# Opposition — Ballew v. Georgia

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0720%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 436 U.S. 962

## Text

Supreme Court, U. &
FILED

} MAY 15 1978

\
MICH
AEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

NO. 77-1425

CLAUDE D. BALLEW,
Petitioner,
v.
STATE OF GEORGIA,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO
THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LEONARD W. RHODES

Room 53 State Court Building
160 Pryor Street

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Counsel for Respondent

INDEX TO BRIEF

SS
QUESTIONS RAISED....................0005.

ARGUMENT AND CITATIONS OF

EO ee

A. The Jury Instructions on Scienter Met

Constitutional Minimum Standards..........

B. The Motion Picture Films Dream Come True
and The Heist are Obscene and Therefore
not Protected by the First and Fourteenth

Ne ce beseces
ee eececece
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE..................

TABLE OF CASES
Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S. (1978)

EEE Ee ee ee

Boyce Motor Lines, Inc. v. United States,

SS rer

California v. Kuhns, 61 Cal. App. 3d 735,

132 Cal. Rptr. 725, 737 (1976). ................
Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968).........
Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87 (1974).......
Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153 (1974)............

Kuhns v. California, _____ U.S. _____,

TE POSS ud veda dvcdsecseccessececes

,e

. 9

TABLE OF CASES (Cont'd) IN THE

Page | °
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973)..... ....... 7 ] Supreme Court of the United States
Mishkin v. New York, 383 U.S. 502 (1966).......... 4 | OCTOBER TERM, 1977
Nash v. United States, 229 U.S. 373 (1913).......... 5 NO. 77-1425
Robinson v. Georgia, 485 U.S. _____ (1978)
SST a ea oe 6 CLAUDE D. BALLEW,
Rosen v. United States, 161 U.S. 29 (1896)........... 3 Petitioner,
Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957)........... 7 v.
Sewell v. Georgia, 435 U.S. _____ (1978) STATE OF GEORGIA,
NN sO ee 6 Respondent.
Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147 (1959). ........... 3
wetaiicanaes aean BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO
Teal v. Georgia, 435 U.S. ____ (1978) THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
SS” Sle earn eae Serer 6
United States v. Wurzbach, 280 U.S. 396 (1930)...... 5 PART I
OPINION BELOW
STATUTES The decision sought to be reviewed by this court is

Georgia Laws 1975, p. 498, (Section 26-2101 of the reported at 144 Ge. App. 298 (261 5.E. 2d 19).
Criminal Code of Georgia)...................05. 2,4 QUESTIONS RAISED

1. Whether jury instructions on scienter that required
the State to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the
accused had knowledge of the obscene nature of the
magazines sold by him, either actual or constructive, and
that a person has constructive knowledge of the obscene

4 content if he has knowledge of facts which would put a
reasonable and prudent person on notice as to the suspect
nature of the material, were sufficient to meet constitu-
tional minimum standards.

2

2. Whether the Motion Picture Films Dream Come
True and The Heist are obscene as a matter of law and
therefore not protected expression under the First and
Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of the
United States.

PART II
ARGUMENT AND CITATIONS OF AUTHORITY
A.

JURY INSTRUCTIONS ON SCIENTER THAT
REQUIRED THE STATE TO PROVE BEYOND A
REASONABLE DOUBT THAT THE ACCUSED HAD
KNOWLEDGE, EITHER ACTUAL OR CONSTRUC-
TIVE, AND THAT CONSTRUCTIVE KNOWLEDGE
IS KNOWLEDGE OF FACTS WHICH WOULD PUT
A REASONABLE AND PRUDENT PERSON ON
NOTICE AS TO THE SUSPECT NATURE OF THE
MATERIAL, WERE SUFFICIENT TO MEET CON-
STITUTIONAL MINIMUM STANDARDS.

Section 26-2101 of the Criminal Code of Georgia
provides, in part, as follows:

(a) a person commits the offense of distributing
obscene materials when he sells, lends, rents, leases,
gives, advertises, publishes, exhibits or otherwise
disseminates to any person any obscene material of
any description, knowing the obscene nature thereof,
or offers to do so, or possesses such material with the
intent to do so, provided that the word ‘knowing’, as
used herein, shall be deemed to be either actual or
constructive knowledge of the obscene contents of
the subject matter, and a person has constructive
knowledge of the obscene contents of he has knowledge of
facts which would put a reasonable and prudent person
on notice as to the suspect nature of the material . . .”
(Emphasis added)

The trial court charged the jury on scienter according
to the provisions of the Georgia statute, supra, and this
charge is in keeping with a line of cases on the question
of scienter in obscenity cases dating back to the year 1896
when the court held that the person charged with the
offense of mailing obscene material must know or have
notice of the contents of the material.

