# Amicus Brief — Stump v. Sparkman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1984%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 435 U.S. 349

## Text

Supreme Coert, ¥. 3.

jut 12 1977
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

Number 76-1750

Ora E. McFarlin, Warren G. Sunday, Harold D. Stump,
John H. Hines, M.D., John C. Harvey, M.D., Harry M.
Covell, M.D. and DeKalb Memorial Hospital, Inc.,
Petitioners.
-Vs-

Linda Kay Sparkman and Leo Sparkman,
Respondents.

BRIEF OF THE STATE OF INDIANA AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THEODORE L. SENDAK
Attorney General of Indiana

DARREL K. DIAMOND
Assistant Attorney General

Attorneys for State of Indiana
Offices of Attorney General
219 State House

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Telephone: (317) 633-4725

Central Publishing Company, Inc., Indianapolis, Ind 46206

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

er SE 64.606 céKcTeN esd ocndendedéasede ii

SE Se Te UD en hvct ce sdeweessectcsseesacs 1

Ee SE MED nc wn kdnseccccedtsecescesctoes 2
Argument

A. The Doctrine of Judicial Immunity .......... 3

B. The Indiana Court System .................. 4

C. Subject Matter Jurisdiction ................. 6

D. Standard For Consideration of the Complaint 11

a a dE cs eel aie dd eee 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

A.L. v. G.R.H., — Ind. App. —, 325 N.E.2d 501 (1975) 10
Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678 (1946) .........ccececeees 10
Bradley v. Fisher, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 335 (1872) ..3, 4, 7, 11
Farley v. Farley, 157 Ind. App. 385 (1973) .......... 8,9
Harris v. Souder, 233 Ind. 287 (1954) ..............-. 6
Hicks v. State, 249 Ind. 24 (1967)
J. 1. Case Company v. Sandefur, 245 Ind. 213 (1964) .. 8

Mt. Healthy City School District v. Doyle, —U.S. —,
OF BGR Ge CGE) dsccanccccnccccccunencaneutss 9

National League of Cities v. Usery, — U.S. —, 96 8.Ct.

GERD GHOSE we cune d Kicogespoucssrcsssacesscente 5
Noblesville City Planning Commission v. Gatewood,

134 Ind. App. 600 (1968) .........sccccscccceees 9
Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S. 547 (1967) 2.0... 6... eee eee a,4
Smith v. Indiana State Board of Health, — Ind. App.

==, S08 W.SE GD (ITS) cc cdivscccccccecccvece 8

State ex rel Egun v. Wolever, 127 Ind. 306 (1891) ....3,7,9

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions:

United States Constitution, Amendment Ten ......... 5
GB FE. Ce Ke kcvccccsccccccvctccccutsdeanaena 3
Indiana Code (1.C.) 33-4-1-1 et seq ........ ccc ceeeee 5
BD FRGOe ca kciiccovciccccetdcdaveckenabsasarreces 6
Bey SBOE ccicvcccccccccsesasguseesaeastaeesdncs 5)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions:—cont’d. Page

IC 33-9-1-4
IC 33-12-2-1
IC 33-12-2-2
IC 33-12-2-3

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

Number 76-1750

Ora E. McFarlin, Warren G. Sunday, Harold D. Stump,
John H. Hines, M.D., John C. Harvey, M.D., Harry M.
Covell, M.D. and DeKalb Memorial Hospital, Inc.,

Petitioners.
-V8s-
Linda Kay Sparkman and Leo Sparkman,
Respondents.

BRIEF OF THE STATE OF INDIANA AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The State of Indiana, by Theodore L. Sendak, Attorney
General of Indiana, by Darrel K. Diamond Assistant
Attorney General, pursuant to Rule 42 of this Court, sub-

mits its amtcus curiae brief in support of the Petitioners
in this cause.

Consent of the Parties

This brief is filed by the State of Indiana pursuant to
Rule 42 of this Court. Consent of the parties is not required
pursuant to Rule 42(4).

2
Interest of the Amicus

The interest of the State of Indiana in the determination
of the question presented in this case is twofold. First,
the State of Indiana has an interest in the ability of judges
of courts of the State of Indiana to determine matters
presented to them free from the harassment of vexatious
litigation. Second, and more important is the interest of
the State of Indiana in maintaining its right to define
and establish the jurisdiction of its own courts. The action
of the United States Court of Appeals in this action would
appear to make the determination of the jurisdiction of
state courts a matter of federal law, at least insofar as
the determination of that jurisdiction is involved with the
invocation of judicial immunity by state court judges in
actions against them in federal courts.

