# Petitioners Brief — Detroit Edison Co. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0859%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 440 U.S. 301

## Text

F |

JUN

F ‘ Supreme Court, U. S.

LED
10 1978

DAK, JR., CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosnerR Teno, 1977

No. 77-968

Tae Detroit Eptson Company, Petitioner

NationaL Lasor Resations Boarp, Respondent

BRIEF OF PETITIONER

JoHN A, MCGUINN

FarRMER, SHIBLEY, McGuinn & FLoop
1120 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washineton, D.C. 20036

LEON S. COHAN
2000 Second Avenue
Detroit, Michigan 48226

Passs or Bryson S. ADAMs PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D. C.

Ct ers oe

~ ane

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SE IE so cu deuuvceeeueoscey sea vdsawes conus 1
PEE Zi Kevvedceriwnnenesccndicuadsakannne es 2
SURED TWUUIIIGED on cccccccce wc ctcccsccedesepes 2
Staturory Provisions INVOLVED ............0.ee0e0: 3
IE Weikds osc avdeddeuneeeedesenenetinedanas 3
NE i heed tele a hi ied ind pales 3
EEE Fh. Sidedescennsniences cbbiaeonsen 6
pS nT ne rT rey ree 8
The 1972 Collective Bargaining Negotiations .... 14
ID ich eekbeeteehacedadavsecrccnss 15
The Unfair Labor Practice Case ............... 20
The Decision of the Court of Appeals .......... 22
Dwersane OF ARGUMENT 2... cc ccccccescccccscccccs 24
FUP ET CT CET ETC OT ETT ECE TET OT eer TE TTOr? 30

I. Disclosure To The Union Of Job-Related Apti-
tude Tests, Test Scores Linked With The
Names Of The Applicants And Test Sheets Of
yy Would Destroy The Future Va-
Be Ge Se BED ve dodecsccvcdedoncdccse: 30

1.

The Violation of EEOC Guidelines on Test-
ing Inherent in Disclosure of the Test Ma-
nc ccemneweuceseuess 31

2. The Inefficacy of the “Restriction” Ap-
proved by the Court of Appeals in Prevent-
ing the Dissemination of the Test Materials
to Unauthorized Persons ................ 39

ii Table of Contents—Continued
Page
II. Disclosure Of The Test Materials To The
Union Has No Probably Relevance Or Useful-
ness To The Union In Carrying Out Its Statu-
tory Duties And Responsibilities In Processing
The Promotion Grievances Through Arbitra-

BN eae 8 er ie de Se ae hed bad 43
1. The Irrelevance of the Tests ............. 44
2. The Irrelevance of the Test Scores Linked
with the Names of the Applicants ........ 49
I ss fe ol ee oh ee eae eecuedees c 57

TABLE OF CITATIONS
CaskEs:
Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405 (1975). .25, 35

Amalgamated Utility Workers v. Consolidated Edison
ig Os OE CUUNE Sccrccccvenvicewcesessss 42

Davis v. Washington, 348 F.Supp. 15 (D.C. 1972), 512
F.2d 956 (D.C.Cir. 1975), reversed Washington v.
Davis 426 U.S. 229 (1976).............. 25, 35, 40, 41

Emporium Capwell Co. v. Western Addition Com-
munity Org., 420 U.S. 50 (1975) .............. 30, 57

General Electric Co. v. NLRB, 466 F.2d 1177 (6th Cir.
DD. peda dualesccusaks tases scenes sees 23, 53, 54

Griggs v. Duke Power, 401 U.S. 424 (1971) ...25, 32, 35, 37
International Telephone & Telegraph, Federal Divi-

sion, 22-CA-499, 46 LRRM 1387 (1960)........ 25, 38
Kirkland v. Department of Correctional Services, 520

ee Ge CE GE, SUED wicceestccovccsocs 25, 35, 36
Kroger Co. v. NLRB, 399 F.2d 455 (6th Cir. 1968) 23, 29, 55
Munn v. Illinois, 94 U.S. 113 (1877) ¢............... 37
NLRB v. Acme Industrial Company, 385 U.S. 432

BE re rere 27, 29, 30, 43, 56

NLRB v. Truitt Mfg. Co., 351 U.S. 149 (1956)... . 28, 54, 55
Southern Steamship Co. v. NLRB, 316 U.S. 31 (1942) 30, 57

United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior & Gulf
Nav. Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960) .................. 56

Table of Citations—Continued iii
Page
Statutes & Reauiations:
United States Code, Title 29, §158(a)(5) ............ 3
United States Code, Title 42, § 2000e-2(h) .......... 2,3
MISCELLANEOUS:

American Psychological Association’s Code of Ethics
‘*Standards for Educational and Psychological
Tests and Manuals”, Standards I5 and J2...... 23, 24,

Psychological Aptitude Tests and the Duty to Supply
Information, 91 Harvard Law Review 869, (1978) 43

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-968

THE Detroit Epison Company, Petitioner
We

NaTIONAL LaBor RELATIONS Boarp, Respondent

BRIEF OF PETITIONER

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, dated August
10, 1977, is reported at 560 F.2d 722, and appears in
the Appendix to the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari*
at pp. la-12a, The Court’s denial on November 22, 1977,
of the petitioner’s motion for rehearing appears in the
Petition Appendix at p. 13a. The decision and order of
the National Labor Relations Board, enforced by the
Court of Appeals, is reported at 218 NLRB No. 147
(1975), and appears in the Petition Appendix at pp.
14a-17a. The decision of the Administrative Law Judge
in this case appears in the Petition Appendix at pp.
18a-59a. The original opinion and award of the arbi-

’ The references to the Appendix to the Petition for Certiorari
will be designated as ‘‘P.A.’’ in this brief, while references to the
Appendix prepared after the petition was granted will be desi-
nated as ‘‘A’’.

2

trator in the related arbitration proceeding, dated De-
cember 3, 1973, appears in the Petition Appendix at
pp. 60a-76a, and the supplemental opinion and award of
the arbitrator in that proceeding, dated October 22,
1974, appears in the Petition Appendix at pp. 77a-87a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit was entered on August 10, 1977. A timely peti-
tion for rehearing en banc was denied on November 22,
1977, and the petition for certiorari was filed within
90 days of that date. This Court granted the p:»tition
on March 27, 1978. This Court’s jurisdiction is being
invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the judicial interpretation of Section
8(a) (5) of the National Labor Relations Act requiring
employers to furnish unions representing their employ-
ees with tests and test scores conflicts with Title VII of
the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42 U.S.C. 2000e-2(h) )
and the guidelines of the Equal Employment Opportu-
nity Commission on testing (29 C.F.R. Part 1607),
which require, inter alia, that such tests and test scores
not be divulged to unauthorized persons.

2. Whether Section 8(a) (5) of the National Labor
Relations Act requires employers to furnish unions
representing their employees with copies of tests and
test scores used by employers in the selection of candi-
dates for jobs requiring the aptitude to learn specific
skills in cireumstances where (1) the employer gave or
offered to give the Union sufficient information to de-
termine the validity of the tests, (2) the uncontradicted

ame

3

expert testimony of the professional psychologists was
that disclosure of the actual test questions to the Union
would not be useful in determining the validity of the
tests, and (3) the arbitrator involved in the grievance
giving rise to this cise, in construing the applicable
collective bargaining agreement, found that production
of the actual test battery was irrelevant to the arbitra-
tion proceeding and award.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
United States Code, Title 29:

‘Section 158(a) It shall be an unfair labor prac-
tice for an employer—

(5) To refuse to bargain collectively with the

representatives of his employees, subject to the
provisions of section 9(a).”’

United States Code, Title 42:

‘Section 2000e-2(h) ... nor shall it be an unlaw-
ful employment practice for an employer to give
and to act upon the results of any professionally
developed ability test provided that such test, its
administration dr action upon the results is not
designed, intended or used to discriminate because
of race, color, religion, sex or national origin.”’

The EEOC Guidelines on Employee Testing are
found at 29 C.F.R. Part 1607, and are reproduced in
the Petition Appendix at pp. 88a-100a.

STATEMENT
Background

The Detroit Edison Company is a public utility en-
gaged in the generation and distribution of electric

4

power in the State of Michigan (P.A. 19a). Since about
1943, the Utility Workers Union of America (Local
223), AFL-CIO, has represented certain employees of
the Company. At the time of the hearing in this case,
that Union represented employees in approximately
28 different appropriate units throughout the Company
(P.A. 19a). One of these 28 units was a unit of operat-
ing and maintenance employees at the Company’s then
newly constructed Monroe Power Plant at which the
Union was certified as exclusive bargaining agent on
April 1, 1971 (P.A. 19a-20a). The Company and Union
thereafter agreed that the Monroe Plant employees
would be covered by the terms and conditions of a pre-
exis*ing agreement between the parties effective from
June 16, 1969, to June 12, 1972 (P.A. 20a).

In late 1971, the Company determined that six posi-
tions in the classification of Instrument Man B should
be filled at the Monroe Power Plant. The job desecrip-
tion of the Instrument Man job reveals that an incum-
bent on this job ‘‘installs, maintains, repairs, calibrates,
tests and adjusts precision instruments in power
plants’’ (A. 358.) This includes automatic control sys-
tems which control boilers and their associated equip-
ment and the maintenance of both mechanical and elec-
trical tripping and alarm devices (A. 358-359). The
job description also states that, ‘‘ Fairly frequent op-
portunity to cause extremely serious operating condi-
tions from misjudgment or erroneous action exists”’
(A. 359-360). As Mr. Kanous testified, the Instrument
Man is a ‘“‘key”’ job in the plant and is ‘‘extremely im-
portant to the plant’s operation, both in staying in op-
eration and operating efficiently when it is in opera-
tion’’ (A. 210), and that he has the responsibility ‘‘to
actually keep that system on the line or put it back

. - eat a

ne

5

essentially without assistance’’ (A. 212). He further
testified that the Instrument Man ‘‘can create situa-
tions which are extraordinarily hazardous to other em-
ployees or the equipment that he’s working on”’ (A.
310). For the foregoing reasons, as found by the Ad-
ministrative Law Judge, the Company considers this
to be a critical job ‘‘because it is involved with mainte-
nance of plant instrumentation, vital to the operation
of the plant... .’’ (P.A. 20a).’

The posted requirements for this job were (1) satis-
factory high school credits for 2 years of math and 1
year of science, (2) a satisfactory physical examina-
tion, (3) a minimum of ‘“‘recommended’’ in the re-
quired Instrument Man aptitude test administered by
the Company, and (4) a satisfactory attendance rec-
ord (P.A. 20a).

