# Supplemental Memorandum — Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp. v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2032%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Supplemental Memorandum
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 436 U.S. 930

## Text

No. 76-1799

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBeR TERM, 1976

TRANSCONTINENTAL Gas Pipe LINE CORPORATION,

Petitioner,
v.

FeperRAL ENERdYW REGULATORY COMMISSION

SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM OF PETITIONER
TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE
CORPORATION

Tuomas F. Ryan, JR.
Ropert G. Harpy
ANDREWS, KURTH,
CAMPBELL & JONES
1700 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Petitioner
Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line
Corporation

Of Counsel:

Brian E. O'NEILL, Senior Vice
President and General Counsel
WILLIAu N. Bonner, JR.
Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line
Corporation
Post Office Box 1396
Houston, Texas 77001

Paess ory Bron S. ADAMs PrRinTING, Inc., Wasuinoton, D. C.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-1799

TRANSCONTINENTAL Gas Pipe LINE CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
V.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM OF PETITIONER
TRANSCONTINENTAL GAS PIPE LINE
CORPORATION

In its memorandum to this Court in response to the
petition for certiorari, the Federal Energy Regula-
tory Commission (at that time known as the Federal
Power Commission) requested that this case be held
in abeyance pending the decision of the United States
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit
in Elizabethtown Gas Company v. Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission, No. 76-1465. Because the
Elizabethtown case presented the identical question on
the merits as was presented to the same court of
appeals in the instant case, petitioner Transconti-
nental Gas Pipe Line Corporation (Transco) acqui-

2

esced in the Commission’s request and this Court has
not yet acted upon the petition.

The decision of the court of appeals in Elizabeth-
town was rendered on January 26, 1978 and, while
the Commission has committed itself to filing a sup-
plemental memorandum, petitioner Transco also
wishes to express its view of the interrelationship of
Elizabethtown to this case.’

1. The issue presented to the court of appeals in
Elizabethtown was exactly the same as the issue pre-
sented to another panel of the same court in the in-
stant case, namely, the legality of a compensation
scheme for unequal curtailment of natural gas sup-
ply. In Elizabethtown, the court had no difficulty in
deciding the case on its merits despite the fact that
there was no evidence relating to the pipeline’s gas
supply. In the instant case, however, the court of ap-
peals has three times refused to decide the case on its
merits. Instead, on an issue which only it has raised,
it has thrice remanded the case to the Commission
with various directions to undertake gas supply in-
quiries. The first time, this Court summarily reversed
the court of appeals’ action upon a petition filed by
the Commission. Federal Power Commission v. Trans-
continental Gas Pipe Line Corporation, 423 U.S. 326
(1976). The second time, the Commission attempted to
comply with the court of appeals’ mandate “to deter-
mine whether a real shortage exists“ by certifying to
the reality of the shortage based upon record evidence
and the stipulation of the parties. This did not satisfy

The lower court’s decision in Elizabethtown is attached hereto
as Appendix A.

* Order of February 6, 1976, Appendix E to the petition herein.

3

the court of appeals, however, and the third remand
ensued. It is this third remand, with its instruction to
the Commission to determine the “duration, shape and
causation” of the shortage on Transco’s system, which
is the subject of the petition in this case.

What the court of appeals found to be “absolutely
essential“ to a decision on the merits in this case,
was of no concern to a different panel of the same
court in Elizabethtown. Indeed, the panel in Eliza-
bethtown, while determining the issue on the merits
to be relatively simple’’, showed full awareness of the
inconsistent posture and treatment of the Transco
case and made no effort to distinguish the two cases
(Appendix A, pp. 4a, 10a-12a).* Transco submits that
there is no basis for distinguishing the cases; rather,
to paraphrase the words of this Court in the prior
chapter, 423 U.S. 326 at 334, it is no longer ‘‘con-
ceivable” that any nexus exists between the lawfulness
of compensation and the extent of the gas shortage.

2. In its memorandum to this Court, the Commis-
sion agreed with Transco that the court of appeals
once again seriously overstepped the proper bounds
of judicial review by dictating to the administrative
agency the type of gas supply investigation which it
must undertake. Moreover, while the Commission did
not object to granting Transco’s petition, it did not
itself seek a writ of certiorari because the instant

Id.

