# Opposition — Sloan v. Bonime

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2506%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 924

## Text

Court, U. 8
ILEN

P 281977

In run Minn

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocronsn Team, 1977
No, 77-374

Samus, SLoan,
Petitioner,
—against—

Grearnupe J, Bort, LIM Mor, Jounw C., Dos,
Wuüunau M. Wisemen and Canadian Jaun Leo,,

Respondents.

ON PRTITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPRALA
FOR THE BROOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS
BONIME AND OLDEN IN OPPOSITION

Benepicr Wor
Counsel for Respondents
Gertrude Bonime and Lillian Olden
845 Third Avenue
New York, New York 10022

Rosert M. Korwneron

War Porrern Ross Wo & Jos
845 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10022

Of Counsel.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAOR
Ie AID ¶ i
88 —— 1
II.. 2
Anoument
Por 1
No “Tentative Settlement Class” Was Batablished
1—— ᷑ ᷑ —— 6
Powr II
Plaintiff Bonime Was a Proper Class Representa-
NN . — 7
Powr III

The Notice to Members of the Classe Met the Ro-
quirements of Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure and of Due Process „ 9

Potwr IV

The Court Had the Authority to Bar Further Law
suits by Class Members Based Upon Causes of
Action Arising From the Matters Alleged in the
Complaint in This Action 11

Port V—

The Class Created in This Case Was “Manage-
able and Maintainable” Under Rule 23 of the Fed-
eral Rules of Civil Procedure 12

paar
Powr VI

Petitioner Was Served With All Papers Necessary

to Meet the Requirements of Due Process 12
Pot VII

Since the Judgment of the Lower Court Was a
Final Judgment, the Action of the Court of Ap-
peals in Deciding the Appeal, Rather Than Dis-
missing It or Remanding It to the Distriet Court,

WED — ͤ— 14
8988. ——————— 12
Casne
Baughman v. Cooper-Jarrett, Inc, 580 F.2d 529 (Ard

GE, SEGUE ——— 15
Berry Petroleum Co, v. Adama & Peck, 518 F.2d 402

0 —tU— 11
Dorfman v. Firat Boston Corporation, 62 F. R. D. 466

r. ð 4
Durkin v. Mason d iron Lines, 202 F. 2d 425 (6th (Ar.

—— —— 15
Frost v. Weinberger, 515 F.2d 57 (2d Cir, 1975) 8
Green v. Occidental Petroleum Corp,, 541 F.2d 1835

0 — —„— 12
Hrunin v. International House of Pancakes, 513 F.2d

114 (8th Cir.), cert, denied, 423 U.S, 864 (1975) ....10, 11

Huff v. V. D. Cass Company of Alabama, 485 F.2d 710
390 ͤ——— — *

ili
PAOR
In re National Student Marketing Litigation, 68 F. R. D.
ee 14
Kasishke v. Baker, 144 F. 2d 384 (10th Cir, 1944) 15
Magnum Import Co, v. Coty, 262 U.S, 159 (1923) 16
Soana v. Lowa, 419 U.S, 393 (19750) eee 4

State of West Virginia v. Chas, Pheer d Co., 440 F.2d
1079 (2d Cir.), cert, denied sub nom, Cotler Druga

v. Chas, Pheer d Co.,, 404 U.S, 871 (1971) .. 5,7, 14
Text
Manual for Complex Litigation § 100 6, 7,9

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1977
No. 77-374

Samvue. SLoax,
Petitioner,
—against—

Geatrupve J. Bonime, Linuian Ovpen, Joun C. Dort,
Wituiam M. Wismer and Canapian Jave.in Lo.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS
BONIME AND OLDEN IN OPPOSITION

Questions Presented

1. Was a “tentative settlement class” created in th

case?

2. May a plaintiff who was a member of a designated
class when an action was commenced and when the class
was determined, but by the terms of a settlement reached
thereafter will not participate in the settlement fund, con-
tinue to act as one of the class representatives?

