# Opposition — C. K. Smith & Co. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0679%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 436 U.S. 957

## Text

uk ee

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

od

C. K. SmitH & Co., INC., ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS
BOARD IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. McCREE, JR.,
Solicitor General,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

INDEX

Opinions below
Jurisdiction
Questions presented
Statement

Argument
Conclusion

CITATIONS
Cases:

Buffalo Forge Co. v. United Steelworkers
of America, AFL-CIO, 428 U.S. 397__
Gary Hobart Water Corp. v. National La-
bor Relations Board, 511 F. 2d 284,
certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 925 _..___
General Tire & Rubber Co. v. National
Labor Relations Board, 451 F. 2d 257.
Kellogg Company v. National Labor Rela-
tions Board, 457 F. 2d 519, certiorari
denied, 409 U.S. 850 as
Marshall Field & Co. v. National Labor
Relations Board, 318 U.S. 253 _.__.
Mastro Plastics Corp. v. National Labor
Relations Board, 350 U.S. 270
National Labor Relations Board v. Brown
& Root, Inc., 203 F. 2d 139
National Labor Relations Board v. Brown
& Root, Inc., 99 N.L.R.B. 1031
National Labor Relations Board v. Inter-
national Van Lines, 409 U.S. 48, re-
versing 448 F.2d 905

Page

an SS — =

5-6
7

5, 10

Cases—Continued

National Labor Relations Board v. L. G.
Everist, Inc., 334 F. 2d 312 _._______.
National Labor Relations Board v. Rock-
away News Supply Co., Inc., 345 U.S.
71
National Labor Relations Board v. Seven-
oY SS § 6S eee
National Labor Relations Board v. South-
ern Greyhound Lines, Inc., 426 F. 2d
ee Cy I diititalickatitieicinctnteiernenciiate
National Labor Relations Board v. Union
Carbide Corporation, 440 F. 2d 54,
certiorari denied, 404 U.S. 826
Newspaper Production Co. v. National
Labor Relations Board, 503 F. 2d 821_
Pilot Freight Carriers, Inc., 224 N.L.R.B.
341
Teamsters, Chauffeurs & Helpers Local U.
No. 79 v. National Labor Relations
Board, 325 F. 2d 1011, certiorari de-
nied, 377 U.S. 905
Winter Garden Citrus Products Coop. v.
National Labor Relations Board, 238 F.
2d 128 - Raa hsrary wert es Te ee

o-oo

Statute:

National Labor Relations Act, as amend-
ed, 61 Stat. 136, 73 Stat. 519, 29 U.S.C.
151 et seq.:

Section 7, 29 U.S.C. 157 a
Section 8(a), 29 U.S.C. 158(a) __
Section 8(a)(1), 29 U.S.C. 158(a)

ec chairs

Page

10

3,4

Statute—Continued

“— 8(a)(3), 29 U.S.C. 158(a)
Section 8(a) (5), 29 U.S.C. 158(a)

ROSA TSUN Rae oa
Section 10(e), 29 U.S.C. 160(e) __

Page

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1977

No, 77-1374

C. K. SMITH & Co., INC., ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS
BOARD IN OPPOSITION

OPENIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1la-
13a) is reported at 569 F.2d 162. The Board’s deci-
sion and order (Pet. App. 14a-77a) are reported at
227 N.L.R.B. 1061.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on December 28, 1977. The petition for a writ of

(1)

2

certiorari was filed on March 28, 1978. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether employees who strike in support of
fellow employees who are striking to protest unfair
labor practices by their common employer are en-
titled to the same reinstatement rights as the primary
unfair labor practice strikers.

2. Whether the Board properly found that the
union did not contractually waive the employees’
statutory right to participate in an unfair labor
practice sympathy strike.

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner C. K. Smith Co., Inc., is a retail
seller and distributor of oil and related products.
Petitioner Buckley Heating Co., Inc., sells and dis-
tributes the same products at wholesale. (Pet. App.
30a.) The two companies share the same premises
and management, and the National Labor Relations
Board found them to be a single employer for the
purposes of the Act (Pet. App. 28a-29a). The court
of appeals upheld that finding (Pet. App. 3a-4a) and
petitioners do not challenge it here.

