admission/commitment of children,
and because the admission/commitment proceedings are
civil, not criminal, in nature. The court held that such
reasoning ignores the fact that the child in question is
involuntarily removed from his home and community, the
stigma associated with civil commitment, and the pos-
sibility of erroneously and wrongfully depriving children
of their liberty by committing them to mental institu-
tions without proper fact-finding procedures. 402 F.
Supp. at 1045-1047. The court also found, on the basis of
facts in the record, that “[i]n deciding to institutionalize
their children, parents, as well as guardians ad litem or
persons standing in loco parentis, may at times be acting
against the interest of their children,’ and thus should
not be authorized to waive personal constitutional rights
of their children. 402 F.Supp. at 1047-48. The District
Court also enumerated a range of procedural guarantees
which it said must be afforded prior to institutionaliza-
tion of plaintiff class members on the basis of alleged
mental disability.

The defendants appealed the judgment of the District
Court to this Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1253, and

i

made application for a stay pending appeal. A stay was
denied by the trial court but subsequently granted by this
Court on December 15, 1975. Probable jurisdiction was
noted by this Court on March 22, 1976. On July 9,
1976, the Pennsylvania legislature enacted the Mental
Health Procedures Act of 1976, which repealed the pro-
visions of the 1966 Act, leaving only Sections 402 and
403 in effect as they relate to retarded persons. Article
II of the 1976 Act specifies the procedures for voluntary
inpatient treatment of mentally ill persons. Section 201
of the 1976 Act (50 P.S. 7201) allows a parent,
guardian, or person in loco parentis to apply for commit-
ment/admission of a child under age 14. Section 206 (50
P. S. § 7206) provides for withdrawal from voluntary
inpatient treatment where the parent, guardian, or per-
son in loco parentis applies for the release of the com-
mitted person under age 14.

On May 15, 1977, this Court ruled that the 1976 Act
movted the claims of the named plaintiffs, and that the
1976 Act and the 1973 Regulations had “fragmented”
the class certified by the lower court. Kremens v. Bartley,
431 U.S. 119, 134 (1977). The case was vacated and
remanded “for consideration of the class definition, ex-
clusion of those whose claims are moot, and substitution
of class representatives with live claims.” 431 U.S. at
135.

On May 25, 1978, the District Court ruled that the
procedures for voluntary commitment of mentally ill and
mentally retarded juveniles, as set forth in the 1966
Act, the 1973 Regulations, and the 1976 Act, were
unconstitutional on their face and as applied to plaintiffs,
and enjoined their enforcement. In so ruling, the court
determined that the action could be maintained on behalf
of juveniles under 14 years of age committed under Sec-
tion 201 of the 1976 Act, and on behalf of juveniles 18
years of age or younger committed under Sections 402

7

and 403 of the 1966 Act. Institutionalized Juveniles v.
Secretary of Public Welfare, Civ. Act. No. 72-2272 (E.D.
Pa. May 25, 1978) (hereinafter cited as nstitutionalized
Juveniles) .*

The Iustitutionalized Juveniles court reaffirmed its con-
clusions in Bartley that plaintiffs had a liberty interest,
protectable under the Fourteenth Amendment, in not
being institutionalized without due process of law. Bartley,
402 F.Supp. at 1046; Institutionalized Juveniles, A.
1076a-77a. This liberty interest was found to encom-
pass protection of the juveniles against physical re-
straint and confinement, as well as protection of the ju-
veniles’ reputation, which was found to be implicated
because of the stigma attached to institutional commit-
ment. Institutionalized Juveniles, A. 107Ta. The court
further reaffirmed its earlier holding that parents could
not waive the constitutional right of their children not
to be deprived of liberty without due process of law
(Bartley, 402 F.Supp. at 1047, Institutionalized Juveniles,
A. 1078a), citing the “substantial stigma” attached to
institutionalization, the “substantial danger of error in
the diagnosis of mental illness and mental retardation,”
the potential for long-term loss of liberty, and the “sub-
stantial potential for conflict between the interests of the
parent and child.” Institutionalized Juveniles, A. 1077a-
78a.

The /nstitutionalized Juveniles court also affirmed and
elaborated on the procedural due process requirements
set forth in Bartley at 402 F.Supp. 1053. As set forth
in Institutionalized Juveniles, the following procedures
were required to attend the admission/commitment of
plaintiff class members on the basis of alleged mental
lisability :

For the convenience of the Court, page references to the text of

the Institutionalized Juveniles opinion will be made to Volume III
of the Appendix, which reproduces the opinion at A. 105la-1115a.

A. [Notice] Prior written notice of the date, time
and place of both the probable cause and full commit-
ment hearings and a statement of the grounds for
the proposed commitment; the juvenile’s attorney or
other representative must be in receipt of notice at
least forty-eight (48) hours prior to the initial hear-
ing. Until the Legislature establishes some other
procedure consonant with our Opinion and Order,
this notice must be sent not only to the juvenile but
also to the Clerk of the Court with jurisdiction to be
forwarded to the juvenile’s attorney.

B. [Counsel] Counsel or other trained represen-
tative during all significant stages of the commit-
ment process; if the juvenile is indigent, counsel or
— trained representative shall be provided for
ree.

C. [Presence of Juvenile and Other Hearing Rights
Presence of the juvenile at all commitment — —
an opportuni - Sa es See and cross-
examination witnesses, and an opportuni
7 —
the juvenile's behalf.
D. [Standard of Proof]! A finding by clear and
convincing proof at the full commitment hearing that
the juvenile is in need of institutionalizati
E. [Probable Cause Hearing] A hearing within
seventy-two (72) hours from the date of the initial
detention to test whether or not there is probable
cause to believe that institutionalization is necessary.
F. [Full Commitment Hearing} A full commitment
— within * weeks from the date of the
ini detention. nstitutionalized Juveniles,
1093a-94a]
As in Bartley, 402 F.Supp. 1053 n.26, the Institutional-
tzed Juveniles court specified in its opinion and order
at A.1079a, n.48, and its implementing order at A. 1094a,
1096a, and at 1098a, that with the exception of notice

and counsel, all of the above listed protections could be
waived in appropriate cases by a child or, in some in-
stances, by counsel or other representative, subject to
approval by the “unbiased tribunal” which was to be the
forum for the hearings on commitment.“

The defendants appealed the judgment of the District
Court to this Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1253.

Probable jurisdiction was noted by the Court on June
19, 1978, and a stay of the lower court’s order was
granted by Mr. Justice Brennan on July 25, 1978.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Civil commitment of an individual on grounds of al-
leged mental illness/retardation is a constitutionally sig-
nificant deprivation of personal liberty which carries with
it serious adverse consequences and disabilities. Such
deprivations and disabilities may not constitutionally be
imposed without adequate procedural safeguards where
the commitment of the individual is involuntary, in fact
or in law. Fact finding procedures are particularly im-
portant where, as here, the risk of error is substantial,
and where, as here, identification of appropriate less re-
strictive alternatives may obviate the need for commit-
ment to a mental institution.

The asserted interest of the state in providing treat-
ment to mentally disabled juveniles and in preserving
the family unit does not justify a substantially different
or less stringent application of the Due Process Clause
with respect to mental disability commitments of children.

This tribunal was not necessarily required to be a court, Bartley,
402 F.Supp. at 1049 n.18, Institutionalized Juveniles, A. 1082a, and
indeed the state was left free to develop alternative procedural
safeguards which would be as effective as those specified by the
court. Bartley, 402 F.Supp. at 1048 n.16, Institutionalized Jureniles,
A. 1082a.

10

While parents, of course, can and should be involved in
any decision to institutionalize a child, it cannot be as-
sumed in every case that the parent is acting in the best
interest of the child. Thus, the final commitment de-
cision should be made, pursuant to appropriate proce-
dures, by an objective and unbiased tribunal.

ARGUMENT

1. Placement in a Mental Institution Is a Constitutionally
Significant Deprivation of Liberty and Carries With It
Other Serious and Important Adverse Consequences.

Loss of liberty. Commitment to a mental institution
necessarily entails a “massive curtailment of liberty,”
Humphrey v. Cady, 405 U.S. 504, 509 (1972), and in-
evitably affects “fundamental rights.” Baxstrom v. Herold,
383 U.S. 107, 113 (1966). Perhaps the most basic aspect
of constitutional liberty is the right to be free from un-
warranted physical confinement. Arnett v. Kennedy, 416
U.S. 134, 157 (1974). Avoiding extreme restrictions on
personal liberty such as those imposed by involuntary
civil commitment has been held by this Court to be an
interest of “transcending value.” In re Winship, 397
U.S. 358, 364 (1970).

Although there may be differences between the involun-
tary commitment of an adult, where the state may as-
sume a more active role, and the commitment of a minor,
in which the parents are more directly involved,’ the

*As of 1977 the following states had voluntary commitment
statutes allowing parents or guardians to commit minors: Alaska,
Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of
Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Ken-
tucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri,
Nevada (due process rights, including right to counsel and a hear-
ing, are not forfeited when children are admitted by their parents),
New Jersey (modified by state Supreme Court rule November 12,
1974), New Mexico, New York (minor may effect his own releaes
North Carolina (statute declared unconstitutional in Jn re Long,

W

11

results in terms of physical and emotional deprivations
are, if different in kind, at least equal in impact and
Severity.“ Adults and children alike are deprived of their
basic right to personal liberty; all are removed from their
homes, communities, and normal daily activities, and are
subjectec to the custody and control of persons (usually
agents oi the state) not of their own choosing.

The commitment of a minor to an institution may be
a traumatizing disruption of his life which cannot fail
to have far-reaching consequences. A committed child is
separated from a known environment of family, friends,
and school and plunged into a frightening, unfamiliar
world. See In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 27 (1967). As the
court in J.L. and J.R. v. Parham, 412 F.Supp. 112 (M.D.
Ga. 1976) put it, perhaps a bit sentimentally but none-
theless accurately:

25 N.C. App. 702, 214 S.E.2d 626 (1975)), North Dakota, Ohio,
Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina (minor under age 16 may apply
for his own release), Tennessee (child may apply for his own re-
lease), Utah, Virginia, Washington ( nsent of minor over age 13
required), West Virginia (minor age 12 and over may apply for his
own release), Wisconsin (consent of minor over age 13 required),
and Wyoming.

