# Petition — Elkins v. Moreno

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2289%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 435 U.S. 647

## Text

_, Supreme Court, U. S.
@. FILED

JUL 28 1977

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

_—_-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

No. €7-154 p

WILSON H. ELKINS, PREsIpDENT, UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND,

Petitioner,
Vv.

JUAN CARLOS MORENO, Et AL.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

FRANCIS B. BURCH,
Attorney General
of Maryland,
Davin H. FELDMAN,
Assistant Attorney General,
Chief of Litigation,
RoBerT A. ZARNOCH,
Assistant Attorney General,
1400 One South Calvert Bldg.,
Baltimore, Maryland 21202,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

-
——

The Daily Record Co., Baltimore, Md. 21202 Sa.

INDEX
TABLE OF CONTENTS

SE SERRE ae x ene Rene aco

I ee

ID TID venncsessscscesssicetincnsistenmittnnanienins

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND REGULATORY
PPRUEIRIIIED TROWIG TIED ceccccccanccocnssencccnsessceccensens

GRATEDENT OF TERE CAGE .nccccccccccccccscccoscescocsescocccses

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

II.

The treatmer.t below of the irrebuttable
presumption question raised in this case
is patentiy at odds with a series of
decisions by this Court and sharply
conflicts with decisions of other circuits

The decisions below cast a cloud on the
tuition and fee policies followed by most
public colleges and universities in the
United States, and the erroneous inter-
pretation of United States immigration
laws by the lower courts may seriously
impact on legitimate areas of federal
concern such as federal estate tax law

i ee

APPENDIX

University of Maryland, Determination of In-
State Status for Admission, Tuition, and
Charge Differential Purposes .....................0.

19

22

la

il

8 C.F.R. §214.1: Requirements for admission,
extension, and maintenance of status ..........

Moreno, et al. v. University of Maryland and Dr.
Wilson H. Elkins, President, University of
Maryland, 420 F. Supp. 541 Opinion and
Order (filed July 13, 1976) .......::sssesesereeeeees

Moreno, et al. v. University of Maryland and Dr.
Wilson H. Elkins, President, University of
Maryland — Civil Action No. M-76-691 —
Order (filed August 3, 1976) ......:.:ssesseesrees

Moreno, et al. v. Wilson H. Elkins, President,
University of Maryland and University of
Maryland, United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit, No. 76-2049 —
Unpublished Opinion (April 28, 1977) ..........

Wilson H. Elkins, President, University of
Maryland v. Moreno, et al. — United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, No.
76-2049 — Order (filed May 23, 1977) ..........

Moreno, et al. v. Wilson H. Elkins, President,
University of Maryland and University of
Maryland, United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit, No. 76-2049 — Order
(filed May 26, 1977) ............ccscsccerresrsesesssseerees

PAGE

8a

52a

Pee ee

iii
TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases
PAGE

Brafman v. Brafman, 144 Md. 413, 125 A. 161
SITE * sirnhcentdaiehachsilibatinas dinate hana ia, 19

Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur, 414
Shen Ge CED cctininsincsicasinictetinisintsines 7,9, 10,11, 12,14, 15

Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 (1970) ....... 18
Fiallo v. Bell, U.S. ,52L. Ed. 2d 50(1977) 14
Fisher v. Secretary of HEW, 522 F.2d 493 (7th

Gpeeb PTE - ieephicnincintoptehdeiciniaiedieacsblieiiatlealag: Mines a 14
Gurmankin v. Costanzo, 45 U.S.L.W. 2526 (3d

Cir., Apr. 25, 1977) ............... SEER oe One 15
Hein v. Burns, 402 F. Supp. 398 (S.D. Iowa 1975),

rev'd, 50 L. Ed. 2d 485 (1977) .o...cccccccccccecsceee. 10
Knebel v. Hein, U.S. , 50 L. Ed. 2d 485

BE Tee ave, oT! EN Ee ee 13, 18
Matthews v. Diaz, 426 U.S. 67 (1976) .o..ececcccces. 17,18

Mogle v. Seiver Co. School Dist., 540 F.2d 478
(10th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, USS. , 51

Pe LR Renee ae ae 14
Nyquist v. Mauclet, US. , 4 US.L.W.

I I it 5,17, 19
Salfi v. Weinberger, 373 F. Supp. 961 (N.D. Cal.

1974), rev’d 422 U.S. 749 (1975) wcceeececscecee. 10, 11
San Antonio Independent School District v.

Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973) w.ccccccccccssesceesceceees 15

Sellers v. Ciccone, 530 F.2d 199 (8th Cir. 1976) 14,15
Shenton v. Abbott, 178 Md. 526, 15 A.2d 906
UTED :chscenidentestiieeieiiiiti bedi ala EE LAY 19

Skafte v. Rorex, 553 P.2d 830 (Colo. 1976), appeal
dismissed for want of substantial federal
question, US. , 52 L. Ed. 352 (1977).. 14

d PAGE
Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) ..............7, 9, 10,

11, 13, 14, 15
Starns v. Malkerson, 326 F. Supp. 234 (D. Minn.
1970), aff'd 401 U.S. 985 (1971) ..... 10, 12, 15, 16, 18

Turner v. Department of Employment Secur-
ity, US. , 46 L. Ed. 2d 181 (1975) ... 12

Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1

CRIED cxcscrsstitininiinntenncreenenseiaimanasnainaas 13
Vlandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441 (1973) ................. 4, 7,8,
9,10, 11,13, 16

Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975) ............ 8,9, 11,

, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
White v. Tennant, 31 W. Va. 790, 8 S.E. 596

CRA cuniccvertsschaviintinsinceniicitnaiiipiainnaldcaimiaganainiiaiaaian 16
Winans v. Winans, 205 Mass. 388, 91 N.E. 394
ne Ne mee . 16

Statutes, Rules and Regulations

Code of Federal Regulations:
, FY |S eee ee 4,6
a Ea 2
Rule 22 of the United States Supreme Court 2
United States Code:

Title 8
Section 1101(aX LSE) 2.0.2... ceeeeeeceeeeeseeees 21
Section 1101(aX15\G)i) and (iv) ............ 3, 6, 21
EE 3,6
SOD | cncecccsncctcocenindeneninlinduea 4,6
Title 22
, Be TIED ceccececcceesstsciniantctmmntienman 7
Title 26
eCTRaeD GND ccecccnssssccsiieciinsmncensiniiiiaamnaaae 7

Vv
Title 28 ay
Section 1343(3) and (4) .u.......ccccccccocsreesces. 6
ESS 2
Miscellaneous

89 Harv. L. Rev. 47 (1975), The Supreme Court,
SEES TE a 9,11
Jacobs, M., Law of Domicile (1887) ........c.ccc.00.... 16

Revenue Ruling (IRS) 74-364, 1974-2 C.B. 321 ... 20

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1977

29 eee oe

No.

WILSON H. ELKINS, Presipent, UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND,
Petitioner,
Ve

JUAN CARLOS MORENO, et AL.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Wilson H. Elkins, President of the Univer-
sity of Maryland, prays that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit entered in this case on
April 28, 1977.

OPINIONS BELOW

The per curiam opinion of the Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit, not yet reported, appears in the
Appendix to this Petition (A. 54a). The order denying
rehearing en banc, entered May 23, 1977, is also
unreported and likewise appears in the Appendix
(A. 55a). The opinion and order of the United States
District Court that resulted in the appeal to the Court of
Appeals was entered on July 13, 1976, in Moreno v.

9

a

University of Maryland, 420 F. Supp. 541 (D. Md. 1976),
and also appears in the Appendix (A. 8a).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
April 28, 1977. Within the time prescribed by Rule 40 of
the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Petitioner
filed a petition for rehearing and suggestion for
rehearing en banc. That petition was denied by the
Court of Appeals on May 23, 1977. This petition for
certiorari is being filed within the 90 day period
provided by 28 U.S.C. §2101 and Rule 22 of the
Supreme Court. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 93 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the decisions below should have applied
Supreme Court precedents on irrebuttable presump-
tions, disregarded the principles articulated in Wein-
berger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975), and erroneously
concluded that the University of Maryland’s policy of
denying in-state status for tuition and fee purposes to
non-immigrants holding G-4 visas establishes an
irrebuttable presumption violative of the due process
clause of the fourteenth amendment to the United
States Constitution?

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND
REGULATORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

Constitution of the United States

Amendment XIV, § 1.

All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and of the State
wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the privileges or

3

immunities of citizens of the United States; nor
shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty,
or property, without due process of law; nor deny to
a within its jurisdiction the equal
protectiOn of the laws.

United States Code
Title 8, § 1101(a)(15)(G)(i) and (iv)

The term “immigrant” means every alien except
an alien who is within one of the following classes
of non-immigrant aliens—

« * =

(G) (i) a designated principal resident representa-
tive of a foreign goverment recognized de jure by
the United States, which foreign government is a
member of an international organization entitled
to enjoy privileges, exemptions, and immunities as
an international organization under the Interna-
tional Organizations Immunities Act (59 Stat. 669),
accredited resident members of the staff of such
representatives, and members of his or their
immediate family;

* * *

(iv) officers, or employees of such international
organizations, and the members of their immediate
families;

Title 8, § 1184(a)

(a) The admission to the United States of any
alien as a nonimmigrant shall be for such time and
under such conditions as the Attorney General
may by regulations prescribe, including when he
deems necessary the giving of a bond with
sufficient surety in such sum and containing such
conditions as the Attorney General shall prescribe,
to insure that at the expiration of such time or
upon failure to maintain the status under which he
was admitted, or to maintain any \tatus subse-
quently acquired under section 248 [§ 1258 of this
title], such alien will depart from the United States.

Title 8,°§ 1202(c)

(c) Every alien applying for a nonimmigrant visa
and for alien registration shall make application
therefor in such form and manner as sha!! be by
regulations prescribed. In the application the alien
shall state his full and true name, the date and
place of birth, his nationality, the purpose and
length of his intended stay in the United States;
personal description (including height, complexion,
color of hair and eyes, and marks of identification);
his marital status; and such additional information
necessary to the identification of the applicant and
the enforcement of the immigration and national-
ity laws as may be by regulations prescribed.

Code of Federal Regulations
Title 8, §214.1

This appears in the Appendix (A. 5a).

University of Maryland In-State Policy with
Respect to Tuition and Fee Differentials—

This also appears in the Appendix (A. la).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Following the decision of this Court in Vlandis v.
Kline, 412 U.S. 441 (1973), the Board of Regents of the
University of Maryland adopted a new policy for the
classification of students as “in-state” or “out-of-state”’
for purposes of determining admission, tuition rates,
and charge differentials. Like most other public
institutions of higher education, the University of
Maryland bases its award of in-state status on domicile.

Because it views non-immigrant aliens as being
under a legal disability which precludes the intent to be
domiciled in Maryland, the University considers for in-
state status only “United States citizens and ...
immigrant aliens lawfully admitied for permanent

residence in accordance with the laws of the Wmited

States.” Even these individuals do not automatitafly

ee ee

5

qualify for the preferential, in-state tuition and charge

differential rates. The in-state policy describes eight
non-exclusive indicia of domicile which are used to
assist the University in determining a student’s status.!
(If the student himself is financially dependent on a
parent, the University looks to the status of the parent
rather than of the student in making the determina-
tion.) For students who are not United States citizens or
permanent resident aliens (or are the dependent
children of financially responsible parents holding
similar non-immigrant status), the University does not
further examine other domiciliary factors. This is
because such individuals cannot have the requisite
legal intent to establish Maryland domicile.? However,
the University recognizes that aliens who are perman-
ent resident aliens can establish domiciliary intent for
in-state purposes. Thus, permanent resident aliens can
and do qualify for the preferential rates on the same
bases as United States citizens. The in-state policy
denies preferential rates to both citizens who are not
Maryland domiciliaries and to non-immigrants who, by
definition, are not Maryland domiciliaries; it benefits
citizens who are domiciled in Maryland, as well as
permanent resident aliens who are Maryland domicil-
iaries. Thus, it is not directed at aliens per se and non-
domiciliaries, not aliens, are the only class disadvan-
taged by the policy. Compare Nyquist v. Mauclet, __
U.S. ___, 45 U.S.L.W. 4655 (June 13, 1977).

' Among the domiciliary criteria set out in the University’s
in-state policy are: presence, possession of personal and real
property, motor vehicle registration, driver’s license, voting,
and income tax payments (A. 3a-4a).

? The in-state policy defines domicile as follows:

“A domicile is a person’s permanent place of abode;
namely, there must be demonstrated an intention to live
permanently or indefinitely in Maryland. For purposes
of this policy only one domicile may be maintained at a
given time...” (A. 3a).

.

6

Even non-immigrant students are not forever pre-
cluded by the University policy from qualifying for in-
state status. A financially responsible parent who
adjusts his status from non-immigrant to that of
permanent resident aliens is no longer disabled from
exhibiting the necessary domiciliary indicia. The same
is true of a non-immigrant student who becomes
financially independent for twelve months and who,
like one of the Respondents (Juan Otero), adjusts his
status to that of a permanent :esident alien. Moreover,
the University’s three-step appellate process is avail-
able to such individuals both with respect to the effect
of change in their immigration status and, subsequently,
exhibition of domiciliary indicia.

