# Opposition — Melvin v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2180%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 890

## Text

r” Sopreane Court, U. S,
rILEQD

No. 77-43 spp 221977

ms

Me TAR, JR., CLERK

ca

Gn the Supreme Court of the United States
OcToBER TERM, 1977

RAY MELVIN, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

DANIEL M. FRIEDMAN,
Acting Solicitor General,

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General,

JEROME M. FEIT,

HENRY WALKER,
Attorneys,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

No. 77-43
RAY MELVIN, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A) is
not yet reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
February 22, 1977. A petition for rehearing was denied
on May 20, 1977. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
not filed until July 7, 1977, and is therefore out of time
under Rule 22(2) of the Rules of this Court. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether extortion by a county sheriff of individuals
who bootleg liquor produced out of state “affects com-
merce” within the meaning of the Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C.
1951.

(1)

,

2

2. Whether petitioner’s federal prosecution, which fol-
lowed a mistrial in state court for the same acts, violated
the Department of Justice’s policy regarding dual prose-
cutions.

3. Whether the district court erred in refusing to permit
petitioner’s counsel,/who had formerly represented a gov-
ernment witness, to cross-examine the witness concern-
ing statements that the district court found to be protected
by the attorney-client privilege.

4. Whether the district court abused its discretion in
limiting the number of chzracter witnesses petitioner
could present and in preventing petitioner’s counsel from
examining a witness after petitioner had rested.

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Kentucky, petitioner was
convicted of seven counts of extortion, in violation of
the Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. 1951. He was fined $7,500 and
sentenced to four years’ imprisonment on each of four
counts, the sentences to run concurrently; he was sen-
tenced to five years’ imprisonment and fined $10,000
on each of the remaining three counts, the fines and sen-
tences to be suspended. He was also placed on probation
for five years to begin upon his release from custody (Pet.
App. 2a). The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. la-3a).

The evidence showed that petitioner, a former county
sheriff, extorted money from bootleggers in exchange for
not enforcing local liquor laws. Bootleggers who refused
to pay were raided and closed by police (Pet. App. la-2a).
Evidence was also introduced to prove that the boot-
leggers sold beer that had been packaged and brewed
out of state (Tr. 29; see Pet. 7).

3

ARGUMENT

|. Petitioner contends (Pet. 7-13) that extortion of
individuals who bootleg liquor produced out of state does
not “affect commerce” within the meaning of the Hobbs
Act (18 U.S.C. 1951), which in pertinent part provides
sanctions against any person who “in any way or degree
* * * affects commerce or the movement of any * * *
commodity in commerce, by * * * extortion * * *.” In
enacting the Hobbs Act, Congress intended to utilize its
constitutional power to regulate commerce to the fullest
possible extent. Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212, 215.
The purpose of the Act parallels the central design of the
Commerce Clause and, in so doing, proscribes extortion
that “in any way or degree obstructs, delays or affects
commerce.” United States v. Staszcuk, 517 F. 2d 53, 58
(C.A. 7) (en banc), certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 837. The
statute thus grants federal jurisdiction in all situations
where commerce is affected, even where the effect may be
minimal. United States v. Amato, 495 F. 2d 545 (C.A. 5);
United States v. Gill, 490 F. 2d 233 (C.A. 7), certiorari
denied, 417 U.S. 968; United States v. Tropiano, 418 F. 2d
1069 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied sub nom. Grasso v.
United States, 397 U.S. 1021; Carbo v. United States,
314 F. 2d 718, 732 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 377 U.S.
953. See also United States v. Spagnolo, 546 F. 2d 1117
(C.A. 4), petitions for a writ of certiorari pending (see
Nos. 76-6221 and 76-1194).

Under that standard, petitioner’s conduct plainly af-
fected commerce and thus came within the proscription
of the Hobbs Act. As the district court noted (Tr. 757),
the volume of beer produced out of state that was handled
by the bootleggers had a vaiue of “several thousand dol-
lars a week. * * * [T]he fact that [the] imported beer

4

was handled by the bootleggers and the fact that the pro-
tection alleged to have been purchased from [petitioner]
protected that activity and that it had a substantial
dollar value is an affect on interstate commerce.”

