# Petition — Peterson v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0608%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 435 U.S. 939

## Text

upreme Court, U. &
FILED

No. 77 1 2 9 3 MAR 15 1978

TAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, A.D. 1977

JAMES AUGUSTUS PETERSON, SR.,
Petitioner,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIROUIT

CHARLES A. BELLOWS

One IBM Plaza

Chicago, IIlinois 60611
Attorney for Petitioner

UNITED STATES LAW PRINTING co., CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60618 (312) 525-6581

— gy —fj oe

— 2 ern mtene

PAGE
3 NEE le a Oren 1
f 1 ‘a * 1
Questions Presented for Revi 2
Statement of the Cases i 2
Reasons for Granting the Writ 6
Appendix 1—Opinion of the District Court App. 1

Appendix 2—Unpublished Order of the Court of
% App. 8

CITATIONS

Blair v. United States, 250 U.S. 273 (1919) 8
Durbin v. United States, 221 F. 2d 520 (D.C. Cir. 1954) 10
Hale v. Henkel, 201 U.S. 43 (1906) 11
Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484, 96 S. Ct. 1646. 6
Hoffman v. United States, 341 U.S. 479 (1951) 0... 11
In re September, 1971 Grand Jury, 454 F. 2d 580 . — 11
MeNabb v. United States, 318 U.S. 332 (1943) 12
Sorrels v. United States, 287 U.S. 435 (1932) —
United States v. Archer, (2 Cir. 1973), 486 F. 2d 670... 6
United States v. Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1 (1973) 8

United States v. Fisher, 455 F. 2d 1101 (2d Cir. 1972) 8
United States v. Reifsteck (8 Cir. 1976), 535 F. 2d

1030 6
United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423 (1973) . 7
Weeks v. United States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914 12
Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963) 12

Wood v. Georgia, 370 U.S. 375 (1962) - 8

Iu the
Supreme Court of the United States

No.

Ocroser Trem, A.D. 1977

JAMES AUGUSTUS PETERSON, SR.,
Petitioner,
vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIROUIT

Petitioner, James Augustus Peterson, Sr., prays that a
Writ of Certiorari be issued to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit,
entered in this cause on December 13, 1977.

Opinion Below
The opinion of the Court of Appeals is unpublished.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
December 13, 1977. A timely Petition for Rehearing was
filed, and was denied on February 15, 1978. The jurisdiction

of this Court is invoked under Title 28, United States Code,
Section 1254(1).

Question Presented for Review
Whether the use by the Government of a grand jury

witness and the subpoena issued to that witness, to bait.

the petitioner into committing the offense of obstruction
of justice was such outrageous conduct on the part of the
Government as to require the suppression as evidence of
the statements made by the petitioner and/or the acquittal
of the Petitioner under this Court’s supervisory powers.

Statement of the Case

Petitioner James A. Peterson was charged in a single
count indictment with obstructing justice, a violation of
Title 18, United States Code, Section 1508. The indict-
ment, returned on August 5, 1976 in the United States Dis-
tric Court for the Northern District of Indiana, alleged
in substance that in and about September, 1975, to the
date of the return of the indictment, a grand jury em-
paneled and sworn in the United States District Court for
the Northern District of Indiana was conducting investi-
gations into possible illegal gambling activities, and that
one William Frank Newman had been subpoenaed as a
witness before that grand jury.

The indictment further charged that on or about Janu-
ary 8, 1976, and on or about January 27, 1976, James
Peterson endeavored to influence William Newman to
falsely testify before the grand jury that, ‘‘Peterson had
nothing to do with Newman’s gambling operation; that
Newman could not recall the substance of conversations
he had had with Peterson; that Newman gave no percent-
age of the proceeds of Newman’s gambling operation to

— ee

Peterson; and that Newman had no knowledge of pay-
ments to local police officials.’’

Peterson entered a plea of not guilty to the charge.
Prior to trial he filed a motion to suppress as evidence
certain conversations between him and William Frank New-
man, including conversations of January 8 and January
27, 1976, which had been recorded by government agents.
As grounds for the motion, Peterson contended that the
use of a grand jury subpoena by a government informant
at the instruction of government agents, to induce a dis-
cussion of the informant’s pending grand jury appear-
ance, constituted an abuse of the grand jury process, and
prosecutorial misconduct and that the resultant conversa-
tions should therefore be suppressed.

An evidentiary hearing was held on the motion to sup-
press. The trial court in memorandum opinion found
that the government’s use of the grand jury subpoena was
improper, but denied the motion to suppress the conversa-
tions. The trial court’s opinion is printed at App. 1.

Peterson then filed a motion to dismiss the indictment,

on the ground that the government’s use of Newman as

an informant had violated United States Department of
Justice guidelines. That motion was also denied.

