# Opposition — Bageris v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2352%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 1009

## Text

No. 77-217

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBer TERM, 1977

RosBerT P. BAGERIS, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS §OR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

Wape H. McCres, Jr.,
Solicitor General,

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Aitorney General,

Jerome M. Feit,

ANN T. WALLACE,
Attorneys,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-217
ROBERT P. BAGERIS, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The order of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 2a-3a) is
not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
May 24, 1977. A petition for rehearing was denied on
July 1, 1977. The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed
on August 4, 1977, and is therefore out of time under
Rule 22(2) of the Rules of this Court. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

5
—

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether petitioner, by failing to move to suppress
before trial, waived his objection to the use in evidence of
a statement he made to arresting offices during routine
booking procedures.

2. Whether petitioner is entitled to a new trial because
a government witness stated that petitioner had refused to
sign a waiver of rights form, where the jury was
immediately admonished to disregard that statement.

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Michigan, petitioner was
convicted of possession of marihuana (five counts),
amphetamines (two counts), and cocaine (two counts), all
with intent to distribute, and on one count of simple
pessession of marihuana, in violation of 21 U.S.C.
841(a)(l) and 844.' He was sentenced to one year’s
imprisonment and three years’ special parole on each of
the five marihuana counts, to three months’ imprisonment
on the simple possession of marihuana count, to three
years’ imprisonment and three years’ special parole on
each of the remaining counts, and to fines totalling $8,550
(Pet. App. la-2a). The sentences of imprisonment were to
be served concurrently (ibid.). The court of appeals
affirmed (Pet. App. 2a-3a).

On September 19, 1974, agents of the Drug Enforce-
ment Administration executed a search warrant for the
premises occupied by petitioner. During the search they
seized marihuana, amphetamines and cocaine and
arrested petitioner.

'An earlier trial of petitioner had resulted in a mistrial (Pet. 5).

3

At trial the government attorney asked one of the DEA
agents who had participated in the booking procedures
following petitioner’s arrest if petitioner had been asked
during those proceedings whether he used narcotics (A.
44a-45a).?, Defense counsel then requested that the matter
be taken up outside the presence of the jury (A. 45a). The
jury was excused, and defense counsel objected to the
admission of any testimony regarding statements made by
petitioner during the booking process (A. 48a). The
district court observed that the issue had not been raised
in petitioner’s pretrial motions to suppress, that
petitioner’s first trial had ended in a mistrial because of
“the personal history problems,” and that counsel could
not claim surprise with regard to the testimony the
government sought to introduce (A. 47a). The court then
heard argument from counsel and ruled that the

testimony was admissible, noting that the agent conduct-

ing the booking proceedings had warned petitioner of his
Miranda rights and that, under the circumstances, it
would not entertain a midtrial motion to suppress (A.
50a). The court did, however, allow defense counsel to
conduct a voir dire examination of the government’s
witnesses (ibid.).

During the voir dire, a DEA agent testified that
petitioner was given Miranda warnings when he was
arrested (A. 46a, 53a). He was then taken to the DEA
office, where he was again advised of his rights and given
a waiver of rights form. Petitioner declined to sign the
form and stated that he did not wish to make a statement
(ibid.). Petitioner was then photographed, fingerprinted,
and asked routine questions read to him from a personal

“A.” refers to petitioner’s appendix on appeal, a copy of which we
have lodged with the Clerk of this Court.

4

history form (A. 44a-45a). The questions on the form
related to the arrestee’s name, address, identifying data,
residence, and educational background, the names and
addresses of family members, the arrestee’s use, if any, of
narcotics, and his or her “characteristic marks or
conditions” (A. 45a). In response to the questions about
narcotics, petitioner stated that he used no drugs, “(nJot
even marijuana” (A. 67a). When the jury returned, that
statement was admitted into evidence as proof of
petitioner's intent to distribute the 863.11 grams of
marijuana discovered during the search of his house.’

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 7-14) that the statements
made by him following his arrest were obtained in
violation of the principles of Miranda vy. Arizona, 384
U.S. 436, and therefore should have been suppressed.
Petitioner did not, however, raise this claim in a timely
fashion in the district court, and he is therefore not
entitled to have it considered now.

