# Opposition — Bucuvalas v. Massachusetts

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1062%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 827

## Text

~ Supreme Court, U,
FILED

' JUN 2% 1978

In the MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States.

OctToser TERM, 1977.
No. 77-1678.

GEORGE BUCUVALAS,
PETITIONER,

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
RESPONDENT.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
APPEALS COURT OF THE COMMONWEALTH
OF MASSACHUSETTS

Brief of the Respondent in Opposition.

Francis X. BELLOTTI,
Attorney General,
STEPHEN R. DELINsky,
Assistant Attorney General,
Chief, Criminal Bureau,
BarBarA A. H. SMITH,
Assistant Attorney General,
Chief, Criminal Appellate Division,
RosBert S. Potters,
Assistant Attorney General,
Room 1805,
One Ashburton Place,
Boston, Massachusetts 02108.
(617) 727-2240

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS.

Table of Contents.

Questions presented
Statement of the case
Prior proceedings
Statement of the facts
Argument

I. The Massachusetts Appeals Court’s construc-
tion of the statute under which the petitioner
was convicted did not improperly expand its
application to the petitioner's conduct 4

~- WO Ww Wb tb

A. Proof of actual sexual intercourse is not
an element of the offense committed by the
petitioner 5
B. M.G.L. c. 272, § 6, is sufficiently precise
to have given the petitioner notice that his
conduct was illegal 6

II. The petitioner’s claim that the Common-
wealth’s evidence was insufficient fails to raise

a federal question 9
Conclusion ll
Appendix 13

Table of Authorities Cited.
CASES.
Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964) 7

Boyd v. United States, 271 U.S. 104 (1926) lin

ii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

Commonwealth v. Balthazar, 366 Mass. 298 (1974) 8

Commonwealth v. Bucuvalas, Mass. App. Ct. Adv.
Sh. (1978) 124, further appellate review denied,

Mass. Adv. Sh. (1978) 826 2, 3, 5, 6, 9
Commonwealth v. King, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) 2636 8
Commonwealth v. Martin, 304 Mass. 320 (1939) 5
Commonwealth v. McCan, 277 Mass. 199 (1931) 8
Commonwealth v. Squires, 97 Mass. 59 (1867) 7
Commonwealth v. Taschetta, 252 Mass. 158 (1925) 10
Commonwealth v. Williams, 353 Mass. 233 (1967) 10
Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S. 141 (1973) 10n
Fox Film Corp. v. Muller, 296 U.S. 207 /1935) 4
Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684 (1975) 7
Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120

(1945) 7
Rose v. Locke, 423 U.S. 48 (1975) 7, 10
Thompson v. Louisville, 362 U.S. 199 (1960) 9
United States v. Harriss, 347 U.S. 612 (1954) 7

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS.

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment,

Due Process Clause 9
M.G.L. c. 265, § 22 7n
M.G.L. ec. 272

§ 6 2,6,7,9
§ 11 10

§ 53 , 3n

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

M.G.L. c. 278, § 18
Mass. Gen. Stats. c. 172, § 16
Mass. St. 1974, c. 474, § 1

MISCELLANEOUS.

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (1964)

In the
Supreme Court of the United States.

OctTosBer Term, 1977.
No. 77-1678.

GEORGE BUCUVALAS,
PETITIONER,

v.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
RESPONDENT.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
APPEALS COURT OF THE COMMONWEALTH

OF MASSACHUSETTS

Brief of the Respondent in Opposition.

Respondent is not dissatisfied with petitioner’s citation of
the opinion below or his statement of jurisdiction.

2
Questions Presented.

1. Whether the petitioner's due process right to fair
warning of proscribed conduct was abridged by the Massa-
chusetts Appeals Court’s interpretation of a Massachusetts
criminal statute.

2. Whether the evidence introduced at the petitioner's
criminal trial supported the jury’s verdict.

Statement of the Case.
Prion PROCEEDINGS.