The following states had no age distinction in their voluntary
commitment statutes: Iowa, Louisiana, Idaho (but if a parent com-
mits a minor, consent of the parent is required for release), Min-
nesota, Nebraska, and Rhode Island. A child's consent is required
in Delaware, Maine, Montana, and Texas. Alabama considers com-
mitment of a child by his parents to be involuntary commitment.

commitment statute. “Due Process Limitations on Parental Rights
to Commit Children to Mental Institutions,” 48 U. Colo. L. Rev.
235, 236 (1977).

* Parental or familial involvement is not uncommon in the civil
commitment of adults. See O Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563,
565 (1975), where the petitioner was committed at the instance
of his parents and spent 15 years in the Florida State Hospital for
the mentally ill.

12

Like O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563, 95 S.Ct.
2486, 45 L.Ed.2d 396, (1975), and the question there-
in posed and answered, this case raises the most im-
portant question of every child’s constitutional right
to liberty, not only the liberty that includes freedom
from bodily restraint, but also the liberty that in-
cludes the freedom of an ordinary, every-day child
in the United States of America—the freedom to live
with mothers, fathers, brothers and sisters in what-
ever the family abode may be; the freedom to be
loved and to be spanked; the freedom to go in and

or not to watch and listen to television; the freedom
to buy candy at the corner store; the freedom to be
a normal child in a normal household cared for by
normal parents. [J. L. and J. R. v. Parham, 412 F.
Supp. at 136. Footnote and citation omitted.
Testimony at the trial in this case established the de-
structive consequences of removing a child from familiar
surroundings and the difficulty of subsequent reintegra-
tion into his once familiar world (A. 620-621, 990-991).
See “Minors’ Right to Due Process: Does It Extend to
Commitment to Mental Institutions?” 52 Notre Dame
Law. 136, 140 (1976). The feeling of abandonment oc-

ings sooner than older children. Goldstein, Solnit & Freud,
Beyond the Best Interest of the Child, 40-49 (1973). In-

»The parties in Institutionalized Juveniles stipulated that the
evidence admitted in the initial proceeding was to be deemed in-
cluded in the record of the proceedings in the instant case. Institu-
tionalized Juveniles, A. 1066a, n.17. For the convenience of the
parties and the Court, the printed Appendix used in this Court in
Bartley has been used in Institutionalized Juveriles.

13

stitutionalization may also retard the normal intellectual
and emotional development of a child.” Thus, there is no
reason to assume that the institutionalization decision,
and the fact of institutionalization, are of any less con-
sequence for minors than for adults (A. 575). If any-
thing, the opposite appears to be the case.

Involuntary treatment. In addition to the deprivation
of liberty inherent in an indefinite commitment, such
commitment carries with it the risk of physically intru-
sive treatment which, especially if unwarranted, may
violate the committed individual’s right to bodily integrity.
See Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757, 772 (1966) ;
Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952). Such treat-
ment modalities may include forced administration of
psychotropic medication, see Winters v. Miller, 446 F.2d
65 (2nd Cir. 1971), cert. den. 404 U.S. 985 (1971) ; Scott
v. Plante, 532 F.2d 939 (3rd Cir. 1976); Souder v. Me-
Guire, 423 F.Supp. 830 (M.D. Pa. 1976); aversive con-
ditioning, see Knecht v. Gillman, 488 F.2d 1136 (8th
Cir. 1973); Mackey v. Procunier, 477 F.2d 877 (9th
Cir. 1973); Wyatt v. Hardin, No. 3195-N (M.D. Ala.
February 28, 1975, June 26, 1975, and July 1, 1975),
1 MDLR 55; convulsive therapy, see Wyatt v. Hardin,
supra; Price v. Sheppard, 239 N.W. 2d 905 (Minn.
1976), 1 MDLR 120; Nelson v. Hudspeth, C.A. No. J75-
40(R) (S.D. Miss. May 16, 1977); and even psychosur-
gery, see Kaimowitz v. Michigan Departme of Mental
Health, No. 73-19434-AW (Cir. Ct. Wayne County,
Mich., July 10, 1973), 1 MDLR 147.”

10 Glenn, “The Least Restrictive Alternative in Residential Care
and the Principle of Normalization,” in The Mentally Retarded
Citizen and the Law, at 499-501 (1976); Hobbs (ed.), Issues in the
Classification of Children, at 135, 142-143 (1975); Joint Commis-
sion on the Mental Health of Children, Crisis in Child Mental
Heath: Challenge for the 1970's, at 321-324, 330-331 (1970) ;
Provence & Lipton, /nfants in Institutions, at 19 (1962).

u See generally Friedman, Legal Regulation of Applied Be-
havioral Analysis in Mental Institutions and Prisons,” 17 Ariz. L.

14

Of course, not every institutionalized minor will be
subjected to hazardous or intrusive procedures, but the
fact is that institutionalization, to some degree, confers
upon the state (or perhaps upon a private facility through
the authority of the state) the power to impose treat-
ment upon an institutionalized individual—treatment
which by its very nature may involve “impermissible
tinkering with mental processes,” Mackey v. Procunier,
supra, 477 F.2d at 877, or a violation of the right to
privacy. See Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973); Gris-
wold V. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965). Obviously, no
one, especially a child, should be exposed to the risk of
such treatment without prior determination that it is
warranted and appropriate.

Stigmatization. As courts have noted,“ institutionaliza-
tion on mental disability grounds almost inevitably stig-
matizes the individual involved in a way that adversely
affects him the rest of his life. Such stigmatization may
result in or be accompaniedb y the scorn or obloquy of
one’s peers, loss of employment possibilities and educa-
tion benefits, and other civil disabilities that flow from
institutionalization (A. 569, 574-575, 621-622, 634, 657).

Rev. 39 (1975), and Plotkin, “Limiting the Therapeutic Orgy:
ye — Right to Refuse Treatment,“ 72 Nw. L. Rev.
( ).

FE. g., Lessard v. Schmidt, 349 F.Supp. 1078, 1088-90 (E. D. Wis.
1972), vacated on procedural grounds, 414 U.S. 473 (1974), on re-
mand, 379 F.Supp. 1376 (E.D. Wis. 1974), vacated on procedural
grounds, 421 U.S. 957 (1975), on remand, 413 F.Supp. 1318 (E.D.

— In re Roger S., 141 Cal. Rptr. 298, 569 P. 2d 1286 (Cal.

f. Comment, Developments in the Law Civil Commitment
of the Mentally Ill,” 87 Harv. L. Rev. 1190, 1198-1201 (1974) (com-
mitted persons “may suffer from the social opprobrium which
attaches to treatment for mental illness and which may have more
severe consequences then do formally imposed disabilities.” Note 6
at 1200.) . Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565, 579 (1975) (Charges of mis-
conduct] could seriously damage the students’ standing with their

15

In these circumstances, see Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693,
701-705 (1976), an individual’s interest in his good
reputation is a liberty (or property) interest entitled
to constitutional protection. Board of Regents v. Roth,
408 U.S. 564, 573 (1972); Wisconsin v. Constantineau,
400 U.S. 433 (1971).

The social stigma attached to institutionalization for
either mental illness or mental retardation has been well-
documented. The President’s Commission on Mental
Health found the public frightened and repelled by the
term “mental illness.” Report to the President, supra,
at 55. The Commission’s findings confirm the expert testi-
mony in the record in this case regarding stigma, cited
immediately above. The Commission’s Task Panel on
Public Attitudes and Use of Media for Promotion of
Mental Health (Appendix-Vol. IV) reported that “ig-
norance, prejudice, and fear of ‘mental illness’ and the
‘mentally ill’ remain widespread throughout America,”
and attributed much of this stigma to continuing un-
certainty regarding causes and cures of mental illness.
Id. at 1867. The Task Panel further found that the
general public is often influenced by news accounts and
the popular media, and equates mental illness with violent
and anti-social behavior. Id.“

fellow pupils and teachers as well as interfere with later opportuni-
ties for higher education and employment [footnote omitted].’’).
In re Ballay, 482 F.2d 648, 667-669 (D.C. Cir. 1973). In re Coleman,
Cir. Ct. No. 76-639-949 AV (Cir. Ct. Wayne County, Mich., Feb.
23, 1977). See also “Minors’ Right to Due Process,” supra, 52 Notre
Dame Law. at 140.

1 See also Sarbin & Mancuso, “Failure of a Moral Enterprise:
Attitudes of the Public Toward Mental Illness,” 35 J. Consulting
& Clinical Psych. 159 (1970); Fracchia, et al., “Public Views of
Ex-Mental Patients: A Note on Perceived Dangerousness and Un-
predictability,” 38 Psych. Rep. 495 (1976).

15 This negative public attitude is likewise reflected in the broad
range of civil disabilities legislatively imposed upon persons labeled
“mentally ill.” See Note, “Mental Illness: A Suspect Classifica-
tion?,” 83 Yale L.J. 1237 (1974).