Ten Monroe plant employees bid for the job, but all
were rejected because they failed to achieve a ‘‘recoin-
mended’”’ score on the battery of aptitude exams. Over
30 employees from ether plants covered by the Union
contract were then considered. One incumbent instru-
ment man from another location was selected without
the necessity of ta cing the test, and the remaining five
positions were filed by the five most senior applicants
who achieved a ‘‘recommended”’ score on the aptitude
tests (P.A. 21a).

* Likewise, the arbitrator in the arbitration proceeding concern-
ing the Union’s grievance over the Company’s failure to promote
the Monroe Plant applicants, found that ‘‘There is no cuestion
that the Instrument Man job is one of critical importaive and
requires long training’’ (P.A. 71a).

6

The Grievance

On January 17, 1972, the Union filed a grievance
claiming a violation of Article VIII, Section 38 of the
collective bargaining agreement over the failure to
award the Instrument Man job to the Monroe Plant
bidders (A. 120). Article VIII, Section 38, of the
agreement provided that:

‘fa. If a vacancy occurs in any one of the bargain-
ing units covered by this Agreement and such va-
cancy is not filled by promotion or transfer within
the group, a notice of such vacancy shall be posted
for a period of five (5) days in the bargaining unit
in which it occurs and a copy sent to a Union di-
visional officer designated by the respective divi-
sion.

b. If such a vacancy is not filled by a member of
the bargaining unit, notice of the vacancy shall be
posted in other bargaining units of the same de-
partment for a period of five (5) days. If the rea-
sonable qualifications and abilities of the employ-
ees being considered as a result of this posting are
not significantly different, total length of service
in the Company shall govern. ‘Significant differ-
ence’ shail be ‘head and shoulders difference’, and
such factors as advance licenses or step-up experi-
ence shall not of themselves amount to significant
differences.’’ (A. 117-118).

The grievance was processed through each of the

contractually agreed upon steps of the grievance pro-
cedure (A. 141-154)

The Company’s final answer in the grievance proce-
dure, prior to the invocation by the Union of the right
of arbitration, denied the grievance, but ended with the
following recommendation:

= nme notre alll

aque et Or Pe ds

7

“Tt was evident that the Union does not have a
complete understanding of test validation, estab-
lishment of standards, development of test bat-
teries and similar information relating to the Com-
pany testing program. To that end, I am directing
that a meeting for Union Officers and Chairmen
be arranged to enhance their understanding of the
Company’s objectives in the testing area. A mu-
tually acceptable date will be worked out prior to
November 1, 1972.’’ (A. 153).

Thereafter the grievance continued toward arbitra-
tion after the local union president termed the offer
quoted above to be ‘‘completely unacceptable to the
Union”’ (A. 154). On March 5, 1973, the Union for the
first time made the following requests for information:

‘‘1. The actual battery of tests used in the cap-
tioned matter.

2. The method of scoring or grading and the ac-

tual criteria for finding ‘acceptability’ or ‘rec-
ommended’ or ‘Not Recommended’.

3. A report on the test validation.

4. A report by the National Compliance Com-
pany which, as I understand it, consulted
upon, and reviewed the Company’s whole test-
ing system or apparatus.”’ (A. 121).

Company counsel responded to this letter on March
15, 1973, arranging a meeting between Union repre-
sentatives and Company representatives to discuss and
explain the entire testing procedures, but declined to
release the actual test battery (A. 122).

Thereafter, on April 2, 1973, Company counsel (Mr.
Houghton), its director of union relations (Mr. Ruch)
and its industial psychologist (Dr. Roskind) met with

8

Mr. Lewis for the Union, explained the entire testing
program and procedures to him, and supplied him
with the Company’s validation study for the Instru-
ment Man B test battery (A. 343-353),° as well as a
validation study of the same test battery by an outside
consultant, the National Compliance Company (A. 304-
378).

The Company declined to give the Union the actual
test batteries, test papers or test scores of the appli-
cants who took the test.

Two days after the April 2, 1973, meeting with the
Company, the Union filed charges with the Labor
Board giving rise to this case (A. 104-106).

The Tests

The Company has used aptitude tests in an attempt
to predict job performance since the late 1920’s or
early 1930’s (A. 75, 178-179). These tests do not meus-
ure current knowledge and skills relevant to the job,
but rather the person’s ability to learn such knowledge
and skills. In 1958, a test battery was developed for the
job of Instrument Man (A. 75-76; 179). In the 1956-
1957 period, after the Company reviewed earlier studies
by industrial psychologists of what instrument men
actuall y do and checked with other sectors of industrial
experience where similar jobs were performed, it ap-
peared that there were four tests that had some possi-
bility of predicting job suecess of the Detroit Edi-
son Instrument Man. Out of these four, three were

$A test ‘‘battery’’ is two or more tests used in combination to
arrive at a selection decision (A. 224).

2 ln BERR rt 8 enters

9

picked for a validation study (A. 188-189).‘ These
were the Personnel Test, the Minnesota Paper Form
Board (MPFB) and the Engineering and Physical
Science Aptitude Test (EPSAT) (A. 189). At that
point, incumbent instrument men (1) were given the
three tests on an experimental basis and (2) independ-
ently ranked by their supervisors in terms of their
ability to do the various job functions of the Instru-
ment Man job. A positive correlation between demon-
strated ability to perform the Instrument Man job and

higher scores on the three tests was shown to exist
(A. 190).

In the 1969-1970 period, the Instrument Man bat-
tery of tests was again validated by the Company’s
industrial psychologists because ‘‘the technical engi-
neers of the power plants recognized the need for some
improvement in the selection test battery’? (A. 344).
The steps taken in that revalidation study were the
following:

1. The plant engineers were instructed to arrive
at a series of specific job functions of the Instrument
Man, which were a representative sample of the tasks
performed and which ranged from comparatively sim-
ple to complex (A. 233). Twenty-three (23) such tasks
were selected and they are specified in the validation
report (A. 352-353).

2. An evaluation procedure was devised whereby
each of the 43 incumbents on the job, who had taken
the Instrument Man battery of tests, would be rated

*A validation study is a systematic research study to determine
whether or not there is a relationship between test performance
and job performance.

10

by their supervisors on each of the 23 objective job
tasks as to whether each could perform the task either
(a) without assistance, (b) with minor assistance, or
(c) with major assistance (A. 233-234; 345).

3. Using these parameters, at least two super-
visors independently rated each of the incumbents on
each of the 23 items. Where there was no supervisory
consensus on the incumbent’s performance in the 23
areas being studied,*the results of such evaluations
were discarded. This happened in the case of ten of
the incumbents (A. 234-235; 346), leaving 33 incum-
bents in the study.

4. The performance figures were then correlated
with the test scores. Using the three tests, the multiple
correlation between tests and performance was +.73
(A. 347). The correlation coefficient measures how suc-
cessful the test battery is in predicting job success. If
the correlation were +1.0, the test would be perfectly
predictive of job success (the high scorers would all be
high performers). If the correlation were —1.0, the
test would be perfectly predictive in the opposite direc-
tion (the high scorers would all be poor performers).
If the‘correlation were 0, the test battery would be in-
dicative of neither success nor failure on the job. The
test scores would have no predictive value and their
relationship to either job success or failure would be
one of pure chance.

Taking the Personnel Test out of the battery, the
correlation coefficient was only reduced to +.71 (A.
347). Since it added so little to the validity of the test
battery, the Personnel Test was removed as a result of
the 1970 revalidation (Jbid).

11

The uncontradicted testimony of the professional in-
dustrial psychologists was that a correlation coefficient
of +.71 was unusually high in terms of predicting suc-
cessful job performance. Thus Doctor Roskind, the
Company’s Director of Industrial Psychology, testi-
fied that ‘‘you very, very seldom find a correlation of
a test ... anywhere near as high as .7’’ (A. 238). Mr.
Kanous, the Company’s Director of Em,'oyee Train-
ing, testified that a -+.71 correlation was ‘‘very high’’,
and that generally, useful correlation coefficients
would be in the +.3 to +.6 range (A. 206).

In addition, as a result of the 1970 revalidation, the
previous three-tiered scoring of (1) ‘‘not recommend-
ed’’, (2) ‘‘aeceptable’’, and (3) ‘‘recommended”’ was
dropped in favor of a two-tiered system of ‘‘not rec-
ommended’’ and ‘‘acceptable’’, and a slightly higher
cut-off score of 10.3 was determined to be appropriate
(P.A. 64a). The cut-off score of 10.3 was derived from
a scatter plot (A. 349) showing both supervisory eval-
uation of individuals in the study and their test scores.
As testified to by Doctor Roskind:

‘‘After you’ve placed all this information on the
scatter plot, what you do is place the cutoff score
so that it will operate most effectively and you
will make the least number of mistakes in predict-
ing poor performance and in predicting good per-
formers on the job’’ (A. 99).

The scatter plot showed, and the Arbitrator found,
that 13 of the 16 above-average perfcrmers on the job
scored 10.3 or better and that 14 of the 17 below aver-
age performers on the job scored less than 10.3 (P.A.
74a; A. 349). Stated another way, those scoring 10.3
or better had an approximately 80% chance of be-
coming successful instrument men, and those scoring

12

below 10.3 had an approximately 80% chance of be-
coming unsuccessful instrument men (A. 238).

The content of the Minnesota Paper Form Board
and the EPSAT was not changed in any way as a
result of the 1970 revalidation (A. 236).

The Minnesota Paper Form Board Test is a single
undivided aptitude test that has been used for many
years to predict the ability to visualize in three-dimen-
sional space (A. 193-195).

The Company introduced into the record of the arbi-
tration and of this case ten samples of the kind of ques-
tions appearing in the MPFB (A. 400-402).°

The EPSAT is an aptitude test which is divided into
six parts:

1. Mathematics. This measures the applicant’s fa-
cility with addition, subtraction, multiplication, divi-
sion, fractions, ratios and proportions, and a small
amount of algebra and geometry (A. 199). Examples
of the actual type of question posed in the mathematics
section of the EPSAT were introduced in the record
of the arbitration and of this case and can be found
at A. 384-385.

* These sample questions, as wel! as the sample questions depict-
ing the six part EPSAT Test, which the Company furnished the
Union, were not items taken from the actual tests, but rather from
@ special test, the Multi Aptitude Test (MAT). This test was
specifically developed for training psychology students and others
and is used to demonstrate the majority of questions which appear
in the MPFB and EPSAT. In cases where the MAT did not con-
tain questions similar to several sections of the EPSAT, the Com-
pany obtained additional questions from the public domain or
developed questions to illustrate the type of items found in the
actual test (A, 192-193 ; 215-216 ; 379-426).

: Ai

13

2. Formulation. This measures the facility with
which a person can take a verbal problem and express
it in a formula-type way (A. 199). Examples of the
actual type of question posed in the formulation sec-
tion of EPSAT were introduced in the record of the
arbitration and of this case at A. 403.

