# Petition — Guyton v. Ohio

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2746%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 1013

## Text

ae ©

FILED
OCT 26 i977
Us §

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

‘77-620

NO

JOHN GUYTON
Petitioner

VS.

STATE OF OHIO
Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS
FOR SUMMIT COUNTY, OHIO

RALPH B. MAHER
Attorney for Petitioner
630 Centran Building
Akron, Ohio 44308

(216) 762-8691

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

‘JOHN GUYTON
Petitioner

Vs.

STATE OF OHIO
Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS
FOR SUMMIT COUNTY, OHIO

RALPH B. MAHER
Attorney for Petitioner
630 Centran Building
Akron, Ohio 44308
(216) 762-8691

Opinions below. ....
Jurisdiction. ....-.
Questions presented ..

Constitutional provisions invo

Statement of the case .

Reason for granting writ.

Conclusion.

Appendix A.
Appendix B.
Appendix C.
Appendix D.

ix E.

Append
Appendix F.

TABLE OF
Cases:
Adams v. Williams,

Almeida-Sanchez v.

mre ae

CASES

407 U.S. 143

United States

Carroll v. United States, 267

Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S.

Cooli v. New

hire, 403

Elkins v. United States, 364

Gustafson v. Florida, 414 U.S.

Katz v. United States, 389 U. S.

er Sei - Ohio, 367 U.S. 643

Preston v. United States, 376

Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412

(i)

Page

South Dakota v. oS se 96
* % > . s . . s 10,11
Perey v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968) 13
ates v. Chadwick, 97
" eo MBaeEeee UAUTIy 2 cc 2 et 10
United States v. Ortiz, 422 U.s.
> . _ . — * _ . . - 12
414
U.S. 218 (1973). . . 7 . o . . 12

(1967) - e - -S = & rf © © @&# @ ll

(ii)

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

NO.

JOHN GUYTON
Petitioner

vs.

STATE OF OHIO
Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS
FOR SUMMIT COUNTY, OHIO

Petitioner, by and though his
attorney, Ralph B. Maher, prays
that a Writ of Certiorari issue
to review the judgment heretofore
entered against him by the Court
of Appeals for Summit County, Ohio.

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The Supreme Court of Ohio rendered
no opinion. The unreported opinion of
the Court of Appeals for Summit County,
Ohio is printed as Appendix A.

JURISDICTION

_ The Supreme Court of Ohio dismissed
Petitioner's appeal and overruled Peti-
tioner's motion for leave to appeal on
June 30, 1977. Said orders are set forth
at Appendix B and C respectively. On
September 22, 1977, Mr. Justice Stewart
extended the time for filing a petition
for writ of certiorari to October 28,
1977. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked pursuant to the provisions of
Title 28--United States Code--81257(3).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a motion to suppress
evidence should have been overruled where
said evicence was obtained as a result of
a warrantless unreasonable search of the
sleeping occupant of a parked car in
light of the fact that the searching
police officers testified they did not
believe the occupant had committed, was
committing or was about to commit a crime

2. Whether the Court of Appeals for
Summit County, Ohio, erred in upholding
the above mentioned search by expanding
the narrow emergency exception to the
Warrant Clause to include a situation
where police officers were merely re-
sponding to a call "4" which symbol
stands for “possible intoxicant,” and
where said officers had no probable cause
to search.

3. Whether the subsequent full body
search of the person by the two police
officers outside the vehicle and the re-
sultant seizure of a weapon are author-
ized when said police officers testify
that the search and seizure were both
made prior to any arrest and upon a
person not known to be armed and not
believed to be dangerous.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
United States Constitution, Amendment IV

The right of the people to be secure
in their persons, houses, papers, and
effects, against unreasonable searches
and seizures, shall not be violated,
and no Warrants shall issue but upon
probable cause, supported by Oath or
affirmation, and particularly describing
the place to be searched, and the person
or things to be seized.