On May 27, 1975, Respondents, undergraduate
students at the University of Maryland, brought suit for
declaratory and injunctive relief in the United States
District Court for the District of Maryland against the
University and its President, Dr. Wilson H. Elkins,
alleging jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1343(3) and (4).
These financially dependent students were non-
immigrant aliens who held G-4 visas,’ as did their

>A “G-4 alien” is one class of non-immigrants; it
consists of aliens who are “officers, or employees of...
international organizations . . . and the members of their
immediate families.” 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)15’G\iv). A G-4 non-
immigrant is admitted to the United States “for such time
and under such conditions as the Attorney General may be
regulations prescribe.” 8 U.S.C. § 1184(a).

Pursuant to the regulations for the admission of non-
immigrant aliens into the United States, a non-immigrant
such as the holder of a G-4 visa must agree “that he will
abide by all the terms of and conditions of his admission or
extension and that he will depart at the expiration of the
period of his admission or extension or on abandonment of
his authorized non-immigrant status.” 8 C.F.R. §214.1. In
addition, an alien applying for a non-irimigrant visa must
state under oath on his application “the purpose and length
of his intended stay in the United States.” 8 U.S.C. § 1202(c).
Thus, entitlement to G-4 non-immigrant status by a person
and his family is derived from the circumstances of that

= LN REPT TENS eT LET a NTT ee Se lilt

7

fathers, who were employed by certain international
organizations based in Washington, D.C., viz., the
Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and the
International Bank for Reconstruction and Develop-
ment (World Bank). In particular, the students chal-
legned, as violative of the due process and equal
protection clauses of the fourteenth amendment to the
United States Constitution, the University’s policy of
denying in-state status for tuition and charge differen-
tial purposes to holders of G-4 visas or those who are
financially dependent on persons holding such non-
immigrant status.

Following a hearing on April 9, 1976, the district
court, on July 13, 1976, held that the University’s in-
state policy as applied to G-4 aliens created an
impermissible irrebuttable presumption in violation of
the due process clause of the fourteenth amendment.
The court said that by the use of a presumption of non-
domicile for G-4 aliens, the University denied Respond-
ents the opportunity to demonstrate that they were
entitled to in-state status for purposes of tuition and
charge differentials. Relying on Viandis v. Kline, supra;
Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972); and Cleveland
Board of Education v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632 (1974), the
court held that this irrebuttable presumption of non-
domicile, because it was not (according to the court)
universally true and because the University had a

alien’s employment with an international organization, and
such status with its attendant permission to remain in the
United States would terminate at any time that the
employment with an international organization ceases.

Under federal law, employees of the IDB and the World
Bank who hold G-4 visas are the beneficiaries of various
privileges and immunities, including exemption from federal
and state income tax levies. Articles of Agreement of the
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, 60
Stat. 1440, T.1LA.S. No. 502; Agreement Establishing the
Inter-American Development Bank, 10 U.S.T. 3029, T.1LA.S.
No. 4397; 22 U.S.C. § 288(d); 26 U.S.C. § 893(a).

8

reasonable alternative means of making a domicile
determination for holders of G-4 visas (viz., the appeals
process), could not be justified on the basis of cost
equalization or administrative convenience. Ignored by
the court was any discussion of or reference to
Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975), which cut back
sharply on the application of the cited cases; nor did
the court attempt to apply the principles of Sa/fi or to
distinguish the present case from Viandis. Because the
district court decided the case on due process grounds, it
did not rule on the students’ equal protection or
supremacy clause claims. The court enjoined the
University’s President (the University itself was dis-
missed as a party) from denying Respondents and
members of their class in-state status “solely because
they or their parents” hold G-4 vis is.°

On July 31, 1976, an appeal was noted. Before the
Fourth Circuit, Petitioner contended that the principles
of Salfi and subsequent “irrebuttable presumption”
decisions of this Court warranted reversal. Neverthe-
less, in a per curiam opinion, dated April 28, 1977, the
Fourth Circuit affirmed the district court, eschewed any
discussion of or reference to Salfi and its progeny, and
in effect adopted the opinion of the district court. A
timely petition for rehearing by the full court was filed,
and denied on May 23, 1977. On May 26, 1977, upon
Petitioner’s motion, the Fourth Circuit stayed its
mandate pending application to this Court for a writ of
certiorari (A. 56a).

‘ Neither party called the case to the attention of the
district court.

> On August 3, 1976, in response to Petitioner’s motion, the
district court stayed those portions of its final order which
granted declatory and injunctive relief (A. 52a).

Ps ee ee ee ee

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

THE TREATMENT BELOW OF THE IRREBUTTABLE PRE-
SUMPTION QUESTION RAISED IN THIS CASE IS PATENTLY AT
ODDS WITH A SERIES OF DECISIONS BY THIS COURT AND
SHARPLY CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS.

Petitioner submits that the opinion filed by the Court
of Appeals, as well as the district court view it adopts
on the irrebuttable presumption doctrine, is flatly
contradicted by what is fast becoming a long line of
decisions by this Court and conflicts with conclusions
reached in at least three other circuits.

The decisions below hold that decisions of this Court
mandate that every irrebuttable presumption not
universally true in fact is unconstitutional (A. 41a).
Applying this now discredited principle (see Weinberger
v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 781 (1975); The Supreme Court,
1974 Term, 89 Harv. L. Rev. 47, 78 (1975)), the district
court opinion adopted by the Fourth Circuit concluded
that neither the Maryland law of domicile nor United
States immigration law precluded a G-4 alien from
acquiring a state domicile. Hence, according to its
reasoning, the University, although perhaps correct in
its interpretation of the law of domicile with respect to
other categories of non-immigrants, had adopted a not
universally true or invalid measure of domicile with
respect to G-4’s. In arriving at this conclusion, the
opinion relied on three cases to support its view that the
application of the University’s in-state policy to G-4
aliens created an unconstitutional irrebuttable pre-
sumption: Vlandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441 (1973); Stanley
v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972); and Cleveland Board of
Education v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632 (1974).

In Vilandis, in a deeply split decision, this Court held
that a “permanent” irrebuttable presumption of non-
residence was created by a Connecticut policy which

10

established that an out-of-state applicant for admission
to a public college could not adjust to in-state status for
the entire period of his attendance at the school, when
that presumption was not universally true in fact. The
Viandis opinion carefully distinguished prior cases
relating to in-state/out-cf-state tuition differentials,
most particularly, Starns v. Malkerson, 326 F. Supp.
234 (D. Minn. 1970), aff’d. 401 U.S. 985 (1971). Starns
upheld Minnesota’s requirement that no student is
eligible for in-state status for tuition purposes unless he
has been a bona fide domiciliary of the state for at least
one year. The Viandis court noted that under this
scheme the presumption of non-residency was tempor-
ary and that the student could rebut it after having
lived in the state one year, by presenting other
sufficient evidence to show bona fide domicile within
the state. 412 U.S. at 452. In Stanley, this Court struck
down an administrative presumption that an unwed
father was unfit to have custody of his children, and in
LaFleur it held that a Board of Education rule
presuming maternal incapacity for a set period during
pregnancy and after childbirth created an unconstitu-
tionally impermissible irrebuttable presumption.

Just as many lowcr courts did up to 1975,® the lower
courts in the instant case read these three cases to
stand for the proposition that any legislative or
administrative classification that could be stated in the
form of a presumption was unconstitutional if the
presumption was not universally or necessarily true.
Under such a rule, the lower courts felt under no
constraint to limit Viandis to its facts, to recognize that
the presumption at issue in this case was not “perman-
ent” like the one condemned in Vilandis, or to distin-

6 See. e.g., Salfi v. Weinberger, 373 F. Supp. 961, 965 (N.D.
Cal. 1974), rev’d, 422 U.S. 749 (1975); Hein v. Burns, 402 F.
Supp. 398 (S.D. Iowa 1975), rev’d, 50 L. Ed. 2d 485 (1977).

Wee ee errr oe r

OE Ce PTR

1]

guish LaFleur or Stanley as involving classifications
affecting fundamental rights.

Even at its zenith the irrebuttable presumption
doctrine was never able to command more than a
fragile majority of this Court’s justices and met with
the near universal condemnation of commentators’? who
contended that the doctrine was merely an excuse to
apply “strict scrutiny” equal protection analysis.

Finally, in 1975, in Weinberger v. Salfi, supra, this
Court sharply and properly curtailed the application of
the irrebuttable presumption doctrine. Saifi involved a
challenge to a Social Security Act provision which
limited eligibility for survivors’ benefits to persons
whose relationship with the insured began at least nine
months before his death. The plaintiffs contended that
the nine-month duration-of-relationship requirement
created an impermissible irrebuttable presumption that
short-lived marriages were a sham aimed at obtaining
benefits and that the plaintiffs should be given an
opportunity to demonstrate the bona fide nature of their
relationship with the insured. The trial court, like the
lower court in the present case, felt it was unnecessary
to demonstrate how Vlandis, LaFleur, and Stanley
applied to the challenged statute. Instead, the district
court in Salfi merely asserted that these decisions
mandated the invalidation of every legislative presump-
tion that was not universally or necessarily true in fact.
Salfi v. Weinberger, supra; 89 Harv. L. Rev. at 78 n.16.

However, on appeal, this Court rejected such a
superficial analysis. Stanley and LaFleur were distin-
guished on the grounds that they involved basic civil

’ Note, The Irrebuttable Presumption Doctrine in the
Supreme Court, 87 Harv. L. Rey. 1534 (1974); Note, The
Conclusive Presumption Doctrine: Equal Process or Due
Protection?, 72 Mich. L. Rev. 800 (1974); Note, Irrebuttable
— An Illusory Analysis, 27 Stan. L. Rev. 449

975).

12

rights and due process liberties, such as the right to
raise one’s children and the right to personal choice in
matters of marriage and family life. 422 U.S. 771.°
Rather than relying on anything said in Vlandis, the
Court based its decision on Starns:

“As in Starns v. Malkerson,. . . the benefits here
are available upon compliance with an objective
criterion, one which the Legislature considered to
bear a sufficiently close nexus with underlying
policy objectives to be used as the test for
eligibility. Like the plaintiffs in Starns, appellees
are completely free to present evidence that they
meet the specified requirements; failing in this
effort, their only constitutional claim is that the
test they cannot meet is not so rationally related to
a legitimate legislative objective that it can be used
to deprive them of benefits available to those who
do satisfy that test.” Jd. at 772 (citation omitted).

Most significantly, the fact that the “presumption” at
issue was not universally true did not aid the plaintiffs’
case;

“(Undoubtedly [the statute] excludes some surviv-
ing wives who married with no anticipation of
shortly becoming widows, and it may be that
appellee Salfi is among them... .

“While it is possible to debate the wisdom of
excluding legitimate claimants in order to discour-
age sham arrangements, we think it clear that
Congress could rationally choose to adopt such a
course.” Id. at 781.

8 In Turner v. Department of Employment Security,
US. , 46 L. Ed. 2d 181 (1975), a case decided after Sa/fi, .
this Court in a per curiam opinion struck down a Utah
creating a presumption of maternal incapacity “virtua
identical to the presumption found unconstitutional” in
LaFleur. However, the Court was careful to adopt the
limitations on the irrebuttable presumption doctrine set out
in Salfi. (“The Fourteenth Amendment requires that .. .
[states] must achieve legitimate state ends through more
individualized means when basic human liberties are at
stake.” 46 L. Ed. 2d at 184 (emphasis added).

13
Finally, sounding the death knell for any expansion
of the irrebuttable presumption doctrine, this Court
said:

“We think that the District Court’s extension of
the holdings of Stanley, Viandis and LaFleur to
the eligibility requirement in issue here would turn
the doctrine of those cases into a virtual engine of
destruction for countless legislative judgments
which have heretofore been thought wholly consist-

ent with the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to
the Constitution.” Jd. at 772.

And Salfi was just the beginning of what is now a
long line of this Court’s cases that refuse to apply
Viandis and its progeny, or reverse decisions which
applied the doctrine in the fashion of the district court
opinion adopted by the Fourth Circuit here.

In Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1
(1976), this Court overturned the decision of a three-
judge federal court that Vlandis and Stanley mandated
the unconstitutionality of a statutory irrebuttable
presumption of total disability for miners due to black
lung disease based on clinical evidence of a complicated
stage of the disease. In so doing, the Court relied on
Salfi and noted that the mere fact that the statute was
phrased in terms of an irrebuttable presumption would -
not invalidate the statute “when its operation and effect
are completely permissible.” 49 L. Ed: 2d at 771.

In Knebel v. Hein, US. , 50 L. Ed. 2d 485
(1977), the Court overturned a three-judge court’s
determination that a federal food stamp regulation that
disallowed a deduction for transportation expenses in
connection with job training for purposes of computing
a recipient’s income was unconstitutional as violative
of the irrebuttable presumption doctrine. Although the
Court noted that “the District Court was correct that
the regulations operate somewhat unfairly in appellee’s
case,” it stated that they did not embody an irrebuttable
presumption. 50 L. Ed. 2d at 491.

14

In Skafte v. Rorex, 553 P.2d 830 (Colo. 1976), appeal
dismissed for want of substantial federal question,
USS. , 52 L. Ed. 2d 352 (1977), the Court summarily
disposed of a resident alien’s contention that a state
ban against voting by aliens created an irrebuttable
presumption.