3. Physical science comprehension. This measures
aptitude for solving physics-type problems including
application of physical concepts such as reflectivity, re-
tention of heat, displacement and the like (A. 201).
Examples of the kind of question posed in this section
of EPSAT were introduced into the record of the arbi-
tration and of this case at A. 403.

4. Arithmetic reasoning. This measures aptitude
to reason in a deductive way (A. 202-203). Examples
of the kind of question posed in this section of EPSAT
were introduced in the arbitration and in this record
at A. 405-413.

5. Verbal comprehension. This measures the abil-
ity to use language effectively in a physical science
context (A. 203). Examples of the kind of question
posed in this section of EPSAT were introduced in
the arbitration and in this record at A. 380-381.

6. Mechanical comprehension. This measures the
ability to apply mechanical principles of levers, gears,
center of gravity, etc. (A. 203). Examples of the kind
of question pesed in this section of EPSAT were in-
troduced in the arbitration and in this record at A. 391-
393.

The Instrument Man battery of tests was again
studied—together with other job test batteries—in
1972 by an independent organization known as the

14

National Compliance Company (NCC). The conclu-
sion of the NCC study was that:

‘It has been reported above that the total test bat-
tery is statistically significantly related to the two
criterion variables for the job of Instrument Man.
The test battery appears to be effectively selecting
men who will perform better as Instrument Men’’
(A. 367)

The Company administers the tests to applicants
with the express commitment that each applicant’s test
scores will remain confidential (A. 85, 445). The Com-
pany insures test and test score security by keeping
the tests and test scores under lock and key in the
offices of the Company’s professional industrial psy-
chologists who have an ethical commitment under the
American Psychological Association’s Code of Ethics °
not to disclose the tests or test scores to unauthorized
persons (A. 82-83, 438). Under this policy the Com-
pany’s industrial psychologists do not disclose tests or
report actual test scores even to members of manage-
ment (A. 77, 83, 91, 127).

The 1972 Collective Bargaining Negotiations

The Company and Union engaged in collective bar-
gaining negotiations in 1972 to negotiate a successor
agreement to the 1969 agreement. At the second meet-
ing in these negotiations on April 20, 1972—exactly
four months after the Union filed the grievance con-
cerning the Instrument Man test—the Union proposed
the following to the Company:

*The APA Code of Ethics is expressly incorporated in the
statutory codes of over twenty states, including the State of Michi-
wan. Mich. Stat. Ann, § 14.677(1)(b) (1976).

ti

15

‘‘The Union shall be furnished copies of all tests
given to employees. Union shall have the right to
review all test results. All tests shall be job re-
lated and only for the job or position applicable”’
(A. 164).

The Company rejected this proposal on May 9, 1972,
and advised the Union that acceptance of its proposal
‘‘would destroy the testing program’’ (A. 165). On
May 18, 1972, when the subject came up again, the
Company again rejected the Union’s demand for the
tests and test scores on the basis that nothing in the
contract gave the Union a right to access to this infor-
mation, but offered to have its industrial psyeholo-
gists discuss with the Union the integrity of its testing
program (A. 168). The Union responded that it was
interested in hearing the Company’s explanation of
its testing program after the conclusion of negotia-
tions. There was no change made in the 1972 contract
as a result of the Union’s demand for the tests and test
scores. The Company did hold a meeting with the Union
in the Fall of 1972 to explain its testing program in
accordance with the contractual commitment that it
made in the negotiations (A. 168-169).

The Arbitration

After filing the charge with the Labor Board lead-
ing to this ease on April 4, 1973, the Union in prepara-
tion for the arbitration sent a memo to the Arbitrator
on May 23, 1973, requesting the Arbitrator to direct
the Company to furnish the Union with copies of the
actual tests, or to subpoena the tests (A. 123-124).

On the same day the hearing opened before Arbitra-
tor Jones. The original arbitration hearing took place
on May 23, 24, 30 and 31, 1973.

16

In the course of this hearing, as noted in part above,
the Company furnished the following information:

1. Its 1970 validation study.
2. The 1972 NCC validation study.

3. Explanations of the MPFB and each of the six
parts of EPSAT.

4. Representative sample questions showing the
type of question appearing on the MPFB and on each
part of the six-part EPSAT.

Also during the course of the five-day hearing, the
Company offered to turn over to the Union test scores
of any employee who would sign a waiver releasing the
Company psychologist from his pledge of confidential-
ity (A. 7).’ Finally, the Company disclosed test scores
of applicants taking the test battery without tying the
score to the applicant’s name (A. 279-280).

Nevertheless, on June 2, 1973, two days after the
close of the original hearing, Mr. Lewis for the Union
wrote the Company stating:

‘Inasmuch as I am writing you, and after much
deliberation, I find I cannot withdraw my request
for the actual tests, scores, and weights. While the
Company has made samples for me, and I appre-
ciate that, and while it gave scores without re-
vealing names, I have the problem of knowing the
weights in the 6 parts of the EPSAT test—the
total weight of EPSAT—then the weight of Min-
nesota Form Board—then how the various parts
fit together to form the possible apex of 15.3 in

"The Union flatly refused to determine whether the employees
it represented would want their raw scores divulged to the Union
(A. 44).

ee ee

17

the upper limit, quite apart from the 10.3 cut off
seore.’’ (A. 125-126).

This request was answered by the Company on July
10, 1973, in which the Company responded affirma-
tively and in detail to the Union’s requests concerning
the battery weights and scoring mechanisms while
again declining to give the Union the test battery and
the scores linked with the names of the examinees (A.
127-131).

After the close of the initial hearing, the Arbitrator
ruled on the Union’s request and held that he lacked
the power to require the Company to produce a copy
of the tests and the scores achieved by applicants taking
the tests (P.A. 67a). At the same time, the Arbitrator
invited the Union to produce case citations demon-
strating that such information should be furnished, but
the Union declined to do so (Ibid.).

In view of the dual pendency of both the Union’s
charge before the Labor Board and the case before the
Arbitrator, the Company and Union on August 6, 1973,
jointly advised the Arbitrator of the situation, and
concluded that the arbitration proceeding should not
await a final decision by the Board or its enforcement
by a Court of Appeals (A. 138-139).

The Arbitrator thereafter closed the hearing in the
ease on August 18, 1973, and rendered his decision on
December 3, 1973, finding that the Company did not
violate the Agreement by establishing an acceptable
score on the tests as a qualification for the job, but di-
recting the Company to re-examine employees with
scores between 9.3 and 10.3 to determine whether their
lower scores were offset by relevant educational or job
experience (P.A. 76a).

18

In compliance with the award, the Company re-
examined three of the Monroe applicants who had
scored between 9.3 and 10.3 on the tests and subse-
quently promoted one such employee who had a back-
ground which might tend to offset his failure to achieve
the 10.3 score, but again rejected two others (P.A.
39a). The Union protested the failure to promote the
Monroe applicants who were rejected and a supple-
mental hearing was held before the same Arbitrator
on July 18, 1974, to determine whether the Company
had complied with the original award. The transcript
of that hearing is also included in the record in this
case (A. 331-342). In a supplemental decision the Arbi-
trator found that the Company had complied with the
award (P.A. 77a-87a).

In the course of the Arbitrator’s original decision
based on four days of hearing on the issue of testing,
he made several findings not disputed by the Admini-
strative Law Judge, the Board, or the Court of Ap-
peals, which are relevant to the disposition of this case:

1. He found that the Company had the right under
the contract to establish minimum reasonable qualifi-
cations for the job of Instrument Man (P.A. 70a-71a).

2. He found that:

‘*There is no doubt that the Company has estab-
lished and maintained the right to use tests as a
measure of an employee’s qualifications—the
Union concedes this point.’’ (P.A. 71a).

3. He found that:

‘(T]he test [battery] is what the Company claims
it to be—a reliable valid test with a correlation
coefficient of .72. There is also no question that it

19

is a ‘fair test’ in the sense that its administration
and scoring have been standardized.’’ (P.A. 72a-
73a).

4. He found that:

‘*There is no doubt that as tests go, this particular
test has a high degree of validity. The way in which
it was developed and is used also overcomes many
of the objections raised by arbitrators and indus-
trial relations practitioners; that is, the test was
developed especially for this job (job reiated), and
has been properly validated. In addition, and very
important, the instant test is not used to compare
one employee against another in terms of scores
attained . . . This problem is eliminated by re-
porting scores in terms of ‘not reconumended’ and
‘accepted’.’’ (P.A. 73a).

5. Addressing himself particularly to the Union’s
attempt to attack the test by attacking individual sam-
ple questions or items on the test as being themselves
not related to the work of the Instrument Man, the
Arbitrator stated:

‘*The Union questioned the validity of the test by
reference to the type of questions asked. It was to
further this line of questioning that the Union de-
sired a copy of the test. But this was simply a
questioning of the face validity of the test. Such
questions, even if taken from the test itself, prove
nothing. Face validity does not prove or disprove
the validity of the test in determining the aptitudes
necessary for successful job performance.’ (P.A.
72a).

6. Additionally and most significantly, he found
that:

‘**In short, the Arbitrator does not believe that the
Union’s position was damaged in any way by lack
of access to the test’’ (P.A. 72a).

20

In conclusion, the Arbitrator found that the attain-
ment of a 10.3 score created a presumption of ‘‘signifi-
eant difference’ as provided for in Article VIII, Sec-
tion 38, of the parties’ agreement, over those failing to
obtain such a score unless those scoring between 9.3
and 10.3 had relevant educational or job experience
which might tend to offset their failure to achieve the
10.3 score.

The Unfair Labor Practice Case

The hearing in the unfair labor practice case took
place on September 23, 1974. As noted above, the en-
tire 690-page transcript of the original arbitration
case, as well as the transcript of the supplemental hear-
ing before the Arbitrator, were introduced in the rec-
ord before the Administrative Law Judge.

In the proceeding before the Administrative Law
Judge the Company made two further and significant
efforts to be responsive to the Union’s requests and the
General Counsel’s Complaint. At the outset of that
hearing, the Company’s counsel stated:

‘The Company has offered to do two things to
appease the Union in this case. One, our position
is we would be willing to disclose these tests to a
qualified industrial psychologist for his perusal,
for a determination on behalf of the Union. We
have also indicated to Mr. Lewis, the spokesman
for the Union, that we would permit him to take
the test himself’’ (A. 6)

In addition, at the hearing two professional psycholo-
gist witnesses—one of them an outside consultant, Dr.
Marvin Dunnette—testified without contradiction that
disclosure of the actual items on the test battery to the

Ein sat time a

21

Union would not be useful in determining the validity
or fairness of the test battery (A. 50-51, 71-72, 79).