A trial was then had before the Honorable Phil M.
MeNagy, and a jury, and Peterson was found guilty on
the single count of the indictment. His post-trial motions
were denied, and he was sentenced to the custody of the
Attorney General for a period of nine months.

The testimony adduced at the evidentiary hearing on
Peterson’s motion to suppress is summarized in the memo-
randum decision of the District Court denying the motion.

4

In substance, the evidence showed that one William
Newman, an old friend of James Peterson, was approached
by F. B. I. Special Agent Kenneth Freas while incarcerated
in the East Chicago Indiana jail, and questioned about his
knowledge of gambling activities in Lake County, Indiana.
At this time James Peterson was already a target of the
grand jury investigation.

Shortly after this initial contact by the government, and
after he had been released from jail, Newman agreed to
become a government informant. Newman received ap-
proximately $900 per month from the government from
November, 1975, to the time of trial.

Freas had several subsequent meetings with Newman,
and it was arranged that Newman would be ‘‘wired’’ with
an hidden recording device, and would engage defendant
Peterson in conversations concerning gambling in Lake
County.

On September 16, 1975 and on September 23, 1975, con-
versations between Newman and Peterson were recorded
by the government. Transcripts of these conversations
were introduced into evidence at trial as Government Ex-
hibit 4(d), and Government Exhibit 5(d), respectively.

Freas said that he was satisfied with the ‘‘excellent’’
information he had acquired from Newman’s two recorded
conversations with Peterson.

On December 22, 1975, agent Freas caused a subpoena
to testify before the grand jury to be issued to William
Newman. ‘The subpoena was served upon Newman by
Agent Freas on December 23, 1975. On January 8, 1976
Freas again wired Newman, and instructed him to take
the grand jury subpoena to Peterson and to engage him
in conversation about it.

—

Freas testified that the purpose of instructing Newman
to show the subpoena to Peterson was to ‘‘stimulate’”’ a
conversation about the subpoena. A transcript of that
conversation was introduced at trial as Government’s
Exhibit 6(d).

The Department of Justice strike force attorney han-
dling the investigation did not know about the proposed
use of the subpoena by Newman prior to the time that
the talks occurred.

On January 27, 1976, Newman was again wired, and
again sent to engage Peterson in another conversation
concerning his appearance before the grand jury. Freas
instructed Newman to show Peterson a letter he had re-
ceived, continuing his appearance before the grand jury.
A transcript of that conversation was introduced at trial
as Government Exhibit 7(c).

During the course of the hearing on the motion to sup-
press, Newman said that during his conversation with
Peterson on January 8th, Peterson advised him that he
should obtain an attorney, and that he could stand on his
rights under the Fifth Amendment. He said that he could
not recall anything else said to him during the conversation.

Newman said that when he returned to-visit Peterson
on January 27, 1976, they discussed his problems in open-
ing his gambling establishment.

The testimony adduced at the trial tended to prove that
the petitioner did the acts charged in the indictment. The
petitioner did not testify or introduce any evidence in his
own behalf.

Reasons for Granting Writ

This case presents a question which has remained un-
resolved since this Court’s judgment in Hampton v. United
State, 425 U.S. 489, 96 S. Ct. 1646, and presents a con-
flict with a line of decisions in the Eighth Circuit, most
notably United States v. Reifsteck (8 Cir. 1976), 535 F.2d
1030, and the Second Cireuit United States v. Archer (2
Cir. 1973), 486 F.2d 670. That question is whether the
entrapment defense ought to be limited only to those cases
in which there is no predisposition on the part of the de-
fendant to commit the offense or whether in the words of
Mr. Justice Powell, concurring in Hampton whether ‘‘Gov-
ernment over-involvement in areas outside contraband of-
fenses’’ may be sufficient to constitute a denial of due
process requiring the federal courts to exercise their super-
visory power by acquitting defendants who have been the
target of such over-involvement.

A majority of the Hampton court seemed to accept this as
a statement of law although a different majority voted to
affirm the copviction and therefore there has been no con-
trolling decision of this court in such cases.

The majority in Hampton did seem to agree upon a test
formulated variously as ‘‘the outrageousness of police be-
havior in light of the surrounding circumstances’’ in the
words of Mr. Justice Powell, or ‘‘the conduct of law en-
forcement authorities is sufficiently offensive, even though
the individuals entitled to invoke such a defense might be
‘predisposed’ ’’, with words of Mr. Justice Brennan.

In Sorrels v. United States, 287 U.S. 435 (1932), this
Court recognized that the defense of entrapment was

7

available in the federal courts. As refined in subsequent
eases, the defense is available where the alleged offense
is the product of the creative activity of law enforcement

‘authorities, and a predisposition on the part of the de-

fendant to have committed the crime is not established.
See, United States v. Russell, 411 US. 423 (1973).

