# Motion to Affirm — Americans United for Separation of Church & State v. Blanton

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2384%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Affirm
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 803

## Text

es rx Court, U. S.
ILED
1977

. RR, CLERK

Ocroper Term, 1977

—- --———

No. 77-250

Americans UNirep For THE SepaRATION oF CHURCH AND STATE,
a District of Ccelambia Corporation; Harotp Sreeie, Josern H.
JOHNSTON, Roprrt W. Bocen, and Dr. Forrest F. Evans of
Nashville, Tennessee, Appellants,

vs.
Ray Bianton, Governor of the State of Tennessee and Chairman of
the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation; R. A. Asuuey, Jr.,
Attorney General of the State of Tennessee; HARLAN Matruews,
Treasurer of Tennessee and a Member of the Tennessee Student
Assistance Corporation; Wi.t1am Snoporass, Comptroller of Ten-
nessee and a Member of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corpora-
tion; Dr. Wayne Brown, Vice-Chairman of the Tennessee Student
Assistance Corporation; Dr. Nyitrs C. Ayers, Dr. Epwarp Bona,
Mr. Ciaupe Bonp, Mr. Franx Broapen, Mr. JosepnH Copeiann,
Dr. Sam Incram, Mr. W. L. Jones, and Dr. Roy Nix, Members of
the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation, Appellees,

and
Loretta P. Bearp, Maroaret B. Brooks, Gioria A. Brown,
Brenva 8. Humeueet, ARLILLIAN Jones, CoLLEEN Kener, Law-
RENCE H. Newsewi, Appre Marie Rew, RaymMonn A, Suerver and
Jonn W. Smyrna, Intervenor-Appellees.

Cn Appeal from a Three-Judge United States District Court
for the Middle District of Tennessee

. —_—-

MOTION TO AFFIRM

Cnrarites H. WILson
1000 Hill Building
Washington, D. C. 20006

Attorney for Intervenor-
Appellees Loretta P. Beard, et al
Of Counsel:

WouusaMs & CONNOLLY
1000 Hill Building
Washington, D. C. 20006

—_

Press or Brzon S. Avams Puintine, Inc., WASHINGTON, D.C.

OE ——

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I PE sac ed chee ct eecbteceeees -Qesnes 2
rr ee eg cc aeheced esereeeses 2
A. The Challenged Aid Program ..............-. 2
BN ID SOU cc cccccccccsccccccese 4
es ss So acdc dices cbse 5
a ee cee neces 8
A. Further Review [s Not Warranted ........... 8
i ES i ce eces ccesesicceccees 11
C. Secular Use Restrictions ..................... 15
D. Financing Religious Education ............... 18
E. Direct Aid to Sectarian Schools .............. 20
ee teckcebteveee 22
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CasEs:

Americans United v. Rogers, 528 S.W.2d 711, cert.

i OY ED nn. cn cccnteneceeces i)

Board of Education v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236 (1968)
7, 11-12, 14, 16-17, 21
Brusea v. State Board of Education, 405 U.S. 1050

EE ie eee ibe h hae hak Kin eed chen st 9
Committee for Public Education v. Nyquist, 413 U.S.
a Baia id a ad Gall ke 7-10, 13-14, 16
Durham v. McLeod, 192 S.E.2d 202 (1972), appeal
dismissed, 413 U.S. 902 (1973) ........... 8-9, 14,18
Essex v. Wolman, 409 U.S. 808 (1973) ............. 9
Everson v. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1 s xy ,
, 11-12, 14
Franchise Tax Board v. United Americans for Public
Schools, 419 U.S. 890 (1974) .................. 9
Grit v. Wolman, 413 U.S. 901 (1973) .............. 9
Hunt v. MeNair, 413 U.S. 734 (1973) ............ 9-10, 15

ii Table of Authorities Continued

Page
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971)........ 9, 11-12

Levitt v. Committee for Public Education, 413 U.S.
Ee CUE 35 cdc ns oveneceeeetaensteeuh keys ea 9,12
Luetkemeyer v. Kaufmann, 419 U.S. 888 (1974)...... 9

Marburger v. Public Funds for Publie Schools, 417
U.S. 961 (1974) ......... oe esccccecesesecssses 9
McCollum v. Board of Education, 333 U.S. 203 (1948) 17
Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349 (1975)...... 6, 7, 9, 11-13,
16-17, 20

Roemer v. Board of Public Works, 426 U.S. 736

tN ener hr coer epee 6, 9-12, 19
Sanders v. Johnson, 403 U.S. 955 (1971) ........... 9
Sloan v. Lemon, 413 U.S. 825 (1973) ............... 7,9

Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971)...6, 9-11, 15, 19
Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664, 668 (1970)... 12
Wolman v. Essex, 342 F. Supp. 399 (S.D. Ohio),

oe Se 2 EO FR
Wolman v. Essex, 421 U.S. 982 (1975) .............. 9
Wolman v. Walter, 45 U.S.L.W. 4861 (U.S., June 21,
UE bls We 6.ceceas bee shbecdives tees 9, 11-13, 16-17, 20
STATUTES:
Pub. L. No. 94-381, 90 Stat. 1119 (1976) ............ 4

Tennessee Student Assistance Program, 1976
Tenn. Pub. Acts, ch. 415, codified as Tenn. Code
Ann. §§ 49-5013 to 49-5019 ......... cee ee eee.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroper Term, 1977

No. 77-250

AMERICANS UNITED FOR THE SEPARATION oF CHURCH AND STATE,
a District of Columbia Corporation; Harotp Sree.e, Josern H.
JOHNSTON, Ropert W. Bogen, and Dr. Forrest F. Evans of
Nashville, Tennessee, Appellants,

vs.

Ray Bianton, Governor of the State of Tennessee and Chairman of
the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation; R. A. ASHLEY, Jr.,
Attorney General of the State of Tennessee; HarLaNn MatTTHews,
Treasurer of Tennessee and a Member of the Tennessee Student
Assistance Corporation; WimL1am Snoperass, Comptroller of Ten-
nessee and a Member of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corpora-
tion; Dr. Wayne Brown, Vice-Chairman of the Tennessee Student
Assistance Corporation ; Dr. NyLes C. Ayers, Dr. Epwarp Bouina,
Mr. Ciaupe Bonn, Mr. Frank Broapen, Mr. Josepn Cope.anp,
Dr. Sam Incram, Mr. W. L. Jongs, and Dr. Roy Nix, Members of
the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation, Appellees,

and

Loretta P. Bearp, Marcarer B. Brooks, Guoria A. Brown,
Brenpa S. HumFueet, ARLILLIAN JONES, COLLEEN KeHLer, Law-
RENCE H. NEwBELL, Appice Marie Reip, RaymMonp A. Suriver and
Joun W. Smyrtuia, Intervenor-Appellees.

On Appeal from a Three-Judge United States District Court
for the Middle District of Tennessee

MOTION TO AFFIRM

2

Pursuant to Rule 16 of the Rules of this Court, ap-
pellees Loretta P. Beard, et al., intervenor-defendants
below, move to affirm the judgment of the district
court on the ground that the district court faithfully
adhered to and applied the constitutional] principles

set forth in this Court’s decisions on the Establishment —

Clause issues presented by this appeal, thus rendering
the question presented so unsubstantial that further
review by this Court is unnecessary.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does the Tennessee Student Assistance Program,
which provides financial assistance to needy students
to attend the college of their choice—whether it be a
public or nonpublic or a sectarian or nonsectarian col-
lege—violate the Establishment Clause of the First
Amendment, as made applicable to the states through
the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment ?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Chatlenged Aid Program

At its 1976 session, the Tennessee General Assembly
enacted the Student Assistance Program (‘‘Pro-
gram’’) to ‘“‘provid[e] needy students with the finan-
cial assistance necessary to attend the accredited col-
lege of their choice in Tennessee.’”’ 1976 Tenn. Pub.
Acts, ch. 415.’ Consistent with that intent, the enabling
legislation provides that ‘‘payment of awards shall be

* The enabling legislation for the Student Assistance Program is
reprinted in full at pages A-1 to A-6 of the Appendix to the Juris-
dictional Statement (hereinafter cited as J.S. App.).

3

made directly to the students.’’ J.S. App., p. A-4.? The
court below found that legislative directive was imple-
mented by the issuance of state warrants to qualified
students made out only in the name of the student. J.S.
App., pp. A-20 to A-21.

Awards under the Program are based solely on the
financial need of the student and are granted to resi-
dents of Tennessee ‘‘without regard to... race, color,
ereed, sex, or national origin or ancestry.”’ J.S. App.,
p. A-4. Awards are available to students at public col-
leges and universities, public vocational and technical
institutes, and nonpublic colleges and universities ac-
credited by the Southern Association of Colleges and
Schools. J.S. App., p. A-3. The enabling legislation ex-
nlicitly provides that ‘‘no attempt shall be made”’ by
any official connected with the administration of the
Program ‘‘to influence the selection by an applicant of
the institution which he might attend.’’ J.S. App., p.
A-5. During the 1976-77 academic year, more than
2,000 students attending 35 private colleges and 21 pub-
lic igstitutions received benefits under the Program.’

The r_aximum eward available under the Program is
$1,200 or the total amount of tuition and mandatory
fees, whichever is the lesser amount. J.S. App., p. A-4.

? As noted by the appellants, the legislation enacting the Student
Assistance Program expressly repealed an earlier Tuition Grant
Program that had been the object of previous litigation. Juris. Stmt.,
p. 4. Under the Tuition Grant Program, awards were paid not to the
students who had qualified for them but directly to the institutions
they attended. As the district court acknowledged, that method of
payment had prompted it to treat the Tuition Grant Program as one
of institutional aid, rather than student aid, in the earlier litiga-
tion. J.S. App., p. A-24.