The Board’s Administrative Law Judge in a deci-
sion rendered on January 29, 1975, ordered that the
battery of tests and actual test sheets not be disclosed
to the Union directly, but rather to a qualified psychol-
ogist of the Union’s choice who would be free to con-
sult with the Union and show the Union the tests and
test sheets to the extent necessary to process a Union
grievance over promotion to the Instrument Man classi-
fication, but not to permit the Union to copy the test
or otherwise disclose the test to those who may have
taken the test in the past or might take it in the future.
He further ordered that the Company disclose to the
Union directly the test scores achieved by each spe-
cifically named employee to whom the test battery was
administered.

Inasmuch as the Company at the outset of the unfair
labor practice hearing had offered to show the battery
of tests to a qualified psychologist of the Union’s choice
‘to appease’’ the Union, the Company did not except
to that portion of the decision of the Administrative
Law Judge, but did except to his proposed order that
the raw test scores of employees to whom the battery
of tests had been administered be turned over directly
to the Union. The Union excepted to the requirement
that the test battery be disclosed to a qualified psychol-
ogist of the Union’s choice rather than to the Union
directly.

The Board in a two to one decision upheld the Union
exception and ordered that all the test materials in-

22

volved be disclosed to the Union directly. The Board
concluded that:

‘*While we are making the tests available directly
to the Union, we shall, in order to preserve their
future utility, impose the same restrictions upon
their use by the-Union as recommended by the
Administrative Law Judge’’ (P.A. 16a).°

Former Member Kennedy would have affirmed the de-
cision of the Administrative Law Judge in its entirety,
noting that:

‘There is no professional obligation on the part
of the Union not to publicize the tests or their re-
sults. I do not see how the Board can enforce its

exhortation not to copy or disclose the tests’’
(P.A. 17a).

The Decision of the Court of Appeals

The majority decision of the panel of the Court of
Appeals enforced the Board’s order in all respects.

In answer to the Company’s concern about dissemi-
nation of the tests by turning them over to the Union
directly, the majority merely referred to the provision

* Specifically, the restrictions imposed by the Administrative
Law Judge were the following:

‘(T]he Union shall have the right to see and study the tests,
and to use the tests and the information contained therein to
the extent necessary to process and arbitrate the grievances,
but not to copy the tests or otherwise use them, for the purpose
of disclosing the tests or the questions to employees who have
in the past or may in the future take these tests, or to anyone
(other than the arbitrator) who may advise the employees of
the contents of the tests. After the conclusion of the arbitration
proceeding, or if no request is made to reopen the arbitration
hearing within 90 days after the psychologist receives the
battery of tests, all copies of the battery of tests shall be
returned to Respondent’’ (P.A, 55a-56a),

Cteweiwe 8 et ee + et nn,

23

in the Board decision quoted above purporting to im-
pose a restriction on the dissemination of the test ma-
terials. In answer to the Company’s concern that turn-
ing raw test scores, linked with the names of the persons
taking the tests, and actual test papers of the appli-
eants directly to the Union would involve the Company
in a breach of an express pledge given to each of the
persons taking the tests that the results of the test
would not be disseminated, and subject such persons to
needless embarrassment, humiliation and harassment,
the majority of the Court simply cited its decision in
General Electric Co. v. NLRB, 466 F.2d 1177 (6th Cir.
1972), holding that wage information received by the
Company from other companies on a confidential basis
and used as a part of a wage survey to determine rates
of pay for employees of the Company must be disclosed
to the Union.

Finally, in answer to the concern of both the Com-
pany and the American Psychologicai Association
(herein referred to as APA) as amicus curiae that dis-
closure directly to the Union of the test materials would
involve the Company psychologists in a violation of
their professional ethical code, the majority of the
Court simply found that ‘‘the principles which under-
lie the National Labor Relations Act are paramount in
this case’’ (P.A. 8a).

Circuit Judge Weick filed a dissenting opinion in
which he concluded that the Board had not followed the
standard used in Kroger Co. v. NLRB, 399 F.2d 455
(6th Cir. 1968), of recognizing and adequately protect-
ing each of the conflicting interests involved. He found
that the Board order recognized only the interest of the
Union and that its order ‘‘constituted a gross abuse of
discretion’’ (P.A. 12a).

24

Judge Weick pointed out the several Company ef-
forts to accommodate the Union’s interest in the Com-
pany’s test program and concluded that such informa-
tion was ‘sufficient to permit the union to process ade-
quately the grievance before the Arbitrator, or to per-
form its duties under the collective bargaining agree-
ment’’ (P.A. lla). To the majority opinion’s claim that
dissemination of the test materials was adequately pro-
tected by the Board’s Order, Judge Weick found such
reasoning to be-‘‘really naive’’ and quoted, with ap-
proval, former Member Kennedv’s analysis in support
of this conclusion (P.A. lla).

In addition, Judge Weick found that disclosure of
the test materials would involve the Company psycholo-
gists in a violation of the Code of Ethies of the APA,
which has been recognized by the statutes of the State
of Michigan, and that disclosure of the test scores and
test papers linked to the name of the person taking the
test constituted an invasion of a confidential and priv-
ileged relationship between the psychologists and the
examinees.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. Disclosure to the Union of the Test Materials Would Destroy
the Validity and Future Usefulness of the Tests.

The disciosure of tests and test scores to unauthor-
ized, non-professional persons is in contravention of
Standards I5 (tests) and J2 (test scores) of the Ameri-
ean Pychological Association’s ‘‘Standards for Edu-
cational and Psychological Tests and Manuals’’, which
prohibit disclosure of aptitude tests and test scores to
unauthorized persons because prior knowledge of spe-
cific test items by individuals who are to take the test
in the future destroys the validity of the test. These

)
:
:
:

A re BM PN pl Ne tet

25

APA standards have in turn been incorporated into
the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission’s
‘*Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedures’’ pro-
mulgated under Section 703(h) of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, which permits employers to give and act upon
the results of professionally developed ability tests,
provided that the tests are not used to discriminate.
The EEOC Guidelines on Testing, and particularly
their incorporation of the Ai’A Standards have, in
turn, received the explicit approval of this Court on at
least three occasions. Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401
U.S. 424, 433-34 (1971); Albemarle Paper Co. V.
Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 430-31 (1975); Washington v.
Davis, 426 U.S. 229, 250, fn. 16 (1976).

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit has held
that production of aptitude tests to members of an af-
fected class of minority employees who would be taking
the test in the fviure in competition with others would
not be approved because advance inspection of the tests
by the class members would place all others at a com-
petitive disadvantage. Kirkland v. Department of
Correctional Services, 520 F.2d 420 (2d Cir. 1975).

Because of the ‘‘unique character’’ of aptitude tests,
the Labor Board in its forty-three year history of ad-
ministration and interpretation of Section 8(a) (5) has
never before required employers to furnish unions with
test questions, and on at least one occasion its General
Counsel has even refused to issue a complaint seeking
the production of test questions on the basis that ad-
vance inspection of the test would permit their content
to be widely disseminated and thus impair the useful-
ness of the test. International Telephone & Telegraph,
Federal Division, Case No. SR 657, 46 LRRM 1387
(1960).

26

The invention by the Labor Board of a ‘‘restriction’’
seeking to limit the Union’s dissemination of the tests
to other employees who may take the tests in the future
is unworkable and unenforceable. Once control of the
tests passes to a person or persons with no professional
obligation against disclosing the tests to others, the
security and thus the validity of the tests have been
hopelessly compromised in accordance with the APA
Standards. The ‘‘restriction’’ places an impossible bur-
den on the Company of seeking to police the ‘‘restric-
tion’’. Even if the Company were able to detect a de-
liberate violation of the ‘‘restriction’’, it has no inde-
pendent right to seek contempt proceedings in the
Court of Appeals since that right resides solely with
the Labor Board. It is also highly doubtful whether a
Union which violates the ‘‘restriction’’ could be found
in contempt at all since the order of the Labor Board
runs against the Company and not the Union, which
was not even a party to the enforcement proceeding in
the Court of Appeals. Even if the Company were able
to detect a deliberate violation of the ‘‘restriction’’ and
even if the ‘‘restriction’’ were in some way enforce-
able against the Union, there is no adequate remedy
for the violation since the Company’s tests would be
invalidated and it would take years to validate a new
test battery.

Even if the Union did not deliberately or inadvert-
ently violate the ‘‘restriction’’, the disclosure of the
tests to ‘‘the Union’’ invalidates the tests since ‘‘the
Union’’—however that term is construed—consists of
employees who change on a regular basis due te Union
elections and who well might take the tests in the fu-
ture. Additionally, disclosure of the test questions cculd
result without a violation of the ‘‘restriction’’ from a

ee ee

27

public arbitration or court proceeding in which the
questions were revealed.

For ail these reasons it is simply naive, as dissenting
Judge Weick found, to believe that a hortatory ‘‘re-
striction’’ will prevent intentional or inadvertent dis-
closure of the tests to those who might take the tests in
the future.

2. Disclosure to ihe Union of the Test Materials Is of No Probable
Relevance or Usefulness to the Union in Pursuing Its Statutory
Functions.

Even under the broad ‘‘discovery type standard’”’ ap-
proved by this Court in NLRB v. Acme Industrial
Company, 385 U.S. 4382 (1967), the Company had no
obligation to furnish the Union the test battery and
test scores linked to the names of the examinees, be-
cause the materials have no probable relevance or use-
fulness to the Union.

In the course of this proceeding the Company fur-
nished the Union with what dissenting Judge Weick
found was a ‘‘wealth of material’’ on its tesung pro-
gram. This included furnishing the Union with two
validation studies done on the test battery, written ex-
planations of the tests and scoring weights of the
tests, generous samples of test questions on each of
the tests and subparts of the EPSAT Test, and the
test scores of all applicants without linking the appli-
cant’s name to the score. In addition, the Company
offered to disclose to the Union the score of any appli-
cant willing to have his score divulged and to disclose
the test battery to a qualified psychologist of the
Union’s choice.

In light of the above information, the three profes-
sional psychologists testifying in this case concluded

28

without contradiction that disclosing the test battery
itself to the Union would not be relevant or useful to
the Union in determining the validity of the test bat-
tery. In addition, the Arbitrator who decided the un-
derlying arbitration case concluded that providing the
Union with the actual test battery would ‘‘prove noth-
ing’’ and that ‘‘the Union’s position was not damaged
in any way by lack of access to the test’’.

