# Opposition — Swarovski v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2625%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 1045

## Text

ag te Me 0 et pee, ae : L
een ac RUS hele ng ai ah
tak Bat Pane A eee. TOR) 4 g
a 3 a ex ’ |

o of - _
er AF No. 77-495 ~ 13 1973.

7
gR., CLERK.

ee “An he Supreme Gout of the Baiied States as

OcToRER jose 1977 .

st, /\ < MANERED SWAROVSKI, PETITIONER
Reet '. JUNITED STATES OF AMERICA
ON PETITION FOR-A: WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
eps THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
+ prs. gor "THE SECOND CIRCUIT
grr ; ‘BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
Sey - IN bes Ga reesnacrhe
i OE ek? Se ~~ Wape.H. McCres, Jr.,
Yo mae Cae) | Solicitor General,
“AAC ie atari ee - BENJAMIN R. Civiterti, : st
RA ine ; Ph | Nignetscnde aghasiined General,

| Siar ea . ~ Sane Sziscrreus, 4 aa
‘2 a aera <>, 4 Attorneys, Bc ae
"| PEN ee ont leeh Meahinaton, D.C. 20530. peas

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States
OcToBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-495
MANFRED SWAROVSKI, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-20a)
is reported at 557 F. 2d 40. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 24a-63a) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
May 31, 1977. A petition for rehearing was denied on
August 3, 1977 (Pet. App. 23a). By order of August 26,
1977, Mr. Justice Blackmun extended the time for filing a
petition for a writ of certiorari to and including
September 30, 1977; the petition was filed on that date.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
12541).

(1)

2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Customs agents had authority under New
York law to arrest petitioner for a federal felony
committed in their presence.

2. Whether any alternative ground supports the district
court’s order suppressing the statements petitioner gave
after being arrested.

STATEMENT

A two-count indictment filed in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of New York
charged petitioner with attempting to export military
equipment without the required State Department license,
and with conspiracy to do so, in violation of the
Munitions Control Act.!

1. The facts brought out at the hearing on petitioner’s
motion to suppress evidence are summarized by the
district court (Pet. App. 26a-34a) and the court of appeals
(id. at 3a-Sa). In March 1975 Photo-Sonics, Inc., a
California firm that manufactures a gunsight camera for
use on military fighter planes, notified the government
that it suspected that one of its cameras, ostensibly
purchased by Swarolite, Inc., a Tennessee corporation,
was destined for export without the required export
license. Cooperating with federal agents, Photo-Sonics
sent the camera to Tennessee; Customs agents observed
James Sproul retrieve the package. The agents followed
Sproul to a nearby motel, where he delivered the package
to petitioner.”

'22 U.S.C. 1934(c), as implemented by Part | of Executive Order
No. 10973, 22 C.F.R. 121.01, 123.01 and 127.01.

2Petitioner, an Austrian citizen and the majority stockholder of
Swarolite, Inc., originally was listed as the consignee of the camera,
but that designation was withdrawn when the State Department
refused to issue an export license because Swarolite would not state
the intended use of the camera.

3

The agents kept petitioner under surveillance and
followed him to New York City. They learned that
petitioner had made reservations for a Lufthansa flight to
Munich; when he failed to check in for that flight, agents
discovered that petitioner already had checked in for a
Pan American Airlines flight scheduled to depart one
hour earlier. A Customs agent located petitioner’s luggage
(which had been checked for departure) and opened one
suitcase, in which he discovered the camera. He closed the
suitcase and took it, with petitioner’s remaining luggage,
to the passenger area.

Meanwhile, other agents followed petitioner into the
boarding area. They identified themselves to petitioner
and asked him several questions, including whether he
had purchased anything with a value in excess of $250.00
and whether he had any items requiring a shipper’s export
declaration or a State Department export license.
Petitioner answered “no” to each question. He later stated
that he had purchased a camera, but he denied knowing
its value. The agents escorted petitioner to a separate
room, where petitioner identified his luggage. The suitcase
containing the camera was opened; petitioner then
admitted that he did not have the necessary export
license. Customs agents arrested him and gave him
Miranda warnings. Petitioner made one inculpatory
statement later that day at the Customs office and a
second statement the following day at the United States
Courthouse.