* Plaintiffs’ Exhibit No. 23.

4

For the 1976-1977 academic year, the Program was
funded at $1.5 million, one-half of which was appro-
priated by the Tennessee General Assembly and the
other half of which was provided by federal matching
funds. J.S. App., p. A-21. Because of the limited level
of funding, less than one-fourth of all students who
applied for assistance received awards.‘

As the appellants have noted, the opinion of the dis-
trict court accurately and succinctly summarizes the
actual operation of the Program during the 1976-1977
academic year. See J.S. App., pp. A-20 to A-21.

B. The Proceedings Below

The plaintiffs, one organization and four individual
taxpayers, filed their complaint challenging the Stu-
dent Assistance Program on June 23, 1976. Because the
plaintiffs sought to enjoin on federal constitutional
grounds a statute of statewide application and because
the complaint was filed before the repeal of 28 U.S.C.
§ 2281,° a district court of three judges was convened to
hear and decide the case.

The complaint named as defendants several state
officials responsible for administering the challenged
aid program. Subsequently, ten students who had quali-
fied for awards under the Program were permitted to
intervene as defendants. Those students attend both
public and private colleges.

By agreement of the parties, a single judge was
designated to conduct the evidentiary hearing, which
began on February 28, 1977, and lasted three days. The

* Plaintiffs’ Exhibit No. 23.
* Pub. L. No. 94-381, 90 Stat. 1119 (1976).

5

plaintiffs’ case consisted of evidence about three of the
39 private colleges and universities in Tennessee and
about the lobbying activities of the Tennessee Council
of Private Colleges while the Program was being con-
sidered by the General Assembly. The state defendants
placed in evidence the various documents used in ad-
ministering the Program and offered the testimony
of the two public officials responsible for administering
the Program. The ten student intervenors presented
testimony about the importance of the Program in
financing their college educations.

Immediately following the evidentiary hearing, the
district court heard argument by the parties and re-
quested that the parties submit post-hearing briefs. On
May 19, 1977, the district court issued its opinion,
ruling unanimously that the Student Assistance Pro-
gram did not violate the Establishment Clause. On the
same day, the court entered its judgment dismissing
the complaint.

C. The Decision Below

The district court began its constitutional analysis
by reciting the three-part test of purpose, primary ef-
fect and excessive entanglement that this Court’s de-
cisions on the issue of public aid to church-related in-
stitutions of higher education have evolved over the
past six years. That test was applicable to the appel-
lants’ Establishment Clause claim because of the dis-
trict court’s finding that ‘‘some, but not all, of the pri-
vate schools whose students benefited from this pro-
gram are operated for religious purposes.’’ J.S. App.,
p. A-22. However, the district court also heeded this
Court’s admonishment that the three-part test is not

6

to be applied rigidly and mechanically.’ Rather, the
court recognized that the various components of the
three-part test are simpiy guidelines to essist in iden-
tifying when the values protected by the Establishment
Clause might be impaired. And the district court cor-
rectly identified government neutrality in matters af-
fecting religion as the crucial value that the Establish-
ment Clause safeguards.’ J.S. App., p. A-23.

Because the appellants conceded that the Tennessee
aid program had the requisite secular purpose and had
not generated excessive government entanglement with
religion or religious institutions, the district court’s
opinion addressed the single question whether that
Program had a primary effect that either advanced or
inhibited religion. Recognizing that the analysis em-
ployed in this Court’s Establishment Clause decisions
varied depending on whether the challenged aid was
provided directly to church-related schools or to stu-
dents attending such schools, the district court first
addressed appellants’ contention that the Student
Assistance Program provided direct institutional aid
and rejected that contention. J.S. App., pp. A-24 to
A-25.

The district court then examined whether the pri-
mary effect of the challenged aid program breached the
constitutional command of government neutrality by
analyzing those decisions of this Court which have ap-
plied the so-called ‘‘child benefit’’ theory. With one ex-
ception, the district court found that this Court has sus-

*E.g., Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349, 358-59 (1975) ; Tilton v.
Richardson, 403 U.S. 672, 677 (1971).

"E.g., Roemer vy. Board of Public Works, 426 U.S. 736, 747
(1976).

7

tained the constitutionality of aid programs when the
aid has been provided to students, or their parents.*
The exception is Committee for Public Education v.
Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756 (1973), in which the Court, inter
alia, struck down a New York program of tuition
grants and tax credits to students attending parochial
elementary and secondary schools.’

The appellants contended that Nyquist was control-
ling in this case and doomed the Tennessee program.
The district court disagreed, noting in part:

‘*Here, as in the child benefit cases and contrary
to Nyquist, state funds are provided to students
regardless of whether they attend a private or a
public school. Here, contrary to Nyquist there is
no proof showing the predominance of benefits to
one religious group.’’ J.S. App., p. A-27.