3. Did the Notice sent to members of the class meet the
requirements of Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure and of due process?

4. Did the District Court have the authority to bar
further lawsuits by class members based upon any cause
of action arising from the matters alleged in the complaint
in this action? ;

5. Is the class created in this case manageable and main-
tainable under Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure?

6. Was the Petitioner entitled to service of any papers
beyond those relating to his objections to the proposed
settlement?

7. Was the action of the Court of Appeals in deciding
the appeal brought by respondent, rather than dismissing
the appeal or remanding it to the District Court, an abuse
of discretion?

Statement of the Case

By a complaint filed December 3, 1973, plaintiff Bonime,
a purchaser of stock of Canadian Javelin Ltd. (“Javelin”),
commenced a class action against Javelin and its principal
officers, John C. Doyle and William M. Wismer, on behalf
of all purchasers of Javelin stock similarly situated during
the period of wrongful action alleged in the complaint.
Plaintiff Olden was added as a plaintiff on December 11,
1974.

The amended complaint alleged that defendants had
disseminated false and misleading statements in violation
of Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as
amended, and Rule 10b-5 promulgated thereunder, of Sec-
tions 17 and 5 of the Securities Act of 1933 and of the com-
mon law, and that these false and misleading statements
had resulted in the artificial inflation of the market price

3

of Javelin stock. Plaintiffs sought for themselves and the
other members of the class damages resulting from their
having purchased Javelin stock at a price substantially
higher than what the stock was worth. The class s“ ght
consisted of all purchasers of Javelin stock dur g the
period from April 30, 1969 to October 25, 1973.

A motion for class determination was made on January
22, 1975, and the Court certified the class on February 10,
1975, the class certified being the same as that which had
been described in the complaint a year earlier.

After pretrial discovery, which consisted of examination
of documents, answers to interrogatories and deposition of
witnesses, settlement negotiations resulted in the entry into
a stipulation of settlement on July 9, 1975, about five
months after the class had been certified, and about six
months after the motion for class determination had been
made.

Pursuant to court order, a notice was sent to all members
of the class by mail, and was published in three newspapers
of wide circulation in the United States and Canada. It
described the class which had been fixed by the Court on
February 10, 1975, set forth the nature of the action and
the proceedings had to that time, gave a brief summary of
the terms of settlement and notified the class members of a
hearing to be held on October 17, 1975 to determine whether
the proposed settlement should be approved by the Court
as fair, reasonable and adequate. The class members were
informed that they had the right to “opt out” of the class
and the settlement on or before October 7, 1975, the right
to object to the settlement on or before September 29, 1975
and, if they did not wish to opt out, the right to enter an
appearance in the case through their own counsel. The
notice informed the class members that the defendants
would pay the settlement fund in cash (although the Stipu-

4

lation gave them the right to pay either in cash, or partly
in cash and partly in stock or warrants), and that one-third
of the fund would be distributed to the claimants who pur-
chased between April 30, 1969 and May 31, 1972 (First
Class Period) and two-thirds to those who purchased in
the period from June 1, 1972 through October 25, 1973
(Second Class Period). The notice also informed the mem-
bers of the class of the amount of fees which would be
sought by plaintiffs’ counsel if the settlement were ap-
proved.

The notice concluded by stating that the references to
the pleadings, settlement agreement and other documents
were only summaries, and that for a complete description
of the various papers reference was made to the underly-
ing documents, the complete texts of which were on file with
the Clerk of the United States District Court for the South-
ern District of New York, where they were available for
inspection and copying.

Petitioner filed a Notice of Appearance dated August 20,
1975, stating his intention to appear at the hearing and seek
disapproval of the settlement, a determination that a class
action could not be maintained and a dismissal of the com-
plaint with prejudice. In a brief supporting affidavit, Peti-
tioner seemed to base his objections primarily on his
concern that he would receive a warrant of little value (al-
though the Notice stated specifically that the settlement
fund would be all cash). He also asked that the Court disal-
low any claim by plaintiffs’ attorneys for counsel fees.