* The opinion in Elizabethtown was written by Judge Leventhal
who was one of the four judges voting to deny rehearing en banc
in this case in a 4-4 split. In order to be consistent with his action
in Elizabethtown, Judge Leventhal today would unquestionably
vote to grant rehearing en banc and there would be no need for
action in this case.

4

case appeared to be sui generis insofar as treatment
of gas supply is concerned. While the Elizabethtown
decision reinforces that view, it also highlights the
egregious error committed by the court of appeals in
‘this case in requiring a nebulous inquiry into gas
supply on Transco’s system before deciding the merits
of an issue which every other court has been able to
decide without any inquiry into gas supply.“

3. Over two years ago, this Court determined that
“swift and priority consideration“ should be given to
this case by the court of appeals. Yet, if the kind of
esoteric inquiry mandated by the court of appeals
is now required, it is likely that another two years or
more will go by before there is a decision by the court
of appeals on the merits. In the meantime, there is
presently being held in escrow for the benefit of one
group of Transco customers or another approximately
$22.5 million of compensation money (including earn-
ings on the escrow balance) which cannot be distrib-
uted until this case is decided on its merits.

4. Under all of the foregoing circumstances, Transco
respectfully urges this Court to grant the petition
for certiorari, summarily reverse the latest order of
the court of appeals as once again invading the right-
ful province of the Conunission, and remand the case

See also Mississippi Public Service Commission v. FPC, 522
F. 2d 1345 (5th Cir. 1975), rehearing denied, 526 F. 2d 810, cert.
denied, 429 U.S. 870 (1976), and Ft. Pierce Utility Authority of
City of Ft. Pierce v. FPC, 526 F. 2d 993 (5th Cir. 1976).

FO v. Transco, supra, 423 U.S. at 334.

5

to the court of appeals with directions to decide this
case promptly on its merits.

_ Respectfully submitted,

THomas F. Ryan, JR.
Rosert G. Harpy
ANDREWS, KURTH,
CAMPBELL & JONES
1700 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Petitioner
Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line
Corporation

Of Counsel:

Brian E. ONE, Senior Vice
President and General Counsel
Wiu1aM N. Bonner, JR.
Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line
Corporation
Post Office Box 1396
Houston, Texas 77001

APPENDIX

ne no 2 ee

la

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 76-1465
ELIZABETHTOWN GAS COMPANY, PETITIONER
V.
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION, RESPONDENT

WASHINGTON GAS LIGHT COMPANY
COLUMBIA GAS TRANSMISSION CORPORATION
COLUMBIA GAS DISTRIBUTING COMPANIES
COMMONWEALTH NATURAL GAS CORPORATION
GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, INTERVENORS

Petition for Review of an Order of the
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Argued June 17, 1977 | Judgment entered
, this date
Decided January 26,1978 | <==

John T. Miller, Jr., for petitioner.

Thomas Walsh, Attorney, Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission, for respondent. Drexel D. Journey, General
Counsel, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Roberi
W. Perdue, Deputy General Counsel, Allan Abbot Tuttle,

2a

Solicitor and John H. Burnes, Jr., Attorney, Federal
Energy Regulatory Commission were on the brief, for
respondent. John J. Lahey, Attorney, Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission also entered an appearance for
respondent.

Stephen J. Small with whom Tilford A. Jones was on
the brief for intervenor, Columbia Gas Distribution Com-

panies.

Edward J. Grenier, Jr., Richard P. Noland, Robert R.
Morrow, Frazer F. Hilder and Julius Jay Hollis were
on the brief, for intervenor, General Motors Corporation.

John D. Daly, Giles D. H. Snyder, Leonard Sargeant,
III, and William P. Saviers, Jr., were on the brief, for
intervenor, Columbia Gas Transmission Corporation.

Lewis Carroll, Monte R. Edwards and Susan A. Low
were on the brief, for intervenor, Washington Gas Light
Company.

James O. Watts, Jr., entered an appearance for inter-
venor, Commonwealth Natural Gas Corporation.

Before: LEVENTHAL and Ross, Circuit Judges and
RONALD N. DAviEs,* Senior United States Dis-
trict Judge for the District of North Dakota.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge LEVEN-
THAL.

