# Opposition — Browning-Ferris Industries, Inc. v. Tiger Trash

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0063%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 1034

## Text

-—— Supreme Court, U. &-
FILED

EC 10 1977

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1977
No. 77-705

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Petitioners,

vs.

TIGER TRASH, A Division of
JOE W. MORGAN, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT, TIGER TRASH, A Division of
JOE W. MORGAN, INC., IN OPPOSITION

ALAN N. SHOVERS

FRANK R. HAHN

KAHN, DEES, DONOVAN & KAHN
305 Union Federal Building
Evansville, Indiana 47708

(812) 423-3183

Counsel for Respondent
December, 1977

Unigraphic, Inc., 1401 N. Fares Ave., Evansville, Ind. 47711, Phone 424-3680

INDEX

Page
Question Presented for Review ..............cececeees l
666 ceed ene nneeedetne teeeenee eed 2
PT TTT TT TTT Tee 5
EY wid b 464 w66066506656569440N4 66088 06660004 5

l. Whether There is Any Conflict Amongst

the Various Circuits in the Application
of Section 12 of the Clayton Act ........... 5
2. Scope of Federal Antitrust Venue Law ....... 6

le ee eee ee ee ee eene « 7

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases
Page
Aro Manufacturing Co. vs. Automobile Body Re-
search Corporation, 352 F.2d 400 (Ist Cir. 1965)
cert. denied, 383 U.S. 947 (1966) ..............008 6
Cannon Mfg. Co. vs. Cudahy Packing Co., 267 U.S.
Ss a6 ose Cee cds ede oe eee eueeeneeeeedse 6,7
Eastman Kodak Co. vs. Southern Photo Materials
ls Oe ee SU POOPED 6c cccsedccenccceces 7
Golf City, Inc. vs. Wilson Sporting Goods, Co., 555
Fees PS DEPTO 6 bec 0c ccccccocaces 5
San Antonio Telephone Co. vs. American Telephone
& Telegraph Co., 449 F.2d 349 (Sth Cir. 1974) ........ 5
United States vs. Scophony Corporation of America,
Se ee CED 6b 050s 60606660 0s6beves 3,5,6,7

Statutes

Section 12 of the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. 822) ..... 2,5, 6,7

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1977
No. 77-705
BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES, INC.,
Petitioners,
vs.

TIGER TRASH, A Division of
JOE W. MORGAN, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT, TIGER TRASH, A Division of
JOE W. MORGAN, INC., IN OPPOSITION

The respondent, Tiger Trash, A Division of Joe W.
Morgan, Inc. (“Tiger Trash”), respectfully opposes the petition
of the petitioner, Browning-Ferris Industries, Inc. (“BFI”), to
issue a writ of certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit to review the decision entered by that
Court in Cause No. 76-2259 on August 18, 1977.

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The issue presented to this Court for review concerns

2

the application of the antitrust venue provision of Section
12 of the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. 822). BFI’s Question Pre-
sented for Review states as an ultimate fact that BFI does
not transact business in Indiana, the forum district of its sub-
sidiary, Browning-Ferris Industries in Indiana, Inc., (“its sub-
sidiary”) and that it has no control over its subsidiary. These
factual recitals are contrary to the findings of the Seventh
Circuit. For purposes of illustration, the Question Presented
for Review by BFI is repeated with Tiger Trash underlining
those facts found contrawise by the Seventh Circuit:

“Whether a national holding or parent corporation
is subject to venue and jurisdiction under Section 12
of the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. §22) in a district in which
its wholly-owned subsidiary transacts business, when
the parent itself transacts no business there, when the
parent and its subsidiary are separate corporations, and
when the parent exercises no control over the subsidiary
sufficient to make the subsidiary its agent or alter ego.”’
[Pet. Br. 3]

Rather, the proper question presented for review relates
to the factual findings, and that is:

Whether in fact, in the ordinary and usual sense, BFI
transact business in Indiana of any substantial character or was
found there.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Tiger Trash does not take issue with the general back-
ground of the parties’ organization nor procedure of the case.
However, the factual background, as it relates to BFI’s trans-
acting its subsidiary’s business or its presence in the State of
Indiana, is not completely and fairly stated.