The district court also relied on a footnote in the Ny-
quist decision that clearly suggested that the Court
would have reached a contrary conclusion had it been
reviewing a program of aid for college students that
was made available irrespective of the sectarian-non-
sectarian or public-nonpublic nature of the institutions
attended by those students. 413 U.S. at 782 n.38. The
district court’s analysis of that footnote, and the au-
thorities cited in the footnote, persuaded it that the
challenged Tennessee program had a primary effect
that neither advanced nor inhibited religion.

®See Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349 (1975); Board of Educa-
tion v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236 (1968) ; Everson v. Board of Education,
330 U.S. 1 (1947).

* On the same day that it decided Nyquist, the Court also invali-
dated a Pennsylvania program of tuition reimbursement for parents
of stuclents attending parochial elementary and secondary schools.
Sloan v. Lemon, 413 U.S. 825 (1973).

8

The district court found further support for that
conclusion in ths Court’s disposition of the case of
Durham v. Mcleod, 192 8.E.2d 202 (1972), appeal dis-
missed, 413 U.S. 902 (1973), the same day that Nyquist
was decided. At issue in Durham was a South Carolina
program that provided loans to college students irre-
spective of whether they attended public or nonpublic,
or sectarian or nonsectarian institutions. In rejecting
an Establishment Clause challenge to that program, the
South Carolina Supreme Court had observed that the
program was “‘scrupulously neutral as between reli-
gion and irreligion and as between various religions.’’
192 §.E.2d at 204. Relying on recent decisions of this
Court, the district court ruled that the dismissal of the
Durham appeal the same day that Nyquist was de-
cided was conclusive precedent supporting the consti-
tutionality of the Tennessee program. Thus, the dis-
trict court concluded:

‘In the instant case, as in Durham, the emphasis
of the aid program is on the student rather than
the institution, and the institutions are free to
compete for students who have money provided by
the program. No one religion is favored by the pro-
gram, nor are private or religious institutions fa-
vored over public institutions.’’ J.S. App., p. A-31.

Satisfied that the Student Assistance Program had a
primary effect that neither advanced nor inhibited re-
ligion, the district court entered judgment for the
appellees.

ARGUMENT
A. Further Review Is Not Warranted

Over the past six years, few constitutional questions
have received the careful scrutiny that this Court has

9

given to the issue of the Establishment Clause validity
of programs of public aid that benefit church-related
education. Since 1971, the Court has granted plenary
review and written full cpinions in nine cases present-
ing that issue. Wolman v. Walter, 45 U.S.L.W. 4861
(U.S., June 21, 1977); Roemer v. Board of Public
Works, 426 U.S. 736 (1976); Meek v. Pittenger, 421
U.S. 349 (1975); Committee for Public Education v.
Nyquist, supra; Levitt v. Committee for Public Edu-
cation, 413 U.S. 472 (1973) ; Sloan v. Lemon, 413 U.S.
825 (1973) ; Hunt v. McNair, 413 U.S. 734 (1973) ; Til-
ton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971); Lemon v.
Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971). In addition, the Court
has summarily affirmed” or refused to hear numerous
other cases raising the same issue, including two that
presented the precise issue posed by this appeal.
Americans United v. Rogers, 528 S.W.2d 711, cert.
den., 429 U.S. 1029 (1976) ; Durham v. McLeod, supra.

Those many decisions have examined the aid ques-
tion in a variety of factual contexts, have explored
fully the Establishment Clause values and concerns
implicit in such aid programs, and have set forth the
appropriate constitutional analysis for evaluating the
validity of such aid programs. One effect of the Court’s
exhaustive examination of the public aid issue has been
to fix firmly the three-pronged test of purpose, primary
effect and excessive entanglement as the basis for as-

1° E.g., Franchise Tax Board v. United Americans for Public
Schools, 419 U.S. 890 (1974) ; Luetkemeyer v. Kaufmann, 419 U.S.
888 (1974); Marburger v. Public Funds for Public Schools, 417
U.S. 961 (1974); Grit v. Wolman, 413 U.S. 901 (1973); Essex v.
Wolman, 409 U.S. 808 (1973) ; Brusea v State Board of Education,
405 U.S. 1050 (1972) ; Sanders v. Johnson, 403 U.S. 955 (1971).
See also Wolman v. Essex, 421 U.S. 982 (1975), vacating a district
court decision in light of Meek v. Pittenger, supra.

10

sessing the constitutionality of institutional aid pro-
grams and the ‘‘child benefit”’ analysis as the test of
the validity of student aid programs. Another effect
of those decisions has been to draw a sharp constitu-
tional line between aid to church-related institutions
of higher education and aid to the lower levels of
church-related education. E.g., Committee for Public
Education v. Nyquist, supra, 413 U.S. at 777 n.32;
Tilton v. Richardson, supra, 403 U.S. at 685-86. As a
result, the Court has upheld each program of aid to
church-related colleges it has reviewed.”

