# Opposition — Vigorito v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0341%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 436 U.S. 903

## Text

Nos. 77-1002, 77-1003, 77-1004, 77-6026, 77-6035 and 77-6165
le

Iu the Supreme Court of the Teer, 0
Octoser TERM, 1977 ILED ©
APR 28 1978

SABATO VIGORITO, PETITIONES
0% 4)
UNITED STATES OF AMERIC

HAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

JAMES V. NAPOLI, SR., and JAMES NAPOLI, JR., PETITIONERS
Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MICHAEL DELUCA, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ANTHONY DIMATTEO, PETITIONER
/ | v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BARRIO MASCITTI, PETITIONER
{ Vv.
_ UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

EUGENE SCAFIDI, PETITIONER
; V.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

die

Wave H. McCree, Jr.,
Solicitor General,

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General,

JEROME M. Fert,

Paut J. Brysn, -
Attorneys, |
Department of Justice,
‘Washington, D.C. 20530.

_ INDEX

Page
I a ts 2 I
I seuctsovoome 2
I conence 2
ETS AD EES ee a 3
IEE Netllicechenctuhathacdddbsgudsdlstleerteteses scseedscseceovees 10
eA Re EE AGUS: Ve ee Oe oe 24
CITATIONS
Cases:
Application of United States, 563
De caletaahlliiiiinkerteaasicecseesonees 13, 16-17, 18
Berger v. New York, 338 U.S. 41 ..............0000. 11
Brown v. United States, 411 U.S. 223 .00...0....... 14
Combs v. United States, 408 U.S. 224 .............. 15
Lopez v. United States, 373 U.S. 427 ..cccccccccess. 11
McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451 ........ 14
Osborn v. United States, 385 U.S. 323 ............. 14
Payne v. United States, 508 F. 2d 1391,
certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 933 ooo... cece 13
Schaffer v. United States, 362 U.S. 511 ............ 23
Silverman v. United States, 365 U.S. 505 ......... 11
United States v. Agrusa, 541 F. 2d 690,
certiorari denied, 429 U.S. 1045 .000..0000..00000.... 17
United States v. Angelini, 565 F. 2d 469,
certiorari denied, No. 77-938,
ye RENEE ST See Oe a 21

Page
Cases—continued:

United States v. Cohen, 530 F. 2d 43,

certiorari denied, 429 U.S. 855 ...................... 21
United States v. Falcone, 505 F. 2d 478,

certiorari denied, 420 U.S. 955 .............. eeeges 21
United States v. Ford, 553

Se § lr aes 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
United States v. Galante, 547 F. 2d 733,
certiorari denied, 431 U.S. 969 ..................... 15
United States v. Gervato, 474 F. 2d 40, .

certiorari denied, 414 U.S. 864 ................. 13-14
United States v. Gigante, 538 F. aS 21
United States v. Lisk, 522 F. 2d 228,

certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 1078 ..................... 15
United States v. Sklaroff, 506 F. 2d 837,

certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 874 ...................... 21
United States v. United States District

Court, 407 U.S. 297 oigsdtaprirevieerniieressenedaamenes 11

Constitution and statutes:

United States Constitution, Fourth
POTTED. cvvceeitecstessoniniinisiiiaics 2, 7, 10, 13, 14

Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets
Act of 1968, Title III, 18 U.S.C. 2510

OF BE Ds” vietesctietigpbenciscinsssbbihecenioisienepietiasis tus 8, 10

OS DS, TINO wshedctvirerctcereiecticcenmni 22

OF iis MED lncevierteniccibitanitananninanae 10

edhe, RR REE Siig 10

SS UBC. SESRIIMBIIID .dcciccceticcsckatiietes... II
li

Page
Constitution and Statute-continued:
| I I a i 12
a ee ei 11
Fe Bg, MII . ncentsentcnneetatecedecssis 2, 19, 20
Be Was UU Wincnibeliieisiusiicstiiieesmibimiianstonamecit 3, 4, 22
Os, 3
N.Y. Penal Law § 225.05 (McKinney
GOPOTD. inchscibsincidtealtudidaielnbestidiiianiinartiiliaitincusscensisniamnus 23
Miscellaneous:
ABA Standards for Criminal Justice,
Electronic Surveillance:
(Tentative Draft, 1968) ........ ccc cccccceeceeee 12
(Approved Draft, 1971) ................cccccooo.o.0-ce 12
114 Cong. Rec. (1968):
hie iibdliiadadinnteshiiteihtaciainitisehaceiicmihitesiieineta Mniniinas il
i SIT icant irate hiti ti iat inet iI
is SI i ca il
SRR E NON Pee 11
S. Rep. No. 1097, 90th Cong., 2d Sess.
GUNTER ScnesnpeccnnasSichesiianiiaiaa sini te 11
ili

In the Supreme Court of the United States
OcToBer TERM, 1977

No. 77-1002
SABATO ViGoRITO, PETITIONER
Vv. .
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

No. 77-1003
JAMES V.: NAPOLI, SR., and JAMES NAPOLI, Jr.,
PETITIONERS

, ae
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

No. 77-1004
MICHAEL DELUCA, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

No. 77-6026
ANTHONY DIMATTEO, PETITIONER
Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

No. 77-6035
BARRIO MASCITTI, PETITIONER
V.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

No. 77-6165
EUGENE SCAFIDI, PETITIONER
Vv

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A)! is
reporied at 564 F. 2d 633. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. C) is not reported.

