# Opposition — Edwards v. New York Times Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2703%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 1002

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED |
NOV 18 1977 |
MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
No. 77-576

J. Gorpon Epwarps, Pu.D., THomas H. Juxes, Px.D.,
Rosert H. Wauire-Strevens, Px.D.,

Petitioners,
v.

Tue New York Times Company and Routanp C. CLEMENT,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT
THE NEW YORK TIMES COMPANY IN OPPOSITION

FiLoyp ABRAMS
Evucene R. ScHEman
Ruts D. MacNavenuton
Canmt Gorpon & Rerpen
Counsel for Respondent
The New York Times Company
80 Pine Street
New York, New York 10005

November 18, 1977

INDEX

PAGE
ND TINY cenntnnnsseccsnnneneniicimeiniimianmetnintelannnacteniinmnnnts 1
I | cernsctnctnsegentninnninn — 2
Question Presented ......................... siathdhahatisininisdiasdaleniiin 2
Constitutional Provisions Involved ...........................--+---- 2
Statement of the Case ........................ - i
I cchsiniiisstisininesnisirctinnsesiisaniitpimiicicsciitiadesusinitaiisiniibuaiidials 9
SETEIIIIIR cevisinicsntiensienciohaines 15

TasLe or CrraTions
Cases:

Bandelin v. Pietsch, 98 Idaho 337, 563 P.2d 395 (1977),
cert. denied, 46 U.S.L.W. 3238 (U.S. October 11,
—___, GRRREERSAR SESE eve own ote Ts salcalinaalii 13

Campo -. Paar, 18 App.Div.2d 364, 239 N.Y.S.2d 4
(1st Dep’t 1963) -....... sain =. 10n

Hotchner v. Castillo-Puche, 551 F.2d 910 (2d Cir.),
cert. denied, 46 U.S.L.W. 3216 (U.S. October 3,
USTED sinsiieiciccidingsiisshlisdciaitpliindinitnasiiinanibscanaetiitediiibatedbeniaitiiaiiiiaes 13

Kapiloff v. Dunn, 27 Md. App. 514, 343 A.2d 251 (Ct.
Spec. App. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 907 (1976) .... 13

Medina v. Time, Inc., 439 F.2d 1129 (1st Cir. 1971) —.. 11

ii
PAGE

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254
RRR SE EST DR DE ne RAT 6, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 14n
Novel v, Garrison, 338 F.Supp. 977 (N.D. Ill. 1971) ... 12

Oliver v. Village Voice, Inc., 417 F.Supp. 235 (S.D.N.Y.

SPOT. bicsdittasdhealh cestidiecbithsiceinapiliadecnpeariboniarsciesnicllieariplititcii itis 12
Roberts v. Breckon, 31 App.Div. 431, 52 N.Y.S. 638

I ia 10n
St. Amant v. Thompson, 390 U.S. 727 (1968) ............... 13

Seroff v. Simon & Schuster, Inc., 6 Mise.2d 383, 162
N.Y.S.2d 770 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co. 1957), aff’d, 12 App.
Div.2d 475, 210 N.Y.S.2d 479 (1st Dep’t 1960), app.
denied, 12 App.Div.2d 755, 210 N.Y.S.2d 1000 (1st

REET Ie TIRES IE a CE 9n-10n
Storch v. Gordon, 23 Mise.2d 477, 197 N.Y.S.2d 309

I, 10n
Thuma v. Hearst Corp., 340 F.Supp. 867 (D.Md.

ID iestesecipndiphicdaatlchcn inden lia aictcisesihtliteanhiciibebe 12
Time Inc. v. Pape, 401 U.S. 279 (1971) 0000000... 10, 11, 12

Vandenburg v. Newsweek, Inc., 507 F.2d 1024 (5th
REERERER RSG EA OA A eC ae A ape 12,14

Other Authorities:
Judicial Code

ae Gees ee Ce 2

ae Uae eee Coere? oo. 6
U.S. Const.

eet ieceieisdleehiitieidainsebiaclactennsimnetdeitertciaeheloidainiakimias passim

| EET I Sa eae Ie 2

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 77-576

J. Gorpvon Epwarps, Px.D., THomas H. Juxes, Px.D.,
Rosert H. Wuirte-Srevens, Px.D.,

Petitioners,
v.