There is no support for petitioner’s suggestion (Pet. 8-9)
that the Hobbs Act does not apply because the individuals
from whom petitioner extorted money were engaged in
activity that was illegal.' The record in this case supports
a finding that petitioner’s extortion, and his consequent
failure to enforce local liquor laws, affected each week the
movement in “commerce”? of hundreds of cases of
beer produced out of state.) That is sufficient to bring
petitioner's activity within the Hobbs Act.4

'The Court recently refused review in an analogous case, United
States v. Grigson, C.A. 6, certiorari denied, May 23, 1977 (No.
76-1141), in which a local law enforcement officer was convicted
under the Hobbs Act for extorting moaey from truck owners whose
trucks were illegally overweight, in return for failing to enforce the
weight limitations. As here, the fact that the truck owners were pay-
ing for the “protection” of activity that was illegal did not nullify
the effect the extortion had on commerce or otherwise remove the
extortion {rom the reach of the statute.

Commerce” as it is defined in the statute (18 U.S.C. 1951
(bX 3)) includes “all commerce between any point in a State * * * and
any point outside thereof * * *.” The evidence in this case showed
that beer from out of state came into a ‘wet™ county in Kentucky
and from there was brought by the bootleggers into a “dry” county
(see, e.g., Tr. 36-37, 320).

‘The district court correctly instructed the jury (Tr. 845-846):

*** I would tell you that if you believe from the evidence
** * that beer which was manufactured in a state other than
** * Kentucky came into Kentucky and in the normal course
of commerce ended up in the hands of * * * alleged * * * boot-
leggers * * * and this business, whether legal or illegal * * *,
was permitted to continue only upon the condition that * * *
the bootleggers *** pay to the [petitioner] * * * money,
then you may find that there is a requisite affect on interstate
commerce and there need not be any more.

‘Petitioner does not raise, and there is accordingly no need for
this Court to consider here, the issue whether an illegal activity
must constitute “racketeering” to fall within the Hobbs Act. See

5

2. Petitioners claim (Pet. 12) that the Department of
Justice violated its policy against dual prosecution is in-
correct. We believe petitioner would not be entitled to
judicial relief on this ground even were there an accurate
factual predicate for his claim, but here there is none.
The Department informed petitioner’s counsel by letter
dated November 24, 1976, that petitioner’s prosecution
had been authorized by the proper officials within the
Department in accordance with Department policy (see
Petite v. United States, 361 U.S. 529).5 (A copy of the
letter to petitioner's counsel is set forth in an Appendix
to this brief.)

3. Petitioner also claims (Pet. 14) that his attorney,
Dan Jack Combs, was erroneously limited in cross-
examination of a government witness on the ground that
Combs had formerly represented the witness. The wit-
ness, Herbie Gene Wheeler, testified on direct examina-
tion that he had arranged a meeting between petitioner

United States v. Yokley, 542 F. 2d 300 (C.A. 6); United States v.
Culbert, 548 F. 2d 1355 (C.A. 9), petition for a writ of certiorari
pending, No. 77-142. In the instant case, the county judge, trial
commissioner jailer, and sheriff (petitioner) were all involved in a
scheme to extort protection money from bootleggers over a period of
six months (Tr. 58-80). Hence, however “racketeering” is defined, it
would appear to include petitioner's activity. Significantly, the
Sixth Circuit, which first held that the Hobbs Act only applied to
“racketeering activity” (United States vy. Yokley, supra), did not
mention the issue in affirming petitioner's conviction here.

‘In petitioner's case, several factors warranted federal prosecution.
Petitioner's state trial had ended in a hung jury, and thus there was
no danger of double punishment for the same offense. (Nor could
double jeopardy even have barred a second trial by the State.) Both
petitioner and his co-defendant were prominent local officials in a
small county, which made local prosecution difficult. Finally. ted-
eral agents reported that there had been attempts to bribe govern-
ment witnesses to prevent them from testifying.