Thus, with respect to the Establishment Clause issue
presented by this appeal, this Court has clearly ful-
filled its constitutional duty to define the controlling
constitutional criteria and to illustrate the application
of those criteria in a variety of factual contexts. The
time has now come to permit the lower courts to apply
those criteria as challenges to new aid programs arise.
Any other approach would necessarily require that this
Court grant plenary review in every case reaching it
which challenges educational aid programs that benefit
church-related education directly or indirectly.

These appellees submit that plenary review of this
appeal is warranted only if the appellants can demon-
strate convincingly that the court below disregarded
the controlling constitutional criteria established by
this Court or applied those criteria in a manner incon-
sistent with the fundamental values underlying the
Establishment Clause. These appellees further submit,
and will demonstrate below, that the appellants have
not and cannot make any such showing. Even a cursory
reading of the district court’s opinion will reveal that

11 Roemer v. Board of Public Works, supra; Hunt v. McNair,
supra; Tilton v. Richardson, supra.

i ee -“

om ow ~~ oe! ‘ ~e

11

it strictly and faithfully adhered to and applied the
governing constitutional criteria set forth in this
Court’s recent decisions. Thus, the decision below
should be surmmarily affirmed.

B. Student Aid Analysis

This Court’s decisions on the issue of public aid to
church-related edneation ean be divided into two gen-
eral categories—those involving aid to church-related
schools * and those involving aid to students attending
those schools."* The appellants now acknowledge, as the
court below explicitly held, that the Tennessee Student
Assistance Program is a program of student—and not
institutional—aid. Appellants refuse to acknowledge,
however, that the constitutional test applied by this
Court to student aid programs is more limited in scope
than the test applied to institutional aid programs.

The Court has cautioned that the ‘‘tests” it has ap-
plied in prior Establishment Clause cases should not be
rigidly and mechanically applied. ‘‘[T]he tests must
not be viewed as setting the precise limits to the neces-
sary constitutional inquiry, but serve only as guidelines
with which to identify instances in which the objectives
of the Establishment Clause have been impaired.”
Meek v. Pittenger, supra, 421 U.S. at 359; see also
Tilton v. Richardson, supra, 403 U.S. at 677-78."* The
principal evils that the Establishment Clause was in-

2 E.9., Roemer v. Board of Public Works, supra; Tilton v. Rich-
ardson, supra; Lemon v. Kurtzman, supra.

*% E.g., Board of Education v. Allen, supra; Everson v. Board of
Education, supra.

“Cf. Wolman v. Walter, supra, 45 U.S.L.W. at 4869-70 (opinion
of Powell, J.).

12

tended to avert are ‘‘sponsorship, financial support
and active involvement of the sovereign in religious
activity.’”’ Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664, 668
(1970). Government can avoid those evils only if it
remains scrupulously neutral when its actions bring it
in contact with religion or religious activities. Mr.
Justice Blackmun stated that proposition most force-
fully and succinctly in his opinion in Rvemer v. Board
of Public Works, supra: ‘‘Neutrality is what is re-
quired. The State must confine itself to secular objec-
tives, and neither advance nor impede religious ac-
tivity.’’ 426 U.S. at 747. The test of constitutional va-
lidity evolved in this Court’s student aid decisions as-
sures that such programs will comply with that compel-
ling command of neutrality.

That student aid programs are subject to a dif-
ferent analysis than institutional aid programs is il-
lustrated by such decisions as Everson v. Board of
Education, supra; Board of Education v. Allen, supra,
and the textbook loan portions of the decisions in Meek
v. Pittenger, supra, and Wolman v. Walter, supra.”

** Several factors that are integral to evaluating the constitution-
ality of institutional aid programs are irrelevant to the analysis of
student aid programs. For example, the Court has ruled consistently
that pervasively sectarian schools cannot participate in institutional
aid programs. E.g., Meek v. Pittenger, supra, 421 U.S. at 362-66;
Levitt v. Committee for Public Education, supra; Lemon v. Kurtz-
man, supra. Yet, in Meek v. Pittenger, supra, and Wolman v. Wal-
ter, supra, the Court approved the lending of textbooks to students
who attend pervasively sectarian schools. Thus, in student aid pro-
grams, unlike institutional aid programs, the religious character of
the schools is not a predominant consideration. Cf. Roemer v. Board
of Public Works, supra, 426 U.S. at 766-67 (plurality opinion).