United States Constitution
ent XIV, ction

All persons born or naturalized in
the United States, and subject to the
jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of
the United States wherein they reside.
No State shall make or enforce any law
which shall abridge the privileges or
immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor deny
to any person within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On December 14, 1975, at about 6:90
P.M., Petitioner left the gasoline service
station he owned and operated to make a
night bank deposit. He made this trip in
his 1966 Thunderbird and brought with him
a .38 caliber revolver, which he placed
in a belt holster located underneath his
jacket. After making the deposit he pro-
ceeded to a V.F.W. Club located in his
Akron, Ohio, neighborhood, and after
sticking the revolver between the console
and the seat of the car, he went in and
had three or four drinks of liquor. He
left the Veterans Club around 8:00 P.M.
and started back towards his service
station. While enroute along a lightly
- travelled residential street he realized
that he was getting sleepy or feeling
some kind of reaction. He therefore
pulled over to the opposite side of
the street and parked the car facing
traffic by placing two of the wheels on
the berm and two of the wheels on the
street. (Tr. pp. 71, 88). He then
turned off his_motor, while leaving the
headlights on. 4

1. Tr. refers to the Reporter's Transcript
of the proceedings in the Common Pleas Court of
Summit County, Ohio.

2. The Court of Appeals mistakenly stated
in its opinion that the engine was left running.
(App. A, infra, ppl7,19). Of the five witnesses
who testified, only Officer Burrell stated that
“the engine was running." (Tr. p. 76). Officer
Sparks couldn't recall whether the engine was
running (Tr. p. 7). Petitioner, witness Paul
Brunson and witness Annie McLane, who had observed
(Footnote continued on following page.)

4°

Subsequently Witness Annie McLane,
who lived across the street from where
Petitioner parked his car, went to the
home of Witness Paul Brunson to discuss
the matter and then called the Akron
Police Department to report that there
was an individual parked in front of her
home with the headlights burning and his
head lying on the steering wheel. Two
Akron policemen, Officers Robert Sparks
and Michael Burrell, received a signal
"4", which roughly translates to “sus- .
pected intoxicant,” over their radio and
arrived at the scene at 8:55 P.M. The
Officers testified that there had been
no reports of any violence, emergencies,
or criminal activity in the neighborhhood
and that they were not looking for either
a 1966 Thunderbird or a.person fitting
Petitioner's description. At the time
of their arrival in the quiet residential
neighborhood the only persons on the
street were Witness McLane and Witness
Brunson and his wife.

The Officers approached the scene
by pulling their patrol car behind
Petitioner's automobile so that their
headlights shined through his rear
window. Officer Sparks approeched the
car from the rear on the driver's side
while Officer Burrell approached from

2. (Footnote two continued from previous
page). the automobile for at least a half an
hour prior to the arrival of the Officers, and
who were at the scene while all relevant events
transpired, all stated that the engine was not
running. (Tr. pp. 56,71,124). The Trial Court
also felt that the evidence indicated that Mr.

. Guyton would have had to "start his car" to drive
away. (Tr. p. 53).

5

the rear on the passenger's side. They
both observed that Petitioner's head was
still lying on the wheel. At that time
neither Officer had any inkling that
Petitioner was armed and both stated that
they weren't afraid of him. Both officers
testified that when they arrived they
didn't know what was wrong with Petitioner
although Officer Sparks smelled what he
believed to be alcohol. Officer Sparks
further testified that to his knowledge
Petitioner “had not committed a crime,

was not committing a crime and was not
about to commit a crime." (Tr. p. 30).
Similar testimony was given by Officer
Burrell, (Tr. p. 97), who also described
the situation as a "rather peaceful scene."
(Tr. p. 96).

After surveying the situation,
Officer Sparks proceeded to reach inside
the automobile and shake Petitioner by the
shoulder about four or five times. Prior
to Officer Spark's entry into the car the
the Trial Court found that Petitioner's
slumped position and the 3/4 length winter
jacket he was wear prevented the
Officers from observing anything around
his person. However, as the shaking
progressed, Officer Burrell testified he
— something hanging from Petitioner's
side.

After the repeated shaking of
Petitioner, he was awakened and told to
get out of his car. No resistance was
given by the Petitioner, and he was
searched while spread-eagled against
his car. According to the Officers’ test-
imony the empty holster was located under
Petitioner's coat and then the revolver
was found in his rear pocket. Officer

6

Sparks then advised him he was under
arrest for carrying a concealed weapon
and finally advised him he was being
arrested for intoxication. 3

On March 13, 1976, Petitioner was
indicted for carrying a concealed weapon
in violation of Section 2923.12, of the
Ohio Revised Code, and, secondly for
having a weapon while under disability,
in violation of Section 2923.13(A) (2),
of the Ohio Revised Code. The federal

3. The Court of Appeals mistakenly stated
in its opinion that the holster had been seen by
one officer while Petitioner was still in the car
and that as soon as he got out of the car he was
arrested for intoxication. (App. A. infra ppi? -

19). Both officers testified they did not know
Petitioner was wearing a holster while he was in
the vehicle. (Tr. pp. 9, 82, 86). The Trial Court
confirmed this in his Findings of Fact. (Tr. pp 53,
132). The record is also clear that Petitioner
was first searched outside the car and then
arrested. In fact this scenario was presented
by the State of Ohio in the statement of facts
included in its answer brief filed in the Court
of Appeals for Summit County. At page three
the Prosecuting Attorney stated that when the
revolver was found in his rear pocket,

“Appellant was subsequently placed under

arrest for carrying a concealed weapon and
intoxication." Both Officers testified that
after the search outside the vehicle the
Petitioner was arrested for carrying a concealed
weapon and intoxication. (Tr. pp, 20, 23, 102
and Transcript of Preliminary Hearing pp. 5-6.)