LEVENTHAL, Circuit Judge: In this case, we rule that
the Federal Power Commission has the power to require
compensation as part of a curtailment plan. We remand
to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, as the
successor to the FPC,** for consideration of whether
such compensation should be provided.

* Sitting by designation pursuant to Title 28, U.S.C.
§ 294(d).

** See 42 U.S.C. f 7101 et seq., § 7295 (e) (Supp. 1977).

3a

The issue arises out of orders of the FPC relating to
two successive interim curtailment plans for the inter-
state natural gas pipeline transmission system of Co-
lumbia Gas Transmission Corporation (Columbia). The
appeal is by Elizabethtown Gas Co. (Elizabethtown),
one of the public utilities that buys natural gas from
Columbia for resale to consumers.

Elizabethtown opposed each of the plans on the ground
that it unfairly failed to compensate the customers of
Columbia which received less than their pro rata share of
gas. The Commission approved the plans, rejecting Eliza-
bethtown’s claim on the ground that it lacked jurisdic-
tion under the Natural Gas Act to order or approve
any curtailment plan that included a compensation fea-
ture. The appeals have been consolidated.

As indicated at the outset, in our view, the Commis-
sion does have the power to require compensation as part
of a curtailment plan. We remand for a determination
in appropriate proceedings whether or how this power
should be exercised.

I. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

The procedural background of these pending appeals is
of considerable complexity. To aid reader understanding,
we have presented that background in some detail in
Appendix A to this opinion, and confine ourselves at this
point to a brief statement that Elizabethtown contends
that the interim curtailment plans approved by the FPC
are unlawful (as constituting undue preference and for
other reasons) because the plans do not provide a com-
pensation feature, whereby purchasers who receive more
than their pro rata share of gas pay a surcharge, and
purchasers who receive less than their pro rata share of

gas receive compensation out of the proceeds of the sur-
charges.

4a

II. COMMISSION’S AUTHORITY TO EMPLOY
A COMPENSATION PROVISION

On the merits, these appeals pose the question whether
the FPC was correct in its construction of the Natural
Gas Act, when it determined that a compensation scheme
is impermissible under the Act as a matter of law.

As set forth in Appendix A, the Commission’s position
emerged in these proceedings in the course of procedural
rulings in the handling of a Columbia plan that contained
a compensation feature. Columbia then dropped the com-
pensation feature (“under duress”) in the next interim
plan(s) proposed to the FPC, and those interim plans
were in due course approved. The FPC has rejected Eliz-
abethtown’s petitions for rehearing, which sought a com-
pensation feature, and in doing so has relied on its opin-
ion in the Transco case. Another opinion and order of
the Commission to similar effect has been reversed by
the Fifth Circuit and certiorari has been denied. Missis-
sippi Public Service Commission v. FPC, 522 F.2d 1345
(6th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 45 L. W. 3254 (S.C. Oct. 4,
1976).

Although the procedural situation is complicated al-
most beyond belief, we find the issue on the merits to be
relatively simple. In brief, we agree with the reasoning
of Judge Bell in Mississippi Public Service Commission,
and with his reliance upon the language of the Supreme
Court in FPC v. Louisiana Power and Light Company,
406 U.S. 621 (1972).

1 Transcontinental Gas Pipeline Corporation, FPC Docket
No. RP72-99, orders of Nov. 12, 1974 and Jan. 10, 1975. On
appeal, as noted in Appendix A, this court did not reach the
compensation issue, and Transcontinental has sought certio-
rari on the ground that this court erred in its remands, and
requirements for further consideration, without ruling on
the compensation issue.

5a

In the latter case, the Court dealt with a somewhat
different issue—that of the Commission’s authority to
regulate curtailment of direct interstate sales of natura)
gas—but its construction of the Act is relevant to the
case at bar. In finding authority for such curtailment in
the Commission’s transportation jurisdiction, the Court
noted that the Commission has broad powers to meet its
responsibilities under that aspect of its jurisdiction. The
Commission

must be free, “within the ambit of [its] statutory
authority, to make the pragmatic adjustments which
may be called for by particular circumstances.” FPC
v. Natural Gas Pipeline Co., 315 U.S. 575, 586
(1942). Section 16 of the Act assures the FPC the
necessary degree of flexibility in providing that: “The
Commission shall have the power to perform any and
all acts, and to prescribe, issue, make, amend, and
rescind such orders, rules, and regulations as it may
find necessary or appropriate to carry out the provi-
sions of this act... .” 15 U.S.C. § 7170. In apply-
ing this section, we have held that “the width of
administrative authority must be measured in part
by the purposes for which it was conferred... .
Surely the Commission’s broad responsibilities there-
fore demand a generous construction of its statutory
authority.” Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390
U.S. 747, 776 (1968)....