Although petitioner was aware prior to trial of any
facts that might have tended to support his allegations
(see A. 48a), he did not complain of improper custodial
interrogation in the suppression motions that he filed,
each of which sought suppression of the evidence seized
during the search of his home.* Accordingly, no evidence
presented at the suppression hearings (A. la-44a) touched

‘See Counts 1-4, 7, and |! of the indictment (A. 195a-197a); 863.11
grams equals nearly two pounds.

‘Petitioner's motions to suppress complained of the alleged
insufficiency of the affidavit in support of the search warrant (A.
201a-205a), alleged defects on the face of the affidavit and in the
warrant, and the conduct of the agents during the execution of the
warrant (A. 230-238). He does not present those claims here.

5

upon the circumstances surrounding the booking
procedures. Under the pertinent Rules of Criminal
Procedure in effect at the time of petitioner’s trial, a
motion to suppress prosecution evidence must be made
prior to trial.° Petitioner neither made such a motion nor
demonstrated good cause for failing to do so, and
accordingly he must be deemed to have waived his
challenge.®

‘The provisions ia effect at petitioner's trial were former Rules 41(f)
and 12, Fed. R. Crim. P. While the language of those provisions was
not as explicit as the current Rules, they had consistently been held to
state essentially the same requirement. See, e.g., United States v.
Mauro, 507 F. 2d 802, 807 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 420 U.S. 991;
United States v. Farnkoff, 535 F. 2d 661 (C.A. 1); United States v.
Sisca, 503 F. 2d 1337, 1349(C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 419 U.S. 1008;
United States v. Ceraso, 467 F. 2d 653, 659 (C.A. 3); United
States v. Peterson, 524 F. 2d 167, 170 (C.A. 4), certiorari denied, 423
U.S. 1088. Cf. United States v. Barber, 495 F. 2d 327 (C.A. 9). See
generally Segurola v. United States, 275 U.S. 106, 112. Although
under the old rules the district court would have had discretion to
excuse petitioner from the consequences of his waiver, that was not
done in this case. This discretion no longer exists. See Fed. R. Crim.
P. 12(b3) and 12(f).

‘Petitioner correctly notes that the decision of the District of
Columbia Circuit in Procter v. United States, 404 F. 2d 819, is at
odds with the decisions of other courts of appeals regarding the
propriety of the government's asking routine booking questions of a
defendant who, after having received Miranda warnings, has refused
to discuss the crime for which he has been arrested. See, in addition
to the decision below, United States v. Prewitt, 553 F. 2d 1082(C.A.
7), certiorari denied, October 3, 1977 (No. 76-6665); United States v.
Grant, 549 F. 2d 942. 946 (C.A. 4), certiorari denied, June 20, 1977
(No. 76-6463); United States ex rel. Hines v. LaVallee, 521 F. 2d
1109, 1112-1113 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied sub nom. Hines v.
Bombard, 423 U.S. 1090; Morrison vy. United States, 491 F. 2d 344,
345 (C.A. 8); United States v. La Monica, 472 F. 2d 580 (C.A. 9):
Farley v. United States, 381 F. 2d 357, 359 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied,
389 U.S. 942; see also United States v. Martinez, 512 F. 2d 830, 833
(C.A. 5); Smith v. United States, 50S F. 2d 824 (C.A. 6). Cf. United
States v. Menichino, 497 F. 2d 935, 940-941 (C.A. 5). Our view is
that, especially in cases such as this one, where the arrestee was given

6

2. During the direct examination of one of the DEA
agents involved in the arrest and processing of petitioner,
the following colloquy occurred (A. 68a):

A. After the search was completed, we took
[petitioner] down to our office in the Federai
Building, fingerprinted, photographed him and took
a personal history sheet.

Q. By we, who do you mean, sir—

+ * & © *

A. Myself, Agent Turner and Agent Stepp were
involved in the processing of [petitioner].

Q. (By Mr. Sharp, continuing): And what, exactly,
was your assignment in the processing of [petitioner]?

A.When we first arrived in the office, took
[petitioner] to our processing area and our lock-up. I
advised [petitioner], again, of his Constitutional
rights.