16

The label of mental illness often results in discrimina-
tion against the person to whom it is applied. It has
been observed that “[k]nowledge of previous psychiatric
treatment and/or the possession of a phychiatric label is
. . . used prejudiciously to exclude individuals
American Psychiatrie Association, “Position Statement on
Discrimination Against Persons with Previous Psychi-
atric Treatment,” 135 Am. J. Psy. 643, 644 (1978). The
degree of stigmatization has been found to increase pro-
portionately with the level of treatment and official in-
tervention (Bord, “Rejection of the Mentally Ill: Con-
tinuities and Further Developments,” 18 Soc. Prob. 496
(1971)), and to produce negative expectations among
those whom the person later encounters. This is particu-
larly true in the area of employment, where studies have
found potential employers reluctant to hire former pa-
tients because such employees are believed to cause prob-
lems, to require increased supervision, and to be less re-
sponsible.“

The stigma of being labeled mentally retarded may be
even more devastating, and has been called “uniquely
damaging.” Teitelbaum and Ellis, “The Liberty Interest
of Children: Due Process Rights and Their Application,”
12 Fam. L.Q. 153, at 31 (manuscript) (Fall, 1978)
(hereinafter cited as Teitelbaum and Ellis. Page cita-
tions herein are to manuscript submitted for publication.)
The label implies that its holder is incompetent in all
areas of practical affairs, and is particularly burdensome
in a society such as ours which places a premium on
intelligence. Jd. In addition, retardation, unlike mental
illness, is viewed as permanent and incurable. Edger-
ton, The Cloak of Competence: Stigma in the Lives of the
Mentally Retarded, 207 (1967); see Severance & Gass-
trom, “Effects of the Label ‘Mentally Retarded’ on Causal

„Howard. “The Ex-Mental Patient as an Employee,” 45 Am. J.
Orthopsych. 479, 479-80 (1975).

17

Explanations for Success and Failure Outcomes,” 81 Am.
J. Men. Def. 547 (1977). The label has been seen to
foreclose vocational options (even when employed, the
retarded arte often relegated to unskilled or semi-
skilled occupations), and to deny participation in social
activities “average” persons take for granted (for ex-
ample, retarded persons are often prevented from enter-
ing into contracts or obtaining driver’s licenses). See
President’s Committee on Mental Retardation, The Men-
tally Retarded Citizen and the Law, 214, 220 (1976).

Moreover, the label of mental retardation has a pro-
found effect on the self-image of the person to whom it
is applied, almost guaranteeing a “failure life pattern.”
The Mentally Retarded Citizen and the Law, supra, at
221.

To find oneself regarded as a mental retardate is to
be burdened by a shattering stigma. . . . These per-
sons cannot both believe that they are mentally re-
tarded and still maintain their self-esteem. .. . [T]he
stigma of mental retardation dominates every fea-
ture of the lives of these former patients. Without
an understanding of this point there can be no under-
standing of their lives. [Cloak of Competence, supra,
at 204-208. |

The stigma associated with mental retardation is strik-
ingly revealed in the experience of mildly retarded per-
sons who, once released from institutions, often deny
the nature of their past confinement: “They employ al-
most any other excuse, from epilepsy to ‘craziness’—ex-
cuses that are themselves highly stigmatizing. Never is
mental retardation mentioned.” Id. at 207.

Possibility of inhumane or inadequate treatment. It is
unfortunate but true that many of our nation’s mental
institutions do not provide minimally adequate habilita-
tive or rehabilitative programming, but in fact may sub-
ject their patients or residents to inhumane and unsafe

18

living conditions, destructive psychological pressures, and
even physical abuse by other patients or residents or by
staff members, all in violation of constitutional guaran-
tees. The President’s Commission on Mental Health, in
recommending the establishment of advocacy programs
for the mentally disabled, has stated that [wle are
keenly aware that even the best intentioned efforts to
deliver services to mentally disabled persons have his-
torically resulted in well-documented cases of exploita-
tion and abuse.” Report to the President, supra, at 42.
As in In re Gault, supra, 387 U.S. at 15-21, this Court
should take note of this possibility, which has been well-
documented by lower federal courts,“ in determining the
procedural protections which should attend the commit-
ment of anyone, especially a child, to a mental institution.
In those jurisdictions where substandard conditions ex-
ist, the consequences of erroneous institutionalization de-
cisions are especially grave.

F. g., O'Connor v. Donaldson, supra; Wheeler v. Glass, 473 F.2d
983 (7th Cir. 1973) ; Evans v. Washington, C.A. No. 76-0293 (D. D.C.
June 14, 1978) (consent order); Wouri v. Zitnay, Civ. No. 75-80-SD
(S.D. Maine July 14, 1978) (consent order); Halderman v. Penn-
hurst State School and Hospital, 446 F.2d 1295 (E.D. Pa. 1977);
Davis v. Watkins, 384 F.Supp. 1196 (N.D. Ohio 1974); Welsch v.
Likins, 373 F.Supp. 487 (D. Minn. 1974), enforced, No. 4-72-Civ.
451 (D. Minn. October 1, 1974), 1 MDLR 193, aff'd in part 550 F.2d
112 (8th Cir. 1977), 1 MDLR 334; New York State Association for
Retarded Children and Parisi v. Rockefeller, 357 F.Supp. 752
(E.D.N.Y. 1973), modified, No. 72-C-356/357 (E.D.N.Y. May 23,
1973), order on consent sub nom. New York State Association for
Retarded Children and Parisi v. Carey, No. 72-C-356/357 (E.D.N.Y.
April 30, 1975), approved, 393 F.Supp. 715 (E.D.N.Y. 1975), 1
MDLR 58; Romeo v. Youngberg, C.A. No. 76-3429 (E.D. Pa. June
6, 1977); Vanderzeii v. Hudspeth, C.A. No. J76-262 (R) (S.D. Miss.
Feb. 11, 1977) ; Horacek v. Exon, 354 F.Supp. 71 (D. Neb. 1973),
order on consent, No. 72-L-299 (D. Neb. October 31, 1975); Wyatt
v. Stickney, 325 F.Supp. 781 (M.D. Ala. 1971), 334 F.Supp. 1341
(M.D. Ala. 1971), 344 F.Supp. 373 and 387 (M.D. Ala. 1972), aff'd
sub nom. Wyatt v. Aderholt, 503 F.2d 1305 (5th Cir. 1974). Cf.
Gruenberg, “The Social Breakdown Syndrome—Some Origins,” 123
Am. J. Psychiatry 12 (1967) ; Barton, Institutional Neurosis (2d ed.
1966) ; Goffman, Asylums (1961).

a

19

As with all the other types of deprivations and adverse
consequences cited in this part, no reason appears why
such infringements of constitutionally protected rights
are of any less consequence in the case of children than
they are in the case of adults (A. 575).

Deleterious effect on intellectual and emotional develop-
ment. Prolonged institutional treatment of mentally ill
or retarded children presents the threat of serious long-
term effects on cognitive, emotional and social develop-
ment, and therefore should be considered only as a last
resort. See, Glasscote et al., Children and Mental Health
Centers, 20 (1972); Joint Commission Report, Crisis
in Child Mental Health, supra, at 269; A. 474-475a, 582a,
590a, 620-622a, 631a, 633-634a. Studies of young chil-
dren in institutions document that “most infants living
in institutions do not get enough mothering [considered
necessary for the formation of close personal relation-
ships and the development of inner-self controls] in purely
quantitative terms.” Provence & Lipton, supra, at 19
(1962). Further, a child growing in an institution rarely
receives the individualized responses necessary as he
experiments in physical and mental skill development.
See, Flint, The Child and the Institution, 16 (1966);
Bowlby, Child Care and Growth of Love, 61 (1953).
Children in institutions are also unlikely to be exposed
to the stimuli and challenges necessary to a growing
child. The Child and the Institution, supra, at 15. Nor
does life in an institution offer children opportunity for
integration into community life. Since they are denied
community contact, the behavior of institutionalized chil-
dren “as young adults reflects their lack of contact with
normal people during their developmental period.” Le-
land & D. Smith, Mental Retardation: Present and Fu-
ture Perspectives, 86 (1974); Glenn, supra, at 499.

The resulting psychological and developmental harms
are manifold. Institutionalized children or adolescents

20

typically have low scores on intelligence tests, poor prog-
ress in school, and deficiencies in emotional and social
development. Studies indicate that these harms accelerate
with the length of institutionalization, the age at which
the child was first admitted, and the conditions in the
institution. Hobbs, The Futures of Children, 135, 142-
143 (1975). These deficiencies typically persist even
after the institutionalized infant is removed to a family
environment.“

Mentally retarded children, particularly the young, are
even more profoundly affected by institutionalization.
Several studies comparing the development of institu-
tionalized retarded children with non-institutionalized re-
tarded children clearly demonstrate the superior develop-
ment of non-institutionalized retarded children. See
Stimpson, et al., “Effects of Early Institutionalization on
Growth and Development of Young Children with Down’s
Syndrome,” 67 Mich. Med. 1213 (1968); Centerwell and
Centerwell, A Study of Children with Mongolism Reared
in the Home,” 25 Pediatries 678 (1961) (comparisons
of matched institutionalized and non-institutionalized chil-
dren afflicted with mongolism show consistently higher
IQ’s in home-reared children); Lyle, “The Effect of an
Institution Environment Upon the Verbal Development of
Imbecile Children,“ 1 J. Men. Def. Res. 1, 12, 21 (1960);
Sternlight and Seigel, “Institutional Residence and In-
tellectual Functioning,” 12 J. Men. Def. Res. 119, 123
(1968) (similar findings as to comparative verbal func-
tioning between non-institutionalized and institutionalized
retarded children, with the difference in verbal ability
attributed to the institutional environment itself); and

18 Provence & Lipton, supra, at 150-155. See also Youngieson, “The
Need to Affiliate and Self-Esteem in Institutionalized Children,” 26
J. Personality and Soc. Psychology 280 (1973); Tizard & Rees,
“The Effect of Early Institutional Rearing on the Behavior Prob-
lems and Affeciional Relationships of Four-Year-Old Children,” 16
J. Child Psychology-Psychiatry 61 (1975).

21

Kaufman, “The Formation of a Learning Set in Institu-
tionalized and Non-Institutionalized Mental Defectives,”
67 Am. J. Men. Def. 601, 604 (1963) (comparison of
matched groups of institutionalized and non-institutional-
ized mentally retarded children demonstrates superior
ability of non-institutionalized children to form learning
sets, i. e., to learn from experience). Other studies sug-
gest that institutionalized retarded children’s motor de-
velopment is inhibited by conditions of institutional con-
finement such as lack of stimulation, enforced quiescence,
and verbal chastisement following active or experimental
behavior.“

2. Confinement in a Mental Institution Cannot Be Consti-
tutionally Imposed by the State or Under the Authority
of State Law Without Adequate Procedural Safe-
guards.