In addition, the entanglement branch of the three-part test ap-
plied to institutional aid programs appears to be of no concern in
student aid programs. For example, after the Court concluded that
the textbook loan program challenged in Meek had a valid primary

ae a

13

To be sure, the fact that the aid is channeled to stu-
dents or their parents, rather than directly to church-
related schools, does not automatically establish a pro-
gram’s constitutional validity. In Committee for Pub-
lic Education v. Nyquist, supra, the Court noted that
‘“‘the fact that aid is disbursed to parents rather than
the schools is only one among many factors to be con-
sidered.’’ 413 U.S. at 781. But as the Court’s opinion
in Nyquist makes clear, a true student aid program of
the sort involved in this case is entirely consistent with
the Establishment Clause.

In Nyquist the Court reviewed a program of tuition
grants available only to parents of nonpublic school
students, the vast majority of whom attended denomi-
national, and particularly Roman Catholic, schools. 413
U.S. at 767-68. The Court invalidated that program be-
cause it considered the program to be, in reality, a pro-
gram of aid to sectarian schools. ‘‘[I]t is precisely the
function of New York’s law,’’ the Court concluded, ‘‘to
provide assistance to private schools, the great ma-
jority of which are sectarian .... [T]he effect of that
aid is unmistakably to provide desired financial sup-
port for nonpublic, sectarian institutions.’’ 413 U.S. at
783."° ;

effect, it did not examine whether excessive government entangle-
ment with religion would result from that program. See 421 U.S.
at 359-62.

Finally, as is discussed in more detail below, secular use restric-
tions, which are an essential feature of institutional aid programs,
are unnecessary in student aid programs.

* Ohio attempted to cast a program of bus transportation to
provide field trips for parocliial school students as one of student
aid. This Court ruled that effort was unavailing. ‘‘ [T]he schools,
rather than the children, truly are the recipients of the service
and, as this Court has recognized, this fact alone may be sufficient
to invalidate the program as impermissible direct aid.’’ Wolman v.
Walter, supra, 45 U.S.L.W. at 4867.

14

In reconciling its decision on the New York tuition
grant program with the results in Everson and Allen,
the Court in Nyquist noted that the benefits of the pro-
grams challenged in those earlier decisions were avail-
able to ‘‘all school children, those in public as well as
those in private schools.’’ 413 U.S. at 782, n.38. The
Nyquist Court also cited with approval the decision in
Wolman v. Essex, 342 F. Supp. 399 (S.D. Ohio), a de-
cision which the Court had summarily affirmed. 409
U.S. 808 (1972). In striking down an Ohio tuition re-
imbursement program for nonpublic school students,
the district court had emphasized not only that the
benefits were available only to private school students
but also that one religious group—Roman Catholics—
predominated within that limited class of beneficiaries.
342 F. Supp. at 412.”

These considerations prompted the Court to suggest
strongly that the result in Nyquist would have been dif-
ferent if it were reviewing a student aid program under
which the benefits were ‘‘made available generally
without regard to the sectarian-nonsectarian, or pub-
lice-nonpublic nature of the institution[s]’’ attended by
the students. 413 U.S. at 782-83 n.38. Indeed, on the
same day that Nyquist was decided, the Court dismissed
for want of a substantial federal question an appeal
challenging a South Carolina student aid program that
had those precise characteristics. Durham v. McLeod,
192 S.E.2d 202 (1972), appeal dismissed, 413 U.S, 902
(1973).

The court below expressly ruled that the Tennessee
Student Assistance Program has all of the characteris-

17 The district court noted that 95 percent of the students who
benefited from the Ohio program attended Catholic parochial
schools. 342 F. Supp. at 403.

15

tics of a constitutionally valid student aid program.
The secular objectives of the Program are undisputed
and the effect of the Program has heen scrupulously
neutral in terms of advancing or impeding religion.
**( T]he emphasis of the aid program is on the student
rather than the institution, and the institutions are
free to compete for the students who have money pro-
vided by the program. No one religion is favored by
the program, nor are private or religious institutions
favored over public institutions.” J.S. App., p. A-31.
In fact, the district court found that, if there is any
incentive in the challenged Program to select one type
of college over another, the incentive is to select a
public institution. 7d. at n.5.

The district court correctly applied the controlling
decisions of this Court in sustaining the constitution-
ality of the Tennessee Student Assistance Program,
and further review of that ruling by this Court is not
warranted.

C. Secular Use Restricticns

The appellants insist that an additional requirement
must be satisfied for a student aid program to be con-
stitutional. To pass constitutional muster, the appel-
lants argue, a student aid program must ‘‘be restricted
in such fashion as to guarantee that the State is sup-
porting only the secular portions of the students’ edu-
cation.”’ Juris. Stmt., p. 8; see also id. at pp. 12-13. This
Court has, of course, ruled that use restrictions of the
type described by the appellants are necessary com-
ponents of institutional aid programs. E.g., Hunt v.
McNair, supra, 413 U.S. at 744; Tilton v. Richardson,
supra, 403 U.S. at 682-84. But no decision of this Court
has required that student aid programs contain similar

16

restrictions. Appellants’ argument to the contrary
rests on a fundamental misconception of the Court’s
student aid decisions.