ARGUMENT

A.
The Doctrine of Judicial Immunity.

The doctrine of judicial immunity may be considered
one of the most firmly settled doctrines of Anglo-American
common law. This Court definitively stated and adopted
the doctrine in Bradley v. Fisher, 80 U.S. (13 Wall) 335
(1872). The applicability of the doctrine to cases under the
federal civil rights statutes, specifically 42 U.S.C. § 1983,
was noted and the doctrine was reaffirmed in Pierson v.
Ray, 386 U.S. 547 (1967). It was noted in Bradley v. Fisher
that the absence of such immunity

sé

. . would destroy that independence without which
no judiciary can be either respectable or useful.’’ 80
U.S. at 347.

It was also noted that the doctrine has been recognized
throughout the history of the common law. The leading
Indiana case on the subject, State ex rel. Egan v. Wolever,
127 Ind. 306 (1891), traces the rule to the Year Books
of the early kings of England. 43 Edw. III, 9; 9 Edw.
IV, 3; cited at 127 Ind. at 311.

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit in this case purports to uphold the
doctrine while finding this case to be outside its scope.
That determination of scope, however, is clearly erroneous
and would act to totally destroy the immunity.

The scope of the immunity was held by this Court in
Bradley v. Fisher and Pierson v. Ray to extend to the
point of the full subject matter jurisdiction of the defend-

3

4

ant judge. Only a clear absence of all jurisdiction over
the subject matter of the action would result in the denial
of the immunity. 80 U.S. at 351-353; 386 U.S. at 554. While
the Court of Appeals purported to find a total lack of
subject matter jurisdiction, the opinion of that Court shows
merely that the action of the defendant Judge Stump was
considered erroneous and that the result was one that the
judges of the Court of Appeals strongly disagreed with
on policy grounds. It is suggested that the basis of the
Court of Appeals opinion is its statement that:

‘“‘There are actions of purported judicial character
that a judge, even when exercising general jurisdiction,
is not empowered to take.’’ Pet. for Writ, p. A14.

The equation of the Court of Appeals that error is the
same as a clear lack of subject matter jurisdiction is ample
reason for reversal of that decision and reinstatement of
the order of dismissal of the District Court. The existence
of such an opinion, however, would appear to be reason
for this Court to examine more closely the standard of
clear absence of general subject matter jurisdiction.

B.
The Indiana Court System.

In this case, the judge of a state court was sued in
federal court for actions which were asserted by the
defendant judge to have been within the scope of his
judicial power. Since the standard for determination of
the privilege is that of subject matter jurisdiction, the fed-
eral court must determine the question of the scope of
jurisdiction of the State Court. The State of Indiana would
assert most strongly that such determination must be made
as a question of state and not federal law. Basic principles

5

of federalism and comity would require such a result. Such
result is also demanded by recognition that the states retain
some measure of sovereignty within our federal system.
This Court has recognized that certain powers are reserved
to the states under the Tenth Amendment which may not
be interfered with by the federal government. National
League of Cities v. Usery, — U.S. —, 96 S.Ct. 2465 (1976.)
The determination of the jurisdiction of the courts within
the state judicial system must surely be one of those
reserved rights. A brief sketch of the Indiana judicial sys-
tem is therefore set out for the convenience of this Court.

The basic trial court unit of the Indiana judicial system
is the Circuit Court. This case involves a Cireuit Court.
The State of Indiana is divided into eighty-eight (88)
judicial circuits. Eighty-four (84) of these consist of one
county; the remaining four (4) consist of two counties
each. Indiana Code, 33-4-1-1, et seq. As the population and
caseload of a county increases to the point that the single
Circuit Court is insufficient, additional courts are created
by individual statute. These may include Superior Courts,
Probate Courts, Criminal Courts, and Juvenile Courts as
separate entities. The scope of jurisdiction of these courts
is set out in those creating statutes. Ordinarily these addi-
tional courts share judicial power concurrently with the
Cireuit Court. In some cases, however, these courts are
given exclusive jurisdiction so as to decrease the juris-
diction of the Cireuit Court. In the most populous county,
Marion County (Indianapolis), for example, the jurisdic-
tion of the Circuit Court is limited by grants of exclusive
jurisdiction to a Probate Court, Criminal Court and
Juvenile Court. Indiana Code, 33-8-1-9, 33-9-1-4, 33-12-2-3.
There are no such additional courts, however, in DeKalb
County, from which this action arose.

6

It should be noted that each county has a Juvenile Court,
but in counties with less than 250,000 population, the
Cireuit Court and judge fulfill the function of the Juvenile
Court and judge. Indiana Code, 33-12-2-1, 33-12-2-2. It was
held in the case of Harris v. Souder, 233 Ind. 287 at 291
(1954), that the Cireuit Court judge when exercising juve-
nile jurisdiction was not acting as judge of a separate
court. That case was later overruled to the extent that
it would allow the court to deny an offender found to
be a juvenile the right to have his case transferred to
the Juvenile Court for a full and formal determination
of whether the case should be waived back for trial of
the defendant as an adult. Hicks v. State, 249 Ind. 24 at
29 (1967). That holding in Hicks, however, would not
appear to be a total overruling of the proposition that
the Circuit Court and Juvenile Court, in counties of less
than 250,000 population, are not separate entities, but that
the latter is a jurisdiction within the former.