And in Fiallo v. Bell, USS. , 52 L. Ed. 2d 50
(1977) the Court rejected an irrebuttable presumption
challenge to a federal statute that granted preferential
immigration status to unwed fathers and their illegiti-
mate offspring who were permanent resident aliens but
not to non-immigrants, despite the obvious fact that the
challenged classification, like those at issue in Stanley
and LaFleur, affected fundamental freedoms of choice
in matters of marriage and family life.

Other circuit courts of appeals were quick to perceive
that the irrebuttable presumption doctrine was on the
descendancy. In Mogle v. Seiver County School Dist.,
540 F.2d 478 (10th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, USS. '
51 L. Ed. 2d 572 (1977), the Tenth Circuit, in reliance
upon Salfi, held that in a case challenging a residency
requirement for teachers, “we do not feel the conclusive
presumption doctrine was intended to apply. The
Supreme Court has disapproved extention of the
doctrine which would make it destructive of numerous
legislative judgments drawing lines.” 540 F. 2d at 485.
In Sellers v. Ciccone, 530 F.2d 199 (8th Cir. 1976), the
Eighth Circuit upheld the exclusion of long-term
inmates from prison training programs, primarily on
the basis of Salfi. 530 F.2d at 202. And in Fisher v.
Secretary of HEW, 522 F.2d 493 (7th Cir. 1975), the
Seventh Circuit upheld the validity of Social Security
Act presumptions with respect to coverage of domestic
servants, stating:

“As noted by Mr. Justice Rehnquist in his

dissent in LaFleur, almost any law could be in
some sense characterized as an irrebuttable pre-

lo

sumption. In the normal case, well established
standards of equal protection and due process
should be applied to determine the validity of a
Congressional enactment. It is only an unusual
case where a statute will be declared invalid
because of an improper irrebuttable presumption,
and the same result would not be reached applying
normal equal protection and due process stand-
ards.” Id. at 504

This wealth of authority was ignored by the Fourth
Circuit.°

Petitioner does not contend that the irrebuttable
presumption doctrine has been officially overruled; nor
does it ask the Court to do so at the present time, unless
the Court deems it appropriate to a decision in favor of
Petitioner in this case.’’ He argues principally that this
is not the “unusual case” warranting the rigid and
mechanistic application of the doctrine.

Basic human liberties and fundamental constitu-
tional rights are not at stake in this case. Public
education is not a right secured by the United States
Constitution. San Antonio Independent School District
v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973); Starns v. Malkerson,
supra at 238. And state regulation of entitlement to
education falls in the category of the social welfare
legislation reviewed in Salfi. T>us, contrary to the
holding of the lower courts, LaFleur and Stanley have
no application here.

° The Third Circuit has joined the Fourth Circuit in
perpetuating a faulty analysis of irrebuttable presumptions.
In Gurmankin v. Costanzo, 45 U.S.L.W. 2526 (3d Cir., Apr.
25, 1977), it applied LaFleur to a case where no “constitu-
tional right was involved” and rejected Sa/fi as applying
only in government benefit cases.

‘© This Court may very well conclude that under Salfi and
its progeny the irrebuttable presumption doctrine no longer
has any force except, perhaps, where a classification affect-
ing fundamental constitutional rights is involved.

1€

Secondly, the classification at issue in this case, even
assuming it is regarded as a presumption, does not fall
within the prohibitions of Vlandis, because it is not
permanent. Unlike the students in Viandis, who could
never qualify for in-state status, Respondents in this
case do have the opportunity to qualify. If their parents
alter their status to that of a permanent resident alien
or if the students similarly alter their status and
become financially independent, Respondents will be
able to qualify for in-state status on the same basis as
all other persons who may be domiciled in Maryland.
Like the plaintiffs in Starns, who after one year of
disability could present evidence of domiciliary intent,
the students in this case, after they or their parents
alter their immigration status to that of permanent
resident alien, can present evidence of domiciliary
intent necessary to qualify for in-state status. Nor can it
be said that the University’s in-state policy speaks in
terms of domicile but signifies otherwise in the case on
non-immigrants — no more than Minnesota’s policy in
Starns of establishing a one-year restriction on demon-
strating domicile can be said to be an unconstitutional
“invalid measure of domicile” because a respectable
body of law holds that physical presence for a moment
in a particular place may be enough to establish
domicile. See White v. Tennant, 31 W. Va. 790, 8 S.E.
596 (1888); Winans v. Winans, 205 Mass. 388, 91 N.E.
394 (1910); M. Jacobs, Law of Domicile, § 134 (1887).
However, even if Respondents in this case may in fact
be Maryland domiciliaries, like the out-of-state students
in tarns who may have been domiciliaries before the
lapse of one year or the widow in Salfi who may have
entered into a bona fide marriage without regard to
obtaining Social Security benefits, it is clear that Salfi
does not require that the allegedly presumed fact be true
in every case.

17

Thirdly, the interests asserted by Petitioner in
support of the challenged in-state policy are entirely
sufficient in light of the mere rational basis required by
Salfi. The line drawn by the University between
permanent resident aliens and non-immigrants is
identical to that sustained by this Court in Matthews v.
Diaz. 426 U.S. 67 (1976). In Diaz, the Court upheld a
scheme which denied Medicare benefits to non-
immigrants, but offered them to citizens and permanent
resident aliens (the very same class potentially bene-
fited in the instant case) on the rational basis that the
amount of Medicare benefits was not limitless and that
Congress could draw the line at citizens and permanent
resident aliens because as a class they could be
expected to have a greater affinity to the United States.
Lest this case be distinguished as one involving the
federal government’s plenary control over aliens, the
Court in Diaz noted that the only reason state exclusion
of some aliens from benefits could not be justified is
because the states invariably treated out-of-staters and
aliens differently. Such a defect is not present in the
University’s in-state policy. Both out-of-staters and non-
immigrants are denied in-state status. For these same
reasons, Nyquist v. Mauclet, U.S. , 45
U.S.L.W. 4656 (June 13, 1977), is inapplicable. There, a
five-Justice majority of this Court applied a strict
scrutiny equal protection analysis to strike down a state
educational benefits scheme which denied assistance to
permanent resident aliens. In so doing, the majority of
the Court noted that the statute was “directed at aliens
and... only aliens are harmed by it.” 45 U.S.L.W. at
4657. On the contrary, the University’s in-state policy
benefits the precise class disadvantaged in Mauclet and
is directed at and disadvantages only non-domiciliaries,
a class which includes some United States citizens as
well as some aliens.

The limitation of governmental expenditures to those
with a greater affinity, a theory which supported the

18

classifications at issue in Diaz and Starns, was the
primary rationale proffered by the University in
support of its in-state policy. In Diaz, this Court noted
the reasonableness of the presumption said to be at
issue here, the difficulty of line-drawing for purposes of
entitlement to government benefits, and the obvious
fact that “some persons who have an almost equally
strong claim to favored treatment” are placed on
different sides of the line. 426 U.S. at 83. Citing Salfi
and Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 (1970), this
Court said, “When this kind of policy choice must be
made, we are especially reluctant to question the
exercise of Congressional judgment.” 426 U.S. at 84. It
is this kind of rational judgment which the lower courts
struck down in the present case.

As further justification for the challenged feature of
the in-state policy, Petitioner points to the administra-
tive difficulties attendant to affording full blown
hearings on domiciliary indicia (many wth interpre-
ters) to non-immigrants,'' and the prevention of
disparate treatment among classes of non-immigrants.
See Knebel v. Hein, supra, 50 L. Ed. at 492.'?

1! Of course, the University has afforded hearings to non-
immigrants on the “objective criterion,” Weinberger v. Salfi,
422 U.S. at 772, of whether or not they have adjusted their
status to permanent resident alien.

12 Respondents below argued that of all the categories of
non-immigrants, G-4’s alone were not legally precluded from
establishing a Maryland domicile. To recognize such a
position and elevate it to constitutional dimensions, would
mean that perhaps the wealthiest and most privileged
categories of non-immigrants would be given more advan-
tage at the University’s expense over the less affluent non-
immigrant citizens, e.g., the holders of student visas. See
Senate Report No. 94-1009, Foreign Assistance and Related
Programs Appropriation Bill, 1977 (94th Congress 2d
Session) at 10405; and “University of Maryland — Possible
Adjustments of Tuition and Other Charges,’ Annex No. 1 to
Petitioner’s reply brief in the Fourth Circuit, which indicates
that World Bank employees are reimbursed for tuition
proposals made to the University on behalf of their children.

EF AO eee ee ep

19

In summary, Petitioner contends that the decisions
below improperly permitted the irrebuttable presump-
tion doctrine to become an “engine of destruction” for a
rationally based classification, Weinberger v. Salifi,
supra at 772, that the lower courts should never have
required the challenged feature of the University’s in-
state policy to be “universally true in fact,” and that
review by this Court is necessary because the lower
court decisions sharply conflict with opinions of this
Court and of other courts of appeals.

Il.

THE DECISIONS BELOW CAST A CLOUD ON THE TUITION
AND FEE POLICIES FOLLOWED BY MOST PUBLIC COLLEGES
AND UNIVERSITIES IN THE UNITED STATES, AND THE
ERRONEOUS INTERPRETATION OF UNITED STATES IMMI-
GRATION LAWS BY THE LOWER COURTS MAY SERIOUSLY
IMPACT ON LEGITIMATE AREAS OF FEDERAL CONCERN
SUCH AS FEDERAL ESTATE TAX LAW.

The dividing line adopted by the University of
Maryland in its in-state tuition and fee policy between
permanent resident aliens and non-immigrants is one
adopted by most public colleges and universities in the
United States. Most of these schools, like Maryland,
have conlcuded that non-immigrants, who have decided
not to become permanent resident aliens, are legally
precluded from acquiring a domicile in their respective
jurisdictions.'? Moreover, this seemingly rational con-
clusion was echoed by this Court in Nyquist v. Mauclet,
supra, when it noted:

“Since many aliens, such as those here on
student visas, may be precluded by federal law

‘3 The definition of domicile under Maryland law as the
“place where a man has his true, fixed, permanent home,”
Shenton v. Abbott, 178 Md. 526, 15 A.2d 906, 908 (1946), and
as “residence at a particular place accompanied by positive
or presumptive proof of the intention to remain there for an
unlimited time,” Brafman v. Brafman, 144 Md. 413, 414, 125
A. 161 (1924), would by its terms seem to preclude those who
are not permanent resident aliens from acquiring domicile.

20

from establishing a permanent residence in this
country, see, e.g., 8 U.S.C. §110l(aX15\ Fi); 22
C.F.R. § 41.45 (1976), the bar. . . [presented by the
New York statute]. . . is of practical significance
only to resident aliens.” 45 U.S.L.W. at 4656.
However, the lower courts here have abandoned the
natural import of the law of domicile and the plain
meaning of various provisions in the immigration law
and regulations,'* to conclude that it is not universally
true in fact that G-4’s cannot acquire a state domicile.
The effect of this ruling cannot be minimized. The
Fourth Circuit’s blurring of the in-state’ out-of-state
dividing line can only have an adverse effect on the
tuition and fee policies of already financially strapped
public institutions of higher education. In addition, the
decisions below may affect federal tax law. The
Internal Revenue Service has held that the non-
domiciliary rate should be applied to the estates of G-4
aliens, reasoning that:

“The acceptance by the decedent of the prescribed
terms for his admission to and stay in the United
States, as required by Federal law and regulations
relating to immigration and nationality, created a
legal disability that rendered him incapable of
forming the intention necessary for the establish-
ment of a domicile here, as required by section 20.0-
1 of the Estate Tax Regulations. This legal
disability continued to exist until the time of
decedent’s death since he was still in the United
States as an employee of an international organi-
zation holding a G-4 visa.” Rev. Rul. 74-364, 1974-2
C.B. 321.

The decisions below, in effect, have held that the IRS is
incorrect.

Although Respondents sought to minimize below the
effect of the district court’s overemphasis on the
absence in the immigration law of a requirement that a
G-4 visa holder “not abandon his homeland,” compare

'4 See pp. 6-7, supra.

aT

21

8 U.S.C. §1101(aX(15\F) with §1101(a\15)(G)iv), noth-
ing can disguise the hole in the court’s analysis. The
framers of 8 U.S.C. § 1101 found no need to spell out the
requirements of non-abandonment of homeland for non-
immigrants who were obviously destined for a tempor-
ary stay in the United States keyed to their employ-
ment. Under the lower courts’ superficial analysis of
1101(aX(15), diplomats (A), foreign press (I), alien
crewmen (D), and even aliens in transit (C), are not
prevented from obtaining a domicile in the United
States. Petitioner suggests that such a reading is
potentially limitless both in theory and in costs to
public colleges and universities, not to say to the federal
fisc.

RS

7 ‘2

CONCLUSION

In summary, Petitioner submits that review should be
granted to lay to rest a fundamental misapplication of
the irrebuttable presumption doctrine (and that doctrine
too if need be). The lower courts read that doctrine to
mean that even if the University was generally and
nearly universally correct in its legal interpretation of
federal law and the law of domicile, it was constitution-
ally wrong. According to the decisions below, the
doctrine still demands absolute perfection on the part of
state classifications. Review is also warranted to rectify
a fundamental misreading of federal law which may
seriously impact on the fiscal affairs of public colleges
and universities, as weil as those of the federal
government.