With respect to the test seores linked with the name
of the applicant, there was absolutely no evidence in
the record that such information was of any probable
relevance or usefulness to the Union. Contrary to the
Board’s finding, the Arbitrator did not conclude that
the Union needed all the scores linked with the names
of all the applicants to police the agreement. Rather,
he concluded that the Company had discharged its
obligation by disclosing to the Union the names of the
three applicants who had scored between 9.3 and 10.3.
There are, moreover, compelling reasons against dis-
closure of test scores. All test applicants are given an
express pledge of test score confidentiality before they
take the test and disclosure of actual test scores would
not only breach that pledge but would subject those
scoring low on the test battery to needless embarrass-
ment and humiliation. In addition, there is an emerging
Congressional recognition and protection of the right
of individuals against disclosure of private and per-
sonal information such as their aptitude test scores.

3. A Proper Balance of the Conflicting Interests Involved, as Well
as Overriding Principles of Federal Labor Law. Require That
the Test Materials Not Be Disclosed to the Union.

+
The Court of Appeals failed to apply the principle
established by this Court in NLRB v. Truitt Mfg. Co.,

ite

ne SRE Plan.

0. ed Maced etn te

a es

ee ee

29

351 U.S. 149, 153-54 (1956), that ‘‘the inquiry must
always be whether or not under the circumstances of
the particular case the statutory obligation to bargain
in good faith has been met’’, as well as the principle
established by this same Court of Appeals itself in
Kroger Co. v. NLRB, 399 F.2d 455, 457 (6th Cir. 1968),
that ‘‘the critical problem appears to be how to recog-
nize and how adequately to protect each of the con-
flicting interests that are involved here’’.

In the present case, if there were any real analysis
of ‘‘the circumstances of the particular case’’ or any
real balancing of the ‘‘conflicting interests’’ involved,
it would have become obvious that in balancing the lack
of probable relevance or usefulness of the test materials
to the Union with the probability of invalidation of
the Company’s entire testing program by disclosure
of the materials that the balance in the circumstances
of this particular case should have been struck in the
Company’s favor.

Two other policies of federal labor le‘islation sup-
port this balance. First, the policy fav cing final and
binding resolution of contract dispute : by arbitration
as set out by this Court in the Steelworkers Trilogy is
served by not disclosing the test materials since the
Arbitrator ruled that the materials were irrelevant
to his resolution of the dispute. Thus, far from aiding
the arbitral process, as was found to be the case with
the information sought by the Union in NLRB v. Acme
Industrial Company, 385 U.S. 432 (1967), the informa-
tion in the present case has already been found to be
irrelevant to the arbitration process. Secondly, this
Court has had previous occasion to remind the Labor
Board that it should construe the Act in a manner con-
sistent with otl.er equally important Congressional ob-

30

jectives and should not pursue the policies of the Act
so single-mindedly that it conflicts with other legisla-
tion. Southern Steamship Co. v. NLRB, 316 US. 31,
47 (1942); Emporium Capwell Co. v. Western Addi-
tion Community Org., 420 U.S. 50, 66 (1975). The
novel construction of Section 8(a) (5) of the Act by the
Labor Board here clearly conflicts with the equally im-
portant Congressional objective of assuring that tests
used in job selection decisions be valid and nondis-
eriminatory.

ARGUMENT
I

Disclosure To The Union Of JobRelated Aptitude Tests, Test
Scores Linked With The Name Of The Applicants And Test
Sheets Of Applicants Would Destroy The Future Validity Of The
Tests

The argument made in this section of the brief as-
sumes, solely for purposes of argument, that disclo-
sure of the test materials to the Union in connection
with the arbitration proceeding had some cegree of
probable relevance and usefulness to the Union in
carrying out its statutory obligations, and would, thus,
arguably be subject to production under the ‘‘discov-
ery-type standard’’ enunciated in NLRB v. Acme In-
dustrial Co., 385 U.S. 432 (1967), were it not for the
unique character of the test materials involved and the
Company’s inability to continue a valid testing pro-
gram under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,
while at the same time disclosing the test materials to
the Union. In Part II of this Argument, the issue of
the irrelevance and lack of usefulness to the Union of
the test materials at issue here will be addressed under
the standard set by this Court in the Acme case.

eS ae

31

1. THE VIOLATION OF EEOC GuipeLines on TESTING
INHERENT IN DISCLOSURE OF THE TEST MATERIALS
TO THE UNION

As shown in the petition for certiorari in this case,
testing is a major employee selection device in both
American industry and in the federal government it-
self (Petition, pp. 9-10). Disclosure to unions of tests
and test sheets of named applicants will result in a
widespread invalidation of testing programs as a selec-
tion device for applicants for employment as well as
for selection of existing employees to fill jobs of ad-
mittedly critical importance, as is the case here. As dis-
senting Judge Weick correctly observed, ‘‘It’s [the
Company’s] testing program has been nullified by the
action of the Board’’ (P.A. 1la-12a).

This invalidation occurs because disclosure of the
test materials to ‘‘the Union’’ naturally leads to dis-
closure and, therefore, foreknowledge of the actual
items on the tests by some or all of the persons who
will take the tests in the future, as will be demonstrated
shortly in this brief.

Assuming, however, for the moment, the premise of
foreknowledge of the actual test items by those who are
to take the test in the future by disclosure of the tests
to ‘‘the Union’’, the conclusion of the practical and
legal invalidation of the testing program is easily es-
tablished and was not really controverted by the Board
or the Court of Appeals.

As a practical matter, it is evident that such fore-
knowledge will result in a situation where the high
scorers on the test will reflect not the aptitude of the
examinees to perform the job, but rather the extent of

32

their familiarity with the items on the test and their
ability to memorize the ‘‘right’’ answers.

As a legal matter, such foreknowledge invalidates
the test battery under civil rights laws, particularly
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Section
703(h) of that Act permits employers to give and act
upon the results of professionally developed ability
tests, provided that the test or its administration is
not designed, intended or used to discriminate. Under
the mandate of Section 703(h), the EEOC has de-
veloped ‘‘Guidelines on Employee Selection Proce-
dures’’,’ which begin with the proposition that:

‘‘properly validated and standardized employee
selection procedures can significantly contribute
to the implemen. ation of nondiscriminatory per-
sonnel policies ....’’ 29 C.F.R. § 1607.1 (P.A. 88a-
89a).

This Court in Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 US.
424 (1971), approved this general philosophy on test-
ing by noting that:

‘*Nothing in the Act precludes the use of testing

or measuring procedures; obviously they are use-
ful. ... Far from disparaging job qualifications

*On December 30, 1977, the EEOC, Civil Service Commission,
Department of Justice and Department of Labor jointly issued a
notice of proposed rulemaking or ‘‘Proposed Uniform Federal
Guidelines on Employee Procedures’’, which are still in the rule
making process. The proposed guidelines state that:

‘‘These guidelines are based upon, combine, and supersede all
previously issued guidelines on employee selection procedures.
These guidelines have been built upon court decisions, the
previously issued guidelines of the agencies, the practical ex-
perience of the agencies, as well as standards of the psycho-
logical profession. These guidelines are intended to be con-
sistent with existing law’’ See. 1(c).

eee

ee

33

as such, Congress has made such qualifications the
controlling factor, so that race, religion, nation-
ality, and sex become irrelevant. What Congress
has commanded is that any tests used must meas-
ure the person for the job and not the person in
the abstract’’ 401 U.S. at 436. (Emphasis added).

Under the heading of ‘‘Minimum Standards for
Validation”’ of tests, the Guidelines state that evidence
in support of a test’s validity must be based ‘‘on studies
employing generally accepted procedures for determin-
ing criterion related validity, such as those described
in ‘Standards for Educational and Psychological Tests
and Manuals’ published by the American Psychological
Association . . .”’? 29 C.F.R. § 1607.5 (P.A. 92a-93a).”

Standard I5 of the APA Standards referred to in
the EEOC Guidelines cited above and the proposed
joint agency guidelines states the following:

‘*15.The test user shares with the test developer
or distributor a responsibility for maintaining test
security.

Comment: Test security is a problem whenever
a lapse in security can result in changing an indi-
vidual’s score without making a change in his true

‘©The proposed joint agency guidelines referred to above state
the same proposition in the following manner in the section entitled
‘‘General Standards for Validity Studies’’ :

‘‘These guidelines are intended to be consistent with gener-
ally accepted professional standards for evaluating standard-
ized tests and other selection procedures such as those de-
scribed in the Standards for Educational and Psychological
Tests prepared by a joint committee of the American Psycho-
logical Association, the American Educational Research As-
sociation and the National Council on Measurement in Educa-
tion (American Ps; chological Association, Washington, D.C.,
1974 (hereafter ‘APA Standards’)) and standard textbooks
and journals in the field of personnel selection’’. Sec. 5(c).

34

score. For some kinds of tests a lapse of security
would not be serious. If one is to be tested for
achieved skill, for example, knowing and practic-
ing the test samples might be highly recommended.
In many cases, however, prior knowledge of test
items or scoring procedures could destroy validity.
The problem is not simply one of cheating. Secur-
ity may be compromised where examinees have had
much prior experience with a popular test, have
been taught specific test items, or have heard q lot
about the test’’. Standards for Educational & Psy-
chological Tests, published by the American Psy-
chological Association (1974). z. €7.

It is undisputed on this record that the test battery in
issue is not a test for achieved skill, but rather an ap-
titude test where ‘‘prior knowledge of test items could
destroy validity.’’ It is also undisputed that the indi-
vidual questions on the In..rument Man test battery
are identical each time the test is administered and that
there are no variations or substitutions of test items
(A. 78).

Standard J2 of the same APA Standards cited in the
EEOC and proposed joint agency guidelines states the
following :

‘“‘J2. Test scores should ordinarily be reported
only to people who are qualified to interpret them.
If scores are reported, they should be accompanied
by explanations sufficient for the recipient to in-
terpret them correctly.

Comment: There are difficult problems associ-
ated with the question of who should have access to
test scores within an organization. Certainly, curi-
ous peers should not have access to them. An indi-
vidual who must make the ultimate decision to ad-
mit or to reject or to hire or to reject, or to certify
or not to certify, must have the interpretation. One

35

useful (and unanswered) question is whether such
a person who lacks the training necessary for the
interpretation of scores should be given that train-
ing or should be given only the interpretations of
seores.’’ Id. at p. 68.

By turning over the test scores to unions and thereby
to the employees represented by the unions, access to
the test scores is thereby given to ‘‘curious peers’’.

In addition, the EEOC Guidelines on testing ex-
pressly provide for test score security. Section 1607.5
(b) (2) states that:

‘*Tests must be administered and scored under con-
trolled and standardized conditions, with proper
safeguards to protect the security of test scores
and to insure that scores do not enter into any
judgments of employee adequacy that are to be
used as criterion measures’’ (P.A. 94).