On October 16, 1976, a criminal complaint was issued by
the Municipal Court of the City of Boston charging the
petitioner with a violation of M.G.L. c. 272, § 6, in that
he, being the owner of a place or having or assisting in the
management or control thereof, induced or knowingly suf-
fered a female to resort to or be in or upon such place, for
the purpose of unlawfully having sexual intercourse. He
was convicted of this offense on November 22, 1976, and
pursuant to M.G.L. c. 278, § 18, exercised his right to a
trial de novo in the Superior Court.

On April 20, 1977, after a jury trial, the petitioner was
found guilty and sentenced to three months in the Suffolk
County House of Correction and ordered to pay a fine of
one thousand dollars, with a surcharge of two hundred and
fifty dollars.

On appeal the conviction was affirmed by the Appeals
Court, Commonwealth v. Bucuvalas, Mass. App. Ct. Adv.
Sh. (1978) 124, and a petition for further appellate review
was denied by the Supreme Judicial Court. Common-
wealth v. Bucuvalas, Mass. Adv. Sh. (1978) 826.

3

STATEMENT OF THE FActs.

The facts as they appear in the opinion of the Appeals
Court may be summarized as follows:

The petitioner was the president and director of the
United Food Corporation which did business at the “Two
O'Clock Lounge,” a barroom located in Boston’s adult
entertainment area. The entertainment offered by the
lounge consisted of nude dancing by females as well as the
serving of alcoholic beverages. Commonwealth v. Bucuva-
las, supra at 125.

There was evidence offered at the petitioner’s trial demon-
strating that his managerial responsibilities included ar-
ranging for the entertainment and keeping track of the
“girls,” who while not dancing mingled with the customers
soliciting the purchase of alcoholic beverages for prices up
to $150. On the day of his arrest, the petitioner was in the
lounge exercising his managerial duties. Jd. at 125-126.

During the afternoon of October 14, 1976, a male custo-
mer spoke with a barmaid in the main room of the lounge;
the barmaid summoned Ms. Connie Peria, employed as a
dancer for $100 a week, who, after a brief conversation
with the customer, accepted $50 from him and gave it to
the barmaid.' Ms. Peria and the customer then went to a
secluded area of the lounge where she subsequently per-
formed fellatio upon the male customer. Jd. at 126.

At approximately 4 p.m. that day, two Boston police offi-
cers entered the lounge, met the petitioner and walked to
the rear of the lounge. As they were conversing, Ms. Peria
ran from the secluded area clad only in a white negligee.
A few seconds later the male customer appeared, told the
officers that Ms. Peria had fellated him and additionally

'Ms. Peria was tried with the petitioner and convicted of prostitution
(M.G.L. c. 272, § 53). She did not appeal.

4

complained that his wallet had been stolen. The police
officers arrested both Ms. Peria and the petitioner. Id.

Argument.

I. THE MASSACHUSETTS APPEALS CourRT’s CONSTRUCTION OF
THE STATUTE UNDER WHICH THE PETITIONER was Con-
vicTeED Dip Not IMPROPERLY EXPAND ITS APPLICATION TO
THE PETITIONER'S CONDUCT.

The petitioner seeks review by this Court of his Massa-
chusetts conviction on the ground that the judicial construc-
tion of the phrase “sexual intercourse” by the Appeals Court
enlarged its definition and retroactively applied it to the pe-
titioner’s conduct (petitioner's brief, pp. 9-14). The peti-
tioner also asserts that if the Appeals Court’s construction of
the term was in accord with prior Massachusetts decisions,
the act of commercial fellatio which occurred in the peti-
tioner’s lounge was not unlawful at the time it occurred
and, thus, the petitioner could not have had adequate notice
that his conduct was proscribed by law (petitioner's brief,
pp. 18-20).