6

and several bootleggers at Wheeler's garage, at which
the extortion scheme was proposed (Tr. 54-58). There-
after, Wheeler acted as middleman, collecting money from
the bootleggers and delivering it to petitioner (Tr. 56).

During cross-examination of Wheeler, Combs attempted
to question him concerning statements Wheeler had made
to Combs in a conversation several months earlier
(Tr. 201). At a side bar conference the prosecutor in-
formed the court that Wheeler believed that the conversa-
tion was confidential and protected by the attorney-
client privilege because at the time Combs had been his
attorney (Tr. 201-202). The court then excused the jury
and conducted a hearing to determine the validity oi the
claimed privilege (Tr. 202).

The facts adduced at the hearing showed that Wheeler,
a bootlegger, and three other bootleggers had met with
Combs in the Johnson County Law Library in July or
August 1975 (Tr. 201). At the time, all of the bootleggers
were under indictment in state court for bribery. (Peti-
tioner, who also was represented by Combs, had also
been indicted in state court on charges of extortion.)
Apparently to insure the confidentiality of the conversa-
tion, Combs solicited one dollar from each uf the boot-
leggers (Tr. 202, 210). Wheeler testified that Combs told
him, “When we go to trial, I'll do everything | can for
you just the same as | would [for] Sheriff Ray Melvin”
(Tr. 205). Even though Wheeler was already represented
by other counsel and knew that Combs represented peti-
tioner (Tr. 209), Wheeler testified that, as a result of
his conversation with Combs and the exchange of money,
he believed Combs would represent him in court (Tr.
202, 209, 213). Wheeler said he discussed his case with
Combs only because he thought Combs would be his
lawyer and that the information would be confidential
(Tr. 213).

7

Based upon the hearing, the district court held that
the conversation was protected by the attorney-client
privilege and limited cross-examination accordingly (Tr.
212). Contrary to petitioner’s contention (Pet. 16), the
record as summarized above amply supports the dis-
trict court’s findings that Combs and Wheeler had an
attorney-client relationship at the time of the conversa-
tion and thus that the conversation was inadmissible at
trial.

There is also nothing to petitioner’s claim (Pet. 17-18)
that the limitation on cross-examination deprived him of
a fair trial. While he does not phrase it as such, petitioner's
claim in essence appears to be that Combs’ prior relation-
ship with Wheeler resulted in a conflict of interest that
denied petitioner effective assistance of counsel. See
United States v. Jeffers, 520 F. 2d 1256(C.A. 7), certiorari
denied, 423 U.S. 1066. But any other counsel who rep-
resented petitioner also would have been prohibited from
cross-examining Wheeler concerning statements the wit-
ness had made to his attorney. Wheeler’s refusal to waive
the privilege simply resulted in Combs’ being in no
better position to cross-examine Wheeler than any other
lawyer would have been (United States v. Jeffers, supra,
520 F. 2d at 1265; United States v. Alberti, 470 F. 2d 878,
881 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 411 U.S. 919).

Moreover, aside from the limitation on cross-examina-
tion, Combs’ former representation of Wheeler did not
hamper his representation of petitioner. Combs cross-

‘With Wheeler's knowledge. Combs had recorded their conversa-
tion at the law library (Tr. 207). The district court refused to admit
the tape into evidence, but did ask that the tape be made a part of
the record (fr. 211). This never occurred. A transcript of the tape
has been prepared in connection with disciplinary proceedings
against Combs as a resuli of this incident; a copy of the transcript
is being lodged with the Clerk of the Court.

8
\
examined Wheeler extensively (Tr. 214-226) Aor a

wise defended petitioner vigorously. The fact that an
attorney may not pursue one line of questioning does
not mean that petitioner was deprived of effective
representation. See United States v. Jeffers, supra, 520
F. 2d at 1265.