Respectfully submitted,

FRANCIS B. BuRCH,
Attorney General
of Maryland,
Davip H. FELDMAN,
Assistant Attorney General,
Chief of Litigation,
RoBertT A. ZARNOCH,
Assistant Attorney General,
1400 One South Calvert Bidg.,
Baltimore, Maryland 21202,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

&
|
'

la

APPENDIX

UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND

DETERMINATION OF IN-STATE STATUS
FOR ADMISSION, TUITION, AND
CHARGE-DIFFERENTIAL PURPOSES!

An initial determination of in-state status for admis-
sion, tuition, and charge-differential purposes will be
made by the University at the time a student’s
application for admission is under consideration. The
determination made at that time, and any determina-
tion made thereafter, shall prevail in each semester
until the determination is successfully challenged prior
to the last day available for registration for the
forthcoming semester. A determination regarding in-
state status may be changed for any subsequent
semester if circumstances, as later defined, warrant
redetermination.

In those instances where an entering class size is
established and where an application deadline is stated,
in-state conditions for admissions must be satisfied as
of the announced closing application date.

General Policy

1. It is the policy of the University of Maryland to
grant in-state status for admission, tuition and charge-
differential purposes to United States citizens, and to
immigrant aliens lawfully admitted for permanent
residence in accordance with the laws of the United
States, in the following cases:

a. Where a student is financially dependent upon a
parent, parents, or spouse domiciled in Maryland
for at least six consecutive months prior to the
last day available for registration for the
forthcoming semester.

| Draft of August 31, 1973 as amended on September 7,
1973. Approved by the Board of Regents on September 21,
1973 to become effective with any term of the University
beginning on or after January 1, 1974.

2a

b. Where a student is financially independent for at
least the preceding twelve months, and provided
the student has maintained his domicile in
Maryland for at least six consecutive months
immediately prior to the last day available for
registration for the forthcoming semester.

c. Where a student is the spouse or a dependent
child of a full-time employee of the University.

d. Where a student who is a member of the Armed
Forces of the United States is stationed on active
duty in Maryland for at least six consecutive
mcutns immediately prior to the last day
available for registration for the forthcoming
semester, unless such student has been assigned
for educational purposes to attend the University
of Maryland.

e. Where a student is a full-time employee of the
University of Maryland.

2. It is the policy of the University of Maryland to
attribute out-of-state status for admission, tuition, and
charge-differential purposes in all other cases.

3. Each campus of the University will be responsible
for making the in-state determination for the prospec-
tive or enrolled student.

4. In-state status is lost at any time a financially
independent student establishes a domicile outside the
State of Maryland. If the parent(s) or other persons
through whom the student has attained in-state status
establishes a domicile in another state, the student
shall be assessed out-of-state tuition and charges six
months after the out-of-state move occurs.

5. The terms of this policy will not be applied
retroactively.

Definitions
1. A student is financially dependent if he receives
half or more than half of his support from another

person or persons, or appears as a dependent on the
federal or state income tax return of any other person.

ee ee FP CURES = TE Ng rere URE geen me ee

ORET Cag TERE ae oo ome oo

3a

Conversely, a student is financially independent if he
declares himself so, if he receives less than half of his
support from any other person or persons and if he does
not appear as a dependent on the federal or state
income tax return of any other person.

2. A parent includes a natural parent, an adoptive
parent, a legally-appointed guardian, and a person who
stands in loco parentis to the student.

3. A spouse is a partner in a legally contracted
marriage.

4. A domicile is a person’s permanent place of
abode; namely, there must be demonstrated an inten-
tion to live permanently or indefinitely in Maryland.
For purposes of this policy only one domicile may be
maintained at a given time.

5. The masculine gender of personal pronouns
includes the feminine gender.

Application

1. A student requesting redetermination to in-state
status who asserts that he is financially dependent
upon a parent(s) or spouse domiciled in Maryland, as
previously defined, will be required to produce by
affidavit, in addition to other proof, documentation of
the student’s earnings for the year immediately
preceding the last day of registration for the semester
for which the determination is requested. Such docu-
mentation shall include relevant income tax returns,
statements from employers, and/or federal and state
withholding forms. An affidavit showing all expenses
of the student for the same period must also be
submitted.

2. A student requesting redetermination to in-state
status who asseris that he is financially independent
will be required to present by affidavit documentation
cited in paragraph 1.

3. In determining domicile, the University shall take
into consideration, but shall not be limited to, the
following criteria as they pertain to the individual case:

4a

a. Own or rent and occupy real property in
Maryland as one’s domicile on a year-around
basis.

b. Maintain a substantially uninterrupted presence
within Maryland for six consecutive months,
including those months when the University is
not in regular session.

c. Maintain within the State of Maryland all or
substantially all personal possessions.
d. Pay Maryland income tax on all earned income

including all taxable income earned outside the
State.

e. Register all owned motor vehicles in Maryland.

f. Possess a valid Maryland driver’s license, if
licensed.

g. Register to vote in Maryland, if registered.

h. Give a Maryland home address on federal and
state income tax forms.

N.B. The documentation offered in these instances
may be required to be in affidavit form.

Appeals

A student who disagrees with his classification may
request a personal interview with a campus classifica-
tion officer or his designee at which time the student
will have an opportunity to present any and all
evidence he may have bearing on his classification and
to answer any questions which have been raised about
his status. A student may further file a written appeal
from the campus classification officer or his designee to
the Intercampus Review Committee (IRC). If the
decision of the IRC is adverse to him, a student may
further file a written appeal to the Office of the
President of the University. The decision of the
President of the University or his designee shall be
final.

Implementation

The implementation of this new policy to those
eligible for redetermination will require an extended

SS —

5a

period of time. It is hoped that a decision in each case
will be made within ninety (90) days of a request for
redetermination. During this period of time, or any
further period of time required by the University, fees
and charges based on the previous determination must
be paid. If the determination is changed, any excess
fees and charges will be refunded.

x * * * * *

NOTE: The deadline for meeting all requirements for an in-
state status and for submitting all documents for reclassifica-
tion is the last day of late registration for the semester the
student wishes to be classified as an in-state student.

CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS

Title 8, §214.1 Requirements for admission,
extension, and maintenance of status.

(a) General. Every nonimmigrant alien applicant for
admission or extension of stay in the United States
shall establish that he is admissible to the United
States or that a ground of inadmissibility has been
waived under section 212(d)(3) of the Act; present a
passport upon admission and only when requested in
connection with an extension of stay, valid for the
period set forth in section 212(a)(26) of the Act, except
as otherwise provided in this chapter, and, upon
admission, a valid visa, except when either or both
documents have been waived; agree that he will abide
by all the terms and conditions of his admission or
extension, and that he will depart at the expiration of
the period of his admission or extension or on
abandonment of his authorized nonimmigrant status,
and post a bond on Form I-352 in the sum of not less
than $500 if required by the district director, special
inquiry officer, or the Board of Immigration Appeals at
the time of admission or extension, to insure the
maintenance of the alien’s nonimmigrant status and
his departure from the United States. A nonimmigrant
whose visa has been automatically revalidated pursu-
ant to 22 CFR 41.125(f) shall, if otherwise admissible, be
readmitted for a period not to exceed the unexpired .

6a

period of his initial admission or extension of stay
which had been authorized by the Service prior to his
departure to foreign contiguous territory or adjacent
islands, as endorsed by the Service on the Form I-$*
issued in connection with the returning nonimmigrant’s
prior admission or stay and presented by him, or as
endorsed by the issuing school official or program
sponsor on Form I-20 or DSP-66 presented by a
returning nonimmigrant as defined in paragraph (F) or
(J) of section 101(a)(15) of the Act. A nonimmigrant
other than one in the classes defined in section
101(a)(15)(A) (i) or (ii) or (G) (i), (ii), (iii), or (iv) of the Act
(members of which classes are not required to obtain
extensions of stay if they continue to be so recognized
by the Secretary of State as members of such classes);
section 101(a)(15)(B) who is visiting the United States
temporarily for pleasure and section 101(a)(15) (C), (D),
or (K) of the Act (members of which classes are
ineligible for extensions of stay); or section 101(a)(15)
(F) or (J) of the Act, and whose period of admission has
not expired, shall apply on Form I-539 and may be
granted or denied, without appeal, an extension of his
period of temporary admission by an officer in charge
of a suboffice or a district director. A separate
application must be executed and submitted for each
alien seeking an extension of temporary stay; however,
regardless of whether they accompanied the applicant
to the United States, the spouse and minor, unmarried
children of any applicant who have the same nonimmi-
grant classification may be included in his application
and may be granted the same extension without fee. If
failure to file a timely application is found to be
excusable, an extension may be granted from the time
of expiration of authorized stay. When because of
reasons beyond his control, or special circumstances, an
alien needs an additional period of less than 30 days
beyond his authorized stay within which to effect his
departure, he may be granted such time without filing
an application for extension. Extensions to members of
a family group shall be for the same period; if one

7a

member is eligible for only a six-month extension and
another for a twelve-month extension, the shorter
period shall govern. For procedures relating to cancella-
tion or breaching of bonds, see Part 103 of this chapter.

(b) Termination of status. Within the period of
initial admission or extension of stay, the nonimmi-
grant status of an alien shall be terminated by the
revocation of a waiver previously authorized in his
behalf under section 212(d) (3) or (4) of the Act; or by the
introduction of a private bill to confer permanent
resident status on such alien.

(c) Employment. A nonimmigrant in the United
States in a class defined in section 101(a)15)(B) of the
Act as a temporary visitor for pleasure, or section
101(aX(15\C) of the Act as an alien in transit through
this country, may no* engage in any employment. Any
other nonimmigrant in the United States may not
engage in any employment unless he has been accorded
a nonimmigrant classification which authorizes em-
ployment or he has been granted permission to engage
in employment in accordance with the provisions of
this chapter. A nonimmigrant who is permitted to
engage in employment may engage only in such
employment as has been authorized. Any unauthorized
employment by a nonimmigrant constitutes a failure to
maintain status within the meaning of section 241(a)9)
of the Act.

8a

OPINION
(Filed July 13, 1976)

United States District Court,
D. Maryland.

Civ. A. No. M-75-691

Juan Carlos Moreno et al.,
Plaintiffs,

U

University of Maryland and
Dr. Wilson H. Elkins, President,
University of Maryland,
Defendants.
(420 F. Supp. 541)

JAMES R. MILLER, Jr., District Judge.
Opinion and Order

This is a purported class action suit in which the
named plaintiffs, Juan Carlos Moreno, Juan Pablo
Otero, and Clare B. Hogg, seek declaratory and
injunctive relief against the defendants, the University
of Maryland and Dr. Wilson H. Elkins, its president.
Both sides have filed motions for summary judgment.
The named plaintiffs are currently students at the
University of Maryland, College Park campus, who
reside in the State of Maryland with their parents, upon
whom they are financially dependent. Plaintiffs’
fathers all hold nonimmigrant alien visas issued
pursuant to 8 U.S.C.A. §1101(a)(15\(G)iv)! [G-4 visas].

i Title 8, U.S.C., §1101(a\15\G)iv) defines as one class of
non-immigrant alien those aliens who are “officers, or
employees of such international organizations [those entitled

9a

As employees of certain international organizations
created under international agreements to which the
United States is a party, the plaintiffs’ fathers are
exempted from state and federal taxes on salaries paid
by these organizations.’

Under policies adopted by the Board of Regents of the
University of Maryland effective for any term of the
University beginning on or after January 1, 1974,
(hereinafter referred to as the “In-State Policy”),
students are divided into two classes, i.e., “in-state” or
resident on the one hand and “out-of-state” or non-
resident on the other, for purposes of determining
admission, tuition rates, and charge differentials.
Under this policy “out-of-state” undergraduate students
are required to pay $1,260 more per year for tuition than
“resident” students, as well as $100 more per year for a
room. “Out-of-state” graduate students are charged $30
more per credit hour than “in-state” students.

The relevant sections of the “In-State-Policy” are as
follows:

“General Policy

“1. It is the policy of the University of Mary-
land to grant in-state status for admission, tuition
and charge-differential purposes to United States
citizens, and to immigrant aliens lawfully admitted
for permanent residence in accordance with the
laws of the United States, in the following cases:

to enjoy privileges, exemptions, and immunities as an
international organization under the International Organiza-
tions Immunities Act (59 Stat. 669)], and the members of their
immediate families.”

2 See Art. VII, §9(b) of the Articles of Agreement of the
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
(12/27/45), 60 Stat. 1440, T.1L.A.S. No. 1502, as amended Dec.
16, 1965, 16 U.S.T. 1942, T.LA.S. No. 5929 and Art. XI § Xb)
of the Agreement Establishing the Inter-American Develop-
ment Bank, (4/8/59), 10 U.S.T. 3029, T.LA.S. No. 4397.
Plaintiff Clare Hogg’s father is employed by the former
organization usually referred to as the World Bank; the
fathers of the other two named plaintiffs are employed by the
latter organization.

10a

“a. Where a student is financially dependent
upon a parent, parents, or*spouse domiciled in
Maryland for at least six consecutive months prior
to the last day available for registration for the
forthcoming semester. }

“b. Where a student is financially independent
for at least the preceding twelve months, and
provided the student has maintained his domicile
in Maryland for at least six consecutive months
immediately prior to the last day available for
registration for the forthcoming semester. (Empha-
sis added).

x x ~ « « x

“2. It is the policy of the University of Mary-
land to attribute out-of-state status for admission,
tuition, and charge differential purposes in all
other cases.