This Court on at least three recent occasions has held
that the EEOC Guidelines on Employee Testing are
entitled to ‘‘great deference’’ and to be regarded as
“expressing the will of Congress.’’ Griggs v. Duke
Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 433-34 (1971); Albemarle
Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 430-31 (1975);
Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229, 250 n. 16 (1976).
In the Albemarle case the Court expressly noted with
approval that the EEOC Guidelines ‘‘draw upon and
make reference to professional standards of test vali-
dation established by the American Psychological
Association’’, 422 U.S. at 431.

One Court of Appeals already has held that it is in-
appropriate to disclose tests to employees who may take
the tests in the future in competition with others. In
Kirkland v. Department of Correctional Services, 520
F.2d 420 (2d Cir. 1975), a class of minority applicants

36

for promotion to a position within the New York State
Department of Correctional Services, filed a civil rights
complaint under 42 U.S.C. 1981 and 1983 challenging,
inter alia, a State Civil Service examination which the
State used to determine the successful applicants for
the job. The Second Circuit agreed with the District
Court that the examination was not job related and had
a discriminatory impact on minorities, but reversed the
District Court’s order requiring that any new test for
the position in question be furnished by the State to
the minority applicants for their prior review. The
Court held:

‘‘The District Court ordered that the new test
prepared by defendants be submitted to the plain-
tiffs for review. We find this requirement difficult
to comprehend. Presumably, this examination will
be taken by members of the plaintiff class in com-
petition with others. Permitting advance review
by plaintiffs would place all others at a competitive
disadvantage. If the District Judge is seeking pro-
fessional assistance from plaintiffs’ expert, his
order should so provide; and proper steps should
be taken to insure confidentiality ’’ 520 F.2d at 427.

From the foregoing, therefore, it is evident that dis-
closure of the actual tests and the test scores of indi-
viduals taking the tests to unions and employees rep-
resented by unions, who have no professional obligation
not to publicize the tests and test scores, will invalidate
the tests both as a practical matter and under Title VII
of the Civil Rights Act. Invalidation of testing as an
employee selection device, both in private industry and
government, may well lead to unqualified persons be-
ing placed on jobs of critical importance, such as the
job in question in the present case, to the detriment of
the employees, employer and the public at large.

37

The Company involved in this case is a large public
utility—a classic example of a ‘‘business affected with
a public interest’? (Munn v. Illinois, 94 U.S. 113
(1877) ). As such it has a duty to its consumers and the
public to take all reasonable precautions to determine
that only qualified personnel perform important jobs
such as the job involved in this case. Validated, job
related testing is a business necessity essential to carry
out the Company’s duty to place only qualified em-
ployees on admittedly ‘‘critical’’ jobs such as the job
involved here.

The uncontradicted record in this case shows that the
Company spent ‘‘tens of thousands of dollars’? (A.
128) in validating the instrument man battery of tests
to the exacting requirements of the EEOC Guidelines
and the APA Standards.” In addition, the Company’s
own validation study was corroborated by a later vali-
dation study by an outside consultant, the National
Compliance Company. The result of these considerable
and expensive efforts was upheld in the arbitration
award in which the distinguished and experienced
labor-management Impartial Arbitrator Dallas Jones
found that the Company had a contractual right to use
tests as a selection device for the Instrument Man job
and that the tests used had a high degree of validity
(P.A. 72-73a).

In short, the test battery involved in this case
scrupulously adheres to the Court’s seminal observa-
tion in Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 436

See pp. 8-12 of this brief for a detailed description of how
the Company determined the criterion-related validity of the In-
strument Man test battery.

38

(1971), ‘‘that any tests used must measure the person
for the job and not the person in the abstract’’.

If, therefore, the extreme and novel judicial construc-
tion of Section 8(a)(5) of the National Labor Rela-
tions Act by the Court below is not reversed, this Com-
pany’s substantial and successful efforts to validate its
Instrument Man test battery under the EEOC Guide-
lines and APA Standards, as approved by this Court,
will have been completely undermined. It is apparent
that any such rule would not be limited to the Detroit
Edison Company, but would adversely affect all testing
programs administered by private and public em-
ployers.

In the over forty years of enforcement of the Na-
tional Labor Relations Act, this is the first case in which
the Board has construed Section 8(a)(5) of the Act to
impose a requirement on employers to disclose to
unions job related aptitude tests and test sheets and
scores by named applicants. Indeed, in the only previ-
ous reported case, the Board’s General Counsel had the
common sense to refuse even to issue a complaint on a
union charge seeking production of actual tests under
Section 8(a)(5) of the Act. International Telephone
& Telegraph, Federal Division, Case No. SR 657, 46
LRRM 1387 (1960). In this case the Board’s General
Counsel agreed with the Company’s contention that the
specific items on the tests had a ‘‘unique character’”’
and that:

‘“‘TWhile it [the Company] would bargain con-
cerning the general subject of the tests, it would
not furnish specific test questions, since advance
inspection thereof would permit their content to
be widely disseminated and thus impair the useful-
ness of the test.’’

PP

39

Thus, well before the passage of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964 and the EEOC Guidelines on testing, the
Board’s General Counsel understood that tests had a
unique character and that their disclosure to a union
would permit them to be widely disseminated and im-
pair their usefulness.

2. THE INEFFICACY OF THE ‘‘ RESTRICTION’? APPROVED
BY THE CourT oF APPEALS IN PREVENTING THE
DISSEMINATION OF THE TEST MATERIALS TO Un-
AUTHORIZED PERSONS

The Board’s opposition to the petition for certiorari
does not appear to challenge the proposition that tests
and test sheets and scores that are divulged to unauthor-
ized parties result in invalidation of the tests. Rather,
the Board claims that the ‘‘restriction”’ invented by the
Board and approved by a majority of the Court of
Appeals will prevent unauthorized disclosure of the
tests * to those who have taken the test in the past or
who may take it in the future. This was the view that
dissenting Judge Weick termed ‘‘really naive” (P.A.
lla).

The reasons why this view is naive are the following:

1. A violation of the copying and dissemination
provisions in the Board opinion (no protective provi-
sion appears in the Board’s Order) would be most diffi-
cult, if not impossible, for a company to enforce and
police once it has given a union the test materials as
required by the Board order. At that point it has lost

“*It is to be noted that the ‘‘restriction’’ is applicable only to
the test battery and not to the test scores. Under the Board order
as enforced by the Court of Appeals, the Union could publish the
scores achieved by the examinees and distribute them generally.

40

control over the materials, and ‘‘test security’’ in ac-
cordance with Standard I5 of the APA Standards
quoted above and the EEOC Guidelines incorporating
those standards has been breached.

2. There is a built-in ambiguity with respect to
exactly what specific individuals comprise ‘‘the Union”’
to which the Board and Court have ordered the Com-
pany to divulge the tests and test scores. Is ‘‘the
Union”’ the individuals who comprise the executive
officers of the Union, its Executive Board, its grievance
committee, or is it the entire membership of this pre-
sumably unincorporated association? Obviously argu-
ments could be made for any one or a combination of
the above alternatives. Even if it were confined to the
executive officers, Executive Board or grievance com-
mittee of the Union, these individuals are also mem-
bers of the bargaining unit and change on a regular
basis as the result of internal Union elections. The
knowledge thus gained by these individuals pursuant
to the Court enforced Board Order could be used by
them to gain an unfair competitive edge on others not
privy to the test or test scores, and thus invalidate the
test, even though the Union officials themselves had not
copied or otherwise disseminated the test.

3. As organizations properly responsive to their
members’ desires and free from professional restric-
tions against disclosure, unions are in a uniquely poor
position to prevent intentional or inadvertent dis-
semination of test materials, particularly in view of
the ubiquitous copying machine. Inadvertent disclo-
sure by non-psychologists can be illustrated by the case
of Davis v. Washington, 348 F.Supp. 15 (D.C. 1972),
where Judge Gesell entered an order sealing the Civil
Service examination in question ‘‘because it is given

4]

on a regular basis to many federal job applicants”’,
only to have the dissenting judge on the Court of Ap-
peals append the entire examination to his public
opinion. See Davis v. Washington, 512 F.2d 956, 967
D.C.Cir. 1975), reversed, Washington v. Davis, 426
U.S. 229 (1976). The record in this case provides
an excellent example of how disclosure of the test
items to employees could oecur without an express vio-
lation of the ‘‘restriction’’. When the Union represen-
tative was given sample items of each of the tests in-
volved in the arbitration proceeding, he read into the
record the actual sample test item and asked the Com-
pany psychologist and employee witnesses Low those
questions were relevant to the Instrument Man job
(See, e.g., A. 261, 286-289, 293, 328-330). Presumably,
if the Union were given the actual test items the Union
representative would in like marner read the actual
test items or some of them into the record for an em-
ployee response concerning relevance. Since the arbi-
tration record is transcribed, and since all Union mem-
bers presumably have access to such transcripts, dis-
closure of actual test questions may well occur in this
manner even though the ‘‘restriction’’ may not have
been literally breached.

4. This record clearly shows a hostility to the en-
tire concept of testing as an employee selection device
by this Union and a preference for promotion by sen-
iority alone (A. 160-169), despite the contractual
agreement of the parties to promote on the basis of
seniority only where there is no ‘‘head and shoulders’”’
difference in the qualifications and abilities of the ap-
plicants. Thus, disclosure of the test materials to the
Union is not a disclosure to an impartial body with no
motive to discredit testing as a selection device, but

42

rather is a disclosure to an avowed enemy of the con-
cept of testing. It requries a complete suspension of
ordinary common sense to assume that furnishing a
Union, which is hostile to testing, the ammunition to
destroy test validity will not result directly or in-
d:.ectly, inadvertently or intentionally in the Union’s
use of the ammunition.

5. Even if the Union were found to violate the
‘‘restriction’’ contained in the Board’s opinion, the
Company remedy is speculative at best. In the first
place, only the Board’s General Counsel can initiate
contempt proceedings, and the initiation of such pro-
ceedings is solely within his discretion. The Company
has no independent right to initiate such proceedings.
Amalgamated Utility Workers v. Consolidated Edison
Company, 309 U.S. 261, 264 (1940). It is also difficult
to conceive of a contempt proceeding being brought
in the Court of Appeals against a union that (1) has
not been found guilty of an unfair labor practice,
and (2) was not a party to the proceedings in the
Court of Appeals. Finally, it would appear that in-
advertent disclosure would be completely beyond the
contempt powers of the courts.

6. Even if the Union were liable in contempt for
a violation of the ‘‘restriction’’, there is no adequate
remedy for the violation, since the tests will have been
hopelessly invalidated and it would take years to
validate a new test.* The only sanction against the
Union would be punitive, not remedial—a very small
source of comfort to a company whose testing pro-
gram has been gutted, and of absolutely no comfort

13 The evidence in this case showed that it took seven years to
validate the power plant operator test battery (A. 309-310).