Petitioner failed to appear at the hearing to press his
objections, and took no further action in this matter, nor
did he evince any further interest therein until after entry
of the Order and Final Judgment on July 29, 1976, approv-
ing the settlement. Meanwhile, the attorneys for the pro-
ponents of the settlement had filed affidavits dated October

5

8, October 9 and October 15, 1975, and two objectors,
through their attorneys, had filed papers in opposition.
All of these were the subject of lengthy oral presentation
to the Court at the hearing on October 17. At the hearing,
in addition to oral argument, witnesses were examined and
cross-examined, and a few objectors who were present were
given full opportunity to make statements of their position.

Thereafter, the attorneys for the two active objectors
and the attorneys for the proponents of the settlement ex-
changed additional affidavits and participated in further
arguments before the Court. The objections presented by
these objectors dealt with fundamental questions of
whether the proposed settlement was fair and whether the
procedural steps that had been followed complied with due
process.

On June 30, 1976, the District Court rendered an opinion
overruling the objections to the settlement and approving
the settlement (Petition, pp. 6a-38a), and on July 29, 1976
the Court issued its “Consent Order and Final Judgment”
(Petition, pp. 68a-74a).

On October 4, 1976, Petitioner filed a Notice of Appeal
from the District Court’s order within an extended period
granted by the Court, having failed to file within the 30-
day period allowed for appeals. His appeal was fully
briefed by Petitioner and by the Respondents. Hearing
was set for April 6, 1977, at which time the attorneys for
the Respondents appeared for argument but the Petitioner
failed to appear.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the judgment of the Court
below approving the settlement, finding that, on the stand-
ards set forth in State of West Virginia v. Chas. Pfizer &
Co., 440 F.2d 1079, 1085 (2d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom.,
Cotler Drugs v. Chas. Pfizer d Co., 404 U.S. 871 (1971), the

6

evaluation by the District Court of the proposed settlement
was plainly sufficient and proper. Thereafter, Petitioner
filed a petition for rehearing, with a suggestion that the
rehearing be en banc. This petition was denied.

Petitioner now asks this Court to review, by Writ of
Certiorari, the unanimous decision of the Court of Appeals.

ARGUMENT

POINT I

No “Tentative Settlement Class“ Was Established in
This Case.

Petitioner devotes approximately a third of the argu-
ment portion of his brief to an attack on the alleged adop-
tion in this case of the “Tentative Settlement Class” pro-
cedure, charging that it was a violation of due process
principles and Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure (Petition, pp. 20-27). The short answer to his
argument is that no such procedure was adopted in this
case.

While the Manual for Complex Litigation (§ 1.40) states
that “[rJecent experiences demonstrate that in no event
should there be a tentative determination of a class action
request for the purposes of settlement” (emphasis sup-
plied), it proceeds to state, in footnote 23, that:

“This statement is not intended to apply to separate
prior determination of class members and separate
later notices to classes of proposed settlement with
provision for subsequent hearing on the fairness of
the proposed settlement and with reservation of full
power of the court to reject the settlement in whole

or in part,”

7

citing the procedure followed in State of West Virginia v.
Chas. Pfizer d Co. Inc., 314 F. Supp. 710 (S.D.N.Y. 1970),
af d, 440 F. 2d 1079 (2d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom., Cotler
Drugs, Inc. v. Chas. Pfizer d Co. Inc., 404 U.S. 871 (1971).

In the instant case, a motion for class action determina-
tion was made on January 22, 1975. The motion was
granted on February 10, 1975, and the class was thus de-
termined, as even Petitioner admits, before any settlement
negotiations commenced. He gives the commencement date
as March 5, 1975 (Petition, p. 8). Actually, settlement was
reached on July 9, 1975, about six months after the class
was fixed. Obviously, no “tentative settlement class” was
ever created, and the determination of the class was never
dependent on whether a settlement would be reached.