Here, the criminal offense with which the defendant was
charged was virtually created by the government. The
government issued the grand jury subpoena to New-
man, instructed him to show the subpoena to Peterson,
and to engage him in a conversation about the subpoena.
The government’s admitted purpose in doing so was to
‘‘stimulate’’ a discussion of Newman’s impending grand
jury appearance. By the government’s own admission, it
set out to ‘‘stimulate’’ the conversation which resulted in
the offense of obstructing justice.

Further, examination of the transcript of Newman’s
conversation with Peterson on January 8, 1976 shows that
Newman, acting as a government agent, himself induced
the conversations about the subpoena. When Newman
showed the subpoena to Peterson on January 8, Peterson
initially only advised Newman to obtain an attorney:

. . this is my advice, is ta... don’t talk to 'em until
ya get ya a lawyer. When they come back as the per-
son, you got your subpoena then the next thing you
gonna do you gonna talk to a lawyer.

. „ *

„An that’s your best advice.“

Only after Newman persisted in his conversation with
Peterson did Peterson make the statements which, the
government contended at trial, constituted the offense of
obstruction of justice. The fact that Peterson initially
advised Newman to seek legal advice is clear proof that he
had no predisposition to obstruct justice.

8

The government not only manufactured the opportunity
for the alleged offense to occur, by providing Newman
with a subpoena and instructing him to discuss it with
Peterson, but through its informer Newman pressed the
conversation, after Peterson initially advised Newman to
obtain an attorney, until the subject of the subpoena was
again reached and the resulting conversation which the
government contended was an endeavor by the petitioner
to obstruct justice.

It is in respect to the grand jury and its function that
the outrageousness of the government’s conduct is made
apparent.

The primary purpose of a federal grand jury is to in-
dict persons suspected of having committed crimes. This
is, in fact, the only purpose of the grand jury specified in
the Constitution. The grand jury has, of course, broad
investigative powers so that it may seek information bear-
ing on its decision whether to indict. See Blair v. United
States, 250 U.S. 273 (1919); United States v. Dionisio, 410
U.S. 1 (1973).

Yet the historical function of the grand jury as a buffer
between the citizen and his government continues. The
grand jury is,

% primary security to the innocent against the hasty,
malicious and oppressive prosecution . . . serving the
individual function in our society of standing between
the accuser and the accused.’’ Wood v. Georgia, 370
U.S. 375, 390 (1962).

A prosecutor thus may not use a grand jury, and its
processes, as his private investigative tool, United States
v. Fisher, 455 F.2d 1101, 1105 (2d Cir. 1972); and abuses
of the grand jury process are not tolerated. Hale v. Henkel,

201 U.S. 43, 65 (1906) (‘‘Doubtless abuses of this power
may be imagined . . . but were such abuses called to the
attention of this Court, it would doubtless be alert to
repress them.’’). See also, United States v. Dionisio, supra,
410 U.S. at 12.

The instant case presents a clear instance of the prose-
cution misusing grand jury processes for its own pur-
poses. Here there was an ongoing grand jury investiga-
tion into illegal gambling activities in Lake County, In-
diana. The government, through F. B. I. Agent Kenneth
Freas, enlisted one William Newman as a paid informant,
and on two occasions in September, 1975, had him wired
with a transmitter and recorder, and instructed him to
engage James Peterson in conversations concerning gam-
bling in Lake County.

In January, 1976, Agent Freas had a grand jury sub-
poena issued to William Newman. Admittedly, Newman
had knowledge of matters relevant to the inquiry of the
grand jury, and the issuance of the subpoena itself is not
challenged. However, after the issuance of the subpoena,
the government outrageously abused the process of the
grand jury. Agent Freas, without the knowledge or permis-
sion of Department of Justice strike force attorney handling
the grand jury investigation, again wired Newman, gave
him the subpoena, and instructed him to take the subpoena
to Peterson and engage him in a conversation about his
coming grand jury appearance.

As admitted by Agent Freas, the purpose of instructing
Newman to show the subpoena to Peterson was to ‘‘stimu-
late“ a conversation about the subpoena, and Newman’s
impending appearance before the grand jury.

10

The grand jury subpoena was thus not used for its
proper and intended purpose of compelling the appear-
ance before the grand jury of one with knowledge relevant
to its inquiry. Rather, it was used as a tool of the prosecu-
tion, in this instance to literally create the offense of ob-
structing justice.