7

questions sought to be reviewed by this Court were
raised in the court of first instance on
June 3, 1976 when Petitioner filed his
motion to suppress evidence, said motion
being set out as Appendix D. The motion
to suppress was overruled at a hearing
in the Common Pleas Court of Summit County,
Ohio, held on June 21, 1976, and June 22,
1976. The Petitioner then entered a

"no contest” plea to the two counts of
the indictment. The journal entry over-
ruling the motion is printed as Appendix
E. The Petitioner was sentenced to the
Chillicothe Correctional Institute, and
said sentence was held in abeyance and
his prior bond was continued pending
appeal. Subsequent to the decision of
the Court of Appeals for Summit County,
Ohio and the Supreme Court of Ohio, the
same bond was continued to apply during
this appeal to the United States

Supreme Court.

On July 22, 1976, timely notice of
appeal was filed, and on February 2, 1977,
the Court of Appeals of Summit County,
Ohio, affirmed the judgment. The opinion
of the Court is set out as Appendix A.
Petitioner's assignments of error to the
Court of Appeals which raised the federal
question presented in this petition are
included in said opinion. On March 4,
1977, timely notice of appeal was filed;
and on June 30, 1977, the Supreme Court
of Ohio dismissed Petitioner's appeal
and overruled Petitoner's motion for leave
to appeal, said orders being set forth
at Appendix B and C respectively. The
propositions of law presented in the
Supreme Court of Ohio which raised the
federal questions sought to be reviewed
in this Court are printed as Appendix F.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE DECISION BELOW REGARDING THE
CONDUCT OF THE RESPONDENT IS CON-
TRARY TO THE FOURTH AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS OF THE CONSTITUTION
OF THE UNITED STATES AND RELE-
VANT DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

The Court of Appeals for Summit
County, Ohio, “deemed the situation as
it existed at the time the officers
responded to the call ‘4’ to be an
emergency.” (App. A, infra p.20) On the
basis of this finding the Court held
that the search of Petitioner both inside
and outside of his parked automobile was
neither improper nor unreasonable. In
reaching its decision, the Court made no
finding that the police had probable
cause to search Petitioner in his parked
car at the time Officer Sparks entered.
the vehicle.

Fifty-two years ago in Carroll v.
United States, 267 U.S. 132, 156 (1525)
this Court held that in the absence of
probable cause to search an automobile,
the Fourth Amendment protects the owner
from the use of the seized items as
evidence against him. Since that time,
“in enforcing the Fourth Amendment's
prohibition against unreasonable searches
and seizures, this Court has insisted upon
probable cause as a minimum requirement
for a reasonable search permitted by the
Constitution.” Chambers v. Maroney, 399
U.S. 42, 51 (1970).

In its most recent decision in this
area, this Court stated that there are
"significant differences between motor
vehicles and other property which permit

warrantless searches of automobiles in
circumstances in which warrantless
searches would not be reasonable in

other context.” United States v.

Chadwick, 97 S. Ct. 2476, 2487 (1977).
Yet, “although the expectation of

privacy in an automobile is significantly
less than the traditional expectation of
privacy assoicated with the home,. . .
(citing cases). . .the unrestrained
search of an automobile and its contents
would constitute a serious intrusion upon the
privacy of the individual in many circum-
S.Ct. 3092> SO00-400L TidTeh + (Powell

S. Ct. 3092, - . ll, J.
concurring). The search and seizure in

this case constitute just such circum-
stances.