This Court has repeatedly determined that prior to a
deprivation of a constitutionally protected interest, the
Due Process Clause demands that procedures be estab-
lished to determine the necessity and legal justification for
the propose? deprivation. This Court has adopted a flexible
approach by tailoring the procedural requirements ac-
cording to the weight of the competing individual, gov-
ernmental or societal interests at stake. See, e.g., Mat-
thews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976); Wolff v. Me-

1% Klaber & Butterfield, “Stereotyped Rocking—A Measure of
Institution and Ward Effectiveness,” 73 Am. J. Men. Def. 13, 18-19
(1968); Kaufman, “The Effects of Institutionalization on Develop-
ment of Stereotyped and Social Behaviors in Mental Defectives,”
71 Am. J. Men. Def. 581 (1967); Mosley, et al., “Effects of Social
and Non-Social Stimuli on the Stereotyped Behaviors of Retarded
Children,” 74 Am. J. Men. Def. 809 (1970).

20 Matthews is the most recent enunciation by this Court of the
factors to be considered in determining the adequacy of due process
procedures. These factors are: 1) the private interest that will be
affected by the official action; 2) the risk of erroneous deprivation
under existing procedures, and the value of alternate procedural
safeguards; and 3) the government’s interest, including the burden

22

Donnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1974); Morrissey v. Brewer, 408
U.S. 471, 481-90 (1972): Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535,
539-42 (1971); Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371
(1971) ; Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 263-71 (1970) ;
Cafeteria Workers Union v. McElroy, 367 U.S. 886, 895
(1961).

While this Court has not ruled directly on the proce-
dural requirements for civil mental disability commit-
ments, it has mandated strict procedural safeguards in
the analogous areas of quasi-criminal commitments,
Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967), and institu-
tionalization of juvenile delinquents, e.g., In re Winship,
supra; In re Gault, supra. Indeed, the Chief Justice
noted in his concurring opinion in O’Connor v. Donaldson,
supra, 422 U.S. at 580, that

[t]here can be no doubt that involuntary commit-
ment to a mental institution, like involuntary con-
finement of an individual for any reason, is a depri-
vation of liberty which the State cannot accomplish
without due process of law. . Commitment must
be justified on the basis of legitimate state interest,
and the reason for committing a particular indi-
vidual must be established in an appropriate pro-
ceeding. [Citations omitted. ]

Numerous lower federal courts, relying in part on the
above-cited cases, have struck down civil commitment

imposed by alternate procedures. For an exhaustive analysis of
“voluntary” commitment of allegedly mentally retarded children in
terms of the Matthews criteria, see generally, Teitelbaum and Ellis,
supra.

This Court has recently emphasized the importance of preventing
erroneous deprivations of protected rights:

Procedural due process rules are meant to protect persons
not from deprivation, but from the mistaken or unjustified de-
privation of life, liberty, or property. Thus, in deciding what
process constitutionally is due in various contexts, the Court
repeatedly has emphasized that “procedural due process rules
are shaped by the risk of error inherent in the truth-finding
process. [Carey v. Piphus, 98 S.Ct. 1042, 1050 (March 21,
1978). (Citations omitted.) ]

23

statutes found to be deficient in procedural safeguards.
Stamus v. Leonhardt, 414 F.Supp. 439 (S.D. Iowa 1976);
Suzuki v. Quisenberry, 411 F.Supp. 1113 (D. Hawaii
1976), 1 MDLR 46; Goldy v. Beal, 429 F.Supp. 640 (M.D.
Pa. 1976), 1 MDLR 137; Doremus v. Farrell, 407 F.
Supp. 509 (D. Neb. 1975); Kendall v. True, 391 F.Supp.
413 (W.D. Ky. 1975); Lynch v. Baxley, 386 F.Supp.
378 (M.D. Ala. 1974); Bell v. Wayne County, 384 F.
Supp. 1085 (E.D. Mich. 1974); Lessard v. Schmidt,
supra; Dixon v. Attorney General of the Commonwealth
of Pennsylvania, 325 F.Supp. 966 (M.D. Pa. 1971). Cf.
State ex rel. Hawks v. Lazaro, 202 S.E. 2d 109 (W. Va.
1974) ; Denton v. Commonwealth, 383 S.W. 2d 681 (Ky.
1964).

Deficiencies in procedural safeguards attending civil
commitments have also caused concern in other quarters,
and recently have been scrutinized by two nationally
prominent groups. The President’s Commission on Men-
tal Health, in its Report to the President, supra, at 43
recommended that el ach state review its civil commit-
ment and guardianship laws and revise them, if neces-
sary, to incorporate increased procedural protections.”
The annotation to the recommendation cites various pro-
cedural safeguards deemed appropriate, including the
rights to present evidence, to subpoena and cross-examine
witnesses, and to be represented by counsel. Jd. at 70-71.

The American Bar Association has echoed the concern
of the President’s Commission, and has gone on record
in support of adequate procedures in the civil commitment
area. At the Association’s Annual Meeting in August
1978, the House of Delegates endorsed the foregoing
recommendation, together with other human rights recom-
mendations made by the President’s Commission.”

21 The complete text of the House of Delegates’ policy statement
commending, and in part endorsing, the Report of the President’s
Commission on Mental Health may be found at, Appendix B.

4

24

The application of such procedural safeguards to the
“voluntary” commitment of children on mental disability
grounds is well established in the lower courts. Indeed,
many courts other than the District Court in the instant
case have similarly held due process requirements to be
specifically applicable to mental disability commitments
of children. J.L. and J.R. v. Parham, supra; In re Roger
S., supra; Saville v. Treadway, 404 F.Supp. 430 (M.D.
Tenn. 1974); Kidd v. Schmidt, 399 F.Supp. 301 (E.D.
Wis. 1975); In re Long, 25 N.C. App. 702, 214 S. E.
2d 626 (Ct. App. N. C. 1975). Cf. Pima County Publie
Fiduciary v. Superior Court, 546 P. 2d 354 (Ariz. Ct.

App. 1976).

A. The District Court's Emphasis on the Right to Ade-
quate Notice and to Counsel Was Appropriate in
Light of Applicable Precedent and the Factual

Record.

The lower court cases have concluded, in particular,
that the requirements of due process include the right
to meaningful notice given sufficiently in advance of any
proceedings so as to apprise the individual of the grounds
for the proposed commitment along with the procedural
and substantive rights afforded him. Suzuki v. Quisen-
berry, supra, 411 F.Supp. at 1127; Doremus v. Farrell,
supra, 407 F.Supp. at 515; Lynch v. Baxley, supra, 386
F.Supp. at 388; Bell v. Wayne County, supra, 384 F.
Supp. at 1092; Lessard v. Schmidt, supra, 349 F.Supp.
at 1092. In addition, the lower court opinions have uni-
formly held that an individual faced with the prospect
of involuntary commitment for an indefinite period is
entitled to the effective assistance of counsel, including the
appointment of counsel if the individual cannot afford
retained counsel, and that counsel must be made available
far enough in advance of any hearing to provide adequate
opportunity for preparation. Suzuki v. Quisenberry,
supra, 411 F.Supp. at 1129; Doremus v. Farrell, supra,

25

407 F.Supp. at 516; Lynch v. Baæley, supra, 386 F.
Supp. at 389; Bell v. Wayne County, supra, 384 F.Supp.
at 1093-94; Lessard v. Schmidt, supra, 349 F.Supp. at
1097-98. Cf. Heryford v. Parker, 396 F. 2d 393, 396
(10th Cir. 1968).

In the instant case, the court mandated that notice
and the appointment of counsel or other trained rep-
resentative be nonwaivable, although other procedural
requirements may be waived if an unbiased tribunal
finds that such a waiver is in the best interest of the
child. Bartley, 402 F.Supp. at 1053 n.26; Order of No-
vember 17, 1975 (A. 881), Institutionalized Juveniles,
A. 1094a, 1096a, and 1098a. This approach takes into
account the unique aspects of a juvenile mental disability
commitment, where the child may in certain situations
be subject to more implicit or explicit coercion and less
likely to appreciate or comprehend the nature of the
proceedings,” and in other cases may, after consultation
with counsel, be in a position to dispense with other
formal procedures. Thus the court below merely adopted
a logical method to prevent abusive practices in securing
waivers and to eliminate time-consuming and unnecessary
challenges to a child’s commitment.

Supplementing the legal authority for the appointment
of counsel ** was testimony by mental disability experts
at the trial who agreed that counsel played an important
therapeutic role in the proceedings for all involved. The
testimony indicated that the advocate for the child is the
only individual who can be perceived by the child as
representing his or her interests in the commitment pro-

2 See A. 590, 630-631, 1019a.

28 See also “Minors’ Right to Due Process,” supra, 52 Notre Dame
Law. at 142, 144, which advocates “[t]he appointment of medical
and legal advocates . . . [as] an appropriate means of ensuring
that the child’s interests are given full judicial consideration” (at
144, emphasis added).

26

ceedings. Despite assurances to the contrary from parents
or the psychiatrist, the child is likely to perceive their
roles as adversarial. Appointment of counsel for the
child thus decreases the chance that the child will feel
“railroaded” and makes him or her more amenable to
treatment if commitment is ordered (A. 542-544, 1014a-

1015a).

B. The Right to Counsel, in Particular, Has Been
Emphasized by the American Bar Association as a
Matter of Sound Judicial Administration.