Yet the government was not content with a single abuse
of the grand jury subpoena power. After the conversation
of January 9, 1976 between Peterson and Newman, New-
man received a letter from the government advising him
that his appearance before the grand jury was continued
to late January, 1976. On January 27, 1976 Agent Freas
again wired Newman, and instructed him to show the let-
ter continuing his grand jury apvearance to Peterson and
to engage him in another conversation relating to his

pending appearance.

The trial court itself recognized that the government
abused the grand jury process with its practices. Although
denying the defendant’s motion to suppress as evidence
the conversations of January 8 and January 27 between
Peterson and Newman, the Court said:

This court is of the opinion that the grand jury sub-
poena should not have been used by the United States
as bait in order to encourage the defendant Peterson
to comment on matters then pending before the grand

jury.“

Other courts have also recognized that an abuse of pro-
cess occurs when the prosecution uses a grand jury as a
private investigative tool. In Durbin v. United States, 221
F. 2d 520 (D. C. Cir. 1954), a United S“ ates Attorney caused
a grand jury subpoena to be served upon a defendant.
When the defendant appeared as required by the sub-

11

poena he was not taken before the grand jury, but rather
was questioned in the office of the United States Attorney.
In reversing his subsequent conviction the Court said, at
221 F.2d 522,

It was clearly an improper use of the District
Court’s process for the Assistant United States At-
torney to issue a grand jury subpoena for the purpose
of conducting his own inquisition.“
In In re September, 1971 Grand Jury, 454 F.2d 580, 585,
the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cir-
cuit held that it would be an abuse of the grand jury
process ‘‘for the Government to impose on that body to
perform investigative work that can be, and heretofore
has been successfully accomplished by the regular investi-
gative agencies of Government.“

Clearly there was an abuse of grand jury process, and
the District Court so found. Yet the District Court de-
clined to suppress as evidence the conversations induced
by that abuse of process, characterizing the issue as wheth-
er the abuse of the subpoena amounted to a ‘‘breach of
fundamental fairness.’’

It is respectfully submitted that once the District Court
found an abuse of process, it erred in refusing to suppress
the conversations of January 8 and January 27. Numerous
cases from this Court have recognized that the federal
district courts must supervise the grand juries sitting in
their jurisdiction. Hale v. Henkel, 201 U.S. 43, 65 (1906)
(courts ‘‘would doubtless be alert to repress’’ abuses) ;
Hoffman v. United States, 341 U.S. 479, 485 (1951); United
States v. Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1, 12 (1973). A grand jury
subpoena is the process by which the grand jury fulfills
its investigative function, and as a process of the district
court lies within the ambit of federal court supervision.

fm .

12

As such, the district court has the power, and in fact the
duty, to tailor a remedy where an abuse of that process
has occurred.

The suppression of the conversations of January 8 and
January 27 was the minimal and proper remedy for the
government’s abuse of process. Clearly in the instant situa-
tion, the Petitioner was not in a position to seek to quash |

the subpoena served upon Newman prior to its misuse. He
was able to bring the abuse of process to the attention of
the Court only after it had been revealed during the course
of pretrial discovery that the subpoena has been used to
bait him into an alleged criminal offense.

By refusing to suppress the conversations induced by
the subpoena, the district court permitted the government
to profit from its transgressions. This is a result contrary |
to a long succession of decisions refusing to permit the
prosecution to profit from its wrongs. See, e.g., Weeks v.
United States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914); McNabb v. United
States, 318 U.S. 332 (1943); Wong Sun v. United States, '
371 U.S. 471 (1963).

Suppression of the statements of January 8 and Jan-
uary 27, the ‘‘fruits’’ of the government’s abuse of process,
was the minimum and proper remedy necessary to repress
the government’s abuse of the grand jury process, and to
restore the integrity of this criminal proceeding.

Respectfully submitted,

CuHarLes A. BELLows
Attorney for Petitioner

EI

—

Appendices

APPENDIX 1.

Opinion of the District Court

On December 13, 1976, defendant, by counsel, Charles A.
Bellows, filed motion to suppress certain conversations. An
evidentiary hearing was held on the motion on January
3, 1977. For reasons hereinafter set forth, defendant’s
motion to suppress is DENIED.

The motion to suppress presents two main reasons why
the conversations in question should be suppressed; (1) Use
of a grand jury subpoena by an informant acting under
instructions of government agents, thereby constituting
abuse of federal grand jury process and prosecutorial mis-
conduct; and, (2) That the informant was a willing wit-
ness before the grand jury prior to the time he talked to
the defendant Peterson, which fact was known to the
government, and thus the informant could not be influenced
by anything that the defendant Peterson might say to him.
The Court is of the opinion that a corollary of the second
proposition is the argument that since the informant was a
willing witness before the federal grand jury, the only
purpose in having the witness converse with the defen-
dant Peterson was to gather, perhaps a more apt word is
‘‘originate’’, evidence for possible charges against the
defendant.