The Court of Appeals upheld the
search in this case simply by stating
it was pusuant to an emergency.
Initially this finding is contrary to
the testimony of the searching officers
themselves, who testified that a rather
peaceful scene existed at the time they
surrounded Petitioner's car. Moreover,
the sua sponte determination by the
Court of Appeals that the emergency
search doctrine applied was made with-
out citing any precedent from this Court.
In effect the Court ignored the fact
that the Carroll doctrine is not applic-
able unless there is a conjoining of the
two elements of probable cause and
genuine exigent circumstances. This
Court has pointedly stated that "the
Carroll doctrine does not declare a field
day for the police in searching automobiles.
Automobiles or no automobile, there must
be a probable cause for the search."
Almeida-Sanchez v. United States, 413

ewe ’ °

10

The Officers’ testimony at the
suppression hearing demonstrates that
none of the specifically established and
well-delineated exceptions to the
exclusionary rule, including “search
incident to arrest,4" Preston v. United
States, 376 U.S. 364 (1564); “hot
pursuit; -" Warden v. Hayden; 387 U.S. 294
(1967), consent, Sckneckioth v. Bustamonte,
412 U.S. 218 (1973) and the “plain view”
doctrine,” Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403
U.S. 443 (157I), are applicable here. In
light of this Petitioner can only con-
jecture that the real reason behind the
decision of the Court below is an unwarranted
feeling that this Court's recent holding
in South Dakota v. rman, supra,
that probable cause to search is not
needed when law enforcement officers
pursuant to standard procedure are
conducting an inventory of an unoccupied
properly impounded vehicle, should be
interpreted as a virtual overruling of
the prior precedents discussed herein.
Initially unlike the search in Opperman,
the search in this case was conducted
in an occupied vehicle and under circum-
stances where an investigatory police
motive was present. Moreover, at the
time of the search, Petitioner was asleep
in the privacy of his own parked automobile.

4. The arrest here did not occur until
after Petitioner was searched outside the
vehicle.

5. While Petitioner was slumped forward,
nobody could observe anything. (Tr. P. 135).

11

Throughout all court proceedings
Petitioner has focused his argument on
the fundamental principle pronounced in
Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 351l-

e Pourth Amendment
protects people, not places. . .what (a
person) seeks to preserve as private,
even in an area accessible to the public,
may be constitutionally protected." This
Court recognized the privacy interest
the occupant of an automobile possesses
in United States v. Ortiz, 422 U.S. 891,
896 (1975) :
"a search, even of an automobile,
is a substantial invasion of
privacy. To protect that privacy
from official arbitrariness,
the Court always has regarded
. probable cause as the minimum
requirement for a lawful
search."

The decision below disregards this interest
and thus squarely presents the question

of the continued validity of the core

of this Court's prior precedent in this
area.

Petitioner also contends that the
conduct of the Officers in conducting
the full body search outside the vehicle
was unconstitutional. The search and
seizure were conducted prior to the time
the Officers testified Petitioner was
placed under arrest. Therefore the hold-
ing in United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S.
218 (1973), and Gustafson v. Florida,
414 U.S. 260 (1973), that where there
has been a lawful custodial arrest inci-
dent to a traffic infraction there may
be a subsequent full search of the
arrestee, is inapplicable. Since the
search and seizure in this case were

-12

not made incident to a lawful arrest,

the police officers were subject to

the limitations placed by T v. Ohio,
392 U.S. 1 (1968) on searches tsaca on
less than probable cause. The clear
holding of Terry v. Ohio , ibid, is that
"“‘when an officer is justified in believing
that the individual whose suspicious
behavior he is investigating at close
range is armed and presently dangerous

to the officers or to others,’ he may
conduct a limited protective search for
concealed weapons." Adams v. Williams,

407 U.S. 143, 146 (1972), citing Terry
v. Ohio, supra at 24. :

In this case both officers testified
that they did not believe Petitioner was
dangerous and that they did not fear hin.
They also did not know he was armed.

Thus there is nothing in the record to
indicate that even the minimal standards
of Terry were met. The police had
initialty exceeded their authority in
searching Petitioner inside the vehicle.
They subsequently exceeded their authority
in conducting a full body search outside
the vehicle when they did not believe

he was armed and dangerous. In essence

a search and seizure were performed w.ich
were within the purview of the Fourth
Amendment, see , Supra at 16; and
which were not w any of its narrowly
drawn exceptions.

