# Opposition — Thomas v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0736%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 437 U.S. 904

## Text

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERI

No. 77-1 148

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

ROOSEVELT THOMAS, PETITIONER
a

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

Wave H. McCree, Jr.,
Solicitor General,

JOHN C. KEENEY,
Acting Assistant Attorney General,

JEROME M. FEIT,

ANDREW S. GORDON,
Attorneys,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-1448
ROOSEVELT THOMAS, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The memorandum opinion of the court of appeals (Pet.
App. i-vi) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
March 15, 1978. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on April 11, 1978. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 12541).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the district court properly denied petitioner's
motion to suppress evidence seized from his automobile.

(1)

STATEMENT

Following a jury-waived trial in the United States
District Court for the Southern District of California,
petitioner was convicted of conspiracy to possess heroin
with intent to distribute (21 U.S.C. 846) and possession of
heroin with intent to distribute (21 U.S.C. 841l(a)(1)) (IV
R. 62).! He was sentenced to a concurrent term of ten
years’ imprisonment and ten years’ special parole on each
count (II R. 35). The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App.
i-vi).

The evidence at trial showed that in January 1977
Agent Michael Groseclose of the Drug Enforcement
Administration received a report from customs agents
that on January 7 petitioner had entered the United States
from Mexico at Calexico, California, and had remarked
to customs inspectors that if they wished to follow him he
would be staying at the Holiday Inn in El Centro,

California, a town near the Mexican border. Agent

Groseclose thereafter spoke with other D.E.A. agents and
learned that petitioner had been in the El Centro area
twice in the previous two months, and he discovered from
a review of the D.E.A. files that a suspect in another case
had named petitioner as the recipient of 15-20 kilograms
of heroin from the suspect’s husband each month. In
addition, Agent Groseclose obtained copies of the toll
records for petitioner's home telephone, which revealed
that petitioner's monthly bill was between $300 and $400
and that several of the numbers called were associated
with known heroin traffickers in California, Florida, and

'™R.” refers to the record in the court of appeals. Co-defendant
Ernest Slocum was convicted only on the conspiracy charge. Slocum
also has filed a petition for a writ of certiorari (No. 77-6432), which
raises a wholly unrelated claim.

Pan

Georgia. The telephone records showed calls between
January 7 and I! to the El Dorado and Easy Night
Motels in El Centro (III R. 4-9).

On February 27, 1977, Agent Groseclose was told by
a confidential informant that petitioner again was in the
E! Centro area. The agent checked the El Dorado Motel,
determined that petitioner had registered there, and began
a surveillance. Shortly thereafter petitioner left the motel,
drove about a mile to a public telephone and made a call
(although there were public telephones at the motel and a
private phone in each motel room), visited two stores
(both times leaving without a package), and then returned
to the motel (III R. 9-12, 51-52).

At approximately 11:00 a.m. on February 27, petitioner
and co-defendant Slocum checked out of the motel and
proceeded east on Interstate 8 at 2 speed of 40-45 miles
per hour in a 55 m.p.h. zone. After about 15 miles, their
car pulled off the road and parked in a gas station, from
which the two men scanned the eastbound traffic. Fifteen
minutes later, petitioner and Slocum returned to the
highway and again proceeded east, next stopping at a rest
area 12-15 miles west of Yuma, Arizona. Once more the
car was parked in such a way as to give the men a view of
the eastbound traffic. Petitioner and Slocum remained at
the rest area for 45 minutes, although neither used the
restroom. They then continued on to Yuma (III R. 12-15,
53-54).

Upon arriving in Yuma, petitioner and Slocum drove in
a circuitous route before eventually stopping at a park,
where they remained for 30-45 minutes. Next the men
went to a shopping center, where petitioner entered a

2Agent Groseclose testified that he believed these stops were made
for the purpose of detecting surveillance (Ill R. 16).

4

department store and returned a few minutes later with a
brown paper bag. From there they drove to another
shopping center, where petitioner again visited several
stores in a short period of time. Petitioner and Slocum
then returned to the department store and parked in the
rear of the store near a car bearing Mexican license plates.
As one of the agents approached the car to get a better
view, he observed a male Mexican walking away from the
car (III R. 15-19, 54-59).

A few minutes later, petitioner and Slocum drove back
to the highway and headed west toward El Centro at a
speed of 55-60 m.p.h. Throughout the return trip Slocum
drove the car and petitioner slouched down in the rear
seat. After the car left the highway at El Centro, it
stopped and petitioner piaced a pink bag into the trunk
and got into the front seat (II1 R. 19-20, 59-60).