Pet. App.” refers to the appendix in No. 77-1002.

— ee
RT

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
October 13, 1977. A petition for rehearing, with a
Suggestion for rehearing en banc, was denied on
December 15, 1977 (Pet. App. B). The petition for a writ
of certiorari in No. 77-6026 was filed on January 12, 1978,
the petition in No. 77-6035 was filed on January 13, 1978,
and the petitions in Nos. 77-1002, 77-1003, and 77-1004
were filed on January 14, 1978. In No. 77-6165, Mr.
Justice Marshall extended the time for filing a petition for
a writ of certiorari to February 13, 1978, and the
petition was filed on that date. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether, in executing a valid court order authoriz-
ing the seizure of oral communications at a specified
location, law enforcement officers are required by statute
or the Fourth Amendment to obtain additional explicit
judicial approval to enter that location for the purpose of
installing and thersafter maintaining the electronic
listening device.

2. Whether the district court should have suppressed
evidence of intercepted oral communications on the
ground that the government failed to comply with the
sealing requirements of 18 U.S.C. 2518(8)(a).

3. Whether the district court should have suppressed
evidence of intercepted oral communications involving
petitioner DiMatteo because he was referred to as
“Pasquale Joseph Rossetti” in the electronic surveillance
application and that name had not been listed in the
Attorney General’s authorization for the application.

4. Whether the evidence is sufficient to sustain the
conviction of petitioner Scafidi.

5. Whether the district court abused its discretion in
denying petitioner Scafidi’s motion for a severance.

TE ee

3

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of New York, petitioners
were convicted of conducting an illegal gambling business,
in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1955.2 The court of appeals
affirmed, one judge dissenting (Pet. App. A).

1. As the court of appeals observed (Pet. App. 3a),
“[t]he evidence at trial showed a large-scale numbers
lottery operating in Brooklyn during three discrete time
periods: Spring, 1972 (the 967 East Second Street Count);
Winter, 1972-73 (the Apartment 309 Count); and Spring,
1973 (the Hiway Lounge Count).” Petitioners Voulo and
Scafidi were convicted on the 967 East Second Street
Count. The evidence on that count showed that petitioner
Voulo participated in the operation of a policy “bank,” a
place where money and bets were collected, winning
numbers were determined, and daily profits were
calculated (Tr. 4408-4429).3 Petitioner Scafidi visited 967
East Second Street on a regular basis while “banking”
activities were taking place, strongly suggesting that he
was a link between the bank and “controllers,” those who
collected bets in the field (Tr. 529-530, 1161-1165, 1841-
1844, 1871, 1975-1982).

?Petitioner Vigorito was sentenced to six months’ imprisonment
pursuant to the parole eligibility provisions of 18 U.S.C. 4205(b\(2)
and 30 months’ probation and was fined $20,000. Petitioner James
Napoli, Sr., was sentenced to five years’ imprisonment and was fined
$20,000. Petitioner James Napoli, Jr., was sentenced to three years’
imprisonment pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 4205(b\(2) and was fined
$20,000. Petitioner DeLuca was sentenced to six months’ imprison-
ment and 30 months’ probation and was fined $10,000. Petitioner
Carrara was scatenced to four months’ imprisonment and 32 months’
probation and was fined $5,000. Petitioners Voulo, Mascitti, and
Scafidi were each sentenced to two months’ imprisonment and 34
months’ probation. Imposition of sentence on petitioner DiMatteo
was suspended in favor of three years’ probation.

“Tr.” refers to the trial transcript. “H. Tr.” refers to the transcript
of the hearings on petitioners’ pre-trial motions.

4

The other petitioners were convicted on the Hiway
Lounge Count.‘ Petitioner James V. Napoli, Sr., was the
central figure in this gambling operation, directing the
activities of the “runners” (who collected bets from
customers), the “controllers” (who accepted the bets from
pickup men and transferred them to policy “banks”), the
policy “bank” workers (who determined the winning
numbers and calculated daily profits), and the “account-
ants” (who collated the records of daily betting activity
from the “banks”) (Tr. 5286-5316). Petitioner James
Napoli, Jr., also participated in the management of the
lottery and acted as a “controller” (ibid.). Petitioner
DeLuca worked in the accounting office (Gov't Ex.
273A; Tr. 5485-5487, 5502-5517), petitioners Vigorito and
Carrara were “controllers” (Gov't Ex. 275A; Tr. 3936-
3944, 5302), and petitioners DiMatteo and Mascitti were
“bankers” (Gov’t Ex. 273A; Tr. 5463-5464, 5479-5517,
5276-5278). Petitioner Carrara also was involved in
making payments to local police for “protection” (Gov't
Exs. 100A, 101A, 224A; Tr. 3785-3786, 3988-3990, 4802,
4804-4806, 4825-4835).5

‘Petitioner Voulo also was charged in the Hiway Lounge Count,
but he was acquitted.

‘Petitioners Voulo, DiMatteo, Mascitti, and Scafidi were found
guilty on the Apartment 309 Count, but that count was thereafter
dismissed by the district court on the ground that, because co-
defendant Rocco Riccardi was acquitted, the jury had not found that
five or more persons had been involved in the gambling operation, as
required by Section 1955.

Petitioners and their co-defendants were also tried on a
conspiracy count, which was dismissed at the close of the
government's case on the ground that the evidence showed the
existence of at least two conspiracies, instead of the single conspiracy
charged.