“The inquiry, in proceedings under Rev. Stat. §3893,
is whether the paper charged to have been obscene,
lewd, and lascivious was in fact of that character,
and if it was of that character and was deposited in
the mail by one who knew or had notice at the time of its
contents, the offense is complete, although the de-
fendant himself did not regard the paper as one that
the statute forbade to be carried in the mails.”
im added) Rosen v. United States, 161 U.S. 29
1896).

Rosen did not require the accused to have knowledge
of the obscenity of the material, only notice of its contents.

‘* , . Eyewitness testimony of a bookseller’s perusal
of a book hardly need be a necessary element in
proving his awareness of its contents. The circum-
stances may warrant the inference that he was aware
of what a book contained, despite his denial.

We need not and most definitely do not pass today
on what sort of mental element is requisite to a con-
stitutionally permissible prosecution of a bookseller
for carrying an obscene book in stock; whether
honest mistake as to whether its contents in fact
constituted obscenity need be an excuse; whether
there might be circumstances under which the State
constitutionally might require that a bookseller
investigate further, or might put on him the burden
of explaining why he did not, and what such circum-
stances might be. . .” Smith v. California, 361 U.S.
147, 154 (1959).

4

The Georgia statute, 26-2101 supra, is very similar and
compares to New York statutes dealt with by the court in
Mishkin v. New York, 383 U.S. 502 (1966) and Ginsberg v.
New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968).

The Mishkin case pointed out that the New York Court
of Appeals had construed Section 1141 of the New York
Penal Law to require the “vital element of scienter,” and
it defined the required mental element in these terms:

“a reading of the statute (§1141) as a whole clearly
indicates that only those who are in some manner
aware of the character of the material they attempt
to distribute should be punished. It is not innocent
a calculated purveyance of filth which is exor-
c re

Section 26-2101 of the Georgia Code requires “‘knowl-
edge of facts which would put a reasonable and prudent
person on notice,’ while Section 1141 of the New York
Penal Law requires the accused to be “in some manner

aware.”

The statute dealt with in Ginsberg defined knowingly
as “knowledge” of, or ‘‘reason to know” of, the character
and content of the material.

Neither Mishkin nor Ginsberg requires actual knowl-
edge. Both cases were reviewed and followed in Hamling
v. United States, 418 U.S. 87 (1974), where the court con-
strued 18 U.S.C. §1461, and held:

“To require proof of a defendant’s knowledge of
the legal status of the materials would permit the
defendant to avoid prosecution by simply claiming
that he had not brushed up on the law. Such a
formulation of the scienter requirement is required
neither by the language of 18 U.S.C. §1461 nor by
the Constitution.”

5

In the caseof Kuhns v. California, __.__ U.S. ______., 97
S.Ct. 2938, this court denied petition for certiorari to
review jury instructions based upon the California ob-
scenity statute which defines “knowingly” as ‘‘(be) aware
of the character of the matter . . .” California v. Kuhns,
61 Cal. App. 3d 735, 1382 Cal. Rptr. 725, 737 (1976).

In the case of Nash v. United States, 229 U.S. 373 (1913),
the court said:

“Tn many instances a man’s fate depends upon his
rightly estimating, that is as the jury subsequently
estimates it, some matter of degree, and there is
no constitutional difficulty in the way of enforcing
the criminal provisions of the Sherman Anti-Trust
Act on the ground of uncertainty as to the prohibi-
tions.

Whenever the law draws a line, there will be cases very
near each other on opposite sides. The precise course of
the line may be uncertain, but no one can come near it
without knowing that he does so, if he thinks, and if he
does so, it is familiar to the criminal law to make him take
the risk. Nash v. United States, supra; United States »v.
Wurzbach, 280 U.S. 396, 399 (1930). One who goes peril-
ously close to an area of proscribed conduct shall take the
risk that he may cross that line. Boyce Motor Lines, Inc.
v. United States, 342 U.S. 337, 340.

In summary, on the question of scienter, the Georgia
law requires and the jury was instructed that the State
must prove, as a bare minimum, that the petitioner had
knowledge of facts which would put a reasonable and
prudent person on notice as to the suspect nature of the
material. No more has ever been required. ‘‘Notice of its
contents” is required by Rosen v. United States, supra;
“in some manner aware” was sufficient in Mishkin v.

6

New York, supra; “‘reason to know” was sufficient in Gins-
berg v. New York, supra; “be aware of the character of the
matter” was sufficient in Kuhns v. California, supra; eye-
witness testimony that the appellant perused the book
is not necessary, Smith v. California, supra; and proof of
knowledge of the legal status of the material is not re-
quired, Hamling v. United States, supra.