Neither contention merits this Court’s granting a writ of
certiorari, for the petitioner's conviction was properly af-
firmed by the Appeals Court. Additionally, there exist ade-
quate state grounds upon which the petitioner's conviction
was based. See Fox Film Corp. v. Muller, 296 U.S. 207,
210 (1935).

* The customer testified at trial that later that day he in fact found his
wallet in his pants pocket.

5

A. Proof of Actual Sexual Intercourse is Not an Element
of the Offense Committed by the Petitioner.

In stating the elements of the offense charged against the
petitioner, the Appeals Court held that proof of Ms. Peria’s
actual engagement in sexual intercourse was not required by
the statute.

The offense defined by G.L. c. 272, § 6, may be
analyzed as requiring the proof of three elements: (1)
that the defendant owned, managed or assisted in the
management or control of certain premises; (2) that a
female was present on those premises for the purpose of
unlawfully having sexual intercourse, and (3) that the
defendant induced or knowingly suffered the female's
presence on the premises for that purpose.

Commonwealth v. Bucuvalas, supra, Mass. App. Ct. Adv.
Sh. (1978) at 127. This definition is fully in accord with
prior definitions of the statute and, thus, does not represent
a novel interpretation of the statute. See Commonwealth
v. Martin, 304 Mass. 320, 322 (1939). The gravamen of
the offense is the purpose for which the female is on the
premises, not the conduct that occurred there.

At the petitioner's trial, the Commonwealth chose to in-
troduce evidence that Ms. Peria had committed fellatio upon
the male customer. While the failure to introduce this evi-
dence would not have been fatal to the charge, the Com-
monwealth introduced it to aid the court and the jury in
inferring what Ms. Peria’s purpose was.

Peria’s employment as an entertainer in the lounge does
not rule out the inference that her duties also included

6

the performance of sexual services. Given the type of
establishment, Peria’s occupation and costume, and her
response to the barmaid’s call and subsequent per-
formance of fellatio for payment, it was open for the
jury to determine as a matter of fact that Peria was
available for sexual intercourse with customers who
desired such services.

Commonwealth v. Bucuvalas, supra, Mass. App. Ct. Adv.
Sh. (1978) at 128.

Petitioner's argument, then, that his conduct did noi fail
within the terms of the statute since only fellatio and not
coitus occurred, simply misconstrues tle elements of the
offense. That Ms. Peria performed fellatio is unnecessary to
the Commonwealth's burden of proof, and, at best, merely
raises a collateral issue not worthy of review by this Court.

B. M.G.L. c. 272, § 6, is Sufficiently Precise to have
Given the Petitioner Notice that his
Conduct was Illegal.

In addition to affirming the petitioner's conviction on
adequate state grounds, the Appeals Court briefly dismissed
the petitioner's argument that the term “sexual intercourse”
could not constitutionally be defined to have included
Ms. Peria’s performance of fellatio. Commonwealth v.
Bucuvalas, supra, Mass. App. Ct. Adv. Sh. (1978) at 132.
Thus, the petitioner, so the argument goes, lacked adequate
notice of the wrongfulness of his conduct (petitioner’s brief,
pp. 13-15). For the reasons stated supra at 5-6, this argu-
ment is irrelevant to the issues in the case. Nevertheless,
judicial precedent in Massachusetts does not attribute the
narrow definition to “sexual intercourse” that the petitioner
seeks to assert.

7

It is fundamental that the state couris are the ultimate
expositors of state law. Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684,
691 (1975). Only in rare instances will this Court re-
examine a state court’s construction of its own statute. See
Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120, 129
(1945). Thus, if in interpreting a statute the state court
unforeseeably expands narrow and precise statutory lan-
guage, review by this Court may be appropriate. Bouie v.
City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347, 351 (1964). However, in
considering such a claim, it is well settled that “... the
Due Process Clause prohibits the States from holding an
individual ‘criminally responsible for conduct which he
could not reasonably understand to be proscribed.’” Rose
v. Locke, 423 U.S. 48, 49 (1975), quoting from United
States v. Harriss, 347 U.S. 612, 617 (1954). The respondent
submits that the petitioner could reasonably have under-
stood that his conduct was prohibited by M.G.L. c. 272,
§ 6.