=) —_—________+,

5

2. The government’s. evidence on the Hiway Lounge .
Count consisted primarily of conversations in the Lounge
intercepted pursuant to three court orders. The first order
(Joint App. 274-276),6 issued on April 12, 1973,
authorized the interception of oral communications for 15
days, excluding Sundays. The named targets were the
Napolis, DeLuca, DiMatteo, and several co-defendants.
The second order (Gov't App. 25-27) was issued on May
3, 1973, and authorized continuation of the initial Lounge
interception for an additional 15 days, again excluding
Sundays. The named targets were the Napolis, DeLuca,
Voulo, and several co-defendants. The third order was
issued on May 24, 1973; no evidence derived from this
interception was introduced at trial.

The eavesdropping orders specifically identified the
premises on which the oral interceptions were to occur
but contained no explicit authorization for agents to enter
the Hiway Lounge either to install or to repair the
listening devices. During the night of April 12-13, 1973,
F.B.1. agents entered the Lounge with a passkey and
installed two listening devices, one at the bar and one in a
back room (H. Tr. 89-90). Agents thereafter re-entered the
Lounge once while the first order was in effect to move
into the back room the device that had initially been
placed at the bar (H. Tr. 186).

During the three-day hiatus between the expiration of
the first order and the issuance of the second, the
government obtained an order (Joint App. 303) authoriz-
ing agents to enter the Lounge during the night of May 2-
3, 1973, to restore the batteries in the listening devices so

“Joint App.” refers to the joint appendix in the court of
appeals. “Supp. App.” refers to the supplemental appendix filed in
the court of appeals by petitioner DiMatteo. “Gov't App.” refers to
the government's appendix in the court of appeals.

6
that interceptions could resume promptly upon issuance
of the second order on May 3.’ During the interceptions
conducted pursuant to either the second or third court
orders, agents entered the Lounge once more to

rejuvenate the batteries in the listening devices (H. Tr. 70-
71).

3. Prior to trial, petitioners moved to suppress evidence
derived from the Hiway Lounge and the Apartment 309
surveillances on a variety of grounds, including the
government's allegedly improper failure to obtain explicit
judicial authorizations for the surreptitious entries into
the Lounge and the Apartment. In denying the motion,
the district court found that petitioner James Napoli, Sr.,
alone had standing to challenge the Hiway Lounge entries

"During the period when no order was in effect the listening devices
remained in the Lounge, but no conversations were monitored (H.
Tr. 92). The May 2-3 nighttime entry was necessary because the
Department of Justice authorization for the second order could not
be received in New York until the morning of May 3, and, based
upon conversations intercepted pursuant to the first order, agents
believed that an important meeting would be held in the Hiway
Lounge on the afternoon of May 3. Thus, if the agents were to restore
the batteries prior to the meeting, it was necessary for them to do so
before the second surveillance order was in effect (Gov't App. 71-72).

*No electronic surveillance was conducted in connection with the
967 East Second Street Count, but much of the government's
evidence on the Apartment 309 Count, which was eventually
dismissed (see note 5, Supra), was gathered by means of interceptions
of oral communications authorized by three court orders, none of
which explicitly authorized entry into the apartment.

The orders, each of which authorized the interception of oral
communications for 15 days, were obtained on December 8, 1972,
January 15, 1973, and February 20, 1973. Using a key furnished by
the building superintendent, the agents entered Apartment 309 on the
evening of December 8, 1972, and placed two listening devices inside
the Apartment (H. Tr. 319-326). The agents re-entered the Apartment
once to reposition one of the devices, which had not been productive,
and once to remove the devices (H. Tr. 332-333).

— —— ——— ——

7

by virtue of his status as “sole tenant in possession of the
premises” (Pet. App. 28a).? On the merits, the court held
that the Fourth Amendment did not require the
government to obtain a separate entry warrant in addition
to an electronic eavesdropping warrant, since “once
probable cause is shown to support the issuance of a court
order authorizing electronic surveillance{,] thereby sanc-
tioning the serious intrusion caused by interception, there
is implicit in the court’s order, concomitant authorization
for agents to covertly enter the premises and install the
necessary equipment” (id. at 30a). The court also upheld
the agents’ May 2-3 nighttime entry to replace the
batteries, concluding that the entry had been conducted
pursuant to a warrant issued on probable cause and that
the additional statutory requirements for electronic
surveillance were inapplicable because no such sur-
veillance had been authorized or conducted.

The court of appeals affirmed. Judge Moore, writing
for the court, found it unnecessary to decide the question
of standing, inasmuch as “whether standing is accorded in
this appeal to only one or any number of the [petitioners]
will not affect our holding that the [surveillance orders}
and the agents’ activities were entirely proper” (Pet. App.
8a). The court then rejected petitioners’ challenge to the
constitutionality of the surveillance-related surreptitious
entries (id. at 10a-1 1a):

There can be no doubt that the warrants were
based upon adequate factual affidavits. The alleged
defect in the warrant is not the underlying factual

*With respect to the surveillance of Apartment 309, the court held
that petitioners Mascitti and DiMatteo, the only petitioners whose
conversations had been overheard at the Apartment, lacked standing
to challenge the surveillance-related entries (Pet. App. 27a).

8

basis therefor, but its lack of specific “breaking-in”
authorization and a statement of the manner in
which such “breaking-in” was to be conducted.