That misconception is most apparent in appellants’
reliance on the Nyquist decision to support their use
restriction argument. As noted above, the Court clearly
perceived New York’s tuition grant program as an in-
stitutional aid program when it asserted that ‘‘it is pre-
cisely the function of New York’s law to provide as-
sistance to private schools, the great majority of which
are sectarian. ... [T]he effect of the aid is unmistak-
ably to provide desired financial support for nonpublic,
sectarian institutions.’’ 413 U.S. at 783. It was because
of that perception that the Court noted the absence of
any restrictions to confine the aid to the secular aspects
of the sectarian schools that were the real beneficiaries
of the contested aid. Id. Thus, the Nyquist decision pro-
vides no support for the appellants’ argument that
similar use restrictions are essential in true student
aid programs.

Nor does appellants’ use restriction argument find
support in this Court’s textbook loan decisions. Wol-
man v. Walter, supra, 45 U.S.L.W. at 4863; Meek v.
Pittenger, supra, 421 U.S. at 359-62; Board of Educa-
tion v. Allen, supra. It is true that the Court stressed in
each of those decisions that only secular textbooks
could be loaned to students attending church-related
schools. But that aspect of those decisions does not sup-
port appellants’ claim that use restrictions are essen-
tial to student aid programs. The Court’s emphasis on
the secular nature of the textbooks loaned is simply an
acknowledgement that the Establishment Clause im-
poses an absolute bar to the state’s providing religious
texts to assist the educational process in either private

17

or public schools. Cf. McCollum v. Board of Education,
333 U.S. 203 (1948).

In terms of appellants’ use restriction argument,
what is significant about the textbook loan decisions is
the absence of any concern about the use that students
in sectarian schools would make of those books. The
Court displayed indifference to the use of the textbooks
in Meek even though the students receiving the books
would be attending schools whose ‘‘very purpose . . . is
to provide an integrated secular and religious educa-
tion; the teaching process is, to a large extent, devoted
to the inculcation of religious values and belief.’’ 421
U.S. at 366. Similarly, in Wolman the Court acknowl-
edged that the students to whom textbooks were loaned
attended schools in which it was impossible to ‘‘sep-
arat[e] the secular education function from the sec-
tarian.”’ 45 U.S.L.W. at 4866. The fact that textbooks
provided by public funds could constitutionally be used
in educational environments in which religion perme-
ated secular instruction clearly suggests that use re-
strictions are not essential features of true student aid
programs.

The lesson of the textbook aid cases is simply that
the aid provided to students attending church-related
schools must be secular in nature. That requirement
was satisfied in Wolman, Meek and Allen when the
state limited the textbooks it loaned to those that were
secular in content. That requirement is also satisfied in
this case. Here the state provides money to students
to assist them in meeting their college costs, and there
is certainly nothing religious or sectarian about money.
Whether that money is used to attend a public or non-
public, sectarian or nonsectarian, college is a matter of
the student’s choice, and the enabling Tennessee legis-

18

lation prohibits state officials from influencing that
choice in any fashion. J.S. App., p. A-5.

Thus, under this Court’s student aid decisions, the
aid program challenged by the appellants meets the
requirement that the aid provided be secular in nature.
Those decisions do not require that a student’s use of
that aid be restricted,” and no such restrictions are
necessary in the Tennessee Program.

D. Financing Religious Education

Appellants also argue that the Student Assistance
Program violates the Establishment Clause because it
assists students in obtaining a religious education.
Juris. Stmt., pp. 11-22. That argument is based on
faulty factual and jegal assumptions.

Appellants initially base their argument on a very
generalized observation by the court below that ‘‘some,
but not all, of the private schools whose students bene-
fited from this program are operated for religious pur-
poses, with religious requirements for students and

faculty and are admittedly permeated with the dogma.

of the sponsoring religious organization.”’ J.S. App.,
p. A-22. It is impossible to determine from that cryptic
statement, which is the only reference in the opinion
below to the fact that some private colleges in Tennes-
see are church-related, which institutions the district
court had in mind. The appellants presented evidence
about three church-related colleges, and six of the ten
intervenors attend colleges that have varying degrees
of religious orientations. The testimony of those six

18 For example, there is no indication that the college student loan
program upheld in Durham v. McLeod, supra, contained any use
restriction.

19

intervenors established that their schools closely re-
sembled those that this Court ruled were eligible for
direct institutional aid in Roemer v. Board of Public
Works, supra, and Tilton v. Richardson, supra. The
record in this case is completely silent on whether
any of the other 26 private colleges whose students
benefited from the aid Program have religious affilia-
tions of any degree.