First, it should be noted that BFI makes reference to
a “uncontroverted affidavit” showing that BFI -- being a non-
operating parent company -- does not do or solicit business
in Indiana; has no property or office of any kind in Indiana;

Le ee eee

3

has no employees or agents in Indiana; has never supplied
services, goods or materials of any kind in Indiana; and has
never manufactured or sold goods or materials which were
shipped into Indiana. [Pet. Br. 3-4] The Seventh Circuit
took particular note of the fact that notwithstanding the
so-called “uncontroverted affidavit,” later evidence found
independently of discovery, by Tiger Trash, which was then
admitted by BFI, established a set of facts quite opposite from
the “uncontroverted affidavit.” It should be noted this BFI
affidavit was then never withdrawn, modified, corrected or
otherwise properly explained. The Seventh Circuit, in its
decision, finds the relevant facts, notwithstanding the “un-
controverted affidavit,” to be as follows, as it relates to a BFI
Regional Sales Manager, who was not a subsidiary employee,
soliciting sales in Indiana:

“Although only one BFI service agreement executed
by Henson in Indiana was attached to plaintiff's request
for admissions, paragraph 9 of defendant’s response
admits that he solicited other sales and service agreements
for BFI Indiana. This is, of course, an indication of
control relationship between parent and subsidiary.”
[Pet. App. 22]

BFI proceeds to set forth in its brief a number of factors
where its subsidiary, through its own actions, acts indepen-
dently of the parent. As this Court noted in United States vs.
Scophony Corporation of America, 333 U.S. 795 (1948), at
page 804:

“Because all corporate action must be vicarious, that
content could be determined only by an act of judgment
which selects and attributes to the corporation, from the
mass of activity done or purporting to be done on its
behalf, those acts of individuals which are relevant for
the particular statutory purposes and pelicies in hand.”

Therefore, it is not only the negating facts supplied by BFI
through their affidavits which need to be taken into account,

4

but it is the totality of factors, including the affirmative relation-
ships between the parent, BFI, and its subsidiary. In this frame-
work the Seventh Circuit found substantial relationships between
the parent and subsidiary which were not denied or contro-
verted by BF in its affidavits: [Pet. App. 23]

1. BFI’s corporate policy is to provide a single source
of reliable waste services for companies with a number
of geographically dispersed plants.

2. BFI’s officers, some of whom are officers of BFI-
Indiana, assist its subsidiary through national marketing
programs. BFI assisted its subsidiary through signing
of customers and making basic market development
decisions.

3. BFI assists in supervising the subsidiary; by
allocating financial resources; by providing finances;
by providing system accounting methods; and by manage-
ment supervision and examination.

4. BFI assists its subsidiary by setting standards for
return on capital investment from the subsidiary, and
if this return is insufficient to meet the BFI standards,
BFI imposes corrective action.

5. BFI’s Indiana subsidiary licenses and utilizes the
parent’s trade name without complying with Indiana
statutes requiring registration of the trade name, and
neither BFI nor BFI-Indiana makes a determined effort
to notify the public they are separate entities.

6. Certain of the officers of BFI’s Indiana sub-
sidiary are also officers of BFI.

7. BFI and its subsidiary conduct their advertising
and promotional activities in such a manner so as to give
the appearance of one company operating nationwide
to provide waste removal services.

5
REASONS NOT TO GRANT WRIT
Summary

The Question is one of fact weighing to determine
whether BFI is either found or has so acted in transacting
its business of such a substartia! character as to bring it within
the Indiana forum. To the extent that the Seventh Circuit
Court of Appeals’ decision is opposite other Circuits, it is only
because each decision depends entirely upon its own particular
facts; this set of facts as applied to the decisions cited in any
other circuit would likely have a similar result to the Seventh
Circuit. Also, the factual findings are sufficient to meet federal
venue law as applied by this Court in United States vs. Scophony
Corporation of America, 333. U. S. 795 (1948).

1. Whether there is any conflict amongst the various
Circuits in the application of Section 12 of the Clayton Act.
In the case cited by BFI, Golf City, Inc. vs. Wilson Sporting
Goods, Co., 555 F.2d 426, 438 (Sth Cir. 1977), the Court
notes that it must go beyond analyzing contacts seriatim; but
rather the harder task remains which is, do the contacts taken
together constitute the transaction of business in the district
in the ordinary and usual sense. Then the Court goes on and
notes:

“This aspect of the inquiry is most responsible for
the observation that ‘the only rule of law which is uni-
formly applicable to all cases involving venue [is that]
the decision depends entirely upon the particular facts
involved.’ [citation omitted]

While the citation by BFI to the San Antonio Telephone
Co. vs. American Telephone & Telegraph Co., 499 F.2d 349
(Sth Cir. 1974) is, of course, interesting and does set forth a
proper standard, this standard is consistent with the Seventh
Circuit’s decision. In San Antonio Telephone, the evidence
merely indicated a parent-subsidiary tie of general policy
decisions, not more significant “daily business affairs’? such

6

as BFI’s relation to its subsidiary.