Appointment of counsel along the lines of the lower
court’s order has been incorporated into the Standards
Relating to Trial Courts drafted by the American Bar
Association Commission on Standards of Judicial Ad-
ministration and adopted by the Association’s House of
Delegates at its mid-year meeting in February, 1976.“
Section 2.72 of the trial court standards,“ which sets
forth the procedural requirements for civil commitment
proceedings, specifically provides that persons subject to
such proceedings are entitled to the assistance of counsel
as provided in Section 2.20. That section, in addition to
permitting a litigant to employ counsel in any judicial
proceeding, requires that counsel be appointed for per-
sons unable to afford their own counsel when they are
“subject to a civil proceeding in which the result may be
detention for a period of longer than 72 hours.”

24The Association’s House of Delegates has also adopted policies
urging the establishment of advocacy programs for the mentally
disabled in all states and “recognizing the importance of counsel to
represent not only the mentally disabled client (or those acting in
his or her behalf) but also the state or provider against which a
claim is made” in adversary or judicial settings. (For full texts,
see Appendix B to this brief.)

25 The complete text of Section 2.72 and accompanying Commen-
tary are attached as Appendix A to this brief.

27

In its commentary with regard to this standard, the
Commission on Standards of Judicial Administration
noted:

In addition to representation in criminal cases, coun-
sel should be appointed to represent any person who
is the subject of a civil proceeding in which the re-
sult may be his physical commitment or detention.
Such proceedings include commitment of the mentally
ili, mentally deficient, narcotics addicts, alcoholics,
“defective delinquents,” “sexual psychopaths,” and
similarly defined persons. The distinction between
these procedures and criminal prosecution is often
more theoretical than real, for the state plays an
adversary role, as in criminal cases, and the conse-
quence of adjudication may be long confinement—
sometimes for an indefinite period—in an institution
where the conditions of custody to a greater or lesser
degree resemble a prison. A like necessity for coun-
sel exists in deportation and contempt proceedings.
Where the individual involved is mentally disturbed
or deficient, or lacks facility in speaking English,
the need for counsel is all the more urgent because
the person cannot speak effectively for himself.

Clearly, the commitment of a minor falls within the
type of situation contemplated by Standard 2.20.”

As noted supra, the court below enumerated other pro-
cedural rights for children facing commitment, all of
which find support in some or all of the authorities

20 The critical role of counsel for children is also discussed at
length in draft standards relating to the juvenile justice system
which were recently published by the Juvenile Justice Standards
Project. The Project, a joint venture of the Institute of Judicial
Administration and American Bar Association, has produced a draft
twenty-three volume series covering the entire field of juvenile
justice administration. At present, the standards have not been
approved by the American Bar Association, but are scheduled to be
considered at the Association’s 1979 mid-year meeting. IJA-ABA,
Standards Relating to Counsel for Private Parties (Tent. Draft,
1977).

supporting amicus’ arguments herein.“ Amicus would
point out also that Section 2.72 of the above described
trial court standards and the order entered by the court
below are strikingly similar, in that both contemplate
a preliminary and final hearing, the right to notice,
counsel, and personal presence at such hearings, along
with the rights of confrontation and cross-examination
and of presenting evidence on one’s own behalf.

C. The District Court Was Correct in Finding That the
Pennsylvania Scheme for Admission or Commit-
ment of Children Does Not Satisfy the Require-
ments Enumerated Above.

A plain reading of the commitment scheme established
by Pennsylvania law“ demonstrates that it affords chil-
dren subject to institutionalization none of the procedural
safeguards mandated by the above cited constitutional de-
cisions or endorsed by the American Bar Association.

The overriding flaw in the challenged procedure is its
failure to require a hearing in all cases, absent a valid
waiver. Equally important, the Pennsylvania approach
fails to require that such a hearing be held before an
unbiased tribunal, and that counsel or other trained rep-
resentative be appointed. The 1973 Regulations fail to
cure, and the 1976 Act perpetuates, these fatal defects.

Neither Sections 402 and 403 of the 1966 Act, nor the
1973 Regulations, require any hearing prior to admission/
commitment. Rather, they provide for referral and evalu-

27 The utility of particular procedural safeguards may vary to
some extent depending on the age and maturity of the child involved.

28 Sections 402 and 403 of the 1966 Act (50 P.S. §§ 4402 and
4403), together with the 1973 Regulations (3 Pa. Bull. 1840 (1973) )
govern the admission/commitment of children alleged to be mentally
retarded. Sections 201 and 206 of the 1976 Act, and to the extent
it applies to children under age 14, Section 205 of that Act (50 P.S.
§§ 7201, 7206, and 7205) govern the commitment of children alleged
to be mentally ill.

ation, subject to the institution director’s independent
examination. This structure was found by the expert
witnesses to be inherently unreliable.“ Moreover, the
expert witnesses concluded that placing sole reliance on
psychiatric, psychological, or other professional diagnosis
without recourse to review by an unbiased tribunal, will
not suffice to prevent unnecessary or inappropriate com-
mitments (A. 550, 585, 604, 1006-11a).”

These provisions also fail to provide for the automatic
appointment of an advocate to represent the child’s in-
terest. Further, the nominal safeguards contained in the
1973 Regulations are inapplicable to children under age
13.

The 1976 Act perpetuates the flaws of the earlier pro-
visions by failing to require any hearing. Although Sec-
tion 205 (50 P.S. § 7205) requires an “individualized
treatment plan” for each child, it fails to assure the in-
dependence of the treatment team formulating the plan.
Thus, this procedure is essentially similar to that found

In summary, these experts felt that the regulations did not
ensure adequate evaluation of the child; that there was a tendency
for psychiatrists to agree among themselves for reasons unrelated
to the needs of the patient; that admitting psychiatrists at an insti-
tution may be unduly influenced by institutional demands: that
once institutionalized, individuals tend to accede to the institution’s
point of view, and in spite of the notice requirements, an individual
may not be able to express his objections (A. 558, 561, 598, 628-
629, 630-631). It should also be noted that the Regulations contain
no assurance that the interests of the child will be weighed in mak-
ing the commitment decision (A. 1084a-1085a).

See also, Teitelbaum and Ellis, supra, at 44:

At first glance, it might appear that the involvement of such
professionals [physicians or other professionals] would pro-
vide sufficient check on ill-advised parental action and that
additional protections would be unnecessary. However, as is the
case of parental commitment of children as mentally ill, the
professionals involved do not adequately perform the function
of screening out children who are inappropriate for institu-
tionalization. [Footnote omitted.]

unacceptable by the expert witnesses considering the 1973
Regulations (n.29 supra; A. 1086 at n.60). In addition,
the 1976 Act fails to require a post-commitment hearing
within a reasonable time after commitment, thus sub-
jecting it to the above criticism of placing sole reliance
on psychiatric opinion. Finally, the 1976 Act has no pro-
vision requiring that an advocate be appointed to repre-
sent the interests of the child.

D. The Labeling of Juvenile Mental Disability Commit-
ments As Civil (Rather Than Criminal), Benevolent,
or Voluntary Does Not Affect the Applicability of
the Due Process Clause.

This Court has long avoided the labeling of a particular
proceeding as “civil” rather than “criminal” and has im-
posed due process requirements when it was clear that
the potential existed for serious deprivation of constitu-
tionally protected interests. E. g., Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S.
519, 530 (1975) ; In re Gault, supra; Specht v. Patterson,
supra; cf. Heryford v. Parker, supra, 396 F.2d at 396.
The same deprivations threatened in these prior juvenile
and quasi-criminal “civil” proceedings are present here,
and the same reasoning should apply. Jnstitutionalized
Juveniles, A. 1077a. Appellants in their brief to this
Court attempt to circumvent this authority by contrasting
the medical determination in the present case to the find-
ing of guilt in In re Gault. Appellant’s brief, p. 41.
This reasoning ignores the essence of these cases, which
turn on the nature of deprivation involved. Finally, the
statutory characterization of these admissions and com-
mitments as “voluntary” should not mask the fact that
they are voluntary on the part of the parent (or other
person or agency seeking institutionalization), but not on
the part of the child being deprived of his liberty. Thus,
the requirements of due process should apply.

31

E. The Imposition of Due Process Protections Upon
the Institutionalization Decision is Necessitated
Both by the Risk of Erroneous Psychiatric and
Other Judgments and by the Need to Ensure
That Less Restrictive Alternatives Are Adequately
Explored.

The deprivation and consequences of institutionalization
described in the first section of amicus’ argument would,
in themselves, require that institutionalization decisions
made by or through the authority of the state be subject
to the requirements of the Due Process Clause. The
special nature of the admission/ commitment decision,
however, demands the type of procedural safeguards man-
dated by the District Court for at least two further
reasons—the uncertainty of psychiatric (and other) diag-
noses and the need, from both a professional and con-
stitutional standpoint, to place an allegedly mentally dis-
abled person in the least restrictive setting which will
meet his treatment needs.

The Chief Justice has recently noted the “uncertain-
ties” of diagnosis and therapy in the “baffling” field
of psychiatry and has observed, correctly, that “the re-
ported cases are replete with evidence of the divergence
of medical opinion in this vexing area.” O'Connor v.
Donaldson, 422 U.S. at 579 (Burger, C. J., concurring).
This Court has previously remarked upon “the uncer-
tainty of diagnosis in this field and the tentativeness of
professional judgment.” Greenwood v. United States, 350
U.S. 366, 375 (1956); cf. Ennis & Litwack, “Psychiatry
and the Presumption of Expertise: Flipping Coins in
the Courtroom,” 62 Calif. L. Rev. 693 (1974). Diagnosis
of mental retardation is equally uncertain™ (A. 979a-

81 See e.g., Menolascino, “Emotional Disturbance and Men
tardation,” 70 Am. J. Men. Def. 248, 250 (1965), which — —
of 616 children identified as mentally retarded, 191 had predom-
inantly psychiatric problems (for whom mental retardation treat-
ment offered no help, and who might well have been more appro-

982a; Teitelbaum and Ellis, supra, pp. 35-47), especially
in the case of very young children. Teitelbaum and Ellis,

supra, at 38.