Tue New York Times Company and Rouanp C, CLEMENT,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT
THE NEW YORK TIMES COMPANY IN OPPOSITION

*-

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Second
Cireuit (App. A of Petition) is reported at 556 F.2d 113.
The opinion of the District Court (App. C of Petition)
denying the motion for judgment n.o.v. of defendant The
New York Times Company (the “Times”) is reported at
423 F. Supp. 516. The opinion of the District Court (App.
B of Petition) denying the motion of defendant Roland C.
Clement for judgment n.0.v. is unreported. The opinion of
the District Court denying motions by the Times, Clement
and certain other defendants for summary judgment after
reargument of a prior order denying summary judgment is
reported at 411 F.Supp. 744 and not appended to the
Petition.*

*The Petition (p. 2) inaccurately states that the opinion re-
ported at 411 F.Supp. 744 is reproduced as Appendix D.

Jurisdiction

Petitioners assert jurisdiction of this Court arises under
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (1970).

Question Presented

Whether the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit correctly held that a libel judgment against
the Times for accurately reporting charges made by the
National Audubon Society against public figure plaintiffs
was impermissible under the First Amendment to the
United States Constitution, and, in any event, unsupported
by the clear and convincing proof needed to sustain a jury
verdict of actual malice.

Constitutional Provisions Involved

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution
provides :

“Congress shall make no law respecting an- estab-
lishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise
thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech or of the
press; or the right of the people peaceably to assem-
ble, and to petition the Government for a redress of
grievances.”

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution provides, in pertinent part as follows:

“Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof,
are citizens of the United States and of the State
wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the privileges or immu-
nities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any

3

State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor deny to any person
within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the
laws.”

Statement of the Case

This case arises out of the accurate reporting by the
Times of accusations made by officials of the National
Audubon Society, Inc. (“Audubon”) against five scientists,
three of whom commenced this action. The accusations
were made in the miast of the heated national debate over
the use of DDT and its possible effect on bird life in which
the plaintiffs and Audubon were—and are—opponents.*
In the context of that debate, Audubon accused the plain-
tiffs of being, in effect, paid liars, an accusation reported
by the Times, together with denials by those accused.

With a single excepton, the facts of this action as they
relate to the Times have essentially been undisputed from
the outset. In late July or early August, 1972, the Fore-
word to the April 1972 issue of Audubon’s quarterly pub-
lication, American Birds, came to the attention of John
Devlin, Sr., a Times reporter who had often written on
nature subjects. The Foreword denounced the use being
made of Audubon’s bird count data by some proponents

* Audubon actively supported a ban on the use of DDT which
was ordered by the Environmental Protection Agency two months
before the publication of the Times article at issue in this litigation.
The plaintiffs vigorously opposed the ban and organizations that
advocated it. As the Court of Appeals noted, at times the DDT
controversy in which “fundamental questions of value” were at
stake, “exceeded the limits of temperance and good manners.” (556
F.2d at 116, App. A of Petition, p. 4A) For example, referring
to Audubon’s opposition to DDT, petitioner Dr. J. Gordon Edwards
wrote to the Editor of the Audubon Magazine on February 17,
1970 that “T still find it incredible that the Audubon Society leaders
persist in their heavily-financed de facto murder plot against the
human race... .”

4

of DDT, and accused them of making “false and mislead-
ing” statements and of distorting “the facts for the most
self-serving of reasons.” It concluded as follows:

“With increased local coverage by the press of
Christmas Bird Count activities, it is important that
Count spokesmen reiterate the simple and truthful
fact that what we are seeing is result of not more birds,
but more birders. Any time you hear a ‘scientist’ say
the opposite, you are in the presence of someone who
is being paid to lie, or is parroting something he
knows little about.” (emphasis in original)

Believing the charges to be newsworthy, Devlin tele-
phoned Robert S. Arbib, Jr. the Audubon editor who had
signed the Foreword, and asked Arbib to identify the
unnamed persons he referred to in the Foreword as paid
liars. (Tr. 65-68, 434-35)* Arbib, after initially declining
to provide any names, passed on Devlin’s inquiry to
Roland C. Clement, Vice President of the Audubon Society
and a respondent herein, who gave Arbib a written
critique of the pro-DDT views of five scientists he had
prepared for publication. (Tr. 438, 501) Arbib then
furnished Devlin with five names drawn from Clement’s
article, including the names of petitioners Dr. J. Gordon
Edwards, Dr. Thomas H. Jukes and Dr. Robert H. White-
Stevens. (Tr. 441)** What was said at this time later was
disputed by Devlin and Arbib, in the one factual contro-
versy that arose in this litigation with respect to the
Times. Arbib testified that when he gave Devlin the
scientists’ names, he specifically cautioned the reporter

* References are to page numbers of the Joint Appendix filed
with the Court of Appeals.