While the term “sexual intercourse” had not been specifi-
cally defined by prior case law, its common law equivalent,
“carnal knowledge,” has been defined.* In Common-
wealth v. Squires, 97 Mass. 59, 61 (1867), the Massachu-
setts Supreme Judicial Court in discussing the elements of
the Massachusetts rape statute (Gen. Sts. c. 172, § 16)* de-
fined carnal knowledge in the following manner.

... from very early times, in the law, as in common
speech, the meaning of the words “carnal knowledge”
of a woman by a man has been sexual bodily connec-
tion; and these words, without more, have been used

* The petitioner substantially relies on the definition of “carnal knowl-
edge” in support of his argument (petitioner's brief, p. 10).

‘The present Massachusetts rape statute appears at M.G.L. c. 265,
§ 22, as amended by St. 1974, c. 474, § 1.

8

in that sense by writers of the highest authority on
criminal law, when undertaking to give a full and pre-
cise definition of the crime of rape, the highest crime of
this character. (Citations omitted.)

See also Commonwealth v. McCan, 277 Mass. 199, 203
(1931).

While one dictionary definition of “sexual intercourse” is
as the petitioner asserts, it is also defined in broader terms.
For example, Webster's Third New International Dictionary
(1964) additionally defines the term as “sexual connection
especially between humans.”* The construction of the
term, then, by the Massachusetts Appeals Court is fully in
accord with prior definitions as well as with the term’s com-
monly accepted meaning. Thus, the petitioner cannot com-
plain that he had no warning of the term’s meaning.

The petitioner also argues that since Ms. Peria’s act was
constitutionally protected, his conduct could not have vio-
lated the law. This contention totally ignores Massachu-
setts’ historic prohibition against commercial sex, i.e., prosti-
tution. Although the Supreme Judicial Court has held that
fellatio engaged in by consenting adults in private is not a
crime, Commonwealth v. Balthazar, 366 Mass. 298, 302
(1974), it has never held that similar acts engaged in for
commercial gain were not criminal. In fact, recently the
Supreme Judicial Court upheld the Massachusetts prostitu-
tion statute on the ground, inter alia, that commercial sex
and its solicitation were constitutionally distinguishable
from private, adult conduct. Commonwealth v. King,
Mass. Adv. Sh. (1977) 2636, 2646. Thus, since commercial

* The petitioner cites Webster's Third New International Dictionary as
authority, as well, but he mentions only one of several definitions (pe-
titioner’s brief, p. 10).

9

sex has been illegal in Massachusetts historically, the peti-
tioner cannot complain that the Appeals Court’s construction
of M.G.L. c. 272, § 6, improperly expanded the meaning of
the term “unlawful sexual intercourse” to include commer-
cial sex.°

II. THe Petirioner’s CLAIM THAT THE COMMONWEALTH’S
EVIDENCE WAS INSUFFICIENT FAILS TO RAISE
A FEDERAL QUESTION.

It is well settled that this Court will not review questions
of the sufficiency of the evidence against a state defendant
except in rare instances. Thompson v. Louisville, 362 U.S.
199 (1960). The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment is violated only when a conviction rests upon
no evidence at all. Id.

In affirming the petitioner’s conviction, the Appeals Court
found that there was ample evidence on each element of the
offense charged against the petitioner to warrant the trial
judge’s denial of the petitioner’s motion for a directed ver-
dict. Commonwealth v. Bucuvalas, supra, Mass. App. Ct.
Adv. Sh. (1978) at 127-128. The circumstances of Ms.
Peria’s employment at the lounge, her costume, and her
acceptance of $50 from the male customer for performing
fellatio, fully support the reasonable inference that her pur-
pose was to engage in unlawful sexual intercourse. As
argued supra at 5-6, that Ms. Peria did not, in fact, en-
gage in sexual intercourse is not fatal to the petitioner’s con-
viction.