Expert testimony in the instant case indicated that
an admission/commitment hearing, or even the knowl-
edge that a hearing may be requested, will encourage
psychiatrists to exercise greater care in evaluating pros-
pective patients and thus diminish the chance for an er-
roneous decision (A. 543-44, 640-41). The pendency of
a hearing will also dilute the tendency of some psy-
chiatrists to overdiagnose or to err on the side of caution,
assuming disease over health. See Ellis, “Volunteering
Children: Parental Commitment of Minors to Mental
Institutions,” 62 Calif. L.Rev. 840, 865 (1974) ; Rosenhan,
“On Being Sane in Insane Places,” 113 Santa Clara L. Rev.
379 (1973). Given the uncertainties in the field of mental
disability, and the difficulty in relating psychiatric or
psychological diagnoses to legal standards for commit-
ment,“ proper fact-finding procedures are a practical and
constitutional necessity in the civil commitment process
(A. 1008a-9a).

Moreover, it is no longer open to serious question that
state-imposed deprivation of personal liberty for purposes
of mental disability treatment, or any other such in-
cursion on constitutionally protected liberties, must be
only to the limited extent — to yo =
egitimate pu of the deprivation or limitatio
— Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479, 488-490
(1960). Numerous lower federal courts have recognized

priately treated in some other way), and 40 were found to be not
mentally retarded at all.

82 Shah, “Dangerousness: Some Definitional, Conceptual, and Pub-
lic Policy Issues,” in Perspectiveness in Law and Psychology (B.
Sales ed. 1977); Shah, “Some Interactions of Law and Mental
Health in the Handling of Social Deviance,” 23 Catholic U. L. Rev.
647 (1974).

the applicability of this “least restrictive alternative”
doctrine to commitment and treatment of the mentally
disabled. Halderman v. Pennhurst State School and Hos-
pital, supra; Wouri v. Zitnay, supra; Evans v. Washing-
ton, supra; New York State Association for Retarded
Children and Parisi v. Carey, supra, Order of April 30,
1975, 1 MDLR 58; Lynch v. Baxley, supra, 386 F.Supp.
at 392; Welsch v. Likins, supra, 373 F.Supp. at 501-502;
Lessard v. Schmidt, supra, 349 F.Supp. at 1096 ; Wyatt
v. Stickney, supra, 344 F.Supp. at 379, 396; cf. Dixon
v. Weinberger, 405 F.Supp. 974 (D.D.C. 1975), 1 MDLR
12; Covington v. Harris, 419 F.2d 617 (D.C. Cir. 1969) ;
Lake v. Cameron, 364 F.2d 657 (D.C. Cir. 1966). In-
deed, this Court has specifically applied this rationale to
mental disability commitments in O’Connor v. Donald-
son, supra, 422 U.S. at 575:

May the State confine the mentally ill merely to
ensure them a living standard superior to that they
enjoy in the private community? That the State
has a proper interest in providing care and assist-
ance to the unfortunate goes without saying. But
the mere presence of mental illness does not dis-
qualify a person from preferring his home to the
comforts of an institution. Moreover, while the State
may arguably confine a person to save him from
harm, incarceration is rarely if ever a necessary
condition for raising the living standards of those
capable of surviving safely in freedom on their own
or with the help of family or friends. See Shelton
v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479, 488-490.

In this case, based on the 1964 Hospitalization of the Mentally
III Act, 21 D.C. Code §§ 501ff., the District Court, in endorsing the
least restrictive approach to both commitment and treatment, found
not only that some patients in the District of Columbia’s mental
hospital could fare as well in the community, but also that the treat-
ment needs of 43% of the patients required them to be in the com-
munity. 405 F.Supp. at 976.

34

The expert testimony in this case (A. 476-77, 577, 619-
621) and the professional literature are in accord
with the foregoing legal analysis. Insofar as the class of
mentally retarded children is concerned, the testimony
revealed little or no benefit in institutionalizing a child
and indeed that irreversible harm may very likely re-
sult. (A. 99la-92a). Thus, perhaps the most vital func-
tion of procedures such as those required by the court
below is to prod the parents, professionals, and others
involved in the admissiou/commitment process to avoid
unnecessary and inappropriate institutionalization and,
if necessary, to invest the resources of other social agen-
cies and the committing tribunal in identifying or cre-
ating treatrient alternatives which will not unduly limit
the personai freedom (or the therapeutic prognosis) of
the individual facing commitment.

3. Children Facing Commitment on Mental Disability
Grounds are Entitled to Substantially the Same Pro-
cedural Protections Afforded Adults Under the Due
Process Clause.

As noted above, admission/commitment of children to
mental institutions involves at least an equivalent degree
of deprivations and risks, and is subject to the same
possibility of erroneous or inappropriate diagnosis or

Glenn, supra, at 499-514; Wolfensberger, The Principle of
Normalization in Human Services (1972); Joint Commission on
Accreditation of Hospitals, Accreditation Manual for Psychiatric
Facilities Serving Children and Adolescents, at 55 (1974). This
legal and professional consensus is reflected in the Federal Medi-
caid regulations governing under-21 inpatient psychiatric services
(45 C. F. R. § 249.10(b) (16) (iii), 41 F.R. 2198 (January 14, 1976))
and institutional care and treatment of the mentally retarded (45
C. F. R. § 249.13(a) (2) (iv), 39 F.R. 2220, 2227 (January 17, 1974) ).
The President’s Commission on Mental Health, in its Report to the
President, supra, has recommended that “each state review its
mental health laws and revise them, if necessary, to assure that
they provide for:: . (b) a right to treatment in the least re-
strictive setting... (at p. 44).

35

placement decisions, as the involuntary commitment of
adults. In the instant case, the only asserted basis for
denying to such children the procedural protections due
to adults relates to a somewhat vaguely defined state in-
terest in preserving parental authority and family unity.
While, as the District Court noted (Bartley, 402 F.Supp.
at 1048 n.12, Institutionalized Juveniles at A. 1077a),
parents are often in the best position to assess a child’s
needs, their legitimate concerns can be accommodated
without vesting in them and state authorities unfettered
control over the institutionalization of children. The as-
serted state interest cannot justify the deprivation of
children’s personal liberty without due process of law.

A. The Decisions of This Court Indicate That Parental
Authority Is Not Without Limits, and That Children,
As Well As Adults, Are Entitled to Constitutional
Protections.

This Court has been presented with numerous cases
involving the issue of the scope and nature of parental
authority in the upbringing of their children and has
generally accorded parents great leeway. Wisconsin v.
Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972) ; Ginsberg v. New York, 390
U.S. 629 (1968); Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S.
510, 539 (1925); Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390
(1923). However, equally as important as the result in
Wisconsin v. Yoder, supra, was its carefully circumscribed
definition of parents’ authority as related to denial of
their children’s opportunity for a free, public secondary
school education. Id. at 230-234.“

The parental authority recognized by this Court has
never been absolute, and where a superseding state in-
terest has been demonstrated, this Court has not hesi-

85 Moreover, Wisconsin v. Yoder turned on First Amendment
freedom of religion questions which have no paralle! in the instant
case.

tated to condone intrusion into the parent-child relation-
ship, primarily in a situation where the child’s welfare

could be jeopardized:

But the family itself is not beyond regulation in
the public interest. . Acting to guard the gen-
eral interest in youth’s well being, the state as parens
patriae may restrict the parent’s control by requir-
ing school attendance, regulating or prohibiting the
child’s labor and in many other ways. [Prince V.
Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 166 (1944).]

At the same time, this Court has recognized that minors
are entitled to many of the same constitutional rights
and protections that adults enjoy, Tinker v. Des Moines
Independent Community School District, 393 U.S. 503
(1969), particularly with regard to procedural due pro-
cess. Minors facing the possibility of institutionalization
as a result of delinquent behavior have been accorded
almost all the procedural safeguards of adult defendants.
See Breed v. Jones, supra; In re Winship, supra; In re
Gault, supra. Due process protections have been accord-
ed to students facing suspensions from school of ten days
or less. Goss v. Lopez, supra.“ Against this background,

86 This Court’s ruling in Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651 (1977)
does not undercut due process requirements in the context of the
present case. In Ingraham v. Wright, this Court held that the in-
fliction of reasonable corporal punishment on public school children
by teachers could be accomplished without first resorting to an ad-
ministrative hearing. This case is distinguishable from the case at
hand. First, there is a significant constitutional difference between
paddling a child and indefinitely committing him to a mental hos-
pital.

Furthermore, as this Court noted in Ingraham:

Were it not for the common law privilege permitting teachers
to inflict reasonable corporal punishment on children in their
care, and the availability of the traditional remedies for abuse,
the case for requiring advanced procedural safeguards would
be strong indeed. [430 U.S. 674.]

No readily apparent authority reveals an analogous common law
privilege allowing a parent to commit a child to a state mental

37

it would be anomzlous to hold that procedural due process
protections shoulu not apply as well to indefinite commit-
ment of minors to mental institutions.

B. This Court’s Decisions With Regard to Abortion
Reflect the Proper Balancing of Interests to Be
Applied in the Instant Case.

In Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Dan-
forth, 428 U.S. 52 (1976), and Bellotti v. Baird, 428
U.S. 132 (1976), this Court was confronted with the
question, inter alia, of whether parents could constitu-
tionally prevent their minor daughters from obtaining
abortions under circumstances in which, pursuant to Roe
v. Wade, supra, an adult woman would have an absolute
right to terminate an unwanted pregnancy.

“Constitutional rights,” this Court observed, “do not
mature and come into being magically only when one
attains the state-defined age of majority. Minors, as well
as adults, are protected by the Constitution and possess
constitutional rights.” Planned Parenthood of Central
Missouri v. Dan forth, supra, 428 U.S. at 74. Given that
in some instances, the state's authority to regulate chil-
dren may be broader than its authority with respect to
adults, the Court continued, it is necessary

to examine whether there is any significant state
interest in conditioning an abortion on the consent
of a parent or person in loco parentis that is not
present in the case of an adult.