This was clearly a case where, in the language of the
Manual for Complex Litigation quoted above, there was
a “separate prior determination of class members” and
the notice of proposed settlement provided for “subsequent
hearing on the fairness of the proposed settlement” with
the Court having full power to reject the settlement, thus
at the very least meeting the test of State of West Virginia
v. Chas. Pfizer & Co. Inc., supra.

POINT II
Plaintiff Bonime Was a Proper Class Representative.

While we are reluctant to deal with the many misstate-
ments and the statements not in the record with which the
Petition is replete, we deem it necessary to point out that
for Petitioner to assert that plaintiff’s counsel could have
known, when the action was started on December 3, 1973,
or when the motion for class certification was filed on
January 22, 1975, that Bonime would, in July 1975, under
a formula later to be adopted, be unable to claim “dam-

8

ages,” borders on the ridiculous. The complaint was filed
on behalf of all purchasers of stock in Javelin from April
30, 1969 through October 25, 1973. Bonime admittedly
bought on May 27, 1970 (Petition, p. 14). The class was
fixed as all purchasers of the stock in the period from
April 30, 1969 through October 25, 1973. Thus, Bonime
was a member of the class both when the complaint was
filed and when the class was fixed. It was not until a for-
mula for measuring damages was agreed upon and put
into the stipulation of settlement, on July 9, 1975, that a
determination of whether any particular class member,
Bonime or anyone else, would be entitled to share in the
settlement fund, could have been made.

In any event, whether under the formula, which fixed
particular cutoff dates for the measurement of losses,
Bonime can share in the fund, does not affect her right to
act as a plaintiff-representative of the class. The ability
of a plaintiff to prove the merits of his individual claim
or his entitlement to relief is not determinative of his
status as representative of the class. Sosna v. Iowa, 419
U.S. 393 (1975); Frost v. Weinberger, 515 F.2d 57 (2d Cir.
1975); Huff v. N. D. Cass Company of Alabama, 485 F.2d
710 (5th Cir. 1973). As was pointed out in Dorfman v.
First Boston Corporation, 62 F.R.D. 466 (E.D. Pa. 1974),
for a class representative to have to show damages at the
time the class was formed:

. . . would mean that before deciding a Rule 23 mo-
tion in an action for damages, a court would invariably
have to determine whether the putative class repre-
sentative had himself suffered damages. In other
words, an allegation of damages in the complaint
would in effect transform a class action motion into
a motion for summary judgment as to the representa-
tive plaintiff's damages.” (62 F.R.D. at 472.)

9
The cases cited by Petitioner in support of his challenge
to Bonime as a class representative (Petition, p. 17) are
clearly inapposite.

There is no serious challenge to plaintiff Olden's status,
and the fact that Bonime accepted a settlement in which
she might not be able to participate shows clearly that she
was indeed able to represent the class properly.

Finally, Petitioner supplies no authority for his novel
theory that an objector to a settlement has standing to
request, not rejection of the settlement, but dismissal of
an action or any part of it.

POINT III

The Notice to Members of the Class Met the Require-
ments of Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-
dure and of Due Process.

Disregarding, as we must, Petitioner’s completely un-
supported speculation set forth in his Petition (pp. 30-32)
as to the percentage of recovery of losses, and his misstate-
ment about whom Judge Lasker permitted to speak at the
hearing at which Petitioner was not present (Petition, p.
32), we come to the one basic question he raises: Was the
Notice deficient because it did not contain “an estimated
range of monetary recovery (e.g., amount per share, per
unit, per dollar charged, and the like) that members of
the class may expect to receive if the settlement is ap-
proved,” as the Manual for Complex Litigation suggests?