= * * - * =

“Definitions

“1. A student is financially dependent if he
receives half or more than half of his support from
another person or persons, or appears as a
dependent on the federal or state income tax return
of any other person. Conversely, a student is
financially independent if he declares himself so, if
he receives less than half of his support from any
other person or persons and if he does not appear
as a dependent on the federal or state income tax
return of any other person.

. * * * * =

“4. A domicile is a person’s permanent place of
abode; namely, there must be demonstrated an
intention to live permanently or indefinitely in
Maryland. For purposes of this policy only one
domicile may be maintained at a given time... .”

There are eight criteria which under the “In-State-
Policy” “the University shall take into consideration,
but shall not be limited to. . .” in determining whether
Maryland domicile has been established. These criteria,
applied to the individual upon whom the determination
of domicile depends, are whether the individual:

lla

a. Owns or rents and occupies real property in
Maryland as his (her) domicile on a year-round
basis.

b. Maintains a_ substantially uninterrupted
presence within Maryland for six consecutive
months, including those months when the Univer-
sity is not in regular session.

c. Maintains within the State of Maryland all
or substantially all personal possessions.

d. Pays Maryland income tax on all earned
income including taxable income earned outside
the State.

e. Registers all owned motor vehicles in Mary-
land.

f. Possesses a valid Maryland driver’s license, if
licensed.

g. Registers to vote in Maryland, if registered.

h. Gives a Maryland home address on federal
and state income tax forms.

(Attachment to Defendant’s Answer to Plaintiffs’
Request for Admissions of Fact, with emphasis
added.).

The University determined that the three named
plaintiffs were not entitled to “instate” status. The
determination was predicated upon a conclusion that
the parent on whom each was financially dependent
could not be domiciled in Maryland because each was
in the country on a G-4 visa. Without success, all three
plaintiffs availed themselves of the three-step appellate
process provided by the University to students dissatis-
fied with their residence classification.*®

3 The “In-State Policy” provides that:

“A student who disagrees with his classification may
request a personal interview with a classification officer or
his designee at which time the student will have an
opportunity to present any and all evidence he may have
bearing on his classification and to answer any questions
which have been raised about his status. A student may
further file a written appeal from the campus classification
officer or his designee to the Intercampus Review Committee

12a

The pertinent facts with respect to each of the
individual plaintiffs are alleged as follows:

“Plaintiff Moreno’s father, Mr. Manuel A.
Moreno, is a citizen of Paraguay and is the holder
ot a G-4 visa; he has been empivyed by ihe Inter-
American Development Bank for approximately
fourteen years. Manuel Moreno has owned a home
in Maryland for the past twelve years. Plaintiff
Moreno’s mother, Mrs. Gladys M. Moreno, is a
citizen of Paraguay and is the holder of a G-4 visa.
Manuel and Gladys Moreno own no property in
Paraguay, having sold the house which they
formerly owned there in 1960. Manuel and Gladys
Moreno have paid all Maryland State and Montgo-
mery County property taxes on their home as well
as all state and local retail, motor vehicle, fuel,
excise and other taxes applicable to them as
required by law. Manuel and Gladys Moreno each
hold a Maryland driver’s license; their automobiles
are registered in Maryland. Manuel and Gladys
Moreno have not resided anywhere other than in
Maryland for the past fourteen years; they have no
present intention to reside anywhere other than in
the State of Maryland.”

(Paper No. 1, Verified Complaint, € 16).

“Plaintiff Moreno has lived with his parents
since birth. He has lived in the United States since
the age of four, has attended primary and secon-
dary schools in the United States without interrup-
tion, and graduated from high school in Maryland.
Plaintiff Moreno is a citizen of Paraguay; he now
holds a G-4 visa. He holds a Maryland driver's
license. He has filed United States and Maryland
income tax returns for 1973 and 1974. Plaintiff
Moreno has not resided anywhere other than in
Maryland for the past fourteen years; he has no
present intention to reside anywhere other than in
the State of Maryland.”

(IRC). If the decision of the IRC is adverse to him, a student
may further file a written appeal to the Office of the
President of the University. The decision of the President of
the University or his designee shall be final.”

13a

(Id., 4 18).

“Plaintiff Otero’s father, Mr. Rene Otero, is a
citizen of Bolivia and is the holder of a G-4 visa; he
has been employed by the Inter-American Develop-
ment Bank for approximately fourteen years.
Plaintiff Otero’s mother, Mrs. Teresa Bailey Otero,
is a citizen of the United States; she is registered to
vote in Maryland. Rene and Teresa Otero resided
in the District of Columbia from the time of their
arrival in the United States in 1960 until 1965,
when they moved to Maryland. Rene and Teresa
Otero have owned a home in Maryland since 1965
and have resided therein for ten years; they have
paid all Maryland State and Montgomery County
property taxes thereon as well as all state and local
retail, motor vehicle, fuel, excise, and other taxes
applicable to them as required by law. Rene and
Teresa Otero each hold a Maryland driver’s license;
Rene Otero’s automobile is registered in Maryland.
Rene and Teresa Otero own no property in Bolivia.
Rene and Teresa Otero have not resided anywhere
other than in Maryland for the past ten years; they
have no present intention to reside anywhere other
than in the State of Maryland.”

(Id., § 21).

“Plaintiff Otero has lived with his parents since
birth. He has lived in the United States since the
age of five and has attended primary schools,
seconday schools, and college in the United States
without interruption. Plaintiff Otero is a citizen of
Bolivia; he now holds a G-4 visa; he has made
application to adjust his status to that of immi-
grant. Plaintiff Otero holds a Maryland driver’s
license. Plaintiff Otero has filed both United States
and Maryland income tax returns in 1972, 1973,
and 1974, and he has paid income tax to both
Maryland and the United States in each of those
three years. Plaintiff Otero has not resided any-
where other than in Maryland for the past ten
years; he has no present intention to reside
anywhere other than in the State of Maryland.”

l4a

Ud., € 23).

“Plaintiff [Clare B.] Hogg’s father, Mr. Vincent
Hogg, is a citizen of the United Kingdom and is the
holder of a G-4 visa; he has been employed by the
International Bank for Reconstruction and Devel-
opment for thirteen years. Plaintiff Hogg’s mother,
Mrs. Barbara Hogg, and the Hoggs’ daughter
Susan are citizens of the United Kingdom. Susan
Hogg married a United States citizen in 1973 and
adjusted her status to that of permanent resident
alien. Vincent and Barbara Hogg resided in the
District of Columbia from the time of their arrival
in the United States in 1962 until 1970, when they
moved to Maryland. They have resided in Mary-
land for five years except as described below.
Vincent and Barbara Hogg own their own home in
Maryland as well as a house in which they
formerly resided in the District; the house in the
District is rented. Vincent and Barbara Hogg own
no real property in the United Kingdom with the
exception of a small condominium apartment
which is currently listed for sale with a real estate
agent and which it is their present intention to sell
as soon as a sale can be consummated. Substan-
tially all of their personal property and invest-
ments are here in the United States with the
exception of a bank account in a sum equivalent to
approximately five hundred dollars maintained by
Vincent Hogg in the United Kingdom for the
convenience of paying life insurance premiums and
professional journal subscriptions; he does not
make payments to the United Kingdom’s State
Pension Fund. Vincent Hogg’s will was written in
the United States and represents that he resides in
Maryland. Vincent Hogg’s automobiles are regis-
tered in Maryland. Vincent and Barbara Hogg
each hold a Maryland driver’s license. They belong
to the local civic association in the area in which
they reside. Vincent and Babara Hogg have filed
joint United States income tax returns every year
since 1963. In 1974 they paid ir.come taxes to both
the United States and to the State of Maryland on
all income other than Mr. Hogg’s salary from the

15a

International Bank for Reconstruction and Devel-
opment, as well as all state and local retail, motor
vehicle, fuel, excise, and other taxes applicable to
them as required by law. Vincent and Barbara
Hogg have not resided anywhere other than in
Maryland for the past five years, with the excep-
tion of a period abroad of approximately nine
months as part of Vincent Hogg’s employment;
they have no intention to reside anywhere other
than in the State of Maryland.”

(Id., § 26).

“Plaintiff Hogg has resided with her parents
since birth. She has lived in the United States since
the age of seven and has attended primary schools,
secondary school, and college in the United States
without interruption, with the exception of the
approximately nine-month period described in
paragraph 26 above. Plaintiff Hogg is a citizen of
the United Kingdom; she now holds a G-4 visa; she
holds a Maryland driver’s license. Plaintiff Hogg
has filed both United States and Maryland income
tax returns in 1973 and 1974. Plaintiff Hogg has
not resided anywhere other than in Maryland for
the past five years, with the exception of the
approximately nine-month period described in [the
above paragraph]; she has no present intention to
reside anywhere other than in the State of Mary-
land.”

(Id., § 28).

Plaintiffs claim the actions of defendants in denying
them “in-state” status are in violation of the Due
Process, Equal Protection and Supremacy Clauses of
the Constitution. They seek to enjoin the defendants
from failing to reclassify them as students having “in-
state” status and to enjoin the defendants from denying
to any student “in-state” status either partially or
wholly on the basis that such student or any parent or
person on whom such student is financially dependent
either holds a G-4 visa or pays no Maryland State
income tax pursuant to an international agreement to

l6a

which the United States is a party on wages paid by an
international organization.

Defendants have moved for summary judgment on
various jurisdictional and procedural grounds, as well
as on the merits of the case.

I. Jurisdiction

Defendants’ initial argument is that this court lacks
subject matter jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1343(3) or
(4)* because plaintiffs’ claim is founded upon the
Maryland law of domicile and presents no federal
question:

“Plaintiffs’ cause of action and the core of their
grievance does not present a deprivation by the
Defendants of a federal statutory or constitutional
right, privilege or immunity, but rather, rests upon
an interpretation of the Maryland definition of
domicile.” (Memorandum in Support of Defend-
ants’ Motion For Summary Judgment, at p. 10).

[1] Plaintiffs filed this suit pursuant to, inter alia, 42
U.S.C. §1983 which authorizes a “suit in equity”
against a “person” to redress “the deprivation” under
color of any State regulation “of any rights, privileges,
or immunities secured by the Constitution” to any
“person within the jurisdiction” of the United States.
This section creates a federal cause of action but it does
not by itself confer jurisdiction on federal district courts
to adjudicate claims brought pursuant to it. The
jurisdictional counterpart of 42 U.S.C. §1983 is 28

‘ Title 28, U.S.C., § 1343 provides that the district courts
have jurisdiction of any civil action authorized by law to be
commenced by any person:

“(3) To redress the deprivation, under color of any
State law, statute, ordinance, regulation, custom or
usage, of any right, privilege or immunity secured by the
Constitution of the United States or by any Act of
Congress providing for equal rights of citizens or of all
persons within the jurisdiction of the United States;

‘(4) To recover damages or ‘o secure equitable or
other relief under any Act of Congress providing for the
protection of civil rights, including the right to vote.”

17a

U.S.C. § 1343. Hagans v. Lavine, 415 U.S. 528, 94 S. Ct.
1372, 39 L. Ed. 2d 577 (1974). Jurisdiction under
§ 1343(3) exists at least for deprivations by state
officials of rights “secured by the Constitution of the
United States.”® Jurisdiction exists in this court under
§ 1343 (3) if a constitutional claim of sufficient sub-
stance has been raised by the § 1983 cause of action.
Hagans v. Lavine, supra.

[2] Plaintiffs’ § 1983 claim is premised on the Due
Process and Equal Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth
Amendment. Contrary to defendants’ assertions, it is
not the Maryland law of domicile which gives rise to
this suit, but rather the “In-State Policy” of the
University of Maryland which has been interpreted by
the defendants as automatically classifying holders of
G-4 visas as non-residents for purposes of tuition, on the
assumption that no one in the United States on a G-4
visa can ever have the requisite intent to establish a
Maryland domicile. The due process claim, premised on
an argument that the University of Maryland’s policy
establishes an irrebutable presumption with respect to
residence and domicile for tuition purposes similar to
that struck down in Vlandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441, 93 S.
Ct. 2230, 37 L. Ed. 2d 63 (1973), and the equal protection
claim, based on an alleged violation of both the strict
scrutiny and the reasonable basis-rational relationship
tests, are at the heart of this case. These are matters of
federal law. Moreover, these claims are not so insub-
stantial as to warrant dismissal for lack of subject
matter jurisdiction. Such dismissal could be granted
only as to claims “absolutely devoid of merit,” Newbu-
ryport Water Co. v. Newburyport, 193 U.S. 561, 579, 24
S. Ct. 553, 48 L. Ed. 795 (1904); “wholly insubstantial,”

5 Whether the jurisdictional scope of § 1343(3) is fully
coextensive with the substantive provisions of § 1983, so that
§ 1343(3) would provide jurisdiction for any suit premised on
the deprivation under color of state law of a right secured by
any Act of Congress is a question not yet decided by the
Supreme Court, Hagans v. Lavine, supra, at 534 note 5, 94 S.

Ct. 1372, but the Fourth Circuit has so held. Blue v. Craig,
505 F.2d 830 (4th Cir. 1974).