2. Petitioner moved to suppress the camera, several
seized documents, and his statements. The district court
refused to suppress the real evidence. It concluded that
the search of petitioner’s suitcase was authorized by 22
U.S.C. 401, which permits Customs officers, acting on
probable cause, to seize military equipment intended to be
exported unlawfully (Pet. App. 40a-4Sa, 63a). The court

4

held, however, that the agents were not authorized to
arrest petitioner, because federal law does not specifically
authorize Customs agents to make arrests in connection
with unlawful exports and because the agents were not
entitled to make the arrest under the law of New York (id.
at 57a-63a). The court suppressed petitioner’s post-arrest
statements, finding them to be the fruit of an unlawful
arrest.

The United States filed an interlocutory appeal,
pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 3731, from the suppression order,
and the court of appeals reversed. After thoroughiy
discussing the law of arrest in New York, the panel held
that state law authorized the Customs agents to arrest
petitioner for a federal felony committed in their presence.
The court declined to consider petitioner's argument that
the search of his luggage was illegal, explaining that the
argument was “not independent grounds supporting the
district court’s suppression” order (Pet. App. 20a).

ARGUMENT

Petitioner’s arguments are premature. The decision of
the court of appeals has placed petitioner in the same
position he would have occupied if the district court had
denied his motion to suppress. A denial of a motion to
suppress could not have been reviewed before trial.
Abney v. United States, 431 U.S. 651, 659, 663; DiBella
v. United States, 369 U.S. 121. Petitioner might be ac-
quitted at trial, in which case his claim would be moot.
On the other hand, if he should be convicted and his
conviction should be affirmed, he would be able to pre-
sent all of his arguments—those concerning suppression
as well as any others that may arise out of the trial—to
this Court in a petition for certiorari seeking review of
the final judgment. American Foreign S.S. Co. v. Matise,

=”

a

5

423 U.S. 150, 155. There is no reason for piecemeal
review of petitioner’s contentions, which are, in any
event, unpersuasive.

1. The central question addressed by the court of
appeals was whether New York law authorized the
Customs agents to arrest petitioner. Although the au-
thority of the agents to make the arrest here turned on
state law, we doubt that the propriety of suppression of
petitioner’s voluntary statements should do so. Statements
voluntarily made by a person are admissible in evidence
unless the Constitution, a federal statute, or a formal rule
calls for their exclusion. 18 U.S.C. 3501; Fed. R. Evid.
402. This Court has held several times that the application
of an exclusionary rule is not the proper response to a
violation of a state statute.* Consequently, we submit that
the lawfulness of the arrest under New York law is not
dispositive here. Petitioner does not argue that the Con-
stitution required a warrant to arrest him or that the Cus-
toms agents lacked probable cause to do so,’ and the
arrest therefore comported with ihe Constitution. The
statements petitioner voluntarily gave after his constitu-
tionally permissible arrest are admissible in evidence.

But however that may be/ the court of appeals carefully
analyzed New York law and concluded that it authorized
the arrest of petitioner (Pet. App. 6a-20a). We rely on its
opinion, which not only follows an unbroken line of

3See United States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411, 420-421 n. 8; United
States v. Di Re, 332 U.S. 581, 589.

‘See, e.g., Rios v. United States, 364 U.S. 253, 260-261; Preston v.
United States, 376 U.S. 364, 366; Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S. 433,
449.

5See also the discussion at pages 6-7, infra.

6

authority in the court of appeals® but also adheres to the
clear implication of a decision by the State’s highest
court.’ There is no reason for this Court to review what is,
at most, a question of state law. Baggett v. Bullitt, 377
U.S. 360, 376-377; Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 345-
346.

2. Petitioner also contends that the court of appeals
should have considered alternative arguments that he
offered in support of the suppression order. The court of
appeals recognized, as was required (see Massachusetts
Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Ludwig, 426 U.S. 479), that
petitioner could assert any “independent grounds support-
ing the district court’s suppression” (Pet. App. 20a). The
arguments petitioner presented, however, did not support
suppression of his voluntary statements, and the court of
appeals therefore was not required to consider them.