If the decision of the Court of
Appeals is permitted to stand Petitioner's
"freedom from unconscionable invasions of
privacy, and the freedom from convictions
based upon coerced confessions," Mage Vv.
Qhio, 367 U.S. 643, 657 (1961)
irreparably damaged. The decision authorizes
police conduct that is in no way consonant

13

with “the purpose of the exclusionary rule
which ‘is to deter - to compel respect for
the constitutional guaranty in the only
effectively available way - by removing
the incentive to disregard it.'" Mapp v.
Ohio, ibid, at 656, citing Elkins v.
United States, 364 U.S. 206, 217 (19560).
Consequently, this Court should grant
certiorari in order to reassert the
fundamental Fourth Amendment rights
Petitioner has been denied.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this
Petition for Writ of Certiorari should

be granted.
fae o E

- MAHER
630 Centran Building
Akron, Ohio 44308

Attorney for Petitioner
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this 27th
day of October, 1977, three copies of
this Petition for Writ of Certiorari
were mailed to Carl M. Layman III,
Assistant Summit County Prosecuting
Attorney, 53 East Center Street,

Akron, Ohio, 44308. I further certify
that all parties required to be served
have been served.

Meh £3 Make

APPENDIX A

STATE OF OHIO ) IN THE COURT OF APPEALS
) NINTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT
SUMMIT COUNTY ) (January Term, 1977)

STATE OF OHIO )
Plaintiff-Appellee ) C. A. No 8211
)
Vv. ) APPEAL FROM JUDGMENT
) ENTERED IN THE COURT
JOHN GUYTON )OF COMMON PLEAS OF

Defendant-Appellant) SUMMIT COUNTY, OHIO
CASE NO. 76 1 118

DECISION AND JOURNAL ENTRY ;

Dated : February 2, 1977

This cause was heard December 15,
1976, upon the record in the trial court,
including the transcript of proceedings,
and the briefs. It was argued by counsel
for the parties and submitted to the
court. We have reviewed each assignment
of error and make the following disposition:

HUNSICKER, J.

On June 23, 1976, the defendant-
appellant, John Guyton, entered a plea
of no contest to an indictment for —
“carrying concealed weapon” and “having
weapon while under disability." The trial
court, after hearing the statements of
counsel and based on the facts of the
case as found by the court, sentenced
Guyton to Chillicothe Correctional
Institute. The sentence was ordered held
in abeyance pending an appeal.

15

Prior to the plea of no contest, a
motion to suppress evidence was filed.
This motion alleged that the search of
the Guyton automobile was unlawful, the
search of the person of Mr. Guyton was
unlawful, the physical evidence including
a loaded .38 caliber revolver was obtained
as a result of the illegal. arrest and all
fruits of the search incident to the
arrest of Mr. Guyton must be suppressed.
The motion to suppress was overruled and
the no contest plea followed.

On appeal to this court, the appell-
ant says:

"1. The trial court erred in over-
ruling the Motions to Suppress Evidence
seized after a warrantless search which
was totally lacking in probable capse
which search might even had been made
in good faith, but where there were no
exigent or emergency circumstances, and
when said search was made prior to any
arrest.

"2. The trial court, based on the
above proposition, erred when he over-
ruled the Motions to Suppress Evidence
seized after a routine search of a motor-
ists (sic) person, and a subsequent
arrest for two other non-related traffic
offenses, includinc a weapon, unless the
Officer or Officers have probable cause for
believing ne is armsd and dangerous.

"3. The trial court, based on the
proposition in Assignment of Error No. l,
erred when he overruled the Motions to
Suppress Evidence seized from Defendant-
appellant and from a given ‘area,* to wit:
the inside of Defendant-appellant's motor

16

vehicle, which he seeks to preserve as
private, even though said ‘area’ may be
accessible to the public, and thus should
be constitutionally protected, inasmuch
as the Fourth Amendment protects people,
not places.

"4. The trial court, based on the
proposition in Assignment of Error No. l,
erred when he overruled the Motions to
Suppress Evidence, where the Exclusionary
Rule covering evidence obtained by an
illegal search and seizure, should have
been followed, as there were none of the
judicially recognized exceptions to the
Rule, ***,."

The entire basis of the appeal and the
assigned claimed errors raised the
question of the validity of search and
seizure in this case. We shall discuss
together the assigned errors.

On December 14, 1975, John Guyton,
was found slumped over the steering
wheel of his automobile by two Akron
Police Officers who came to the location
at the request of their dispatch officer.
The officers said it was 8:55 P.M.; the
Guyton automobile was parked in the
opposite direction to traffic on the left
side of the street; the lights of the
vehicle were lit, and the engine was
running. The officers with some effort
awakened Guyton. While awakening Guyton,
one officer noticed he had a gun holster
fastened to his belt. They also noticed
Guyton, before alighting from the auto-
mobile “was moving his hand around by
his right leg, couldn't see nothing in
there at that time.” The officers said
they had their guns drawn at that time
as a safety precaution. The officers on

17

patting Mr. Guyton down found the loaded
-38 caliber revolver mentioned above.