The evidence at the hearing developed the following
facts: The informant, William Frank Newman, was ar-
rested on state charges and was being held at the East
Chicago City Jail. While in the East Chicago City Jail,
he was interviewed by F.B.I. agent Kenneth G. Freas. At
a later time, the informant Newman indicated he would
cooperative with the F. B. I. in its ongoing investigation into
gambling in Lake County, Indiana. It was arranged by
the F. B. I. that the informant Newman would be ‘‘wired’’,

App. 2

i.e. a hidden recording device would be attached to his
body, and that a meeting would be arranged with the de-
fendant Peterson at which time the subject of gambling
would be brought up for discussion between the informant
Newman and the defendant Peterson. Conversations were
recorded that took place between the informant Newman
and the defendant Peterson on September 16, 1975, and
September 23, 1975. In the recorded conversation of Sep-
tember 23, 1975, among other things, the defedant Peterson
suggested to the informant Newman that a grand jury
was meeting in Hammond (p. 3); that he was told by a
man to be patient concerning the raids until the grand
jury was over (p. 6); that a lot of people were going to
be subpoenaed because of the thing (grand jury) in Ham-
mond and that he, Newman, might be one of them; that
if he was asked what they were talking about it would
always be trying to buy liquor, ete. (p. 11); that he
(Peterson) would try to get him (Newman) a good front
man and that he (Peterson) would tell them a lie (p. 12);
that he (Newman) might get a subpoena and that he
should not deny that he knows him (p. 13); and, that
Newman should let him know if he gets a subpoena, that
there would be no use in putting a front man out there
now, and after that he (Newman) should stay away for
a couple of weeks or a month (p. 14).

On December 22, 1975, a subpoena to testify before the
grand jury was issued to William Frank Newman ordering
him to appear before the grand jury on the 15th day of
January, 1976; the subpoena was issued pursuant to ap-
plication of the United States and it should be noted that
the name S. A. Gordon Freas’’ appears underneath the
date of issuance. The return on the subpoena shows that
it was served on William Frank Newman on December

App. 3

23, 1975, by Special Agent Kenneth G. Freas. The in-
formant William Frank Newman had another meeting
with the defendant Peterson on January 9, 1976, at which
time their conversation was recorded. It is not disputed
that Special Agent Freas directed the informant Newman
to show the subpoena to the defendant; Peterson; Special
Agent Freas indicated that the purpose of telling the in-
formant Newman to show the subpoena to the defendant
Peterson was to ‘‘stimulate’’ the conversation between the
two men. The testimony of S.A. Freas on this point is as
follows:

Q. That was the idea, wasn’t it, to send him out
with the subpoena and see what Peterson would say;
isn’t that right?

A. I knew the subpoena would be shown to Mr.
Peterson, I knew it would serve as a stimulus to con-

versation.
Q. You mean there would be conversation about it?
A. Yes.

Q. You knew Newman was going to ask Peterson’s
advice about it, isn’t that right?

A. Not necessarily; I didn’t say that.

Q. Well, you expected Newman to ask Peterson for
his advice?

A. I expected Newman to show Peterson the sub-
poena.

Q. Will you answer the question? Ask for his ad-
vice what to do; isn’t that right?

A. I don’t recall giving him any such instruc-
tion, just show aim the subpoena.

It appears that Attorney Charles Wehner, who was a
member of the strike force of the Department of Justice
handling this investigation, did not know about the pro-
posed use of the subpoena by the informant Newman
in his talks with defendant Peterson prior to the time the
talks occurred. Attorney Wehner subsequently did learn

App. 4

about the use of the subpoena in the conversations be-
tween informant Newman and defendant Peterson. The
pertinent part of his testimony on this point is set forth
below:

Q. I didn’t ask you that. I asked you whether or
not the idea was to engage Peterson in a discussion
about gambling!

A. Yes, it was.

Q. You intended to use that information which
could be recorded in any proceedings against Mr.
Peterson; right?

A. The object was at that point in time purely to
gather information.

Q. And use it if necessary for the purpose of prose-
cuting Mr. Peterson?

A. Yes, it could have been, yes.

Q. Now, in addition to just getting information
about gambling, it was also suggested to Newman, or
Newman was instructed to take the Grand Jury sub-
poena and go to Mr. Peterson with it, am I correct?

A. I believe he was. I didn’t give those instruc-
tions. The instructions to Newman were provided by
Agent Freas.

Q. Did you know that Mr. Freas was going to in-
struct Mr. Newman to go to Mr. Peterson with the
Grand Jury subpoena?

A. I didn’t know that. I knew Newman was given
a subpoena prior to the wiring.

Q. Are you telling me, Mr. Wehner, you didn’t
know that Newman was instructed to take the Grand
Jury subpoena that he had received and go to Mr.
Peterson with it and show it to him?