One suggested interest is the safeguarding of the
family unit and of parental authority. [Citation
omitted. ] It is difficult, however, to conclude that
providing a parent with absolute power to overrule
a determination, made by the physician and his minor

hospital. See, Panneton, “Children, Commitment and Consent: A

Constitutional Crisis,” 10 Fam. L.Q. 295 (1977). Nor is an analo-

= remedy for abuse available to the inappropriately committed
i

patient, to terminate the patient’s pregnancy will
serve to strengthen the family unit. Neither is it
likely that such veto power will enhance parental
authority or control where the minor and the non-
consenting parent are so fundamentally in conflict
and the very existence of the pregnancy already has
fractured the family structure. Any independent
interest the parent may have in the termination of
the minor daughter’s pregnancy is no more weighty
than the right of the privacy of the competent minor
mature enough to have become pregnant. [Planned
Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth, supra,
428 US. at 75.]

The Court’s holding in the Planned Parenthood case
leads directly to the conclusion that the existence of a
conflict between parent and child does not mean the con-
stitutional rights of the child must inevitably give way.
Certainly, a child’s interest in avoiding a wrongful, in-
appropriate, and potentially lifelong commitment to a
mental institution is equivalent in gravity and importance
to a minor’s right to obtain an abortion, and the same
balancing of interests is required. So examined, the
child’s interest in not being improperly institutionalized
outweighs the parent’s (or guardian’s) interest in having
absolute (or near-absolute) control over the commitment
decision.

Moreover, if the state, qua state, cannot institutionalize
an individual without proper procedural protections, such
authority cannot constitutionally be delegated to a parent
or other third party. Planned Parenthood of Central
Missouri v. Danforth, supra, 428 U.S. at 69.

C. The District Court Properly Accommodated the
Interests of the Parent and Child in Requiring Due
Process Safeguards.

It must be recalled that the District Court in the in-
stant case did not exclude parents or guardians from

participation in the institutionalization decision, but mere-
ly interposed a set of procedural protections and an un-
biased tribunal (not necessarily a court) as a check on
parental (and professional) authority in this area.

This finding does not mean that when considering
whether or not to institutionalize a child, the state
should ignore the opinions and observations of the
child’s parents. Rather the committing authorities
should listen carefully to parents who live with and
observe the child on a daily basis for they very likely
have invaluable information concerning their child.
(Bartley, 402 F.Supp. at 1048 n. 12.]

Such parental participation is clearly contemplated in
the Institutionalized Juveniles opinion (A. 1081a-82a),
and is fully consistent with the balancing approach adopt-
ed by this Court in the above-cited abortion cases. Con-
curring in Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v.
Danforth, supra, Mr. Justice Stewart and Mr. Justice
Powell indicated that the issue might have been dif-
ferent if, instead of a situation where the parent exer-
cised absolute control over the child’s decision, the Court
were considering a “provision requiring parental consent
or consultation in most cases but providing for prompt
(i) judicial resolution of any disagreement between the
parent and the minor, or (ii) judicial determination that
the minor is mature enough to give an informed consent
without parental concurrence or that abortion in any
event is in the minor’s best interest.”

Such a provision, said the concurring opinion, “would
not impose parental approval as an absolute condition
upon the minor’s right but would assure in most instances
consultation between the parent and child.” Planned
Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth, supra, 428
U.S. at 91 (Stewart and Powell, JJ., concurring) ; ef.
Bellotti v. Baird, supra, 428 U.S. at 147.

40

This Court’s opinions thus contemplate that in situa-
tions such as the case at bar, an acceptable formulation
can be achieved which allows for parental involvement to
an appropriate extent while preserving the rights of the
minor child involved, and which utilizes a neutral body
to resolve these different and potentially conflicting in-
terests. The order of the court below does no more and,
indeed, could do no less.

D. It Cannot Be Assumed That Parents, Faced With
Legitimate Familial Problems, Will Always Act in
the Best Interest of Their Children With Regard to
Commitment to a Mental Institution.

As found by the court below, parents (or guardians),
even with the best of motives, may not act, or be capable
of acting, in the best interest of their children in seeking
their institutionalization. Bartley, 402 F.Supp. at 1047,
Institutionalized Juveniles, A. 1077a. This does not mean
that such parents are acting malevolently or punitively,
although a small number may do so.“ What it does
mean is that very often the child’s problem is part of a
larger familial problem, and that the entire family
should be treated as a whole rather than isolating one
member of the family in an institution. But familial prob-
lems may produce such a level of frustration and anxiety
that parents are simply incapable of objectively consider-
ing the child’s interests when they make the critical

* Evidence that parents do not always act in the best interest
of their children is best supplied by the examples of child abuse and
neglect. The National Center on Child Abuse and Neglect esti-
mates that if comprehensive reporting existed in all jurisdictions,
there would be as many as a million reports of abused and neglected
children each year: approximately 200,000 abused and 800,000
neglected. It is estimated that 2,000 children die each year from
child abuse and neglect-related injuries. “Child Abuse and Neglect
Statistical Information Sheet,” p. 4 (available from HEW's Na-
tional Center for Child Abuse and Neglect).

41

decision of institutionalization (A. 468, 471, 501, 589-
590, 601, 617-618, 628, 998a-1005a) .*

In other words, minors are likely to suffer or be blamed
for problems that plague the entire family and for situa-
tions that require help for the family as a unit, not just
for the child. See 402 F.Supp. at 1044; A. 472, 590, 617-
618, 630, 1068a. This being the case, the District Court
rightly concluded, parents are in no position to waive a
child’s personal constitutional rights and make institu-
tionalization decisions virtually on their own. Bartley,
402 F.Supp. at 1047-1048, Institutionalized Juveniles at
A. 1077a.

Other courts have also recognized that a child’s best
interest is not always the motivating factor behind the
institutionalization decision. See, e.g., Heryford v. Park-
er, supra; Saville v. Treadway, supra, 404 F.Supp. at
432; Horacek v. Exon, supra, Order of June 4, 1974;
New York State Association for Retarded Children and
Parisi v. Rockefeller, supra, 357 F.Supp. at 762; In re
Long, supra; In re Sippy, 97 A.2d 455 (D.C. Mun. App.
1953). As the Chief Justice put it several years ago,

[awmakers in recent years have been sensitive to
the need to make civil commitment difficult, recog-
nizing the dangers of relatives “farming” out their
kindred into mental institutions for motives not al-
ways worthy. [Kent v. United States, 401 F.2d 408,
416 n.4 (D.C. Cir. 1968) (1968) (Burger, J., dis-
senting) .]

An institutional superintendent who has surveyed the literature
has concluded that “[o]ne consistent finding is that residential
care is not sought solely for the reason of mental retardation. In
some negative way, a retarded person presents problems beyond the
coping ability of the family.” R. Scheerenberger, Deinstitutionali-
zation and Institutional Reform, 133 (1976). (The author is the
current president of the American Association on Mental De-
ficiency.) See Teitelbaum and Ellis, supra, pp. 40-44.

42

Children, especially those who cannot speak for them-
selves, must be protected from the risk of such inappro-
priate and harmful decisions.

E. Claims of Alleged Traumatizing or Disruptive
Effects of Due Process Protections for Children Are
Not Supported by the Record.

Appellants contend that a due process hearing prior to
institutionalization will have a traumatizing effect on the
child or divide and disrupt the family involved. However,
in proceedings below, several experts testified that a
hearing may be beneficial for both parent and child.
Properly administered, a hearing can impart to the child
a sense that he is being dealt with fairly. A hearing
may also help to relieve parents’ anxiety or guilt by
removing from them the necessity of making the final
decision (A. 480-481, 483, 494-495, 574-578, 597, 623-
624, 1014a-1015a).“ Even assuming some unpleasantness
or familial discord, it is hard to conceive of these ef-
fects as more traumatizing than the effects of indefinite
commitment, especially if the institutionalization turns
out to be inappropriate or unnecessary. Further, there
may be cases where there is little or no family harmony
left to preserve and a hearing will hardly make matters
worse (A. 571-572). See the above quoted passage from
Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth,
supra, 428 U.S. at 75.

Thus the reasons advanced for preserving a system in
which the child’s interests are not assured of representa-
tion cannot be supported on the basis of the record in
this case, and, even on their face, do not justify the risk
of inappropriate or unnecessary institutionalization.

zo It should be remembered, again, that a formal hearing will not
necessarily be held in every case as a result of the District Court’s
decision.

43
CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the American Bar
Association urges this Court to affirm the judgment and
decree of the District Court.

Respectfully submitted,

S. SHEPHERD TATE, President
JOHN H. LASHLY

RuSSEL.. E. WEBB

JOSE’ H F. VARGYAS

JOHN C. LAMB

American Bar Association
1155 East 60th Street
Chicago, Illinois 60637

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A
ABA Commission on Standards of Judicial Administration
Standards Relating to Trial Courts.*

2.72 PROCEEDINGS CONCERNING INVOLUNTARY CARE AND
TREATMENT.

In civil proceedings for commitment of the mentally
ill, and in all other proceedings in which a disposition of
a person may be made on account of his mental or phy-
sical condition, the court should ensure that the disposi-
tion is made on the basis of adequate information, in
accordance with applicable law, and with due regard
for the rights of the individual and of the public.

(a) Procedural Requirements.

(1) The person who is subject to the proceeding and
his family or others immediately concerned for his wel-
fare should be given adequate notice and an opportunity
to be heard.

(2) The court should formulate clearly the issues to
be resolved, with particular regard for the matters to be
considered in the course of medical, psychological, or
psychiatric examination and to be made the subject of
expert testimony.

(8) Clinical evaluation should be made by profession-
ally qualified persons on the basis of examination and
other diagnostic procedures that conform to profess‘unally
recognized standards. The person who is the subject of
the proceeding should be entitled to obtain and present
such an evaluation on his own behalf, at public expense
if he lacks the means to obtain it himself. Examiners

* Based on draft approved at February, 1976, mid-year meeting.

should be required to testify as to the extent of their
examination and the grounds for their conclusions. Ex-
cept on stipulation of both parties, the testimony of all
witnesses, including expert witnesses, should be presented
in open court, subject to cross-examination, and included
in the record of the proceeding.