Petitioners’ retail and wholesale drivers were rep-
resented, in separate units, by Teamsters Local 170.
In March 1974, the union began an organizing cam-
paign among the mechanics at the Smith company
(Pet. App. 30a). The Board found that the com-

pany violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act when, dur-
ing the course of the mechanics’ organizing campaign,
it engaged in coercive interrogation, promised bene-
fits if the union were defeated, and threatened an
employee with loss of work if the union were success-
ful (Pet. App. 42a-48a). The Board further found
that the company violated Sections 8(a)(1) and
8(a)(5) of the Act by withdrawing the recognition
that it had previously accorded the union in the
mechanics’ unit (Pet. App. 54a), and by bargaining
individually with retail driver unit employees while
contract negotiations for that unit were in progress
(Pet. App. 37a-38a). Petitioners did not dispute
those findings in the court of appeals (Pet. App. 4a).

After the company withdrew recognition from the
union, the six mechanic employees voted to strike
(Pet. App. 58a). The strike, which began on April
29, 1974, was joined by both the retail and wholesale
drivers (Pet. App. 33a, 56a). The Administrative
Law Judge, whose decision was adopted by the Board,
concluded that the strike was an unfair labor practice
strike, caused by the company’s various violations of
the unfair labor practice provisions of the National
Labor Relations Act, 61 Stat. 140, 29 U.S.C. 158(a)
(Pet. App. 65a) In addition, the Administrative Law
Judge found that the retail and wholesale drivers who
joined the strike did so “primarily in sympathy with
the strike of the mechanic employees” (ibid.). The
court of appeals upheld these findings (Pet. App. 5a).

2. On July 8, 1974, the strikers made an uncondi-
tional offer to return to work. Petitioners refused to

4

reinstate the mechanics, the wholesale drivers, and
one of the retail drivers, although certain wholesale
drivers were reinstated later (Pet. App. 66a-67a).
After complaints were filed and a hearing held, the
Board found that petitioners had violated Sections 8
(a) (1) and 8(a) (3) of the Act by refusing to rein-
state both the mechanics and the drivers who had
been on strike.

The Board held, first, that the drivers, as employees
of the same enterprise, acquired the status of unfair
labor practice strikers when they struck in sympathy
with the mechanics, who were clearly unfair labor
practice strikers (Pet. App. 65a). Second, the Board
held that the wholesale drivers had not violated their
contractual obligation not to strike because the terms
of the drivers’ contract did not “reveal a waiver of
the right to strike over unfair labor practices or to
strike in sympathy with other employees” (Pet. App.
62a-63a).

The court of appeals upheld the Board on both of
these issues. The court observed that a sympathy
striker resisting unfair labor practices may have more
at stake than a similarly situated economic striker.
An employer’s effort to oust the union from one unit,
the court noted, “could have deleterious effects on the
union’s prestige and the stability of collective bar-
gaining throughout the plant” (Pet. App. 8a). Since
sympathy strikers stand in the shoes of primary
strikers for purposes of lawful discipline and replace-
ment, the court concluded, “it seems equitable to

afford them preferential reinstatement rights where
such rights are granted primary strikers” (ibid.).

With respect to the no-strike clause in the drivers’
contract, the court held that the Board’s interpreta-
tion of the clause was supportable in light of the
principle that a no-strike provision is ordinarily co-
terminous with the duty to arbitrate. Since the dis-
pute between the mechanics and the employer could
not be the subject of a grievance under the wholesale
drivers’ contract, there was no duty to arbitrate, and
the no-strike clause did not bar the drivers from
engaging in a sympathy strike (Pet. App. lla).
Accordingly, the court of appeals upheld the Board’s
conclusion that petitioners had improperly refused
to reinstate the drivers when they made an uncondi-
tional offer to return to work.

ARGUMENT

1. It is well settled that employees who strike in
response to an employer’s unfair labor practices are
entitled to full reinstatement upon an unconditional
offer to return to work, even if permanent replace-
ments have been hired. Mastro Plastics Corp. v.
National Labor Relations Board, 350 U.S. 270, 278.
Similarly, employees who join a picket line established
by fellow employees at their common employer’s
premises are entitled to the same protection as strikers
under the Act. Gary Hobart Water Corp. v. National
Labor Relations Board, 511 F.2d 284, 287 (C.A. 7),
certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 925; Kellogg Company v.