406 U.S. at 642.

No compensation feature was involved in the curtail-
ment plan at issue in Louisiana Power and Light. That
case did, however, turn on an expansive view of the Com-
miss on’s latitude to make “pragmatic adjustments which
may be called for by particular circumstances,” and the
statutory grant of “necessary degree of flexibility” as
necessary or appropriate to further the Congressional ob-
jective. In our view, this embraces the authority to em-
ploy a compensation feature as part of a curtailment

6a

plan where necessary or appropriate to promote the poli-
cies of the Natural Gas Act.’

Implicit in the Commission’s handling of the case at
bar is its view that it was inconsistent to require a pur-

Cf. Cities Service Company v. FEA, 529 F.2d 1016 (Temp.
Emer. Ct. App. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 947 (1975),
where the court was confronted with a problem of statutory
interpretation similar to that of the case at bar, arising within
the same general context of the national energy crisis. In
finding that the FEA had authority under § 4(a) of the Emer-
gency Petroleum Allocation Act of 1973, 87 Stat. 628, as
amended, 15 U.S.C. § 753 (a) (1976), to promulgate the Old
Oil Entitlements Program, 10 C.F.R. § 211.67, the court held
that “[a] proper interpretation of the Allocation Act and its
provisions requires recognition of the fact that the authority
under Section 4(a) must be read together with the objectives
[set forth in Section 4 (b)] which the exercise of that author-
ity is to obtain.” 529 F.2d at 1022.

In Niagara Mohawk Power Corporation v. FPC, 126 U.S.
App.D.C. 376, 381-88, 379 F.2d 153, 158-60 (1967), this court
held, more generally, that an act that entrusts a broad subject-
matter to administration by an agency should be read to pro-
vide the agency with sufficient authority to implement the
purposes and policies of Congress. [TIhe breadth of agency
discretion is, if anything, at zenith when the action assailed
relates primarily not to the issue of ascertaining whether con-
duct violates the statute, or regulations, but rather to the
fashioning of policies, remedies and sanctions, including en-
forcement and voluntary compliance programs in order to
arrive at maximum effectuation of Congressional objectives.”
Id. at 382, 379 F.2d at 159. [Citations omitted.] We further
observed that “[t]he principles of equity are not to be isolated
as a special province of the courts. They are rather to be wel-
comed as reflecting fundamental principles of justice that
properly enlighten administrative agencies under law. The
courts may not rightly treat administrative agencies as alien
intruders poaching on the court’s private preserves of justice.
Courts and agencies properly take cognizance of one another
as sharing responsibility for achieving the necessities of con-
trol in an increasingly complex society without sacrifice of
fundamental principles of fairness and justice.” Id. at 383,
379 F. ad at 160. [Citations omitted.]

7a

chaser to provide for compensation in order to obtain
rights to deliveries of natural gas when those deliveries
were properly allocated to him. The Commission argues,
for example, that a compensation scheme, by rewarding
low priority users and penalizing high priority users, is
“inconsistent with the theory and purpose of end use
curtailment.” (Br. at 20).

In human affairs generally our society owns a deep-
seated conviction that, to use Emerson’s words in the
influential essay on Self-Reliance, a man should not be
required to “pay for a privilege where [he has] intrinsic
right.” That principle does not answer the question, how-
ever; it rather bids us to focus on defining the “right”
that is involved.

The decision that a system of priorities is mandated
by fundamental policy considerations does not, in our
view, necessarily imply that priority status should be
entirely unburdened. The question of whether, and how,
to provide compensation may well turn on the fairness
of balancing the benefit accorded a high-priority pur-
chaser with a charge that offsets, at least in part, the
added expense imposed by a curtailment plan upon a
lower-priority purchaser." We do not attempt to resolve
this question on the present facts. We hold, merely, that
it is open to the Commission to consider employing a
compensation feature.“

In order that the Commission may proceed, on the
premise of legal authority, to consider whether and how

* The issue of fairness is an issue of policy for the Commis-
sion. Our function is only to consider the issue of law whether
the Commission has the legal authority to implement that
policy of fairness.