The officers said that, as soon as
Mr. Guyton got out of the automobile, they
arrested him for intoxication. The offense
with which he was ultimately charged is
"C.C.W,” that is carrying a concealed
weapon. Counsel for the defense ques-
tioned the officers as to the time when
the arrest for intoxication took place,
before or after the arrest for carrying
a concealed weapon. Defense counsel
agrees that if the first arrest was for
the offense of operating a motor vehicle
under the influence of alcohol of which
Mr. Guyton was guilty, then search and
seizure was lawful. There apparently was
no great time period between the first
and second arrest, whichever came first.
It was all a part of the transaction of
investigating a suspicious vehicle parked
unlawfully on a public highway with an
incapacitated occupant under the steering
wheel

Mr. Guyton operated a Sunoco gas-
Cline station. On the night of Sunday,
December 14, 1975, he testified that he
took the receipts from his business to a
bank where he could deposit it. He said
he went to the Clark gas station on Copley
Road, Akron, Ohio to buy cigarettes, then
went to the V.F.W. Club. He did not
take the gun he carried to the bank, into
the club but hid it in his automobile.

He drank a few drinks then drove his
automobile “down Copley Road." Mr. Guyton
said he is a diabetic and when he felt
"strange in the head," he pulled over and
stopped. The police came and the events
detailed above took place. Mr. Guyton
said the revolver was in the automobile
between a console of his 1964 Thunderbird

18

and the seat. Mr. Guyton said it was at
this hiding place where the police found
the revolver; “he police said they took it
from his pock.t.

Under the facts of this case as found
by the trial judge, based on the evidence
submitted to him, were the officers just-
ified in taking the action which they did
in conducting a “search and seizure” of
Mr. Guyton's gun?

We are impressed by the excellent
opinion written by Judge Sherer of the
Second Appellate District in State v.
Call, 8 Ohio App. 2d 277. We see no need
to again repeat the exhaustive survey of
Federal cases set out in that opinion. In
the Call case, the arrest was for a
traffic violation and no complications.

In the instant case, there was a traffic
violation with other features. Did a
vehicle parked against oncoming traffic,
its lights on, motor running and the driver
slumped over the steering wheel, present
an amergency situation? We belive it

did. The officers did not know if the
driver of the vehicle was ill, dead,
suffering seizure or from what cause. It
could be false action by a dangerous
person. The officers had a duty to be
careful and use caution to protect

Mr. Guyton, a large man physically, and to
protect tnemselves.

When Mr. Guyton was in the vehicle,
one officer saw the holster and when
Mr. Guyton was patted down, the gun was
found in the pocket of the appellant.
The situation is neither the Call case
nor the case of State v. McCray, 46 Ohio
App. 2d 106 (1975).

19

This court has examined the authorities
concerning search and seizure under
emergency conditions in State v. Love,
Summit #7631 (9th Dist. Ct. App., April 30,
1975). We adopt herein the conclusion of
that case on that subject. We deem the
situation as it existed at the time the
officers responded to the call "4" to be
an emergency. The conduct of the officers
was neither improper nor unreasonable.

The judgment is affirmed.

The court finds that there were
reasonable grounds for this appeal.

We order that a specia-. fate,
directing the Court of Common Pleas to
carry this judgment into execution, shall
issue out of this court. A certified copy
of the journal entry shall constitute
the mandate, pursuant to App. R. 27.

Immediately upon the filing hereof,
this document shall constitute the journal
entry of judgment, and it shall be file
stamped by the Clerk of the Court of
Appeals, at which time the period for
review shall begin to run. App. R. 22(E).

Costs taxed to appellant.

Exceptions.

s/ William H. Victor
eens gudve
MAHONEY, P. J. AND - for the Court -
HARVEY, J. CONCUR.

(Hunsicker, J., retired Judge of the Ninth
District Court of Appeals, and Harvey, J.,

20

retired Judge of the Court of Common Pleas
of Summit County, sitting by assignment
under the authority of Article IV, Section
6(C), Constitution).

APPEARANCES :

- GABALAC, (Frederick L. Zuch,
Asst. Prosecutor), City-County Safety
Building, 53 E. Center St., Akron, Ohio

44308 for Plaintiff-Appellee.
rney a W,

. ,
Centran Building, Akron, Ohio 44308 for
Defendant-Appellant

21

APPENDIX B

THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO
1977 TERM
THE STATE OF OHIO )To wit: June 30, 1977
City of Columbus )

State of Ohio
Appellee,

No. 77-369
APPEAL FROM THE COURT

)
)
)
vs. )
) OF APPEALS
John Guyton, )

Appellant. ) for Summit County

This cause, here on appeal as of
right from the Court of Appeals for
Summit County, was heard in the manner
prescribed by law, and, no motion to
dismiss such appeal having been filed,
the Court sua sponte dismisses the
appeal for the reason that no substan-
tial constitutional question exists
herein.