Agent Groseclose and Agent John Pulley determined
to stop petitioner's car a short while later. Prior to the
stop, but after the agents had turned on their red light
and siren, Agent Groseclose observed petitioner making
movements in the middle of the front seat. The agent
walked to the car, identified himself, told petitioner and
Slocum that he was investigating possible narcotics
smuggling, and asked the men to step out of the car. In
response to Agent Groseclose’s questions, petitioner
stated that he was coming from El ,Centro, that he was
going to visit his aunt, and that he ‘was not sure of the
identity of his companion. Agent Pulley then questioned
Slocum, determined that the car belonged to him, and
obtained his consent to search the vehicle.’ Agent

sAgent Pulley’s testimony regarding his colloquy with Slocum was
as follows (III R. 75-76):
Q. What, if anything, did you say to Mr. Slocum?

A. | asked him to step out of the car, and he did. We walked
back to the back of his car, and | identified myself with my
credentials, and told him we were conducting a narcotic

Groseclose also asked petitioner if he would consent to
a search; petitioner responded that it was Slocum’s car
and that if Slocum did not object to a search neither
did he (Il R. 21-23, 60-61, 74-76).

A search of the front seat of the car revealed a film
cannister that smelled of acetic acid or heroin and a small
quantity of brown powder that appeared to be heroin.
Petitioner and Slocum were then arrested and advised of
their constitutional rights. A search of the trunk of their
automobile produced a pink bag containing two packages
of heroin (Ill R. 23-24, 27, 77-78).

ARGUMENT

1. Relying on United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1,
petitioner contends (Pet. 6-7) that the search of the bag
found in the trunk of the car violated the Fourth
Amendment. In Chadwick, this Court held that federal
law enforcement agents who had arrested several suspects,
seized a locked footlocker, and transported it to the
agents’ offices, were required to obtain a warrant before
searching its contents. The Court concluded that once the
agents had seized the footlocker, gained “exclusive
dominion” over it, and arrested its owner, there was no
exigency requiring an immediate search, nor was any

investigation. | asked him whose car it was. He said it was his. |
had heard a vehicle registration check earlier in the day, and it
was my understanding the vehicle was registered to someone else.
| asked him, did he own the car, and he said, “Yes.” And | asked
him, did he recently purchase it, and he said, “Yes.” | asked him
if he had any contraband in the car, and he said, “No.” And I
said, “Well, I'd like to ask permission to search the car.” I said,
“But you are not required to permit me to search,” and | said,
“You have the alternative to deny me permission to search.” And
he said, “No, go ahead and search it if you want to.”

6

other recognized exception to the warrant requirement
applicable, and a warrantless search was_ therefore
unreasonable (433 U.S. at 11-16).

Chadwick, however, did not purport to alter the settled
rule permitting a warrantless search with the consent of a
person having a sufficient relationship to the premises or
effects sought to be searched. See United States v.
Matlock, 415 U.S. 164, 171. On the contrary, the Court
emphasized in Chadwick that no consent to search had
been obtained in that case (433 U.S. at 4). Here, by
contrast, both courts below found that petitioner and
Slocum voluntarily consented to the search of the car, a
finding amply supported by the evidence and, indeed, one
that petitioner does not dispute. In light of this consent,
the agents were permitted to open the trunk of the car and
to search the contents of the pink bag. See United States
v. Matlock, spra, 415 U.S. at 166; United States v.
Carter, 569 F 2d 801, 804 (C.A. 4) (collecting cases).4

2. Petitioner suggests (Pet. 7-8) that the agents arrested
him without probable cause when they stopped his
vehicle. This claim is insubstantial. Law enforcement
officers may stop an automobile to question its occupants
without effecting an arrest. United States v. Brignoni-
Ponce, 422 U.S. 873, 884; Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1.
Here, the agents plainly had a reasonable suspicion that
criminal activity was afoot. Moreover, there was
testimony that petitioner and Slocum were free to leave

‘The search of the trunk also was permissible under the
“automobile search exception” to the warrant requirement. See
United States v. Chadwick, supra, 433 U.S. at 12; Chambers .
Maroney, 399 U.S. 42. The agents had probable cause to believe thi:
the trunk contained contraband, since they had already found heroin
in the front seat and had seen petitioner place the pink bag in the
trunk under suspicious circumstances. See also 2! U.S.C. 881.

AS SS

Oe

prior to the search (III R. 68). Accordingly, the court of
appeals correctly concluded that “the conduct of the
agents did not constitute an arrest” (Pet. App. v). Cf.
Pennsylvania v. Mimms, No. 76-1830, decided December
5, 1977.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WapDE H. McCree, JR.,
Solicitor General.

JOHN C. KEENEY,
Acting Assistant Attorney General.

JEROME M. FEIT,
ANDREW S. GORDON,
Attorneys.

May 1978.

DOJ-1978-03

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0736%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