There was no conceivable way in which the Notice for
class members, sent out on August 14, 1975, in which they
were told how to submit their claims, could have included
that information. Class members were given until Jan-
uary 16, 1976 to file claims. The total fund was fixed—

10

$1,350,000, less $260,000 or whatever lesser amount the
Court would allow as counsel fees—and was set forth in
the Notice. But, certainly, on August 14, 1975, and in fact at
any time before January 16, 1976, there was no way of
knowing or even estimating how many claims would be
filed, for what amounts or what portion of the individual
claims would be allowed. Without this knowledge, it would
have been foolhardy to make any estimated range of mone-
tary recovery that class members could expect to receive
if the settlement would be approved.

The objection that the Notice did not set forth what per-
centage each defendant would contribute to the settlement
fund or that Javelin would pay it all, is frivolous. This
is a class action, not a derivative action. The concern of
the members of the class is that the money be paid into
the fund, not its source. If some of the members of the
class are also still stockholders of the company and have
grounds to object to the company’s paying the full amount
of the judgment, they have a remedy in a derivative ac-
tion, but not in this case.

An examinatior of the Notice (Petition, pp. 54a-63a)
shows that it un full compliance with the required stan-
dards, which have been well described in Grunin v. Inter-
national House of Pancakes, 513 F.2d 114 (8th Cir.), cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 864 (1975).

Petitioner’s position that a court, in a class action, can-
not enjoin members of the class who have not appeared
“and who may not even know about the existence of this
action” (Petition, p. 33) from starting suit against the
defendants based upon any cause of action alleged in a
complaint, if adopted by the Court would seriously lessen
the value of class actions, since matters could never be
finally put to rest, and would make settlement of such
actions all but impossible. The power of courts to enjoin
further lawsuits by members of the class where they have
received notice of the class action (as they have in this
case) is well established. Berry Petroleum Co. v. Adams d
Peck, 518 F.2d 402, 412 (2d Cir. 1975); Grunin v. Inter-
national House of Pancakes, 513 F.2d 114, 120 (8th Cir.),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 864 (1975).

12

POINT V

The Class Created in This Case Was “Manageable
and Maintainable” Under Rule 23 of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure.

Petitioner supplies only one basis for his assertion that
the class is “unmanageable and unmaintainable,” the
“Jengthy time period over which plaintiffs allege that [the]
fraudulent non-disclosures took place” (Petition, p. 28).
This period he describes in the fourth of his “Questions
Presented” as a period of four and one-half years (Peti-
tion, p. 3).

Clearly, a period of this duration not only is manage-
able, but, as is apparent from Petitioner’s failure to sup-
ply any factual support for his position, was managed
without particular difficulty in this case.

Judge Sneed’s concurring opinion in Green v. Occidental
Petrolewm Corp., 541 F.2d 1335, 1342 (9th Cir. 1976),
cited by Petitioner, does not deal with the issue he raises.

POINT VI

Petitioner Was Served With All Papers Necessary to
Meet the Requirements of Due Process.

It is important to be clear about Petitioner’s status. He
was not a party to the case, nor did he seek, by interven-
tion, to become a party to the case. He filed objections
to the settlement on what he describes as “procedural mat-
ters” and inadequate notice (Petition, p. 10) and did not
object to the fairness of the settlement. Although he as-
serted in his Notice of Appearance that he would appear
at the hearing on October 17, 1975, by which time the

—

13

papers in support of the settlement were on file and avail-
able for inspection, and at which time objectors had the
opportunity to present their objections and present wit-
nesses to bolster their position, listen to the presentation
by proponents of the settlement and attack this presenta-
tion to their heart’s content, an opportunity which several
of the objectors utilized fully, Petitioner chose neither to
appear nor to participate. All the papers in the case were
on file either in the Office of the Clerk of the Court or in
the chambers of the Judge considering the matter, and
were available for inspection.

Nothing further was heard from Petitioner, nor was
there any indication that Petitioner had any interest in the
proceedings, until after the District Court approved the
settlement. Even then, during the regular time to appeal,
Petitioner was silent. Only after the time to appeal had
expired, on July 30, 1976, for the first time since August
1975, did Petitioner evince an interest in the matter, by
requesting and receiving an extension of time to file a
Notice of Appeal.