45,

to the public whose interests could well be jeopardized
by the presence of unqualified persons on jobs of criti-
cal importance in the generation of electrical power."

Disclosure Of The Test Materials To The Union Has No Probable
Relevance Or Usefulness To The Union In Carrying Out Iis

Statutory Duties And Responsibilities In Processing The Pro-
motion Grievances Through Arbitration

As noted at the outset of the first argument, made
above, the Board had a preliminary burden of proving
by substantial evidence on the record considered as a
whole that disclosure of the tests and test scores linked
to the name of the applicant was of probable rele-
vance and usefulness to the Union in carrying out its
statutory duties and responsibilities. This ‘‘discovery-
type’’ standard was approved by this Court in NLRB
v. Acme Industrial Company, 385 U.S. 432 (1967),
where the Court found that the Company violated
Section 8(a)(5) of the Act by refusing to disclose to
the Union information concerning removal of machin-
ery from the plant that had been the subject of a
Union grievance and proposed arbitration proceeding.

Even applying the broad standard of Acme to the
‘‘unique’’ information sought in the present case, there
was no showing of probable relevance or usefulness to
the Union in obtaining the tests and test scores linked
to the names of the applicants.

‘* For many of the foregoing reasons a commentator on this case
concluded that the ‘‘restriction’’ imposed by the Board and ae-
cepted by the Court of Appeals would be ineffective in preventing
dissemination of the tests. Psychological Aptitude Tests and the
re | to Supply Information, 91 Harvard Law Review 869, 875-876

).

44

Any analysis of this subject must begin with the
series of substantial Company efforts to be completely
responsive to the Union’s test information requests
in a mutually satisfactory form without invalidating
the testing program itself. These efforts included fur-
nishing the Union with (1) the two validation studies
done on the test battery, (2) written explanations of
the tests and scoring weights of the tests, (3) some
146 samples of the types of questions found in the
MPFB and each of the six subparts of the EPSAT,
(4) the test scores of all the examinees without link-
ing the examinees’ name to the scores, and offering to
the Union (1) to release the score of any named ex-
aminee who consented to such release, (2) to let the
Union’s representative take the test, and (3) to turn
over the test battery to a qualified industrial psycholo-
gist of the Union’s choice.

In short, the Company gave or offered to give the
Union all the information it possessed concerning its
instrument man test battery except for the actual tests
and test sheets and scores linked with the names of the
applicants. This is what dissenting Judge Weick found
was the ‘‘wealth of information’’ on testing which he
found ‘‘was, in my judgment, sufficient to permit the
Union to process adequately the grievance pending be-
fore the Arbitrator, or to perform its duties under the
collective bargaining agreement’’ (P.A. lla).

1. THE IRRELEVANCE OF THE TESTS

The three professional industrial psychologists who
testified in either the arbitration case or Labor Board
hearing each testified without contradiction that dis-
closure of the actual tests to the Union directly would
not be helpful in determining the validity of the test

An nen ane ela

45

battery, and that the validity of the test battery could
best be determined by disclosure of the validation
studies performed in 1970 and 1972, which were pro-
vided to the Union (A. 50-51, 71-72, 79-80, 191). No
expert witness for the Union or the Board’s General
Counsel ever disputed this fact.

The Impartial Arbitrator came to the same conclu-
sion, holding that production of the actual test battery
to the Union would ‘‘prove nothing’’, and that the
Union’s position in the arbitration case was not ‘‘dam-
aged in any way by lack of access to the test’’ (P.A.
72a). Even the NCC, which revalidated the test in 1972
did not need or utilize the actual test battery in its
validation study (A. 100).

The irrelevance of the actual tests themselves to the
Union’s statutory responsibility in processing the pro-
motion grievances through arbitration is further un-
derlined by what the Unien did when it was furnished
sample questions of each of the tests involved. The
only use made of the sample items—and presumably
the only use to be made of the actual test items—was
to pose the samples to the Company’s industria! psy-
chologist, to incumbent Instrument Men and appli-
cants for that job and ask them whether the sample
items were ‘‘connected with or relevant to the instru-
ment man job’’ (See, e.g., A. 261, 286-289, 293, 328-
330). That series of questions and answers, however, is
irrelevant since it is admitted, as found by the Ad-
ministrative Law Judge, that:

‘‘These tests are not designed to test the skills or
knowledge of the applicant which may be related
to the job, but the capacity or aptitude of the
employee to be trained and to do the job efficient-
ly” (P.A. 22a).

46

Thus, for example, it is evident that a Company In-
strument Man may not need as a part of his substan-
tive knowledge in performing the Instrument Man job
to know which way an airplane will turn if one of its
two engines is out (see sample 9 on the Mechanical
Comprehension subpart of EPSAT, A. 393). A lay-
person might well conclude that the answer to that
question was not ‘‘connected or relevant to’’ the instru-
ment man job since Instrument Men do not work on
airplanes. Since, however, the test is not designed to
measure job knowledge, but rather to determine apti-
tude to perform the job, there is no necessary direct
relationship of each test item with the day-to-day work
of the Instrument Man. Thus, disclosure of the test
items to the Union to obtain lay opinions about the
relevancy of the specific test items to the Instrument
Man job when no such direct relevance necessarily
exists is neither relevant nor useful to the Union in the
exercise of its statutory rights.

Despite the foregoing, the Administrative Law
Judge, with the Board’s approval, held that while pro-
duction of the actual tests might not be necessary to
determine the test’s validity in predicting employee
success on the job, it might be necessary for the fol-
lowing reasons:

‘‘To inform the employees, or their representa-
tives, whether the tests are truly job related or
contain objectionable distortions . . . whether they
have built-in bias and are, in fact, discriminatory,
or whether, in sum, they tend to undercut Respond-
ent’s contract commitment to promote by seniority
where there is no ‘significant difference’ between
the ‘reasonable qualifications and abilities’ of the
applicants for promotion’ (P.A. 47a).

47

But the conjecture of the Administrative Law Judge
that the battery may contain ‘‘distortions’’, ‘‘built-in
bias’’ and be ‘‘discriminatory’’—whatever those gen-
eralizations mean—is at war with the uncontradicted
record that there is a demonstrated high correlation be-
tween the good performers on the tests and good per-
formers on the job and the decision of the Arbitrator
that the test battery was a ‘‘reliable valid test’’ which
had a “‘high degree of validity’’. If the tests had ‘‘dis-
tortions’’, ‘‘built-in bias’’ or were ‘‘discriminatory”’,
that obviously could not be the case.

If the problem posed by the Administrative Law
Judge is one of advising the employees or their repre-
sentative of the nature of the items on the Instrument
Man test battery so that they might better know the
‘‘eriteria required for promotion’ (P.A. 48a), the
Company has already done this by explaining to the
Union in some detail the nature of both the MPFB and
the six-part EPSAT, together with the furnishing of
146 sample questions closely corresponding to the kind
of actual questions on each portion of both tests.

The Court of Appeals simply brushed off the Com-
pany’s relevance argument in the following manner:

‘“Without actually contesting the finding that the
tests, answer sheets and scores are relevant, De-
troit Edison argues, in effect, that the circum-
stances of this case are such as to require that the
tests and answer sheets be delivered only to a quali-
fied pychologist’’ (P.A. 5a) (Emphasis added).

The italicized portion of the above quote is simply
erroneous factually. In its brief to the Court of Ap-
peals, as well as in its petition for rehearing en banc,
the Company argued strenuously under separate head-

48

ings that the tests and test scores linked with the name
of the applicants were irrelevant (Co.Br. to Sixth Cir-
euit Court of Appeals, pp. 26-33).

The Board seeks to avoid the relevance argument on
its merits by claiming that the Company’s failure to
file an exception to the decision of the Administrative
Law Judge ordering the Company to disclose the tests
to a qualified psychologist of the Union’s choice consti-
tuted an admission by the Company of the probable
relevance and usefulness of the information to the
Union.

This stilted reasoning overlooks the fact that the
decision of the Administrative Law Judge on the issue
of the tests (as opposed to the test scores) was no more
than what counsel for the Company offered to do at
the outset of the hearing as yet another compromise
expressly ‘‘to appease’ the Union. There was, there-
fore, no practical reason for the Company to file an ex-
ception to the order to disclose the tests to a profes-
sional psychologist. The Board has now seized on the
last of a series of compromises offered by the Company
simply ‘‘to appease’ the Union, which was accepted
by the Administrative Law Judge without Company
exeeption, as an admission by the Company of rele-
vance. Worse still, the Board now argues that when it
upset that compromise and ordered the Company to
disclose the tests to the Union directly, it thereby fi-
nessed the Company’s further right to argue relevance
to the courts. The absurd result of the Board’s reason-
ing is that either the Company should not have offered
the compromise or it should have filed an exception to
this aspect of the decision which was deemed favorable
to its interests on the possibility that the Board might

49

upset the compromise and order disclosure of the tests
to the Union directly.

2. THE IRRELEVANCE OF THE Test Scores LINKED
WITH THE NAMES OF THE APPLICANTS

It will be recalled that during the arbitration pro-
ceeding the Company furnished the Union with the
raw test scores achieved by each applicant who took the
tests, but did so without linking the name of the appli-
cant with his score.” The Company did this because it
agreed with the Union that the scores themselves might
be relevant. If, for example, twenty persons took a test
with a 10.3 cutoff score, it might be relevant for the
Union to know if a large majority of the twenty were
clustered just above or just below the 10.3 score (there-
by permitting an argument that there was very little
difference in the applicants). Other arguments based
on the scoring spread could be made. What this record
totally lacks, however, is any evidence supporting the
relevance of linking the applicant’s name with the
score he achieved.

The only reference to the alleged relevance of the
scores linked with the names of the applicants in the
decision of the Administrative Law Judge was the
following:

‘Contrary to Respondent’s contention, the arbi-
trator, who passed on the merits of the grievances,
stated, during the reopened hearing, after his ini-
tial decision, that, in his opinion, the Union could
not adequately ‘police’ the contract without the

** In addition, the Company offered to release the test scores of
any employee who indicated his willingness to have his test score
divulged.

50

information. The arbitrator, in fact, directed Re-
spondent to reconsider its selection process, in part,
based upon the scores achieved by the applicants”’
(P.A. 49a).

The Board accepted this finding without comment, even
though the Company filed a specific exception to the
relevance finding, and, as noted above, the Court of
Appeals erroneously found that the Company did not
‘‘actually’’ contest the relevance finding on the test
scores (P.A. 5a).