But the most reasonable interpretation of the
orders in this case, granting authorization to bug
private premises, is that they implied approval for
secret entry. Indeed, any order approving electronic
surveillance of conversations to be overheard at a
particular private place, must, to be effective, carry
its own authority to make such reasonable entry as
may be necessary to effect the “seizure” of the
conversations.

. & 8..0-8

Once a judicial officer is convinced by the facts
presented to him that electronic surveillance will aid
in the detection of crime, his authorization that it be
used should then transfer to the appropriate police
agency the decision as to the precise mechanical
means whereby the order is to be carried out. If the
instrumentality to be used is a “bug”, the placing of
such a bug must of necessity be in the hands of the
persons so authorized. And such placing will have to
be surreptitious, for no self-respecting police officer
would openly seek permission from the person to be
surveilled to install a “bug” to intercept his conver-
sations.

Judge Gurfein concurred. He observed that Congress
was aware that successful electronic eavesdropping
“would require covert installation” but that Title II] of
the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968,
18 U.S.C. 2510 et seqg., nevertheless required not a
“specification by the judge of the method for placing the
‘bug’ but simply ‘a particular description of the place
where the communication is to be intercepted’ ” (Pet.

9
App. 18a). Judge Gurfein also agreed with the court that

-“[t]he orders here do conform precisely to the require-

ments of the Fourth Amendment * * *” (id. at 19a-20a;
emphasis in original):

They particularly describe the premises to be
“searched.” They state that there is probable cause to
believe that particular oral conversations of named
persons and others concerning the specified offenses
will be obtained through the interception at the
named premises which, there is probable cause to
believe, are being used for commission of the named
offenses. “Prompt” execution of the authorization is
ordered, and the interception is limited not only in
time but to occasions when at least one of the named
subjects is present. 3

Since the right of the named persons to privacy has
already been subjected to the “probable cause” test at
the hands of an independent judicial officer and since
the order is detailed enough to defeat any realistic
claim that it is a “general warrant,” I believe that the
basic requirements of the Fourth Amendment have
been met.

Judge Smith dissented. In his view, “a magistrate
[must] pass upon the necessity for and the manner of
surreptitious entries into private premises, either business
or residential, in light of the obvious dangers of injury
and death to occupants and officers in the course of such
gross invasions of privacy. The dangers may vary greatly
between such methods as the planting of a bug by a
restaurant patron, and a forcible breaking and entry when
the premises are assumed to be unoccupied” (Pet. App.
2la-22a).

10
ARGUMENT

1. The court of appeals concluded that a court order
authorizing the electronic interception of oral conver-
Sations at specifically designated private premises, in
accord with the requirements of 18 U.S.C. 2518, impliedly
includes judicial approval for the government surrep-
titiously to enter those premises “as may be necessary to
effect the ‘seizure’ of the conversations” (Pet. App. 10a).
This decision is fully consistent with the congressional
intent in enacting Title III of the Omnibus Crime Control
and Safe Streets Act of 1968 as well as with the dictates of
the Fourth Amendment. We recognize, however, that two
other circuits have announced divergent views on this
issue, which involves an interesting and unresolved aspect
of search and seizure law, and that the Court accordingly
may wish eventually to consider the issue. We believe
nonetheless that further review of this case should be
denied: none of the petitioners (with the exception of
petitioner Napoli, Sr., on the Hiway Lounge Count) has
standing to challenge the covert entries onto premises they
neither owned nor occupied; there is no true conflict
among the courts of appeals on the issue decided below;
and the federal government has adopted a policy of
seeking express judicial approval prior to undertaking any
entry to plant a court-authorized electronic listening
device.

a. There is, to begin with, nothing to petitioners’
contention that Title II] does not empower courts to
authorize covert entries, on probable cause, for the
purpose of installing electronic surveillance equipment or
that the statute requires such authorization to be explicit
in the interception order. Title III is specifically directed
at the interception of both “oral” and “wire” com-
munications (18 U.S.C. 2518(1)). In enacting this statute,
Congress unquestionably was aware that, while the

+

interception of wire communications is typically ac-
complished by means of an outside connection with a
telephone line (see Berger v. New York, 388 U.S. 41, 46),
electronic eavesdropping has traditionally required the
secret placement of a transmitting device (commonly
known as a “bug”) inside the area where the conversations
are expected to occur (id. at 47). See S. Rep. No. 1097,
90th Cong., 2d Sess. 67-68, 102-103 (1968); 114 Cong.
Rec. 11598, 12989, 14709-14710, 14732-14734 (1968).
See also United States v. United States District Court,
407 U.S. 297, 307; Silverman v. United States, 365
U.S. 505, 510; Lopez v. United States, 373 US. 427,
467 n. 15 (Brennan, J., dissenting). Indeed, many of the
electronic eavesdropping provisions of Title Ill were
drafted in direct response to this Court’s decision in
Berger v. New York, supra, which involved a secret
entry onto business premises for the purpose of planting
a “bug” (388 U.S. at 45). See United States v. United
States District Court, supra, 407 U.S. at 302. Yet no-
where in these detailed provisions is there any require-
ment that the entries essential for the installation and
maintenance of stening devices be explicitly author-
ized by court order.

