# Opposition — Simkovich v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0540%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 436 U.S. 925

## Text

Tie |

' No. 77-1217 | |}. MAY & 1878
ee OAK, IR, CLERK |
In the Supreme Court of the Huited States

Octoser TERM, 1977

CHARLES SIMKOVICH, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF®APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

Wape H. McCree, Jr.,
Solicitor General,

M. Carrk FERGUSON, |.
Assistant Attorney General,
Ropert E. LInpsay,
Attorney,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

Inu the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-1217
CHARLES SIMKOVICH, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW
The court of appeals affirmed without opinion (Pet. 2).
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
January 6, 1978, and a petition for rehearing was denied
on February 14, 1978. The petition for a writ of certiorari
was filed on March 2, 1978. The jurisdiction of this Court
is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioner was entitled to be represented at
trial by two disbarred attorneys.

(1)

2

2. Whether comments to the jury by the district court
and the prosecutor concerning petitioner's desire to be
represented by two disbarred attorneys constituted
reversible error.

3. Whether petitioner’s conviction should be reversed
because of alleged defects in the service of the summons
following his indictment or in his arraignment.

4. Whether the district court erred in refusing to.

suppress bank records obtained through use of Internal
Revenue Service summonses.

5. Whether the evidence was sufficient to support
petitioner’s convictions.

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District Court for
the Western District of Pennsylvania, petitioner was
‘convicted of willfully failing to file personal income tax
returns for the years 1970-1972, in violation of 26 U.S.C.
7203 (App. 5a-7a, 159a-160a).! He was sentenced to two
years’ imprisonment and was fined a total of $22,500 (id.
at 172a-173a). The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. 2).

The evidence at trial established that petitioner, a
chiropractor, filed income tax returns correctly reporting
his income for the years 1967 and 1968 but then failed to
file proper returns for the subsequent seven-year period,
1969 through 1975 (App. 69a-73a). For 1969, petitioner
filed the front page of a Form 1040 showing only his
name, address, social security number, and occupation
(id. at 115a). Attached to the form was material indicating
petitioner's belief that only gold and silver coins were
lawful money. Petitioner reported that he had received ten

“App.” refers to the appendix filed in the court of appeals.

3
dollars in silver dimes in 1969. The Internal Revenu
Service returned these documents to petitioner with a
letter advising him that it was not a proper tax return,
requesting that he file a proper return, and warning that if
he did not do so he might be subject to criminal

prosecution (id. at 115a-116a). Petitioner nonetheless
failed to file a proper return (id. at 116a).

Petitioner also did not file a tax return for the year
1970 (App. 116a-117a). For 1971 and 1972, petitioner
filed documents similar to those he filed for 1969,
reporting that he had received $525 in silver dimes in 1971
and $30 in silver quarters and $18 in silver dimes in 1972
(id. at 117a-118a). These materials were again returned to
petitioner with letters similar to that sent him after receipt
of the materials filed for 1969 (id. at 118a-119a).

The evidence established that petitioner received a gross
income of $40,658.12 in 1970, $36,887.51 in 1971, and
$26,502.20 in 1972 (App. 127a-133a).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner argues at great length (Pet. 11-40) that the
district court erred in refusing to permit him to be
represented by two disbarred attorneys, Jerome Daly and
Gordon Peterson. But the court’s ruling was correct, since
it has consistently been held that a defendant has no right
to be represented by a person not licensed to practice law.
See, e.g., United States v. Pilla, 550 F. 2d 1085, 1093
(C.A. 8), certiorari denied, 432 U.S. 907; United States v.
Afflerbach, 547 F. 2d 522, 525 (C.A. 10), certiorari
denied, 429 U.S. 1098; United States v. Kelley, 539 F. 2d
1199, 1201-1203 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 429 U.S. 963;
United States v. Jordan, 508 F. 2d 750, 753 (C.A. 7),
certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 842. Petitioner's reliance (Pet.
14-15, 24-26, 29) upon Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806,
is misplaced. Faretta established only that a defendant in
a criminal case has the right to represent himself without

4

the assistance of au attorney; it did not grant a defendant
the right to be represented by a person who is not a
member of the bar. See United States v. Wilhelm, 570
F. 2d 461, 466 (C.A. 3).

2. Petitioner also asserts (Pet. 44-45) that he was
prejudiced by the district court’s and prosecutor's
references to the fact that he desired to be represented by
the disbarred attorneys. The court’s remarks, however,
were intended merely to explain to the jury why petitioner
was not being assisted by counsel and were made in direct
response to petitioner’s repeated statements that the court
had deprived him of his right to counsel and that he was
not qualified to represent himself (App. 73a-74a, 77a, 79a,
106a-107a).2 Nor was there anything objectionable about
the prosecutor’s remark, made at the outset of his closing

*For example, after the prosecutor had examined the first
government witness and the district court had indicated that
petitioner could cross-examine the witness, the following colloquy
occurred (App. 73a-74a):

MR. SIMKOVICH: Your Honor, | know that my counsel,
Jerome Daly and Gordon Peterson, know what to say and what
questions to ask. | do not know what to say, | am not qualified.

