# Opposition — Youngstown Cartage Co. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1037%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 439 U.S. 826

## Text

?.

" ’ . 7 ; ’
- q 7 e -
. » —
* . “ 4
¢ > 7
- + _ a
. =
f ‘ , yt
4 :
- ‘
4 te: ae ae |
3,

-

-

~

, , \ .
bt ,
‘ : ;
ts oS
. PP |

a
~

:

*

FOR A WRIT OF CBRTIORARI TO THE

ON

TES COURT OF APPE R
CIRCUIT

TED STA
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

a

_

*
~
a
A
-
.
J om |
es

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS

IN OPPOSITION

WADe H. McCresg, Jr.,

Department of Justice,
Washi D.C. 20530.

ju the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1978

No. 77-1651

THE YOUNGSTOWN CARTAGE CO., PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1la-
6a) is reported at 571 F.2d 1243. The orders of the
Interstate Commerce Commission (Pet. App. 7a-17a)
are unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on February 23, 1978. The petition for a writ of

(1)

2

certiorari was filed on May 19, 1978. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Interstate Commerce Commission law-
fully denied petitioner’s applications for additional
motor carrier operating authority.

STATEMENT

In early 1974 the Interstate Commerce Commission
adopted regulations designed to create more efficient
interstate trucking services without unduly upsetting
the motor carrier regulatory scheme. Under what was
termed the “gateway elimination” policy, the Com-
mission agreed to consider applications from trucking
companies for direct service authorizations between
points that the companies had previously served only
indirectly.‘ Gateway Elimination Decision, 119 M.C.C.
530. 49 C.F.R. 1065.1.

Under the previous practice, when carriers were
not authorized to provide direct service between two
points they could provide indirect service by “tacking”
their authorized routes together through what were
termed “gateway” points. For example, if a carrier
were authorized to provide service from Pittsburgh
to Cincinnati and from Cincinnati to Indianapolis, it
could provide service from Pittsburgh to Indianapolis

1 This Court upheld the gateway elimination rules in Thomp-
son Van Lines, Inc. V. United States, 399 F. Supp. 1131
(D. D.C.), affirmed, 423 U.S. 1041.

3

by “tacking” the two routes together. But the carrier
would still be required to follow its authorized routes
to and from the “gateway” point—in this example,
Cincinnati—rather than shipping by the most direct
overland route (Pet. App. 2a-3a).

Under the new policy, the Commission permitted
qualifying carriers to eliminate the need to pass
through the “gateway” points. Where the length of
the direct route between two points was more than
80 percent of the length of the indirect route through
the carrier’s gateway, the carrier could eliminate the
gateway simply by filing a notice of intention to do
so. 49 C.F.R. 1065.1(d) (1) (i). Where the gateway
route was more circuitous—and where it was there-
fore less likely that the carrier had previous!y pro-
vided significant service between the two points—the
carrier was required to file a special application for
elimination of the gateway. This application was re-
quired to show that the carrier had been handling
traffic between the two points via the gateway during
the two years preceding November 23, 1973. 49 C.F.R.
1065.1(d) (2) (iii). If the carrier did not elimi-
nate particular gateways by one of these two methods,
the regulations provided that “tacking” would no
longer be permitted, and the carrier would be pro-
hibited from continuing to offer indirect service
through its gateways. 49 C.F.R. 1065.1(b).

Petitioner, an interstate trucking company, filed an
application to eliminate 14 of its gateways that in-
volved circuity of more than 20 percent and therefore
could not be eliminated without the special showing

4

required by the regulations. The Commission denied
petitioner’s application on procedural grounds (Pet.
App. 7a-8a). The Commission stated that petition-
er’s evidence (an exhibit listing some 800 random
shipments from the previous two years) failed to
specify the gateway through which each shipment had
moved. Moreover, the Commission noted that peti-
tioner’s application had failed to distinguish between
shipments on routes having less than 20 percent cir-
cuity (and thus subject to gateway elimination simply
upon filing a letter notice) and those on more circui-
tous routes. In light of petitioner’s “failure to pre-
sent its traffic exhibit in such a way as to enable the
Commission to determine that it has been a substan-
tial competitor through each of the involved gate-
ways” (Pet. Apr. 8a), and because the traffic exhibit
was “unworkable” (ibid.), the Commission denied the
application.

On January 21, 1976, one day before the Commis-
sion’s final decision in the first proceeding became
effective, petitioner filed a second application, substan-
tially identical to the first, in which it attempted to
remedy the evidentiary deficiencies of the prior appli-
cation. Although the second application purported
also to be filed under the Commission’s gateway rules,
the Commission held that it was untimely under those
rules (Pet. App. lla-12a).’ Treating the application

* The gateway regulations required applications for elimi-
nating gateways involving more than 20 percent circuity to be
filed within 60 days of April 5, 1974, the date the order promul-
gating the regulations became effective. 39 Fed. Reg. 7794; 49

5

as a traditional request for new operating authority
under Section 207(a) of the Interstate Commerce
Act, as added, 49 Stat. 551, 49 U.S.C. 307(a), the
Commission denied the application because petitioner
failed to offer proof of shipper support for the re-
quested routes (Pet. App. 13a-15a).