In any event, there is no reasonable likelihood that
Wheeler's impeachment could have affected the jury
verdict.’ Wheeler's testimony concerning the meeting
with petitioner at Wheeler’s garage was corroborated
by several other witnesses who had attended the meeting
(e.g., Tr. 283-288, 297-302, 322-325, 338-339, 422-425).
Two other witnesses also testified that they paid pro-
tection money to petitioner, and the government intro-
duced tape recordings of the transaction to corroborate
their testimony (Tr. 428, 431-434, 542-545, 559-563, 566-
569, 572-575, 577, 592-595, 599-601, 604-606, 611). Thus,
even if Wheeler had never testified, the evidence of peti-
tioner’s guilt would have been convincing.

4. Petitioner raises (Pet. 14) other alleged trial errors,
none of which warrants further examination by this Court.
He contends that the trial court arbitrarily limited the
defense to three character witnesses and that defense
counsel was prevented from cross-examining other wit-
nesses about petitioner’s character. Such determinations
were, however, within the discretion of the trial judge

‘It ts unlikely that Wheeler could have been effectively impeached
on the basis of the taped conversation. At the time of the conversa-
tion, Wheeler himself was under indictment in state court. and he
denied all wrongdoing. But he subsequently was given immunity
from prosecution and at trial admitted the apparent discrepancy
in his testimony (Tr. 220, 223: see Tr. 246-247). Introducing the
tape of his conversation would not have added significantly to the
evidence regarding Wheeler's credibility that was already before the
jury.

9

to make. See Rule 403, Fed. R. Evid.; Hamling v. United
States, 418 U.S. 87, 127.8 Petitioner also objects that he
was not allowed to cross-examine a witness called by
his co-defendant. This occurred when petitioner's counsel,
who had already rested his case, attempted on cross-
examination to go beyond the scope of direction examina-
tion and, in effect, make the witness his own. This the
trial court properly refused to permit (Tr. 779-780).

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

DANIEL M. FRIEDMAN.
Acting Solicitor General.*

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General.

JEROME M. FEIT,
HENRY WALKER.
Attorneys.

SEPTEMBER 1977.

“After being instructed by the trial court that only three character
witnesses could testify for each defendant (Tr. 12), petitioner's
counsel nevertheless insisted on using the government's own wit-
nesses to testify to petitioner's character. After much discussion
(Tr. 21-24), the trial court permitted this line of questioning—even
though the issue had not been raised by the government during
direct examination—as if the witness had been called by petitioner
(Tr. 317-318; see Rule 611(b). Fed. R. Evid.). After similarly ques-
tioning two other witnesses (Tr. 279-280, 292-294). petitioner's
counsel was informed that he had used his allotted number of
character witnesses (Tr. 304-309). Since the issue of petitioner's
reputation was already before the jury, the trial court properly
refused to admit cumulative testimony on that issue (see Rule 403,
Fed. R. Evid.).

*The Solicitor General is disqualified in this case.

DOJ-1977-09

APPENDIX
November 24, 1976

T.11/4/76
RLT:THH:AJR:plh
186-30-1

Dan Jack Combs, Esq.
Dan Jack Combs, PSC
207 Caroline Avenue
Pikeville, Kentucky 41501

Re: Ray Melvin, Johnson County Sheriff
Dear Mr. Combs:

This is in response to your letter of September 15,
1976, wherein you inquired as to whether I or any other
Assistant Attorney General approved the institution of a
criminal proceeding against Ray Melvin in the Eastern
District of Kentucky. As the United States Attorney
for the Eastern District of Kentucky indicated to you in
his letter of October 18, 1976, the initiation of this crim-
inal prosecution conformed with the guidelines and poli-
cies of the Department of Justice.

While the Department of Justice has a policy against
successive state-Federal prosecutions in appropriate cases,
the authority to prosecute Ray Melvin was granted in
this case based upon its specific facts and circumstances.

Sincerely,

RICHARD L. THORNBURGH
Assistant Attorney General
Criminal Division

cce:Records
Section Chron
Reich (2)
Thornburgh

la

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2180%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