Our opinion in State of Louisiana v. FPC, 175 U.S. App.
D.C. 104, 533 F.2d 1239 (1976), is not to the contrary. We
there assumed, without deciding, that the Commission had
authority to impose a compensation feature as a condition
upon the granting of a certificate of public convenience and
necessity, but held that no showing had been made, under the
peculiar facts of that case, that the public interest required
compensation. 175 U.S. App. D.C. at 110, 533 F.2d at 1245.

8a

a compensation feature should be or should have been
included, we remand for further consideration by the
Commission, in appropriate proceedings, of an interim
curtailment plan.“

So ordered.

* We do not vacate the orders of the Commission. The Com-
mission may conclude that those orders should be retained.
Portland Cement Ass’n v. Ruckelshaus, 158 U.S.App.D.C. 308,
486 F.2d 375 (1973); Portland Cement Ass’n v. Train, 168
U.S.App.D.C. 248, 518 F.2d 506 (1975).

* Washington Gas Light Company filed a suggestion of moot-
ness in No. 75-1767, based on the fact that no Columbia cus-
tomer requested or took more than its pro rata share of gas
during the period May 1, 1975 to October 31, 1975. (As ex-
plained in Appendix A, that is the period governed by the
1974 interim curtailment plan, as extended in time and modi-
fied to omit the compensation feature originally in Columbia’s
1974 plan.)

Elizabethtown’s response develops a contention that the
1974 plan, as modified, presents a live issue because its dispo-
sition affects the proper handling by the Commission of the
1975 plan.

In American Smelting and Refining Co. v. FPC, 161 U.S.
App.D.C. 6, 494 F.2d 925 (1974), we held that the Commis-
sion, in remedying unjust or discriminatory rates, is required
by §5(a) of the Act to proceed in two steps, by finding, first,
that an existing condition is unjust or discriminatory, and then
prescribing the remedy for that condition. Id. at 21-22, 494
F.2d at 940-41. Under the approach there enunciated, the pro-
ponent of an existing plan would, indeed, enjoy some ad-
vantage deriving from considerations of burden of proof.
But we dealt there with an existing plan; here, by contrast,
the curtailment plan challenged in No. 75-1767 expired of its
own force. Elizabethtown cannot, consequently, derive any
procedural advantage from American Smelting on remand.
Naturally, the Commission’s findings of fact will be required
to meet the substantial evidence test, and its action in settling
upon a new interim curtailment plan must not be arbitrary
or capricious. We believe these standards provide ample pro-
cedural protection for Elizabethtown.

The appeal in No. 75-1767 stands dismissed for mootness.

9a

APPENDIX A: PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On December 15, 1971, Columbia filed with the Com-
mission a curtailment plan providing for pro rata cur-
tailment of large wholesale customers in the event of gas
shortages. The plan included an exemption from curtail-
ment to protect residential and commercial service, and
a compensation provision to reimburse customers who
might suffer ‘greater than pro rata curtailment as a re-
sult of the exemption provision. After a period of sus-
pension by the Commission, the plan was made effective
on Columbia’s motion as of April 1, 1972, and continued
in effect until November 1, 1972.

1972 INTERIM PLAN

On September 29, 1972, the Commission approved an
interim settlement curtailment plan with similar provi-
sions, to be effective until July 1, 1974. Under this plan,
buyers who took advantage of the exemption provision
to purchase more than their pro rata share of gas were
subject to a surcharge on such exempt volumes of $1.65
per Mcf during the months of November through March,
and 50¢ per Mcf during the months of April through
October. The proceeds of this surcharge were to be used
by Columbia to compensate the purchasers who, in effect,
freed up the exempt volumes by receiving less than their
pro rata share of gas.“ The compensation feature was
intended by Columbia to provide] an incentive for its
customers to develop their own peak shaving facilities,

R. 360-62, 363-64, 364A, 364B.

Compensation was fixed at $1.65 per Mcf of curtailment
in excess of ratable curtailment during the cold-weather
months, provided that the excessively curtailed buyers or their
distributor customers utilized all gas supply sources avail-
able, including peak shaving—and then only to the extent that
peak shaving was utilized as a result of the additional curtail-
ment. Otherwise, conspensation during the cold weather
months was at the rate of 50¢ per Mcf. Compensation during
the warmer months was fixed at 50% per Mef.