The court of appeals affirmed both of the Commis-
sion’s orders, finding that the Commission had law-
fully exercised its discretion in denying the applica-
tions (Pet. App. la-6a). As to the denial of the 1974
application, the court held that the Commission “was
not unreasonable in requiring that the applicant meet
the minimal procedural burden put on the carriers in
order to help the agency with the formidable adminis-
trative burden of the gateway elimination program,
particularly in view of the benefits that program con-
ferred on the carriers” (Pet. App. 3a). With respect
to the denial of the 1976 application, the court con-
cluded that because that application had been filed at
a time when petitioner’s tacking authority was about
to expire and because the Commission rules barred
duplicate gateway elimination applications, the Com-
mission had not acted in an arbitrary or capricious
manner in treating the application as a request for
new authority and imposing the normal requirement
of proof of shipper support for the requested routes
rather than the more lenient proof requirements ap-
plicable in gateway elimination proceedings.

C.F.R. 1065.1 (d) (2) (iv). All unapproved operations through
gateways were prohibited after that date. 49 C.F.R. 1065.1
(b). The gateway regulations also barred duplicate applica-
tions. 49 C.F.R. 1065.1 (e).

ARGUMENT

The gateway elimination rules involved in this
case governed only applications filed before 1975. The
case therefore does not present any issue of continu-
ing importance requiring this Court’s review. More-
over, the decisions of the Commission and the court
of appeals are correct.

1. The court of appeals properly sustained the
Commission’s denial, on procedural grounds, of peti-
tioner’s failure to indicate which shipments in its
800 shipment sample moved through which gate-
ways made its application almost worthless, because
the Commission could not determine whether peti-
tioner had been a substantial competitor in each of
the markets in question, and thus whether elimination
of the gateway would serve the purpose of curbing
wasteful circuity without allowing a new carrier into
a market that it had not previously served. The re-
quirement that a carrier show that it had been a sub-
stantial competitor between the two points through its
gateway connection was a traditional one, Childress—
Elimination Sanford Gateway, 61 M.C.C. 421, and the
agency’s denial of the application for failure to meet
that standard was entirely reasonable.°

* Chem-Haulers, Inc. v. Interstate Commerce Commission,
565 F.2d 728 (C.A. D.C.), on which petitioner relies, is
inapposite. In that case the Commission granted portions of
a gateway elimination application but denied other portions
on the ground that the applicant had not transported “sub-
stantial” traffic through certain gateways. The court re-
versed because of the Commission’s failure to explain what
constituted “substantial” traffic. Jd. at 732. In the present

7

2. The Commission’s refusal to consider petition-
er’s second application under its gateway rules and
its denial of the application as a request for new
authority also were proper. Because petitioner’s sec-
ond application was filed approximately 18 months
after the published deadline for filing gateway elimi-
nation applications, the Commission was entirely jus-
tified in declining to process it under the special 1974
gateway elimination procedures.‘

Petitioner submitted no shipper support evidence
or any other evidence sufficient to make out a prima
facie case for a grant of new authority, see Novak
Contract Carrier Application, 103 M.C.C. 555, and
the Commission therefore acted within its discretion
in denying the 1976 application. See Ross Express,

case, by contrast, the Commission was precluded from making

. any findings regarding the substantiality of traffic through

petitioner’s gateways because of the inadequacy of petitioner’s
evidentiary presentation. (In any event, any conflict among
decisions of the same court of appeals would be for that
court to resolve. Wisniewski v. United States, 353 U.S. 901,

902.)

‘ There is no basis for petitioner’s assertion that the court
of appeals’ decision is inconsistent with Frozen Food Express,
Inc. Vv. United States, 535 F.2d 877 (C.A. 5). In that case the
Commission refused to reopen a gateway elimination applica-
tion to consider additional evidence submitted by the com-
plaining carrier, although it had accepted late-filed evidence
from other carriers. The court vacated the Commission’s
order on the ground that the carrier whose evidence was not
considered had not received “evenhanded” treatment. /d. at
880. Here, by contrast, petitioner has failed to show that any
similarly-situated carrier has been treated differently by the

agency.

Inc. v. United States, 529 F.2d 679, 682 (C.A. 1);
Artus Trucking Co., Inc. v. Interstate Commerce Com-
mission, 377 F. Supp. 1224, 1228 (E.D. N.Y.). As
the court of appeals pointed out, in view of the fact
that petitioner was no longer conducting operations
through the gateways at issue, “[t]he Commission
was obviously justified in requiring evidence that [the
carrier] would be able to attract shippers—new ones,
old customers regained or both” (Pet. App. 6a n.9).°

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCREE, JR.,
Solicitor General.
MARK L. EVANS,
General Counsel,

FREDERICK W. READ, Ill,
Associate General Counsel,

L. MARIE GUILLORY,
Attorney,

Interstate Commerce Commission.
JULY 1978.

* Petitioner’s assertion that the gateway elimination rules
reduce competition contrary to the national transportation pol-
icy (Pet. 13) is without merit. Thompson Van Lines, Inc. V.
United States, 399 F. Supp. 1131 (D. D.C.), affirmed, 423
U.S. 1041.

W oc. &. covernmenry paintine orrics; 1978 269000. 61

a ee

ee

Sa

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_1037%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