This silence can hardly be attributed to a studied
legislative determination to bar the use of such listening
devices. As noted above, both the language and the
legislative history of Title III plainly indicate that
Congress acted with the purpose of providing authoriza-
tion, subject to significant safeguards, for both wire inter-
ceptions and electronic eavesdropping, and the statute
expressly requires that the interception application and
order contain a “full and complete statement * * *
including * * * a particular description of the nature and
location of the facilities from which or the place where the
communication is to be intercepted * * *.” 18 U.S.C.
2518(1\(b){ii); see also 18 U.S.C. 2518(4)(b) (emphasis

12

added).'° Thus, the absence’ of a specific provision in Title
III governing entries to install or maintain listening
devices reflects the reasonable assumption that the
successful interception of oral communications under the
statute would necessarily entail a surreptitious entry and
that, at least in the absence of any contrary provision in
the surveillance order, judicial authorization for such
entries would be implicit in any court order approving the
use of electronic eavesdropping.'!

Here, for example, the judges who approved the
electronic surveillance at Apartment 309 and the Hiway
Lounge obviously anticipated the need for surreptitious
entries to plant the listening devices. The orders author-
ized the interception of “oral communications,” which, as
indicated above, virtually without exception requires the
placement of a “bug” on the premises. Nothing in the
applications for the orders suggested that the government
had infiltrated petitioners’ gambling operations and
intended to have informants install the devices. To the
contrary, as the court of appeals found (Pet. App. 10a),
the information presented in the applications and

See also 18 U.S.C. 2518(4), which authorizes a court to direct
private citizens, including a “/andlord, custodian or other person,” to
“furnish [law enforcement authorities] all information, facilities, and
technical assistance necessary to accomplish the interception
unobtrusively” (emphasis added).

''Although the American Bar Association also has recognized that
surreptitious entry must accompany the installation of most bugging
devices (ABA Standards for Criminal Justice, Electronic Sur-
veillance, General Commentary, pp. 45, 65 n. 175, 91-92; Commen-
tary on Specific Standards, pp. 139-140, 149; Appendix D, p. 209
(Approved Draft, 1971)), it too has not adopted a specific
surreptitious entry provision in either the Tentative Draft of 1968 or
the Approved Draft of 1971. Compare §§ 5.7-5.8, p. 8 in the
Standards of the Tentative Draft with §§ 5.7-5.8, pp. 18-19 of the
Proposed Final Draft of Standards.

13

supporting affidavits can only be read as notifying the
issuing judges that the government planned to undertake
secret entries into the Lounge. “It would be highly naive,”
the court observed, “to impute to a district judge a belief
that the device required to effect his bugging authoriza-
tion did not require installation” (id. at Ila). See
Application of United States, 563 F. 2d 637, 643 (C.A. 4).
Moreover, despite the district court’s awareness of the
necessity for covert entries, the surveillance orders
contained no provisions prohibiting or limiting that
conduct. !2

b. Nor, in light of this judicial authorization, were the
entries to install and maintain the listening devices in this
case in violation of the Fourth Amendment.!3 Entries into
unoccupied premises to undertake an otherwise permissi-
ble search are of course constitutional (see Payne v.
United States, 508 F. 2d 1391, 1393-1394 (C.A. 5),
certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 933; United States v. Gervato,

'2Both issuing judges received actual notice of the entries. Special
Attorney Fred Barlow testified (4. Tr. 498-500; Joint App. 227-229),
and the district court found (Joint App. 132-133), that Barlow had
orally informed Judge Bartels ot the government’s intention to enter
the Hiway Lounge surreptitiously. If Judge Bartels had not intended
to authorize such an entry, he surely would not have issued the order.
Judge Judd was told that “{iJnstallation of monitoring equipment for
Apartment 309 occurred at 8:05 p.m. on December 3, 1972.” That
information was relayed to him in an interception progress report
filed by Special Attorney Barlow dated December 18, 1972 (Supp.
App. 3a-4a). If Judge Judd believed that the agents had abused the
authority conferred by his order when they installed monitoring
equipment at Apartment 309, he presumably would have revoked the
order and commanded that the interceptions cease. He did not take
such action, and the interceptions continued at Apartment 309 until
the order expired on December 25, 1972.

''The entries, it should be noted, did not result in the seizure of any
evidence other than the conversations intercepted pursuant to the
court-authorized electronic surveillance (Pet. App. 12a).

14

474 F. 2d 40 (C.A. 3), certiorari denied, 414 U.S. 864), and
the entries here were integral components of a concededly
valid electronic surveillance, which had been authorized in
advance by a neutral magistrate. Each entry took place
pursuant to a court order that was issued upon a strong
showing of probable cause and that “particularly de-
scrib[ed] the place to be searched, and the persons or
things to be seized,” thereby satisfying the Amendment’s
central goal of interposing “a magistrate between the citi-
zen and the police.” McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S.
451, 455. See also Osborn v. United States, 385 U.S. 323,
330.'* There is no reason why the judge, in approving the
search and seizure of petitioners’ conversations, was
obliged explicitly to authorize an entry into the premises
where the conversations were to occur, when such entry
‘was understood by everyone as essential to the execution
of the surveillance order.