Petitioner argued, for example, that his luggage was not
properly opened at the airport because of the absence of a
warrant, an argument that the district court rejected in
concluding that the physical evidence is admissible (Pet.
App. 40a-52a). But even if the search were improper, the
impropriety would furnish grounds for suppression of
petitioner’s voluntary statements only if (i) there would
not have been probable cause to arrest him in the absence
of the discovery of the camera during the search, and (ii)
the search was so close to the statements in a causal
chain that the statements properly could be seen as the
“fruit” of the search. See Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590.

*Marsh v. United States, 29 F. 2d 172 (C.A. 2); United States
v. Lindefeld, 142 F. 2d 829 (C.A. 2); United States v. Burgos, 269
F. 2d 763 (C.A. 2); United States v. Rosse, 418 F. 2d 38 (C.A. 2),
certiorari denied, 397 U.S. 998.

’People v. Floyd, 26 N.Y. 2d 558, 561, 312 N.Y.S. 2d 193, 194,
discussed at Pet. App. 12a-l4a.

7

Here the agents unquestionably had probable cause to
arrest petitioner wholly apart from finding the camera in
his luggage; they had seen him take possession of the
camera and transport it to New York, where he made
misleading plane reservations in an apparent attempt to
leave the country without detection. The agents were
entitled to conclude that it was more likely than not that
petitioner was taking the camera with him, and the
confirmation of that fact by opening his luggage was not
essential to the establishment of probable cause (indeed,
petitioner does not deny that there was probable cause to
believe the camera was in his luggage). Moreover,
petitioner gave his statements only after an opportunity
for reflection (one of them was given the day after the
arrest), and they should not be suppressed even if the
search was one link in the causal chain leading to them.®

’In any event, the district court properly rejected petitioner's
argument that the search of his bag was unconstitutional. The search
was conducted at the border, and border searches are a recognized
exception to the Warrant Clause of the Fourth Amendment. United
States v. Ramsey, 431 U.S. 606. Although the border search authority
usually is applied in the case of incoming articles, Congress decided
that searches for certain items of military value that might be
exported also were necessary, and it authorized the Customs Service
to conduct them (see Pet. App. 41a-46a and 22 U.S.C. 401(a)). The
border search authority applies to searche -f outgoing articles
(United States v. Stanley, 545 F. 2d 661 (C.A. 9); Samora v. United
States, 406 F. 2d 1095 (C.A. 5)), and the search of petitioner’s luggage
on probable cause therefore complied with the Fourth Amendment.

The propriety of the search and arrest also might be founded on
the exigent circumstances surrounding them: petitioner and his
luggage were about to depart from the United States, and unless the
luggage had been seized (and petitioner arrested) at once, it would
have been too late. If, as petitioner contends, inspection of the
contents of his luggage was an essential foundation for his arrest,
then the agents were entitled not only to seize the luggage but to open
it before petitioner's plane left the country. (United States v.
Chadwick, No. 75-1721, decided June 21, 1977, on which petitioner

8

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

Wave H. McCres, Jr.,
Solicitor General.

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General.

WILLIAM G. OTIs,
SARA CRISCITELLI,
Attorneys.

JANUARY 1978.

relies, involved neither a border search nor an on-the-spot opening of
luggage under exigent circumstances. Chadwick involved, instead, a
search after a footlocker had been removed to a federal building.)

Petitioner contends (Pet. 7-9) that suppression of his voluntary
statements nevertheless is appropriate because the first opening of his
luggage was “kept secret” from the Assistant United States Attorney
responsible for the case. Petitioner does not refer to the record, and
sO we cannot ascertain in what way he believes the search was “kept
secret” from the prosecutor. It was freely admitted by the agents
during their testimony, and it is not uncommon for prosecutors to be
unacquainted with some of the details of a case until shortly before
suppression hearings. At all events, petitioner does not demonstrate
how this “secrecy” harmed him.

DOJ-1978-01

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2625%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