The petitioner also argues that there was no evidence
introduced from which the jury could have inferred that he

*The petitioner does not contend that Ms. Peria’s act was not per-
formed in return for $50, nor did he assert this in the state courts.

10

had knowledge of Ms. Peria’s purpose (petitioner’s brief, pp.
23-24). This contention is totally without merit, for, while
there was no direct evidence of the petitioner's knowledge,
the circumstantial evidence introduced was ample. The
petitioner's duties and responsibilities as president of the
corporation and resident manager of the lounge were never
disputed by the petitioner. Furthermore, the barmaid’s
complicity in the transaction, which evidences a managerial
approval and involvement, as well as the use of the prem-
ises, warrant the inference that the petitioner at least tacitly
approved of Ms. Peria’s conduct.

Finally, as the Appeals Court held, the testimony of the
male customer as to what occurred in the lounge was amply
corroborated by the above mentioned evidence. Therefore,
the petitioner cannot complain that the Massachusetts re-
quirement, established by M.G.L. c. 272, § 11, that a de-
fendant cannot be convicted on the testimony of one witness
alone was violated. See Commonwealth v. Williams, 353
Mass. 233, 234 (1967); see also Commonwealth v. Taschet-
ta, 252 Mass. 158, 160 (1925). Moreover, the Massachu-
setts requirement of corroboration is based upon a statute,
not upon the federal Constitution. Cf. Rose v. Locke,
supra, 423 U.S. at 49, n. 2.

Thus, the petitioner's assertion that there was no evidence
to support his conviction is not borne out by the record.
Since there was evidence introduced on each element of the
offense which was sufficient to support the jury’s verdict,
the petitioner's claim does not raise a federal question.’

‘The petitioner also seeks review by this Court on the ground that
several of the trial court's instructions to the jury violated his right to
due process (petitioner's brief, pp. 27-30) This claim also fails to raise
a federal question since the assailed instructions did not “. . . so [infect]
the entire trial that the resulting conviction violat{[ed] due process.”
Cupp v. Naughten. 414 U.S. 141, 147 (1973). The charge taken as a

ll

Conclusion.

For the above stated reasons the petition for a writ of
certiorari to the Appeals Court of the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,
FRANCIS X. BELLOTTI,
Attorney General,
STEPHEN R. DELINSKY,
Assistant Attorney General,
Chief, Criminal Bureau,
BARBARA A. H. SMITH,
Assistant Attorney General,
Chief, Criminal Appellate Division,
ROBERT S. POTTERS,
Assistant Attorney General,
Room 1805,
One Ashburton Place,
Boston, Massachusetts 02108.
(617) 727-2240

whole fairly presented the case to the jury. See Boyd v. United States,
271 U.S. 104, 107 (1926). Moreover, for the reasons argued supre at 5-
6, two of the petitioner's requested instructions were misstatements of
the law (petitioner's appendix, pp. 2a, 3a). Finally, contrary to the pe-
titioner’s assertion, the trial court did instruct the jury that it had to find
that the petitioner acted with knowledge.

12

13
Appendix.

MASSACHUSETTS GENERAL Laws, CHAPTER 272.

§ 6. |Penalty on Owner of Premises, etc. |

Whoever, being the owner of a place or having or assisting
in the management or control thereof induces or knowingly
suffers a female to resort to or be in or upon such place, for
the purpose of unlawfully having sexual intercourse, shall
be punished as provided in section three.

§ 11. [Evidence and Limitation. }

A person shall not be convicted under sections two to six,
inclusive, upon the evidence of one witness only, unless his
testimony is corroborated in a material particular, and
prosecution for a violation of any of said sections shall not

_ be commenced more than one year after the commissio» of

the crime.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1062%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