National Labor Relations Board, 457 F.2d 519, 523
(C.A. 6), certiorari denied, 409 U.S. 850; National
Labor Relations Board v. Union Carbide Corporation,
440 F.2d 54, 55-56 (C.A. 4), certiorari denied, 404
U.S. 826; National Labor Relations Board v. South-
ern Greyhound Lines, Inc., 426 F.2d 1299, 1301 (C.A.
5). From these principles it follows that where the
primary striker and the sympathy striker have a
common employer, the sympathy striker has the same
reinstatement rights as the primary striker. News-
paper Production Co. v. National Labor Relations
Board, 503 F.2d 821, 830 (C.A. 5); General Tire &
Rubber Co. v. National Labor Relations Board, 451
F.2d 257 (C.A. 1); Pilot Freight Carriers, Inc., 224
N.L.R.B. 341, 342.

Petitioners argue that these principles should not
apply to sympathy strikers who support fellow em-
ployees in an unfair labor practice strike against a
common employer. The court below rejected that
argument, and, contrary to petitioners’ contention,
there is no conflict among the circuits on this issue.

Petitioners urge that the decision below conflicts
with that of the Fourth Circuit in National Labor
Relations Board v. Union Carbide Corp., 440 F.2d 54.
In that case, however, the court held that an employee
who declined to cross a picket line out of fear rather
than principle was not engaged in concerted activity
protected by Section 7 of the Act. In this case, by
contrast, the Administrative Law Judge found that
the reason the wholesale drivers struck was “pri-

7

marily in sympathy with the strike of the mechanic
empioyees” (Pet. App. 652). Petitioners did not ex-
cept to that finding before the Board, nor did they
contend that the finding was inadequate to establish
that the wholesale drivers were animated by principle
rather than fear. Petitioners are therefore precluded
from raising that contention here. 29 U.S.C. 160(e) ;
Marshall Field & Co. v. National Labor Relations
Board, 318 U.S. 253; National Labor Relations Board
v. Seven-up Co., 344 U.S. 344.

The other court of appeals decisions relied on by
petitioners are distinguishable from this case in that
in each instance the sympathy strikers worked for a
different employer than the primary strikers. Na-
tional Labor Relations Board v. L. G. Everist, Inc.,
334 F.2d 312 (C.A. 8); Teamsters, Chauffeurs &
Helpers Local U. No. 79 v. National Labor Relations
Board, 325 F.2d 1011 (C.A.D.C.), certiorari denied,
377 U.S. 905; National Labor Relations Board v.
Brown & Root, Inc., 203 F.2d 189 (C.A. 8).° Nor
does National Labor Relations Board v. International
Van Lines, 409 U.S. 48, reversing 448 F.2d 905 (C.A.
9), in any way support petitioners’ position here. In
that case, the Court held that since the employer had
committed an unfair labor practice when it dis-

1 Petitioners’ reliance on the Board’s order in the Brown &
Root case, 99 N.L.R.B. 1081, 1087, is misplaced. The Board
found that those sympathy strikers were represented by a
different union, which did not authorize their wildcat strike
in support of their fellow employees. And it concluded that
they were not affected by the company’s unfair labor practice
against the other union.

charged certain economic strikers prior to the time
replaced, the strikers were entitled to re-
on that ground alone. The Court found it
unnecessary to consider whether, as a theoretical
matter, the economic strikers were converted into un-
fair labor practice strikers at the time the employer
committed the unfair labor practice of discharging
them. 409 U.S. at 52-53. In any event, those strikers
were not sympathy strikers. Therefore, contrary to
petitioners’ assertion (Pet. 16), the question the
Court found it unnecessary to resolve has nothing to
do with the question presented in this case.