** Arbib, in his testimony, disclaimed knowledge when he wrote
the Foreword of any particular scientists to whom the Foreword
related. (Tr. 444)

4)

that the named individuals were to be referred to as
misusers of Audubon data, not as persons who were paid
to lie. (Tr. 440) Devlin denied receiving any such warning.
(Tr. 133-34)

After his interview with Arbib, Devlin attempted to
reach the scientists who had been named by the Audubon
editor, and was successful in contacting three of them. He
spoke with Dr. White-Stevens and Dr. Jukes, who denied
the Audubon charges. (Tr. 164, 291-92) Both followed up
their conversations with Devlin by sending him letters
enclosing scientific literature on the DDT question. (795e-
970e, 689e-741e) Devlin also spoke with Dr. Donald A.
Spencer, who called the Audubon charges “almost libelous.”
(Tr. 75)

On August 14, 1972, the Times published, under the head-
line “Pesticide Spokesmen Accused of ‘Lying’ on Higher
Bird Count,” an article by Devlin concerning the Audubon
Foreword. The article quoted and discussed the Foreword,
named the five scientists who had been cited by Arbib in
his interview with Devlin and summarized the reactions
and denials of the scientists to the Audubon charges.

On the morning of the Times’ publication, Clement
drafted a letter to the Times, read it over the telephone to
Arbib who was out of town and sent it out over Arbib’s
signature. (Tr. 462-64, 504) The letter, which was not
published by the Times, referred to “Jack Devlin’s punchy
piece” and concluded with the following paragraph:

“Nor do we like to call people liars, but those who
have most consistently misused our data—Robert H.
White-Stevens of Rutgers University, Thomas H.
Jukes of the University of California, J. Gordon
Edwards of San Jose State College, Donald A. Spencer
of the National Agricultural Chemicals Association,
and more recently Nobel laureate Norman E. Borlaug

6

—certainly have had time to learn from our patient
explanations of their misinterpretations of our data
over the several years of the DDT controversy.”

Petitioners filed suit against the Times and Audubon in
April 1973, later joining Arbib and Clement as defendants.
As it relates to the Times, the complaint alleged that in
reporting the charges made by Audubon, the Times had
published defamatory falsehood about the plaintiffs with
malice. Counsel for plaintiffs conceded at trial that no
charge of actual malice in the sense of knowing falsity
had been made against the Times but rather the allegation
against the Times under the rule of New York Times Co. v.
Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964), “depends squarely upon the
second branch, that is, a reckless disregard as to whether
the matter was true or not.” (Tr. 407)*

Proceedings in the District Court

On January 23, 1976, the District Court, Hon. Charles M.
Metzner, U.S.D.J., ruled that Drs. Edwards, White-Stevens
and Jukes were public figures in the context of this action,**
and denied motions made by the various defendants for
summary judgment on the ground that triable issues of
fact had been raised in pretrial discovery. (App. D of Peti-
tion) When motions for reargument and certification of
that decision to the Court of Appeals under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1292(b) (1970) were made, Judge Metzner granted re-
argument but adhered to his prior ruling denying summary
judgment. (411 F.Supp. 744) His opinion with respect to
the Times (which also denied certification) was based in
its entirety on the existence of a single factual issue which

*The District Court later ruled, in denying the motion of the
Times for judgment n.o.v., that “[i]t cannot be said that the Times
knew that the statements in the story were false.” (423 F.Supp. at
519, App. C of Petition, p. 28A)

** This ruling was not thereafter challenged by plaintiffs.

7

was held to preclude the granting of summary judgment:
conflicting deposition testimony of Arbib and Devlin as to
what was said in the telephone conversation during which
Arbib furnished Devlin with the scientists’ names later
published by the Times. Judge Metzner concluded that
summary judgment could not be granted in the face of such
conflicting testimony, because:

“In essence, we are confronted with what may be called
a ‘one on one’ situation. If the finder of the fact
believes Arbib and disbelieves Devlin, then a jury
would be justified in finding plaintiffs have sustained
their burden of showing actual malice.” Id. at 746.