‘In any event, as the district court found (Pet. App. 27a-28a),
petitioner James Napoli, Sr., alone has standing to challenge the
admission of the conversations intercepted from the Hiway Lounge,
and none of the petitioners has standing to challenge the admission of
the conversations intercepted from Apartment 309. If the conver-
sations introduced at trial were illegally obtained, the illegality related
not to the seizure of the conversations themselves, which was
judicially authorized in full conformity with Title Il] and the Fourth
Amendment, but to the surreptitious entries to plant the listening
devices. There is no evidence that any of the petitioners was present
when the entries at either location occurred, and the district court
properly concluded that the evidence was insufficient to show that
any of the petitioners, with the exception of petitioner Napoli, Sr.,
had a possessory or proprietary interest in either the Lounge or the
Apartment sufficient to allow them to contest intrusions made in
their absence. See Brown v. United States, 411 U.S. 223, 229. No
petitioner, other than petitioner Napoli, Sr., with respect to the
Hiway Lounge, had any expectation of privacy in either location

15

c. As petitioners note, two courts of appeals, faced with
issues similar to those presented in this case, have
expressed views at variance with the decision of the
Second Circuit. In United States v. Ford, 553 F. 2d 146
(C.A. D.C.), a court order authorizing the interception of
oral communications at a shoe store that served as the
center of a narcotics distribution operation expressly
permitted the government “to enter and reenter” the store
“for the purpose of installing, maintaining and removing
the electronic eavesdropping devices” and to accomplish
the entry “in any manner, including, but not limited to,
breaking and entering or other surreptitious entry, or
entry and re-entry by ruse and stratagem” (id. at 149-150;
emphasis in original). Police officers, posing as members
of a bomb squad responding to a bomb scare, entered the
store and planted three listening devices. The devices did
not function properly, however, requiring the police to re-
enter the store, again through a bomb scare ruse, to
correct the malfunction. The second entry was not
explicitly authorized by a fresh court order, although the
judge who had issued the eavesdropping warrant was
informally advised of the re-entry in advance and voiced
no objection to it.

when he was not present. See United States v. Galante, 547 F. 2d 733,
739-740 and n. 11 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 431 U.S. 969; United
States v. Lisk, 522 F. 2d 228, 230-231 (C.A. 7), certiorari denied, 423
U.S. 1078.

The court of appeals did not reach the standing issue, explaining
that “whether standing is accorded in this appeal to only one or any
number of the [petitioners] will not affect our holding that the Orders
and the agents’ activities were entirely proper” (Pet. App. 8a). This
Court also need not consider the matter, cf. Combs v. United States,
408 U.S. 224, 227 n. 4, unless it is otherwise disposed to grant review
on this issue. In that event, it should grant only No. 77-1003, filed by
petitioner Napoli, Sr., and should deny the other petitions.

16

The District of Columbia Circuit affirmed an order
suppressing the evidence gathered in the course of the
ensuing electronic surveillance. The court accepted “the
premise that entries to plant ‘bugs’ are themselves
invasions of privacy distinct from the actual eavesdrop,
and therefore require separate consideration in the
warrant procedure” and concluded that, “given the
showing to the District Judge in this case, the failure of
the order to limit time, manner, or number of entries over
a 40-day period made the authorization far too sweeping”
(553 F. 2d at 170; footnotes omitted).

Although the court of appeals suggested that entries to
install listening devices must be authorized by a “warrant
narrowly tailored to the demonstrated demands of the
situation” (553 F. 2d at 170), thus arguably imposing
stringent specificity requirements with respect to such
entries that go far beyond the demands of the Warrant
Clause in regard to other types of searches and seizures,
the holding in Ford may be viewed as quite limited in
light of the fact that the second entry into the shoe store
never received formal judicial authorization except to
the extent that authorization might be found in the broad
entry provision contained in the original surveillance
order. Indeed, the court explained its decision as holding
“only that the warrant in this case was defective for
expressly authorizing any number and manner of entries
when there had been no showing of necessity for such
broad authorization” (ibid.).

While Ford can thus be read as covering narrow
ground, there can be no doubt that, to the extent that the
court of appeals indicated that some form of explicit
judicial authorization is required for each entry to place a
listening device, including the initial one, the opinion in
Ford is inconsistent with the decision below. The same
may be said for Application of United States, 563 F. 2d

17

637 (C.A. 4). There, the court, in reversing an order
denying the government’s application for authorization to
install listening devices by means of surreptitious entries,
rejected the notion that “once the district court found the
interception of the conversations to be allowable under
Title III, the decision to secretly enter the premises
became a subsidiary tactical matter committed solely to
the judgment of the executing officers” (id. at 642).
Rather, the court stated that “[pJermission to surrep-
titiously enter private premises cannot * * * be implied
from a valid Title II] order sanctioning only the
interception of oral communications” (id. at 644).'5

Despite this apparent conflict among the circuits, there
is no necessity for this Court to grant review, especially at
the behest of petitioners who lack standing to challenge
the law enforcement agents’ conduct. See note 14, supra.
Only three courts of appeals have thus far been
confronted with the issue decided by the Second Circuit,
and Ford and Application of United States each involved
distinguishable factual situations. In Ford, not only had
the initial entry to plant the listening device been
expressly authorized by the surveillance order, but also it
had not led to the discovery of any evidence. Hence, the

'SSee also United States v. Agrusa, 541 F. 2d 690 (C.A. 8),
certiorari denied, 429 U.S. 1045, where the government obtained an
order authorizing secret entry into the defendant’s place of business
to install a court-authorized eavesdropping device. The court held (id.
at 701) that “law enforcement officials may, pursuant to express court
authorization to do so, forcibly and without knock or announcement
break and enter business premises which are vacant at the time of
entry in order to install an electronic surveillance device, provided the
surveillance activity is itself pursuant to court authorization, based on
probable cause and otherwise in compliance with Title Ill.” it
reserved comment on “what result obtains if the officers act without
express court authorization to break and enter (although with court
authorization to intercept)” (id. at 696 n. 13).

