# Opposition — Bruno v. Kalmich

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2637%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 940

## Text

eo re a 1s el
OCT 14 1977
ica RODAK, JR., CLERK
No. 77-507
Iu the

Supreme Court of the Anited States.

Ocroser Term 1977

Petitioner,
vs.

HAYIM KALMICH,
Respondent.

Ow Pertrrion For A Writ Or CERTIORARI To Tue
Unirep Stares Court Or AppseAts For Tue SEVENTH
Crecoulr.

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

Rosert HanpELsMAN
Frep F. Herzoa
Norman HANDELSMAN
69 W. Washington
Suite 1150
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 726-5100
Counsel for Respondent.

a LE EE a
The Scheffer Press, Inc.—(312) 263-6850

INDEX

PAGE
EET RETNA enor ae 1
ER ee a 1
| Oe cE 2
I a ccldetaltceteiiadiinaniais 4
TERT aE a nO aE 6
I i as eeinsseninennenmiiadtiniin 10
TasLe or Cases
Adickes vs. Kress and Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970) ............ 8
Bishop vs. Wood, 426 U.S. 341 (1976) u....cccecseesceseeeees 7
Bournias vs. Atlantic Maritime Co., 220 F.2d 152
I i ail ae isisicoiniainisinniididlniiase 9
Commissioner of Internal Revenue vs. Estate of
SN A GORI SE III cntne cccesnnseniteeniaseonensenneosemansesiie 7
eo ge ae Se 8S SS ES een 7
Davis vs. Mills, 194 U.S. 451 (1904)... eee 6, 7,9
Doran vs. Salem Inns, Inc., 422 U.S. 922 (1975) ........ 8
Evey vs. Mexican Central Ry. Co., 81 F. 294 (5th
TR Ree a a 9
Guaranty Trust Co. vs. York, 326 U.S. 99 (1945) ........ 7
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. vs. Wolf Bros. and Co., 240
I a cepeesibidiiaieetacianneanenenions 6
Huntington vs. Attrill, 146 U.S. 657 (1892) ..ccccccccccsssu. 9

Kelly vs. Dunne, 344 F.2d 129 (ist Cir. 1965) ............ s

il

PAGE
Maki vs. George R. Cooke Co., 124 F.2d 663 (6th
SR. BD cenitererennesteernsenicstncesenteneneimmemnisetesenennmemanen 9
Minute Maid Comp. vs. United Foods, Inc., 291 F.2d
ee Se Gy BD seieetcceemeienntenndiatnniitonnennn 8
Partenweederei MS Belgano vs. Weigel, 313 F.2d 423
GIA: IE ‘Sibchteiadicaaiiersimesnnnasinbiceinanieneneieesenetenies 8
Slaker vs. O’Commor, 278 U.S. 188 (1929) ...........00000.. 8

TasLe or STaTuTEs
Article 134(a) of the Yugoslavian Criminal Code ...... 6,8
Sec. 20 of the Yugoslavian Statute of Limitations .... 6, 8,9

In Tue
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
Octoser Term 1977

No. 77-507

KARL BRUNO,
Petitioner,
vs.

HAYIM KALMICH,
Respondent
——————————_—_—_—_—_—_—_—_—_——===[=_—_=[===[=[=[=[=[__=[=[[_[=================__=

On Petition For A Writ Or Certionan: To THe
Unrrep States Cover Or ApprAts For Tue Seventu
Cracurr.

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the District Court is reported at 404
F.Supp. 57 (N.D.Ill. 1975).

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at
553 F.2d 549 (7th Cir. 1977).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the issue presented by the applicability of
a Yugoslavian statute of limitations is the type of issue
which this Court will hear.

ae Ook

2. Whether this Court will ‘review a matter which
basically involves the determination of state law by the
Court of Appeals.

3. Whether this Court will review a judgment which
is not final.

4. Whether this Court will review a question which
was not argued, or ruled upon, in the Court of Appeals.

5. Whether the opinion of the Court of Appeals is
consistent with established precedents.

STATUTES INVOLVED
Article 125 of the Yugoslavian Criminal Code

Whoever in violation of the rules of international
law at the time of war, armed conflict or occupa-
tion, orders or executes willful killings, tortures or
inhuman treatment of the civilian population, in-
cluding therein biological experiments, causing great
suffering or serious injury to body or health; un-
lawful deportation, transfers, forcible denationaliza-
tion or conversion of the population to another
faith; rape or compulsion to prostitution; use of
measures of intimidation and terror, taking of
hostages, collective penalties, unlawful taking to con-
centration camps and other unlawful confinements,
deprivations of rights to a fair and impartial trial;
compulsive enlistment in the armed forces of an
enemy power, in its intelligence service or adminis-
tration; coercion to compulsive labour; exposition
of the population to starvation, confiscation of prop-
erty, pillage, unlawful and arbitrary destruction or
large-scale appropriation of property not justified
by military needs, imposition of unlawful and dis-
proportionately large contribution and requisitions,
devaluations of domestic currency, or the unlawful
issuance of currency, .... shall be punished by strict