18a

Bailey v. Patterson, 369 U.S. 31, 33, 82 S. Ct. 549, 7 L.
Ed. 2d 512 (1962); “obviously frivolous,” Hannis Distil-
ling Co. v. Baltimore, 216 U.S. 285, 288, 30 S. Ct. 326, 54
L. Ed. 482 (1910); or “no longer open to discussion,”
McGilvra v. Ross, 215 U.S. 70, 80, 30 S. Ct. 27, 54 L. Ed.
95 (1909). See also Hagans v. Lavine, supra, Baker v.
Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 198-204, 82 S. Ct. 691, 7 L. Ed. 2d 663
(1962).

The claims in this case are clearly not insubstantial.
See Vlandis v. Kline, supra; Hooban v. Boling, 503 F.2d
648 (6th Cir. 1974); Klem v. Carlson, 473 F.2d 1267 (6th
Cir. 1973); Jagnandan v. Giles, 379 F. Supp. 1178 (N.D.
Miss. 1974); Sturgis v. State of Washington, 368 F.
Supp. 38 (W.D. Wash.), aff'd mem. 414 U.S. 1057, 94 S.
Ct. 563, 38 L. Ed. 2d 464 (1973); Starns v. Malkerson,
326 F. Supp. 234:(D. Minn. 1970), aff'd mem. 401 US.
985, 91 S. Ct. 1231, 28 L. Ed. 2d 527 (1971).

Il. Are the Defendants “Persons” within
42 U.S.C. § 1983?

[3] Defendants argue that this suit cannot be
maintained against either the University of Maryland
or Dr. Elkins, its President, since neither are “persons”
within the meaning of 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

In Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 81 S. Ct. 473, 5 L. Ed.
2d 492 (1961), the Supreme Court held that municipali-
ties were not “persons” within the meaning of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983, at least in damage suits. Kenosha v. Bruno, 412
U.S. 507, 93 S. Ct. 2222, 37 L. Ed. 2d 109 (1973), makes
clear that that ruling also applies where the only relief
sought is injunctive or declaratory. Moor v. County of
Alameda, 411 U.S. 693, 93 S. Ct. 1785, 36 L. Ed. 2d 596
(1973), established that counties were not §1983
persons. In Huntley v. North Carolina State Board of
Education, 493 F.2d 1016, 1017 n.2 (4th Cir. 1974), the
Fourth Circuit decided that municipal agencies are not
“persons” for § 1983 purposes. A state is also not a
proper defendant in a § 1983 action. Meyer v. State of
New Jersey, 460 F.2d 1252 (3rd Cir. 1972; Whitner v.
Davis, 410 F.2d 24 (9th Cir. 1969); Hinish v. State of

_~

19a

Maryland, 393 F. Supp 53 (D. Md. 1975). This doctrine
applies equally to state agencies. Bennett v. People of
State of California, 406 F.2d 36 (9th Cir.), cert. den., 394
U.S. 966, 89 S. Ct. 1320, 22 L. Ed. 2d 568; Cheramie v.
Tucker, 493 F.2d 586 (5th Cir.), cert. den., 419 U.S. 868,
95 S. Ct. 126, 42 L. Ed. 2d 107 (1974); Edwards v.
Philadephia Electric Co., 371 F. Supp. 1313 (D.C. Pa.
1974), aff'd 510 F.2d 969 (3rd Cir. 1975).

If the University of Maryland is a state agency, it is
not a “person” within § 1983 and no cause of action can
be brought against it under that section. Courts
considering whether a particular college or university is
or is not a state agency have considered the laws of the
state as they define the relationship between the state
and the school; whether the school is performing a
governmental or proprietary function; whether it has
been separately incorporated; the degree of the school’s
autonomy over its operations; the ownership of the
school’s property; whether its property is immune from
state taxation; whether the sovereign has immunized
itself from responsibility for the school’s operations;
whether a judgment for damages against the school
would be payable out of the state treasury; and the
source of the school’s financing. It has also been stated
that generally the same inquiry is made and criteria
considered in determining whether a state university is
a §1983 “person” as is made in deciding whether a
damage suit against the state university would be
barred by the Eleventh Amendment. See Gordenstein v.
University of Delaware, 381 F. Supp. 718 (D. Del. 1974);
Samuel v. University of Pittsburgh, 375 F. Supp. 1119
(W.D. Pa. 1974), app. dismissed 506 F.2d 355 (3d Cir.
1974); Langsner v. Morgan State College, Civil No. HM-
74-1359 (D. Md. Jan. 9, 1976).

In Langsner Judge Herbert F. Murray held that
Morgan State University was a state agency and not a
“person” within the meaning of § 1983. In the present
case an uncontradicted affidavi‘’ of Dr. Wilson H.

® Under Rule 56, F.R.Civ.P., the uncontradicted facts in
this affidavit may be taken as true.

20a

Elkins, President of the University of Maryland, has
been filed which establishes that virtually all of the
factors considered determinative in Langsner apply
also to the University of Maryland. These factors set
forth in the margin’ fall within the scope of the factors
discussed in Gordenstein, supra, and Samuel, supra, as
well. We are persuaded that the University of Mary-

7 Dr. Wilson’s affidavit states:

“(q) All real property of the University belongs to the
State of Maryland, and substantially all such property is
titled in the name of the State of Maryland to the Use
and Benefit of the University of Maryland or to the Use
and Benefit of the Board of Regents of the University of
Maryland;

‘“(b) The sale and/or lease of real property of the
University is reviewed by the Department of General
Services, State of Maryland, and approved by the Board
of Public Works (including the Governor of the State of
Maryland), State of Maryland. The acquisition and/or
lease of real property by the University of Maryland is
similarly reviewed and approved;

“(c) All, or substantially all, of the contracts and
leases to which the University of Maryland is a party
are first reviewed by the Office of the Attorney General,
State of Maryland;

“(d) Payroll checks of employees of the University
are drawn on the treasury of the State of Maryland and
bear the facsimile signatures of the Treasurer and
Comptroller of the State of Maryland;

‘“(e) The annual Budget of the University is presented
to and must be approved by the General Assembly of the
State of Maryland, and is subject to review and
amendment by the State Department of Budget and
Fiscal Planning;

“(f) All University funds are funds of the State of
Maryland. All funds available to the University are
obtained substantially through appropriations of the
Maryland General Assembly, including student fees, and
government and private grants, which are specifically
appropriated by the General Assembly for use by the
University. All, or substantially all, bills paid by the
University are paid through checks drawn on the
Treasury of the State of Maryland;

“(g) The purchase of goods and equipment by the
University is exempt from Maryland Sales Tax. The

2la

land, like Morgan State College, is not a §1983

“person” and cannot be sued under that section.
With respect to the other defendant, Dr. Elkins,

however, it is equally clear that when he is sued in his

official capacity under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 in a suit seeking
injunctive and declaratory relief only, he is a “person”

University is entitled to avail itself of the purchasing
facilities of the Maryland Department of Budget and
Procurement;

“(h) The University’s financial records are audited by
the Maryland General Assembly, Division of Legislative
Auditors. The University must also provide to the Board
of Public Works or any member of the General Assembly
any requested information about any phase of its
operation, and must make an annual report thereon to
the latter;

(i) Decisions by the University with respect to
employment grievances, inciuding terminations, of
classified employees, are appealable for determination
by the Secretary of Personnel, State of Maryland;

_“G) Such comprehensive liability insurance as the
University is permitted to carry is authorized and
limited under Article 77A, §15A of the Annotated Code
of Maryland. Insurance to University property is
provided through participation in State of Maryland
ef Plans; f Reg

“(k) e Board o ents of the University consists
of fifteen members. The Governor of ao fate of
Maryland appoints fourteen with the advice and consent
of the State Senate. The remaining members are the
Maryland Secretary of Agriculture:

“(1) The Governor, the State Treasurer, and the State
Comptroller are notified of all meetings of the Board of
Regents of the University and have the authority to sit
with the Board. The State budget director, and the
chairmen of the State Senate Finance committee and the
State House Ways and Means committee are invited to
sit with the Board when requests for appropriations are

“(m) The University obtains its legal re tation
from the Attorney General of the State of Maryland”
In addition to the above, as noted by Judge Murray in
Langsner, Art. 78A § 16C of the Annotated Code of Maryland
would appear to indicate that any money judgment, against
the University of Maryland “will be paid, if at all, by the
State of Maryland.” Langsner, p. 9.

22a

for purposes of that section and amenable to suit
thereunder. Burt v. Bourd of Trustees of Edgefield Co.
School Dist., 521 F.2d 1201 (4th Cir. 1975); Harper v.
Kloster, 486 F.2d 1134 (4th Cir. 1973); Gay Students
Organization of the Univ. of New Hampshire uv.
Bonner, 509 F.2d 652 (1st Cir. 1974); Rochester v. White,
503 F.2d 263 (3d Cir. 1974); Langsner v. Morgan State
College, supra.

III. Case or Controversy

[4] Defendants argue that this court lacks jurisdic-
tion because no Art. III § 2° case or controversy exists
between the plaintiffs and the defendants because the
plaintiffs, dependent as they are on their parents,
presumably do not pay their own tuition and thus stand
to lose or gain nothing by the outcome of this lawsuit.
Aside from the lack of evidence in the record to support
the underlying assumption on the part of the defend-
ants it is clear that the plaintiffs in this case are
presenting a constitutional question “in the context of a
specific live grievance.” Golden v. Zwickler, 394 US.
103, 110, 89 S. Ct. 956, 960, 22 L. Ed. 2d 113 (1969). It is
the plaintiffs themselves who attend the University of
Maryland and who are allegedly being unconstitution-
ally overcharged by that institution.

The plaintiffs in this case have a personal stake in
the outcome and have an interest adverse to the
defendants since the tuition rates charged them as non-
residents must be paid in order for them to attend the
University of Maryland. Plaintiffs’ complaint alleges
that they themselves are being subjected to higher
tuition and other costs. Moreover, under Maryland law,
Annotated Code of Maryland, Art. 1 § 24, plaintiffs who
are all over 18, are adults. The law places no responsi-
bility on their parents to pay their tuition. If these rates
cannot be paid, either by the plaintiffs themselves, by
their parents, or by both parents and students, the

* Art. III § 2 of the Constitution of the United States limits
the judicial power of federal courts to “Cases” or “Controver-
§1es8.

ar

Mi Cleat eS I AR ts a Oe a tm gn me

23a

resulting loss of educational opportunity falls squarely
on the plaintiffs. They have a sufficient interest to
make the lawsuit an Article III case or controversy
under the tests laid down by the Supreme Court. O’Shea
uv. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 94 S. Ct. 669, 38 L. Ed. 2d 674
(1974); Goosby v. Osser, 409 U.S. 512, 93 S. Ct. 854, 35 L.
Ed. 2d 36 (1973); see also Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490,
95 S. Ct. 2197, 45 L. Ed. 2d 343 (1975); Super Tire
Engineering Co. v. McCorkle, 416 U.S. 115, 94 S. Ct.
1694, 40 L. Ed. 2d 1 (1974).

IV. Standing

[5] Defendants also allege that plaintiffs lack
standing to sue because they are financially dependent
on their parents who, therefore, presumably pay all of
plaintiffs’ tuition costs. While the Supreme Court has
noted that the concept of justiciability, which expresses
the “case or controversy” requirement of Article III, is
not synonymous with that of standing, Schlesinger v.
Reservists, etc., To Stop The War, 418 U.S. 208, 215, 94
S. Ct. 2925, 41 L. Ed. 2d 706 (1974), they do overlap. See
Warth v. Seldin, supra, 422 U.S. at 498-499, 95 S. Ct. at
2204, where it is stated:

“In its constitutional dimension, standing im-
ports justiciability: whether the plaintiff has made
out a ‘case or controversy’ between himself and the
defendant within the meaning of Art. III. This is
the threshold question in every federal case,
determining the power of the court to entertain the
suit. As an aspect of justiciability, the standing
question is whether the plaintiff has ‘alleged such
a personal stake in the outcome of the controversy’
as to warrant his invocation of federal-court
jurisdiction and to justify exercise of the court’s
remedial powers on his behalf. Baker v. Carr, 369
U.S. 186, 204 [82 S. Ct. 691, 7 L. Ed. 2d 663] (1962).
The Art. III judicial power exists only to redress or
otherwise to protect against injury to the complain-
ing party, even though the court’s judgment may
benefit others collaterally. A federal court’s juris-
diction therefore can be invoked only when the
plaintiff himself has suffered ‘some threatened or

24a

actual injury resulting from the putatively illegal
action... .’ Linda R. S. v. Richard D., 410 U.S. 614,
617 [93 S. Ct. 1146, 35 L. Ed. 2d 536] (1973). See
Association of Data Processing Service, Inc. v.
Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 151-154 [90 S. Ct. 827, 25 L. Ed.
2d 184] (1970).” (Footnotes omitted).

The plaintiffs in this case, as discussed above, are
asserting their own legal rights and interests and have
a sufficient stake in the outcome of this lawsuit to
establish standing to bring it. United States v. SCRAP,
412 U.S. 669, 93 S. Ct. 2405, 37 L. Ed. 2d 254 (1973);
Association of Data Processing Organizations Inc. v.
Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 90 S. Ct. 827, 25 L. Ed. 2d 184
(1970).