As the court of appeals coneluded (Pet. App. 6a), it
is the Board’s duty to balance the interests of striking
employees in the exercise of their Section 7 rights
against the employer’s legitimate business reasons for
replacing them. The Board has concluded that the
proper balance between business justification and
employee concerted activity requires that sympathy
strikers who support an unfair laber practice strike
involving a common employer be treated in the same
manner as the primary unfair labor practice strikers.
That resolution is consistent with the general treat-
ment under the Act of sympathy strikers and of
common employer situations, and petitioners have
presented no persuasive reasons for applying a dif-
ferent rule in this case.

2. Petitioners further contend (Pet. 25-32) that
the Board erred in holding that the no-strike provision
of the collective-bargaining agreement did not bar
the wholesale drivers from engaging in a sympathy

strike. This issue, turning largely upon the particu-
lar facts, does not warrant review by this Court. In
any event, the Board’s resolution of the matter was
correct and was properly upheld by the court of
appeals.

The wholesale drivers’ contract contained a general
no-strike clause. Since the dispute underlying the
primary strike could not be processed through the
wholesale drivers’ grievance machinery, and since
that machinery did not permit the company to obtain
an arbitral determination of its claim that the whole-
sale drivers’ sympathy strike violated the no-strike
clause, the court 'bdlew property sustained the Board’s
finding that the no-strike clause did not bar sympathy
strikes? Moreover, sven if the no-strike provision
were considered to be ambiguous, as petitioner con-
tends (Pet. 25-28), the Board and the court of ap-
peals (Pet. App. 10a-1la n. 2, 63a) found that the
bargaining history did not suport petitioners’ asser-
tion that the parties intended the no-strike provision
to apply to sympathy strikers at ie employer's
Yellen ational Labor Rédations Board v. Rockaway News
Supply Co., Inc., 345 U.S. 71, on which petitioners
rely, does not support their claim. That case involved
employees’ refusal to cross a picket line at another
employer’s premises; the Court found persuasive evi-

2 In Buffalo Forge Co. v. United Steelworkers of America,
AFL-CIO, 428 U.S. 397, by contrast, the final step of the
grievance procedure provided that a grievance “may be sub-
mitted to arbitration upon written notice of the Union or the
Company” (id. at 400 n. 2).

10

dence that the parties intended the contractual no-
strike clause to apply to such situations. Here, by
contrast, the Board and the court of appeals found
that the parties did not intend to proscribe sympathy
strikes against the common employer.

Finally, petitioners contend that the principles of
Mastro Plastics Corp. v. National Labor Relations
Board, 350 U.S. 270, requires reversal here. In Mastro
Plastics the Court held that even if employees os-
tensibly violated the terms of the collective-bargaining
agreement by engaging in an unfair labor practice
strike, the agreement would not readily be construed
as a waiver of the employees’ right to strike over un-
fair labor practices that undermined the collective-
bargaining relationship. Jd. at 283. Petitioners argue
that the unfair labor practices in this case were not
sufficiently flagrant to warrant application of the
Mastro Plastics doctrine.*

Since the Board found that the collective-bargaining
agreement did not bar the strike in question here, it
was not necessary for the Board to rely on Mastro
Plastics to uphold the strikers’ actions. In any event,
as the court of appeals held (Pet. App. 10a), Mastro

* Petitioners also reiterate their contention that there was
no causal connection between the unfair labor practices and
the drivers’ strike, and that therefore the strikers should
not have been reinstated. See Winter Garden Citrus Products
Coop. Vv. National Labor Relations Board, 238 F.2d 128 (C.A.
5). But, as we have noted, the Administrative Law Judge
found that the wholesale drivers struck in sympathy with the
mechanics, who were engaged in an unfair labor practice
strike, and petitioners did not challenge that finding before
the Board.

11

Plastics provides further support for the Board’s con-
clusion that the collective-bargaining agreement
should not be read as a contractual waiver of the

drivers’ right to engage in a sympathy unfair labor
practice strike in support of fellow employees.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCREE, JR.,
Solicitor General.

JOHN S. IRVING,
General Counsel,

JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR.,
Deputy General Counsel,

CARL L. TAYLOR,
Associate General Counsel,

NORTON J. COME,
Deputy Associate General Counsel,

LINDA SHER,
Associate General Counsel,
National Labor Relations Board.

May 1978.

Ww oc. 8. covennmenr reintine orrice; 1978 2esssi 20

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0679%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