(4) The person subject to the proceeding should be
entitled to the assistance of counsel as provided in Sec-
tion 2.20.

(5) In exercising its power to order care and treat-
ment, the court should consider possible alternative dis-
positions, imposing only as much restraint as is neces-
sary for protection of the individual, his family, or the
public, or for accomplishment of required treatment.

(6) When commitment is ordered, the court should
specify its purposes, the terms and conditions of any
custody or restraint that may be directed, and a time
limit, upon the expiration of which the matter is to be
brought before the court for further consideration un-
less the person has been discharged prior to that time
according to law.

(7) Whenever a person is found to be mentally ill
or mentally retarded or is committed to an institution
where he may be unable to take an active part in man-
agement of his property or business interests, and it ap-
pears that the commitment may be of long duration, the
court should inquire into the nature of such interests and
the possibility that guardianship of his property or like
safeguards should be established to protect them.

(8) Observational commitments. Involuntary commit-
ments for the purposes of observing the individual’s men-
tal or physical condition should be to the least restrictive
environment in which the observation can be conducted
and only for that period of time which is reasonably
necessary to complete such observation.

3a

(9) Emergency commitments. Emergency commitments
without judicial proceedings should be permitted only in
cases of extreme physical danger to human life, health,
or safety, and should not be continued beyond the time
reasonably necessary to arrange for a preliminary hear-
ing before a judge.

(b) Staff Assistance. The court should have sufficient
supporting staff and access to psychiatrists and other pro-
fessionally qualified experts to carry out its responsi-
bilities under this Section.

COMMETARY

In recent years the traditional procedures for civil
commitment of the mentally impaired, and procedures
involving defendants in criminal cases who plead in-
sanity or whose competence to stand trial is in ques-
tion, have been augmented by an array of statutory
procedures for commitment of narcotics addicts, alco-
holics, and persons mainfesting such types of statutorily
defined social deviance as “sexual psychopathy” and “de-
fective delinquency.” Because these proceedings are gen-
erally termed civil rather than criminal, even when they
arise out of criminal prosecution, fewer procedural pro-
tections are generally afforded the persons subject to
them. The distinction between civil and criminal in many
of these cases, however, is more apparent than real. Com-
mitment to an institution on the ground of mental or
physical condition is a deprivation of liberty and has
many of the characteristics of penal sanctions: confine-
ment (often under harsh conditions), isolation from
family and friends, inability to earn a living, persisting
social stigma, and sometimes loss of civil and professional
rights. Like criminal prosecution, it is often the result
of an alleged offense against the law or mores of the
community. Procedural safeguards in these cases should
not depend on mechanical application of a dichotomy
between civil and criminal procedures.

4a

The role of the court in commitment and related pro-
cedures should be clearly understood as including re-
sponsibility for determining the legal and factual issues
that may be presented. The court should not simply
ratify recommendations of medical examiners on the
assumption that the question is one of medical diagnosis.
Statutory definitions of the classes of persons subject to
these proceedings do not necessarily correspond to any
generally accepted medical diagnostic category. More-
over, psychiatric diagnosis by one diagnostician may dif-
fer greatly from that by another who is equally well
qualified, and may sometimes be influenced by irrelevant
or insubstantial therapeutic, social, or institutional con-
siderations. The lack of precise criteria for determining
the potential dangerousness of an individual should be
taken into account, as should the tendency of medical
witnesses to overpredict dangerous behavior. The medi-
cal expert must provide the court with the medical facts
and medical opinions essential to a decision, including
diagnosis, prognosis, suitability of proposed treatment,
prospect of improvement under possible alternative dis-
positions, and the like. However, the ultimate decision
is not essentially a medical one and involves a substantial
element of legal discretion. The special problems en-
countered in these cases make it desirable that judges
have been prepared by experience or training for their
role. [Reference omitted. ]

Notice and an opportunity to be heard should be pro-
vided even though the person subject to the proceeding
appears to be mentally incapable of acting upon them.
Notice may be delivered by a social worker or other
trained person acting on behalf of the court who can
explain its meaning and offer assistance in obtaining
counsel and making preparations for the hearing. Notice
of the hearing should also be given to relatives or friends
who may assist the respondent or act in his behalf.

5a

Notice should be given sufficiently in advance of scheduled
court proceedings to afford a reasonable opportunity for
preparation, and should inform the person with par-
ticularity of the basis for his detention, his right to coun-
sel and to trial by jury (where available) and the stand-
ard upon which he may be detained.

The person who is subject to commitment should be
personally present, except where the court finds that he
is incapable of attending the hearing or that attending
the hearing would worsen his condition or might incite
him to injure someone else as a result of hearing the
testimony. He should in any event be represented by
counsel. See Section 2.20.

Where the respondent is in such a condition that he
cannot be present at the hearing, a conference with the
judge may allow him to state his case without being
required to be present at the formal hearing, but such
a conference should not take the place of an evidentiary
hearing. Disposition should be made only upon a hear-
ing at which medical and other witnesses are present and
subject to cross-examination by counsel and questioning
by the court unless the parties agree to presentation on
the basis of written documents. Hearings should be on
a formal record and decisions based on written findings
of facts.

Hearings under sex-psychopath and similar quasi-
criminal statutes should provide all the procedural safe-
guards of a criminal trial. In cases where determina-
tion of mental condition is related to criminal proceed-
ings, a separate hearing should be held on mental con-
dition, with adequate notice to the defendant of the

questions at issue and the possible consequences of the
determination.

The usefulness of medical reports and testimony can
often he greatly improved if the court advises examiners

6a

and witnesses in advance of the kinds of information it
requires for an informed decision. This can be done
through examination forms stating the legal questions
before the court (for example, whether the individual
is competent to stand trial), and indicating the facts
required for a finding on the question at issue (for ex-
ample, whether he could cooperate with counsel in his
own defense). Examiners should be required to state
the nature and extent of their examination and the
grounds on which they base their findings and conclusions.

Counsel for the respondent should be afforded sufficient
time and resources to consult with his client, secure in-
dependent professional examination if desired, and in-
form himself about possible alternatives to commitment.
Special training for counsel in mental illness cases can
be helpful in improving the quality of representation.

In reaching a disposition, courts should consider all
reasonable alternatives such as voluntary hospitalization
and treatment in the community without full-time hos-
pitalization. Dispositions should provide for the mini-
mum amount of restraint consistent with accomplish! *g
the purposes of the law.

Commitments should be limited to a relatively short
period, at the end of which the necessity of further com-
mitment should be judicially determined. Periodic review
of the status of committed persons should be initiated
by the court unless a public guardian or defender agency
can assume responsibility for doing so. The review should
involve notice and formal hearing, with the respondent
represented by counsel and medical witnesses subject to
cross-examination as in the original commitment pro-
ceeding. All reasonable alternatives to commitment should
again be considered, and a realistic assessment made of
the likelihood of accomplishing further therapeutic ob-
jectives by commitment.

Ta
APPENDIX B
ABA House of Delegates—Policies Adopted August, 1978

COMMENDATION OF REPORT OF
PRESIDENT’S COMMISSION ON MENTAL HEALTH

BE IT RESOLVED that the American Bar Associa-
tion commends the Report of the President’s Commission
on Mental Health as an important and valuable study
for consideration by officials and citizens concerned with
improvement of the nation’s mental health system; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the American
Bar Association endorses those recommendations of the
President’s Commission on Mental Health providing for
protection of the human and legal rights of mentally dis-
abled, i.e., the recommendations within the Report’s sec-
tion on “Protecting Basic Rights” which recommend that:

[1] All Federal agencies enforce existing laws and
regulations which prohibit discrimination against
mentally disabled persors and seek to equalize op-
portunities for such individuals.

[2] All Federal agencies review their statutes, regu-
lations, and programs for instances of discrimination
against mentally handicapped persons.

[3] The Department of Health, Education and Wel-
fare vigorously implement the requirements of the
Education for All Handicapped Children Act and
formulate regulations to assist school districts to
provide for the mental health needs of children and
youth.

[4] Each state review its mental health laws and
revise them, if necessary to ensure that they pro-
vide for:

8a

a) a right to treatment/right to habilitation
and to protection from harm for involuntar-
ily confined mental patients ard develop-
mentally disabled individuals;

b) a right to treatment in the least restrictive
setting;

e) a right to refuse treatment, with careful at-
tention to the circumstances and procedures
under which the right may be qualified; and

d) a right to due process when community place-
ment is being considered.

[5] Each state have a “Bill of Rights” for all men-
tally disabled persons, wherever they reside.

[6] Mentally disabled persons in detention or correc-
tional institutions should have access to appropriate
mental health services on a voluntary basis and such
access should not be connected with release considera-
tions.

71 All recipients of Federal funds to provide mental
health services be required to adhere to certain basic
principles of confidentiality, and that other institu-
tions and facilities be encouraged to follow this prac-
tice.

[8] The establishment of advocacy systems for the
representation of mentally disabled individuals. In
adversary or judicial settings we recognize the im-
portance of counsel to represent not only the mentally
disabled client (or those acting in his or her behalf)
but also the state or provider against which a claim
is made.

[9] Each State review its civil commitment and
guardianship laws and revise them, if necessary, to
incorporate increased procedural protections.

9a

STATE ADVOCACY PROGRAMS FOR THE
MENTALLY DISABLED

RECOMMENDATION

BE IT RESOLVED that the American Bar Associa-
tion urges the establishment of advocacy programs for
the representation of the mentally disabled in all states,
and calls on the Legal Services Corporation to increase
its activities so as to ensure more adequate and effective
legal services for the mentally disabled poor in institu-
tions and in the community.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1099%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