V. The Eleventh Amendment

Defendants argue that the Eleventh Amendment to
the Constitution bars this suit.°

{6, 7] Since the defendant University of Maryland
cannot be sued under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, the Eleventh
Amendment defense need be considered only with
respect to Dr. Elkins. The short answer to this
contention is that the Eleventh Amendment does not
bar suits seeking only prospective injunctive relief
against state officials who, acting in their official
capacity under color of state law or regulation, deprive
plaintiffs of constitutional rights. Edelman v. Jordan,
415 U.S. 651, 94 S. Ct. 1347, 39 L. Ed. 2d 662 (1974); Ex
Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123, 28 S. Ct. 441, 52 L. Ed. 714
(1908). Any ancillary effect which a_ prospective
injunction against Dr. Elkins, if issued in this case,
would have on the treasury of the State of Maryland is
a “permissible and often an inevitable consequence of
the principle announced in Ex Parte Young, supra.”
Edelman v. Jordan, supra, 415 U.S. at 668, 94S. Ct. at
1358.

* The Eleventh Amendment provides:

“The Judicial power of the United States shall be
construed to extend to any suit in law or in equity,
commenced or prosecuted against one of the United
States by citizens of another State, or by Citizens or
Subjects of any Foreign State.”

25a

VI. Absention

[8] Defendants urge the court to abstain from
deciding this case in order that the Maryland courts
can decide if a G-4 alien can be domiciled in Maryland.

Abstention is a judicially created doctrine. It has
several branches to its family tree. Two of these
branches are urged as applicable here to warrant this
federal court to stay its hand.

The first is the abstention rationale enunciated in
Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315, 63 S. Ct. 1098, 87
L. Ed. 1424 (1943), holding that a federal court should
abstain in order to avoid unnecessary conflict with the
regulation by a state of a complicated area of local
interest.

The Burford case arose out of disputes concerning the
application of a regulation of the Texas Railroad
Commission establishing minimum spacing between oil
wells. In Burford the Court stressed that abstention was
appropriate because the Texas scheme of regulating oil
and gas drilling was an extremely thorny problem
involving certain “non-legal complexities.” (Jd. at 323,
63 S. Ct. 1098). The Texas legislature had established a
Commission to resolve these technically complicated
geologic factual disputes, “as a part of the entire
conservation program with implications to the whole
economy of the state.” (Jd. at 325, 63 S. Ct. at 1103).
Moreover the Texas legislature had also established a
system of thorough judicial review by its own state
courts which could provide as full relief as could the
federal courts. By concentrating all direct review of the
Commission’s orders in the state district court of one
county, the Texas legislature also sought to avoid the
confusion of multiple review of the same general issues.
Prior interference by federal courts in this regulatory
scheme, the Burford Court noted, had previously caused
such confusion and had created numerous problems for
the Texas Governor, the Texas legislature and the
Railroad Commission.

26a

The considerations which persuaded the Burford
Court to order federal abstention are absent from this
case. The process by which the University of Maryland
determines a student’s domicile does not involve a
complicated area which the Maryland legislature has
singled out for special treatment. The legislature has
not seen the need to create a state agency staffed with
experts in order to effect a consistent and harmonizing
treatment of a particularly thorny matter of local
interest. There is no special system of judicial review.
There is no history of prior interference by the federal
courts in the University of Maryland’s procedures,
causing confusion and inconsistency. It is not predicta-
ble that the normal functioning of the system by which
the state determines a student’s domicile would give
rise to a surfeit of lawsuits seeking to interpose federal
courts in matters of purely state interest. Even this suit,
although the named plaintiffs do seek this court to
declare them Maryland domiciliaries, has as its
primary thrust to force the classification process to
operate meaningfully with respect to G-4 alien students.
The plaintiffs here are not seeking to “short circuit” the
University of Maryland’s classification scheme, but
rather have submitted themselves to it. A decision by
this court on the merits of plaintiff's complaints will not
conflict with a state regulatory scheme in the manner
feared by the Court in Burford. Since none of the factors
determinative in Burford exists here, abstention on the
rationale of that case is not warranted.

The second branch of the abstention family tree
invoked by the defendants is the so-called Pullman
doctrine. The decision in Railroad Commission of Texas
v. Pullman Co.. 312 U.S. 496, 61 S. Ct. 643, 85 L. Ed. 971
(1941), and its progeny have established that abstention
is proper where an interpretation or construction of an
unclear state statutory or constitutional provision
might end the litigation, thereby eliminating the need
for a federal court to resolve federal constitutional
issues. Kusper v. Pontikes, 414 U.S. 51, 94 S. Ct. 303, 38
L. Ed. 2d 260 (1973); Lake Carriers’ Association v.

ee eae en ne ene

sett tes OS

Nr te te: Ol At AD BI tal ON 2k A le a RN en Sh Rl OA

27a

MacMulian, 406 U.S. 498, 92 S. Ct. 1749, 32 L. Ed. 2d
257 (1974). The primary reasons for invoking abstention
in the Pullman context are to avoid unnecessary
friction in federal-state relations and to avoid prema-
ture federal constitutional adjudication. Harman uv.
Forssenius, 380 U.S. 528, 85 S. Ct. 1177, 14 L. Ed. 2d 50
(1965).

The language of the “In-State Policy” of the Univer-
sity of Maryland which is under attack here is not
subject to an interpretation in a Maryland court which
would avoid plaintiffs’ federal constitutional challenge.
That regulation on its face establishes that only “U.S.
citizens’ and “immigrant aliens” can establish in-state
status, and then only under certain conditions which
are discussed infra. By virtue of the words of the “In-
State Policy,” the University of Maryland, as a result of
the fact that the plaintiffs’ fathers, whose domiciles are
determinative of their respective Cependent’s residency
status, are all non-immigrant G-4 aliens, will automati-
cally attribute to them out-of-state status for admission,
tuition and charge differential purposes. No interpreta-
tion of the wording of the “In-State Policy” has been
offered which changes that stated result. Since the
regulation is clear and is not subject to any interpreta-
tion which could avoid a federal constitutional issue,
the reasons for invoking the Pullman abstention
doctrine are absent. Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400
U.S. 433, 437-439, 91 S. Ct. 507, 27 L. Ed. 2d 515 (1971);
Zwickler v. Koota, 389 U.S. 241, 250, 251, 88 S. Ct. 391,
19 L. Ed. 2d 444 (1967).

Nevertheless, defendants argue that abstention is
appropriate because the Maryland courts have never
decided whether or not a G-4 alien could establish a
Maryland domicile. This novel abstention argument
would require federal courts to abstain whenever an
unresolved question of state common law is involved in
federal constitutional litigation. Defendants have
presented no authority, and the court has found none,
which supports the application of the abstention

28a

doctrine in these circumstances. The Maryland common
law of domicile is clear and provides sufficient back-
ground to resolve the domicile question raised by the
plaintiffs in the context of their federal constitutional
challenge to the University of Maryland’s policies. See
Mariniello v. Shell Oil Company, 511 F.2d 853, 860-861
(3rd Cir. 1973).

Federal district courts are presumed to be knowledge-
able in the law of the states in which they sit, see
Runyon v. McCray, —~— U.S. ; : , 96 S. Ct.
2586, 49 L. Ed. 2d 415 (1976), and are often called upon
to resolve state law domicile questions in diversity of
citizenship cases.‘ While this is not a diversity case
and there is a constitutional question to be resolved, on
balance, it would be unwise to extend the abstention
doctrine to a case such as this. No principles of
federalism would be advanced since no unclear state
statute or constitutional provision subject to state court
construction or interpretation is involved. The delay
and expense attendant if the court abstained would be
great. Abstention has been confined to certain narrowly
limited special circumstances, Kusper v. Pontikes,
supra; Lake Carrier’s Association v. MacMullan, supra;
Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56, 92 S. Ct. 862, 31 L. Ed.
2d 36 (1972), which do not exist here. Therefore, the
court declines to abstain in this case. See also
Examining Board of Engineers, Architects and Survey-
ors v. DeOtero, 426 U.S. 572, 96 S. Ct. 2264, 49 L. Ed. 2d
65 (1976).

VIL The Merits
A. Due Process

Plaintiffs raise a due process claim, relying princi-
pally on Viandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441, 93 S. Ct. 2230,

0 Abstention has never been deemed appropriate in
diversity cases merely where there are unsettled questions of
state law involved. McNeese v. Board of Education, 373 US.
668, 673, n. 5, 83 S. Ct. 1433, 10 L. Ed. 2d 622 (1963); Meredith
vu. Winter Haven, 320 U.S. 228, 64 S. Ct. 7, 88 L. Ed. 9 (1943);
Martin v. State Farm Insurance Co., 375 F.2d 720, 722 (4th
Cir. 1967).

eed Fone eh hte

29a

37 L. Ed. 2d 63 (1973); Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645,
92 S. Ct. 1208, 31 L. Ed. 2d 551 (1972), and Cleveland
Board of Education v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632, 94 S. Ct.
791, 39 L. Ed. 2d 52 (1974). While plaintiffs do not
challenge the University of Maryland’s policy of
charging non-domiciliaries higher tuition rates, they do
allege that the University of Maryland’s “In-State
Policy” creates an irrebuttable presumtpion, that non-
immigrant aliens holding G-4 visas cannot establish a
Maryland domicile, a fact that is not, they argue,
universally true.

In Vlandis, the Supreme Court declared unconstitu-
tional a Connecticut statute which classified certain
married and unmarried students accepted for admission
to the University of Connecticut as out-of-state students
for tuition purposes based on the applicant’s legal
address prior to or at the time of his application. Under
the statute, if a student were classified “out-of-state”
under this system at the time of application for
admission, the student could not change l.is status no
matter what the student’s actual domiciliary intent was
at a later date. The student’s status established at the
time of his application for admission was deemed to
continue during his period of attendance at the univer-
sity.

In reaching its decision the Court noted:

“It may be that most applicants to Connecticut’s
university system who apply from outside the State
or within a year of living out of State have no real
intention of becoming Connecticut residents and
will never do so. But it is clear that not all of the
applicants from out of State inevitably fall in this
category.” (412 U.S. at 448, 93 S. Ct. at 2234).

Under these circumstances, the Court rejected the
state’s attempts at justification and held that:

“. . . since Connecticut purports to be concerned
with residency in allocating the rates for tuition
and fees in its university system, it is forbidden by
the Due Process Clause to deny an individual the

30a

resident rates on the basis of a permanent and
irrebuttable presumption of non-residence, when
that presumption is not necessarily true in fact,
and when the State has reasonable alternative
means of making the crucial determination.
Rather, standards of due process require that the
State allow such an individual the opportunity to
present evidence showing that he is a bona-fide
resident entitled to in-state rates.”’ (412 U.S. at 452,
93 S. Ct. at 2236).

In Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 92 S. Ct. 1208, 31
L. Ed. 2d 551 (1972), the Court held unconstitutional on
due process grounds Illinois’ statutory irrebuttable
presumption that all unmarried fathers are unqualified
to raise their children. The Court said that a state could
not conclusively presume that every unmarried father
was unfit to raise his children, but must under the due
process clause provide an opportunity for a hearing on
the issue of a particular unmarried father’s fitness
where his fitness was challenged.

Similarly, in Cleveland Board of Education uv.
LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632, 94 S. Ct. 791, 39 L. Ed. 2d 52
(1974), the Court invalidated mandatory leave and
return rules for pregnant teachers in Ohio and Virginia
on due process grounds, because the rules established
conclusive presumptions of facts which were not
universally true, namely that all women, who were 4 or
5 months pregnant or who gave birth 3 months or less
before they sought to return to work, were physically
incapeable of performing their duties. The Court held
that such determinations had to be made on an
individual basis. The maternity leave rules were found
to have no rational relationship to the interests of those
states in preserving continuity of instruction and in
protecting the health of the mother or expectant
mother.

In this case, then, several questions relative to
plaintiffs’ due process claim must be resolved: (1) does
the University of Maryland’s “In-State Policy” create
an irrebuttable presumption concerning the domicile of

em ot

etnind

Ee

3la

G-4 alien? (2) if so, is that presumption appropriate
because universally true? (3) if not, can the defendants
so justify that presumption as to save it from unconsti-
tutionality?

The defendants argue that the “In-State Policy” does
not rest upon or create an irrebuttable presumption as
to the domicile of a G-4 alien, but merely establishes the
status of an individual as a G-4 alien as one of the
factors to be considered in determining domicile for
tuition purposes, albeit the “paramount” factor. Defend-
ants also argue that there is no irrebuttable presump-
tion, because plaintiffs may, as may any other student,
obtain review of their domiciliary classification at any
time. However, these arguments fall short of the mark.
As admitted at oral argument, and as evidenced by the
express language of the “In-State Policy,” the Univer-
sity of Maryland determines on a case-by-case basis for
tuition and fees purposes the domicile of only “United
States citizens and ... immigrant aliens lawfully
admitted for permanent residence in accordance with
the laws of the United States.” Under the University’s
policies, a financially independent student in the
United States on the basis of a G-4 visa, or a student
who is financialiy dependent on a parent who holds a
G-4 visa, as are the named plaintiffs in this case, is
automatically “attributed out-of-state status for admis-
sion, tuition, and charge differential purposes. .. .”!!
So long as the G-4 visa status of the student or his
parent continues, any other evidence of domicile
brought before the University could not possibly
produce a reclassification of the student in question.
The single controlling factor in the case of a G-4 alien is
that visa classification. All other facts relating to
domicile are irrelevant. The fact that the State will
listen to evidence totally immaterial to its predeter-
mined conclusion concerning the domicile of a G-4 alien

'! The University bases the tuition rates of a financially
dependent student on the domicile of his parents. A parent

with a G-4 visa could not, under the In-State Policy, establish
a Maryland domicile.