[Petitioner] was then given a waiver of rights sheet
which he read over and he refused to sign it.

MR. BARRIS [defense counsel]: Your Honor, I
think—may we have the jury excused, please.

After the court had excused the jury, defense counsel
moved for a mistrial on the ground that the agent’s
testimony amounted to an impermissible comment on
petitioner’s exercise of his Fifth Amendment privilege

full Miranda warnings at the time of arrest and again at the DEA
office, law enforcement officials may properly ask routine booking
questions that have legitimate, noninvestigative purposes relating to
the proper custody and management of the arrestee. Cf. South
Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364; Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S.
433.

5

against compulsory self-incrimination. The government
attorney conceded that “the comment was unfortunate”
(A. 69a) but argued that it was dissimilar to the testimony
that had caused petitioner’s first trial to end in a mistrial
(then a government witness testified that petitioner had
indeed exercised his privilege and had refused to make
any statement (ibid.)). Defense counsel agreed that the
situations were dissimilar (ibid.), but he argued that the
agent’s testimony about petitioner’s refusal to sign the
waiver form was irrelevant and possibly prejudicial to
petitioner (id. at 69a-70a). The district court then stated
that the government attorney’s question of the witness
had not been designed to elicit the testimony to which
defense counsel objected (id. at 70a-7 1a):

THE COURT: The question did not include that;
the answer went beyond the question. I don’t see
anything improper with the question. I think the
question was essentially, particularly in the defend-
ant’s view, as to what would be done and I think the
matter could be covered by instructing the jury that
there is no obligation by anyone to sign that form
and I intend to so instruct them.

MR. SHARP: Thank you, your Honor.
MR. BARRIS: Thank you.

THE COURT: Will you be very cautious, Mr.
Antonucci [the DEA agent], to answer Mr. Sharp’s
questions and not include any more than he asks you.
These are areas that are very difficult. If he has to ask
you a leading question, I would permit him to do so.
1 would prefer to have a leading question- - - and
you may not recognize, as a witness, from what
happened before, you’re not a lawyer, but will you be
cautious in that respect?

8

MR. BARRIS: I assume your Honor is denying
the motion?

THE COURT: I’m denying the motion. I’m going
to tell the jury there is no obligation for anyone to
sign the form without indicating what the form is.

MR. BARRIS: Thank you, your Honor.

The jury was then recalled and the district court
instructed it that “there is absolutely no obligation or
requirement that any person sign the form which the
witness just referred to. There’s no obligation on him or
requirement, at all, that he sign any such form” (id. at
71a).

Contrary to petitioner’s argument (Pet. 14-16), the
agent’s brief remark (A. 68a) that petitioner was “given a
waiver of rights sheet which he read over and he refused
to sign it” did not deprive petitioner of a fair trial. While
petitioner is correct in stating that Doyle v. Ohio, 426
U.S. 610, and United States v. Hale, 422 U.S. 171, forbid
the government from discrediting the defendant’s trial
testimony with evidence of his silence at the time of arrest
(and after having received Miranda warnings), we submit
that those cases are inapposite here, where the testimony
to which petitioner objects was not deliberately elicted by
the government attorney and was not used to establish
any material element of the prosecution’s case or to
impeach his own testimony (petitioner did not testify at
trial). Nor does Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609,
forbidding comment on the defendant’s exercise of his
Fifth Amendment privilege, require reversal here. The
agent’s testimony about petitioner’s refusal to sign the
waiver form amounted to no more than one isolated,
inadvertent remark that, when taken in the context of the
entire trial—which included evidence of petitioner’s
possession of the marihuana, cocaine, and amphetamines

9

found in his house, as well as the district court's
immediate curative instruction—was harmless beyond a
reasonable doubt. See Milton v. Wainwright, 407 U.S.
371.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WapDE H. McCree, Jr..,
Solicitor General.

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General.

JEROME M. Feit,
ANN T. WALLACE,
Attorneys.

DECEMBER 1977.

DOJ.1977-12

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2352%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