A. He may have been, I don’t know.

Q. You are not aware of that?

A. That is correct. Let me correct that to say I
was not aware at that time. I believe after discussion
with Agent Freas, I know now he was so instructed.

Q. You now know it? ä

A. Ves, at this time. At that time I did not.

——

=——

App. 5

There was a further meeting between the informant New-
man and the defendant Peterson on January 27, 1976; the
grand jury subpoena was not mentioned in that conver-
sation.

A description of the investigative powers of a grand
jury is set forth in U.S. v. Calandra, 414 U.S. 338, 38
L.Ed.2d 561 (1974):

The scope of the grand jury’s powers reflects its
special role in insuring fair and effective law enforce-
ment. A grand jury proceeding is not an adversary
hearing in which the guilt or innocence of the accused
is adjudicated. Rather, it is an ex parte investigation
to determine whether a crime has been committed
and whether criminal proceedings should be instituted
against any person. The grand jury’s investigative
power must be broad if its public responsibility is
adequately to be discharged.

The defendant Peterson is not here questioning the scope
of the grand jury powers to examine into his alleged
gambling activities. The defendant is here claiming that
a grand jury subpoena issued in the name of the grand
jury was improperly utilized for the purpose of developing
a criminal charge against him.

This Court is of the opinion that the grand jury sub-
poena should not have been used by the United States as a
bait in order to encourage the defendant Peterson to com-
ment on matters then pending before the grand jury. As
stated in U.S. v. Fisher, 455 F.2d 1101 (C.C.A.2d 1972),
4. . . the grand jury is not meant to be the private tool
of the prosecutor’’; this could of course include the use of
the legal process of the grand jury, namely the grand jury
subpoena. Thus, in Durbin v. U.S., 221 F.2d 520 (C. C. A.
D.C. 1954), Judge Bazelon reversed a conviction and or-

App. 6

dered the indictment dismissed because the Assistant
United States Attorney had used a grand jury subpoena
to cause a witness to appear at the office of the United
States Attorney, where the witness’s testimony was dis-
cussed, without ever calling the witness before the grand

jury.

On the other hand, the question remains as to whether
the use of the grand jury subpoena by the United States
as set out in the facts hereinbefore recounted amounts
to a sufficient transgression on the part of the law enforce-
ment agents to justify suppressing the conversations. As
this Court sees the issue, it is should the evidence be sup-
pressed as a matter of fundamental fairness.

To begin with, there is no evidence in the record from
which the court would be justified in concluding that the
grand jury subpoena directed to William Frank Newman
was not legally issued. It is true that the United States
Attorney’s Office has almost complete say-so over the issu-
ance of such subpoenas, although technically issued under
the auspices of the United States District Court, and it is
necessary to keep this in mind when considering the pos-
sible dangers from abuses that can arise. In Re Grand
Jury Proceedings, 486 F.2d 85 (C.C.A.3rd 1973). The evi-
dence was to the effect that this was an ongoing grand
jury which, among other things, was investigating gam-
bling in Lake County. Certainly, the informant William
Frank Newman was a witness that could be expected to
appear before the grand jury and the evidence is to the
effect that he did so on January 29, 1976. It is thus reason-
able to conclude that the grand jury subpoena was issued
for the purpose of directing William Frank Newman to
appear before the grand jury: It makes no difference that
an equally strong reason may have existed for the issuance

0 —

App. 7

of the grand jury subpoena, i.e. that the subpoena would be
shown to the defendant Peterson for the purpose of en-
couraging him to possibly incriminate himself.

The use of the grand jury subpoena in this instance can-
not be said to violate any constitutional rights of this de-
fendant. The question really involves whether the use of
the grand jury subpoena in the way in which it was em-
ployed in this instance amounts to a breach of fundamental
fairness. This Court is of the opinion that the true test
to be applied is the one enunciated in U.S. v. Russell, 411
U.S. 423, 36 L.Ed.2d 366 (1973). The issue involved in
that case was one of entrapment, which may possibly be a
defense in this case. At the same time, the majority
opinion recognizes, that the test to be applied is whether
the law enforcement tactic used violated ‘‘fundamental
fairness.’’ Following a reading of the transcripts of the
conversations that occurred on January 16, 1976, and
January 27, 1976, the Court is satisfied that on applying
such a test it would not be justified in suppressing the con-
versations.

The defendant has also raised the issue that since the
informant had already given a full statement, he was not
subject to being influenced by anything that the defendant
said or did. This theory has been rejected in earlier cases.
U.S. v. Rosner, 485 F. 2d 1213, cert. den. 417 U.S. 950, 41
L.Ed.2d 672.