The action was then tried and on June 9, 1976, following
five days of trial, the jury returned a verdict against the
Times and Audubon defendant Clement. The jury awarded
compensatory damages against the Times and Clement
with respect to the Times article of August 14, 1972 in the
amounts of $21,000 to Dr. Edwards and $20,000 each to Dr.
Jukes and Dr. White-Stevens. An additional $1.00 in
compensatory damages was awarded to each plaintiff
against Clement with respect to his letter of August 14,
1972 to the Times. No punitive damages were awarded.

The Times and Clement filed motions for judgment not-
withstanding the verdict, both of which were denied in
separate opinions issued in December 1976 Ly Judge
Metzner. (423 F. Supp. 516, App. B and C of Petifion) In
his opinion as to the Times, Judge Metzner interpreted the
jury verdict against both the Times and Clement as reflect-
ing the jury’s belief that the Times accurately reported the
Clement-Audubon charges,* but cited the denials of the
scientists and the scientific material furnished to Devlin by
Drs. Jukes and White-Stevens in holding that the verdict
against the Times was supported by clear and convincing

* See note at pp. 9-10, infra.

8

proof that Devlin’s article was published with reckless dis-
regard of the truth. (423 F. Supp. at 519, App. C of Peti-
tion, pp. 26A-29A)

The Decision of the Court of Appeals

The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Second
Cireuit from which a writ of certiorari is now sought re-
versed the judgments against the Times and Clement and
dismissed the complaint. In an opinion by Chief Judge
Irving R. Kaufman writing for a unanimous panel (com-
prised, as well, of former Justice Tom C. Clark of this
Court and Judge William J. Jameson, Senior United States
District Judge for the District of Montana, sitting by
designation) the Court held that as libel law had developed
since New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, supra, the verdict
against the Times was constitutionally impermissible. In
so holding, the Court initially noted that

“Implicit in the jury’s verdict against Clement is the
finding, which we must accept, that the Times accu-
rately reported the five scientists whose names were
furnished by Arbib were the ‘paid liars’ referred to
in the Amercian Birds Foreword.” (556 F.2d at 120,
App. A of Petition, p. 13A)

The Court also observed that “Devlin reported Audubon’s
charges fairly and accurately,” without espousing the ac-
cusations themselves, and that he “published the maligned
scientists’ outraged reactions in the same article that con-
tained the Society’s attack.” (556 F.2d at 120, App. A of
Petition, p. 14A) In light of the protection afforded in the
case law to such reports of statements by third parties, the
Court concluded:

“We believe that the New York Times cannot, con-
sistently with the First Amendment, be afflicted with
a libel judgment for the accurate reporting of news-

9

worthy accusations made by a responsible and well-
noted organization like the National Audubon Society.”
(556 F.2d at 122, App. A of Petition, p. 19A)

The Court of Appeals further held that the evidence sub-
mitted at trial was “manifestly insufficient” to meet the
demanding standard of New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,
even absent special First Amendment protection for neu-
tral reportage. The Court rejected as a possible basis for
a finding of actual malice against the Times the denials by
the accused—which the Court noted are “commonplace in
the world of polemical charge and countercharge”—as well
as the “mass of materials” sent Devlin by the scientists
which were, in any event, “largely irrelevant to the Bird
Count controversy, and completely irrelevant to the as-
sertedly libelous accusations of the Audubon Society.”
(556 F.2d at 121, App. A of Petition, pp. 15A-16A)

Rehearing en banc was sought by petitioners and denied
on July 20, 1977. °

ARGUMENT

The essence of the jury finding in this case was—as the
District Court and the Court of Appeals both held—that
the Times had accurately reported that the five scientists
identified by Arbib were those referred to as paid liars in
the Audubon Foreword.* Given this factual finding, peti-

* Both courts were plainly correct on this point. If the jury had
believed otherwise, it could hardly have held against Clement with
respect to the Times article of August 14 since, plainly, to the extent
the Times printed information that Clement did not cause to be
furnished to it, or, alternatively, printed information which was
contrary im fact to that provided it as a result of Clement’s
efforts, there could have been no basis for finding Clement liable.
New York law has long held that when a second party distorts
information furnished it by another into a libel, the first party
bears no responsibility for the libel. Seroff v. Simon & Schuster,

10

tioners have utterly failed to cast doubt on the correctness
of the Court of Appeals’ holding that the libel judgment
against the Times was constitutionally impermissible—let
alone to set forth a basis for review by this Court of that
decision.