10a

. . . to preclude customers from requesting exempt vol-
umes except when actually needed to protect firm non-
industrial loads, and [to] compensate[] customers pro-
viding the exempt volumes for using their own peak
shaving facilities.” *

1974 INTERIM PLAN

On June 6, 1974, the Commission granted Columbia’s
motion to extend this interim curtailment plan until
April 30, 1975.“ However, on January 24, 1975, and
March 25, 1975, the Commission, acting on the complaint
of Washington Gas Light Company (WGL) (a customer
of Columbia), issued orders reflecting a change in its
appraisal of the compensation feature. While the man-
date of these orders was simply to set a date for formal
hearing of WGL’s complaint, the Commission’s language
made it clear that it now regarded the compensation fea-
ture as illegal.’

Record at 381 (hereinafter cited as R ——).
R. 781-91.

* The order of January 24, 1975, noted that the Commission
had concluded in its orders of November 12, 1974 and January
10, 1975, in Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation
(Transco), Docket No. RP 72-99, that

a compensation plan similar to the one now before us was
unacceptable as a matter of law because it is discrimina-
tory, fixes rates unrelated to costs, and does not comply
with the filing requirements of Sections 4 and 7 of the
Natural Gas Act because the transfers would involve
sales. It was further concluded that the compensation
plan was unacceptable as a matter of policy because of
its inherent inequity. The Commission recognized, how-
ever, that its position was subject to judicial review, and
provided that notwithstanding the Commission’s views as
to unlawfulness the plan should remain in effect as pro-
vided by the Ccurt of Appeals pending further order.
Pending hearing and final decision, no change in Co-
lumbia’s rates shall be effective, nor any transfer of en-
titlements among Columbia’s customers be effectuated

lla

unless and until appropriate certificate and rate filings
have been made and approved in accord with Sections
4 and 7 of the Act.

R. 874, J.A. at 276. And in its order of March 25, 1975
(formally a response to Columbia’s petition for clarification
of, or application for rehearing of, the January 24 order) the
Commission reiterated its position.

We deny so much of the applications as seek to have
us withdraw the language in the January 24, 1975, order
relating to sales for resale in interstate commerce which
may be attempted by Columbia’s customers under the
purported authority of our June 6, 1974, order approving
Columbia’s interim curtailment plan. We have determined
that sales for resale between and among pipeline cus-
tomers, even when attempted in the guise of “compensa-
tion features” of a curtailment plan, are subject to Sec-
tions 4 and 7 of the Natural Gas Act. See Transco, supra;
Northwest Pipeline Corp., Docket No. RP74-49, order
issued February, 1975; Consolidated Natural Gas Com-
pany, Docket No. RP73-115, order issued January 15,
1975. We are without power to waive compliance with
the statute itself; accordingly, any sales by and between
Columbia’s customers can lawfully be made only after
compliance with the statute and regulations thereunder.

We have not forbidden implementation of Columbia’s
interim curtailment plan; indeed we expect allocation of
Columbia’s supplies to be made in strict conformity
therewith until expiration of the interim plan. We have
attempted to make clear, however, that sales for resale
among Columbia’s customers are uniawful unless and un-
til the requirements of Sections 4 and 7 have been met.

R. 895-96; J.A. at 282-83.

The Transco case, upon which the Commission relies in
these passages, involved a curtailment plan with a compensa-
tion feature similar to that of the case at bar. The plan was
filed by Transcontinental Gas Pipeline Corporation (Transco)
in September 1974. The Commission found the compensation
feature unlawful for reasons stated in the quoted passages of
the Commission’s orders in the present case. Transco sought
review of the Commission’s determination in this court. On
August 1, 1975, another panel of this court remanded the
case to the Commission for further investigation of the need