More importantly, the district court’s brief observa-
tion about certain unspecified colleges falls far short of
holding those colleges provide an education that is
religious in nature. That observation simply establishes
that some unspecified colleges have certain religious
characteristics. But that was also true of the colleges
approved for direct institutional aid in the Roemer and
Tilton decisions. Thus, something more is needed to
support appellants’ claim that the aid Program they
= assists students in obtaining a religious edu-
cation.

To overcome that factual deficiency, the appellants
resort to the sweeping assertion that ‘‘[t]he record is
replete with illustrations of the overwhelming sec-
tarianism of . . . three colleges.’’ Juris. Stmt., p. 13.
They then refer in a highly selective manner to isolated
pieces of evidence about one particular college. Appel-
lants are obviously inviting this Court to conclude that
students at that college, at least, receive a religious,
rather than a secular, education.

Since the district court chose not to enter any find-
ings concerning the religious characteristics of specific
colleges, no useful purpose would be served at this
stage of the proceedings to engage the appellants in a
detailed debate over the sufficiency of the evidence they

20

cite to contend that students at the college they have
isolated receive a religious education. It is sufficient to
note that a review of all of the evidence presented con-
cerning that college would refute that contention.

Even if it is assumed, arguendo, that some students
receiving Student Assistance awards attend substan-
tially religious colleges, that fact is of no relevance to
the constitutional validity of a true student aid pro-
gram. There was no question that the students receiv-
ing the textbook loans in Wolman v. Walter, supra,
and Meek v. Pittenger, supra, were enrolled in per-
vasively sectarian parochial schools. But those student
aid programs were approved nevertheless. Thus, the
district court correctly sustained the constitutionality
of the Student Assistance Program irrespective of the
religious orientations of colleges attended by students
receiving aid under that program.

E. Direct Aid To Sectarian Schools

Finally, and apparently in the alternative, the ap-
pellants contend that the Student Assistance Program
impermissibly provides direct support to sectarian col-
leges. Juris. Stmt., pp. 22-26. The basis for that argu-
ment appears to be that, because some students at-
tending church-related colleges may choose to pay tui-
tion bills with their awards, the effect of the Program
is to channel state funds into some colleges that could
not qualify for institutional aid. That argument is as
strained as it is frivolous.

There can be no serious dispute, as the district court
repeatedly recognized, that the Student Assistance Pro-
gram is a program of student—and not institutional—
aid. It is students—not colleges—who must establish
their eligibility for awards. It is students—not col-

21

leges—who apply for the awards. It is students—not
colleges—who are paid the awards in their own names.

While some award recipients may decide to use part
or all of their awards to pay their tuition, nothing in
the enabling legislation or regulations governing the
Program compels them to do so. Students are required
only to use the awards for educationally related ex-
penses. As the district court found, such expenses can
and do include room rent, bus fare, clothing and health
care. J.S. App., p. A-21. Indeed, the evidence pre-
sented to the district court showed that some students
used their entire awards for educationally related ex-
penses incurred elsewhere than at the colleges they
attended.

Any benefits that a college might realize under the
Student Assistance Program are indirect, incidental
and haphazard. It is true, of course, that, to the extent
that a Student Assistance award permits a person to
attend a college he could not otherwise afford to attend,
the college will benefit from the additional revenue it
receives from that student. But this Court has defini-
tively resolved the question of whether such indirect
benefits realized by church-related institutions are im-
permissible under the Establishment Clause.

‘*Perhaps free books make it more likely that some
children choose to attend a sectarian school, but
that was true of the state-paid bus fares in Ever-
son and does not alone demonstrate an unconsti-
tutional degree of support for a religious institu-
tion.’’ Board of Education v. Allen, supra, 392
U.S. at 244.

That holding in Allen is dispositive of appellants’ ‘‘di-
rect support’’ argument.

22

The district court succinctly summarized the pur-
pose and effect of the Student Assistance Program
when it stated:

‘*In enacting the Tennessee Student Assistance
Program, the Tennessee General Assembly sought
to provide needy students with the opportunity
to attend higher education institutions of their
choice, be it public, private, sectarian, or nonsec-
tarian. To ensure that the neutral purpose would
not be compromised, the General Assembly en-
acted a student aid program rather than an insti-
tutional aid program.’ J.S. App., p. A-31.

That student aid program satisfies all of the consti-
tutional criteria set forth in thir Court’s decisions,
and the district court properly found the appellants’
constitutional claims to be without merit.

CONCLUSION ben

For the foregoing reasons, the district court’s dis-
position of appellants’ Establishment Clause claim is
in harmony with the controlling precedents of this
Court, and no substantial question remains to justify
plenary review by this Court. The judgment of the dis-
trict court should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

CnarLes H. WILSON
1090 Hill Building
Washington, D. C. 20006

Attorney for Intervenor-
Appellees Loretta P. Beard, et al.

Of Counsel:

WuuiaMs & ConNoLLY
1000 Hill Building
Washington, D. C. 20006

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2384%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