32a

does not make that conclusion any less irrebuttable. See
United States Department of Agriculture v. Murry, 413
U.S. 508, 512, 93 S. Ct. 2382, 37 L. Ed. 2d 767 (1973),

Stanley v. Illinois, supra.

However, even if a certain presumption of fact is
irrebuttable, the resulting classification system is not a
fortiori unconstitutional. If the presumed fact is
necessarily true, it would be different from the presump-
tions about students in Viandis, mothers in LaFleur,
fathers in Stanley, household members in Murry, and
drivers in Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 91 S. Ct. 1586, 29
L. Ed. 2d 90 (1971), among others, which the Court has
previously invalidated.

The defendants have argued that domicile is the basis
on which tuition rates are determined and that all non-
resident aliens, including those in the United States on
G-4 visas, are precluded by the terms and conditions of
their visas from being domiciled in Maryland. If, as the
defendants argue, under the law of domicile of Mary-
land, a G-4 alien cannot establish domicile, then a
classification based on domicile which presumes non-
domicile for such aliens is not contrary to fact and is
universally true. Inquiry therefore must be made into
the common law of Maryland relating to domicile and
into federal law defining the nature of a G-4 alien’s stay
in the United States.

B. Maryland Law of Domicile

In Shenton v. Abbott, 178 Md. 526, 15 A.2d 906 (1940),
the Court of Appeals of Maryland held that:

“A person’s domicile is the place with which he has
a settled connection for legal purposes, either
because his home is there or because that place is
assigned to him by the law. It is well defined as
that place where a man has his true, fixed,
permanent home, habitation and principal estab-
lishment, without any inteniion of removing
therefrom, and to which place he has, whenever he
is absent, the intention of returning.” (/d., at 530,
15 A.2d at 908).

ee ee ee —

33a

Shenton v. Abbott also establishes that a person retains
his original domicile if he does not acquire a new one.
Two elements must be shown to prove a change of
domicile: (1) actual removal to or physical presence in
another habitation and (2) an intent to remain there
permanently or at least for an unlimited time. Jd. at
530, 15 A.2d 906. If a person has established a new
domicile, a “floating intent to return to his former
domicile at some future time” does not negative the
intent to establish the new domicile. Jd. at 533, 15 A.2d
at 909.

It is indisputable in this case that plaintiffs’ fathers,
because they are G-4 aliens, did not have Maryland as
their respective original domiciles but each could only
have acquired a Maryland domicile if he had changed
his original domicile. The court in Shenton also stated:

“No temporary residence, whether for the purposes
of business, health, or pleasure, occasions a change
of domicil. Even though a person may be absent
from his domicil for many years, and may return
only at long intervals, nevertheless he retains his
domicil if he does not acquire a domicil elsewhere.”’
(/d., at 530, 15 A.2d at 908).

As a general proposition of law, Shenton noted that
“{TJhe determination of the place of domicil depends
upon the circumstances of each case.” (/d., at 533, 15
A.2d at 909). All of these principles are still controlling
Maryland law. Bainum v. Kalen, 272 Md. 490, 325 A.2d
392 (1974); Knapp v. Comptroller, 269 Md. 697, 309 A.2d
635 (1973); Liberty Mutual Insurance Co. v. Craddock,
26 Md. App. 296, 338 A.2d 363 (1975).

In addition to physical presence and intent to remain
permanently or indefinitely, the Maryland courts
implicitly recognize, as another factor necessary to the
establishment of a new domicile, that the person
seeking to change his domicile must have the legal
capacity to do so. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co. v.
Craddock, supra, at 303, 338 A.2d 363. See Restatement
(Second) of Conflicts, § 15 (1971). Thus, in the case of a

34a

minor child, ordinarily legally incapable of a domicile
separate from that of its parent, the domicile of a minor
child in Maryland is with its parents. If the child’s
parents are divorced, the child’s domicile is that of the
parent to whom legal custody has been awarded. Taylor
v. Taylor, 246 Md. 616, 619, 229 A.2d 131 (1966); Berlin
v. Berlin, 239 Md. 52, 55, 210 A.2d 380 (1964); Rethorst
v. Rethorst, 214 Md. 1, 1383 A.2d 101 (1957). However, a
minor child retains the domicile of its father if the child
lives with neither parent. Rethorst v. Rethorst, supra, at
12. 133 A.2d 101. If there has been no legal fixing of
custody, then the minor child’s domicile is that of the
parent with whom it lives. Jd.; Ross v. Pick, 199 Md.
341, 349, 86 A.2d 463 (1952). A minor child who falls
within these common law principles can never establish
an independent domicile, whatever may be that child’s
intent to do so. Because a minor child is not sui juris
and can therefore not have legal effect given to its
actual intent, physical presence in a certain state, and
an intent to remain there indefinitely, do not fix or
change the domicile of a minor. During minority, the
common law fixes the child’s domicile. Sudler v. Sudler,
121 Md. 46, 88 A. 26 (1913).

There is nothing in Maryland law, possibly aside
from the principle that a person intending a change in
domicile must be legally capable of doing so, to prevent
a G-4 visa holder from obtaining a Maryland domicile.
Therefore, federal law must be examined to determine
whether such law relating to G-4 aliens in any respect
renders such aliens legally incapable of changing the
domicil.

C. Federal Law

The Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952, 8
U.S.C. § 1101 et seg., defines 12 classes of nonimmi-
grant aliens which, including subclasses, describe 17
types of nonimmigrants. Class G aliens are aliens who
are in the United States as resident representatives of
foreign governments and members of their immediate
families and staffs, as well as aliens who are foreign

35a

representatives to or employees of international organi-
zations covered by the International Organizations
Immunities Act, 22 U.S.C. § 288, and members of their
immediate families and personal staffs. Specifically, G-
4 aliens are:

“(iv) officers, or employees of such international
aa a and the members of their immediate
amilies.

In contrast to those classes of aliens who are defined
as aliens “having a residence in a foreign country
which [they have] no intention of abandoning,” 8
U.S.C. §1101(a\15\B), (F), (H), (J), or as aliens who
intend to enter the United States “temporarily” or who
are “in transit” § 1101(a\(15\C), (D), (L), a G-4 alien is
simply defined as an employee of an international
organization. The statute, therefore, does not define a
G-4 alien in terms of an express intent on the part of
such alien relative to his domicile.

The visa itself held by a G4 alien is not determina-
tive of the domicile issue. A visa is essentially a
document of entry. Alves v. Alves, 262 A.2d 111, 115
(D.C. App. 1970); see 22 C.F.R. § 41.120. Its period of
validity has no relation to the period of time an alien
may be authorized by the immigration authorities to
stay in the United States, 22 C.F.R. §41.122(a). The stay
of a G4 alien is governed by regulations of the
Immigration and Naturalization Service. 8 U.S.C.
§ 1184(a). As provided in 8 C.F.R. § 214.1(a):

“(a) General. Every nonimmigrant alien appli-
cant for admission or extension of stay in the
United States shall. . . agree that he will abide by
all terms and conditions of his admission or
extension, and that he will depart at the expiration
of the period of his admission or extension or an
Comneane of his authorized nonimmigrant
status.”

The period of admission of a G-4 alien is for so long as
the alien continues to be recognized by the Secretary of
State «s a member of that class of aliens. In terms of
the present case, the period of admission of the

36a

plaintiffs’ fathers is for so long as they are respectively
employed by international organizations governed by
the International Organizations Immunities Act, cited
supra. 8 C.F.R. §§ 214.1(a), 214.2(g).'”

[9] The mere fact that a G-4 alien is subject to being
deported if he changes his employment does not make
him legally incapable of establishing a Maryland
domicile or of intending to remain or remaining here
indefinitely. In Alves v. Alves, supra, the District of
Columbia Court of Appeals held specifically that a G-4
alien was domiciled in the District of Columbia. In that
divorce case the appellant wife challenged the finding
of the lower court that her husband was a D.C.
domiciliary on the ground here argued that “the
appellee did not have the legal capacity to form an
intention to become a domiciliary of the District of
Columbia since he was living here at the grace of Great
Britain and United States.” (/d., at 114). The wife also
argued that the husband had to adjust his status to
permanent resident before he could become domiciled in
the District of Columbia.'* The Alves court rejected the
last contention holding that under the immigration
laws it is legally possible “for an alien to remain in the
United States for many years. . . without applying for
permanent residence” and that such a contention
wrongfully ignores, “the period of time [the alien had]
resided in the District of Columbia, his intention in
moving in‘o the District of Columbia and other relevant

12 Under 8 U.S.C. §1251(a)(9) an alien is subject to
deportation who— “(9) was admitted as a nonimmigrant and
failed to maintain the nonimmigrant status in which he was
admitted or to which it was changed . . ., or to comply with
the conditions of any such status.”

‘3 The domicile rule in the District of Columbia as quoted
by the court in Alves is substantially similar to the Maryland
rule:

. physical presence with an intent to abandon the
former domicile and to remain in the District of
Columbia for an indefinite period of time.” (Alves, supra,
at 114).

37a

factors.” ((Id., at 115). As to the first contention the
court held:

“The fact that appellee entered the United States
on a nonimmigrant visa . . . does not preclude a
finding that appellee could become domiciled in the
District of Columbia.

* = 7 = * *

... At best it might be argued appellee had a
floating intent to return to Great Britain conditi-
oned upon an uncertain event — his dis.nissal from
the I.M.F. — which event may never occur. But
such a floating intention to return to Great Britain
is not sufficient to require a holding that appellee
was still domiciled in Great Britain.” (footnotes
omitted). (/d., at 115-116).

Accord, Rzeszotarski v. Rzeszotarski, 296 A.2d 431 (D.C.
App. 1972); Gosschalk v. Gosschalk, 48 N.J. Super. 566,
138 A.2d774, aff'd, 28 N.J. 73, 145 A.2d 327 (1958). The
Court of Appeals of Maryland, as mentioned above, has
also held that a floating intent to return to a former
domicile at some future date does not negative the
intent to establish a new domicile. Shenton v. Abbott,
supra, at 533, 15 A.2d 906.

The Restatement (Second) of Conflicts recognizes in
§17, Comment g, that a refugee may acquire a domicile
of choice even if he is present in this country on a
temporary visa:

“Even in the latter situation, [refugee present on a

temporary visa] it is possible for a refugee to

acquire a domicile of choice in his asylum,

although the presumably temporary nature of his

stay may cast some doubt upon whether he has

formed the requisite attitude of mind toward it
. .” (Citations omitted). U/d., at 69).

The Restatement also states with respect to domiciliary
intent that:

“{I}f [one] does not intend to move at a definite
time, it is easier to find that he has this attitude of
mind than if he intends to move at a definite time.

38a

It is possible, however, for a person to have the
proper attitude of mind even though he does intend
to move at a definite time; although the more
distant that time is, the easier it is to find the
requirement satisfied.” (Jd., at 71).
The rule expressed in Alves and in the Restatement, as
applied to a G-4 alien, who presently intends to remain
in Maryland indefinitely but who may have to return to
his native country at the conclusion of his employment,
makes it clear that such a G-4 alien is not legally
incapable of establishing a Maryland domicile. Further-
more, as noted supra, there is nothing in the statutory
definition in 8 U.S.C. § 1101 of a G-4 alien, as opposed to
certain other types of nonimmigrant aliens, which
indicates that Congress sought to negate a domiciliary
intent on the part of a G-4 alien.

In summary, under Maryland law the plaintiffs’
fathers must be able to demonstrate physical presence
in Maryland, an intent to remain here indefinitely and
the legal capability to do so. The federal immigration
laws do not render the plaintiffs’ fathers legally
incapable of demonstrating and being able to carry out
a present intention to remain in Maryland indefinitely.
Plaintiffs’ fathers’ G-4 status, in fact, gives them that
precise status, residents of Maryland for an indefinite
period of time. This legal capacity coupled with
physical presence and sufficient evidence of the
requisite intent is all that the law of Maryland requires
to establish domicile.

Defendants place principal reliance on Revenue
Ruling 74-364 and Seren v. Douglas, 30 Colo. App. 110,
489 P.2d 601 (1971).

The Revenue Ruling squarely holds that a G-4 alien is
under a legal disability which renders him incapable of
forming the intention necessary to establish a domicile
in the United States. That holding is based on the fact
that a G-4 alien is required to depart at the expiration of
the period of his admission. However, as demonstrated
above, under federal law a G-4 alien is capable of

— ee ee ee eee fed

sud tie ah —

serch lille sundance Tami A “ecatiniaaten

39a

remaining in Maryland indefinitely and, therefore, has
the legal capacity to have the necessary intent to
establish a Maryland domicile while physically present
in Maryland. As an explication of the law of domicile,
this court believes the Revenue Ruling is in error.

Revenue Ruling 74-364 relies as do the defendants, on
Seren v. Dougias, supra. In that case, Seren, a student,
entered the United States in 1967 on a student visa
which expired in April, 1968. In July of 1968, after
Seren had married a University of Colorado coed, a
petition for an immigrant visa was grant

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2289%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