For purposes of this brief, it is not necessary to consider
the appellate system or the system of courts of limited
misdemeanor and small claims jurisdiction Insofar as
relevant to this case, the Circuit Court of DeKalb County
was the sole general jurisdiction court. As such its jurisdic-
tion is that set forth in Indiana Code 33-443 (set out
in full in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari at p. 5),
which is ‘‘original exclusive jurisdiction in all cases at
law and in equity whatsoever.”’

Subject Matter Jurisdiction,
It must then be considered what the term ‘‘subject matter
jurisdiction’? means. For purposes of judicial immunity,

ro

7

determinations of a defendant judge as to the presence
or lack of jurisdiction should be viewed liberally in favor
of a finding that jurisdiction exists. Any lack of jurisdic-
tion, to defeat the immunity, must be clear and obvious

‘*Indeed some of the most difficult and embarrassing
questions which a judicial officer is called upon to
consider and determine relate to his jurisdiction, or
that of the court held by him, or the manner in which
the jurisdiction shall be exercised.’’ Bradley v. Fisher,
supra 80 U.S. at 352.

The example used in Bradley was that if a probate court
judge, whose jurisdiction is limited to wills and decedents’
estates, should attempt to judicially punish persons for
violation of criminal laws, then there would be no im-
munity. But the judge of a court having criminal juris-
diction would be immune if he were to try a defendant
for an act which was not a crime or impose a penalty
greater than allowed by law. Ibid.

That question of the meaning of subject matter juris-
diction was considered in the context of judicial immunity
and as a matter of Indiana law in the leading case of
State ex rel. Egan v. Wolever, supra. It was there stated :

‘*Where a court of limited jurisdiction has, in a given
ease, jurisdiction of the subject-matter, and of the
persons interested, the same immunity is accorded to
the judge, or magistrate, that is in any case accorded
to the judge of a court of general jurisdiction. And
here we would remark, that by jurisdiction of the
subject-matter is not meant simple jurisdiction of the
particular case then occupying the attention of the
court, but jurisdiction of the class of cases to which
the particular case belongs . . . In the latter case it
is said that by subject-matter is meant the abstract
thing and not the particular case.

8

It is said that in courts of general jurisdiction, an
action never lies against the judge because he has juris-
diction of all causes.’’ 127 Ind. at 315.

Thus, the nature of the case is not a grounds for holding
that a court of general jurisdiction lacks subject matter
jurisdiction so as to subject a judge to liability. It was
noted, however, that it was possible for a court of general
jurisdiction to lack jurisdiction in certain circumstances.
The examples given are that of a judge purporting to act
after the case was concluded or after a change of venue
was taken.

These examples given are of questionable authority to-
day in light of later decisions of Indiana courts, however.
In Smith v. Indiana State Board of Health, — Ind. App.
—, 303 N.E. 2d 50 at 53, the Indiana court noted that even
though a proper motion for change of venue deprives the
court in which it is filed of further jurisdiction, yet some
vestige of jurisdiction is retained to decide any necessary
interlocutory matters. In J.J. Case Co. v. Sandefur, 245
Ind, 213 at 217, it was alleged that the trial court had
lost jurisdiction upon the death of the original plaintiff
since the action was not covered by the statute on survival
of actions. It was there held:

‘*‘So long as a court has general jurisdiction of the
subject matter to which a case belongs, a defendant
may waive his right to object to the jurisdiction by
failing to make timely and specific objections thereto.’

In the case of Farley v. Farley, 157 Ind. App. 385 at
395-399, it was argued that the allowance of attorney fees
and litigation expenses 149 days after the entry of the
divorce decree was void because the time for such modifica-
tion of the decree had passed. The Indiana court ruled

9

that such matters were not questions of subject matter
jurisdiction, The trial court had power to act in divorce
actions as a class, therefore the bar to the specific action
of the trial court was not one involving general subject
matter jurisdiction and was valid because no timely
objection had been made. 157 Ind. App. at 398.

It may ve noted that this Court recently refused to
consider an issue of subject matter jurisdiction which was
not timely raised. It was noted that the issue ‘‘is not of
the jurisdictional sort which the Court raises on its own
motion.’’ Mt. Healthy City School District v. Doyle, —
U.S. —, 97 S.Ct. 568 at 572 (1977). Yet federal courts
are not courts of general jurisdiction but of limited juris-
diction. It would thus appear that such jurisdictional bars
are not of the force that they were at the time of the
decision of the Wolever case.