18

District of Columbia Circuit had no need to consider the
difficult issue resolved by the court below, i.e., whether a
warrant authorizing electronic eavesdropping in a par-
ticular location implicitly sanctions a surreptitious entry
into that area to place the “bug.”

Application of United States, on the other hand, arose
prior to any interceptions‘and involved the validity. of the
district court’s insistence that the government establish a
“paramount” or “compelling” interest to justify judicial
authorization of the surreptitious entry needed to install a
listening device before it would issue a Title Ill
eavesdropping order. Since the government had in fact
sought a separate entry provision in the surveillance
warrant, the Fourth Circuit’s discussion of the necessity
for such a provision is dictum, albeit perhaps a considered
one.!¢

There is an additional reason why the Court need not
consider this issue at the present time. Since the decision
in Ford, the Department of Justice has instructed
attorneys supervising the interception of oral com-
munications to seek explicit judicial approval for each
surveillance-related entry.'? Electronic surveillance

‘Indeed, the district court’s unwillingness to grant an electronic
surveillance order unless the government were able to justify a covert
entry in that particular case suggests the correctness of the Second
Circuit’s conclusion that a court’s issuance of an eavesdropping
warrant without requiring such a showing or imposing any conditions
on the method of placing the “bug” implicitly contemplates and
sanctions a surreptitious entry.

The following language is presently included in Departmental
authorizations of applications for interceptions of oral com-
munications:

The application should include a request that the order
providing for the interception specifically authorize surreptitious
entry for the purpose of installing and removing any electronic

19

authorizations must be approved personally by the
Attorney General or his designated Assistant Attorney
General, and approval will be withheld from any
application not requesting a specific entry authorization,
so there is substantial assurance that this policy will be
scrupulously followed. In these circumstances, the
lawfulness of surreptitious entries without judicial
authorization other than as implied in the surveillance
order is unlikely to be a recurring issue.'®

2. Petitioners Vigorito (Pet. 11-16) and DiMatteo (Pet.
33-38) contend that evidence derived from the electronic
surveillance at the Hiway Lounge and Apartment 309
should have been suppressed on the ground that the tape
recordings of the intercepted conversations were not
sealed “[{iJmmediately upon the expiration of the period
of the order{s], or extensions thereof,” as required by 18
U.S.C. 2518(8)(a). This claim is without foundation.

The tape recordings of the conversations intercepted
pursuant to the first order authorizing surveillance at the
Hiway Lounge were sealed on May 3, 1973, three days
after the expiration of the initial order on April 30 and
during the period of surveillance authorized by the second
Hiway Lounge order. The recordings obtained as a result
of the second Hiway Lounge interception order were
sealed on May 24, 1973, three days after expiration of
that order and during the period of surveillance
authorized by the third Hiway Lounge order.'? The tape

interception devices to be utilized in accomplishing the oral
interception. Further, an order should be obtained for each
additional entry to replace or maintain any oral interception
devices.

'8]t is largely for this reason that the government determined not to
seek further review in Ford.

'9As previously noted, no evidence derived from conversations
intercepted during the period of the third Hiway Lounge order was
used at trial.

20

recordings from the first Apartment 309 surveillance or-
der were sealed on January 16, 1973, 22 days after the
period of the order had expired and during the period of
surveillance authorized by the second Apartment 309
order. The tape recordings produced pursuant to the
second Apartment 309 order were sealed on February 5,
1973, four days after the expiration of that order and
during the period of surveillance authorized by the third
Apartment 309 order. The last set of tapes was sealed on
March 16, 1973, seven days after expiration of the third
and final order authorizing surveillance at Apartment 309
(Joint App. 116).

The district court (Joint App. 119-121) and the court of
appeals (Pet. App. 13a) correctly found that the second
and third Hiway Lounge orders and the second and third
Apartment 309 orders were extensions of the original
electronic surveillance authorization at each location. As
the district court observed (Joint App. 120), “{tJhe
applications are replete with language evincing an attempt
to secure authorization for continued interceptions;
reference is made to crimes the subjects ‘are continuing to
commit’ and further conversations they sought to
intercept by ‘continued surveillance.” More important is
the fact that the orders sought were not to include new
subjects, and the affidavit recited in detail the conver-
sations seized under each previous order.”

Since the second and third Hiway Lounge orders were
but extensions of the first, 18 U.S.C. 2518(8)(a) did not
require sealing of any of the Hiway Lounge tapes until the
period of the third order had expired. That requirement
was satisfied. The same conclusion follows with respect to
the tape recordings produced pursuant to the first and
second Apartment 309 surveillance orders, since those
tapes were sealed during the pendency of the third order.
Hence, the only sealing hiatus was the seven-day delay in

21

sealing the tape recordings for the third Apartment 309
order. In view of the absence of any evidence of bad faith
on the part of the surveilling agents and the fact that prior
to sealing the tapes had been kept in marked boxes in a
locked filing cabinet to which only one agent had the key
(H. Tr. 100-104, 113-114, 120), the court of appeals rightly
concluded (Pet. App. 14a) that this short delay had been
satisfactorily explained by the government and was “fully
in accord with the” statutory objective of preserving the
integrity of the intercepted conversations.2° Suppression
of the evidence derived from the surveillance therefore
would not have been warranted.?!