The reference in the Administrative Law Judge’s
opinion to the Arbitrator’s statement in the reopened
arbitration proceeding is highly misleading. The state-
ment referred to was not a ruling, but rather the be-
ginning of a colloquy between counsel and the Arbi-
trator directed toward ascertaining whether the Com-
pany had properly implemented the original award di-
recting that those scoring between 9.3 and 10.3 be re-
examined. The Arbitrator was inquiring how those in-
dividuals could be re-examined if their scores were not
divulged. Counsel for the Company agreed that the
names of the three individuals who scored between
9.3 and 10.3 should be disclosed, and stated that he
proposed to call the responsible Company witnesses who
would testify concerning the three named individuals
who scored between 9.3 and 10.3. He then stated that he
believed that this was ‘‘sufficient proof’’ (A. 338). The
Arbitrator responded :

‘*T think I would agree with that, Mr. Houghton.
If we could have the Detroit Edison employee who
is responsible for that activity testify that these
names do go with these scores, then I will have to
accept that as reliable evidence’’ (A. 338)

ol

The names of the individuals scoring between 9.3 and
10.3 were then disclosed (A. 341-342). In his supple-
mental decision, the Arbitrator did not rule that the
Union was entitled to the test scores of all named ap-
plicants. He ruled that:

‘The Company, for the purpose of the instant
hearing, did disclose the names of those individuals
at the Monroe Power Plant who scored between
9.3 and 10.3. The actual score received by each in-
dividual was not disclosed; however, this is not of
such importance as to preclude a review of the
Company’s action in implementing the Award.
Regardless of the score an individual attained in
the range between 9.3 and 10.3, it is, under the
terms of the Award, his qualifications other than
test score which became of decisional importance”’
(P.A. 8la) (emphasis added).

It is, therefore, plainly erroneous to state that the
Arbitrator held that all scores linked with the names of
all the applicants had to be disclosed to the Union. All
he held was that the Union was entitled to know the
names of the applicants scoring between 9.3 and 10.3,
and the Company complied with this holding.”

‘© The Board is mysteriously selective in its reliance on the Arbi-
trator ’s opinion and award. The Arbitrator’s written holding that
providing the Union with the test battery would ‘‘prove nothing”’
and that the Union’s position in the case was not damaged in any
way by lack of access to the tests is simply ignored, while control-
ling weight is given to some ambiguous remarks made on test scores
at the beginning of a colloquy which ultimately resulted in the
Arbitrator’s concurrence that the Company had discharged its
obligations on disclosing test scores linked with the names of the
applicants by having its industrial psychologist testify to the names
of the three individuals who scored between 9.3 and 10.3 on the
test battery.

52

The irony of the Board’s misplaced reliance on re-
marks made by the Arbitrator in colloquy with coun-
sel is that if he really meant that the scores achieved
by each named applicant be disclosed to che Union, it
would tend to undercut one of the main reasons he
used in finding that the tests were proper. Thus, he
ruled that:

‘‘In addition, and very important, the instant test
is not used to compare one employee against ano-
ther in terms of scores attained . .. This problem
is eliminated by reporting scores in terms of ‘not
recommended’ and ‘accepted’ ’’ (P.A. 73a).

The record is thus bereft of any evidence support-
ing the relevance of disclosing test scores linked with
names of the applicants to the Union.

The Company nevertheless submitted evidence why
the test scores achieved by named individuals should
not be disclosed to the Union. In addition to the breach
of APA Standards and the consequent invalidation of
the tests under the EEOC Guidelines by disclosure of
test sheets and scores of named applicants discussed in
Part I of the Argument, the record in this case showed
that the Company gave a specific oral promise of con-
fidentiality to all applicants prior to testing. That
promise was that:

‘‘Your test scores are confidential. We will tell the
Employment Department generally how you did
on these tests and they may talk to Company de-
partments about your being put in a certain job,
but your vest scores are kept only in our files’’
(A. 445).

This principle of confidentiality is not—as intimated
by the Board—a device to foil the Union in its attempt

53

to process employee grievances. Rather, it is an emerg-
ing and far-reaching principle now firmly implanted
in the federal law that there is a right of privacy for
those taking psychological aptitude tests. Thus, for ex-
ample, for students in federally assisted educational
institutions there is an express statutory prohibition
against the release of education records of such stu-
dents without consent. 20 U.S.C. § 1232(g)." While it
is true that employees of the Company are not students
in federally assisted educational programs, the point
is that the Company’s concern is not a parochial one,
involving its defenses to Union grievances over promo-
tions, but parallels a broad Congressional concern
shown for the disclosure of the same type of test scores
in a federally assisted educational context.

In addition, the Company provided evidence that
disclosure of test scores linked with the names of the
applicants in the past resulted in harassment of the
lower scoring employees who were called ‘‘stupid”’,
‘‘dummy”’ and the like, and who actually left the Com-
pany because of such harassment (A. 84).

This evidence was brushed aside by the Board and
Court of Appeals. Both held that the decision in the
Court of Appeals in General Electric Co. v. NLRB,
466 F.2d 1177 (6th Cir. 1972), was controlling (P.A.
7a, 53a). In the General Electric case, the Company de-
clined to provide the Union with information obtained
in a survey of wages paid by various companies in
the survey. The results of the survey were used to

'* See also 5 U.S.C. § 552(b) (6), where an exemption from dis-
closure was created by Congress in the Freedom of Information
Act for ‘‘personnel and medical files and similar files the disclosure
of which would constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion of per-
sonal privacy’’.

54

determine the rates of pay of the General Electric
employees. The Company argued that it should not be
required to disclose the wage data obtained by named
companies in the survey because it had obtained the
information from these companies on a confidential
basis. The Sixth Circuit ruled that:

‘*Employers cannot be allowed to collect wage in-
formation on a pledge of confidentiality to parties
outside the bargaining unit under these circumstan-
ces, then turn around and deny the Union the use
of that data based on its voluntary pledge’’ 466
F.2d at 1185.

The harm of disclosure of wage information gained
on a confidential basis from employers outside the bar-
gaining unit cannot be equated with the harm of dis-
closure of test scores of employees within the unit,
which were gained on a confidential basis.

The Administrative Law Judge, with the Board’s
approval, appeared to recognize that there might be
a harm or, as he termed it, ‘‘odium’’ in test score dis-
closure, but claimed that such an odium is inherent
in all testing programs (P.A. 53a). That observation
simply misses the point. There is no particular odium
involved in generally failing to achieve a 10.3 cutoff
score. That only means that the applicant scored from
0 to 10.2. But if scores linked with the names of appli-
ecants are disclosed, and a particular applicant has
scored particularly poorly in relation to the other ap-
plicants, a totally unnecessary ‘‘odium’’ is attached
to that applicant, and the record disclosed past inci-
dents of harassment of such individuals.

aa ad * + *

There is a clear relationship between the two argu-
ments made in this brief. This Court in NDRB vy.

15)

Triatt Mfy. Co., 351 U.S. 149 (1956), in assessing a
company refusal to provide a union with information
relating to the financial condition of the company in
the face of a company claim of inability to afford
union economic demands, held that:

‘*Kach case must turn upon its particular facts.
The inquiry must always be whether or not under
the circumstances of the particular case the statu-
tory obligation to bargain in good faith has been
met’’ 351 U.S. at 153-154.

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals itself in Kroger
Co. v. NLRB, 399 F.2d 455 (6th Cir. 1968), emphasized
that a union’s right to information under Section 8(a)
(5) of the Act is not a per se or absolute right, but
rather that it may involve a balancing of interests.

‘To us the critical problem appears to be how to
recognize and how to adequately protect each of
the condicting interests that are involved here”’
399 F.2d at 457.

Any such balancing of interests or examination of
the circumstances of the particular case here must in-
volve a determination of (1) the probable relevance
and usefulness to the Union of the testing information
involved—or the degree of such probable relevance and
usefulness—in the light ./ the wealth of information on
testing already disclosed by the Company to the Union,
and (2) the invalidation or potential for invalidation
of the Company’s testing program under the APA
Standards and EEOC Guidelines by disclosure of the
test materials to the Union.

The less relevant and useful the requested informa-
tion is to the Union in fulfilling its statutory require-
ments, as shown in Part II of this Argument, the more

56

the Company is entitled to protection against dissemi-
nation of the tests and test scores to prevent test in-
validation, as shown in Part I of this Argument. Like-
wise, the less relevant and useful the test materials are
to the Union, the less need there is for the Board and
Court of Appeals to construct and seek to enforce a
‘‘restriction’’ of highly dubious efficacy.

In addition, any such balancing must take into ac-
count the strong federal labor policy favoring collec-
tive bargaining and arbitration as the preferred means
of settling labor disputes arising under a collective bar-
gaining agreement, as enunciated by this Court in
United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior & Gulf
Nav. Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960). That policy has been
completely ignored by the Board and the Court of Ap-
peals in this case. The Arbitrator expressly found that
the Union’s lack of access to the actual tests did not
damage its position in arbitration in any way and that
disclosure of the tests to the Union would prove noth-
ing. Contrary to the finality of arbitration awards en-
dorsed by this Court in the Steelworkers Trilogy, the
Board and Court of Appeals have simply brushed aside
the conclusion of the Arbitrator on the irrelevance of
the tests. Far from serving the complementary role to
arbitration envisaged by this Court in NLRB v. Acme
Industrial Co., 385 U.S. 432 (1967), the Board’s proc-
esses in this case have been used to undermine the Ar-
bitrator’s role and decision. The decision also serves to
undermine the collective bargaining process itself. The
Union sought to obtain the tests and test scores in the
1972 negotiations. The Company successfully resisted
these demands, only to have them now imposed by the
Labor Board.

Pa.

Bn

a7

Finally, in any balancing of the interests involved,
this Court has had previous occasion to remind the
Labor Board that it ‘thas not been commissioned to
effectuate the policies of the Labor Relations Act so
single-mindedly that it may ignore other and equally
important Congressional objectives’’, and that it must
accommodate the statutory scheme of the National
Labor Relations Act to other statutory schemes.
Southern Steamship Co. v. NLRB, 316 US. 31, 47
(1942). See also Emporium Capwell Co. vy. Western
Addition Community Org., 420 U.S. 50, 66 (1975).
Here the Board, with the approval of the Court of Ap-
peals, has sought to enforce the duty-to-furnish-infor-
mation requirement of Section 8(a)(5) of the Act so
single-mindedly—even though the information is of no
relevance or barely marginal relevance—that it has
totally failed to accommodate the equally important
Congressional objective of insuring that tests used in
employment selection decisions be valid and job related.

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons the Company respectfully re-
quests that the Court reverse the decision of the Court
of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN A. McGuinn

FARMER, SHIBLEY, McGuinn & FLoop
1120 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Lron S. COHAN
2000 Second Avenue
Detroit, Michigan 48226

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0859%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