It is further ordered that a copy
of this entry be certified to the Clerk
of the Court of Appeals for Summit County
for entry.

I, Thomas L. Startzman, Clerk of the
Supreme Court of Ohio, certify that the
foregoing entry was correctly copied from
the Journal of this Court.

Witness my hand and seal of the Court
this day of , 1977

Clerk

Deputy

22

APPENDIX C
THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF OHIO
1977 TERM
THE STATE OF OHIO )To wit: June 30, 1977
City of Columbus )

State of Ohio, )
Appellee, ) No. 77-369
a FOR LEAVE TO APPEAL
vs.
) FROM THE COURT OF APPEALS
John Guyton, )
Appellant. ) for Summit County

It is ordered by the Court that
this motion is overruled.

COSTS:

Motion Fee, $20.00 paid by Ralph B.
Maher.

I, Thomas L. Startzman, Clerk of
the Supreme Court of Ohio, certify
that the foregoing entry was correctly
copied from the Journal of this Court.

Witness my hand and the seal of this Court
this day of 1977

Clerk

Deputy

23

APPENDIX D

IN THE COURT OF THE COMMON PLEAS
SUMMIT COUNTY, OHIO

THE STATE OF OHIO)
Plaintiff ) CASE NO. 76 1 118

)

-vs- ) ASSGND. JUDGE:
) SAM H. BELL
JOHN GUYTON )
Defendant ) MOTION TO

SUPPRESS EVIDENCE

Now comes the defendant, John
Guyton, and respectfully moves the
Court to suppress all evidence seized as
a result of a search of his person and/
or automobile at or near 1110 Juneau
Street, Akron, Ohio, on the 14th day
of December, 1975.

As grounds for this motion, Defend-
ant states: .

1. Any physical evidence, including
a weapon, obtained as a result of the
search and seizure of his person and auto-
mobile was obtained as a result of an
illegal search and seizure and, there-
fore, unlawful.

2. Any physical evidence, including
a weapon, obtained as a result of the
search and seizure of his person and
automobile was obtained as a result of
an illegal arrest and, therefore, unlaw-
ful.

3. The search of Defendant's person
and automobile was illegal and all fruits
of the search incident to the arrest must
be suppressed.

24

4. Petitioner-Defendant states
that the physical evidence, including any
weapon, was seized from him against his
will and without search warrant in
violation of his rights and in violation
of Article 1, Section 14, Constitution of
the State of Ohio and the Fourth Amend-
ment and the Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States.

5. For such other reasons as may
appear upon oral Hearing of this Motion.

Evidentiary Hearing Requested.

Memorandum attached pursuant to

Rule 47 of the Ohio Rules of Criminal
Procedure. *

Respectfully submitted,

titra 3 MAHER Attorney

for Defendant, John Guyton
630 Centran Building
Akron, Ohio 44308

Phone: 434-6186/762-8691

PROOF OF SERVICE

The above Motion to Suppress Evi-
dence was sent by regular United States
mail to Lawrence W. Vuillemin, Assist-
ant Prosecuting Attorney for Summit
County, Ohio, this 3rd day of June, 1976.

Pp ° er, Attorney

for Defendant

*In order to avoid any conflict
with Rule 23.3 of the Supreme Court of

25

the United States, the memorandum originally
attached to the motion to suppress is not
included in this appendix.

26

APPENDIX E

THE STATE OF OHIO ) COURT OF THE
Summit County ss: ) COMMON PLEAS
THE STATE OF OHIO May Term, 1976

vs. No. CR 76 1 118

~—_S— Sl

JOHN GUYTON JOURNAL ENTRY
THIS DAY, to wit: The 22nd day of
June A.D., 1976, this cause came on for
further hearing on the Defendant's Motion,
filed herein by and through his counsel,
RALPH B. MAHER, for an order to Suppress,
said hearing having commenced on June 21,
1976. After hearing testimony of witnesses
and statements of counsel and upon due
consideration of the Court, IT IS HEREBY
ORDERED that said Motion be OVERRULED.