He was given full opportunity to present his position
to the Appellate Court, and in his brief raised many ques-
tions that he had not urged upon the court below. He had
the opportunity to make oral presentation to the Appel-
late Court, but chose not to show up on the date of argu-
ment, not bothering to inform the appellees that he would

not appear.

Meanwhile, as Petitioner concedes, the objections he
urged before the Appellate Court, and now presents, were
vigorously and ably urged upon the District Court by an
attorney for two other objectors (Petition, p. 11), and,
as is apparent from the District Court’s decision, were
fully considered.

14

We submit that, in view of these circumstances, the fact
that papers were not served upon Petitioner did not con-
stitute a violation of due process.

POINT VII

Since the Judgment of the Lower Court Was a Final
Judgment, the Action of the Court of Appeals in De-
ciding the Appeal, Rather Than Dismissing It or Re-
manding It to the District Court, Was Proper.

Petitioner now asserts that the Court of Appeals erred
because it did not dismiss his appeal (presumably not on
the merits) or remand it to the District Court, on the
ground that the judgment was not a final judgment on the
merits. Despite the reservation of jurisdiction over periph-
eral matters, the Court of Appeals had before it a final
judgment, and proceeded in its determination on that basis.

The procedure followed by the District Court in entering
the Order and Final Judgment approving the settlement
and dismissing the action while reserving jurisdiction over
the effectuation of the settlement and application for coun-
sel fees is the procedure regularly followed by district
judges and approved by appellate courts. State of West
Virginia v. Chas. Pfizer d Co., 440 F.2d 1079 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied sub nom., Cotler Drugs v. Chas. Pfizer d Co., 404
U.S. 871 (1971); In re National Student Marketing Litiga-
tion, 68 F. R. D. 151 (10th Cir. 1974). It is the only practi-
cal way in which settlements can be consummated, since,
until final judgment, parties would be unwilling to take
the actions required by the terms of the settlement. To
require that the parties undertake the tasks of processing
claims, or of holding hearings on disputed claims, before
knowing whether a settlement is finally approved, is to
place upon them unnecessary burdens, unnecessary because

15

what are involved are matters peripheral to the basic ques-
tions—was the settlement fair, and were the requirements
of due process met?

The fact that a lower court reserved jurisdiction to
make further orders after judgment makes the judgment
no less final. Baughman v. Cooper-Jarrett, Inc., 530 F.2d
529, 531 n. 2 (3rd Cir. 1976); Durkin v. Mason d Dixon
Lines, 202 F.2d 425 (6th Cir. 1953); Kasishke v. Baker, 144
F.2d 384 (10th Cir. 1944).

Since the judgment was final and Petitioner did not with-
draw his appeal, the refusal of the Court of Appeals to
“dismiss” his appeal or remand the case to the District
Court, but instead to proceed to a determination on the
merits, was proper.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner has presented no valid reasons why his Writ
should be granted. His claim that the Court of Appeals
decision is in conflict with the applicable decisions of this
Court is without any support in his papers. He fails to
state which “applicable decisions” he refers to. His grave
charge against the Court of Appeals that it has acted in
such a manner as to call for the exercise of this Court’s
power of supervision (Petition, p. 13), again without a
single supporting fact or even argument, is unworthy of
attention.

Absent sound reason for review, we must be guided by
the words of Chief Justice Taft, commenting on this Court’s
certiorari jurisdiction, when he said, the jurisdiction
was not conferred upon this court merely to give the
defeated party in the Circuit Court of Appeals another

16

hearing.” Magnum Import Co, v. Coty, 262 U.S. 159, 163
(1923).

For the reasons stated, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be denied.

September 21, 1977
Respectfully submitted,

Benepiot Wo.F
Counsel for Respondents
Gertrude Bonime and Lillian Olden
845 Third Avenue
New York, New York 10022

Rosert M. Kornreicu

Wor Poprer Ross Wolr & Jones
845 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10022

Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2506%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