THE COURT: You may cross examine at this time, if you
wish. Members of the Jury, in case you don't understand the
problem we have here, the defendant has two attorneys from
outside the State whose names have been stricken from the rolls
in their home states and, hence, under our rules are not
authorized to appear in this Court and we have so ruled with
respect to them. We have told the defendant in some of the
opening statements that he is free to engage the services of any
Member of the Bar who is admitted to practice in this District in
accordance with our rules and he has not seen fit to do so and he
has been further told that if he is indigent we have ample
means, the Government will supply an attorney for him if he
can file the necessary statements to show that he is indigent,
without assets to hire an attorney and this has not been done.
And so we have ruled that he has, therefore, waived his rights to
the assistance of counsel and the only thing we can do is proceed
in this manner, giving him in this case all the rights he has if he

5

argument, “that this trial has been unusual because the
defendant has insisted throughout that he has the right to
be represented by two individuals who have been
disbarred as attorneys” (App. 138a). The comment was
nothing more than a harmless statement of the obvious,
since the jury already was well aware of petitioner's
insistence that Daly and Peterson be allowed to represent
him.

3. Petitioner contends (Pet. 41-44) that the summons
issued after he had been indicted was improperly served
upon him by mail and that he was illegally arraigned
before a magistrate. These claims were correctly rejected
by the court of appeals and do not warrant further review.

Rule 4(d\3) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Pro-
cedure, as incorporated by reference into Rule 9(c)1),
provides that “{t}he summons shall be served upon a
defendant by delivering a copy to him personally, or by
leaving it at his dwelling house or usual place of abode
with some person of suitable age and discretion then
residing therein and by mailing a copy of the summons to
the defendant’s last known address.” Service of a
summons solely by mail, as occurred in this case,
obviously does not comply with the rule, but petitioner
appeared in response to the summons, posted bond
(App. 2a), and subsequently appeared for trial. The
district court thus had jurisdiction over petitioner
regardless of any defects in the procedure by which he was

wanted to represent himself, which he has the right to do if he
chooses. Under the decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court a
person is entitled to represent himself or to be represented by an
attorney duly admitted to practice in this District. He has not
come forward with any such attorney either as an indigent or
some attorney that he has engaged and so that is the reason why
we are proceeding in this manner.

3Indeed, it was petitioner who had first brought the matter to
the attention of the jury during voir dire (April 11, 1977, Tr. 4-6).

6

brought into the presence of the court. See, e.g., Frisbie v.
Collins, 342 U.S. 519, 522; Ker v. Illinois, 119 U.S. 436,
444; United States v. Lovato, 520 F. 2d 1270, 1271 (C.A.
9), certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 985; United States v.
Andreas, 458 F. 2d 491, 492 (C.A. 8), certiorari denied,
409 U.S. 848.

By the same token, there is nothing to petitioner's
assertion that he was improperly arraigned before a
magistrate. Although Rule 9b)(2), Fed. R. Crim. P.,
provides that the summons shall require “the defendant to
appear before the court or, if the information or
indictment charges a minor offense, before a United
States magistrate at a stated time and place,” and
although petitioner was not charged with a minor offense,
28 U.S.C. 636(b) permits district judges to delegate to
magistrates certain pretrial functions in criminal cases.
Rule 6(c) of the Rules of the United States District Court
for the Western District of Pennsylvania (United States
Magistrates) expressly authorizes magistrates to “{c]on-
duct arraignments in cases not triable by the Magistrate
to the extent of taking a not guilty plea or noting a de-
fendant’s intention to plead guilty or nolo contendere and
ordering a presentence report in appropriate cases.” See
Carter v. United States, 388 F. Supp. 1334, 1337-1338
(W.D. Pa.), affirmed, 517 F. 2d 1397 (C.A. 3). Moreover,
even assuming that petitioner was improperly arraigned
before a magistrate, a not guilty plea was entered on his
behalf and he was then tried by the district court without
raising any further objection to the arraignment. See, e.g.,
Garland v. Washington, 232 U.S. 642, 646-647; Thomas v.
United States, 455 F. 2d 469, 470 (C.A. 5), certiorari
denied, 409 U.S. 859; Sweeney v. United States, 408 F. 2d
121, 123 (C.A. 9). Petitioner, in any event, has not
asserted that he was prejudiced by the manner in which he

7

was arraigned. See Garland v. Washington, supra, 232
U.S. at 644-645; United States v. Rogers, 469 F. 2d 1317,
1317-1318 (C.A. 5).4

