# Opposition — United States v. New Mexico

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2736%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 438 U.S. 696

## Text

No. 77-610

Su the Supreme Court of the Hnited States
Octoser TERM, 1977

Don B. HARDING, PETITIONER
v.

UnitTeD STATES OF AMERICA

_ ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
* THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN- OPPOSITION

Wave H. McCree, Jr.,
‘Solicitor General, .

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI, .
Assistant. Attorney General,

JEROME M: Fert,

WILLIAM C: Brown,
Attorneys, ~

Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

~~ . “

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-610
Don B. HARDING, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STAi ES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-A15) is
reported at 563 F. 2d 299.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A-16 to
A-17) was entered cn September 29, 1977. The petition fora
writ of certiorari was filed on October 26, 1977. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether petitioner's extortionate conduct was shown to
have affected interstate commerce within the meaning of the
Hobbs Act.

(1)

2

STATEMENT

Following a non-jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Western District of Tennessee, petitioner was
convicted of two counts of attempting to affect interstate
commerce by means of extortion, in violation of the Hobbs
Act, 18 U.S.C. 1951. He was sentenced to concurrent terms
of six months’ imprisonment and two years’ probation on
each count and was fined $1,000 on each count (Pet. 5). The
court of appeals affirmed in a comprehensive opinion (Pet.
App. A-I to A-15).

From August 1975 through April 1976, petitioner served
as the executive director of the Tennessee Real Estate
Commission, the state agency that administers the qualify-
ing examination for real estate brokers (App. 25-30, 107).!
The evidence at trial established that during his tenure as
executive director petitioner conducted an ongoing scheme
to extort money from applicants for broker’s licenses in
exchange for improperly providing them with examinatiof:
questions and answers prior to the test (Pet. App. A-2; App.
104-124, 175-177).

Petitioner’s attempt to extort money from two of these
applicants, Brenda Kaye Johnson and Donald Nasca,
formed the basis for the two counts of the indictment. In
February 1976, petitioner met with Johnson, who had just
failed in her third attempt to pass the examination, and
suggested that he could sell her a copy of the questions and
answers to the upcoming examination (Pet. App. A-2).
Johnson agreed, but then reported the incident to agents of
the FBI, who enlisted her aid in investigating petitioner’s
activities. At a subsequent meeting, petitioner delivered the

“App.” refers to the appendix filed by petitioner in the court of
appeals.

3

exam answers to Johnson in exchange for $300 that had
been provided by the FBI (ibid.). The FBI also asked
Donald Nasca, who had twice failed the examination, to
assist in the investigation. Nasca agreed to cooperate, and
he, like Johnson, sent petitioner a letter requesting
assistance in passing the examination (ibid.). Petitioner
responded by offering to sell Nasca a copy of the exam, and
in April 1976 Nasca paid petitioner $300 for the exam
(ibid.). Both Nasca and Johnson tape recorded the meetings
at which they paid petitioner for the examinations (ibid.).

ARGUMENT

In Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212, 215, this
Court observed that the broad language of the Hobbs
Act, 18 U.S.C. 1951—which proscribes extortion affecting
commerce “in any way or degree”—manifests Congress’
intention to use the full extent of its constitutional power
to punish interference with interstate commerce by
extortion, robbery, or physical violence. Against this
background, the courts of appeals have consistently ruled
that only a minimal effect on interstate commerce need be
shown to meet the jurisdictional requirement of the Act.
See, e.g., United States v. Hathaway, 534 F. 2d 386(C.A.
1), certiorari denied, 429 U.S. 819; United States v.
Mazzei, 521 F. 2d 639 (C.A. 3), certiorari denied, 423
U.S. 1014; United States v. DeMet, 486 F. 2d 816, 822
(C.A. 7), certiorari denied, 416 U.S. 969.

Petitioner contends that the court of appeals erred in
finding that even a minimal effect on interstate commerce
resulted from his conduct because the sale of real estate
and the licensing of brokers is solely a matter of state—
not federal—concern.