It should be kept in mind that this ruling in no way
is meant to denigrate the defense of entrapment which is in
all respects available to the defendant as a defense in this
case.

Enter: January 10, 1977.
s/ Phil M. McNagny
Judge, United States District Court

App. 8
APPENDIX 2.
Unpublished Order of the Court of Appeals

ORDER

James Augustus Peterson, Sr., defendant - appellant
(hereinafter defendant or Peterson) appeals from a convic-
tion on an indictment charging him with obstructing jus-
tice in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1503. The indictment alleged
that defendant corruptly endeavored to influence a wit-
ness, William Frank Newman, to testify falsely before
a grand jury which was investigating illegal gambling
and conspiracy by law enforcement officers to facilitate
Ulegal gambling. The indictment further charged that de-
fendant endeavored to influence Newman to testify falsely
that: (1) defendant had nothing to do with Newman’s
gambling operation; (2) Newman could not recall the sub-
stance of conversations had with defendant; (3) Newman
gave no percentage of the proceeds of his gambling opera-
tions to defendant, and (4) Newman had no knowledge of
any arrangements with local police officers.

After entering a plea of not guilty, defendant filed a
motion to suppress as evidence conversations between New-
man and defenedant on January 8, and January 27, 1976.
These conversations had been recorded by a hidden device
attached to Newman’s body. In his motion, defendant
argued that the use of a grand jury subpoena by a govern-
ment informant at the instruction of government agents,
to induce a discussion of the informant’s pending grand
jury appearance constituted an abuse of the grand jury
process and prosecutorial misconduct. The district court

*The Honorable Wilson Cowen, Senior Judge of the United
States Court of Claims, is sitting by designation.

— ee

— —

— — — —ꝑ ＋

App. 9

held an evidentiary hearing on the motion and issued a
memorandum opinion denying the motion to suppress. De-
fendant then filed a motion to dismiss the indictment on
the ground that the government's use of Newman as an
informant violated Department of Justice guidelines, and
that motion was also denied.

The defendant’s contentions present two principal issues
for review. The first of these is that the government’s use
of a grand jury subpoena to induce conversation between
the defendant and an informant concerning the informant’s
pending grand jury appearance was an abuse of the grand
jury process and prosecutorial misconduct; therefore the
trial court erred in refusing to suppress as evidence the
conversations between the defendant and the informant
which were induced by the grand jury subpoena. Defen-
dant’s second ground for reversal is that the evidence
establishes as a matter of law that the defendant was en-
trapped into committing the offense with which he was
charged.

The facts pertinent to the issues before us are summar-
ized as follows: After the informant, Newman, had been
arrested on State charges and was being held in the East
Chicago City Jail, he was interviewed by FBI agent Freas.
He agreed to cooperate with the FBI in its investigation
of gambling in Lake County, Indiana. It was arranged
that a hidden recording device would be attached to New-
man’s body, and that he would meet with defendant and
discuss the subject of gambling. Recordings were made
of conversations between the two on September 16, 1975
and September 23, 1975. In the first of these conversations,
Newman told defendant that Newman had been arrested
and his gambling place closed. Newman said he had talked
about the matter with the commander and a sergeant of
the East Chicago Indiana Police Department. They told

App. 10

him that they could not give him permission to reopen his
gambling establishment. Peterson replied he would speak
with the police and tell them it was okay with him“ if
Newman reopened his place. Peterson also stated that
there had been more raids under the new police chief in
3 years than in the previous 20.

In the conversation of September 23, 1975, Peterson told
Newman that a lot of people would be getting subpoenas
from the grand jury, which was meeting in Hammond,
Indiana; that Peterson would be seen talking with Newman
who would be asked what the conversation was about.
Peterson instructed Newman to state that in their con-
versations, Newman was trying to borrow money to obtain
liquor on credit from Peterson. Defendant emphasized that
Newman might get a subpoena and stated that he should
not deny that he had talked with Peterson. Peterson also
said that Newma would be asked whether Peterson helped
Newman to operate the gambling establishment, and that
Newman would have to say ‘‘no.’’ He also stated that
Newman should let him know if he received a subpoena.