The holding of the Court of Appeals is entirely con-
sistent with case law since New York Times Co. v. Sullivan
affording protection to news reports describing (without
commenting on the truth of) newsworthy accusations made
against public figures. It is, in fact, based upon the ruling
of this Court in Time, Inc. v. Pape, 401 U.S. 279 (1971).
In that case this Court held that the omission of the word
“alleged” from a Time magazine article summarizing a
federal commission’s report on police brutality failed to
create a jury issue of actual malice, although the omission
was done knowingly and caused the article to convey an
erroneous impression that the commission had adopted as
fact the allegations of a complaint filed in federal court.
In the Court’s view, the belief of Time employees, even if
misguided, that their article fairly stated what the com-
mission had said, provided no basis for an inference by the
jury of actual malice. The Court held that, at most, defen-
dants had committed an error of editorial judgment in
adopting “one of a number of possible rational interpreta-

Inc., 6 Mise.2d 383, 391, 162 N.Y.S.2d 770, 777, 778 (Sup. Ct. N.Y.
Co. 1957), aff'd, 12 App.Div.2d 475, 210 N.Y.S.2d 479 (1st Dep’t
1960), app. denied, 12 App.Div.2d 755, 210 N.Y.S.2d 1000 (1st
Dep’t 1961). It has likewise been held that a person who gives a
defamatory statement to a newspaper which later prints it “is
responsible for any damage caused by the publication,” but only
“to the extent that the article represents an accurate statement”
of what he said. Campo v. Paar, 18 App.Div.2d 364, 367-68, 239
N.Y.S.2d 494, 498 (1st Dep’t 1963). See also, Storch v. Gordon,
23 Mise.2d 477, 479, 197 N.Y.S.2d 309, 312, 313 (Sup. Ct. Kings
Co. 1960) ; Roberts v. Breckon, 31 App.Div. 431, 433-34, 52 N.Y.S.
628, 640 (4th Dep’t 1898).

11

tions of a document that bristled with ambiguities.” (401
U.S. at 290)

The Court in Pape attached special significance to the
fact that the “news” element of the Time article there at
issue, like the Devlin article of August 14, 1972, was the
making of certain statements by a third party, which Time
itself had not endorsed or adopted. The Court recognized
that “a vast amount of what is published in the daily and
periodical press purports to be descriptive of what some-
body satd rather than of what anybody did.” (401 U.S. at
285 (emphasis in the original)) Noting that “(t]he ques-
tion of the ‘truth’ of such an indirect newspaper report
presents rather complicated problems”, the Court indicated
the need for special solicitude under the First Amendment
for newspaper reports recounting what others have said
without taking any independent position on the truth of
those statements. (401 U.S. at 286)

Since the Pape ruling, the principle that the accurate
reporting of charges against public figures made by reliable
sources must receive special First Amendment protection
has led a number of courts to afford just such protection.
While the Edwards ruling is the latest—and most thought-
ful—of these cases, it is consistent with all of them. Peti-
tioners have cited no cases to the contrary and we are aware
of none.

One prior ruling to the same effect as Edwards was that
of the Court of Appeals for the First Cireuit in Medina v.
Time, Inc., 439 F.2d 1129 (1st Cir. 1971) affirming a lower
court’s summary judgment for defendants. The challenged
story discussed the My Lai tragedy and carried charges
made by an independent party claiming that plaintiff had
killed a child. On appeal from summary judgment, plain-
tiff had argued that Time was liable for asserting the truth

12

of charges against the plaintiff contained in a statement
made to Time’s reporter and reprinted in Time’s story dis-
cussing the plaintiff. Finding that Time had merely re-
counted the charges without asserting their truth, the
Court held that, under Pape, no showing of actual malice
could be sustained.

Vandenburg v. Newsweek, Inc., 507 F.2d 1024 (5th Cir.
1975), similarly concludes that a publisher cannot, con-
sistently with the First Amendment, be held liable for re-
porting accusations made against a public figure by a
reliable source, even if the underlying charges reported
are later determined to be false. District Court cases with
similar holdings include Thuma v. Hearst Corp., 340
F.Supp. 867 (D.Md. 1972); Novel v. Garrison, 338 F.Supp.
977 (N.D.Ill. 1971); and Oliver v. Village Voice, Inc., 417
F.Supp. 235 (S.D.N.Y. 1976).