4. Petitioner claims (Pet. 45-53) that the Internal
Revenue Service violated his rights when it obtained bank
records through use of administrative summonses issued
without notice to him. But an I.R.S. summons for the
production of bank records does not violate the
customer’s Fourth Amendment rights (see United States
v. Miller, 425 U.S. 435, 440-443), nor does it infringe
upon the customer's Fifth Amendment privilege against
self-incrimination (California Bankers Assn. v. Shultz,
416 U.S. 21, 55).5 Furthermore, at the time that the
summonses in this case were issued, there was no
requirement that a bank customer be notified of the
request. See United States v. Continental Bank and Trust
Co., 503 F. 2d 45, 49 (C.A. 10). See also United States v.
Miller, supra, 425 U.S. at 443 n. 5.°

‘Petitioner also asserts (Pet. 41, 44) that he was not arraigned
within 10 days of the filing of the indictment, as required by 18
U.S.C. (Supp. V) 3161(c). The indictment was filed on December 7,
1976, and petitioner was arraigned on December 27, 1976. The
Speedy Trial Act imposes no express sanction for a delay in arraign-
ment, however, and petitioner has shown no prejudice from the delay.
Hence, he is not entitled to dismissal of the indictment. See United
States v. Butler, 434 F. 2d 243 (C.A. 1), certiorari denied, 401 U.S.
978.

SContrary to petitioner's assertion (Pet. 51), it was a Fifth
Amendment challenge to the reporting requirements of the Bank
Secrecy Act of 1970, 84 Stat. 1114, not to the recordkeeping
requirements of the Act that petitioner challenges (Pet. 51-52),
which this Court viewed as premature in California Bankers Assn.
v. Shultz, supra, 416 U.S. at 71-75.

*Notice to a taxpayer is now required by 26 U.S.C. 760%a), as
added by Section 1205(a), Tax Reform Act of 1976, Pub. L. 94-455,

Petitioner also argues (Pet. 46-47) that the summonses
were improperly employed solely to further a criminal
investigation. The question when the Internal Revenue
Service may utilize an administrative summons in aid of a
criminal investigation is currently before the Court in
United States v. LaSalle National Bank, No. 77-365,
argued March 29, 1978, but there is no need to hold this
petition pending a decision in that case. The district court
concluded, after 2n evidentiary hearing, that the sum-
monses had been issued prior to the time that the special
agent determined to recommend a criminal prosecution
and at a time when the investigation was continuing for
both civil and criminal purposes (App. 46a-47a). Thus,
even under the restrictive and, we believe, incorrect
standard applied by the Seventh Circuit in LaSalle
National Bank (554 F. 2d 302), the summonses in this
case were proper.

5. Finally, there is no merit to petitioner’s contention
(Pet. 53-55) that the evidence was insufficient to support
the verdict. Although petitioner asserts (Pet. 53) that he
was “charged with failing to file a return and swearing
under criminal penalties that it [was] perfect * * *” and
that there was no evidence that his records were adequate
to enable him to file a return that was complete and
correct, the government need only prove in a prosecution
under 26 U.S.C. 7203 that the defendant had sufficient
gross income to require him to file a return, that he knew
of his obligation to file a return, and that he willfully
failed to comply with that obligation within the time

90 Stat. 1699, when the I.R.S. serves summonses on certain third-
party recordkeepers. That Section became effective on February 28,
1977 (Section 2(b), Pub. L. 94-528, 90 Stat. 2483), well after the
dates of the summonses here (App. 46a).

Jenkins v. McKeithen, 395 U.S. 411, on which petitioner relies
(Pet. 47-49), is not to the contrary. That case involved a due process
challenge to the notice rules of a commission that clearly exercised an
adjudicatory function. The function performed by the Internal
Revenue Service is purely investigatory, a situation that the Court
explicitly distinguished in Jenkins (395 U.S. at 426-427).

—

9

allowed by law. United States v. Matosky, 421 F. 2d 410,
413 (C.A. 7), certiorari denied, 398 U.S. 904.’ The proof
at trial plainly satisfied that burden.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

Wave H. McCree, Jr.,
Solicitor General.

M. CARR FERGUSON,
Assistant Attorney General.

RosBert E. LINDSAY,
Attorney.

May 1978.

Petitioner's claim (Pet. 54-55) that the tax filing requirement
violates the Fourth Amendment and that Section 7203 accordingly is
unconstitutional is frivolous. The statute requiring the filing of tax
returns (26 U.S.C. 6012) is a reasonable and proper exercise of the
constitutiona! power of Congress to lay and collect taxes (Article I,
Section 8) and obviously does not involve an unreasonable search or
seizure. Cf. United States v. Acker, 415 F. 2d 328, 329 (C.A. 6),
certiorari denied, 396 U.S. 1003.

DOJ-1978-05 ~

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0540%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