BFI cites a number of cases where there have been no
venue decisions by various Circuit Courts. However, case by
case, there were not the totality of cumulative facts as with
the case of BFI. For example, in Aro Manufacturing Co. vs.
Automobile Body Research Corporation, 352 F. 2d 400 (ist
Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S. 947 (1966), not only were
there no such a group of facts, but the court concluded there
was no valid service of process, and the First Circuit found it
was unnecessary for that Court to consider the question of
venue.

Neither is BFI’s references to non-antitrust cases, parti-
cularly meaningful or useful. For example, BFI’s particular
reliance on Cannon Mfg. Co. vs. Cudahy Packing Co., 267
U.S. 333 (1925) where Section 12 of the Clayton Act was not
in issue. Rather, the Seventh Circuit placed great reliance on
the venue standards established by this Court in United States
vs. Scophony Corporation of America, 333 U.S. 795 (1948),
which is the leading case under Section 12 of the Clayton Act.
The standard established in Scophony for engaging in business
in a district is “if in fact, in the ordinary and usual sense, it
‘transacts business’ therein of any substantial character.”
(333 U.S. 807) In Scophony this Court went out of its way
to substitute “. . . practical, business conceptions for the
previous hair-splitting legal technicalities encrusted upon the
... ‘carrying-on-business’ sequence .. .”. (333 U.S. 808) This
Court notes that this enactment of Section 12 of the Clayton
Act is thereby to relieve persons, who are injured through
violations of the antitrust laws from the obstacles of having
to resort to distant forums.

2. Scope of Federal antitrust venue law.

BFI places primary reliance for its argument on the
scope of Federal antitrust venue law on Cannon Mfg. Co.
vs. Cudahy Packing Co., 267 U.S. 333 (1925), a non-antitrust
case not utilizing Section 12 of the Clayton Act. BFI points
out that in United States vs. Scophony Corporation of America,
333 U.S. 795 (1948), the Cannon decision was not overturned
and would still remain applicable. Thereafter, their argument

!

7

centers on Cannon. It is true that Cannon and certain other
of the non-antitrust decisions cited by BFI may not go as far
as either Scophony or other Section 12 cases. However, as
noted in Scophony, Section 12 of the Clayton Act was an
expansion of the application of practical business concepts
for technicalities. Scophony causes the Court to take a look
at all the facts taken together. It goes on and establishes a
test of whether, in fact, in the ordinary and usual sense, [BFI]
transacts business [in Indiana] of any substantial character.
(333 U.S. 807) See also Eastman Kodak Co. vs. Southern
Photo Materials Co., 273 U.S. 359, 372-73 (1927).

The Seventh Circuit has not adopted, as suggested by
BFI, any new standard but has very carefully tracked and
heavily relied on the Scophony and Eastman Kodak decision.

What the various districts have in common, including
the Seventh Circuit, is the analysis raised ir. the Scophony case,
which is whether the parent is holding stock in its subsidiary
for investment purposes and exercising merely shareholder
rights, or alternatively, whether the use of the stock is for
purposes of exercising supervision over and intervention in
the subsidiary’s affairs. If factually there is sufficient inter-
vention based upon a pattern of regular and continuing ex-
ploitation of the subsidiary, and the holdings go beyond mere
stock ownership or investment purposes and beyond occasional
acts of contracting, then venue will exist. See 333 U.S. 814.
The Seventh Circuit has found this standard to be met and
nothing more.

As this Court said in Scophony, as it would relate to
the Cannon case: “We are unwilling to construe Section 12 in
a manner to bring back the evils it abolished, for the situations
not foreclosed by prior decisions, and thus to defeat its policy
together with that of the antitrust laws, so as to make another
amendment necessary.” (333 U.S. 817)

CONCLUSION

For foregoing reasons, the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
should be dismissed.

Respectfully submitted,

ALAN N. SHOVERS

FRANK R. HAHN

KAHN, DEES, DONOVAN & KAHN
305 Union Federal Building
Evansville, Indiana 47708

(812) 423-3183

Counsel for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385005_0063%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