These cases, together with the Edwards decision, do no
more than reaffirm what we believe should be a self-evident
proposition—that the press must be free to report accusa-
tions such as those reported by the Times without bearing
the responsibility for their underlying truth. It should be
clear, for example, that if a candidate for the office of
Vice President of the United States makes defamatory
statements about a rival candidate, the press may freely
report them, regardless of the views of the journalists or
editors as to the truth of the charges. Of course, it is well
established, as the Court of Appeals recognized, that a
publisher may be held liable for reporting defamatory
charges that he “in fact espouses or concurs in... [or] de-
liberately distorts.” (556 F.2d at 120, App. A of Petition, p.
14A) But if, as here, the charges are reported fairly and
reasonably accurately, in the words of the Court of Appeals,
“(t]he public interest in being fully informed about con-
troversies that often rage around sensitive issues demands

13

that the press be afforded the freedom to report such
charges without assuming responsibility for them.” (556
F.2d at 120, App. A of Petition, p. 14A) The petition for
certiorari, having failed to cite a single case to support a
contrary result, let alone a single supportable policy rea-
son for such a result, provides no basis for review by this
Court.

The alternative holding of the Court of Appeals itself
suggests the undesirability of plenary review by this Court.
The determination that “[e]ven absent the special pro-
tection afforded to neutral reportage, . . . the evidence
adduced at trial was manifestly insufficient to demonstrate
‘actual malice’ on the part of the Times” * is precisely the
sort that this Court has frequently refrained from review-
ing. See, e.g., Bandelin v. Pietsch, 98 Idaho 337, 563 P.2d
395 (1977), cert. denied, 46 U.S.L.W. 3202 (U.S. October 11,
1977) ; Hotchner v. Castillo-Puche, 551 F.2d 910 (2d Cir.),
cert, denied, 46 U.S.L.W. 3216 (U.S. October 3, 1977);
Kapiloff v. Dunn, 27 Md. App. 514, 343 A.2d 251 (Ct. Spec.
App. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 907 (1976).

Moreover, the decision of the Court of Appeals as to
this issue was plainly correct. At the heart of the allega-
tions of reckless disregard made in the petition for
certiorari is the notion that having received denials of the
Audubon charges from the three scientists called by Devlin
and having received information from two of the scientists
setting forth their scientific positions, the Times should
not have printed the story without more investigation
and/or verification. But the law simply does not permit
reckless disregard to be so divined. In both New York
Times Co. v. Sullivan, supra, and St. Amant v. Thompson,
390 U.S. 727 (1968), the failure to engage in precisely such

* 556 F.2d at 120, App. A of Petition, p. 15A.

14

pre-publication investigations was held to be inadequate
as a matter of constitutional law to sustain findings of
liability. As this Court explained in Sullivan, evidence of
an inadequate investigation “supports at most a finding of
negligence in failing to discover the misstatements, and is
constitutionally insufficient to show the recklessness that is
required for a fin¢ing of actual malice.” (376 U.S. at 288)

Petitioners cite no authority to challenge the Court of
Appeals’ finding that the fact of the plaintiffs’ denials of
the Audubon charges was insufficient to support a verdict
against the Times. Apart from what we believe to be its
evident correctness, the Court of Appeals’ view that denials
from persons criticized are so common as to “hardly alert
the conscientious reporter to the likelihood of error,” much
less provide a basis for liability under the clear and con-
vincing proof standard of Sullivan, is entirely consistent
with cases such as Vandenburg v. Newsweek, Inc., supra.
Likewise, even if, as petitioners assert, the information on
DDT forwarded by the scientists to Devlin discussed
Audubon’s bird count data (Petition, p. 22), the Court of
Appeals’ finding is unrefuted that this information, being
“eompletely irrelevant” to the merits of the Audubon
charges, could not, consistently with Sullivan, conceivably
provide a basis for a judgment against the Times.*

* We do not deal in this brief with petitioners’ suggestion that
the Court of Appeals reversed the judgments herein for insufficient
proof of knowing falsity, and thus allegedly “severed” the reckless
disregard branch of the Sullivan test (Petition, pp. 3, 11), as this
either misreads or misrepresents Judge Kaufman’s opinion. Quite
to the contrary, with respect to the Times, Judge Kaufman noted
that the propriety of Judge Metzner’s finding of recklessness against
the Times was the sole issue before the Court of Appeals (556
F.2d at 119, App. A of Petition, p. 13A), and that the absence of
any issue of alleged knowing falsity was “uncontested.” (556 F.2d
at 120, App. A of Petition, p. 15A)

15

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully submitted
that the petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

FLoyp ABRAMS
EKvcene R. Scuerman
Rutu D. MacNauenuron
CanILL Gorpon & Rernpen
Counsel for Respondent
The New York Times Company
80 Pine Street
New York, New York 10005

November 18, 1977

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2703%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