=

|
|
|

imprisonment for not less than five years or by
death penalty |
|

Article 134(a) of the Yugoslavian Criminal Code

a
Criminal prosecution and enforcement of punishment
for crimes provided for by Articles 124-128 of the
present Code are not subject to the statute of limita;
tion. |

See. 1 of the Law Concerning the Treatment of Pen
erty Abandoned During the War or Property Take
Away From the Owners by the Enemy or its Helpers |

All properties of physical persons and le
entities in the territory of the Federal People’s
Republic of Yugoslavia which had to be abandon
by their owners or holders during the occupation
of the country; property taken away from su
persons against their will by the occupying forre
and its helpers, with or without compensation, for
racial, religious, national or political reasons; as well
as property which under the pressure of the occupy-
ing force, by legal acts or otherwise, passed into
the hands of third parties, shall be returned to the
respective owners or tenants immediately, regardless
of who holds their property and on what grounds,
on the day when this Law becomes effective. ( August
16, 1946).

Property shall not be considered abandoned if
the absentee owner left an authorized agent. Citizens
of the F. P. R. Y. residing abroad who were not
registered with the representatives of the F. P. RB. Y.
in the state of their residence and who were not
willing to comply with the request for their return

-home shall not be able to request the return of

property through an authorized agent.
If property was destroyed, damaged or could not
be found, the owner may bring action for damages

— ven

against responsible persons without losing the right
to claim war damage.

Property, in the sense of the present Law, means
especially real property, such as land, houses, agricul-
tural farms, forests, industrial enterprises with all
installations; (it also means) personal property, such
as furniture, securities, jewelry, claims, shares and
partnership interests, copyrights, rights of industrial
property, shares with their inventories, and other
rights in property.

Sec. 20 of the Yugoslavian Statute of Limitations

If the damage was caused by a criminal act, and a
longer period of time was provided for the prosecu-
tion of a crime, then an action for the recovery of
damages shall be barred when the time for the prose-
cution of the crime expires.

The stalling of the statute of limitation for the
prosecution of a crime entails the stalling of the
statute of limitation for a (civil) action to recover
damages.

The same rule applies to an action for preventing
the running of the statute of limitation.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The instant petition involves a diversity case instituted
in the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Illinois by Hayim Kalmich (respondent here),
a citizen of Quebec, Canada, against Karl Bruno (peti-
tioner here), a citizen of Illinois. Respondent’s complaint
alleges that petitioner, while serving with the General
Plenipotentiary for the Eccnomy in Serbia, an arm of
the Nazi occupation forces in Yugoslavia during World
War II, confiscated respondent’s textile-importing busi-
ness solely because respondent was of the Jewish faith.
The complaint also alleges that, upon the defeat of the

— oe

—

Nazi occupation forces in Yugoslavia, petitioner fled that
nation “for places unknown to the plaintiff” in order to
avoid the consequences of his wrongdoing and that
respondent located petitioner in Chicago, Illinois in 1972.

Respondent’s complaint was filed on November 6, 1974.
On October 14, 1975, the District Court dismissed thie
complaint. On April 25, 1977, the Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit reversed the dismissal order and
remanded the matter for further proceedings. Respon-
dent’s petition for rehearing was denied on June 28,
1977, and the mandate of the Court of Appeals issued
on July 12, 1977.

THE ISSUE PRESENTED BY THE APPLICABILITY
OF A YUGOSLAVIAN STATUTE OF LIMITATION IS
NOT THE TYPE OF ISSUE WHICH THIS COURT
WILL HEAR.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals concluded that
Article 134(a) of the Yugoslavian Criminal Code and
Sec. 20 of the Yugoslavian statute of limitations were
“specifically directed” to the cause of action to warrant
their application in Illinois, as required by Davis v. Mills,
194 U.S. 451, 454 (1904).

Respondent respectfully suggests that an issue in-
volving the applicability of a Yugoslavian statute of
limitations is not the type of mutter which this Court
will hear. The writ of certiorari is granted “only in cases
of peculiar gravity and general importance”. Hamilton-
Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. and Co., 240 U.S. 251, 258
(1916). The instant case does not meet this standard.

II

THIS COURT WILL NOT REVIEW A MATTER
WHICH BASICALLY INVOLVES THE DETERMINA-
TION OF STATE LAW BY THE COURT OF APPEALS.

Petitioner has raised three points which, in his opinion,
merit review by this Court: (1) that the Court of
Appeals’ conclusion that the Yuguslavian limitation pro-
visions are “specifically directed” to the cause of action
to warrant their application in Illinois is inconsistent
with this Court’s opinion in Davis v. Mills, supra, 194

ian

U.S. 451, 454 (1904); (2) that other provisions of the
Yugoslavian statute of limitations should be applied
(Pet., P. 10); and (3) the foreign cause of action cannot
be enforced in Illinois as it constitutes a penal statute.