3. Petitioner DiMatteo contends (Pet. 39-41) that the
reference to him as “Pasquale Joseph Rossetti” in the
application for the first Apartment 309 surveiuance order

20The courts of appeals are in agreement that reasonable delays in
sealing, attributable to use of the tape recordings in connection with
preparations for trial or with continued investigation, do not require
suppression, y where there is evidence that the tapes were
kept securely. See United States v. Angelini, 565 F. 2d 469 (C.A. 7),
certiorari denied, No. 77-938, March 20, 1978; United States v.
Cohen, 530 F. 2d 43 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied, 429 U.S. 855; United
States v. Sklaroff, 506 F. 2d 837 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied, 423 U.S.
874. See also United States v. Falcone, 505 F. 2d 478 (C.A. 3),
certiorari denied, 420 U.S. 955.

The court of appeals properly distinguished its own decision in
United States v. Gigante, 538 F. 24 502 (C.A. 2). There the delays in
sealing ranged from eight months to more than a year, the
government offered “no explanation whatsoever” for the delays (id. at
504) and “haphazard procedures” were followed in handling the tapes
(id. at 505).

21We note, in addition, that this issue is not likely to be of
continuing importance. As we informed the Court in our brief in
opposition in Falcone v. United States, Nos. 74-5500 and 74-5619, in
February 1975, long after the surveillances involved in this case, the
Department of Justice instituted procedures to remind officials
responsible for electronic surveillance of their obligation to pews
tanes promptly for sealing.

22

rendered that order invalid, since that name had not
been included in the Attorney General’s authorization for
the application (Supp. App. la, 2a). But 18 U.S.C.
2516(1), which requires the Attorney General or a
designated Assistant Attorney General to approve every
application for a Title III surveillance order, contains no
naming requirement. Moreover, the Attorney General’s
authorization in this case did not purport to limit the
persons whose communications were sought to be
intercepted to the few names mentioned; to the contrary,
it expressly referred to the investigation into violations of
18 U.S.C. 1955 by certain named suspects and by “others
as yet unknown.” Accordingly, the authorization was
broad enough to permit the inclusion of the name
“Rossetti” (the person who petitioner DiMatteo was
believed to be at the time) in the application.

4. Petitioner Scafidi claims (Pet. 15-23) that the evi-
dence is insufficient to support his conviction on the 967
East Second Street Count, but the court of appeals
properly found this argument to be insubstantial (Pet.
App. 15a). Petitioner Scafidi was observed entering and
leaving the 967 Mast Second Street residence numerous
times in April 1972, usually late in the evening when
petitioner Voulo and co-conspirators Joseph Mustacchio
and “Buddy” Griffin were there (Tr. 529-530, 1161-1164,
1841-1844, 1871, 1975-1982).22 On May 1, 1972, when
F.B.I. agents arrived at the residence to conduct a search,

22Petitioner Scafidi’s assertion that his visits to the residence were
wholly innocent is belied by the evidence of his prior and subsequent
involvement in lottery activities. During a June 1971 search of the
premises at 405 Elders Lane in Brooklyn, police officers found
petitioners Scafidi and Voulo standing by a table holding betting
slips, lottery records, and more than $2,000 in cash (Tr. 4410-4413).
In January and February 1973, a number of petitioner Scafidi’s
gambling-related telephone conversations were intercepted on his
home telephone (Pet. App. 15a).

23

they found petitioner Voulo, Mustacchio and Griffin in a
basement room operating what appeared to be a policy
“bank.” While the search was in progress, petitioner
Scafidi arrived on the seene (Tr. 534). The frequency and
regularity of petitioner Scafidi’s visits was strong evidence
from which the jury could have concluded that he
participated in the lottery business as a link between the
policy “bank” and the “controllers” in the field and that
he therefore “advanced” gambling activity in yiolation of
New York law. See N.Y. Penal Law § 225.05 (McKinney
1976).

5. Petitioner Scafidi contends (Pet. 25-27) that he
should have been tried separately from his co-defendants.
The determination whether to grant a severance of
defendants properly joined is committed to the sound
judgment of the district court, whose decision may be
disturbed on appeal only for clear abuse of that
discretion. Schaffer v. United States, 362 U.S. Sll.
Petitioner Scafidi has failed to make a persuasive showing
that the trial judge abused his discretion in denying him a
separate trial. |

Petitioner was not, as he suggests, a peripheral
participant in a few of the illegal activities charged. He
was a defendant in three of the four counts,” and, as
indicated above, his participation in illegal gambling
activities was substantial and continuing. Furthermore,
the bulk of the government’s evidence was clearly
connected to one of the three discrete substantive counts,

23Although the conspiracy count tying the three substantive counts
together was dismissed by the district court because there was
insufficient evidence of a single conspiracy (see note 5, supra), the
court of appeals found that “the conspiracy count was not frivolous”
and that “[t}here is no evidence here of bad faith on the part of
the Government * * *” (Pet. App. 16a).

24
and there is no reason to believe that the jurors were
unable to separate the evidence in their minds. Indeed, as
the court of appeals observed, “(t]he trial court gave the
jury a lengthy cautionary instruction to disregard the
conspiracy evidence and to judge each defendant on his
own words and deeds. The jury showed its understanding
of the instruction by acquitting several defendants” (Pet.
App. 16a).
CONCLUSION
The petitions for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

Wapve H. McCreg, Jr.,
Solicitor General.

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General.

JEROME M. FEIT,
PauL J. Brysn,
Attorneys.

AprRIL 1978.

DOJ-1978-04

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0341%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