However, as the court of appeals correctly concluded
(Pet. App. A-5), at least the necessary de minimis effect on
commerce was established. The government introduced
evidence that real estate transactions handled by Tennessee

4

brokers frequently involve purchasers from other states,
including business and commercial investors, that
Tennessee brokers advertise real estate in other states, and
frequently make long distance telephone calls in the course
of business (App. 160-163). One witness testified that
brokers often make use of the Inter-Community Relocation
Service, which involves real estate companies in every city in
the country, and that at least half of the business done by his
firm involved people moving to and from other states (App.
158-164). Indeed, this Court has recognized the interstate
nature of real estate transactions, Goldfarb v. Virginia State
Bar, 421 U.S. 773, 783-785, and Congress has specifically
provided for federal regulation of certain land sales in the
Interstate Land Sales Full Disclosure Act, 82 Stat. 590, as
amended, 15 U.S.C. 1701 et seqg.?

Accordingly, the court of appeals did not err in
concluding that petitioner’s scheme to extort money from
persons who sought to enter the real estate business—but
were unable to pass the state licensing test—affected
interstate commerce.3

2Although, as petitioner emphasizes (Pet. 9-10), the State of
Tennessee regulates the licensing of real estate brokers and the sale of
real estate within the State, this in no way displaces the federal
legislation intended to bar extortion affecting interstate commerce.
Petitioner’s reliance in this connection on Robertson v. California,
328 U.S. 440, is misplaced. Robertson holds that under certain
circumstances, and where Congress has not acted to the contrary,
states may regulate activities of importance to the local community
even if that activity affects interstate commerce. Robertson does not
purport to limit the power of the federal government to act to
regulate activities affecting commerce, and, of course, nothing in the
Hobbs Act prevents the State of Tennessee from regulating real estate
brokerage within its borders.

‘Petitioner directs much of his argument against the rationale of
the decision in United States v. Staszcuk, 517 F. 2d 53, 60 (C.A. 7),
certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 837, which held that the jurisdictional
element of the Hobbs Act could be satisfied by showing that at the

cn —C—CtiC(;(....CCN.Ut.____ti#._é(#4é4iw4.4..#eoeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

te

CONCLUSION

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition fora
writ of certiorari should be denied.

Wape H. McCree, Jr..
Solicitor General.

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General.

JEROME M. FEIT,
WILLIAM C. Brown,
Attorneys.

JANUARY 1978.

time of the extortionate transaction there existed a “realistic
probability” that commerce would be affected, although the
completed transaction did not affect commerce. Since the transac-
tions here did have an effect on interstate commerce, Staszcuk is
distinguishable, and its rationale is not at issue in this case. To the
extent that petitioner suggests that his scheme did not actually affect
commerce because the FBi intervened and no unqualified brokers
actually passed the exam, he ignores the fact that he was convicted
of attempting extortionate conduct affecting commerce, not of having
succeeded in his endeavors (see App. 190-196). In the case of an
attempt, the jurisdictional element is satisfied if it is established that,
if the criminal plan had been successfully implemented, its natural
and probable consequences would have included an effect on
commerce. See United States v. Gupton, 495 F. 2d 550 (C.A. 5);
Anderson v. United States, 262 F. 2d 764, 769-770 (C.A. 8); Hulahan
v. United States, 214 F. 2d 441 (C.A. 8). That test was clearly met
here.

‘Petitioner does not raise, and this case does not present, the question
now pending before this Court in United States v. Culbert, No. 77-142.
certiorari granted October 3. 1977, /.e., whether conduct within the plain
language of the Hobbs Act is nonetheless not proscribed by that Act
unless it is also proven to constitute racketeering. The court of appeals
held (Pet. App. A-13 to A-14) that petitioner's conduct constituted
racketeering, because “[t]he concept of racketeering * * * has long been
understood to include the obtaining of property under color of official
right * * *.”

DOJ-1977-12

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2736%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