Returning to the basic question of subject matter juris-
diction, it is noted that under Indiana law, jurisdiction
is of two types, although these are sometimes confused
in opinions. The general power over a class of cases is
subject matter jurisdiction. Jurisdiction of the particular
case deals with the right to entertain a particular case
within that class of cases. Farley v. Farley, supra. Only
the general subject matter jurisdiction is involved for con-
siderations of judicial :mmunity.

It is also essentiai to distinguish between subject matter
jurisdiction in the broad sense relevant to judicial
immunity and the issue of failure to state a claim.

‘‘The question of jurisdiction of the subject matter
is not dependent upon the validity of the demands
set forth in the somplaint nor upon the sufficiency
of the allegetin.* thereof.’’ Noblesville City Plan
Commission v. Gatewood, 134 Ind. App. 609 at 612
(1963.)

10

That distinction is also the law of the federal courts. As
stated in Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678 at 682 (1946) :

‘For it is well settled that the failure to state a proper
cause of action calls for a judgement on the merits
and not for a dismissal for want of jurisdiction.’’

The case of A.L. v. G.R.H., — Ind. App. —, 325 N.E.
2d 501 (1975), has been treated as of major significance
throughout this case. In that decision, the Indiana courts
ruled in a declaratory judgment action that a parent had
no common law right to have his or her child permanently
and involuntarily sterilized. That ruling, it is asserted by
the State of Indiana, did not specifically decide any ques-
tion of subject matter jurisdiction, except that it gives rise
to an inference that subject matter jurisdiction exists, as
noted by the District Judge. Pet. for Writ at A6. The
question there was whether there was a legal right to do
so, not whether a court had jurisdiction to decide the issue.
Indeed, in that case the Indiana courts did decide the issue,
thus necessarily assuming that there was jurisdiction to
do so. Despite the opinion of the Court of Appeals in this
case, it cannot be considered to be the law that a court
has jurisdiction if it reaches the right decision but lacks
jurisdiction if it reaches the wrong decision. That question
is one of failure to state a claim rather than of jurisdiction.

The references in A.L. v. G.R.H. to circumstances under
which such sterilization could be done is an indication that
an Indiana court of general jurisdiction does has subject
matter jurisdiction to consider whether there is a legal
right to consider whether a parent may bring about the
involuntary sterilization of the child. The erroneousness
of the decision reached has never been a factor which would
deny judicial immunity.

a

D.
Standard for Consideration of the Complaint.

This case was decided in the District Court upon a
Motion to Dismiss. The general rule is that such a motion
alleging failure to state a claim upon which relief may
be granted admits arguendo all the allegations of fact con-
tained in the Complaint. That standard appears inconsist-
ent with the rule in judicial immunity cases that immunity
cannot be defeated by mere allegations of wrongdoing and
that determinations of jurisdiction by the defendant judge
in the prior action giving rise to the further litigation
will be viewed in a favorable light. It should be noted
that in Bradley v. Fisher, supra, one of the major issues
was whether the immunity would be defeated if it were
determined that the defendant judge had acted maliciously
or corruptly. It was held that such allegations in a
Complaint were of no avail.

‘‘Few persons sufficiently irritated to institute an
action against a judge for his official acts would hesi-
tate to ascribe any character to the acts which would
be essential to the maintenance of the action.’’ 80 U.S.
at 348.

In this case, for example, the opinion of the Court of
Appeals notes and appears to place some weight upon what
is stated as the fact that the petition for involuntary
sterilization and judicial approval were never filed in court.
If the truth of that allegation were to be grounds for deter-

12

mining the availability of judicial immunity*, then the con-
flict would be clear. The purpose of judicial immunity is
to insure independent and principled decision making by
judges free from the pressure and harassment of vexatious
litigation. That purpose would be thwarted to the extent
that allegations of procedural error would be allowed to

defeat the protection given to judges in carrying out their
vital functions.

*Such a matter should not be considered vital, but merely
as one piece of circumstantial evidence as to whether the
judge had been acting in a judicial capacity in acting as he
did. In this case, it would be difficult to imagine any reason
for the parties to act as they did if Judge Stump’s actions
were not a judicial determination. Making the act of filing
to be central would create the possibility that a judge would
be found liable because of the failure of a clerk to perform
a ministerial duty.

13

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the State of Indiana as
amicus curiae urges this Court to grant the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

THEODORE L. SENDAK
Attorney General of Indiana

DARREL K. DIAMOND
Assistant Attorney General

Attorneys for State of Indiana

Offices of Attorney General
219 State House
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Telephone: (317) 633-4725

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1984%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