These points do not merit review by this Court as
they all involve questions of interpretation and applica-
tion of state law by the Court of Appeals. As this is a
diversity case, the Court of Appeals sat as “another
court” of Illinois. Guaranty Trust Co. v. York, 326 U.S.
99, 108 (1945). This Court will “ordinarily accept the
determination of local law by the Court of Appeals”.
Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Estate of Bosch,
387 U.S. 456, 462 (1967).

Petitioner’s contention that the foreign cause of action
cannot be enforced in Illinois as it constitutes a penal
statute was rejected by the District Court (404 F.Supp.
at 61-63 (App. 4a-7a)) and by the Court of Appeals
(553 F.2d at 552 (App. 23a)). Therefore. this contention
will not be reviewed here. This Court will accept the
“interpretation of state law in which the District Court
and the Court of Appeals have concurred even if an
examination of the state law issue without such guidance
might have justified a different conclusion”. Bishop v.
Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 346 (1976). Such determinations
below “generally render unnecessary review of their
decisions in this respect”. Cort vy. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 73
(fn. 6) (1975).

III

THIS COURT WILL NOT REVIEW A JUDGMENT
WHICH IS NOT FINAL.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals reversed. the
order of the District Court which dismissed respondent’s

_

complaint and remanded the matter for further proceed-
ings. Therefore, it did not finally dispose of the case:
a judgment of a Court of Appeals which reverses a
decision of the District Court and remands the matter
for further proceedings is not “final”. Slaker v. O’Connor,
278 U.S. 188, 189 (1929). This Court prefers to review
only judgments which finally dispose of a matter. See
Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc., 422 U.S. 922, 927 (1975).

IV

THIS COURT WILL NOT REVIEW A QUESTION
WHICH WAS NOT ARGUED, OR RULED UPON, IN
THE COURT OF APPEALS.

Petitioner’s contention (Pet., P. i0) that other sections
of the Yugoslavian statute of limitations are applicable
here was not argued, or ruled upon, in the Court of
Appeals.* Therefore, this point will not be reviewed
here. This Court will not consider contentions which were
not raised or considered in the Court of Appeals. Adickes
v. Kress and Co., 398 U.S. 144, 147 (fn. 2) (1970).

Vv

THE OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS I8 CON-
SISTENT WITH ESTABLISHED PRECEDENTS.

The Court of Appeals’ conclusion that Article 134(a)
of the Yugoslavian Criminal Code and Sec. 20 of the
Yugoslavian statute of limitations is “specifically di-

* This point was raised for the first time in the Court
of Appeals in the petition for rehearing. However, a
petition for rehearing cannot be used to present issues
which were not raised in the appeal-in-chief. Kelly v.
Dunne, 344 F.2d 129, 135 (1st Cir. 1965); Partenweedere:
MS Belgano v. Weigel, 313 F.2d 423, 424 (9th Cir. 1962) ;
Minute Maid Corp. v. United Foods, Inc., 291 F.2d 577,
585-586 (5th Cir. 1961).

_—

rected” to the cause of action is consistent with the
opinions in Maki v. George R. Cooke Co., 124 F.2d 663
(6th Cir. 1942), cert. den., 316 U.S. 686, and Bournias
v. Atlantic Maritime Co., 220 F.2d 152 (2d Cir. 1955).

In Maki, the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
held that the requirement of specificity, as enunciated
in Davis v. Mills, supra, 194 U.S. 451, 454 (1904), was
satisfied by a limitation provision which applied to all
statutory causes of action. 124 F.2d at 666. Citing Mak,
the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit held in
Bournias :

(T)he test of “specificity” was found satisfied by
a separate statute impesing a limitation on all statu-
tory rights. 220 F.2d at 155.

Therefore, accepting petitioner’s contention (Petition,
P. 12) that Sec. 20 of the Yugoslavian statute of limita-
tions is “applicable to any civil cause of action which
occurred as a result of criminal acts”, it is clear that
the Court of Appeals properly concluded that the Yugo-
slavian limitation provisions were “specifically directed”
to the cause of action.

Respondent’s contention that the foreign cause of
action cannot be enforced in Illinois as it constitutes
a penal statute is also inconsistent with established
precedents. Primarily, as this is an action by a private
individual, with damages accruing to his own personal
benefit, it cannot properly be argued that enforcement
of a foreign penal statute is sought. See Huntington
v. Attrill, 146 U.S. 657, 666-667, 668, 673-674 (1892).
Furthermore, a foreign criminal statute which also pro-
vides a civil cause of action is not a penal statute. See
Evey v. Mexican Central Ry. Co., 81 F. 294, 297-298, 306
(5th Cir. 1897), cert. den., 167 U.S. 746.

= =

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, respondent respectfully re-
quests this honorable Court to deny the petition for the
writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Rospert HANDELSMAN
Frep F. Herzog
Norman HANDELSMAN
69 W. Washington
Suite 1150
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 726-5100
Counsel for Respondent.

me Ceres ees OSE eee eee tee ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2637%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