The precise scienter question raised by the Petitioner
herein has been presented to the court in four cases pre-
viously in Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S. _.... (1978)
(No. 76-761. Decided March 21, 1978); Robinson ».
Georgia, 435 U.S. _.____ (1978) (No. 77-915. Decided
April 24, 1978); Sewell v. Georgia, 435 U.S. ______ (1978)
(No. 76-1738. Decided April 24, 1978); and Teal v. Georgia,
435 “a —___.. (1978) (No. 77-790. Decided April 24,
1978).

Ballew, supra, was reversed on the Five-person jury
issue and remanded for further proceedings not incon-
sistent with the court’s opinion which did not reach the
scienter issue.

In Robinson, supra, the judgment was vacated and the
case was remanded to the Court of Appeals of Georgia for
further consideration in light of Ballew v. Georgia, and the
scienter issue was not dealt with by the majority.

In Sewell and Teal, the appeals were dismissed for want
of substantial federal question. Since no substantial
federal question was raised in Sewell and Teal, and since
the scienter issue raised in each of those cases were pre-
cisely the same as that presented by the Petitioner herein,
it follows that the scienter issue presented by him raises
no substantial federal question.

7

B.

TH& MATERIALS INVOLVED HERE ARE OB-
SCENE AND ENTITLED TO NO PROTECTION
UNDER THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH AMEND-
MENTS TO THE CONSTITUTION.

In a review of the Motion Picture Films Dream Come
True and The Heist, the court will find not only nudity
ahd lewd exhibition of the genitals by both males and
females, but there are also explicit depictions of ultimate
sexual acts. Petitioner contends that these materials do
not constitute hard core pornography, and in support of
these contentions, appellant cites cases in which convic-
tions were reversed by this court. With the exception of
Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153 (1974), all the cases
cited by the Petitioner were decided during the period
between Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957) and
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973); a period when no
majority of the court could agree on a standard to deter-
mine what constitutes obscene, pornographic material
subject to regulations under the States’ police power,
and at which time convictions were reversed by the
court summarily.

“Apart from the initial formulation in the Roth case,
no majority of the Court has at any given time been
able to agree on a standard to determine what con-
stitutes obscene, pornographic material subject to
regulation under the States’ police power. See, e.g.,
Redrup v. New York, 386 U.S. at 770-771, 87 S.Ct. at
1415-1416. We have seen ‘a variety of views among
the members of the Court unmatched in any other
course of constitutional adjudication.’ Interstate Cir-
cuit, Inc. v. Dallas, 390 U.S., at 704-705, 88 S.Ct. at
1314 (Harlan, J., concurring and dissenting).”’
TT a v. California, 413 U.S. 15, 22, 88 S.Ct. 2607,

8

“In the absence of a majority view, this Court was
compelled to embark on the practice of summarily
reversing convictions for the dissemination of ma-
terials that at least five members of the Court,
applying their separate tests, found to be protected
by the First Amendment. Redrup v. New York, 386
U.S. 767, 87 S.Ct. 1414, 18 L.Ed. 2d 515 (1967).
Thirty-one cases have been decided in this manner.
Beyond the necessity of circumstances, however, 20
justification has ever been offered in support of the
Redrup ‘policy’. See Walker v. Ohio, 398 U.S. 434-435,
90 S.Ct. 1884, 26 L.Ed. 2d 385 (1970) (dissenting
opinions of Burger, C. J., and Harlan, J.). The Redrup
procedure has cast us in the role of an unreviewable
board of censorship for the 50 States, subjectively
judging each piece of material brought before us.”’
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15, 88 S.Ct. 2607, 2614
(Footnote 3).

In Jenkins v. Georgia, supra, the film “Carnal Knowl-
edge” was in question and the scenes in which sexual
conduct including “ultimate sexual acts’ is to be under-
stood to be taking place, the camera does not focus on
the bodies of the actors at such times. Such is not the
case in the films in question here, for there the camera does
focus on the bodies of the participants.

The Respondent contends that the films are hard
core pornography and obscene material when judged by
the guide lines established in Miller v. California, supra,
and the Georgia Obscenity statute, Code Section 26-2101,
which is patterned after the Miller case.

ee nomen

9
CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, Respondent urges this
Court to decline to issue the Writ of Certiorari in this

case.
Respectfully submitted,
LEONARD W. RHODES
Assistant Solicitor General
State Court of Fulton County
Counsel for Respondent
53 State Court Building

160 Pryor Street, S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 572-2911

ee

NS

10
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I am a member of the Bar of the
Supreme Court of the United States in good standing,
and that I have this day deposited in the United States
Mail three (3) copies of the foregoing Brief of Respondent
in Opposition to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari with
first class postage prepaid, addressed to Robert Eugene
Smith, Esquire, 1409 Peachtree Street, N.E., Atlanta,
Georgia 30309, Attorney for Petitioner.

This day of May, 1978.

LEONARD W. RHODES
Counsel for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0720%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