AND THIS SAME DAY, to wit: The
22nd day of June A.D., 1976, the Defend-
ant again appeared before this Court with
his counsel and was fully advised of his
Constitutional rights and his rights as
required under Rule 11 of the Ohio
Criminal Rules of Procedure.

Thereupon, the Defendant retracts
his plea of Not Guilty heretofore entered
and, for plea to said Indictment, says he
pleads "NO CONTEST” and the Court, after
hearing statements of counsel and based
upon the facts as found by this Court,
finds the Defendant GUILTY as charged in
Count Number One (1) and Count Number
Two (2) of the Indictment.

Whereupon, the Court inquired of the
said Defendant if he had anything to say
why judgment should no’ be pronounced

*
.

27

against him; and having nothing to say
but what he had already said and showing
no good and sufficient cause why jucjment
should not be pronounced:

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED AND AD-
JUDGED BY THE COURT that the Defendant,
JOHN GUYTON, be imprisoned and confined
in the CHILLICOTHE CORRECTIONAL INSTITUTE
at Chillicothe, Ohio, for an indeterminate
period of not less than ONE (1) YEAR and
not more than TEN (10) YEARS for punish-
ment of the crime of CARRYING A CONCEALED
WEAPON, Ohio Revised Code Section 2923.12,
a felony of the third (3rd) degree, and
for an indeterminate period of not less
than ONE(1) Year and not more than the
maximum of FIVE (5) YEARS for punishment
of the crime of HAVING A
WEAPON WHILE UNDER DISABILITY, Ohio
Revised Code Section 2923.13, a felony
of the fourth (4th) degree, and that he
pay the costs of this prosecution for
which execution is hereby awarded; said
monies to be paid to the Summit County
Clerk of Courts, Court House, Akron, Ohio,
44308.

THEREUPON, the Court informed the
Defendant of his right to appeal pursuant
to Rule 32 (A) (2), Criminal Rules of
Procedure, Ohio Supreme Court, and further
ordered that the sentence imposed herein
be held in abeyance and the same bond be
continued pending said appeal.

APPROVED:
June 22, 1976

SAM H. BELL, Judge
Court of Common Pleas
Summit County, Ohio

28

cc: Attorney Ralph B. Maher
Booking Desk
Witness Assistance
Prosecuting Attorney

29

APPENDIX F

PROPOSITIONS OF LAW FILED IN
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

PROPOSITION OF LAW NUMBER 1

A warrantless unreasonable search
and seizure, which were totally lacking
in probable cause, which search and seizure
might even have been made in good faith,
but where there were no exigent nor
emergency circumstances, and when said
search and seizure made prior to any
arrest are illegal, and any evidence no
matter how reliable, acquired as a result
of an unreasonable search must be
suppressed. A routine search of a
motorist's person, and a subsequent
arrest for two other non-related traffic
offenses, including a weapon, unless the
Officer or Officers have probable cause
for believing the Defendant is armed and -
dangerous, result in any evidence seized
being excluded and inadmissible.

PROPOSITION OF LAW NUMBER 2

The Exclusionary Rule covering
evidence obtained by an illegal search
and seizure, should have been followed,
as there were none of the judicially
recognized exceptions to the Rule,
including, but not limited to the
following:

(a) A search incident to a lawful
arrest;

(b) The stop and frisk doctrine;

(c) Hot pursuant;

30

(ad) Consent by the Defendant-
Appellant;

(e) The plain-view doctrine;

(£) Emergency Searches where cru-
cial evidence might be lost or
destroyed;

(g) Contraband;

(h) Mail searches;

(i) Moving vehicles;

(j) Goods in the course of transit;
(k) Health and safety inspections;
(1) Instrumentalities of crime;
(m) Fruits of crime;

(n) A crime having heen committed,
being committed or about to be
committed;

(o) Any other criminal activity;
(p) Etc.

PROPOSITION OF LAW NUMBER 3

It is a violation of Fourth Amend-
ment rights if the conduct of Government
Agents violates the privacy upon which
an individual justifiably relies. The
Fourth Amendment guarantees protection
against unreasonable searches and seizures.
There has been a determination of con-
stitutionally protected areas, including
but not limited to, homes, taxicabs, and
automobiles. Without probable cause for

31

arrest and without a Warrant for search

and arrest, all evidence seized from the
Defendant-Appellant, and from a given
"area", to wit: The inside of Defendant-
Appellant's automobile, which he sought
to preserve as private, even though said
"area" may be accessible to the public,
should be constitutionally protected.

The Fourth Amendment protects people, not
places, and such evidence must be excluded
and inadmisz7ible.

32

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2746%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