On December 22, 1975, agent Freas caused a subpoena
to be issued which required Newman to appear and testify
before the grand jury on January 15, 1976. Agent Freas
directed Newman to show the subpoena to the defendant,
and in his testimony, the agent stated that the purpose of
instructing Newman to show the subpoena to the defendant
was to stimpulate a conversation about the subpoena. The
Department of Justice strike force attorney in charge of
the investigation did not know about the proposed use
of the subpoena prior to the time that the conversation
between Newman and the defendant occurred. On January
8, 1976, Newman again had a recorded conversation with
defendant. Newman showed defendant the grand jury sub-

App. 11

poena and at that time, defendant advised Newman what
questions he would be asked by the grand jury and how
he should respond. Peterson advised Newman that if he
were questioned about who worked for him in the gambling
operation, Newman was to say he had ‘‘fellows hustling’’
and that Newman did not share the proceeds of the gam-
bling business with anyone; that Newman should testify
that he did not pay police or anyone else anything; that
Newman would be asked about defendant and whether he
or the police got a share of the proceeds, and that Newman
should testify that he knew nothing about it. Newman
should not deny that he talked with defendant, but he was
to say that he could not remember what the conversations
were about. :

Newman appeared at the meeting place of the grand
jury on January 15, 1976 and was recalled for January 29,
1976. On January 27, 1976, he again consented to having
his conversation with defendant monitored and recorded.
During that conversation, defendant told Newman that if
the latter were asked if he was paying money to the police,
Newman had many good reasons to reply that he was
paying nobody. The defendant also said that since Newman
had been raided many times, he should say that if he had
given the police any money, he would not have been raided.

Newman testified before the grand jury on January 29,
1976 and again on March 23, 1976. The government’s evi-
dence at defedant’s trial consisted primarily of Newman’s
testimony and the recorded conversations between Newman
and defendant.

In the memorandum opinion denying defendant’s motion
to support, the district court stated that the grand jury
subpoena should not have been used by the United States

App. 12

‘fas a bait to encourage the defendant, Peterson, to com-
ment on matters then pending before the grand jury.’’ The
court nevertheless reached the following conclusion:

* * * The evidence was to the effect that this was an
ongoing grand jury which, among other things, was
investigating gambling in Lake County. Certainly, the
informant William Frank Newman was a witness that
could be expected to appear before the grand jury
and the evidence is to the effect that he did so on
January 29, 1976. It is thus reasonable to conclude
that the grand jury subpoena was issued for the pur-
pose of directing William Frank Newman to appear
before the grand jury: It makes no difference that an
equally strong reason may have existed for the issu-
ance of the grand jury subpoena, i.e. that the subpoena
would be shown to the defendant Peterson for the
purpose of encouraging him to possibly incriminate
himself.
Although a court has power to correct an abuse or a
misuse of grand jury process, we find that the distret
court’s denial of the motion to suppress here did not con-
stitute reversible error. Durbin v. United States, 221 F.2d
520 (D.C. Cir. 1954), upon which defendant relies is in-
apposite. In that case, the grand jury subpoena was im-
properly used to provide the U. S. Attorney an opportunity
to coerce the defendant, who was later indicted and con-
victed. At the direction of the U.S. Attorney, the defen-
dant in that case was taken to the office of the U.S. At-
torney and there questioned, but was never taken before
the grand jury. The court found that the subpoena there
was used to restrain the defendant’s movements indefinitely
or until he made a statement which was satisfactory to the
Assistant U.S. Attorney, and this was done despite the
fact that the grand jury had recessed. Here, as the district

—— — ä—

App. 13

court found, the subpoena was directed to Newman, a
legitimate witness, rather than to the defendant. Newman
was under process to testify before the grand jury and he
did appear and gave relevant testimony. His appearance
was a necessary step in the investigation conducted by the
grand jury and the subpoena was appropriately issued to
secure his appearance.

We also reject the entrapment defense, which defen-
dant advances as a ground for the reversal of his convic-
tion. As stated in Sorrells v. United States, 287 U.S. 435,
448 (1932), the entrapment defense prohibits law enforce-
ment officers from instigating a criminal act by persons
„otherwise innocent to lure them to its commission and
to punish them.’’ That case was reaffirmed by the Supreme
Court in the recent case of United States v. Russell, 411
U.S. 423 (1973), which held, among other things, that the
principal element in the defense of entrapment is the de-
fendant’s predisposition to commit the crime. As summar-
ized above, the facts of this case clearly show a predis-
position on the part of the defendant to commit the crime
for which he was convicted. Specifically, in the recorded
conversation of September 23, 1975, the defendant made
statements which, without more, establish such a predis-
position. Moreover, as this court has held ‘‘mere solicita-
tion is not enough to show entrapment.’’ United States v.
Perry, 478 F.2d 1276, 1278 (7th Cir. 1973), cert. den. 414
U.S. 1005 (1973). Entrapment is an affirmative defense
and ‘‘the defendant must come forward with evidence of
nonpredisposition and government inducement.’’ United
States v. Hermosillo-Nanez, 545 F.2d 1230, 1232 (9th Cir.
1976). In this case, the defendant failed to meet that
burden.

For the foregoing reasons, the conviction of the defen-
dant is hereby affirmed.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0608%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