12a

Columbia’s 1974 interim curtailment plan was due to
expire on April 30, 1975. On April 1, 1975, Columbia
filed a motion with the Commission requesting an exten-
sion of that interim curtailment plan for six months.°
In light of the Commission’s new appraisal of the com-
pensation provision, however, Columbia felt that it had
“no alternative but to propose an extension of its interim
plan as modified to exclude said compensation features.“
Columbia expressed disagreement with the Commission’s
determination of illegality, but stated that it felt itself
“under duress” of the Commission’s orders.“

for curtailment. Subsequently, the case has returned to this
court twice, and the panel has twice more remanded it, Trans-
continental Gas Pipe Line Corporation v. FPC, No. 74-2036
(D.C. Cir. Feb. 6, 1976) (unpublished per curiam); Trans-
continental Gas Pipe Line Corporation v. FPC, No. 74-2036
(D.C. Cir. Nov. 29, 1976), without reaching the merits of the
legality of the compensation provision. Following the most
recent refusal of this court to decide the compensation issue,
Transco sought Supreme Court review, 46 U.S.L.W. 3022
(U.S. June 17, 1977) (No. 76-1799), on the grounds that this
court exceeded the proper scope of judicial review by ordering
a remand to determine the “duration, shape, and causation” of
the alleged gas shortage; and that the “duration, shape, and
causation” of the shortage had no substantial bearing on the
legality of the compensation scheme.

The Commission has suggested to the Supreme Court that
it defer ruling on Transco’s petition for certiorari until we
decide the present case. Memorandum for the Federal Power
Commission (in response to Transco’s petition for a writ of
certiorari) at 10-12, Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corpora-
tion v. FPC, S. Ct. No. 76-1799.

* The matter of a permanent curtailment plan for Columbia
was still pending before the Commission, but there was no
chance that the Commission could issue an order on a perma-
nent plan to become effective before the interim plan expired.

R. 898.
R. 905.

— ͤ 6 5

138

By order of April 25, 1975, the Commission granted
Columbia’s motion to extend the 1974 interim plan, (mod-
ified o delete the compensation feature) for a six-month
period ending October 31, 1975.“ Elizabethtown’s appli-
cation for rehearing was denied, and it filed an appeal
with this court.“

1975 INTERIM PLAN

Because of continuing doubts as to when a permanent
curtailment plan for Columbia would be approved, Co-
lumbia and Armco Steel Corporation presented to the
Commission, on July 2, 1975, competing proposals for a
new interim curtailment plan, to take effect beginning
November 1, 1975. Both of these proposals effected cur-
tailment through a system of priorities of service (rang-
ing from high-priority residential service to low-priority
large-volume industrial boiler fuel use) rather than
through the pro rata cutback approach, with exemptions,
employed in Columbia’s earlier curtailment plans. Eliza-
bethtown opposed both proposals because of their failure
to include a compensation provision to ameliorate what
Elizabethtown regarded as disproportionate allocations of
shortages.

By order of October 31, 1975, the Commission pre-
scribed Columbia’s 1975 Plan as an interim curtailment
plan for the period November 1, 1975 through March 31,
1976 “and thereafter subject to further order of the Com-
mission.” It rejected the contentions of Elizabethtown
concerning the need for a compensation provision, refer-
ring to its previously expressed views on this matter.”

Elizabethtown applied for rehearing on the ground,
inter alia, that this curtailment plan created undue pref-
erences, and lacked a compensation feature that would

R. 1054-58; J.A. at 305-09.

1° Elizabethtown Gas Co. v. FPC, D.C. Cir. No. 75-1767.
* R. 21487, J. A. at 527.
1 R. 21484, J. A. at 524A.

l4a

redress these preferences and induce the favored buyers
to exercise self-help.”

By order of March 26, 1976, the Commission denied
Elizabethtown’s application for rehearing. Elizabethtown
filed an appeal with this court asking that the Commis-
sion be required to institute a compensation feature, retro-
active to November 1, 1975.

In its application for rehearing, Elizabethtown also
argued that the Commission had improperly “rejected” the
interim curtailment plan that was in effect through October
31, 1971. In the view of Elizabethtown, the Commission was
constrained by American Smelting and Refining Co. v. FPC,
494 F.2d 925, 940-41 (D.C. Cir. 1974), to expressly find un-
lawful the curtailment plan that expired on October 31, 1975,
before replacing it with the priorities-of-service plan.

Elizabethtown Gas Company v. FPC, D.C. Cir. No. 76-
1465.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_2032%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
